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INTRODUCTION

When a loved one enters a nursing home, it sets in motion a long process both personally

and financially. The burden of helping that loved one frequently falls on a person who is not

represented by counsel; a person who is overwhelmed by the prospect of a parent or sibling

entering a long term care facility never to return home again. Once placement is made, the

financial burden begins. Either a person privately pays for care at around $8,000.00 per month

or they must enter the maze of Medicaid eligibility. When a family is not represented by

counsel, theyare left to figure out the vast inner workings of a convoluted bureaucracy alone.

On the day of the face to face appointment with Medicaid, they are overloaded with

paperwork by a rushed and overworked caseworker. The applicant's representative is required to

hand over more documents than was required when they had a child, got married, or even opened

a probate estate. When the process is over and the person is approved for Medicaid the family

member breaths a sigh of relief and the ordeal is over in their mind. They frequently do not

understand the Estate recovery provisions that allow the State of Ohio to come back against an

estate or non-probate assets after death. They literally think the case is over when Medicaid is

approved.

After death, a pro se applicant for the Medicaid recipient relies on the probate court to

help them navigate the next steps and to provide the proper forms in the case. When the State

doesn't promulgate the mandated form, the probate court and the estate representative are at the

mercy of a broken system.

While the federal law has provided for a mechanism for the State to collect against both

probate and non-probate assets through the estate recovery system, that system is not meant to be

unlimited. The federal law leaves the implementation to the State through legislative enactment.



The State of Ohio enacted R.C. 5111.11 and then limited its reach in R.C. 2117.061 by imposing

a one year statute of limitations on the State as a creditor. The law does not mandate an estate be

opened, nor does it mandate any notice to the State by the next of kin. The State, however, was

mandated to create a form that it never created, which has caused confusion like that presented in

this case.

The Eighth District correctly weighed the balance between the clear intent of the one year

statute of limitations and the interest of the State of Ohio in recovering monies paid to Medicaid

recipients. The State knows what a Medicaid applicant has at time of application, and at death.

The State knows exactly when the Medicaid recipient died, and the State has a vast arsenal of

attorneys, both in the Office of the Attorney General and through its army of collection firms that

are deputized to help them go after the families with aggressive tactics. The State does not, also,

need an unlimited statute of limitations.

STATEMENT OF CASE AND FACTS

Josephine Centorbi died intestate on February 12, 2007. Ms. Centorbi died with two

assets, an Avon Products Account for $310.92 which was distributed to Ms. Fiorille and a one

quarter interest in real estate located at 15800 Steinway Boulevard in Maple Heights, Ohio. This

real estate was initially owned by Helen M. Russo, the decedent's mother. Helen Russo died on

April 10, 1991, and the property at issue transferred by a Certificate of Transfer issued by the

Cuyahoga County Probate Court on October 12, 1993 to four sisters; Patricia Russo, Andrea

Russo, Nancy Diane Russo (now Fiorille) and Josephine Centorbi. Josephine lived at the

Steinway residence with her sister Patricia until Josephine's admission to a nursing home. After

Josephine moved to the nursing home, Patricia Russo continued to live in the home until her

death on August 27, 2010.
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On December 21, 2007, the decedent's sister, Nancy Diane Fiorille (nee Russo) filed an

Application to Relieve the Estate from Administration, which was granted that same day. A

Certificate of Transfer was issued by the Court and Josephine's 25% interest in the home was

distributed to Anthony Centorbi, the decedent's son through the transaction at issue here. The

Certificate of Transfer has yet to be filed with the Cuyahoga County Recorder.

The Special Counsel to the Ohio Estate Recovery Program, the collection firm of

Weltman, Weinberg and Reis, filed a Motion to Vacate the Order Releasing the Assets from

Administration, which was denied because the Movant was outside the time period for filing a

claim against the estate, as nearly two years had passed since the death of the decedent.

The decision of the Magistrate denying the Motion to Vacate was affirmed by Judge

Anthony J. Russo of the Cuyahoga County Probate Court on or around June 3, 2009. In that

decision the Court found that the Appellant had no right to Civil Rule 60(b) relief because that

motion was not timely filed, nor were their arguments meritorious.

The Special Counsel and the Ohio Attomey General then filed appealed to the Eighth

District Court of Appeals listing the Appellee as Anthony Centorbi and failing to send any notice

whatsoever to Diane Nancy Fiorille, the estate representative. The Court issued its decision on

February 22, 2010, and upheld the Cuyahoga County Probate Court's ruling that the State was

barred from their creditor claim by the one year statute of limitations.

The Ohio Attorney General then filed a Notice of Appeal to this Court with a

Memorandum in Support of Appeal on or about Apri16, 2010. The Appellant's Merit Brief was

filed on August 10, 2010. None of the docketed Notices, Memorandum and Briefs was sent to

the estate representative, Diane Nancy Fiorille.
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The undersigned counsel entered an appearance on October 22, 2010, on behalf of Diane

Nancy Fiorille. The undersigned contacted her on behalf of the Ohio Chapter of the National

Academy of Elder Law Attorneys to offer pro bono services with regard to the Appeal before

this Court. That was the first she heard of the appeal and accepted the representation at that time.

LAW

The General Assembly intended to set a one year statute of limitations on the State of

Ohio in making estate recovery claims in an effort to balance the need for reimbursement to the

state against the necessity of bringing fmality to a decedent's estate. The enactment of R.C.

2117.061 set a one year statute of limitations on recovery by the State, thereby restricting a

previously unlimited period of recourse against the probate estate of a Medicaid recipient.

Immunity of the State from a statute of limitations is a long standing principle of law. State ex

rel. Bd. ofEduc. ofSpringfeld CirySch. Dist v. Gibson, 130 Ohio St. 318, 320 (1935).

However, a State can subject itself to a limitation period by specifically expressing intent to limit

its rights within the statutory language. Id. Prior to 2003, the State of Ohio had an unlimited

timeframe in which to recover against the probate estate of a Medicaid recipient. See Ohio Dep 't

ofHuman Serv. v. Eastman, 145 Ohio App. 3d 369, 373 (9th Dist. 2001) ("[T]he state's claim is]

not ... time barred by the operation of R.C. 2117.061(B) and (C), as they are generally worded

statutes of limitation (or non-claim), in that they do no specifically foreclose claims by the

state.")

Clearly the language of 2117.061 (E) intended to impose a restriction. It reads:

The administrator of the Medicaid estate recovery program shall present a claim
for estate recovery to the person responsible for the estate of the decedent or the
person's legal representative not later than ninety days after the date on which the
Medicaid estate recovery reporting form is received under division (B) of this
section or one year after the decedent's death, whichever is later.
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The rules of statutory construction require that the language of a statute be strictly

construed against the drafter. See Restatement (Second) of Contracts § 206 (1981). While courts

defer to the plain meaning of the words in a given statute, they also presume that the legislature

intended each provision in a statute to have a purpose. See State ex rel. Besser v. Ohio State

Univ., 721 N.E.2d 1044, 1048 (Ohio 2000).

If the intent of the General Assembly was simply to enact a triggering mechanism to

require the administrator of the estate recovery program to make a claim within ninety days

following the filing of the Medicaid estate recovery form they would not have set into the

language a time frame based on the decedent's date of death. The idea that the words "whichever

is later" should create a potentially endless period of recovery against a beneficiary would render

the words "or one year after the decedent's death" meaningless. The court must look for a plain

meaning where both phrases have a purpose. See Boley v. Cooper Tire & Rubber Co., 929

N.E.2d 448, 452 (Ohio 2010).

In revamping the probate claim period for creditors the state legislature recognized the

public interest in bringing finality to a decedent's estate but elevated estate recovery claims as a

special class and provided the State additional; but not unlimited, time to perfect a claim. See H.

95, 125th Gen. Assem., Reg. Sess. (Ohio 2003). The section "Claims Against the Estate" of the

Bill Analysis of House Bil195 presented by the Ohio Legislative Service Committee states:

"All claims against an estate must be presented within one year of the decedent's
death. The act permits the administrator of the Medicaid Estate Recovery
Program to present claims the later of one year after the decedent's death or 90
days after receiving notice from the person responsible for the estate that the
decedent was a Medicaid recipient." (Emphasis added).

The legislative history is important in this case. House Bill 95, which introduced the

language in this dispute, was presented shortly after another bill was set forth that would limit
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the claim period for regular creditors making claims against a decedent's estate from one year to

six months. See H. 51, 125th Gen. Assem., Reg. Sess. (Ohio 2003). By specifically exempting

2117.061 from the shortened general creditor period, the General Assembly opted to leave the

State's claim period at one year, rather than terminating it at six months.

Further, the fiduciary of an estate can accelerate the claim of potential creditors "by

giving written notice to a potential claimant that identifies the decedent by name, states the date

of the death of the decedent, identifies the executor or administrator by name and mailing

address, and informs the potential claimant that any claims the claimant may have against the

estate are required to be presented to the executor or administrator in a writing within the earlier

of thirty days after receipt of the notice by the potential claimant or six months after the date of

the death of the decedent." See Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2117.07 (2006). (emphasis added)

Thus, a creditor has thirty days from notification by the fiduciary in which to present a

claim. An estate recovery claim can also be accelerated in advance of the ultimate one year from

date of death limitation by filing a Medicaid estate recovery reporting form. The administrator of

the estate recovery program has ninety days from receipt of the estate recovery form to file a

claim. Again, a balance recognizing the state's interest is seen in the longer claim period when

giving written notice.

Even recognizing the important interest of the State in recovering expended funds from

the estate of Medicaid recipient's, it is clear that the legislature did not intend to leave the estate

recovery program unrestricted.

History of Estate Recovery in Ohio

Ohio adopted an estate recovery program in January 1, 1995, in response to a Federal

mandate contained in the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993. See Ohio Rev. Code
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Ann. § 5111.11 (1995) (amended 2006). When enacted in 1995, the Ohio Estate recovery

program only allowed recovery against probate assets and no notification procedure was required

by the executor or administrator of an estate. Since its inception, the Ohio estate recovery

program has been administered by the Ohio Attorney General's Office.

In 2003, the General Assembly passed House Bi1195 which included the state's first

estate recovery notice provision. This provision, codified as R.C. 2117.061, required that the

executor, administration, or applicant for a release from administration or summary release from

administration give the administrator of the estate recovery notice within 30 days of appointment

that the decedent was fifty-five years of age or older at the time of their death and that the

decedent was a Medicaid recipient under Revised Code Chapter 5111. See Ohio Rev. Code Ann.

§ 2117.061(B) (2006). In addition, it required that the "person responsible for the estate" shall

mark the appropriate box on the appropriate probate form to notify the court that the decedent

was a Medicaid recipient. See Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2117.061(C) (2006). Upon receipt of this

notice the state was required to make a claim against the estate within 90 days of receipt of

notice, or one year from the date of death. In response to R.C. 2117.061, Standard Probate Form

7.0 was created which gave the required notice to the administrator of the estate recovery

program for probate estates only.

In 2005, the General Assembly passed House Bi1166 which substantially modified Ohio

Estate Recovery. See H. 66, 126th Gen. Assem., Reg. Sess. (Ohio 2005). Federal law has

always allowed the states to choose which avenue they wish to take in regard to estate recovery,

either against probate assets only, or against all assets of a decedent both probate and non-

probate. Until House Bi1166, Ohio had always chosen to recover against probate assets only.

With the passage of House Bil166, R.C. 5111.11 was amended to allow recovery against all
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"real and personal property and other assets in which an individual had any legal
title or interest at the time of death (to the extent of the interest), including assets
conveyed to a survivor, heir, or assign of the individual through joint tenancy,
tenancy in common, survivorship, life estate, living trust, or other arrangement "
See Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 5111.11(A)(1)(b) (2006).

In addition, R.C. 2117.061 was amended to create a "Medicaid estate recovery reporting form."

The statute, as amended, required that the form shall:

"require, at a minimum, that the person responsible for the estate list all of the
decedent's real and personal property and other assets that are part of the
decedent's estate as defined in section 5111.11 of the Revised Code. In the case of
a decedent who was the spouse of a decedent subject to the Medicaid estate
recovery program, the formshall require, at a minimum, that the person
responsible for the estate list all of the decedent's real and personal property and
other assets that are part of the decedent's estate as defined in section 5111.11 of
the Revised Code and were also part of the estate, as so defmed, of the decedent
subject to the Medicaid estate recovery program. The administrator shall include
on the form a statement printed in bold letters informing the person responsible
for the estate that knowingly making a false statement on the form is falsification
under section 2921.13 of the Revised Code, a misdemeanor of the first degree."
See Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2117.061(D) (2006).

While the State of Ohio has been collecting against probate and non-probate assets since

R.C. 5111.11 was amended, no "Medicaid estate recovery reporting form" has been promulgated

by the administrator of the Medicaid estate recovery program and estate representatives have

been forced to use the Standard Probate Form 7.0 that was proscribed under the previous R.C.

2117.061. Probate 7.0 form is not the Medicaid Estate Recovery form proscribed in R.C.

2117.061. The Standard Probate Form 7.0 does not list assets, either probate or non-probate, nor

does it contain the "false statement" language as required by the statute. Therefore, it facially

does not meet the requirements of the statutory "Medicaid estate recovery reporting form °"

8



ARGUMENT

A. THIS COURT SHOULD AFFIRM THE LOWER COURT DECISION
BINDING THE STATE TO A ONE YEAR STATUTE OF
LIMITATIONS ON ESTATE RECOVERY CLAIMS AS IT IS IN
COMPLIANCE WITH THE RULES OF STATUTORY
CONSTRUCTION AND THE STATE CAN EASILY COMPLY WITH
THE LIMITATION.

When person applies for Medicaid, the state conducts a thorough evaluation of an

applicant's assets. The State knows which applicant owns a home or a life insurance policy or a

trust. They know who has transferred money and who has not. The initial application and the

attendance of a face to face interview require not just full verbal disclosure but also written

documentation of the value and ownership of each and every asset. Failure to disclose an asset

to Medicaid is criminally punishable with a fraud conviction.

Once Medicaid is approved, the State continually monitors the status of each asset with a

threat of penalties for failure to inform that State of changes in asset titling. The most prominent

penalty for failure to cooperate with the State of Ohio is a denial of benefits resulting in costly

health care bills for the elder in a nursing home. The State requires unmarried Medicaid

recipients to list their homes for sale after 13 months of receiving benefits. If the initial face to

face meeting was not enough, the state conducts redeterminations of eligibility to continually

monitor the assets of the Medicaid recipient and requires the authorized representative to

provided current asset information on an annual basis.

When a Medicaid applicant dies, the State is notified almost immediately so that the

nursing home is not paid for one day more than that to which they are entitled. The nursing

home frequently notifies the State before a death certificate has been issued, or the funeral has

taken place. Before long (usually under 60 days), the State issues a letter for collection of
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Medicaid expenditures. Within that letter, the State asks for estate information and any assets

left in the recipient's name at death.

The Estate Recovery deparhnent of the Ohio Attorney General will frequently go after

assets remaining at the nursing home in the Recipient's personal needs account with as little as

$30.00. The State, suffice it to say, needs no further help to collect against these families.

There is no reason the State needs an unlimited statute of limitation. If the State is bound

to a one year statute of limitation, the State can utilize its own database to idenfify which

Recipient owned a home and with whom they own that home. Currently, an heir cannot transfer

a home either through probate or by a transfer on death affidavit without notifying the State. In

this particular case, the State had not perfected its procedures, but since 2007, the State has iron

clad control over real property transfers for Medicaid recipients when they die. There is no need

for additional time to protect the State.

B. THIS COURT SHOULD AFFIRM THE LOWER COURT BECAUSE
THERE IS NO WAY FOR AN ESTATE REPRESENTATIVE TO
COMPLY WITH THE STATE'S FORM GENERATED STATUTE OF
LIMITATIONS BECAUSE NO FORM EXISTS THEREBY MAKING
IT IMPOSSIBLE TO COMPLY WITH THE LAW.

The concept of expanded estate recovery is fundamentally flawed in its execution. The

law proscribes that the State can recover for Medicaid expenditures from the assets that the

Medicaid recipient owned at death, whether an estate is opened or not. In 2005, the legislature

amended R.C. 2117.061 to require the "person responsible for the estate" to submit a so-called

"Medicaid estate recovery reporting form." The law in section R.C. 2117.061(D) states

explicitly "The Administrator of the Medicaid recovery program shall prescribe a Medicaid

Estate recovery reporting form..." Now, over eight years later, the State has never created the

Medicaid Estate Recovery Reporting form.
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It is a basic tenet of law that due process requires that the State be subject to the laws of

the land. This is basic law on both a federal and State level. The State has not complied with the

law in R.C. 2117.061(D) by failing to create a form. Therefore, a person cannot comply with the

law. If that person cannot comply by, for instance, filing a form that did not exist, then the person

cannot be penalized for the lack of compliance. It is nearly Orwellian in its absurdity.

C. UPHOLDING THE LOWER COURT'S DECISION IN THIS CASE IS
REQUIRED BY PUBLIC POLICY.

The State would have us hold their right to recover from an estate or a recipient of a

decedent's property forever. The law clearly intended the state to be bound by a one year statute

of limitation. The three month notice provision was intended to give an estate representative a

way to shorten the claim period, not give the state an unlimited time to bring a claim. The reality

of the Estate Recovery process is that if the state can wait for someone to provide notice (even if

the form that existed), then both probate and real property transactions would be impeded.

When a person dies, there is an interest in having creditor claims paid. That is long

standing law. That public policy is limited because society would be harmed by the ability of

creditors to come after heirs for the debts of the decedent. Society and law demands fmality to

creditor claims so that an estate can be opened, administered, and closed. The probate process is

a balancing act between heirs and creditors. It is designed to close the door to one generation's

debts and avoid a situation where family members become liable for the debts of their parents.

That is a deliberate public policy that sets the United States apart from England back to colonial

times.

Now, under the Medicaid Estate Recovery system, the Appellant would have us as a

Society hold up the process by which we pass property to heirs indefinitely so that the State can

take an unlimited amount of time to bring a claim for Medicaid expenditures. Further, because
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the claim involves both probate and non-probate transfer of assets, the State acts like an eight

hundred pound gorilla that lurks in the darkness waiting to come after unknowing recipients of

an Medicaid decedent's property. Then the gorilla, through an aggressive collections company

(the Special Counsel), paid on commission but "deputized" by the Ohio Attomey general can

come in, and place either liens or recover from the son who owns a 25% share of his mother's

house.

The practical effect of the Estate Recovery program with an unlimited statute of

limitations is that families like the Centorbis who go through the probate process -do all that the

probate court requires, and obtain a Certificate of Transfer can be subject to a taking by the State

more than 2 years after the date of death.

For those who do not have to go through probate and do not have an "estate

representative" who must file the supposed "estate recovery reporting form" the law creates an

unstable legal status. The State, through these collections companies, would be enabled to go

after the next of kin for years and years searching for any money that the Medicaid decedent

might have owned. At least with a one year statute of limitations, the next of kin can rest after

the one year knowing that the joint account, or life estate, or life insurance policy owned by the

decedent cannot be garnished. More importantly, the bona fide purchaser who buys real property

from a recipient won't be subject to an order to vacate their entire real estate transaction. The

State would argue that the proceeds to the next of kin would be the only assets to which they

would recover, but to do so would make that family member essentially responsible for the debts

of their kin. To uphold the State's unlimited right to seek replenishment form the next of kin re-

creates the debtor state that the founders of our country sought to abolish over 200 years ago.
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The reality of this system is that when a person goes on Medicaid, if they are single, they

have to have less than $1,500.00 in assets. There are few exceptions to this rule, but one of the

major exceptions is that the house remains exempt for 13 months after the applicant goes on

Medicaid. After 13 months the home is to be listed for sale at 90% of the county auditor's value

and sold. There are exceptions to this rule if other people are living in the house, most notably,

children who provided care that prevented nursing home admission for at least 2 years, a

disabled adult child and a sibling with an equity interest.

For a married recipient of Medicaid the Estate recovery process is even more

complicated. The married recipient can keep up to $109,560.00 but if those assets are not taken

out of the Medicaid recipient's name before he or she dies, the State can come back after the

remaining spouse dies and go after the next of kin, years, and potentially decades later and

surprise the heirs with a claim to assets passed either through probate or not. That type of

unlimited jurisdiction is unheard of outside the fantasy world of Medicaid law.

The State knows about the house from the initial application. For the single person, the

house is the only asset remaining at death. The house, in Ohio can pass either through probate or

through a transfer on death affidavit. As a practical matter the State is notified by the nursing

home upon the death of the recipient and a release is required to transfer the property. The

problem with an unliniited statute of limitation for claims against property like the Centorbis is

that no real estate transaction of a person who received Medicaid is ever finished. The State

could potentially place a lien against property that was once owned by the decedent that was a

Medicaid recipient, and move to vacate any transfer of property, even an arms length transaction

to a bona fide buyer. With the one year statute of limitations, the heirs can sell the property and

the bona fide purchaser can know that the property has clear title and the new owners will not
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have their ownership of their newly acquired property questioned. Imagining the nightmare for

title insurers is just the beginning. The State must be limited in their ability to vacate title

transfers in real property transactions or violate the public policy that requires finality to real

estate transactions.

CONCLUSION

The undersigned respectfully requests, this uphold the Eighth District Court of Appeals

decision imposing a one year statute of limitations on the State of Ohio to bring an estate

recovery claim.

Respectfully submitted,

\'^- Q r<tAX 9^v
Kachel A. Kabb-httron, Lsq. (U
Kenneth S. Kabb, Co., LPA
21625 Chagrin Blvd. #240
Beachwood, Ohio 44122
216-991-5222
Fax 216-991-5224
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James C. Bates, Esq. (0068238)
186 Castle Boulevard
Akron, Ohio 44313
330-697-5328
JamesCBatesEsq@gmail.com
Counsel for Diane Fiorille
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5111.11 Estate recovery program.

(A) As used in this section and section 5111.111 of the Revised Code:

(1) "Estate" includes both of the following:

(a) AII real and personal property and other assets to be administered under Title XXI of the Revised

Code and property that would be administered under that title If not for section 2113.03 or 2113.031

of the Revised Code;

(b) Any other real and personal property and other assets in which an individual had any legal title or
interest at the time of death (to the extent of the Interest), including assets conveyed to a survivor,
heir, or assign of the individual through joint tenancy, tenancy in common, survivorship, life estate,

living trust, or other arrangement.

(2) "Institution" means a nursing facility, intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, or a

medical institution.

(3) "Intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded" and "nursing facility" have the same

meanings as in section 5111.20 of the Revised Code.

