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STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS

On September 25, 1995, the grand jury indicted Appellant Paul E. Palmer on

counts of attempted rape, aggravated burglary, aggravated robbery, robbery, and

kidnapping. On December 11, 1995, Palmer entered a guilty plea to the stipulated lesser

included offense of sexual battery in violation of R.C. 2907.04, a felony of the third

degree; on the state's request, the court entered a nolle prosequi on the remaining counts.

The trial court sentenced defendant to one and one-half years of incarceration, granting

112 days of credit. A judgment entry memorializing the trial court's proceedings was

filed January 8, 1996; a corrected entry was filed on Apri123, 1996. Because the

disposition of this case also included recognition of 112 days of jail credit, the expected

expiration of that sentence changed to approximately March 15, 1997.

Ohio's sexual offender registration system was the law created by the General

Assembly when it enacted Ohio's version of Megan's Law in 1996. Am.Sub.H.B. No.

180, 146 Ohio Laws, Part II, 2560, 2601. Megan's Law provided for offender

registration, classification, and community notification. But under that law, "a person

whose prison term for a sexually oriented offense was completed before July 1, 1997, is

not required to register under R.C. 2950.04(A)(1)(a) or periodically verify a current

address under R.C. 2950.06(A)[.]" State v. Champion, 106 Ohio St.3d 120, 2005-Ohio-

4098, 832 N.E.2d 718 at ¶13. Pahner-who completed his prison term before July 1,

1997-- therefore had no duty to register or verify his address under Megan's Law.

Ohio's sexual offender registration system underwent sweeping changes. On

January 1, 2008, 2007 Am.Sub.S.B. No. 10 (referred to as "S.B. 10", "the Adam Walsh

Act" or "the AWA"), became effective. S.B. 10 made wholesale revisions in Revised
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Code Chapter 2950. The Act abandoned the former categories of sexually oriented

offender, habitual sex offender, and sexual predators. Courts are not required to hold

classification hearings as before. Instead, under S.B. 10 offenders are classified as Tier I,

Tier II, or Tier III sex offenders (or child-victim offenders) based solely on the offender's

offense. R.C. 2950.01.

After that date, Palmer became aware that the Ohio Attomey General had

classified him as a Tier III under S.B. 10. On March 6, 2008, Palmer filed a petition to

contest this classification.

While the petition was pending, the State filed new charges. On May 28, 2009,

the Franklin County Grand Jury returned an indictment charging Palmer with failing to

provide notice of change of address and failing to periodically verify his address.

Because the two matters presented interrelated issues, they were consolidated

before the Honorable John Bessey, Judge of the Franklin County Common Pleas Court.

On June 23, 2009, Palmer moved for immediate disposition of the pending petition.

The matters came on for hearing on September 16, 2009. Palmer, through

counsel, contended that he had no duty to register under the prior law as enacted by H.B.

180. Counsel pointed out that this Court has been explicit on this point, that "a person

whose prison term for a sexually oriented offense was completed before July 1, 1997, is

not required to register under R.C. 2950.04(A)(1)(a) or periodically verify a current

address under R.C. 2950.06(A)." State v. Champion, at ¶13. Since Palmer's sentence

was completed prior to July 1, 1997, and because the court never determined him to be

subject to registration requirements pursuant to the prior version of Chapter 2950, the
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trial court apparently agreed that he could not be subject to registration requirements

under S.B. 10.

Since the court determined that Palmer had no duty to register pursuant to the

analysis of the petition issues, it further concluded that he had no duty to register under

the analysis applicable to the new indictment, and dismissed that prosecution.

The State appealed to the Franklin County Court of Appeals. By Opinion

rendered June 1, 2010, the appellate court reversed the judgment of the trial court.

On June 3, 2010, Palmer moved the appellate court to reconsider its decision in

light of this Court's decision in State v. Bodyke, 126 Ohio St.3d 266, 2010-Ohio-2424,

933 N.E.2d 753. By Decision and Entry filed August 10, 2010, the Court of Appeals

denied reconsideration.

Palmer appealed to this Honorable Court. By Entry filed March 2, 2011, the Court

accepted his appeal. Palmer now seeks reversal of the erroneous judgment of the Franklin

County Court of Appeals.

ARGUMENT

Introduction

Upon his release from prison in March 1997, Appellant Paul Palmer was not

subject to the registration and reporting requirements of Megan's Law. This Court's

opinion in State v. Champion unquestionably holds that such an offender was not

required to register under former R.C. 2950.04(A)(1)(a) or periodically verify a current

address under former R.C. 2950.06(A).

But according to the Court of Appeals below, with the enactment of S.B. 10,

Palmer suddenly became subject to the registration and reporting requirements applicable
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to Tier III offenders. Under this new classification, Palmer was required to personally

register with the local sheriff every 90 days for life and was also subject to community

notification provisions.

