Juvenile Registration Eligibility and Jurisdiction to Classify<sup>1</sup>

Age at Offense	Eligible	Prior Adjudication	Registrant Status	Classification Hearing	End of Disposition Hearing	Petition for Declassification	
Under 14	No	N/A	Ineligible	N/A	N/A	N/A	
14 or 15	Yes	No	Discretionary Registrant	<ul> <li>Court first determines whether the child should be classified. R.C. 2152.83(D).</li> <li>If the court determines that the child should be classified, the court holds a hearing pursuant to R.C. 2152.831.</li> <li>Hearing can occur at disposition or upon the child's release from a secure facility.<sup>2</sup></li> </ul>		<ul> <li>Must petition for hearing</li> <li>Must wait three years from end of disposition hearing</li> <li>Tier may be lowered or maintained</li> <li>Tier may not be increased</li> <li>May be removed from registry</li> </ul>	
14 or 15	Yes	Yes	Mandatory	<ul> <li>Must be held at disposition.</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Mandatory</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Must petition for hearing</li> </ul>	
16 or 17	Yes	Yes	Registrant		<ul> <li>Upon completion of disposition</li> </ul>	• Must wait three years from end of	
16 or 17	Yes	No	Mandatory Registrant	<ul> <li>Must be held upon release from secure facility.</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Tier may be lowered or maintained</li> <li>Tier may not be increased</li> <li>May not be removed from registry</li> </ul>	disposition hearing Tier may be lowered or maintained Tier may not be increased May be removed from registry	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Applicable statute sections: R.C. 2950.01-2950.99; 2152.82-2152.86. <sup>2</sup> See In re I.A., 140 Ohio St.3d 203, 2014-Ohio-3155, 16 N.E.3d 653.

## Juvenile Tiers and Registration Requirements

	Classification Level	Registration Eligible         Offenses <sup>3</sup> Any sexually oriented offense and	Registration and Verification Requirements	Penalties for failure to comply		Highest Underlying	
Tier	Tier I		• Must register in person with the Sheriff in the	1 <sup>st</sup> Viol.	2nd Viol.	1 <sup>st</sup> Viol.	2 <sup>nd</sup> Viol.
Verification Frequency	Annually	who a juvenile court classifies a tier I	county where the juvenile registrant resides, within three days of classification order.	F1	F1; 3 yr sent.	Cat. One	Cat. Two
Duration	10 Years	juvenile sex offender registrant.		Match	Match; 3 yr sent.	F1-F4	F1-F3
Community N/A Notification			<ul> <li>Must register in any county where temporarily domiciled for three days or for 14 days in a</li> </ul>	F3; 3 yr. sent.		-	F4-F5
eSORN	N/A		<ul> <li>calendar year.</li> <li>Must complete the registration form and supply the following information: name; photograph;</li> <li>address; aligned assist accurity number; data of</li> </ul>	F4;	F4; 3 yr sent.	F5/M	M
Residency Restriction	N/A			1 <sup>st</sup> Viol.	2 <sup>nd</sup> Viol.	1 <sup>st</sup> Viol.	2 <sup>nd</sup> Viol.
					tere en pareners		
Tier and the second second second	Tier II Any sexually oriented offense and		address; aliases; social security number; date of birth; name and address of employer; license	1st Viol.	2nd Viol.	1 <sup>st</sup> Viol.	2 <sup>nd</sup> Viol.
Verification Frequency	Every 180 days	who a juvenile court classifies a tier II juvenile sex offender registrant.	<ul> <li>plate of every vehicle owed or regularly operated; each professional or occupational license, including CDL; out of state adjudication information if applicable; email addresses; internet identifiers; or any other information required by BCI&amp;I.</li> <li>Must provide notice of intent to change county of residence at least 20 days prior to establishing new county.</li> <li>Must update any change in the information outlined above within three days of the change.</li> </ul>	F1	F1; 3 yr sent.	Cat. One	Cat. Two
Duration Constant Const	20 Years			Match	Match; 3 yr sent.	F1-F4	F1-F3
Community Notification	N/A			F3; 3 yr. sent.	*		F4-F5
eSORN	N/A			F4;	F4; 3 yr sent.	F5/M	М
Residency Restriction	N/A			1 <sup>st</sup> Viol.	2 <sup>nd</sup> Viol.	1 <sup>st</sup> Viol.	2 <sup>nd</sup> Viol.
		e ferreren er en en en en en en en en en er en er		- ANGERSAN CONTA-	and the second		n beleverse y so el
Tier	Tier III	Any sexually oriented offense and who a juvenile court classifies a tier III juvenile sex offender registrant.		1st Viol.	2nd Viol.	1st Viol.	2nd Viol.
Frequency	Every 90 days			F1	F1; 3 yr sent.	Cat. One	Cat. Two
Duration	Until death			Match	Match; 3 yr sent.	F1-F4	F1-F3
Community	Court has			F3; 3 yr. sent.			F4-F5
Notification	otification						
eSORN	N/A			F4;	F4; 3 yr sent.	F5/M	M
Residency Restriction	N/A			1 <sup>st</sup> Viol.	2 <sup>nd</sup> Viol.	1 <sup>st</sup> Viol.	2 <sup>nd</sup> Viol.
All the second second second second	en and an	e en des mande e frankrigere en en benedere de enderdere de s				- CHARACTERIA R	Hura an Areadan
Tier	PRQJOR	less than 12, 2903.01, 2903.02, 2905.01	Same as adult registration and verification requirements.	1 <sup>st</sup> Viol.	2 <sup>nd</sup> Viol.	1 <sup>st</sup> Viol.	2 <sup>nd</sup> Viol.
Verification Frequency	Every 90 days			F1	F1; 3 yr sent.	Cat. One	Cat. Two
Duration	Until death	when committed for sexual		Match	Match; 3 yr sent.	F1-F4	F1-F3
Community Notification				F3; 3 yr. sent.			F4-F5
eSORN	Required			F4;	F4; 3 yr sent.	F5/M	M
Residency Restriction	N/A			1 <sup>st</sup> Viol.	2 <sup>nd</sup> Viol.	1 <sup>st</sup> Viol.	2 <sup>nd</sup> Viol.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> According to R.C. 2950.01(E),(F), and (G), juvenile courts have discretion to determine a juvenile offender's tier level; but, it does not appear as though courts may impose a higher tier than what an adult can receive for the same act.