(4) :`Permanently institutionalized individual" means an individual to whom all of the following apply:

(a) Is an inpatient in an institution;

(b) Is required, as a condition of the medicaid program paying for the individual's services in the

institution, to spend for costs of medical or nursing care all of the individual's income except for an

amount for personal needs specified by the department of job and family services;

(c) Cannot reasonably be expected to be discharged from the institution and return home as

determined by the department of job and family services.

(5) °Qualified state long-term care insurance partnership program" means the program established

under section 5111.18 of the Revised Code.

(6) "Time of death" shall not be construed to mean a time after which a legal title or interest in real or
personal property or other asset may pass by survivorship or other operation of law due to the death

of the decedent or terminate by reason of the decedent's death.

(B) To the extent permitted by federal law, the department of job and family services shall institute a
medicaid estate recovery program under which the department shall, except as provided in divisions

(C) and (E) of this section, and subject to division (D) of this section, do all of the following:

(1) For the costs of medicaid services the medicaid program correctly paid or will pay on behalf of a

permanently institutionalized individual of any age, seek adjustment or recovery from the individual's

estate or on the sale of property of the individual or spouse that is subject to a lien imposed under

section 5111.111 of the Revised Code;

(2) For the costs of medicaid services the medicaid program correctly paid or will pay on behalf of an
individual fifty-five years of age or older who is not a permanently institutionalized individual, seek

adjustment or recovery from the individual's estate;
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(3) Seek adjustment or recovery from the estate of other individuals as permitted by federal law.

(C)(1) No adjustment or recovery may be made under division (B)(1) of this section from a

permanently institutionalized individual's estate or on the sale of property of a permanently

institutionalized individuaf that is subject to a lien imposed under section 5111.111 of the Revised

Code or under division (B)(2) or (3) of this section from an individual's estate while either of the

following are alive:

(a) The spouse of the permanently institutionalized individual or individual;

(b) The son or daughter of a permanently institutionalized individual or individual if the son or
daughter is under age twenty-one or, under 42 U.S,C. 1382c, is considered blind or disabled.

(2) No adjustment or recovery may be made under division (B)(1) of this section from a permanently

institutionalized individual's home that is subject to a lien imposed under section 5111.111 of the

Revised Code while either of the following lawfully reside in the home:

(a) The permanently institutionalized individual's sibling who resided in the home for at least one year
immediately before the date of the permanently institutionalized individual's admission to the

institution and on a continuous basis since that time;

(b) The permanently institutionalized individual's son or daughter who provided care to the
permanently institutionalized individual that delayed the permanently institutionalized individual's

institutionalization and resided in the home for at least two years Immediately before the date of the

permanently institutionalized individual's admission to the institution and on a continuous basis since

that time.

(13) In the case of a participant of the qualified state long-term care insurance partnership program,
adjustment or recovery required by this section may be reduced in accordance with rules adopted

under division (G) of this section.

(E) The department shall, In accordance with procedures and criteria established in rules adopted
under division (G) of this section, waive seeking an adjustment or recovery otherwise required by this
section if the director of job and family services determines that adjustment or recovery would work an
undue hardship. The department may limit the duration of the waiver to the period during which the

undue hardship exists.

(F) For the purpose of determining whether an individual meets the definition of "permanently

Institutionalized individual" established for this section, a rebuttable presumption exists that the

individual cannot reasonably be expected to be discharged from an institution and return home if

either of the following is the case:

(1) The individual declares that he or she does not intend to return home.

(2) The individual has been an inpatient in an institution for at least six months.

(G) The director of job and family services shall adopt rules in accordance with Chapter 119. of the
Revised Code regarding the medicaid estate recovery program, including rules that do both of the

following:
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(1) For the purpose of division (D) of this section and consistent with 42 U.S.C. 1396p(b)(1)(C),

provide for reducing an adjustment or recovery in the case of a participant of the qualified state long-

term care insurance partnership program;

(2) For the purpose of division (E) of this section and consistent with the standards specified by the
United States secretary of health and human services under 42 U.S.C. 1396p(b)(3), establish
procedures and criteria for waiving adjustment or recovery due to an undue hardship.

Effective Date: 08-29-2000; 06-30-2005; 06-30-2006; 2007 HB119 09-29-2007
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2117.061 Notice of receipt of medicaid benefits to

administrator of estate recovery program.

(A) As used in this section:

(1) "Medicaid estate recovery program" means the program instituted under section 5111.11 of the

Revised Code.

(2) "Permanently institutionalized individual" has the same meaning as in sectlon 5111.11 of the

Revised Code.

(3) "Person responsible for the estate" means the executor, administrator, commissioner, or person
who filed pursuant to section 2113.03 of the Revised Code for release from administration of an estate.

(B) The person responsible for the estate of a decedent subject to the medlcaid estate recovery
program or the estate of a decedent who was the spouse of a decedent subject to the medicaid estate
recovery program shall submit a properly completed medicaid estate recovery reporting form
prescribed under division (D) of this section to the administrator of the medicaid estate recovery
program not later than thirty days after the occurrence of any of the following:

(1) The granting of letters testamentary;

(2) The administration of the estate;

(3) The filing of an application for release from administration or summary release from administration.

(C) The person responsible for the estate shall mark the appropriate box on the appropriate probate
form to indicate compliance with the requirements of division (B) of this section.

The probate court shall send a copy of the completed probate form to the administrator of the

medicaid estate recovery program.

(D) The administrator of the medicaid estate recovery program shall prescribe a medicaid estate
recovery reporting form for the purpose of division (B) of this section. In the case of a decedent
subject to the medicaid estate recovery program, the form shall require, at a minimum, that the
person responsible for the estate list all of the decedent's real and personal property and other assets
that are part of the decedent's estate as defined in section 5111.11 of the Revised Code. In the case of
a decedent who was the spouse of a decedent subject to the medicaid estate recovery program, the
form shall require, at a minimum, that the person responsible for the estate list all of the decedent's
real and personal property and other assets that are part of the decedent's estate as defined in section
5111.11 of the Revised Code and were also part of the estate, as so defined, of the decedent subject
to the medicaid estate recovery program. The administrator shall include on the form a statement

printed in bold letters informing the person responsible for the estate that knowingly making a false
statement on the form is falsification under section 2921.13 of the Revised Code, a misdemeanor of

the first degree.

(E) The administrator of the medicaid estate recovery program shall present a claim for estate

recovery to the person responsible for the estate of the decedent or the person's legal representative

not later than ninety days after the date on which the medicaid estate recovery reporting form is

received under division (B) of this section or one year after the decedent's death, whichever is later.
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Effective Date: 09-26-2003; 06-30-2005; 2007 HB119 09-29-2007
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RULE 60. Relief From Judgment or Order

(A) Clerical mistakes. Clerical mistakes in judgments, orders or other parts of the
record and errors therein arising from oversight or omission may be corrected by the court at any
time on its own initiative or on the motion of any party and after such notice, if any, as the court
orders. During the pendency of an appeal, such mistakes may be so corrected before the appeal
is docketed in the appellate court, and thereafter while the appeal is pending may be so corrected
with leave of the appellate court.

(B) Mistakes; inadvertence; excusable neglect; newly discovered evidence; fraud;
etc. On motion and upon such terms as are just, the court may relieve a party or his legal
representative from a fmal judgment, order or proceeding for the following reasons: (1) mistake,
inadvertence, surprise or excusable neglect; (2) newly discovered evidence which by due
diligence could not have been discovered in time to move for a new trial under Rule 59(B); (3)
fraud (whether heretofore denominated intrinsic or extrinsic), misrepresentation or other
misconduct of an adverse party; (4) the judgment has been satisfied, released or discharged, or a
prior judgment upon which it is based has been reversed or otherwise vacated, or it is no longer
equitable that the judgment should have prospective application; or (5) any other reason
justifying relief from the judgment. The motion shall be made within a reasonable time, and for
reasons (1), (2) and (3) not more than one year after the judgment, order or proceeding was
entered or taken. A motion under this subdivision (B) does not affect the fmality of ajudgment

or suspend its operation.

The procedure for obtaining any relief from a judgment shall be by motion as prescribed
in these rules.

[Effective: July 1, 1970.]
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AN ACT

To amend sections 2106.01, 2106.02, 2107.19, 2109.301, 2109.32, 2113.53, 2117.06,
2117.07, 2117.11, and 2117.12 and to enact section 2101.163 of the Revised Code relative to
the election by a surviving spouse, notice of admission of a will to probate, accounts of
administrators and executors, distribution of estate assets, presentation of creditors' claims
to distributees, dispute resolution procedures in probate court, and time for presenting
claims against an estate.

ee it enacted by the Generai Assembly of the State of Ohio:

SECTION 1. That sections 2106.01, 2106.02, 2107.19, 2109.301, 210932, 2113.53, 2117.06, 2117.07, 2117.11,
and 2117.12 be amended and section 2101.163 of the Revised Code be enacted to read as follows:

Sec 2101 163 (A) A orobate iudae mav tabiish by rule o ocedures for the resolijtion f disoutes between
-rties to any Cy I actiOn or oroceed'na that is with'n the iurisd

(125th General Assembly)
(Amended Substitute House Bill Number 51)

ited ion t
S3 on a
oba e ud

a obate court. Any procedures so
'stabl'sh s any o ocedures under th's

division, the q obate iudae may charce, in addit"on to the fees and costs author'zed under section 2101.16 of the
Revised Code a reasonabie fee, not to exceed fifteen dollars, that is to be collectetl on the fillna of each action or
proceedino and that is to be used to imolement the orocedures

(8) The orobate cou*I'shall oav to the c u tv treasumr of the co ntv'n which the court is

disbu rsed uoon an order of the orobate iudoe.

(C) 1f th e DrQbate Judoe determ'nes that the amo unt of the moneys In the fµnd desc ribed in division ( e) of thts
section is more than the am nt i s sufficient to sat'sfv the ouroase for which the additional fee described in
division (A) of th's section was imoosed the orobate iudae may declare a surolus in the P nd and exoend the

rNus monevs for other aoorooriate iudi6al exo nsPs of the p robate court.su

ated all fees co
under division fA) of this sectlon. The treasurer shall place the funds from the fees in a seoarate fund to be

Sec. 2106.01. (A) After the initial appointment of an administretor or executor of the estate, the probate court
shall issue a citation to the surviving spouse, if any is living at the time of the issuance of the citation, to elect
whether to exercise the surviving spouse's rights under Chapter 2106, of the Revised Code, including, after the
probate of a will, the right to elect to take under the will or under section 2105.06 of the Revised Code.

A s iv'no soouse may waive the se"lce of the citation rea Iretl undgr this division b y Fllina in the orobate court a

written waiver of the citation. The waiver shall i cl de an acknowleda nt of receiot of the d sc ioCon of the
aene ai riahts of the sur 'v' 9 o se recuired b dvision (B) of section 2106 02 of the Revtsed Code.

(B) If the surviving spouse elects to take under section 2105.06 of the Revised Code and if the value of the property
that the surviving spouse is entitietl to receive is equal to or greater than the value of the decedent's interest in the
mansion house as determined under section 2106.10 of the Revised Code, the surviving spouse also is entitled to
Inake an election pursuant to division (A) of section 2106.10 of the Revised Code.

(C) If the surviving spouse elects to take under section 2105.06 of the Revised Code, the surviving spouse shall take
not to exceed one-half of the net estate, unless two or more of the decedent's children or their lineal descendants
survive, in which case the surviving spouse sha{I take not to exceed one-third of the net estate.

For purposes of this division, the net estate shall be determined before payment of federal estate tax, estate taxes
under Chapter 5731. of the Revised Code, or any other tax that is subject to apportionment under section 2113.86
or 2113.861 of the Revised Code.

(D) Unless the will expressly provides that in case of an election untler division (A) of this section there shall be no
acceleration of remainder or other interests bequeathed or devised by the will, the balance of the net estate shall be
disposed of as though the surviving spouse had predeceased the testator. If there is a disposition by a will to an

ed shall include, but are n
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inter vivos trust that was created by the testator, if under the terms of the trust the surviving spouse is entitled to
any Interest in the trust or is granted any power or nomination with respect to the trust, and if the surviving spouse
makes an election to take under section 2105,06 of the Revised Code, then, unless the trust instrument provides
otherwise, the surviving spouse is deemed for purposes of the trust to have predeceased the testator, and there
shatl be an acceleration of remainder or other interests In all property bequeathed or devised to the trust by the will,
in all property held by the trustee at the time of the death of the decedent, and in all property that comes into the
hands of the trustee by reason of the death of the decedent.

(E) The election of a surviving spouse to take under a will or under section 2105.06 of the Revised Code may be
made at any time after the death of the decedent, but the surv)ving spouse shall not make the election later than
five months from the date of the Initial appointment of an administrator or executor of the estate. On a motion filed
before the expiration of the five-month period, an(J for good cause shown, the court may allow fUrther time for the
making of the election. If no action Is taken by the surviving spouse before the expiration of the five-month period,
it is conclusively presumed that the surviving spouse elects to take under the will. The election shall be entered on
the journal of the court.

When proceedings for advice or to contest the validity of a will are begun within the time allowed by this division for
making the election, the election may be made within three months after the final disposition of the proceedings, if
the will is not set aside.

(F) When a surviving spouse succeeds to the entire estate of the testator, having been named the sale devisee and
legatee, It shall be presumed that the spouse elects to take under the w01 of the testator, unless the surviving
spouse manifests a contrary intention.

Sec. 2106.02. (A) The citation to make the election referred to in section 2106.01 ofthe Revised Code shall be
ecnCte served on the surviving spouse iyeerNfkd meii oursuant to Civil Rule 73. Notice that the citation has been
issued by the court shall be given to the administrator or executor of the estate of the deceased spouse.

(B) The citation shall be accompanied by a general descriptlon of the effect of the electlon to take under the will or
under section 2105.06 of the Revised Code and the general rights of the surviving spouse under Chapter 2106. of
the Revised Code. The description shall Include a specific reference to the procedures available to the surviving
spouse under section 2106.03 of the Revised Code and to the presumption that arises if the surviving spouse does
not make the election in accordance with division (E) of section 2106.01 of the Revised Code. The description of the
general rights of the surviving spouse under Chapter 2106. of the Revised Code shali include a specific reference to
the presumptlon that arises if the surviving spouse does notmeke exercise the eleehiert riahts under Chapter 2106.
cf the Revised Code within the time period specified by section 2106.25 of the Revised Code. The description of the
effect of the election and of the general rights of the survlving spouse need not relate to the nature of any particular
estate.

(C) A surviving spouse electing to take under the will may manifest the election in wridng within the times described
In division ( E) of section 2106.01 of the Revised Code.

Sec. 2107.19. (A)(1) Subject to divisions (A)(2)and ( B) of this section, when a will has been admitted to probate,
the fiduciary for the estate or another person specified in division (A)(4) of this section shall, within two weeks of
the admission of the will to probate, give a notice as described in this division and In the manner provided by Civil
Rule 73(E) to the surviving spouse of the testator, to all persons who would be entStled to inherit from the testator
under Chapter 2105. of the Revised Code if the testator had died intestate, and to all legatees and devisees named
in the will. The notice shall mention the probate of the will and, if a particular person being given the notice is a
legatee or devisee named in the will, shall state that the person is named in the will as beneficiary. A copy of the will
admitted to probate Is not required to be given with the notice.

(2) A person entitletl to be given the notice tlescr3bed in division (A)(1) of this section may waive that right by filing
a written waiver of the right to receive the notice in the probate court. The person may file the waiver of the right to
receive the notice at any dme prior to or after the will has been admitted to probate.

(3) The fact that the notice described in division (A)(1) of this section has been given, subject to division ( B) of this
section, to all persons described in division (A)(1) of this section who have not waived their right to receive the
notice, and, If applicable, the fact that certain persons described in that division have waived their right to receive
the notice in accordance with dlvlsion (A)(2) of this section, shall be evidenced by a certificate that shall be filed in
the probate court in accordance with division (A)(4) of this section.

(4) The notice of the admission of the will to probate required by division (A)(1) of this section and the certificate of
giving notice or waiver of notice required by division (A)(3) of this section shall be given or filed by the fiduciary for
the estate or by the applicant for the admission of the will to probate, the applicant for a release from
administration, any other interested person, or the attorney for the fiducfary or for any of the preceding persons.
The certifcate of giving notice shall be filed not later than two months after the appointment of the fiduciary 2[,..L
no fiduciary has been aoo inted not later than two month s after the admission of th e will to nrobate unless the
court grants an extension of that time. Failure to file the certi6cate in a timely manner shall subject the fiduciary or
a lican to the citation and penalty provisions of section 2109.31 of the Revised Code.

(e) The fiduciary or another person specified in division (A)(4) of this section is not required to give a not(ce
pursuant to division (A)(1) of this section to persons who have been notified of the application for probate of the will
or of a contest as to jurisdiction or to persons whose names or places of residence are unknown and cannot with
reasonable diligence be ascertained, and a person authorized by division (A)(4) of this section to give notice shall
file in the probate court a certificate to that effect. . . ..

Sec. 2109.301. (A) An administratororexecUtor shall render an account at aoy time other than a tlme otherwise
mentioned in this section upon an order of the probate court issued for good cause shown either at its own instance
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or upon the motion of any person interested in the estate. Except as otherwise provided in division (B)(2) of this
section, an adminlstrator or executor shall render a Flnat account within thirty days after completing the
administration of the estate or within any other periotl of time that the court may order.

Every account shall include an itemized statement of all receipts of the administrator or executor during the
accounting period and of all disbursements and distributions made by the executor or administrator during the
accountlng period. In addition, the account shall Include an itemized statement of all funds, assets, and investments
of the estate known to or In the possessicn of the administrator or executor at the end of the accounting period and
shall show any changes in investments since the last previous account. . .

Every account shall be upon the signature of the administrator or executor. When two or more administrators or
executors render an account, the court may allow the account upon the signature of one of them. The court may
examine the administrator or executor under oath concerning the account.

When an administrator or executor is authorized by law or by the Instrument governing distribution to distribute the
assets of the estate, In whole or in part, the administrator or executor may do so and include a report of the
distribution in the administrator's or executor's succeeding account.

In estates of decedents in which none of the legatees, devisees, or heirs is under a legal disability, each partial
accounting of an executor or administrator may be waived by the written consent of all the legatees, devisees, or
heirs filed in lieu of a partial accounting otherwise required.

(B)(1) Every administrator and executor, within six months after appointment, shall render a final and distributive
account of the administrator's or executor's administration of the estate unless one or more of the following
circumstances apply:

(a) An Ohio estate tax return must be filed for the estate.

(b) A proceeding contesting the validity of the decedent's will pursuant to section 2107.71 of the Revised Code has
been commenced.

(c) The surviving spouse has filed an election to take against the will.

(d) The administrator or executor is a party in a civil action.

(e) The estate is insolvent

(f) For other reasons set forth by the administrator or executor, subject to court approval, it would be detrimental to
the estate and its beneficiaries or heirs to file a final and distributive account.

(2) In estates of decedents in which the sole legatee, devisee, or heir is also the administrator or executor of the
estate, no partial accountings are required7erid-{heJhit administrator or executor of an estate of that tvoe shall rnet
Ole a final account or finat and distribuGve accounE-fn or, In lieu of f ling a final account, the administrator or
executor may f'ile with the court within thirty days after
completing the administration of the estate a certificate of termination of an estate that states al€ of the following:

(a) All debts and claims presented to the estate have been paid in full or settled finally.

(b) An estate tax return, if required under the provisions of the Internal Revenue Code or Chapter 5731. of the
Revised Code, has been filed, and any estate tax has been paid.

(c) Ait attorney's fees have been waived by or paid to counsel of record of the estate, and all exeoutor or
administrator fees have been waived or paid.

(d) The amount of attorney's fees and the amount of administratar or executor fees that have been paid.

(e) All assets remaining after completion of the actlv(tles described in divisions (B)(2)(a) to (d) of this section have
been distributed to the sole legatee, devisee, or heir.

(3) In an estate pf the tvoe describ d In tlivislon (B)(2) of this section a sole leaatee devisee, or heir of a decedent
may be liable to crgdito s for debts of and claims aoa'nst the estate that are oresented after the fl'nc of the
certificate of termination described In that division and within the time allowed bv section 2117.06 of the Revised
Code fo oresentation of the cretlitors' claims.

L41 Not later than thirteen months after appointment, every administrator and executor shall render an account of
the administrator's or executor's administration, unless a certificate of termination is filed under division (B)(2) of
this section. Except as provided in divisions (B)(1) and (2) of this section, after the initial account Is rendered, every
administrator and executor shall render further accounts at least once each year.

Sec. 2109.32. (A) Every fiduciary's account required by section 2109.301, 2109.302, or 2109.303 of the Revised
Code shall be set for hearing before the probate court. The hearing on the account shall be set not earlier than thfrty
days after the filing of the account,

At the hearing upon an account required by section 2109.302 or 2109.303 of the Revised Code and, if ordered by
the court, upon an account required by section 2109.301 of the Revised Code, the court shatf Inquire into, consider,
and tletermine all matters relative to the account and the manner in which the fiduciary has executed the fiduciary's
trust, inclutling the investment of trust funds, and may order the account approved and settled or make any other
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order as the court considers proper. If, at the hearing upon an account, the court flnds that the fiduciary has fully
and lawfully administered the estate or trust and has distributed the assets of the estate or trust in accordance with
the law or the instrument goveming distribution, as shown in the account, the court shall order the acCount
approved and settled and may order the fiduciary discharged. Upon approval of a flnai and distributive account
required by division (B)(1) of section 2109.301 of the Revised Code, the court may order the surety bond for the
fiduciary terminated. Uniess otherwise ordered by the court, the fiduciary shall be discharged without further order
twelve months following the approval of the final and distributive account.

(B)(1) An administrator or executor filing an account pursuant to section 2109.301 of the Revised Code shall provide
at the time of fiiing the account a copy of the account to each heir of an intestate estate or to each beneficiary of a
testate estate. An administrator or executor is not required to provide a copy of the account to any of the following:

(a) An heir or a bene6clary whose residence is unknown;

(b) A beneHciary of a specific bequest or devise who has received his or her tl3stribution and for which a receipt has
been fled or exhibited with the court.

(2) An administrator or executor filing an account oursuant to sect i on 2109 301 of the Revised Code shall file with
the orobate court a certificate of service of account prior to or s m Itaneouslv w'th the filina of the account.

(,.,)3 The prubate court shal] not approve the final account of any executor or administrator untli the following events

have occurred:

(a) Three months have passed since the death of the decedent"

(b) The sur+iving spouse has filed an election to take under or against the will, or the time for making the election
has expired.