The Court of Appeals found that S.B. 10 applied to Palmer even if Megan's Law

did not. According to the Court,

"...we can conclude only that defendant's duties under the AWA are

not premised on the time frame referenced in the law cited in
Champion but on the language of the AWA which requires
compliance, regardless of when defendant pleaded guilty to the
offense. Accordingly, the provisions of the AWA apply to defendant."

State v. Palmer, Franklin App. 09AP-956, 957 at ¶24.

This holding is contrary to the applicable statutes, the holdings of this Court, and

the federal and state Constitutions.

First Proposition of Law

R.C. 2950.031 and 2950.032 are unconstitutional and

unenforceable. Given the unconstitutionality of these sections, they

provide no basis for reclassification of any sexual offender into the

tier classification system created by the Adam Walsh Act and no

registration duties arise from these sections. [State v. Bodyke, 126
Ohio St.3d 266, 2010-Ohio-2424, 933 N.E.2d 753, applied.]

A. S.B. 10 Does Not Apply to Palmer

In Bodyke, this Court found that R.C. 2950.031 and 2950.032, the reclassification

provisions in S.B. 10, are unconstitutional because they violate the separation-of-powers

doctrine. As a remedy, the Court struck R.C. 2950.031 and 2950.032. These provisions

are therefore of no force and effect.

R.C. 2950.031 explicitly stated that offenders "who prior to December 1, 2007,

has registered a residence, school, institution of higher education, or place of

employment" must be reclassified as tiered offenders. This group not only encompasses
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those who were formally labeled by a court, but also those who were convicted prior to

Megan's Law but serving a sentence for their sexually oriented offense after July 1, 1997,

those who were convicted after Megan's Law was enacted but were not sought out to be

labeled a predator, and those who had no duty to register but were improperly informed

they had a duty to register. Neither R.C. 2950.031 nor 2950.032 distinguishes between

any of these groups. Because this Court's holding in Bodyke severed these provisions in

their entirety, none of these individuals fall within the requirements of S.B. 10.

What is more important is that this Court did not make any distinction in how

individuals fell into this class of people who were unlawfully reclassified by R.C.

2950:031 and 2950.032. This Court chose to sever these statutes in their entirety, and

reaffirmed that decision in Chojnacki v Cordray, 126 Ohio St.3d 321, 2010-Ohio-3212,

933 N.E.2d 800. The Tenth District recognized this in State v. Hazlett, 191 Ohio App.3d

105, 109, 2010-Ohio-6119, 944 N.E.2d 1220:

[T]he remedy of Bodyke, as later clarified and reaffirmed in Chojnacki,

was complete and total severance of the provisions providing for the
attorney general's authority to reclassify sex offenders. The severance
makes no distinction between those classified judicially and those
classified by operation of law. Moreover, after Bodyke was rendered, the
Supreme Court was asked for clarification on this very issue, but declined
to offer either reconsideration or clarification, which suggests the effect of
severance is applicable to all sex offenders whether classified judicially or

by operation of law.

The sole basis for reclassifying Palmer into a tier based registration system and

for imposing S.B. 10 duties on him is by application of R.C. 2950.031. The Court of

Appeals never addressed this issue, instead following the erroneous ruling of State v.

Bundy, Montgomery App. No. 23063, 2009-Ohio-5395. Bundy engaged in the same

flawed analysis as the Court of Appeals below. Significantly this Court reversed the
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Bundy decision in In re Sexual-Offender Reclassification Cases, 126 Ohio St.3d 322,

2010-Ohio-3753, 933 N.E.2d 801, ¶ 55

Compliance with S.B. 10 is required only after the Ohio Attorney General

completes the tier classification for that offender provided by R.C. 2950.031 and

2950.032. Since R.C. 2950.031 and 2950.032 are unconstitutional and completely

severed, the Attorney General may not conduct and complete this assessment and

reclassification of Palmer-and he may not be prosecuted for failing to comply with S.B.

10 requirements. See State v. Gingell, 128 Ohio St.3d 444, 2011-Ohio-1481,

N.E.2d ¶ 8.

B. S.B. 10 May Not Be AppHed Retrospectively to Offenders Who Were Not
Subject to Megan's Law

The Bodyke holding and severance remedy remove any doubt on the issue: Palmer

had no duty to register or verify his address and, accordingly, could not be subject to

prosecution for failing to comply with those duties. Although Bodyke offers further

insight into the issues before this Court, the trial court made its decision prior to the

release of the Bodyke decision and based its decision on State v. Champion. But even

without discussion or application of the Bodyke, analysis, Palmer had no such duties

because he was not subject to the requirements imposed by Megan's Law. Since the trial

court based its decision on State v. Champion, this Court is now faced with the question

of whether S.B. 10 ovetn.iled Champion.

