On Tuesday, July 17, 2012, the Supreme Court of Ohio launched an expanded news program – Court News Ohio – that features stories about the Ohio judicial system. This archived page on the Supreme Court’s website only displays news stories that occurred before that date. News stories that occurred on July 17 and thereafter can be found at www.courtnewsohio.gov.

Nov. 10, 2008
Lazarus, Belardo Appointed as Chair, Vice Chair of Commission on Professionalism

The Supreme Court of Ohio today announced that professor Stephen R. Lazarus and attorney Lee E. Belardo will serve as chairman and vice chairman respectively of the Commission on Professionalism next year. Their one-year terms begin Jan. 1, 2009.

The commission promotes professionalism among attorneys admitted to practice law in Ohio and aspires to advance the highest standards of integrity and honor among members of the legal profession. The commission created and administers the Supreme Court’s Lawyer to Lawyer Mentoring program, which pairs experienced, professional lawyers with new lawyers to provide guidance and share practical knowledge and skills during the transition from law student to legal practitioner.

Professor Lazarus began his service on the commission on Jan. 1, 2006. He joined the faculty at Cleveland State University’s Cleveland-Marshall College of Law in 1973 as one of its first clinical professors and teaches courses in constitutional law, evidence and professional responsibility. He has been admitted to state and federal courts in New York, the District of Columbia and Ohio. In addition, he is a member of the Certified Grievance Committee of the Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association.

Belardo began his service on the commission on July 7, 2005. He has owned a general practice law firm in Avon, Ohio, since 2000. He is admitted to practice in Ohio and the U.S. District Court, Northern District of Ohio. He is a member of the American, Ohio and Lorain County bar associations. He is also a life fellow of the Ohio State Bar Foundation. As a member of the Ohio Center for Law-Related Education, he serves as regional coordinator of the high school mock trial competition.

Lazarus and Belardo expressed their gratitude to outgoing chair Monica A. Sansalone and vice chair Sarah D. Morrison, each of whom served two one-year terms, for their outstanding leadership.

The commission’s 15-member roster includes five judges, six lawyers, two law school administrators or faculty and two persons not admitted to practice law in any state. Commissioners are appointed for three-year terms and may not serve more than two consecutive full terms.

Visit this link – http://www.supremecourt.ohio.gov/Boards/CP/default.asp – for more information about the commission.

Contact: Chris Davey or Bret Crow at 614.387.9250