(3)W If an administrator or executor leams of the existence of newly discovered assets after the filing of the final
account or otherwise comes Into possession of assets belonging to the estate after the fiiing of the final account, the
executor or administ2tor shall file a supplemental final account with respect to the disposition of the assets and
shall provide a copy of the suppiemental final account to each heir of an intestate estate or to each beneficiary of a
testate estate, as provided in division (B)(1) of this section and subject to the exceptions specified In divisions (B)
(1)(a) and (b) of this section.

(C) The right5 of any person with a pecuniary interest in the estate are not barred by approval of an account
pursuant to divisions (A) and (8) of this section. These rights may be barred following a hearing on the account
pursuant to secdon 2109.33 of the Revised Code.

Sec. 2113.53. (A) At any time after the appointment of an executor or administrator, the executor or
administrator may distribute to the beneficiaries entitled to assets of the estate under the will, if there Is no action
pending to set aside the will, or to the heirs entitled to assets of the estate by law, in cash or in kind, any part or all
of the assets of the estate. Each beneficiary or heir is liable to return the assets or the proceeds from the assets; ig
the estate if they are necessary to satisfy the share of a surviving spouse who elects to take against the will
pursuant to section 2106.01 of the Revised Code, "
mavidcA-m-d^i»eeCiort; or if the will is set aside.

(B) After distribution pursuant to division (A) of this section, a distributee shall be personally liable to a claimant
who presents a v^3i.Q claim within the time set forth in division (e) of section 2117.06 of the Revised Code, subject
to the limitations described in this division.

If o esenta["on of a olaim Is made oursuant to tl' 's"on fAl(2) of section 2117.06 of the Revised Code only those
distributees wha have rece' ed timely oresentation of the clafm ou sua t t o division (B) of that section have any
Ijalbil'tv for the claim subiect to the limitations desc ibed in this di is'on

The personal liability of any distributee shall not exceed the lesser of the following:

(1) The amount the distributee has received reduced by the amount, if any, previously returned or otherwise used
for the payment of the spouse's share or claims finalfy allowed;

(2) The distributee's proporticnate share of the spouse's share or of claims finally allowed. Any distributee's
proportionate share of the spouse's share or of claims finally allowed shall be determined by the following fraction:

(a) The numerator shall be the total amount received by the distributee, reduced by all amounts, If any, previously
returned or otherwise used for the payment of the spouse's share or claims finaily allowed.

(b) The denominator shall be the total amount received by all distributees reduced by all amounts, if any, previously
returned or otherwise used for the payment of the spouse's share or claims finally allewed.

(C) If there is a survlving spouse and if theexecutor or administrator distrlbutes any part of the assets of the estate
befare the expiration of the times described In division (E) of section 2106.01 of the Revised Code for the making of
an election by a surviving spouse, the executor or administrator shall be personally liable to any surviving spouse
who subsequently elects to take against the will. If the executor or administrator tlistributes any part of the assets
of the estate within three months after the death of the dece(lent, the executor or administrator shall he personally
liable only to those claimants who present their claims within that three-month period. If the executor or
administrator distributes any part of the assets of the estate more than three months but less than one year after
the death of the decedent, the executor or administrator shall be personally liabie only to those claimants who
present their claims before the time of distribution and within the time set forth in tlivision (B) of section 2117.06 of
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the Revised Code.

The executor or administrator shall be liable only to the extent that the surn of the remaining assets of the estate
and the assets returned by the beneficiaries or heirs is lnsufficient to satisfy the share of the surviving spouse and to
satisfy the claims against the estate. The executor or administrator shall not be liable in any case for an amount
greater than the value of the estate that existed at the time that the distribution of assets was madeand that was
subject to the spouse's share or to the claims.

(D) The executor or administrator may provide for the payment of rejected claims or claims In suit by setting aside a
sufficient amount of the assets of the estate for paying the claims. The assets shall be set aside for the payment of
the claims in a manner approved by the probate court. Each claimant for whom assets are to be set aside shall be
given notice, in the manner as the court shall order, of the hearing upon the application to set aside assets and shall
have the right to be fully heard as to the nature and amount of the assets to be set aside for payment of the claim
and as to all other conditions In connection with the claim. In any case in which the executor or administrator may
set aside assets as provided in this section, the court, upon its own motion or upon application of the executor or
administrator, as a condition precedent to any distribution, may require any beneficiary or heir to give a bond to the
state with surety approved and in an amount fixed by the court, conditioned to secure the return of the assets to be
distributed, or the proceeds from the assets or as much of the assets as may be necessary to satisfy the claims that
may be recovered against the estate, and to indemnify the executor or administrator against loss and damage on
account of such distribution. The bond may be in additlon to the assets to be set aside or partially or wholly in lieu of
the assets, as the court shall determine.

Sec. 2117.06. (A) All creditors having claims against an estate, including claims arising out of contract, out of tort,
on cognovit notes, or on judgments, whether due or not due, secured or unsecured, liquidated or unliquidated, shalt
present their claims in one of the foilowing manners: ...

(1) After the aooointment of an executor or adm n'st ator and pri r to the filing of a fnal account or a certificate of
terminaEon in cne of the followino manners-

fal To the executor or administrator in a writing;

(2)Lb) To the executor or administrator in a writing, and to the probate court by filing a copy of the wrlting with It;

Q3)(C11n a writing that is sent by ordinary mail addressed to the decedent and that is actually received by the
executor or administrator within the appropriate time spec"rfied in division (B) of this sectlon. For purposes of this
division, If an executor or administrator Is not a naturat person, the writing shall be considered as being actually
received by the executor or administrator only if the person charged with the primary responsibility of administering
the estate of the decedent actually receives the writing within the appropriate time speci0ed in division (B) of this
section.

If the fi n la accou
t e who may share liability for the

termina s been
rnent_of the claiffi

distrib

(B) Except as provided in section 2117.061 of the Revised Code, all claims shall be presented within mtcyeer six
months after the death of the decedent, whether or not the estate is released from administration or an executor or
administrator Is appointed during thatm+eyea six-month period. Every ctalm presented shall set forth the
claimant's address.

(C)Except as provided in section 2117.061 of the Revised Code, a claim that is not presented within orteyeer 21A
mon h after the death of the decedent shall be forever barred as to all parties, inGuding, but not limited to,
devisees, legatees, and distributees. No payment shall be made on the claim and no action shall be maintained on
the claim, except as otherwise provided in sections 2117.37 to 2117.42 of the Revised Code with reference to
contingent claims.

(0) In the absence of any prior demand for allowance, the executor or administrator shall allow or reject all claims,
except tax assessment claims, within thirty days after their presentation, provided that failure of the executor or
administrator to allow or reject within that time shall not prevent the executor or administrator from doing so after
that time and shall not prejudice the rights of any claimant. Upon the allowance of a olaim, the executor or the
administrator, on demand of the creditor, shall furnish the creditor with a written statement or memorandum of the
fact and date of the allowance.

(E) If the executor or administrator has actual knowledge of a pending action cammenced against the decedent prior
to the decedent's death in a court of record in this state, the executor or administrator shall file a notice of the
appointment of the executor or administrator in the pending action within ten days after acqulrtng that knowledge.
If the administrator or executor Is not a natural person, actual knowledge of a pending suit against the decedent
shall be limited to the actual knowledge of the person charged with the primary responsibility of administering the
estate of the decedent. Failure to file the notice within the ten-day period does not extend the claim period
established by this section.

(F) This section applies to any person who is required to give written notice to the executor or administrator of a
motion or application to revive an action pending against the decedent at the date of the death of the decedent.

(G) Nothing in this section or In section 2117.07 of the Revised Code shall be construed to reduce the time
mentianetl in section 2125.02, 2305.09, 2305.10, 2305.11, 2305.113, or 2305.12 of the Revised Code, provided
that no portion of any recovery on a claim brought pursuant to any of those sections shall come from the assets of
an estate unless the claim has been presented against the estate in accordance with Chapter 2117. of the Revised

Code.
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(H) Any per;on whose claim has been presented and has not been rejected after presentment is a creditor as that
term is used in Chapters 2113. to 2125, of the Revised Code. Claims that are contingent need not be presented
except as provitled in sections 2117.37 to 2117.42 of the Revised Code, but, whether presented pursuant to those
sections or this section, contingent claims may be presented in any of the manners described in division (A) of this
section.

(I) If a creditor presents a claim against an estate in accordance with division (A)f2°111}(bl of this section, the
probate court shall not close the administration of the estate until that claim is allowed or rejected.

(3) The probate court shall not require an executor or administrator to make and return into the court a schedule of
daims against the estate.

(K) If the execu Wr or administrator makes a distribution of the assets of the estate DUfSVaDt to secbon 7113 5h of
the Revised Code and prior to the expiration of the time for the ftFng oresent t'on of claims as set forth in this
section, the executor or administrator shall provide notice on the account delivered to each distributee that the
distributee may be liable to the estate if a claim is o e ent d Qrior to the fli a of the Flnal account and may be I"able
to the cla mant if the claim is presented after the HI'ng of the final account up to the value of the distributlon and
may be required to return all or any part of the value of the distribution if a valid claim is subsequently made
against the estate within the time permitted under this section.

Sec. 2117.07. An executor or administrator may accelerate the bar against claims against the estate established
by section 2117.06 of the Revised Code by giving written notice to a potential claimant that identifies the decedent
by name, states the date of the death of the decedent, identi6es the executor or administrator by name and mailing
address, and Informs the potential claimant that any claims Ix the claimant may have against the estate are
required to be presented to the executor or administrator in a writing within the earlier of thirty days after receipt of
the notice by the potentiai claimant or ertryee's'x months after the date of the death of the deoedent. A ciaim of
that potentlal claimant that is not presented in the manner provided by section 2117.06 of the Revised Code within
the earlier of thirty days after receipt of the notice by the potential claimant or orteTecr six months after the date of
the death of the decedent is barred by section 2117.06 of the Revised Code in the same manner as if it was not
presented within ene-7ear six months after the date of the death of the decedent.

See. 2117.11. An executor or administrator. or a dist b tee who rece'ves the presentation of a claim as orovided
in division (A)f2) of ^ecton 2117 . 06 of the Revised Code, shall reject a creditor's claim against the estate ix
reprenenn by giving the claimant written notice of the disaliowance tbereef.pf the claim. SvehThe notice shall be
given to the claimant 1

pursuant to Civil Rule 73. Notice by mail shall be effective on delivery of the mail at
the address given. A claim may be rejected in whole or in part. A claim whielr that has been allowed may be rejected
at any time the•eef#e+ after allowance of the cigim.

A claim is rejected if the executor or administrator, o a distributee who rece'ves the resentat'on of a claim as
orov'd d'n divis'on (A)(2) of sec+ion 2117 . 06 of the Revised Code, on demand in writing by the daimant for an
allowance 4hercvf of the daim within five days, which demand may be made at presentation or at any time
thereofter after oresentation, fails to give to the claimant, within aoeh that five-day period, a written statement of
the allowance of etreh 51Le, claim. Seeh The rejection shall become effective at the expiration of xeh that period.

Sec. 2117.12. W hen a claim against an estate has been rejected In whole or in part but not referred to referees,
or when a claim has been allowed in whole or in part and thereafter rejected, the claimant must commence an
action on the claim, or that part thereef of the claim that was rejected, within two months after 8aM the rejection if
the debt or that part thereef of the debt that was rejected is then due, or within two months after tl*eyen+e hat
d bt or oart of the debt that was reiected becomes due, or be forever bamed from maintaining an action thereert on
tf^t cla'm or Dart of the ciaim that was reiected. If the executor or administrator dies, resigns, or is removed within
xeh-lwe-meMM` that two-month period and before action is cominenced thereen on the claim or oart of the claim
that was reiected, the action may be commenced within two months after the appointment of a successor.

For the purposes of this section, the action of a claimant is commenced when the petitien comolaint and praecipe for
service of summons on the executor or administrator. ^^n the distr+n roe who received the o esentat'on of the
51aim as orovided in division (A)(2) of section 2117.06 of the Revised Code, have been filed.

SECTION 2. That existing sectionS 2106.01, 2106.02, 2107.19, 2109.301, 2109.32, 2113.53, 2117.06, 2117.07,
2117.11, and 2117.12 of the Revised Code are hereby repealed.

SECTION 3. (A) Sections 2106.01, 2106.02, 2107.19, 2109.301, 2109.32, 2113.53, 2117.06, 2117.07, 2117.11,
and 2117.12 of the Revised Code, as amended by this act, apply to estates that are in existence or are initiated on
or aflEr the effective date of this act.

(6) Section 2101.163 of the Revised Code, as enacted by this act, applies to civil actions and proceedings that are
pending in or brought before the probate court on or after the effective date of this act.

SECTION 4. It is hereby declared that it was the Intent of the General Assembly that the sections of the Revised
Code described in Section 2 of Sub. H.B. 85 of the 124th General Assembly were to be repealed effective December
31, 2001, to coincide with Section 5 of Sub. H.B. 85 of the 124th General Assembly, and that the repeal of such
Revised Code sections in Section 2 of Sub. H.B. 85 of the 124th General Assembly was not to be effective October
31, 2001.
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(126th General Assembly)
(Amended Substitute House Bill Number 95)

AN ACT

Yo amend sections 2152.17, 2901.08, 2903.11, 2907.01, 2907.03, 2907.05, 2919.26,
2929.01, 2929.13, 2929.14, 2941.149, 2953.08, and 3113.31 and to enact section 2152.192
of the Revised Code retative to the sentences imposed tin repeat viofent offenders, to the

appeal of repeat violent offender sentences, to the penalty for sexual battery and gross
sexual imposition when the victim of the offense is under 13 years of age, to the issuance of

temporary protection orders and civil protections orders for victims of sexualfy oriented

offenses, the notification of iFS-certified facilities regarding children adjudicated delinquent

for acts that are sexually oriented offenses, and to the Sex Offense Law definition of "sexual

conduct."

8e it enacted by the Oeneraf Assembfy of the State of Ohior

SECTION 1. That sections 2152.17, 2901.08, 2903.11, 2907.01, 2907,03, 2907.05, 2919.26, 2929.01, 2929.13,
2929.14, 2941.149, 2953,08, and 3113.31 be amended and section 2152.192 of the Revised Code be enacted to
read as follows:

Sec. 2152.17. (A) Subject to division (D) of this section, if a child is adjudicated a delinquent child for committing
an act, other than a violation of section 2923.12 of the Revised Code, that would be a felony if committed by an
adult and if the court determines that, if the child was an adult, the child would be guilty of a specification of the
type set forth in section 2941.141, 2941.144, 2941.145, 2941.146, 2941.1412, 2941.1414, or 2941.1415 of the
Revised Code, in addition to any commitment or other disposition the court imposes for the underlying delinquent
act, all of the follewing apply:

(1) if the court determines that the child would be guitty of a specification of the type set forth in section 2941.141
of the Revised Code, the court may commit the child to the department of youth services fnr the specification for a
definite period of up to one year.

(2) If the court determines that the child would be guilty of a spectfication of the type set forth in section 2941.145
of the Revised Code or if the delinquent act is a violation of division (A)(1) or (2) of section 2903.06 of the Revised
Code and the court determines that the child would be guilty of a specifcation of the type set forth in sectlon
2941.1415 of the Revised Code, the court shall commit the child to the department of youth services for the
specification for a definite period of not less than one and not more than three years, and the court also shall
commit the child to the department for the underlying delinquent act under secGons 2152.11 to 2152.16 of the

Revised Code.

(3) If the court determines that the child would be guilty of a speciflcation of the type set forth in section 2941.144,
2941.146, or 2941.1412 of the Revisetl Code or if the delinquent act is a violation of division (A)(1) or (2) of section
2903.06 of the Revised Code and the court determines that the child would be guilty of a specificationof the type
set forth in section 2941.1414 of the Revised Code, the court shall commit the child to the department of youth
services for the specification for a definite period of not less than one and not more than five years, and the court
also shall commit the ehiid to the department forthe underlying delinquent act under sections 2152.11 to 2152.16
of the Revised Code.

(B) Division (A) of this section also applies to a child who is an accomplice to the same extent the firearm
specifications would apply to an adult accomplice in a criminal proceeding.

(C) If a child is adjudicated a delinquent child for committing an act that would be aggravated murder, murder, or a
first, second, or third degree felony offense of vioience if committed by an adult and if the court determines that, if
the child was an adult, the child would be guilty of a specification of the type set forth In section 2941.142 of the
Revised Code in reiation to the act for which the child was adjudicated a delinquent child, the court shall commit the
child for the specification to the legal custody of the department of youth services for institutionalization in a secure
facility for a definite period of not less than one and not more than three years, subject to division (0)(2) of this
section, and the court also shall commit the child to the department for the underlying delinquent act.
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(D)(1) If the child is adjudicated a delinquent child for committing an act that would be an offense of violence that is
a felony if committed by an adult and is commit[ed to the legal custody of the department of youth services
pursuant to division (A)(1) of section 2152.16 of the Revised Code and if the court determines that the chiltl, if the
child was an adult, would be guilty of a specification of the type set forth in section 2941.1411 of the Revised Code
in relaGon to the act for which the child was adjudicated a deiinquent child, the court may commit the child to the
custody of the department of youth services for institutionalization in a secure facility for up to two years, subject to
division (D)(2) of this secGon.

(2) A court that imposes a period of commitment under tlivision (A) of this section is not precluded from imposing
an additionalperiod of commitment under division (C) or (D)(1) of this section, a court that imposes a period of
commitment under division (C) of this section is not precluded from imposing an additional period of commitment
under division (A) or (D)(1) of this section, and a court that imposes a period of commitment under division (D)(1)
of this section is not precluded from imposing an atlditional period of commitment under division (A) or (C) of this
section.

(E) The court shall not commit a child to the legal custody of the department of youth services for a specification
pursuant to this section for a penod that exceeds five years for any one delinquent act. Any commitment imposed
pursuant to division (A), (B), (C), or (D)(1) of this section shall be In addition to, and shall be served consecutively
with and prior to, a period of commitment ordered under this chapter for the underlying delinquent act, and each
commitment imposed pursuant to division (A), (B), (C), or (D)(1) of this section shall be in addition to, and shall be
servetl consecutively with, any other period of commitment Imposed under those divisions. If a commitment is
Imposed under division (A) or (B) of this section and a commitment also is imposed under division (C) of this
section, the period imposed under division (A) or (B) of this section shall be served prior to the period imposed
under division (C) of this section.

In each case In which a tdurt makes a disposition under this section, the court retains control over the commitment
for the entire period of the commitment.

The total of all the periods of commitment imposed for any specification under this section and for the underlying
offense shalt not exceed the child's attainment of twenty-one years of age.

(F) If a child is adjudicated a delinquent child for committing two or more acts that would be felonies if committed
by an adult and if the cnurt entering the delinquent child adjudication orders the commitment of the child for two or
more of those acts to the legal custody of the department of youth services for instituGonalizabon in a secure facility
pursuant to section 2152.13 or 2152.i6 of the Revised Code, the court may order that all of the periods of
commitment imposed under those sections for those acts be served consecutiveiy In the legal custody of the
department of youth servlces, provided that those periods of commitment shall be in addition to and commence
immediately following the expiration of a period of commitment that the court imposes pursuant to division (A), (B),
(C), or (D)(1) of this section. A court shall not commit a delinquent child to the legal custody of the department of
youth services under this division for a period that exceeds the child's attainment of twenty-one years of age.

f

9

Ltl Purloin it to 61

Sec 2152 192 If a cour[ gr ch'Id welfare aa ncv olaces a detinaue t ch'Id'n an'nstitution or association, as
dofined in section 5103.02 ofthe Rev'sed Code, that Is cert'fed bv the deoartment of' b and f IIV services

5gction 5103 , 03 of the Rev'sed Code and if that child has been atl- d cateo delinquent tor commntc n an
a sexuallv nrlented offense in e the a o'or delinauency adi d'cat'on r'n the most recent delinauencv

aditidicatioEt, the court or child welfare aoencv shall n t'fv the operator of the Institution o as5ociation and the
sheriff of the co ntv t which the 'n it tion or as_ociaaon i5 located thatthe ch id has been adludicated delineuent
for co mittino an pct that's a sexually or'entetl offense

See. 2901.08. j1 If a person is alleged to have committed an offense and if the person previously has been
adjudicated a delinquent child or juvenile traffic offender for a violation of a law or ordinance, except as provided in
division fB} of this section. the adjudication as a delinquent child or as a juvenile traffic offender is a conviction for a
violatfon of the law or ordinance for purposes of determining the offense with whlch the person should be charged
and, if the person is convicted of or pleads guilty to an offense, the sentence to be imposed upon the person relative
to the conviction or guilty plea.

(B) A orevio s adjudication of a oerson del'nauent chiltl ' ven'le traffic offender for a violation of a law or
ordinance is not a convtct'on for violat'on af the law or ordinance -for o rooses of d termin"no whether the oerson
Is a reoeat violent offender, as defined in secbon 2929 01 of the Revised Code or whether the pson shouid be
sentenied as a repeat violent offender under dlvis'on (01f21 of section 2929.14 and section 2941 149 of the Revised

Cgde

Sec. 2903.11. (A) No person shall knowingly do either of the following:

(1) Cause serious phys3cal harm to another or to another's unbom;

(2) Cause or attempt to cause physical harm to another or to another's unbom by means of a deadly weapon or
dangerous ordnance.
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(B) No perspn, with knowledge that the person has tested positive as a carrier of a virus that causes acquired
immunodeficiency syndrome, shall knowingly do any of the following:

(1) Engage in sexual conduct with another person without disclosing that knowledge tO the other person prior to
engaging in the sexual conduct;

(2) Engage in sexual conductwith a person whom the offender knows ar has reasonable cause to believe lacks the
mental capacity to appreciate the significance of the knowledge that the offender has tested positive as a carrier of
a virus that causes acquired immunodeficiency syndrome;

(3) Engage In sexual conduct with a person under eighteen years of age who is not the spouse of the offender.

(C) The prosecution of a person under this section does not preclude prosecution of that person untler section
2907.02 of the Revised Code.

(0) Whoever violates this section is guilty of felonious assault, a felony of the second degree. If the victim of a
violation of division (A) of this section is a peace officer, felonious assault is a felony of the first degree. If the victim
of the offense is a peace officer, as defined in section 2935.01 of the Revised Code, and if the victim suffered
serious physical harm as a result of the commission of the offense, felonious assault Is a felony of the first degree,
and the court, pursuant to division (F) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code, shall impose as a mandatory prison
term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the fir::t degree.

(E) As used in this section:

(1) "Deadly weapon" and "dangerous ordnance" have the same meanings as in section 2923.11 of the Revised
Code.

(2) "Peace officer" has the same meaning as in section 2935.01 of the Revised Code.