Under pre-S.B. 101aw, only offenders who were either sentenced after July 1,

1997, or released on or after that date from incarceration for the particular sex offense,

were subject to the registration and verification requirements of the version of Chapter

2950 created by H.B. 180. See State v. Bellman, 86 Ohio St.3d 208, 1999-Ohio-95, 714
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N.E.2d 381; State v. Taylor, 100 Ohio St.3d 172, 2003-Ohio-5452, 797 N.E.2d 504. The

Court was explicit on this point in State v. Champion, holding that "a person whose

prison term for a sexually oriented offense was completed before July 1, 1997, is not

required to register under R.C. 2950.04(A)(1)(a) or periodically verify a current address

under R.C. 2950.06(A)."

The Court of Appeals held that S.B. 10 is so broad as to make any sex offender,

no matter the date of conviction, subject to Chapter 2950's requirements. But, the

language found throughout Chapter 2950 strongly indicates a more limited legislative

intent more akin to that found in former Chapter 2950 and in line with this Court's

decision in Champion.

R.C. 2950.033 sets forth procedures for applying the provisions of Senate Bill 10

retrospectively to offenders whose duty to comply with the registration requirements of

prior law was to expire prior to the January 1, 2008 enactment date of Senate Bill 10. It

makes no mention of applying those requirements to offenders who had no previous duty

to register.

R.C. 2950.03 establishes the notice procedure for those who are required to

register. Furthennore, it provides that "each offender required to register" shall be

provided notice. The language in this particular statute is composed identically as the

statute this Court evaluated in Champion.

Fonner R.C. 2950.04 stated as follows:

Regardless of when the sexually oriented offense was committed, an
offender who is sentenced for the sexually oriented offense to a prison
term, a term of imprisonment, or any other type of confinement and,
on or after July 1, 1997, is released in any manner from the prison
term, term of imprisonment, or confinement...
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Current R.C. 2950.03 reads as follows:

Regardless of when the person committed the sexually oriented
offense or child-victim oriented offense, if the person is an offender
who is sentenced to a prison term, a term of imprisonment, or any
other type of confinement for any offense, and if on or after January 1,
2008, the offender is serving that term or is under that confinement,
subject to division (A)(5) of this section, the official in charge of the
jail, workhouse, state correctional institution, or other institution in
which the offender serves the prison term, term of imprisonment, or
confinement, or designee of that official, shall provide the notice to the
offender before the offender is released pursuant to any type of
supervised release or before the offender otherwise is released from
the prison term, term of imprisonment, or confinement.

R.C. 2950.06(B)(4) directed how Megan's Law registrants should periodically

verify their address:

If, prior to January 1, 2008, an offender or delinquent child registered
with a sheriff under a duty imposed under section 2950.04 or 2950.041
of the Revised Code as a result of a conviction of, plea of guilty to, or
adjudication as a delinquent child for committing a sexually oriented
offense or a child-victim oriented offense as those terms were defined
in section 2950.01 of the Revised Code prior to January 1, 2008, the

duty to register that is imposed on the offender or delinquent child
pursuant to section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the revised Code on and
after January 1, 2008, is a continuation of the duty imposed upon the
Offender prior to January 1, 2008, under section 2950.04 or 2950.041
of the Revised Code and, for purposes of divisions B(1), (2), and (3) of
this section, the offender's initial registration date related to that
offense is the date on which the offender initially registered under
section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code.

(Emphasis added.)

Similarly, R.C. 2905.07 provides direction on to determine when an offender's

duty commences. R. C. 2950.07(A)(8) states:

If the offender's duty to register was imposed pursuant to section
2950.04 of the Revised Code as they existed prior to January 1, 2008,
the offender's duty to comply with sections 2950.04 of the Revised
Code as they exist on and after January 1, 2008, is a continuation of
the offender's duty to register imposed prior to January 1, 2008, under
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section 2950.04 of the Revised Code continues, after the date of
commencement . . .

The court below improperly based its decision on the language contained in R.C.

2950.04(A)(2). This statute is a directive on how an offender should register only after

registration pursuant to 2950.04(A)(1) has been followed. R.C. 2950.04(A)(2) must be

interpreted in conjunction with R.C. 2950.04(A)(1). Paragraph (d) of this statute states:

After an offender who has registered pursuant to division (A)(1)(a) of

this section is released from a prison term, a term of imprisonment, or
any other type of confinement, the offender shall register as provided

in division (A)(2) of this section. After a delinquent child who has
registered pursuant to (A)(1)(b) of this section is released from the
custody of the department of youth services or from a secure facility
that is not operated by the department, the delinquent child shall
register as provided in division (A)(3) of this section.

(Emphasis added.)