(3) "Sexual conduct" has the same meaning as in section 2907.01 of the Revised Code, except that, as used in this
section, it does not include the Insertion of an instrument, apparatus, or other object that is not a part of the body
into the vaginal or anal eeaity openin9 of another, unless the offender knew at the time of the insertion that the
instrument, apparatus, or other object carried the offender's.bodily fluid.

Sec. 2907.01. As used In sections 2907.01 to 2907.37 of the Revised Code:

(A) "Sexual conduct" means vaginal intercourse between a male and female; anal intercourse, fellatio, and
cunnilingus between persons regardless of sex; and, without privilege to do so, the insertion, however slight, of any
part of the body or any instrument, apparatus, or other object into the vaginal or anal cevity opening of another.
Penetration, however slight, is sufficient to complete vaginal or anal intercourse.

(B) "Sexual contact" means any touching of an erogenous zone cf another, including without limitation the thigh,
genitals, buttock, pubic region, or, If the person is a female, a breast, for the purpose of sexually arousing or
grat4fying either person.

(C) "Sexual activity" means sexual conduct or sexual contact, or both.

(D) "Prostitute" means a male or female who promiscuously engages in sexual activity for hire, regardless of
whether the hire is paid to the prostitute or to another.

(E) "Harmful to juveniles" means that quality of any material or performance describing or representing nudity,
sexual conduct, sexuat excitement, or sado-masochistic abuse in any form to which all of the following apply:

(1) The material or performance, when considered as a whole, appeals to the prurient interest In sex ofjuveniles.

(2) The material or perfomfance Is patently offensive to prevalling standards in the adult community as a whole with
respect to what is suitable for juveniles.

(3) The material or performance, when considered as a whole, lacks serious literary, artistic, political, and scientific
value forjuveniles.

(F) When considered as a whole, and judged with reference to ordinary adults or, If it Is designed for sexual deviates
or other speciaily susceptible group, judged with reference to that group, any material or performance is "obscene"
if any of the following apply:

(1) its dominant appeal is to prurient interest;

(2) Its dominant tendency is to arouse lust by displaying or depicting sexual activity, masturbation, sexual
excitement, or nudity in a way that tends to represent human beings as mere objects of sexual appetite;

(3) Its dominant tendency is to arouse lust by displaying or depicting bestiality or extreme or bizarre violence,
cruelty, or brutality;

(4) Its dominant tendency is to appeal to scatological interest by displaying or depicting human bodily functions of
elimination in a way that inspires disgust or revulsion In persons with ordinary sensibilities, without serving any
genuine scientific, educational, sociological, moral, or artistic purpose;

http://www.legislature.state.oh.uslbills.cfm?ID=126_HB_95 A- 15 2/17/2011



Laws, Acts, and Legislation Page 4 of 28

(5) It contains a sernes of displays or descriptions of sexual activity, masturbation, sexual excitement, nudity,
bestiality, extreme or bizarre vioience, cruelty, or brutality, or human bodily functions of elimination, the cumulative
effect of which is a dominant tendency to appeal to prurient or scatological interest, when the appeal to such an
interest is primarity for its own sake or for commercial exploitation, rather than primarily for a genuine scientific,
educational, sociological, moral, or artistic purpose.

(G) "Sexual excitement" means the condition of human male or female genitals when in a state of sexual

stimulation or arousal.

(H) "Nudity" means the showing, representation, or depiction of human male or female genitals, pubic area, or
buttocks with less than a full, opaque covering, or of a female breast with less than a full, opaque covering of any
portion thereof below the top of the nipple, or of covered male genitals in a discernibly turgid state.

(1) "Juvenile" means an unmarried person under the age of eighteen.

(3) "Material" means any book, magazine, newspaper, pamphlet, poster, print, picture, figure, image, description,
motion picture film, phonographic record, or tape, ar other tangible thing capable of arousing interest through sight,
sound, or touch and includes an image or text appearing on a computer monitor, television screen, liquid crystat
display, or similar display device or an image or text recorded on a computer hard disk, computer floppy disk,
compact disk, magnetic tape, or similar data storage device.

(K) "Performance" means any motion picture, preview, trailer, play, show, skit, dance, or other exhibition performed
before an audience.

(L) "Spouse" means a person married to an offender at the time of an allcgcd offense, except that such person shall
not be considered the spause when any of the following apply:

(1) When the parties have entered into a written separation agreement authorized by section 3103.06 of the
Revised Code;

(2) Dunng the pendency of an action between the parties for annulment, divorce, dissolutlon oF marriage, or legal
separation;

(3) In the case of an actlon for legal separation, after the eFfective date of the judgment for legal separation.

(M) "Minor" means a person under the age of eighteen.

(N) "Mental health client or patient" has the same meaning as in section 2305.51 of the Revised Code.

(0) "Mental health professional" has the same meaning as in section 2305.115 of the Revised Code.

(P) "Sado-rnasochistic abuse" means flagellation or torture by or upon a person or the condition of being fettered,
bound, or otherwise physically restrained.

Sec. 2907.03. (A) No persan shall engage in sexual conduct with another, not the spouse of the offender, when
any of the following apply:

(1) The offender knowingly coerces the other person to submit by any means that would prevent resistance by a
person of ordinary resolution.

(2) The offender knows that the other person's ability to appraise the nature of or control the other person's own
conduct is substantially impaired.

(3) The offender knows that the other person submits because the other person is unaware that the act is being
committed.

(4) The offender knows that the other person submits because the other person mistakenly identtfies the offender
as the other person's spouse.

(5) The offender is the other person's natural or adoptive parent, or a stepparent, or guardian, custodian, or person
in lcco parentis of the other person.

(6) The other person is in custody of law or a patient in a hospital or other institution, and the offender has
supervisory or disciplinary authority over the other person.

(7) The offender is a teacher, administrator, coach, or other person in authority employed by or serving in a school
for which the state board of education prescribes minimum standards pursuant to division (D) of section 3301.07 of
the Revised Code, the other person is enrolled in or attends that school, and the offender is not enrolled in and does
not attend that school.

(8) The other person is a minor, the offender is a teacher, administator, coach, or other person in authority
employed by or serving in an institution of higher education, and the other person Is enrolled in or attends that
institution.

(9) The other person is a minor, and the offender is the other person's athletic or other type of coach, is the other

person's instructor, is the leader of a scouting troop of which the other person Is a member, or is a person with

temporary or occasional disciplinary control Dver the other person.
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(10) The offender is a mental health professional, the other person is a mental health client ar patient of the
offender, and the offender induces the other person to submit by falsely representing to the other person that the
sexual conduct is necessary for mental health treatment purposes.

(11) The other person is confined In a detention facility, and the offender Is an employee of that detention facility.

(B) Whoever violates this section isguiity of sexual batteryy. Exceot as otherwise orovided'n this divis'on, sexual
battery is a felony of the third degree. If the other person is less than thirte n ear5 of aoe sexual batterv is a
felony of the second dearee, and the court shall impose uoon the offender a mandatory orisan term eouai to one of
the prison terms orescr'bed in sect'on 2929.14 of the Revised C de for a fel nv of the second deoree

(C) As used in this sectlon:

(1) "Detention facility" has the same meaning as in section 2921.01 of the Revised Code.

(2) "Institution of higher education" means a state institution of higher education defined in section 3345.011 of the
Revised Code, a private nonprofit college or university located in this state that possesses a certiBcate of
authorization issued by the Ohio board of regents pursuant to Chapter 1713. of the Revised Code, or a school
certified under Chapter 3332. of the Revised Code.

Sec. 2907.05. (A) No person shall have sexual contact with another, not the spouse of the offender; cause
another, not the spouse of the offender, to have sexual contact with the offender; or cause two or more other
persons to have sexual contact when any of the following applies:

(1) The offender purposely compels the other person, or one of the other persons, to submit by Porce or threat of
force.

(2) For the purpose of preventing resistance, the offender substantially impairs the judgment or control of the other
person or of one of the other persons by administering any drug, intoxicant, or controiled substance to the other
person surreptitiously or by force, threat of forCe, or deception.

(3) The offender knows that the judgment or contral of the other person or of one of the other persons is
substantially impaired as a result of the influence of any drug or intoxicant administered to the other person with
the other person's consent for the purpose of any kind of medical or dental examination, treatment, or surgery.

(4) The other person, or one of the other persons, is less than thirteen years of age, whether or not the offender
knows the age of that person.

(5) The ability of the other person to resist or consent or the ability of one of the other persons to resist or consent
Is substantiaiiy impaired because of a mental or physical condition or because of advanced age, and the offender
knows or has reasonable cause to belleve that the ability to resist or consent of the other person or of one of the
other persons is substantially impaired because of a mental or physical condition or because of advanced age.

(B) Whoever violates this section is guilty of gross sexual imposition. Cxcept

1 Ex e t as otherwise provided in this section, e oross sexuaf imoos tsn committed in violation of division (A)(1),

(2), (3), or (5) of this section is a felony of the fourth degree. If the offender under division (A)(2) of this section
substantially impairs the judgment or control of the other person or one of the other persons by administering any
controlled substance described in section 3719.41 of the Revised Code to the person surreptitiously or by force,
threat of farce, or deception, e grQss xual'moosit'on comm tt d in violation of dlvls3on (A)(2) of this section is a

felony of the third degree. f:

f21 o sexual Imoo i[ on committed in violation of division (A)(4) of this section Is a felony of the third degree
'Exceot as oth rwise orovided in thls division, far oross sexual imoosition committed in violatfon of division (A)(4 of

this s ctlon there's a presumptinn that a orison term shall be'moosed for th orfense The cou rt shall'moose on an
offender convicted af oross sexual imoo 't' n'n viglation of d'v'sion (Al(41 of th's sectlon a mandatorv orison term
eaual to one of the orison terms orescribed In section 2929.14 of the Revised Code for a felony of the third deor 'f
either of the follow'na aoolies:

'dence other than the tesCmonv of the v tim was admitted in the case corroboratina th violation;

rev nvicted of or d ouil n of this section e. t form

of t loni us sextal oenetration, or sexual batterv and the victim of the orevious offense as under thirteen vears of

aae.

(C) A victim need not prove physical resistance to the offender in prosecutions under this section.

(D) Evidence of specific instances of the victim's sexual activity, opinion evidence of the victim's sexual activity, and
reputation evidence of the victim's sexual activity shall not be admitted under this secCon unless it involves
evidence of the origin of semen, pregnancy, or disease, or the victim's past sexual activity with the offender, and
only to the extent that the court finds that the evidence is material to a fact at issue in the case and that its
inFlammatory or prejudicial nature does not outweigh its probative value.

Evidence of specific instances of the defendant's sexual activity, opinion evidence of the defendant's sexual activity,
and reputation evidence of the defendant's sexual activity shall not he admitted under this section unless it involves
evidence of the origin of semen, pregnancy, or disease, the defendant's past sexual activity with the victim, or is
admissible against the defendant under section 2945.S9 of the Revised Code, and only to the extent that the court
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finds that the evidence is material to a fact at issue in the case and that its inflammatory or prejudicial nature daes
not outweigh its probative value.

(E) Prior to taking testimony or receiving evidence of any sexual activity of the victim or the defendant in a
proceeding under this section, the court shall resolve the admissibility of the proposed evidence in a hearing in
chambers, which shall be held at or before preliminary hearing and not less than three days before trial, or for good
cause shown during the trial.

(F) Upon approval by the court, the victim may be represented by counsel in any hearing in chambers or other
pmCeeding to resolve the admissibility of evidence. If the victim is indigent or otherwise is unable to obtain the
services of counsel, the court, upon request, may appoint counsel to represent the victim without cost to the victim.

Sec. 2919.26. (A)(1) Upon the filing of a complaint that alleges a violation of section 2909.06, 2909.07, 2911.12,
or 2911.211 of the Revised Code If the alteged victlm of the violatlon was a family or household member at the time
of the violation, a violation of a municipal ordinance that is substantially similar to any of those sections if the
alleged victim of the violation was a family or household member at the time of the violation, or any offense of
violence if the alleged victim of the offense was a family or household member at the time of the commission of the
offense, or any sexually oriented offense, the complainant, the alleged victim, or a family ar household member of
an alleged victim may file, or, If in an emergency the alleged victim Is unable to file, a person who made an arrest
for the alleged violation or offense under section 2935.03 of the Revised Code may Flle an behalf of the alleged
victim, a motion that requests the issuance of a temporary protection order as a pretrial condition of release of the
alleged offender, in addition to any bail set under Criminal Rule 46. The motion shall be filed with the clerk of the
court that has jurisdiction of the case at any time after the filing of the complaint.

(2) For purposes of section 2930,09 of the Revised Code, all stages of a proceeding arising.out of a complaint
alleging the commission of a violation or offense of violence described in division (A)(1) of this section, including all
proceedings on a motion for a temporary protection order, are criticai stages of the case, and a victim may be
accompanied by a victim advocate or another person to provide support to the victim as provided in that section.

(B) The motion shall be prepared on a form that is provided by the clerk of the court, whlch form shall be
substantially as follows=

"MOTION FOR TEMPORARY PROTECTION ORDER
.......................... Court

Name and address of court

State of Ohio

v.

Name of Defendant

No. .....:....

(name of person), moves the court to issue a temporary protection order containing terms designed ta ensure the
safety and protection af the complainant, alleged victim, and other family or household members, in relation to the
named defendant, pursuant to its authority to Issue such an order under section 2919.26 of the Revised Code.

A complaint, a copy of which has been attached to this motion, has been filed in this court charging the named
defendant with .......................... (name of the specified violation or the offense of violence charged) in
clrcumstances in which the victim was a family or household member in violation of (section of the Revised Code
designating the specified violation or offense of vioience charged), or charging the named defendant with a violation
of a municipal ordinance that is substantially similar to ........................ (section of the Revised Code designating
the specified violation or offense of violence charged) involving a family or household member.

I understand that I must appear before the court, at a time set by the court within twenty-four hours after the filing
of tbis motion, for a hearing on the motion or that, if I am unable to appear because of hospitalization or a medical
condition resulting from the otfense alleged in the complaint, a person who can provide information about my need
for a temporary protection order must appear before the court in lieu of my appearing In court. I understand that
any temporary protection order granted pursuant to this motion Is a pretrial condition of release and is effective only
untll the disposition of the criminal proceeding ansing out of the attached complaint, or the issuance of a civil
protection order or the approval of a consent agreement, ar(sing out of the same activities as those that were the
basis of the complaint, under section 3113.31 of the Revised Code.

Signature of person

(or signature of the arresting officer who filed the motion on behalf of the alleged victim)

Address of person (or office address of the arresting officer who filed the motion on behalf of the alleged victim)"

(C)(1) As soon as possibte after the filing of a moiion that requests the issuance of a temporary protection order,
but not later than twenty-four hours after the filing of the motion, the court shall conduct a hearing to determine
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whether to issue the order. The person who requested the order shall appear before the court and provide the court
with the Information that it requests concerning the basis of the motion. If the person who requested the order Is
unable to appear and if the court finds that the failure to appear is because of the person's hospitalization or medical
condition resulting from the offense aileged in the complaint, another person who is able to provide the court w[th
the information it requests may appear in lieu of the person who requested the order. If the court finds that the
safety and protection of the complainant, alleged victim, or any other family or household member of the ailegetl
effender 'yKtim may be impaired by the continued presence of the alleged offender, the court may issue a temporary
protection order, as a pretrial condition of release, that contains terms designed to ensure the safety and protection
of the compiainant, alleged victim, or the family or househoid member, including a requirement that the alleged
offender refrain from entering the residence, schaol, business, or place of employment of the complainant, alleged
victim, or the family or household member.

(2)(a) If the court issues a temporary protection order that includes a requirement that the alleged offender refrain
from entering the residence, school, business, or place of employment of the complainant, the alleged victim, or the
family or household member, the order shall state clearly that the order cannot be waived or nullified by an
invitation to the alleged offender from the complainant, alleged victim, or family or household member to enter the
residence, school, business, or place of employment or by the alleged offender's entry into one of those places
otherwise upon the consent of the complainant, alleged victim, or family or household member.

(b) Division (C)(2)(a) of this section does not limit any discretion of a court to determine that an alleged offender
charged with a violation of section 2919.27 of the Revised Code, with a violation of a municipal ordinance
substantially equivalent to that section, or with contempt of court, which charge is based on an aileged violation of a
temporary protection order issued under this section, did not commit the violation or was not in contempt of court.

(D)(i) Upon the filing of a complaint that alleges a violation of section 2909.06, 2909.07, 2911.12, or 2911.211 of
the Revised Code if the alleged victim of the violation was a family or household member at the time of the
violation, a violation of a municipal ordinance that is substantially similar to any of those sections if the alleged
victim of the violation was a Famify or househoid member at the time of the violation, x any offense of violence if
the alleged victim of the offense was a famiiy or household member at the bme of the commissfan of the offense, or
any sexually oriented offenser the court, upon Its own motion, may issue a temporary protection order as a pretrial
condition of release if it finds that the safety and protection of the complainant, alleged victim, or other family or
household member of the alleged offender may be Impaired by the continued presence of the alleged offender.

(2) If the court Issues a temporary protection order under this section as an ex parte order, it shall conduct, as soon
as possible after the issuance of the order, a hearing in the presence of the alleged offender not later than the next
day an which the court is scheduled to conduct business after the day on which the alleged offender was arrested or
at the time of the appearance of the alleged offender pursuant to summons to determine whether the order should
remain in effect, be modified, or be revoked. The hearing shall be conducted under the standards set forth In
division (C) of this section.

(3) An order issued under this section shall contain only those terms authorized in orders issued under division (C)
of this section.

(4) If a municipat court or a county court issues a temporary protection order under this section and if, subsequent
to the issuance of the order, the alleged affender who is the subject of the order is bound over to the court of
common pleas for prosecution of a felony ansing out of the same activities as those that were the basis of the
complaint upon which the order is based, notwithstanding the fact that the order was issued by a municipal court or
county court, the order shall remain in effect, as though it were an order of the court of common pleas, while the
charges against the alleged offender are pending in the court of common pleas, for the period of time described in
division (E)(2) of this seation, and the court of common pleas has exclusive jurisdiction to modify the order issued
by the municipal court or county court. This division applies when the alleged offender is bound over to the court of
common pleas as a result of the person waiving a preiiminary hearing on the feleny charge, as a result of the
municipal court or county court having determined at a preliminary hearing that there is probabie cause to believe
that the felony has been committed and that the alleged offender committed it, as a result of the alleged offender
having been indicted for the felony, or in any other manner.

(E) A temporary protection order that is issued as a pretrial condition of release under this section:

(1) is in addition to, but shall not be construed as a part of, any bail set under Criminal Rule 46;

(2) is effective oniy until the occurrence of either of the following:

(a) The disposition, by the court that issued the order or, in the circumstances described In division (D)(4) of this
section, by the court of common pleas to which the alleged offender is bound over for prosecution, of the criminal
proceeding arising out of the complaint upon which the order is based;

(b) The issuance of a protection order or the approval of a consent agreement, arising out of the same activities as
those that were the basis of the compiaint upon which the order is based, under section 3113.31 of the Revised
Code;

(3) Shall not be construed as a finding that the alleged offender committed the alleged offense, and shall not be
introduced as evidence of the commission of the offense at the trial of the alleged offender on the complaint upon
which the order is basetl.

(F) A person who meets the criteria for bail under Criminal Rule 46 and who, if required to do so pursuant to that
rule, executes or posts bond or deposits cash or securities as bail, shall not be held in custody pending a hearing
before the court on a matlon requesting a temporary protection order.
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(G)(1) A copy of any temporary protection order that is issued under this section shall be issued by the court to the
complainant, to the alleged victim, to the person who requested the order, to the defendant, and to all law
enforcement agencies that have jurisdiction to enforce the order. The court shall direct that a copy of the order be
delivered to the defendant on the same day that the order is entered. If a municipal court or a county court issues a
temporary protectlon order under this section and if, subsequent to the issuance of the order, the defendant who is
the subject of the order is bound over to the court of common pleas for prosecution as described in division (0)(4)
of this section, the municipal court or county court shall direct that a copy of the order be delivered to the court of
common pleas to which the defendant is bound over.

(2) All law enforcement agencies shall establish and maintain an Index for the temporary pratection orders delivered
to the agencies pursuant to division (G)(1) of this section. With respect to each order delivered, each agency shall
note on the index, the date and time of the receipt of the order by the agency.

(3) A complainant, alleged victim, or other person who obtains a temporary protection order under this section may
provide notice of the issuance of the temporary protection order to the judicial and law enforcement officials in any
county other than the county in which the order is issued by registering that order in the other county in accordance
with division (N) of section 3113.31 of the Revised Code and filing a copy of the registered protection order with a
law enforcement agency in the other county in accordance with that division.

(4) Any off4cer of a law enforcement agency shall enforce a temporary protection order issued by any court in this
state in accordance with the provisions of the order, including removing the defendant from the premises,
regardless of whether the order Is registered in the county in which the officer's agency has jurisdiction as
authorized by division (G)(3) of this secbon.

(H) Upon a violatlon of a temporary protection order, the court may issue another temporary protection order, as a
pretrial condition of release, that modifies the terms of the order that was violated.

(I)(1) As used in divisions (t)(1) and (2) of this section, "defendant" means a person who Is alleged in a complaint
to have committed a violation or offense of violence of the type described in division (A) of this section.

(2) If a complaint is fled that aUeges that a person committed a violation or offense of violence of the type
described in division (A) of this section, the court may not Issue a temporary protection order under this section that
requires the complainant, the alleged victim, or another family or household member of the defendant to tlo or
refrain from doing an act that the court may require the defendant to do or refrain from doing under a temporary
protection order unless both of the following apply;

(a) The defendant has filed a separate complaint that alleges that the complainant, alleged victim, or other family or
household member in question who would be required under the order to do or refrain from doing the act committed
a violation or offense of violence of the type described in division (A) of this section.

(b) The court determ[nes that both the complainant, alleged victim, or other family or household member in
question who would be required under the order to do or refrain from doing the act and the defendant acted
primarily as aggressors, that nelther the compWinant, alleged victim, or other family or household member in
question who would be required under the order to do or refrain from doing the act nor the defendant acted
pnmariiy in self-defense, and, in accordance with the standards and criteria of this section as applied In relation to
the separate complaint filed by the defendant, that it should issue the order to require the complainant, alleged
victim, or other family or household member in question to do or refrain from doing the act.

(J) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the cqntrary and regardless of whether a protection order is issued or a
consent agreement is approved by a court of another county or a dourt of another state, no court or unit of state or
local government shall charge any fee, cost, deposit, or money in connectioh with the filing of a motion pursuant to
this section, in connection with the filing, issuance, registration, or service of a protection order or consent
agreement, or for obtaining a certified copy of a protectiqn order or consent agreement.