Interestingly enough, R.C. 2950.04(A)(4) addresses the duty of out of state

offenders who move to Ohio. This portion of the statute requires registration only when

"the offender or delinquent child has a duty to register as a sex offender or child-victim

offender under the law of that other jurisdiction as a result of the conviction, guilty plea,

or adjudication." Id. It is illogical that the legislature would intend to impose new

registration requirements on Ohio residents who had no prior duty under Megan's Law,

and yet only impose a duty to register on out of state offenders only if they had a duty to

register under their previous state's law.

None of the above listed portions of Chapter 2950 are directed in whole or in part

to the class of individuals who never had a duty to register pursuant to Megan's Law.

There is no provision stating when these offenders are to register, who is to provide this

class notice of a duty to register, or how they are to contest their new
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classification/reclassification. Only those offenders who were subject to the provisions of

Chapter 2950 under Megan's Law were retroactively incorporated into S.B. 10 via R.C.

2950.031 and 2950.032.

Interestingly, the Ohio Attorney General has recognized this. The Attorney

General's Supplemental Brief filed in Chojnacki stated that "S.B. 10 applies retroactively

to sex offenders who, as of July 1, 2007, were subject to registration under the old sex-

offender system. R.C. 2950.033." (Supplemental Merit Brief of Appellee Ohio Attorney

General Richard Cordray, page 4, June 23, 2009).

Since Palmer was never actually subject to the former law, he cannot now be held

subject to its successor statutes. Id.; see, also, State v. Cook, Miami App. No. 2008 CA

19, 2008-Ohio-6543 ("applies retroactively to those offenders whose existing registration

requirements would expire after July 1, 2007").

By contrast, the appellate court's expansive interpretation renders complex

provisions such as R.C. 2909.033 and 2905.07 is little more than surplusage. It is a

fundamental canon of statutory construction that a statute should not be construed so as to

render any of its provisions mere surplusage. See, e.g., Ratzlaf v. United States (1994),

510 U.S. 135, 140-41, 114 S.Ct. 655, 126 L.Ed.2d 615, (noting that statutory language

should not be construed so as to render certain words or phrases mere surplusage);

Bowsher v. Merck & Co (1982)., 460 U.S. 824, 833, 103 S.Ct. 1587, 75 L.Ed.2d 580,

(restating "the settled principle of statutory construction that we must give effect ... to

every word of the statute"); Astoria Federal Savings & Loan Ass'n v. Solimino (1991),

501 U.S. 104, 112, 11 S.Ct. 2166, 115 L.Ed.2d 96; Sprietsma v. Mercury Marine (2003),
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537 U.S. 51, 63, 123 S.Ct. 518, 2003 A.M.C. 1, 154 L.Ed.2d 466; Bailey v. United States

(1995), 516 U.S. 137, 146, 116 S.Ct. 501, 133 L.Ed.2d 472.

C. S.B. 10 Is Unconstitutional as Applied to Offenders Who Had No Previous

Duty to Register

If the legislature intended Chapter 2950 to be completely retroactive without

limitations, S.B. 10 impermissibly violates the constitutional prohibitions against ex post

facto and retrospective legislation as well as Palmer's constitutional right to both

procedural due process and substantive due process as required by both the Ohio

Constitution and the United States Constitution.

1. The retroactive application of Senate Bill 10 violates the Ex Post Facto
Clause of the United States Constitution and the Retroactivity Clause of the

Ohio Constitution

The retroactive application of S.B. 10 to crimes that occurred before July 1, 1997

violates the Ex Post Facto Clause of the United States Constitution and the Retroactivity

Clause of the Ohio Constitution. Section 28, Article II of the Ohio Constitution provides

that "the general assembly shall have no power to pass retroactive laws." Additionally,

Section 10, Article I of the United States Constitution prohibits any legislation that

"changes the punishment, and inflicts greater punishment, than the law annexed to the

crime, when committed." Miller v. Florida (1987), 482 U.S. 423, 429, 107 S.Ct. 2446, 96

L.Ed.2d 351. Ex post facto laws are prohibited in order to ensure that legislative acts

"give fair warning to their effect and permit individuals to rely on their meaning until

explicitly changed." Weaver v. Graham (1981), 450 U.S. 24,28-29, 101 S.Ct. 960, 67

L.Ed.2d 17. Section 28, Article II of the Ohio Constitution; Section 10, Article I of the

United States Constitution.
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a. Senate Bill 10 violates Section 10, Article I of the United States
Constitution.

The Ex Post Facto Clause of the United States Constitution prevents the

legislature from abusing its authority by enacting arbitrary, or vindictive legislation

aimed at disfavored groups. See Miller v. Florida, 482 U.S. at 429. The Ex Post Facto

Clause applies only to criminal statutes. California Dept. of Corrections v. Morales

(1995), 514 U.S. 499, 504, 115 S.Ct. 1597, 131 L.Ed.2d 588; Collins v. Youngblood

(1990), 497 U.S. 37, 43, 110 S.Ct. 2715, 111 L.Ed.2d 30.

Although S.B. 10's changes to former R.C. Chapter 2950 do not delete the

language stating that "the exchange or release of [information required by the law] is not

punitive," the purpose of the new statute has changed from that underlying Megan's Law.

According to former R.C. Chapter 2950, an individual's classification and registration

requirements were tied directly to his or her ongoing threat to the community. But under

the new statutory scheme, an individual's registration and classification obligations

depend only upon his or her offense of conviction. Thus, the statutory scheme has been

transformed from a narrowly tailored solution to a punitive statutory scheme that does not

consider the offender's risk to the community or likelihood of reoffending. Contrary to

former R.C. Chapter 2950--which permitted a trial court to classify a defendant as a

sexual predator, a habitual sexual offender, or a sexually oriented offender only after

conducting a hearing and considering numerous factors--S.B. 10 assigns sex offenders to

one of three tiers based solely on the offense that the defendant allegedly committed.

Additionally, the formal attributes of a legislative enactment, such as the manner

of its codification and the enforcement procedures that it establishes, are probative of

legislative intent. Smith v. Doe (2003), 538 U.S. 84, 94, 123 S.Ct. 1140, 155 L.Ed.2d 164.
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Due to the fact that the legislature elected to place S.B. 10 squarely within Title 29,

Ohio's Criminal Code, the enforcement mechanisms established by S.B. 10 are criminal

in nature. Moreover, the failure of an individual to comply with the registration,

verification, or notification requirements of S.B. 10 subjects the offender to criminal

prosecution and criminal penalties. R.C. 2950.99.

Senate Bill 10 imposes burdens on defendants that have historically been regarded

as punishment and operate as affirmative disabilities and restraints. While registering as a

sex offender may have adverse consequences to a defendant, "running from mild personal

embarrassment to social ostracism," the further limitation regarding where an offender

may live causes S.B. 10 to resemble colonial punishments of "public shaming,

humiliation, and banishment." Smith v. Doe, 538 U.S. at 98.

b. Senate Bill 10 violates Section 28, Article II of the Ohio

Constitution.

Section 28, Article II of the Ohio Constitution forbids the enactment of retroactive

laws. Van Fossen v. Babcock & Wilcox Co. (1988), 36 Ohio St.3d 100, 106, 522 N.E.2d

489. Ohio's Constitution affords its citizens greater protection against retroactive laws

than does the Ex Post Facto Clause of the United States Constitution. Van Fossen, 36

Ohio St.3d at 105, footnote 5("[Ohio's Constitution of 1851 provides a] much stronger

prohibition than the more narrowly constructed provision in Ohio's Constitution of 1802.

Section 16, Article VIII of th[e 1802] Constitution stated: 'No ex post facto law, nor any

law impairing the validity of contracts, shall ever be made,' merely reflecting the terms

used in Section 10, Article I of the United States Constitution.").

In considering whether a particular law may be applied retrospectively, a

reviewing court must first determine whether it should apply the rule of statutory

13



construction or immediately engage in the constitutional review of the statute. Van

Fossen at 105. The issue of whether a statute may constitutionally be applied

retrospectively does not arise unless there has been a prior determination that the General

Assembly has specified that the statute so apply. Id. When "there is no clear indication of

retroactive application, then the statute may only apply to cases which

arise subsequent to its enactment." Kiser v. Coleman (1986), 28 Ohio St.3d 259, 262, 28

O.B.R. 337, 503 N.E.2d 753.

When the General Assembly has ordered that a new law be applied

retroactively-as in unquestionably did with S.B. 10--, a reviewing court must determine

whether the new law affects a person's substantive rights. Kunkler v. Goodyear Tire &

Rubber Co. (1988), 36 Ohio St.3d 135, 137, 522 N.E.2d 477. A statute is substantive--

and therefore unconstitutional if applied retroactively--if the statute "impairs or takes

away vested rights, affects an accrued substantive right, or imposes new or additional

burdens, duties, obligation or liabilities as to a past transaction, or creates a new right."

State v. Cook, 83 Ohio St.3d 404, 411,1998-Ohio-291, 700 N.E.2d 570.

Under S.B. 10 Palmer must now register as a sex offender for life. Under pre-S.B.

101aw; he had no obligation to register or report. The law unquestionably imposes new

obligations and burdens which did not exist at the time that Palmer committed the alleged

offense. Consequently, S.B. 10 not only violates the Ex Post Facto Clause of the United

States Constitution, but it also violates the Retroactivity Clause of Section 28, Article II

of the Ohio Constitution.