(K) As used in this sectloncWietiml

(i) "Sexually o riented offense" ha5 the same mea i o as in seC[lon 2950 91 of the Re vised Code .

(21 "Victim advocate" means a person who provides support and assistance for a vicbm of an offense during court
proceedings.

Sec. 2929.01. As used In this chapter:

(A)(1) "Alternative residential facility" means, subject to division (A)(2) of this section, any facility other than an
offender's home or residence in which an offender is assigned to live and that satisfies all of the following criteria:

(a) It provides programs through which the offender may seek or maintain employment or may receive education,
tralning, treatment, or habllitation. . . . .

(b) It has received the appropriate license or certificate for any speciatized education, training, treatment,
habilitation, or other service that it provides from the government agency that is responsible for licensing or
certifying that type of educat7on, training, treatment, habilitation, or service.

(2) "AltemaGve residential facility" does not Include a community-based correctional facility, jail, halfway,house, or

prison.

(e) "Bad time" means the time by which the parole board administratively extends an offender's stated prison term
or terms pursuant to section 2967.11 of the Revised Code because the parole board finds by clear and convincing
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evidence that the offender, while serving the prison term or terms, committed an act that is a criminal offense under
the law of this state or the United States, whether or not the offender Is prosecuted for the commission of that act.

(C) "Basic probation supervtsion" means a requirement that the offender maintain contact with a person appointed
to supervise the offender in accordance with sanctions Imposed by the court or imposed by the parole board
pursuant to section 2967.28 of the Revised Cade. "Basic probation supervision" includes basic parole sUPervision
and basic post-release control supervision.

(D) "Cocaine;'crack cocaine," "hashlsh; "'L.S.D.," and "unit dose" have the same meanings as in section2925.01
of the Revised Code.

(E) "Community-based correctional facility" means a community-based correctional facility and program or district
community-based correctional facility and program developed pursuant to sections 2301.51 to 2301.56 of the
Revised Code.

(F) "Community control sanction" means a sanction that is not a prison term and that is described In section
2929.15, 2929.16, 2929.17, or 2929.18 of the Revised Code or a sanction that is not a jail term and that is
described in section 2929.26, 2929.27, or 2929.28 of the Revised Code, "Community control sanction" inciudes
probaCon if the sentence involved was imposed for a felony that was committed prior to July 1, 1996, or if the
sentence invoived was imposed for a misdemeanor that was committedprlor to January 1, 2004.

(G)'Controlled substance," "marihuana," "schedule I," and "schedule 11" have the same meanings as in section
3719.01 of the Revised Code.

(H) "Curfew" means a requirement that an offender during a specified period of time be at a designated place.

(I) "Day reporting" means a sanction pursuant to which an offender is required each day to report to and leave a
center or other approved reporting location at specified times in order to participate in work, education or training,
treatment, and other approved programs at the center or outside the center.

(]) "Deadly weapon" has the same meaning as in section 2923.11 of the Revised Code.

(K) "Dmg and alcohol use monitoring" means a program under which an offender agrees to submit to random
chemical analysis of the offender's blood, breath, or urine to determine whether the offender has ingested any
alcohol or other drugs.

(L) "Drug treatment program" means any program under which a person undergoes assessment and treatment
designed to reduce or completely eliminate the person's physical or emotfonal reliance upon alcohol, another drug,
or alcohol and another drug and under which the person may be required to receive assessment and treatment on
an outpatient basis or may be required to reside at a facihty other than the person's home or residence while
undergoing assessment and treatment.

(M) "Economic loss" means any economic detriment suffered by a victim as a direct and proximate result of the
commission of an offense and includes any loss of Income due to lost Gme at work because of any injury caused to
the victim, and any property loss, medical cost, or funeral expense incurred as a result of the commission of the
offense. "Economic loss" does not include non-economic loss or any punitive or exemplary damages.

(N) "Education or tralning" Includes study at, or in conjunction with a program offered by, a university, college, or
technical college or vocational study and also includes the completion of primary school, secondary school, and
lite2cy curricufa or their equivalent.

(P) "Halfway house" means a facility licensed by the division of parole and community services of the department of
rehabilitation and correction pursuant to section 2967.14 of the Revised Code as a suitable facility for the care and
treatment of adult offenders.

(Q) "House arrest" means a period of confinement of an ofrender that is in the offender's home or In other premises
specified by the sentencing court or by the parole board pursuant to section 2967.28 of the Revised Code and during
which all of the following apply:

(1) The offender is required to remain in the offender's home or other specified premises for the specified period of
confinement, except for periods of time during which the offender is at the offender's place of employment or at
other prem5es as authorized by the sentencing court or by the parole board.

(2) The offender is required to report penodically to a person designated by the court or parole board.

(3) The offender is subject to any other restrictions and requirements that may be imposed by the sentencing court
or by the paroie board.

(R) "Intensive probation supervision" means a requirement that an offender maintain frequent contact with a person
appointed by the court, or by the parole board pursuant to section 2967.28 of the Revised Code, to supervise the
offentlerwhiie the offender is seeking or maintaining necessary employment and participating in training, education,
and treatment programs as required In the court's or parole board's order- "Intensive probation supervision"
Includes Intensive parole supervision and intensive post-release control supervision.

(S) "7aii" means a jail, workhouse, minimum security jail, or other residential facility used for the confinement of
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alleged or convicted offenders that is operated by a political subdivision or a combination of political subdivisions of
this state.

(T)"Jail term" means the term in a jail that a sentencing court imposes or is authorized to impose pursuant to
section 2929.24 or 2929.25 of the Revised Code or pursuant to any other provision of the Revised Code that
authorizes a term in a jail for a misdemeanor conviction.

(U) "Mandatory jail term" means the term in a jail that a sentencing court is required to Impose pursuant to division
(G) of section 1547.99 of the Revised Code, division (E) of section 2903.06 or division (D) of section 2903.08of the
Revised Code, division (E) of section 2929.24 of the Revised Code, divlsion (B) of section 4510.14 of the Revised
Code, or division (G) of section 4511.19 of the Revlsed Code or pursuant to any other provision of the Revised Code
that requires a term in a jail for a misdemeanor conviction.

(V) "Delinquent child" has the same meaning as in section 2152.02 of the Revised Code.

(W) "License violation report' means a report that is made by a sentencing court, or by the parole board pursuant to
section 2967.28 of the Revised Code, to the regulatory or licensing board or agency that issued an offender a
professional license or a license or permit to do business in this state and that specifies that the offender has been
convicted of or pleaded guilty to an offense that may violate the conditions under which the offender's professional
license or license or permit to do business In this state was granted or an offense for whiqh the offender's
professional license or license or permit to do business in this state may be revoked or suspended.

(X) "Major drug offender" means an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to the possession of, sale of, or
offer to sell any drug, compound, mixture, preparation, or substance that consists of or contains at least one
thousand grams of hashish; at ieast one hundred grams of crack cocaine; at least one thousand grams of cocaine
that is not crack cocaine; at least two thousand five hundred unit doses or two hundred flfty grams of heroin; at
least five thousand unit doses of L.S.D. or five hundred grams of L.S.D. in a liquid ooncentrate, liquid extract, or
liquid distillate form; or at least one hundred times the amount of any other schedule I or It controlled substance
other than marihuana that is necessary to commit a felony of the third degree pursuant to section 2925.03,
2925.04, 2925.05, or 2925.11 of the Revised Code that is based on the possession of, sale of, or offer to sell the
cnntroued substance.

(Y) "Mandatory prison term" means any of the following:

(1) Subject to division (Y)(2) of thls section, the term in prison that must be imposed for the offenses or
circumstances set forth in divisions (F)(1) to (8) or (F)(12) to (14) of section 2929.13 and divlsion (D) qfsection
2929.14 of the Revised Code. Except as provided in sections 2925.02, 2925.03, 2925.04, 2925.05, and 2925.11 of
the Revised Code, unless the maximum or another specific term is required under section 2929,14 of the Revised
Code, a mandatory prison term described in this division may be any prison term authorized for the level of offense.

(2) The tenn of sixty or one hundred twenty days in prison that a sentencing court is required to impose for a third
or fourth degree felony OVI offense pursuant to divtsion (G)(2) of sectton 2929.13 and division (G)(1)(d) or (e) of
section 4511.19 of the Revised Code or the term of one, two, three, four, or Flve years In prison that a sentencing
court is required to impose pursuant to division (G)(2) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code.

(3) The term in prison imposed pursuant to section 2971.03 of the Revised Code for the offenses and in the
circumstances described in division (F)(11) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code and that term as modified or
terminated pursuant to section 2971.05 of the Revised Code. -

(z) "Monitored time" means a period of time during which an offender continues to be under the control of the
sentencing court or parole board, subject to no conditlons other than leading a law-abiding life.

(AA) "Offender" means a person who, In this state, Is convicted of or pleads guilty to a felony or a misdemeanor.

(BB) "Prison" means a residential facility used for the confinement of convicted felony offenders that is under the
control of the department of rehabilitation and correction but does not include a violation sanction center operated
under authority of section 2967.141 of the Revised Code.

(CC) "Prison term" includes any of the following sanctions for an offender:

(1) A stated prison term;

(2) A term in a prison shortened by, or with the approval of, the sentencing court pursuant to section 2929.20,
2967.26, 5120.031, 5120.032, or 5120.073 of the Revised Code;

(3) A term in prison extended by bad time imposed pursuant to section 2967.11 of the Revised Code or Imposed for
a violation of post-release control pursuant to section 2967.28 of the Revised Code.

(DD) "Repeat violent offender" means a person about whom both of the following apply:

(1) The person
complicity in committing;
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th tis an offe se of vioie ce or an attempt to commit any of

these offenses If the attemot's a fPlonv of the first or se d deareei

(b) An offense under an existi a or fo mer 1aw of this state another s[ te or the Un ted States that is or was
substantial6v eauivalent to an off nse tles in division (DDN1)(a) of this section.

(2) •

(ej The person previously was convicted of or pleaded guiity t

A^
section.

aet an offense desc ibed'n division (DD)(1)(a) or (b) of this

(EE) "Sanction" means any penalty imposed upon an offender who is convicted of or pleads guitty to an offense, as
punishment for the offense. "Sanctlon" includes any sanction imposed pursuant to any provision of sections 2929.14
to 2929.18 or 2929.24 to 2929.28 of the Revised Code.

(FF) "Sentence" means the sanction or combination of sanctions imposed by the sentencing court on an offender
who is convicted of or pleads guilty to an offense.

(GG) "Stated prison term" means the prison term, mandatory prison term, or combination of all prison [erms and
mandatory prison terms imposed by the sentencing court pursuant to section 2929.14 or 2971.03 of the Revised
Code. "Stated prison term" includes any credit received by the offender for time spent in jail awaiting trial,
sentencing, or transfer to prison for the offense and any time spent under house arrest or house arrest with
eiectmnic monitoring imposed after earning credits pursuant to section 2967.193 of the Revised Code.

(HH) "Victlm-offender mediation" means a reconciliation or mediation program that involves an offender and the
victim of the offense committed by the offender and that indudes a meeting in which the offender and the victim
may discuss the offense, discuss restitution, and consider other sanctions for the offense.

(II) "Fourth degree felony OVI offense" means a viotation of division (A) Of section 4511.19 of the Revised Code
that, under division (G) of that sectlon, is a felony of the fourth degree.

(J]) "Mandatory term of local incarceration" means the term of sixty or one hundred twenty days in a jail, a
community-based correctional facility, a halfway house, or an alternative residential facility that a sentencing court
may impose upon a person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a fourth degree felony OVI offense pursuant to
dlvislon(G)(1) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code and division (G)(1)(d) or (e) of section 4511.19 of the

Revised Code.

(KK) "Designated homicide, assault, or kidnapping offense," "violent sex offenseJ" "sexual motivation specification,"
"sexually violent offense," "sexually violent predator;" and "sexually violent predator specification" have the same
meanings as in sectlon 2971.01 of the Revised Code.

(lL) "Habitual sex offender," "sexually oriented offense," "sexual predator," "registration-exempt sexually oriented
offense," "child-victim oriented offense," "habitual child-victim offender," and "child-victim predator" have the same
meanings as in section 2950.01 of the Revised Code.

(MM) An offense is "committed in the vicinity of a child" if the offender commits the offense within thirty feet of or
within the same residential unit as a child who is under eighteen years of age, regardless of whether the offender
knows the age of the child or whether the offender knows the offense is being committed within thirty feet of or
within the same restdential unit as the child and regardless of whether the chtfd actually views the commission of

the offense,

(NN) "Family or household member" has the same meantng as in section 2919.25 of the Revised Code.

(00) "Motor vehicle" and "manufactured home" have the same meanings as in section 4501.01 of the Revised Code-

(PP) "Detention" and "detention facility" have the same meanings as in section 2921.01 of the Revised Code.

(QQ) "Third degree felony OVI offense" means a violation of division (A) of section 4511.19 of the Revised Code

that, under division (G) of that section, is a felony of the third degree.

(RR) "Random drug testing" has the same meanPng as in section 5120.63 of the Revised Cade.

(55) "Felony sex offense" has the same meaning as in section 2967-28 of the Revised Code.
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(Tn "Body armor" has the same meaning as in section 2941.1411 of the Revised Code.

(UU) "Electronic monitoring" means monitoring through the use of an electronic monitoring device,

(W) "Electronic monitoring device" means any of the following:

(1) Any device that can be operated by electrical or battery power and that c'onforms with all of the following:

(a) The device has a transmitter that can be attached to a person, that wlll transmit a speclfied signal to a receiver
of the type described in division (VV)(1)(b) of this section if the transmitter is mmoved from the person, turned ofF,
or altered in any manner without prior court approval in relation to electronic monitoring or without prlor approval of
the department of rehabilitation and correction in relation to the use of an electronic monitoring device for an
inmate on transitional control or otherWise is tampered With, that can bansmit continuously and periodically a signal
to that receiver when the person is within a speciFled distance from the receiver, and that can transmit an
appropriate signal to that receiver if the person to whom it is attached travels a specified distance from that

receiver.

(b) The device has a receiver that can receive continuously the signals transmitted by a transmitter of the type
descrtbed in division (W)(1)(a) of this section, can transmit cononuousiy those signals by telephone to a central
monitoring computer of the type described in division (W)(1)(c) of this section, and can transmit continuously an
appropriate signal to that central monitoring computer if the receiver is turned off or altered without prior court
approval or otherwise tampered with.

(c) The device has a central monitoring computer that can receive continuously the signals transmitted by telephone
by a receiver of the type described indivision (W)(1)(b) of this section and can monitor continuously the person to
whom an electronic monitoring device of the type described in division (W)(1)(a) of this section is attached.

(2) Any device that is not a device of the type described in division (W)(1) of this section and that conforms with all

of the fullowing:

(a) The deviceinciudes a transmitter and receiver that can monitor and determine the Iocation ofa subject person
at any time, or at a designated point in time, through the use of a central moNtoring computer or through other
electronic means.

(b) The device includes a transmitter and receiver that can determine at any time, or at a designated point in time,
through the use of a central monitoring computer or other electronic means the fact that the transmitter is turned
off or altered in any manner without priar approval of the court in relation to the electronic monitoring or without
prior approval of the department of rehabilitation and correction in relaticn to the use of an electronic monitoring
device for an inmate on transitional control or otherwise is tampered with.

(3) Any type of technology that can adequately track or determine the location of a subject person at any time and
that is approved by the director of rehabilitatlon and correction, including, but not limited to, any satellite
technology, voice tracldng system, or retinal scanning system that is so approved.

(W W)"Non-economid loss" means nonpecuniary harm suffered by a victim of an offense as a result of or related to
the commission of the offense, including, but not limited to, pain and suffering; loss of society, consortium,
companionship, care, assistance, attention, protection, advice, guidance, counsel, instruction, training, or education;
mental anguish; and any other intangible loss.

(XX) "Prosecutor" has the same meaning as in section 2935.01 of the Revised Code.

(W) "Continuous alcohol monitoring" means the ability to automatically test and periodically ttansmit alcohal
consumption levels and tamper attempts at least every hour, regardless of the location of the person who is being

monitored.

(ZZ) A person is "adjudicated a sexually violent predator" if the person is convicted of or pleads guilty to a violent
sex offense and also is convicted of or pleads guilty to a sexually violent predator specification that was included in
the indictment, count in the indictment, or information charging that violent sex offense or If the person is convlcted
of or pleads guilty to a designated homicide, assault, or kidnapping offense and also is convicted of or pleads guilty
to both a sexual motivabon specification and a sexually violent predator specification that were Included In the
indictment, count In the indictment, or information charging that designated homicide, assault, or kidnapping
offense.

Sec. 2929.13. (A) Except as provided in division (E), (F), or (G) of this section and unless a specific sanction is
required to be imposed or is precluded from being imposed pursuant tu law, a court that imposes a sentence upon
an offender for a felony may impose any sanction or combination of sanctions on the offender that are provided in
sections 2929,14 to 2929.18 of the Revised Code. The sentence shall not impose an unnecessary burden on state or
local government resources.

If the offender is eligible to be sentenced to oommunity control sanctions, the court shall consider the
appropriateness of imposing a financial sanction pursuant to section 2929.18 of the Revised Code or a sanction of
community service pursuant to section 2929.17 of the Revised Code as the sole sanction for the offense. Except as
otherwise provided in thts division, if the court is required to Impose a mandatory prison term for the offense fcr -
which sentence is being Imposed; the court also may impose a financial sanction pursuant to section 2929.18 of the
Revised Code but may not impose any additional sanction or combination of sanctions under section 2929.16 or
2929.17 of the Revised Code.

If the offender is being sentenced for a fourth degree felony OVI offense or for a third degree felony OVI offense, in
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addition to the mandatory term of local incarceration or the mandatory prison term required for the offense by
division (G)(1) or (2) of this section, the court shall Impose upon the offender a mandatory fine in accordance with
division (B)(3) of section 2929.18 of the Revised Code and may impose whichever of the following is applicable:

(1) For a fourth degree felony OVt offense for which sentence is imposed under division (G)(1) of this section, an
additional community control sanction or combination of community control sanctions under section 2929.16 or
2929.17 of the Revised Code- If the court imposes upon the offender a community controi sanction and the offender
violates any condition of the community control sanction, the court may take any action prescribed in division (B) of
section 2929.15 of the Revised Code reiative to the offender, including imposing a prison term on the offender
pursuant to that division.

(2) For a third or fourth degree felony OVI offense for which sentence Is imposed under division (G)(2) of this
section, an additional prison tprm as described in divislon (D)(4) of section 2929.14 of the Revised Code or a
community control sanction as described in division (G)(2) of this section.

(B)(1) Except as provided in division (B)(2), (E), (F), or (G) of this section, in sentencing an offender for a felony of
the fourth or fifth degree, the sentencing courtshali determine whether any of the following apply:

(a) in committing the offense, the offender caused physical harm to a person.

(b) In committing the offense, the offender attemptedto cause or made an actual threat of physical harm to a
person with a deadiy weapon.

(c) In committing the offense, the offender attempted to cause or made an actual threat of physical harm ta a
person, and the offender previously was convicted of an offense that caused physical harm to a person.

(d) The offender held a public office or position of trust and the offense related to that office or position; the
offender's position obiiged the offender to prevent the offense or to bring those committing it to justice; or the
offender's professional reputation or position facilitated the offense or was likely to influence the futura contlud of
others.

(e) The offender committed the offense for hire or as part of an organized criminal activity.

(f) The offense is a sex offense that is a fourth or fifth degree felony violation of section 2907.03, 2907.04, 2907.05,
2907.22, 2907.31, 2907.321, 2907.322, 2907.323, or 2907.34 of the Revised Code.

(g) The offender at the time of the offense was serving, or the offender prevlousiy had served, a prison term.

(h) The offender committed the offensewhile under a community control sanction, while on probation, or while
released from custody on a bond or personal recognizance.

(i) The offender committed the offense while in possesston of a flrearm.

(2)(a) IF the court makes a finding described in division (B)(1)(a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), or (i) of this section
and if the court, after considering the factors set forth in section 2929.12 of the Revised Code, fnds that a prison
term is consistent with the purposes and principles of sentencing set forth in section 2929.11 of the Revised Code
and finds that the offender is not amenable to an available community control sanction, the court shall impose a
prison term upon the offender.

(b) Except as provided in division (E), (F), or (G) of this section, if the court does not make a finding described in
division (B)(1)(a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), or (i) of this section and if the court, af[er considering the factors
set forth in section 2929.12 of the Revised Code, finds that a community control sanction or combination of
communlty control sanctions is consistent with the purposes and principles of sentencing set forth in section
2929.11 of tne Revised Code, the court shall impose a community control sanction or combination of community
rpntrol sanctions upon the offender.

(C) Except as provided in division ML (E), (F), or (G) ofthis section, in determining whether to impose a prison
term as a sanction for a felony of the third degree or a felony drug offense that is a violation of a provision of
Chapter 292S. of the Revised Code and that is speciFled as being subject to this division for purposes of sentencing,
the sentencing court shall comply with the purposes and principles of sentencing under section 2929.11 of the
Revised Code and withsection 2929.12 of the Revised Code.

(p)Ll,) Except as provided In div(siun (E) or (F) of this section, for a felony of the first or second degree aed, for a
felony drug offense that Is a violation of any provision of Chapter 2925., 3719., or 4729. of the Revised Code for
which a presumptiun in favor of a prison term Is specified as being applicable, and for a vioiation of d'vlsion (A)(4)
of section 2907 05 of the Revised Code for which a n esumoPon in favor of a orkon tzrm Is coecifed as be'na
zodlicabie, it is presumed that a prison term Is necessary in order to comply with the purposes and principles of
sentencing under section 2929.11 of the Revised Code. t/otrrithrtedtg Division (Dt(21 of thls section does not
aoolv to a oresumotion establ' hed under this divi ion for a violation of d"vis'on (A)(4) of section 2907 .05 of the

Revised Code.

!,r) Notwithstandina the presumption established under thir division (O}(11 of this ection fQ^he offenses listed in
rher niv;^i,.^ other than a vioiation of division (A)f 47 of section 2907.05 of the Revised Code, the sentencing court
may Impose a community control sanction or a ccmbination of community control sanctions instead of a prison term
on an offender for a feiony of the first or second degree or for a felony drug offense that is a violation of any
provision of Chapter 2925., 3719., or 4729. of the Revised Cude for which a presumption in favor of a prison term is
specified as being applicable if it makes both of the following flndings:
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ftjLj A community control sanction or a combination of community control sanctions would adequately punish the
offender and protect the public from future crime, because the applicable factors under section 2929.12 of the
Revised Code indicating a lesser Iikelihood of recidivism outweigh the applicable factors under that section Indicating
a greater likelihoodof rec(divism.