2. The expansive application of S.B. 10 violates Due Process
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The Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution and § 10,

Article I, of the Ohio Constitation protect against deprivation of liberty or property by

any state actor without due process of law. The Due Process Clause constrains the States

in the use of their powers without a sufficiently fair and open procedural basis, but also

has a substantive component that protects all citizens from the exercise of legislative and

executive power without any reasonable justification. Offenders are denied a fair and

open procedural basis upon any newly imposed affirmative duty to comply with the

various provisions of Chapter 2950. There has been no evidence of any risk or harm of

any kind legitimately asserted for the inclusion of this class of individuals in the sexual

offender registry.

"' [W]henever one is assailed in his person or his property, there he may defend"'

Boddie v. Connecticut (1971), 401 U.S. 371, 378, 91 S.Ct. 780, 28 L.Ed.2d 113 citing

Windsor v. McVeigh (1876), 93 U.S. 274, 277, 23 L.Ed. 914. Procedural due process

requires that one be provided with notice and the opportunity to be heard when the state

seeks to infringe upon a protected liberty or property right "absent a countervailing state

interest of overriding significance." Id.

Here, there are no instructions how these individuals, who previously never had a

duty to register, should now register. See R.C. 2950.03. Palmer has never been afforded

notice as required nor been given an opportunity to be heard. If the State is correct in it

interpretation of 2950(A)(2), these individuals would not be notified by the Ohio

Attorney General, any court within the State of Ohio, nor the sheriff in their home

counties. The State expects that since this classification is by operation of law that these

individuals should just know they now have an affirmative duty to register, know that
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failure to do so has criminal consequences, and accept that there are no contest provisions

within Chapter 2950 to contest this labeling.

The Due Process Clause offers broad protections:

[N]ot merely freedom from bodily restraint but also the right of the
individual to contract, to engage in any of the common occupations of life,
to acquire useful knowledge, to marry, establish a home and bring up
children, to worship God according to the dictates of his own conscience,
and generally to enjoy those privileges long recognized at common law as
essential to the orderly pursuit of happiness by free men.

Meyer v. Nebraska (1923), 262 U.S. 390, 399, 43 S.Ct. 625.

The lower court's expansive interpretation and application of Chapter 2950 cannot

be reasonably construed as rationally advancing some legitimate governmental purpose.

Reno at 306. A challenge to the rational basis of a law must "present clear and convincing

evidence of a presently existing state of facts which makes the Act unconstitutional and

void when applied." State v. Small, Franklin App. No 04AP-316, 2005-Ohio-3813, at

¶21. A law will survive such review "if it bears a real and substantial relation to the

public health, safety, morals or general welfare of the public and if it is not unreasonable

or arbitrary." Traditions Tavern v. City of Columbus, Franklin App. No 06AP-367, 2006-

Ohio-6655, at ¶26. As previously stated, the broadening of sex offender registration does

not possess such "real and substantial relation", but rather demonstrates all the hallmarks

of an "unreasonable" and "arbitrary" law.

Second Proposition of Law

When the record unequivocally demonstrates that Chapter 2950
does not impose registration requirements on a defendant, Crim.R.
12 permits the trial court to dismiss an indictment that asserts a
violation of those requirements.
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The appellate court held that the trial court was without jurisdiction to dismiss the

2009 indictment filed against Palmer. The indictment, like Palmer's petition, raised the

issue whether Palmer had a duty to comply with Chapter 2950's registration

requirements.

As a general proposition, determination of whether a duty exists is a question of

law for the court to decide. Mussivand v. David (1989), 45 Ohio.St.3d 314, 318,544

N.E.2d 265. Clemets v. Heston (1985), 20 Ohio.App.3d 132, 20 O.B.R. 166, 485 N.E.2d

287. Certainly, then, the trial court could properly find in the petition case that Palmer

had no duty to register, based upon State v. Champion. Here, the State asks the trial court

to proceed through an unnecessary trial in order to make the same determination in the

failure to register prosecution. Even if a jury would have found Palmer guilty, the trial

court would be obligated to dismiss because there was no duty to register.

The gist of the trial court's ruling is that due to the absence of duty as a matter of

law, the indictment does not charge an offense. Dismissal was proper pursuant to Crim.R.

12(C)(2). Further, it must be noted that the trial court also granted Palmer's petition,

finding S.B. 10 inapplicable to him. It would be incongruous and unreasonable for the

trial court to hold on the one hand that S.B. 10 is legally inapplicable to Palmer, while on

the other forcing him to endure a criminal trial based upon the alleged violation of duties

arising under S.B. 10. Because the reclassification under S.B. 10 was unlawful pursuant

to Bodyke, it could not serve as the predicate for the crime for which Palmer was

indicted.