(-2)jbj A community control sanction or a combination of community control sanctions would not demean the
seriousness of the offense, because one or more factors under section 2929.12 of the Revised Code that indicate
that the offender's conduct was less serious than conduct normally constituting the offense are applicable, and they
outweigh the applicable factors under that section that indicate that the offender's conduct was more serious than
conduct normally constituting the offense.

(E)(1) Except as provided in division (F) of this section, for any drug offense that is a vlolation of any provision of
Chapter 2925. of the Revised Code and that is a felony of the third, fourth, or fifth degree, the applicability of a

presumpt[on under division (D) of this section in favor af a prison term or of division (B) or (C) of this section In

determining whether to impose a prison term for the offense shall be determined as specified in section 2925.02,
2925.03, 2925.04, 2925.05, 2925.06, 2925.11, 2925.13, 2925.22, 2925.23, 2925.36, or 2925.37 of the Rev(sed

Code, whichever is applicable regarding the vioiation.

(2) If an offender who was convicted of or pleaded guilty to a felony violates the Conditions of a community control
sanction imposed for the offense solely by reason of producing positive results an a drug test, the court, as
punishment for the violation of the sanction, shatl not order that the offender be imprisoned unless the court
determines on the record either of the following:

(a) The offender had been ardered as a sanction for the felony to participate in a drug treatment program, in a drug
educationProgram, or in narcotics anonymous or a similar program, and the offender continued to use illegal drugs
after a reasonable period of participation In the progmm.

(b) The imprisonment of the offender for the violation is consistent with the purposes and principles of sentencing
set forth in section 2929.11 of the Revised Code.

(F) Notwithstandmg divtsions (A) to (E) of this section, the court shall impose a prison term or terms under sections
2929.02 to 2929.06, section 2929.14, or section 2971.03 of the Revised Code and except as specifically provided in
section 2929.20 or 2967.191 of the Revised Code or when parole is authorized for the offense under section
2967.13 of the Revised Code shall not reduce the terms pursuant to section 2929.20, section 2967.193, or any
other provision of Chapter 2967. or Chapter 5120, of the Revised Code for any of the following offenses:

(1) Aggravated murder when death is not imposed or murder;

(2) Any rape, regardless of whether force was involved and regardless of the age of the victim, or an attempt to
commit rape if, had the offender completed the rape that was attempted, tne offender would have been subject to a
sentence of life imprisonment or life Imprisonment without parole for the rape;

(3) Gross sexual imposition or sexual battery, if the victim is under thirteen years of age, -f and if any of the
follow nci apol'es:

(a) R d'nual imoos'tion the offender previously was convicted of or pleaded guilty to rape, the former
offense of felonious sexual penetration, gross sexual imposition, or sexual battery, and if the victim of the previous
offense was under thirteen years of age;

(b) Reaardi a oss sexual imoo Rion the offense was comm tted on or after the effective date of this amendmen
and evidence other than the testimonv of the Virtim was admitted in the case corrob at na the vi olation .

(c) Regard'na sexual hatterv either of the foliowina aoolies'

fEl The offense was comm tt d prior to the effective daje of this amendment the offender o eviou Iv was convicted
of or oleaded au Itv to raoe the former offense of felonious sexual oenetration or sexual batterv and the victim of
the previous offe se was under thirteen vears of aae.

(1 The offense was comm'tted on or after the effective date of this amendment.

(4) A felony vlolation of section 2903.04, 2903.06, 2903.08, 2903.11, 2903.12, or 2903.13 of the Revised Code if
the section requires the Imposition of a prison term;

(5) A first, second, or third degree felony drug offense for which section 2925.02, 2925.03, 2925.04, 2925.05,
2925.06, 2925.11, 2925.13, 2925.22, 2925.23, 2925.36, 2925.37, 3719.99, or 4729.99 of the Revised Code,
whichever is applicable regarding the violation, requires the imposition of a mandatory prison term;

(6) Any offense that is a first or second degree felany and that is not set forth in division (F)(1), (2), (3), or (4) of
this section, if the offender previously was convicted of or pleaded guilty to aggravated murder, murder, any first or
second degree felony, or an offense under an existing or former law of this state, another state, or the United States
that is or was substantiaily equivalent to one of those offenses;

(7) Any offense that is a third degree felonyand ' ' . et oF Hte-Rev iftd
Hode e theris a violation of section 2903 04 of the Re ised Code or an attemot to commit a felony of the second
dearee that is an offen of violence and involv d an attempt to cause serims ohv 'c I harm to a person or that

Inseriou hvsicat harm to a oerson if the offender previously was convicted of or pleaded guilty to any
of the following
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(a) Aaa avated m rde murder, nvoluntarv manslaughter, aoe feiori o s sexual oenet t"on as it existen under
section 2907.12 of the Revised Code prior to Seotember 3. 1996, a felony of the first or secontl dearee that resulted
in the death of a erson or oh sical harm to a oe son or comoiic tv in or an atemot to commit any of those
o ense ;

(b) An offe se under an existlna o former law of this t t another state or th United Stat that is or was
substantially equivalent to an offense fsted In division (F)(7)(a) f this section that resUlteg in the death of a oerson
or in nhv Ical harm to a oerson

(8) Any offense, other than a violation of section 2923.12 of the Revised Code, that is a felony, if the offender had a
firearm on or about the offender's person or under the offender's control while committing the felony, with respect
to a portion of the sentence imposed pursuant to division (D)(1)(a) of section 2929.14 of the Revised Code for
having the firearm;

(9) Any offense of violence that is a felony, if the offender wore or carried body armor while committing the felony
offense of violence, with respect to the portion of the sentence imposed pursuant to division (D)(1)(d) of sectlon
2929.14 of the Revised Code for wearing or carrying the body armor;

(10) Corrupt activity in violation of section 2923.32 of the Revised Code when the most serious offense in the
pattern of corrupt activity that is the basis of the offense is a felony of the first degree;

(11) Any violent sex offense or designated homicide, assault, or kidnapping offense if, in relation to that offense, the
offender is adjudicated a sexually violent predator;

(12) A violation of division (A)(1) or (2) of section 2921.36 of the Revised Code, or a violation of divisiofi (C) of that
section involving an item listed in division (A)(1) or (2) of that section, if the offender is an afficer or employee of
the department of rehabilitation and correction;

(13) A violation of division (A)(1) or (2) of section 2903.06 of the Revised Code if the victim oF the offense is a
peace officer, as defined in section 2935.01 of the Revised Code, with respect to the portion of the sentence
imposed pursuant to division (D)(5) of section 2929.14 of the Revised Code;

(14) A violation of division (A)(1) or (2) of section 2903.06 of the Revised Code if the offender has been convicted of
or pleaded gUllty t0 three or mOre violations of dlviSiOn (A) or (B) of section 4511.19 of the Revised COde or an
equivalent offense, as defined in section 2941.1415 of the Revised Code, or three or more violations of any
combination of those divisions and offenses, with respect tu the portion of the sentence imposed pursuant to

division (D)(6) of section 2929.14 of the Revised Code.

(G) Notwithstanding divisions (A) to (E) of this section, if an offender is being sentenced for a fourth degree felony
OVI offense or for a third degree felony OVI offense, the court shall impose upon the offender a mandatory term of
local incarceration or a mandatory prispn term in accordance with the following:

(1) If the offender is being sentenced for a fourth degree felony OVI offense and if the offender has not been
convicted of and has not pleaded guilty to a specification of the type tlescribed in section 2941.1413 of the Revised
Code, the court may impose upon the offender a mandatory term of local incarceration of sixty days or one hundred
twenty days as specified in division (G)(1)(d) of section 4511.19 of the Revised Code. The court shall not reduce the
term pursuant to section 2929.20, 2967.193, or any other provision of the Revised Code. The court that imposes a
mandatory term of local incarceration under this division shall specify whether the term is to be served in a jail, a
community-based correctional facility, a halfway house, or an alternative residential facility, and the offender shall
serve the term in the type of facility specified by the court. A mandatory term of locai incarceration imposed under
division (G)(1) of this section is not subject to extension under seotlon 2967.11 of the Revised Code, to a period of
post-release control under section 2967.28 of the Revised Code, or to any other Revised Code provision that
pertains to a prison term except as provided in division (A)(1) of this secbon.

(2) If the offender is being sentenced for a third degree felony OVI offense, or if the offender Is being sentenced for
a fourth degree felony OVI offense and the court does not impose a mandatory term of local incarceration under
division (G)(1) of this section, the court shall Impose upon the offender a mandatory prison term of one, two, three,
four, or five years If the offender also is convicted of or aiso pleads guilty to a speci0cation of the type described in
section 2941.1413 of the Revised Code or shall impose upon the offender a mandatory prison term of sixty days or
one hundred twenty days as specified in division (G)(1)(d) or (e) of section 4511.19 of the Revised Code if the
offender has not been tonvicted of and has not pleaded guilty to a specification of that type. The court shall not
reduce the term pursuant to section 2929.20, 2967.193, or any other provision of the Revised Code, The offender
shall serve the one-, two-, three-, four-, or five-year mandatory prison term consecutively to and prior to the prison
term imposed for the underlying offense and consecutively to any other mandatory prison term imposed in relation
to the offense. In no case shall an offender who once has been sentenced to a mandatory term of local incarceration
pursuant to division (G)(1) of this section for a fourth degree felony OVI offense be sentenced to another mandatory
term of local incarceration under that division for any violation of division (A) of section 4511.19 of the Revised
Code. In addition to the mandatory prison term described in division (G)(2) of this sectiqn, the court may sentence
the offender to a community control sanction under section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code, but the
offender shall serve the prison term prior to serving the communitY controi sanction. The department of
rehabilitation and correction may place an offender sentenced to a mandatory prison term under this division in an
intensive program prison established pursuant to section 5120.033 of the Revised Code if the department gave the
sentencing judge prior notice of its intent to place the offender in an intensive program prison established under
that section and if the judge did not notify the department that the judge disapproved the placement. Upon the
establishment of the Initial intensive program pnson pursuant to section 5120.033 of the Revised Code that is
prlvately operated and managed by a contractor pursuant to a contract entered into under section 9.06 of the
Revised Code, both of the following apply:
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(a) The department of rehabilitatton and correctfon shall make a reasonable effort to ensure that a sufficient number
of offenders sentenced to a mandatory pdson term under this division are placed in the privately operated and
managed prison so that the privately operated and managed prison has full occupancy.

(b) Unless the privately operated and managed prison has full occupancy, the department of rehabilitation and
correction shall not place any offender sentenced to a mandatory prison term under this division in any intensive
program prison established pursuant to section 5120.033 of the Revised Code other than the privately operated and
managed prison.

(H) If an offender is being sentenced for a sexually oriented offense committed on or after January 1, 1997, the
judge shall require the offender to submit to a DNA specimen collection procedure pursuant to section 2901.07 of
the Revised Code if either of the following applies:

(1) The offense was a violent sex offense or a designated homicide, assault, or kidnapping offense and, in relation to
that offense, the offender was adjudicated a sexually violent predator.

(2) The judge imposing sentence for the sexually oriented offense determines pursuant to division (B) of section
2950.09 of the Revised Code that the offender is a sexual predator.

(1) if an offender is being sentenced for a sexually oriented offense that is not a registration-exempt sexually
oriented offense or for a child-victim oriented offense committed on or after January 1, 1997, the judge shall Include
in the sentence a summary of the offentler's duties imposed under sec6ans 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and
2950.06 of the Revised Code and the duration of the duties. The judge shall Inform the offender, at the time of
sentencing, of those duties and of their duration and, if required under division (A)(2) of section 2950.03 of the
Revised Code, shall perform the duties specified in that section.

(J)(1) £xcept as provided in division (J)(2) of this section, when considering sentencing factors under this section io
relation to an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to an attempt to commit an offense in violation of section
2923.02 of the Revised Code, the sentencing court shall consider the factors applicable to the felony category of the
violation of section 2923.02 of the Revised Code instead of the factors applicable to the felony category of the
offense attempted.

(2) When considering sentencing factors under this section in relation to an offender who is convicted of or pleads
guilty to an attempt to commit a drug abuse offense forwhich the penalty is determined by the amount or number
of unit doses of the controlled substance involved in the drug abuse offense, the sentencing court shail consider the
factors applicable to the felony category that the drug abuse offense attempted would be if that drug abuse offense

had been committed and had involved an amount or number of unit doses of the controlled substance that is within

the next lower range of controlled substance amounts than was involved in the attempt.

(K) As used in this section, "drug abuse offense" has the same meaning as In section 2925.01 of the Revised Code.

(1At the time of sen[encina an off nder who's a sexual o edator for any sex ailv oriented offense.'f the offender
does not seme a or son term or term, the court mav reauire that the offender be monitored by means of a oloba'.
oosition'no device If the court reou"res such monitoring, the cost of monito i a shall be borne by the affender if
the offender's indioen[ the cost of comoliance shall be oaid by the crime v ct ms reoarat ons fuod.

Sec. 2929.14. (A) Except as provided In division (C), (D)(1), (D)(2), (D)(3), (D)(4), (D)(5), (D)(6), or (G) of this

section and except in reiatlon to an offense for which a sentence of death or life imprisonment is to be Imposed, if
the court imposing a sentence upon an offender for a feEony elects or is required to impose a prison term on the

offender pursuant to this chapter, the court shall impose a definite prison term that shall be one of thefollowing:

(1) For a felony of the first degree, the prison term shall be three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, or ten years.

(2) For a felony of the secontl degree, the prison term shail be two, three, four, flve, six, seven, or eight years,

(3) For a felony of the third degree, the prison term shall be one, two, three, four, or five years.

(4) For a felony of the fourth degree, the prison term shall be six, seven, eight, nine, ten, eleven, twelve, thirteen,
fourteen, fifteen, sixteen, seventeen, or eighteen months.

(5) For a felony of the fifth degree, the prison term shall be six, seven, eight, nine, ten, eleven, or twelve months.

(B) Except as provided in division (C), (D)(1), (D)(2), (D)(3), (D)(5), (D)(6), or (G) of this section, in section
2907.02 or 2907.05 of the Revised Code, or in Chapter 2925. of the Revised Code, If the court imposing a sentence
upon an offender for a felony elects ur is required to impose a prison term on the offender, the court shall impose
the shortest prison term authorized for the offense pursuant to division (A) of this section,unless one or more of the

foilowing applies:

(1) The offender was serving a prison term at the time of the offense, or the offender previously had served a prison

term.

(2) The court finds on the record that the ghortest prison term will demean the seriousness of the offender's conduct
or will not adequately protect the public from future crime by the offehder or others.

(C) Except as provided in division (G) of this section or in Chapter 2925. of the Revised Code, the court imposing a
sentence upon an offender for a felony may impose the longest prison term authorized for the offense pursuant to
division (A) of this section only upon offenders who committed the worst forms of the offense, upon offenders who
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pose the greatest likelihood of committing future crimes, upon certain major drug offenders under division (D)(3) of

this section, and upon certain repeat violent offenders in accordance with division (D)(2) of this section.

(D)(1)(a) Except as provided in division (0)(1)(e) of this section, if an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty
to a felony also is convided of or pleads guilty to a specification of the type described in section 2941.141,
2941.144, or 2941.145 of the Revised Code, the court shall impose on the offender one of the folbwing prison
terms:

(i) A prison term of six years if the specification is of the type described in section 2941.144 of the Revised Code
that charges the offenderwith having a firearm that is an automatic firearm or that was equipped with a firearm
muffler or silencer on or about the offender's person or under the offender's control while committing the felony;

(ii) A prison term of three years if the specification is of the type described in section 2941.145 of the Revised Code
that charges the offender with having a firearm on or about the offender's person or under the offender's control
while committing the offense and displaying the firearm, brandishing the firearm, indicating that the offender
possessed the firearm, or using it to facilitate the offense;

(iii) A pr7son term of one year if the specification is of the type described in sectian 2941.141 of the Revised Code
that charges the offender with having a firearm on or about the offender's person or under the offender's control
while committing the felony.

(b) If a court imposes a prison term on an offender under division (D)(1)(a) of this section, the prison term shall not
be reduced pursuant to section 2929.20, section 2967.193, or any other provision of Chapter 2967. or Chapter
5120. of the Revised Code. A court shall not impose more than one prison term on an offender under division (D)(1)
(a) of this section for felonies committed as part of the same act or transaction.

(c) Except as provided in division (D)(1)(e) of this secticn, if an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a
vioiation of section 2923.161 of the Revised Code or to a felony that includes, as an essential element, purposely or
knowingly causing or attempting to cause the death of or physical harm to another, also is convicted of or pleads
guilty to a specification of the type described in section 2941,146 of the Revised Code that charges the offender with
committing the offense by discharging a firearm frcm a motor vehicle other than a manufactured home, the court,
after Imposin9 a prison term on the offender for the violation of section 2923.161 of the Revised Code or for the
other felony offense under division (A), (13)(2), or (0)(3) of this section, shall impose an additional prison term of
five years upon the offender that shall not be reduced pursuant to section 2929.20, section 2967.193, or any other
provision of Chapter 2967. or Chapter 5120. of the Revised Code. A court shall not impose more than one additional
prison term on an offender under division (D)(1)(c) of this section for felonies committed as part of the same act or
transaction. If a court imposes an additional prison term on an offender under division (D)(1)(c) of this section
relative to an offense, the court also shall impose a prison term under division (D)(1)(a) of this section relative to
the same offense, provided the criteria specified in that division for imposing an additional prison term are satisfied
relative to the offender and the offense.

(d) If an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to an offense of violence that is a felony also is convicted of or
pleads guilty to a specification of the type described In sectlon 2941,1411 of the Revised Code that charges the
offender with wearing or carrying body armor while committing the felony offense of vloience, the court shall Impose
on the offender a prison term of two years. The prison term so imposed shall not be reduced pursuant to section
2929,20, section 2967.193, or any other provision of Chapter 2967. or Chapter 5120. of the Revised Code. A court
shall not impose mo+e than one prison term on an offender under division (D)(1)(d) of this section for felonies
committed as part of the same act or transaction. If a court imposes an additional prison term under division (D)(1)
(a) or (c) of this section, the court Is not precluded from imposing an additional prison term under division (D)(1)(d)
of this section.

(e) The court shall not impose any of the prison terms described in division (0)(1)(a) of this section or any of the
additional prison terms described in division (D)(1)(c) of this section upon an offender for a violation of section
2923.12 or 2923.123 of the Revised Code. The court shall not impose any of the prison terrns described In division
(D)(1)(a) of this secQOn or any of the additional prison terms described in division (D)(1)(c) of this section u pon an
offender for a violation of section 2923.13 of the Revised Code unless all of the following apply:

(i) The offender previously has been convicted of aggravated murder, murder, or any felony of the first or second
degree.

(ii) Less then five years have passed since the offender was released from prison or post-release control, whichever
is later, for the prior offense.

(f) If an offender is convicted of or pleads guiity to a felony that Includes, as an essential element, causing or
attempting to cause the death of or physical harm to another and also Is convicted of or pleads guilty to a
speci(cation of the type described in section 2941.1412 of the Revised Code that charges the offender with
committing the offense by discharging a firearm at a peace officer as defined in section 2935.01 of the Revised Code
or a corrections officer as defined in section 2941.1412 of the Revised Code, the court, after Imposing a ptlson term
on the offender for the felony offense under division (A), (D)(2), or (D)(3) of this section, shall impose an additional
prison term of seven years upon the offender that shall not be reduced pursuant to section 2929.20, section
2967.193, or any other provision of Chapter 2967. or Chapter 5120. of the Revised Code. A court shall not impose
more than one additional prison term on an offender under division (D)(1)(f) of this section for felonies committed
as part of the same act or transaction. If a court imposes an additional prison term on an offender under division
(D)(1)(f) of this section relative to an offense, the court shall not impose a prison term under division (D)(1)(a) or
(c) of this section relative to the same offense.

(2)(a) If '
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-- de 'son (D)(2)(bl of this section does not aoolv, the court ehel(m a impose eon an offender. In addition to
the lonaest prison term frvmtheertgeoFtermn authorized or rea 'red for the offense a^

{tj a atldiFOnal defin t onson te m of on two three fo r fve six seyen eiaht 'ne or ten vears F all of the
followina criteria are met:

O The offe der is conv icted of or ol ads guilty to a soecif"cation of the tvoe descr'be(J in section 2941 149 oF the

Revised Code that the offender is a repeat v olent offender.

(111 The offens of 2;h'ch the offender currently is convicted or to which the ffnder currently oleads oulltv is
aaaravated murder and th rt does not imoo a sentence of death or 1"fe imorisonment without oarole, murde

- m a d th e rt does not imoo e a sentence of life imorso m nt without oa oIe anv felonv of the first
deare that is an off e of v^the court does not imoose a sentence oF I'fe imorisonment withoutoarole
or any felo ny of the second dearee that i an offe nse of v olenc d the trier of fact finds that the offense mvolved

^..,.. l ^.e,.., .0 amot to cause or threat to cause s ious ohvs cai harm to a oerson or resultetl n senou
oerson.

ca

(li) The court imposes the longest prison te m for the fF nse that is not life imo isonment wlthOut oarole

iv The ienn9eiTpesed court finds that the orison term s imoosed oursuant to divisio t
section and, if aoohcable, divlsdon (D)(1) or (3) of this section are inadequate to punish the offender and protect the
public from future crime, because the applicable factors under section 2929.12 of the Revised Code indicating a
greater likelihood of recidivism outweigh the applicable factors under that section Indicating a lesser likelihood of
recidivism.

(i+}jvl The'..-_ __ -----' court finds that the orison terms'moosed o r uant to d'vision ( 0)(2)(a)("') of this

section and if aoolicable division (D)(1) or ( 3) of th's section are demeaning to the seriousness of the ofrense,
because one or more of the factors under section 2929.12 of the Revised Code indicating that the offender s conduct
is more serious than conduct normally constituttng the offense are present, and they outweigh the applicable factors
under that section indicating that the offender's conduct is less serious than contluct normally constituting the
offense.