Interestingly, this Court's opinion in State v. Champion reflects at least an implicit

approval of this procedure. Champion, like the indictment at issue here, involved
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allegations of failure to register. The Court described the facts in ¶ 7 of the Champion

opinion:

The state charged Champion with a registration violation under R.C.
2950.06 because he had been convicted of GSI, a sexually oriented
offense under R.C. 2950.01(D)(1)(a), and had been released from prison
after July 1, 1997. Champion filed a motion to dismiss the indictment,

which was granted by the trial court after a hearing. The Court of

Appeals for Cuyahoga County affirmed the dismissal of the indictment,
determining that "[t]he plain language of R.C. 2950.04 requires that the
offender be sentenced for or under confinement for a'sexually oriented
offense' on or after July 1, 1997 in order for the registration requirement to
be applicable." It also noted that there was insufficient evidence to
indicate why Champion had been sent back to prison. State v. Champion,

8th Dist. No. 83157, 2004-Ohio-2009, 2004 WL 858763, at ¶ 15.

(Emphasis added.)

Contrary to the holding of the Court of Appeals, then, the trial court below

properly exercised its jurisdiction in dismissing the indictment.

Third Proposition of Law

Upon determining that an offender is not a sexual offender subject
to the requirements of Revised Code Chapter 2950, a trial court
possesses jurisdiction to order law enforcement agencies to delete
the offender's name from sexual offender databases.

After the trial court determined that Palmer was not subject to the Chapter 2950's

requirements, it ordered that his "name be removed from all sexually oriented lists

maintained by the local, state or federal government "(Judgment Entry, September 16,

2009). This was a proper exercise of the court's jurisdiction.

The court correctly determined that Palmer was not subject to the requirements of

Chapter 2950. The inclusion of Palmer's name on any list generated by law enforcement

personnel consistent with the purposes of Chapter 2950 is likewise improper,

impermissible, and unsupported by law.
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It should be noted that the order is limited by its terms to "sexually oriented lists."

Offender databases designed for other purposes (such as general investigative databases

maintained by BCI or other law enforcement personnel) fall outside the scope of the

order. Even in the absence of express statutory jurisdiction, Ohio courts historically have

had jurisdiction to limit information contained in law enforcement records while

nevertheless permitting law enforcement personnel to maintain records available for use

in legitimate criminal investigations. See, e.g., City ofPepper Pike v. Doe ( 1981), 66

Ohio St.2d 374, 20 0.O.3d 334, 421 N.E.2d 1303. The trial court's judgment was simply

an exercise of this authority.

It should also be noted that this holding is perfectly consistent with the holding of

Bodyke. When this Court struck down those provisions of S.B. 10 which empowered the

Attorney General to both reclassify offenders and generate the lists in question, there was no

longer a valid basis for maintaining Palmer's name on any "sexually oriented lists". The

Court of Appeals erroneously held to the contrary.
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CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth herein, Appellant Paul E. Palmer respectfully urges this

Court to reverse the judgment of the Franklin County Court of Appeals.
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IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

• ^^ ^.fi

: AtJG 10 P;i3:

CLEicr^ ,r- G6{;,;iS

State of Ohio,

v

Paul E. Palmer,

Defendant Appetlee.

JOURNAL ENTRY

For the reasons stated in tfie memorandum decision of this court rendered

herein on August 10, 2010, it is the order of this court that the motion for reconsideration,

filed on June 3, 2010, is denied. Costs assessed to defendant.

BRYANT, SADLER & CONNOR, JJ.

No. 09AP-956
(C P C No 95CR-6474)

No. 09AP-957
(C PC No 09CR-3152)

Plaintiff-Appellant,

(REGULAR CALENDAR)
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IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State of Ohio,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

Paul E. Palmer,

Defendant Appellee.

FILED
^ ^ ..F Gr1...
t•'•,ii1'4LJ CtiiL

i AUG 10 PM i: 33

CLERK OF COURTS

.1^..L^ti.l 4 V

No. 09AP-9s6
(C P C. No 95CR-5474)

No. 09AP-957
(C.P^C No 08CR-3152)

(REGULAR CALENDAR)

MEMORANDUM DECISION

Rendered on August 10, 2010

Ron O'Brien, Prosecuting Attomey, and Steven L TayMr, for
appeifant.

Yeura R. Venters, Pub19c Defender, and David L. Slrait, for
appellee.

ON MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION

BRYANT, J.

{1l} Defendant-appellee, Paul E. Patrner, filed a motion on June 3, 2010

requesting recwsideration pursuant to App.R. 26(A) of our dec:asion in this case. Because

defendant does not n3ise any issue not pn:viously considered and does not set forth an

obvious error in our prior decision, defendant's niotion is denied.
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(12) The test generalty applied upon the fiGng of a motion for reconsideratian in

the court of appeals is whether the motion calls to the attention of the court an obvious

error in iws decision or raises an issue for consideration that the court edher did not

consider at all or did not fully consider when it should have been. Matthews v. Matfhews

(1981), 5 Ohio App.3d 140, 143. An application for neconsideration is not designed for use

in instances where a party simpy disagrees with the logic or oondusions of the court.