II imoose on an offendcr th lonoest orison te uthorized or reauired for the offense and shall
"moose on the offendgr gn additional defnito 'so term of one, two, three four. Flve. six, seven, eiaht, nine, or ten
vea s'f all of the follovi na criteria are met'

desc section 29

been convicted of or oleaded au'Itv to three or more offenses

descr bed in d n(DD)(1) of section 2929 .01 of the Revised C tl Includ'na all offensesdescrlbed in that divisi
of which the offender Is canvicted or to which the offender oleads auiltv in the current orosecution and all offenses

described in that dlvlslon of which the offender o ev'o sl h s been convicted or to which the oHender oreviouslv

oleadad au'Itv h ther oroseated t aether or seoaratelv

('i ) The offense or offen5es of which the offender cu r tlv is convicted or to which the offender cu rentlv oleads
ravated mu rder and the court does not imoose a sente n ce of tleath or l i fe imar isonment without oarole.

mtirder, » imoosa a sentence of life imonsonment without oarole.anv felonv of the:. r.. o the Coli rt do es ::^ ^^_.. .,,,•
h toufi-t d<„rbe thar is an nffense of violence and the court does not impose a sentence of life imonsonment wit

a ole r any felonv of the s c d deor e that -s an orrense or v oien e ano cne trier or recr ^u^ ^^^a< <n^
involved an attmot to cause or a threat to cause seri us physical ha m to a oerson or resulted in serious ohvs cal

harm to a oerson. . .. .

(c) For o rooses of d"v sion (D)(2)(b) of this section two or more offenses committed at the same time or as oart of

the same act or event shafl be considered one offense and that one offense shall be the offense with the areatest

penalty.

d) A senten e imoosed under division (D)(2)(a) or (h) of this section shall not be reduced oursuant to s

2929 . 20 or section 2967 193 or any other orovision of Chaoter 2967. gr Chaoter 5120. of the Revised Code. The
offender shall serve an additional orison term imoosed under this section consecutively to and orior to the orison
ta.*n imoosed for the underlvina offense.

' Wh imposing a sentence oursuant to divlsion (D)(2)(a) or fh1 f this s ction the court shali state its Bndinc

explaining the 'moosed sentence

(3)(a) Except when an offender commits a violation of section 2903.01 or 2907.02 of the Revised Code and the

(il The offender "s convicted of or oleads guilty to a soeclf'ca[ on of
Revised Code that the offender is a reoeat violent offender.
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penalty imposed for the violation is life Imprisonment or commits a violation of section 2903.02 of the Revised Code,
if the offender commits a violation of section 292S.03 or 2925.11 of the Revised Code and that section classifies the
offender as a major drug offender and requires the imposition of a ten-year prison term on the offender, if the
offender commits a felony violation of section 2925.02, 2925.04, 2925.05, 2925.36, 3719.07, 3719.08, 3719.16,
3719.161, 4729.37, or 4729.61, division (C) or (D) of section 3719.172, division (C) of section 4729.51, or division
(3) of section 4729.54 of the Revised Code that includes the sale, offer to sell, or possession of a schedule I or II
controlled substance, with the exception of marihuana, and the court imposing sentence upon the offender finds
that the offender is guilty of a specification of the type described in sectlqn 2941.1410 of the Revised Code charging
that the offender is a major drug offender, If the court imposingsentence upon an offender for a felony fintls that
the offender is guilty of corrupt activity w)th the most serious offense in the pattern of corrupt activity being a fe)ony
of the first degree, or if the offender is guilty of an attempted violation of section 2907.02 of the Revised Code and,
had the offender completed the violation of section 2907.02 of the Revised Code that was attemptetl, the offender
would have been subject to a sentence of life imprisonment or life imprisonment without parole for the violation of
section 2907.02 of the Revised Code, the court shall impose upon the offender for the felony violation a ten-year
prison term that cannot be reduced pursuant to section 2929.20 or Chapter 2967. or 5120. of the Revised Code.

(b) The court imposing a prison term on an on'ender under division (D)(3)(a) of this section may impose an
additional prison term of one, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, or ten years, if the court, with respect to
the term imposed under divtsion (D)(3)(a) of this section and, if applicable, divisions (D)(1) and (2) of this section,

iv and (ii}jy,1 of this section.U_Jmakes both of the fndings set forth in divisions (D)(2)fb)fi) a

(4) If the offentler is being sentenced for a third or fourth degree felony OVI offense under division (6)(2) of section
2929.13 of the Revised Code, the sentencing court shali impose upon the offender a mandatory prisan term in
accordance with that division. In addition to the mandatory prison term, if the offender is being sentenced for a
fourth degree felony OVI offense, the court, notwithstanding division (A)(4) of this section, may sentence the
offender to a definite prison term of not iess than six months and not more than thirty months, and if the offender is
being sentenced for a third degree felony OVI cffense, the sentencing court may sentence the offender to an
additional prison term of any duration specified in division (A)(3) of this section. In either case, the additional prison
term imposed shall be reduced by the sixty or one hundred twenty days imposed upon the offender as the
mandatory prison term. The total of the additional prison term fmposed under divislon (D)(4) of this sectfon plus the
sixty or one hundred twenty days imposed as the mandatory prison term shall equal a de0nite term in the range of
six months to thirty months for a fourth degree Fetony OVI offense and shaEl equal one of the authorized prison
terms specified in division (A)(3) of this section for a third degree felony OVI offense. If the court imposes an
additional prison term under division (D)(4) of this section, the offender shall serve the additional prison term after
the offender has served the mandatory prison term required for the offense, In addition to the mandatory prison
term or mandatory and additional prison term imposed as described in division (D)(4) of this section, the court also
may sentence the offender to a community control sanction under section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code,
but the offender shall serve all of the prison terms so imposed prior to serving the community control sanction.

If the offender is being sentenced for a fourth degree felony OVI offense under division (G)(1) of section 2929.13 of
the Revised Code and the court imposes a mandatory term of local incarceration, the court may impose a prison
term as described in division (A)(1) of C6at section.

(5) If an offender is convicted of or pleads guilty to a violation of division (A)(1) or (2) of section 2903.06 of the
Revised Code and also is cpnvicted of or pleads guilty to a specification of the type described in section 2941.1414
of the Revised Code that charges that the victim of the offense is a peace officer, as defined in section 2935.01 of
the Revised Code, the court shall impose on the offender a prison term of five years. If a court imposes a prison
term on an offender under division (D)(5) of this section, the prison term shall not be reduced pursuant to seqtion
2929.20, section 2967.193, or any other provision of Chapter 2967. or Chapter 5120. of the Revised Code. A court
shall not impose more than one prison term on an offender under division (D)(5) of thts section for felonies
committed as part of the same act.

(6) If an offender is convicted of or pleads guilty to a violation of division (A)(1) or (2) of section 2903.06 of the
Revised Code and also is convicted of or pleads guilty to a specifcation of the type described in section 2941.1415
of the Revised Code that charges that the offender previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to three or
more violations of division (A) or (B) of section 4511.19 of the Revised Code or an equivalent offense, as defined in
section 2941.1415 of the Revised Code, or three or more vlolations of any combination of those divisions and
offenses, the c'ourt shall impose on the offender a prison term of three years. If a court Imposes a prison term on an
offender under division (D)(6) of this section, the pnson term shall not be reduced pursuant to section 2929.20,
section 2967.193, or any other provision of Chapter 2967. or Chapter 5120, of the Revised Code. A court shall not
impose more than one prison term on an offender under division (D)(6) of this section for felonies committed as
part of the same act.

(E)(1)(a) Subject to division (E)(1)(b) of this section, if a mandatory prison term is imposed upon an offender
pursuant to dNision (D)(1)(a) of this section for having a firearm on or about the offenders person or under the
offender's control while committing a feiony, if a mandatory prison term is imposed upon an offender pursuant to
division (D)(1)(c) of this section for committing a felony specified In that division by discharging a firearm from a
motor vehicle, or if both types of mandatory prison terms are imposed, the offender shall serve any mandatory
prison term imposed under either division consecutively to any other mandatory prison term imposed under either
division or under division (D)(1)(d) of this secCron, consecutively to and prior to any prison term imposed for the
underlying felony pursuant to divislon (A), (D)(2), or (D)(3) of this section or any other section of the Revised Code,
and consecutively to any other prison term or mandatory prison term previously or subsequentiy imposed upon the
offender.

(b) If a mandatory prison term is imposed upon an offender pursuant to division (D)(1)(d) of this section for
wearing or carrying body armor while committing an offense of violence that is a felony, the offender shall serve the
mandatory term so imposed consecutively to any other mandatory prison term imposed under that division or under
division (D)(1)(a) or (c) of this section, consecutively to and prior to any prison term Imposed for the underlying
felony under division (A), (D)(2), or (O)(3) of this section or any other section of the Revised Code, and
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consecutively to any other prison term or mandatory prison term previously or subsequently imposed upon the
offender.

(c) If a mandatory prison term is imposed upon an offender pursuant to division (D)(1)(f) of this section, the
offender shall serve the mandatory prison term so imposed consecutively to and prior to any prison term imposed
for the underlying felony under division (A), (D)(2), or (D)(3) of this section or any other section of the Revised
Code, and consecutively to any other prison term or mandatory prison term previously or subsequently imposed
upon the offender.

(2) If an offender who is an inmate In a)ail, prison, or otDer residential detention facility violates sectlon 2917.02,
2917.03, 2921.34, or 2921.35 of the Revised Code, if an offender who is under detention at a detention facility
commits a felony violation of section 2923.131 of the Revised Code, or if an offender who is an inmate in a)ail,
prison, or other residential detention facility or is under detention at a detention facility commits another felony
while the offender is an escapee in violation of section 2921.34 of the Revised Code, any prison term imposed upon
the offender for one of those violations shall be served by the offender consecutively to the prison term or term of
imprisonment the offender was serving when the offender committed that offense and to any other prison term
previously or suhsequently imposed upon the offender.

(3) If a prison term Is imposed for a violation of division(6) of section 2911.01 of the Revised Code, a violation of
division (A) of section 2913.02 of the Revised Code in which the stolen property is a firearm or dangerous ordnance,
or a felony violation of division (8) of section 2921.331 of the Revised Code, the offender shall serve that prison
term consecutively to any other prison term or mandatory prison term previously or subsequently imposed upon the
offender.

(4) If multiple prison terms are imposed on an offender for convictions of multiple offenses, the court may require
the offender to serve the prison terms consecutively If the court finds that the consecutive service is necessary to
protect the public from future crime or to punish the offender and that consecutive sentences are not
disproportionate to the serfousness of the offender's conduct and to the danger the offender poses to the public, and
if the court also finds any of the following:

(a) The offender committed one or more of the multiple offenses while the offender was awaiting trial or sentencing,
was under a sanction imposed pursuant to section 2929.16, 2929.17, or 2929.18 of the Revisetl Code, or was under
post-release control for a prior offense.

(b) At least two of the multiple offenses were committed as part of one or more courses of conduct, and the harm
caused by two or more of the multiple offenses so committed was so great or unusual that no single prison term for
any of the offenses committed as part of any of the courses of conduct adequately reflects the seriousness of the
offender's conduct.

(c) The offender's history of criminal conduct demonstrates that consecutive sentences are necessary to protect the
public from future crime by the offender.

(5) If a mandatory prison term is imposed upon an offender pursuant to dlvision (D)(5) or (6) of this section, the
offender shall serve the mandatory prison term consecutively to and prior to any prison term imposed for the
underlying violation of division (A)(1) or (2) of section 2903.06 of the Revised Code pursuant to division (A) of this
section. If a mandatory prCson term is imposed upon an offender pursuant to division (D)(5) of this section, and ff a
mandatory prison term also is imposed upon the offender pursuant to division (D)(6) of this section in relation to
the same violation, the offender shall serve the mandatory prison term imposed pursuant to division (D)(5) of this
section consecutively to and prior to the mandatory prison term Imposed pursuant to division (D)(6) of this section
and consecutively to and prior to any prison term imposed for the underlying violation of division (A)(1) or (2) of
section 2903.06 of the Revised Code pursuant to division (A) of this section.

(6) When consecutive prison terms are imposed pursuant to division (E)(1), (2), (3), (4), or (5) of this section, the
term to be served is the aggregate of all of the terms so imposed.

(F) If a court imposes a prison term of a type described In division (B) of section 2967.28 of the Revised Code, it
shall include In the sentence a requirement that the offender be subject to a period of post-release control after the
offender's release from imprisonment, in accordance with that division. If a court imposes a prison term of a type
described in division (C) of that section, it shall include in the sentence a requirement that the offender be subject to
a period of post-release control after the offender's release from Imprisonment, in accordance with that division, if
the parole board determines that a period of post-release control is necessary.

(G) If a person is convicted of or pleads guilty to a violent sex offense or a designated homicide, assault, or
kidnapping offense and, in relation to that offense, the offender is adjudicated a sexually violent predator, the court
shall Impose sentence upon the offender in accordance with section 2971.03 of the Revised Code, and Chapter
2971. of the Revisetl Code appfies regarding the prisan term or term of life imprisonment without paroleimposed
upon the offender and the service of that term of Imprisonment

(H) If a person who has been aonvictetl of or pleaded guilty to a felony is sentenced to a prison term or term of
imprisonment under this section, sections 2929.02 to 2929.06 of the Revised Code, section 2971.03 of the Revised
Code, or any other provision of law, section 5120.163 of the Revised Code applies regarding the person while the
person is confined in a state correctional Institution.

(1) If an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a felony that is an offense of violence also is convicted of or
pleads guiity to a specification of the type described in section 2941.142 of the Revised Code that charges the
offender with having committed the felony while participabng In a criminal gang, the court shalf impose upon the
offender an additional prison term of one, two, or three years.
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(3) If an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to aggravated murder, murder, or a felony of the nrst, second,
or third degree that is an offense of violence also is convicted of or pleads guilty to a specification of the type
described in section 2941.143 of the Revised Code that charges the offender with having committed the offense in a
school safety zone or towards a person in a school safety zone, the court shall impose upon the offender an
additional prison term of two years. The offender shall serve the additional two years consecutively to and prior to
the prison term imposed for the underlying offense.

(K) At the time of sentencing, the court may recommend the offender for placement in a program of shock
incarceration under section 5120.031 of the Revised Code or for placement In an intensive program prison under
section 5120.032 of the Revised Code, disapprove placement of the offender in a program of shack incarceration or
an intensive program pnson of that nature, or make no recommendation on placement of the offender. In no case
shall the department of rehabilitation and correction place the offender in a program or prison of that nature unless
the department determines as specified in section 5120.031 or 5120.032 of the Revised Code, whichever is
applicable, that the offender is eligible for the placement.

If the court disapproves placement of the offender in a program or prison of that nature, the department of
rehabilitation and Wrrection shall not place the offender in any program of shock incarce2tion Or intensive program
prison.

If the court recommends placement of the offender in a program of shock incarceration or in an Intensive program
prison, and if the offender is subsequently placed in the recommended program or prison, the department shall
notify the court of the placement and shall include with the notice a brief description of the piacement.

If the court recommends placement of the offender in a program of shock incarceration or in an intensive prog2m
prison and the department does not subsequentfy place the offender in the recommended program or prison, the
department shall send a notice to the court indicating why the offender was not placed in the recommended
program or prison.

If the court does not make a recommendation under this division with respect to an offender and If the department
determines as specified in section 5120.031 or 5120.032 of the Revised Code, whiohever is applicable, that the
offender is eligible for placement in a program or prison of that nature, the department shall screen the offender
and determine if there is an available program of shock incarceratlon or an intensive program prison for which the
offender is suited. If there is an avaflable program of shock incarcerabon or an intensive program prison for which
the offender is suited, the department shall notify the court of the proposed placement of the offender as specified
in section 5120.031 or 5120.032 of the Revised Code and shall include with the notice a brief description of the
placement. The court shalt have ten days from receipt of the notice to disapprove the placement.

Sec.2941.149. (A) The determination by a court that an offender is a repeat vlolent offender is precluded uniess
the indictment, count In the indictment, or infortnation charging the offender specifies that the offender is a repeat
violent offender. The specification shall be stated at the end of the body of the indictment, count, or information,
and shall be stated In substantially the following form:

"SPECIFICATION (or, SPECIFICATION TO THE FIRST COUNT). The Grand 7urors (or insert the person's or
prosecuting attorney's name when approprlate) further fnd and specify that (set forth that the offender Is a repeat
violent offender)."

(B) The court shall determine the issue of whether an offender is a repeat violent offender.

(C) At the arraionment nf the defendant or as soon tbereafter as's r ct'cable the orosecutina attorney may a ve
notice to the defendant of the o osec t"na attornev's intention to use a certifted coov of the entrv pjjudoment of a
prior conviction as roof of that orior conviction. The defendant must then aive notice to the o osecutina atto ev of
the defendant s intention to biect to the use of ttie entrv of iudam n[ if the d fendant oursuant to Criminal Rule
12 does not a notice of that intention to the orosecut"na attarnev before trial the defendant waives the obiection
toth_e u e5 of an er ^+ nt as oroof of rh tlefendant's or"or c v'cUon as sho n n the entrv of iudome t

LD,. As used in this section, "repeat violent offender" has the same meaning as in section 2929.01 of the Revised
Code.

Sec. 2953.08. (A) In addition to any other rlght to appeat and except as provided in division (D) of this section, a
defendant who is convicted of or pieads guilty to a felony may appeal as a matter of right the sentence imposed
upon the defendant on one of thefoilowing grounds:

(1) The sentence consisted of or included the maximum prison term allowed for the offense by division (A) of
section 2929.14 of the Revised Code, the sentence was not imposed pursuant to division (D)(3)(b) of section
2929.14 of the Revised Code, the maximum prison term was not required for the offense pursuant to Chapter 2925.
or any other provision of the Revised Code, and the court imposed the sentence under one of the fotlowing
circumstances:

(a) The sentence was imposed for only one offense.

(b) The sentence was imposed for two or more offenses arising out of a single incident, and the court imposed the
maximum prison term for the offense of the highest degree.

(2) The sentence consisted of or included a prison'term, the offense for which it was imposed is a felony of the
fourth or fifth degrea or Is a felony drug offense that is a violation of a provision of Chapter 2925. of the Revised

... Code and that is specified as being subject to division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code for purposes of
sentencing, and the court did not specify at sentencing that it found one or more factors specified in divisions (B)(1)
(a) to (i) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code to apply relative to the defendant. If the court specifies that it
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found one or more of those factors to apply relative to the defendant, the defendant is not entitled under this
division to appeal as a matter of nght the sentence imposed upon the offender.

(3) The person was convicted of or pieatled guilty to a violent sex offense or a designated homicide, assault, or
kidnapping offense, was atljudicated a sexually vioient predator In relation to that offense, and was sentenced
pursuaht to division (A)(3) of sectlon 2971.03 of the Revised Code, if the minimum term of the indefinite term
imposed pursuant to division (A)(3) of section 2971.03 of the Revised Code is the longest term available for the
offense from among the range of terms listed in section 2929.14 of the Revised Code. As used in this division,
"deslgnated homicide, assault, or kidnapping offense" and "violent sex offense" have the same meanings as in
section 2971.01 of the Revised Code. As used in thts d(vision, "adjudicated a sexually violent predator" has the
same meaning as in section 2929.01 of the Revised Code, and a person is "adjudicated a sexually violent predator"
in the same manner and the same circumstances as are described in that section.

(4) The sentence is contrary to law.

(5) The sentence cons)sted of an additional prison term of ten years Imposed pursuant to division (D)(2)(b}j31 of
section 2929.14 of the Revised Code.

(6) The sentence consisted of an additional pnson term of ten years imposed pursuant to division (D)(3)(b) of
section 2929.14 of the Revised Code.

(B) In addition to any other right to appeal and except as provided in division (D) of this section, a prosecuting
attorney, a dty director of law, village solicitor, or simiiar chief legal officer of a municipal corporation, or the
attorney general, If one of those persons prosecuted the case, may appeal as a matter of right a sentence imposed
upon a defendant who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a felony or, in the circumstances described in division (8)
(3) of this secUon the modification of a sentence imposed upon such a defendant, on any of the fallowing grounds:

(1) The sentence did not include a prison term despite a presurnption favoring a prison term for the offense for
which It was imposed, as set forth in section 2929.13 or Chapter 2925. of the Revised Code.

(2) The sentence is contrary to law.

(3) The sentence is a modifcation under section 2929.20 of the Revised Code of a sentence that was imposed fnr a
felony of the first or second degree.

(C)j3] In addition to the right to appeal a sentence granted under division (A) or (8) of this section, a defendant
who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a felony may seek leave to appeal a sentence imposed upon the defendant on
the basis that the sentencing judge has imposed consecutive sentences under divislon (E)(3) or (4) of section
2929.14 of the Revised Code and that the cansecutive sentences exceed the maximum prison term allowed by
division (A) of that section for the most serious offense of which the defendant was convicted. Upon the filing of a
motion under this division, the court of appeals may grant leave to appeal the senteoce if the court determines that
the allegation included as the basis of the motion is true.

(2) A d f dant may seel5l a e to appeal an ailditignal s tence'moosed uoon the defendant oursuant to division
(D)(2)(a) or (b) of section 2929.14 of the Revised Code'P the additional sentence is for a definite prison term that is
lonaer than five vears.

(D)W A sentence imposed upon a defendant is not subject to review under this section if the sentence is authorized
by taw, has been recommended jointly by the defendant and the prosecution in the case, and is imposed by a
sentencing judge.

(2) Exc ot as orov'ded'n dwision (Cl(2) of this Section a sentence imposed upon a defendant's not subject to
review under this section If the se t nce is imoo d oursuant to d' is' n(D)(2)(b) of section 292114 of the Revised

de Exceot as oth rw'se oroided in this division, a defendant retains all r'ahts to aooeal as provided under this
chapter or any other orov'si n of the Revised C de A defendant has the riaht to appeal under this chapter or any
other orovision f the Revised Code the court's aool'cat'on of clivision (D)(2)(c) of secCon 2929.14 of the Revised
Cotle. . . . . . .

(31 A sentence imposed for aggravated murder or murder pursuant to sections 2929.02 to 2929.06 of the Revised
Code is not subject to review under this section.

(E) A defendant, prosecuting attorney, city director of law, viuage solicitor, or chief municipal legal officer shall fiie
an appeal of a sentence under this section to a court of appeals within the time limirs specified in Rule 4(B) of the
Rules of Appeilate Procedure, provided that if the appeal is pursuant to division (8)(3) of this section, the time limits
specified in that rule shall not commence running until the court grants the motion that makes the sentence
modification in question. A sentence appeal under this section shall be consolidated with any other appeal in the
case. If no other appeal is filed, the court of appeals may review anly the portions of the trial record that pertain to
sentencing.

(F)-On the appeal of a sentence under this section, the record to be reviewed shall inciude all of the following, as

applicable:

(1) Any presentence, psychiatric, or other investigative report that was submitted to the court In writingbefore the
sentence was Imposed. An appellate court that reviews a presentence investigation report prepared pursuant to
section 2947.06 or 2951.03 of the Revised Code or Criminal Rule 32.2 in connection with the appeal of a sentence
under this section shall comply with division (0)(3) of section 2951.03 of the Revised Code when the appellate court
is not using the presentence investigation report, and the appellate court's use of a presentence investigation report
of that nature in connection with the appeal of a sentence under this section does not affect the otherwise
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confidential character of the contents of that report as described in division (D)(1) of section 2951.03 of the Revised
Code and does not cause that report to become a public record, as deffned in section 149.43 of the Revised Code,
following the appellate courPs use of the report.

(2) The trial record in the case in which the sentence was imposed;

(3) Any oral or written statements made to or by the court at the sentenoing hearing at which the sentence was
imposed;

(4) Any written flndings that the court was required ta make in connection with the modification of the sentence
pursuant to a judicial release under division (H) of section 2929.20 of the Revised Code.

(G)(1) if the sentencing court was requlred to make the findings required by division (B) or (D) of section 2929.13,
division f D)(2)(e) or (E)(4) of section 2929.14, or division (H) of section 2929.20 of the Revised Code relative ta the
imposition or modification of the sentence, and if the sentencing court failed to state the required findings on the
recartl, the court hearing an appeal under divtslon (A), (B), or (C) of this section shall remand the case to the
sentencing court and instruct the sentencing court to state, an the recortl, the requ(red findings.

(2) The court hearing an appeal under division (A), (B), or (C) of this section shall review the record, including the
fndings undedying the sentence or modification given by the sentencing court.

The appellate court may increase, reduce, or otherwise modify a sentence that is appealed under this section or may
vacate the sentence and remand the matter to the sentencing court for resentencing. The appeilate aourt's standard
for review is not whether the sentenGng court abused its discretion. The appellate court may take any action
authorized by this division if it clearly and convincingly fnds either of the following:

(a) That the record does not support the sentencing court's flndings under divisien (B) or (D) of section 2929.13,
division (D)(2)(e) or (E)(4) of section 2929.14, or division (H) of section 2929.20 of the Revised Code, whiahever, if
any, is relevant;

(b) That the sentence is otherwise contrary to law.

(H) A judgment or finat order of a court of appeals under this section may be appealed, by leave of court, to the
supreme court.

(I)(1) There (s hereby established the felony sentence appeal cost oversight committee, consisting of eight
members. One membershall be the chiefjustice of the supreme eourt or a representative of the court designated
by the chief justice, one member shall be a member of the senate appointed by the president of the senate, one
member shall be a member of the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house of
representatives, one member shall be the director of budget and management or a representative of the office of
budget and management designated by the director, one member shall be a judge of a court of appeals, court of
common pleas, municipat court, or county court appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court, one member
shall be the state public defender or a representative of the office of the state publ(c defender designated by the
state public defender, one member shall be a prosecuting attorney appointed by the Ohia prosecuting attorneys
association, and one member shall be a county commissioner appointed by the county commissioners association of
Ohio. No more than three of the appointed members of the committee may be members of the same polltical party.

The president of the senate, the speaker of the house of representatives, the chief justice of the supreme court, the
Ohio prosecuting attorneys association, and the county commissioners association of Ohio shall make the inltlal
appointments to the committee of the appointed members no later than ninety days after July 1, 1996. Of those
initial appointments to the committee, the members appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives and
the Ohio prosecuting attorneys association shall serve a term ending two years after July 1, 1996, the member
appointed by the chief justice of the supreme court shall serve a term ending three years after Jufy 1, 1996, and the
members appointed by the president of the senate and the county commissioners association of Ohio shall serve
terms ending four years after July 1, 1996. Thereafter, terms of office of the appointed members shall be for four
years, with each term ending on the same day of the same month as did the term that it succeeds. Members may
be reappointed. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner provided for original appointments. A member
appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which that member's predecessor was
appointed shall hold office as a member for the remainder of the predecessor's term. An appointed member shall
continue in office subsequent to the expiration date of that member's term until that member's successor takes
office or untli a period of sixty days has elapsed, whichever occurs first.

If the chief justice of the supreme court, tbe director of the office of budget and management, or the state public
defender serves as a member of the committee, that person's term of office as a member shall continue for as tong
as that person holds office as chief justice, director of the office of budget and management, or state public
defender. If the chief justice of the supreme court designates a representative of the court to serve as a member,
the director of budget and management designates a representative of the office of budget and management to
serve as a member, or the. state public defender designates a representative of the office of the state public
defender to serve as a member, the person so designated shall serve as a member of the commission for as long as
the official who made the designation holds office as chief justice, director of the office of budget and management,
or state public defender or until that official revokes the designation.

The chief justice of the supreme court or the representative of the supreme court appointed by the chief justice shail.
serve as chairperson of the committee. The committee shall meet within two weeks after all appointed members
have been appointed and shall organize as necessary. Thereafter, the committee shall meet at least once every six
months or more often upon the call of the chairperson or the written request of three or more members, provided
that the committee shall not meet untess moneys have been appropriated to the judiciary budget administered by
the supreme court specifically for the purpose of providing financial assistance to counties under division (I)(2) of
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this section and the moneys so appropriated then are available for that purpose.

The members of the committee shall serve without compensation, but, if moneys have been appropnated to the
judiciary budget administered by the supreme court specifically for the purpose of providingfinancial assistance to
counties under division (I)(2) of this section, each member shall be reimbursed out of the moneys so approprlated
that then are available for actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of official duties as a
committee member.

(2) The state criminal sentencingcommission periodically shall provide to the felony sentence appeaicost oversight
committee all data the commission coitects pursuant to division (A)(5) of section 181.25 of the Revised Code. Upon
receipt of the data from the state criminai sentencing commisslon; the felony sentence appeal cost oversight
committee periodically shall review the data; determine whether any money has been appropriated to thejudiciary
budget administered by the supreme court specifically far the purpose of providing state financial assistance to
counties in accordance with this division for the increase in expenses the counties experience as a result of the
felony sentence appeal provisions set forth in this section or as a result of a postcanviction relief proceeding brought
under division (A)(2) of section 2953.21 of the Revised Code or an appeal of a judgment In that proceeding; if it
determines that any money has been so appropriated, determine the total amount of moneys that have been so
appropriated specifically for that purpose and that then are available for that purpose; and develop a recommended
method of distributing those moneys to the counties. The committee shall send a copy of its recommendation to the
supreme court. Upon receipt of the committee's recommendation, the supreme court shall distribute to the counties,
based upon that recommendation, the moneys that have been so appropriated specifical(y for the purpose of
providing state financial assistance to counties under this division and that then are available for that purpose.

Sca. 3113.31. (A) As used in this section:

(1) "Domestic violence" means the occurrence of one or more of the following acts agalnst a family or household

member:

(a) Attempting to cause or recklessly causing bodily injury;

(b) Ptacing another person by the threat of force in fear of imminent serious physical harm or committing a violation
of section 2903.211 or 2911.211 of the Revised Code;

(c) Committing any act with respect to a child that would result in the child being an abused child, as defined in
section 2151.031 of the Revised Code.

(2) "Court" means the domestic re3ations division of the court of common pleas in counties that have a domestic
retations division, and the court of common pleas in counties that do not have a domestic reladons division.

(3) "Family or household member" means any of the following:

(a) Any of the foliowing who is residing with or has resided with the respondent:

(i) A spouse, a person living as a spouse, or a former spouse af the respondent;

(ii) A parent or a child of the respondent, or another person related by consanguinity or affinity to the respondent;

(iii) A parent or a chiltl of a spouse, person living as a spouse, or former spouse of the respondent, or another
person related by consanguinity or affinity to a spouse, person living as a spouse, or former spouse of the

respondent.

(b) The natural parent of any child of whom the respondent is the other natural parent or is the putative other

natural parent.

(4) "Person living as a spouse" means a person who is living or has lived with the respondent in a common law
maritai reiationship, who otherwise is cohabiting with the respondent, or who otherwise has cohabited with the
respondent within five years prior to the date of the afleged occurrence of the act in question.

(5) "Victim advocate" means a person who provides support and assistance for a person who files a petition under

this section.

(6) "Sexually or entad off nse has the same meaning as in section 2950 .01 of the Rev'sed Cotle

(B) The court has juristliction over all proceedings under this section. The petifloner's right to relief under this
section 3s not affected by the petitioner's leaving the residence or household to avoid furtherdomestic violence.

(C) A person may seek relief under this sectlon on the pereon's own behalf, or any parent or adult househoid
member may seek relief under this section on behalf of any other family or household member, by filing a petition
with the court. The petition shall contain or state:

(1) An allegation that the respondent engaged In domestic violence against a family or household member of the
respondent, including a description of the nature and extent of the domestic violenre or committed a sexuaiiv
oriented offense aaa'nst the petitioner or the vic*im'f other than the oetitioner

(2) The relationship of the respondent to the petitioner, and to the victim if other than the petitioner;

(3) A request for relief under this section.
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(D)(1) if a person who tiles a petition pursuant to this section requests an ex parte order, the court shall hold an ex
parte hearing on the same day that the petition is fled. The court, for good cause shown at the ex parte hearing,
may enter any temporary orders, with or without bond, Including, but not limited to, an order described in division
(E)(1)(a), (b), or (c) of thiS section, that tile court finds necessary to protect the family or househ0ld member fmm
domestic violence or to orot Ct the petitioner o vi tim from a sexually oriented offense. Immediate and present
danger of domestic violence to the family or household member nr of a sexually orlented offense to the oetitloner or
vic'm constitutes good cause for purposes of this section. immedlate and present danger intludes, but is not limited
to, situations in which the respondent has threatened the family or household member with bodily harm, in which
the rasponcliiot has threate d the petitioner or victim with a sexually oriented offense or in which the respondent
previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to an offense that constitutes domestic violence against the
family or household member ly oriented offen e aaa'nst the oetit'oner or victim.

(2)(a) If the court, after an ex parte hearing, issues an order described in division (E)(1)(b) or (c) of this section,
the court shall schedule a fufl hearing for a date that is within seven court days after the ex parte hearing. If any
other type of protection order that is authorized under division (E) of this section is issued by the court after an ex
parte hearing, the court shall schedule a full hearing for a date that is within ten court days after the ex parte
hearing. The court shall give the respondent notice of, and an opportunity to be heard at, the full hearing. The court
shall hold the full hearing on the date scheduled under this division unless the court grants a continuance of the
hearing in accordance with this division. Under any of the following circumstances or for any of the following
reasons, the court may grant a continuance of the full hearing to a reasonable time determined by the court:

(i) Prior to the date scheduled for the full hearing under this division, the respondent has not been served with the
petition filed pursuant to thls section and notice of the full hearing.

(li)The parties consent to the continuance.

(iii) The continuance Is needed to allow a party to obtain counsel.

(iv) The continuance Is needed for other good cause.

(b) An ex parte order issued under this section does not expire because of a failure to serve notice of the full
hearing upon the respondent before the date set for the full hearing underdivision (D)(2)(a) of this section or
because the court grants a continuance under that divfsion.

(3) If a person wh0 files a petition pursuant to this section does not request an ex parte order, or if a person
requests an ex parte order but the court does not issue an ex parte order after an ex parte hearing, the court shall
proceed as in a normal civil action and grant a full hearing on the matter.

(E)(1) After an ex parte or full hearing, the court may grant any protection order, with or without bond, or approve
any consent agreement to bring about a cessation of domestic violence against the family or household members.
The order or agreement may:

(a) Direct the respondent to refrain from abusing the family or household members. or from committing sexuallv
oriented offenses against the oetltioner or victim;

(b) Grant possession of the residence or household to the petitioner or other family or household member, to the
exclusion of the respondent, by evicting the respondent, when the residence or household is owned or leased solely
by the petitioner or other family or household member, or by ordering the respondent to vacate the premises, when
the resldence or household is jointly owned or leased by the respondent, and the petitioner or other family or
household member;

(c) When the respondent has a duty to support the petitioner or otherfamuy or hoosehold member living in the
residence or household and the respondent is the sole owner or lessee of the residence or household, grant
possession of the residence or household to the petitioner or other family or household member, to the exclusion of
the respondent, by ordering the respondent to vacate the premises, or, in the case of a consent agreement, allow
the respondent to provide suitable, alternative housing;

(d) Temporarily allocate parental rights and responsibilities for the care of, or establish temporary parenting time
rights with regard to, minor children, if no othercourt has determined, or is determining, the allocation of parental
rights and responsibilities for the minor children or parenting time r'rghts;

(e) Require the respondent to maintain support, if the respondent customarily provides for or contrlbutes to the
support of the family or household member, or If the respondent has a duty to support the petitioner or family or

household member;

(f) Require the respondent, petitioner, victim of domesbe violence, or any combination of those persons, to seek

counseling;

(g) Require the respondent to refrain from entering the residence, school, business, or place of employment of the
petiGoner or family or household member;

(h) Grant other relief that the court considers equitable and fair, including, but not limited to, ordering the
respondent to perrnit the use of a motor vehicie by the petitioner or other family or household member and the
apportionment oP household and family personal property.

(2) If a protection order has been issued pursuant to this section in a prior action involving the respondent and the
petitioner or one or more of the family or hou5ehold member5 or Victims the court may include in a protection order

that it issues a prohJbition against the respondent returning to the residence or household. If it includes a prohibition
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against the respondent returning to the residence or household in the order, it also shall include in the order
provisions of the type described in division (E)(7) of this section. This division does not preclutle the court from
including in a protection order or consent agreement, in circumstances other than those described in this division, a
requirement that the respondent be evicted from or vacate the residence or househpld or refrain from entering the
resjdence,school, business, or place of employment of the petitioner or a family or household member, and, if the
court includes any requirement of that type in an order ar agreement, the court also shall include in the order
provisions of the type described in division (E)(7) of this section.

(3)(a) Any prntection order issued or consent agreement approved under this section shall be valid until a date
certain, but not later than five years from the date of its issuance or approval.

(b) Subject to the limitation on the duration of an order or agreement set forth in division (E)(3)(a) of this section,
any order under division (E)(1)(d) of this section shall terminate on the date that a court in an action for divorce,
dissolution of marriage, or legal separation brought by the petitioner or respondent issues an order allocating
parental rights and responsibilities for the care of children or on the date that a juvenile court In an action brought
by the petitioner or respondent issues an order awarding legal custody of minor children. Subject to the limitation
on the duration of an order or agreement set forth in division (E)(3)(a) of this section, any order under division (E)
(1)(e) of this section shall terminate on the date that a court In an action for divorce, dissolution of marriage, or
legal separation brought by the petltioner or respondent issues a support order or on the date that a juvenile court
in an action brought by the petitioner or respondent issues a support order.

(c) Any protection order issued or consent agreement approved pursuant to this section may be renewed in the
same manner as the original order or agreement was Issued or approved.

(4) A court may not issue a protection order that requires a petltloner to do or to refrain from doing an act that the
court may require a respondent to do or to refrain from doing under division (E)(1)(a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (g), or (h)
of this section unless all of the following apply:

(a) The respondent fifes a separate petition for a protection order in accordance with this section.

(b) The petitioner is served notice of the respondent's petition at least forty-eight hours before the court halds a
hearing with respect to the respondent's petition, or the petitioner waives the right to receive this notice.

(c) If the petitioner has requested an ex parte order pursuant to division (D) of this section, the court does not delay
any hearing required by that division beyond the time specified in thatdivislon in order to consolidate the hearing
with a hearing on the petition filed by the respondent.

(d) After a full hearing at which the respondent presents evidence In support of the request for a protection order
and the petitioner is afforded an opportunity to defend against that evidence, the court determines that the
petitioner has committed an act of domestic violence or has violated a temporary protection order Issued pursuant
to section 2919.26 of the Revised Code, that both the petitloner and the respondent acted primarily as aggressors,
and that neither the petitioner nor the respondent acted primarily Rn self-defense.

(5) No protection order issued or consent agreement approved under this section shall in any manner affect title to

any real property.

(6)(a) If a petitioner, or the child of a petitioner, who obtains a protectlon order or consent agreement pursuant [a
division (E)(1) of this section or a temporary protection order pursuant to section 2919.26 of the Revised Code and
is the subject of a parenting time order Issued pursuant to section 3104.051 or 3109.12 of the Revised Code or a
visitation or companionship order issued pursuant to section 3109.051, 3109.11, or 3109.12 of the Revised Code or
division (E)(1)(d) of this sectlon granting parenting time rights to the respqndent, the court may require the pubilc
children services agency of the county in whlch the court Is located to provide supervision of the respondent's
exercise of parenting time or visitation or companionshlp rights with respect to the child for a period not to exceed
nine months, if the court makes the following findings of fact:

(i) The child is in danger from the respondent;

(li) No other person or agency is available to provide the supervision.

(b) A court that requires an agency to provide supervision pursuant to division (E)(6)(a) of tnis section shall order
the respondent to reimburse the agency for the cost of providing the supervision, if it determines that the
respondent has sufficient income or resources to pay that cost.

(7)(a) If a protection order issued or consent agreement approved under this section includes a requirement that
the respondent be evicted from or vacate the residence or household or refrain from entering the residence, school,
business, or place of employment of the petitioner or a family or household member, the order or agreement shall
state clearly that the order or agreement cannot be watved or nullified by an invitation to the respondent from the
petitioner or other family or household member to enter the residence, school, business, or place of employment or
by the respondent's entry into one of those places omerwlse upon the consent of the petitioner or other family or

household member.

(b) Division (E)(7)(a) of this section does not limit any discretion of a court to determine that a respondent charged
with a violation af section 2919.27 of the Revised Code, with a violation of a municipal ordinance substantially
equivalent to that section, or with contempt of court, which charge is based on an alleged violation of a protection
order issued or consent agreement approved under this section, did not commit the violation orwas not in contempt

of court.

(F)(1) A copy of any protection order, or consent agreement, that is issued or approved under this section shall be
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issued by the court ta the petitioner, to the respondent, and to all iaw enforcement agencies that have jurisdiction
to enforce the order or agreement. The court shall direct that a copy of an order be delivered to the respondent on
the same day that the order is entered.

(2) All law enforcement agencies shall establish and maintain an index for the protection orders and the approved
consent agreements delivered to the agencies pursuant to division (F)(1) of this section. With respect to each order
and consent agreement delivered, each agency shall note on the index the date and time that it received the order
or consent agreement.

(3) Regardless of whether the petitioner has registered the order or agreement in the county in which the officer's
agency has jurisdiction pursuant to division (N) of this section, any officer of a law enforcement agency shall enforce
a protection order issued or consent agreement approved by any court in this state in accordance with the
provisions of the order or agreement, including removing the respondent from the premises, if appropriate.

(G) Any proceeding under this section shall be conducted in accordance with the Rules of Civil Procedure, except
that an order under this section may be obtained with or without bond. An order Issuetl under th15 section, other
than an ex parte order, that grants a protection order or approves a consent agreement, or that refuses to grant a
protection order or approve a consent agreement, is a final, appealable order. The remedies and procedures
provided in this section are in addition to, and not in lieu of, any other available civil or criminal remedies.

(H) The filing of proceedings under this section does not excuse a person from filing any report or giving any notice
required by section 2151.421 of the Revised Code or by any other law. When a petition under this section alleges
domestic violence against minor children, the court shall report the fact, or cause reports to be made, to a county,
township, or municipal peace officer under section 2151.421 of the Revised Code.

(I) Any law enforcement agency that investigates a domestic dispute shall provide information to the family or
household members involved regarding the relief available under this section and section 2919.26 of the Revised

Code.

(]) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary and regardless of whether a protection order is issued or a
consent agreement is approved by a court of another county or a court of another state, no court or unit of state or
local government shall charge any fee, cost, deposit, or money in connection with the filing of a petition pursuant to
this section or In connection with the filing, issuance, registration, or service of a protection order or consent
agreement, or for obtaining a certified copy of a protection order or consent agreement.

(K)(1) The court shall comply with Chapters 3119., 3121., 3123., antl 3125. of the Revised Code when it makes or
modifies an order for child support under this section.

(2) If any person required to pay child support under an order made under this section on or after Aprll 15, 1985, or
modified under this section on ar after December 31, 1986, is found in contempt of court for failure to make support
payments under the order, the court that makes the finding, in addition to any other penalty or remedy imposed,
shall assess all court costs arising out of the contempt proceetling against the person and require the person to pay
any reasonable attorney's fees of any adverse party, as determined by the court, that arose in relation to the act of

contempt.

(L)(1) A person who violates a protection order issued or a consent agreement approved under this section is
subject to the foilowing sanctions:

(a) Criminal prosecution for a vioiation of section 2919.27 of the Revised Code, if the violation of the protection
order or consent agreement constitutes a viclation of that section;

(b) Punishment for contempt of court.

(2) The punishment of a person for contempt of court for violation of a protection order issued or a consent
agreement approved under this section tloes not bar criminal prosecution of the person for a violation of section
2919.27 of the Revised Code. However, a person punished for contempt of court is entitled to credit for the
punishment imposed upon conviction of a violation of that sectian, and a person convlcted of a violation of that
section shall not subsequently be punished for contempt of court arising out of the same activity.

(M) In all stages of a proceeding under this section, a petitioner may be accompanied by a victim advocate.

(N)(1) A petitioner who obtains a protection order or consent agreement under this section or a temporary
protection order under section 2919.26 of the Revised Code may provide notice of the issuance or approval of the
order or agreement to the judlcial and law enforcement officials in any county other than the county in which the
order is'rssued or the agreement is approved by registering that order or agreement in the other county pursuant to
division (N)(2) of this section and filing a copy of the registered order or registered agreement with a law
enforcement agency in the other county in accordance with that division. A person who obtains a protection order
issued by a court of another state may provide notice of the issuance of the order to the judtclal and law
enforcement officials in any county of this state by registering the order in that county pursuant to section 2919.272
of the Revised Code and filing a copy of the registered order with a law enforcement agency In that county.

(2) A petitioner may register a temporary Protection order, protectlon order, or consent agreement in a county other
than the county In which the court that issued the order or approved the agreement is located in the following

manner:

(a) The petitioner shall obtain a certified copy of the order or agreement from the clerk of the court that issued the
order or approved the agreement and present that certified copy to the clerk of the court of common pleas or the
clerk of a municipal cnurt or county court in the county in which the order or agreement is to be registered.
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(b) Upon accepting the certified copy of the order or agreement for registration, the clerk of the court of common

pieas, municipai court, or county court shall place an endorsement of registration on the order or agreement and
give the petitloner a copy of the order or agreement that bears that proof of registration.

(3) The clerk of each court of common pleas, the clerk of each municipal court, and the clerk of each county court
shall maintain a registry of certified copies of temporary protection orders, protection orders, or consent agreements

that have been issued or approved by courts In other counties and that have been registered with the clerk.

SECTION 2. That existing sections 2152.17, 2901.08, 2903.11, 2907.01, 2907.03,.2907A5, 2919.26, 2929.01,
2929.13, 2929.14, 2941.149, 2953.08, and 3113.31 of the Revised Code are hereby repealed.
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