State v. Owens (1996), 112 Ohio App.3d 334.

{13) In his motion for reconsideration, defendant asserts our decision is

erroneous in light of the Supreme Court of Ohio's dedsion in State v. Bodyke, Slip

Opinion No. 2010-Ohio-2424. In Bodyke, the Supreme Court of Ohio held R.C. 2950.031

and 2950.032 violate the separation-of-powers doctnne and ordered those prnvWons

severed from S.B. 10. Id. at W6-67.

(414) DefendanYs appeal did not raise consMtional Issues. Rather, as we

expressly noted, "[t]he parties' arguments do not involve a constitutional ohaUenge to S.B.

10; they instead dispute whether the provisions of the AWA, by their very language, apply

to defendant" State v. Palmer, 10th Dist No. 09AP-956, 2010-Ohio-2421, Q18. Indeed,

the statutory provisions at issue in defendants case were the vanous subsections of R.C.

2950.04(A)(2); those provisbns were not the subject of tlo Bodyke decision. Thus,

Bodyke does not provide a basis to reconsider our decision in this case. On remand,

defendant will be able to raise in the trial court not only Bodyke-related arguments but

other constittrtionai issues as well.

{q5) Defendant also asserts our decision is erroneous in that we did not consider

the impact R.C. 2950.07(A)(8), which addresses not the applicability of the registration
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requirements but rather when an offender's duty to register under R.C. 2950.04

commences. The appeal involved the applicability of R.C. 2950.04(A)(2) and the actual

requirement of registration, not the timing involved in the registration requirements. See

Decision at J21-24. As an examination of R.C. 2950.04(A)(2) addressed the trial court's

decision and resolved the state's appeal, an in-depth discussion of R.C. 2950.07(A)(8)

was not material to our decision. Defendant, however, may raise further challenges to

S.B. 70, statutory or otherwise, in the trial court on rernand.

{16} Because defendanYs motion for reconsideration does not raise an issue not

pn+viously conskiered and does not set forth an obvious en,or in our priar decision,

defendanYs motion for reoonsidemtion is denied.

Motion for reconsiderafrbn deniect

SADLER and CONNOR, JJ., concur.
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IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State of Ohio,

Plaintiff-Appel lant,

v

Paul E Palmer,

Defendant-Appellee.

"-:I -3 Pt1 3: ^5

-1..1 b.-r

No. 09AP-956
(C P C No 95CR-5474)

No. 09AP-957
(C PC No 09CR-3152)

(REGULAR CALENDAR)

JUDGiUtENT ENTRY

For the reasons stated in the decision of this court rendered herein on June 1,

2010, and having sustained plaintifPs three assignments of emor, it is the judgment and

order of this court that the judgments of the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas are

reversed, and these causes are remanded to that court for further proceedings in

accordance with law consistent vrith said decision. Costs assessed to defendant.

BRYANT, SADLER & CONNOR, JJ

ey.
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IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State of Ohio,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

Paul E. Palmer,

Defendant-Appellee.

FI,ED
OOMR I L= qPPE ,eLW

I',•r, JUN -1 P*12= 0 i

CLERK OF COukiS

No. 09AP-956
(C P C No 95CR-5474)

No. 09AP-957
(C P C No oBCR-3152)

(REGULAR CALENDAR)

D E C t S I O N

Rendered on June 1, 2010

Ron O'Brren, Prosec:uting Attomey, and Steven L Taylor, for
appellanL

Yeura R. Venters, Public Defender, and David L. Sdait, for
appellee.

APPEALS from the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas.

BRYANT, J.

{+i1) Piaintiff-appellant, State of Ohio, appeals from judgments of the Franklin

County Court of Common Pleas in case Nos. 09AP-956 and 09AP-957 that granted the

motion to dismiss of defendant-appellee, Paul E. Palmer, and conduded defendanYs

1995 convietion did not subject defendant to the provsions of R.C Chapter 2950,

induding any stetutory duty to regiater or to verify his current addre.ss. Because the trial
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court erred (1) in granting defendaM's motion to dismiss, and (2) in oonduding defendant

is not subject to the provisions of R.C. Chapter 2950, we reverse.

1. Procedural History

(4p) On September 25, 1995, defendant was indwted for one count each of

attempted rape, aggravated burglary, aggravated robbery, robbery, and (idnapping, each

vuith a speciCabon alleging defendant was convicted of robbery on May 27, 1988. On

December11, 1995, defendant errtered a guilly plm to the stipulated lesser included

offense of the first count of the indictment, sexual battery in violation of R.C. 2907.04, a

felony of the third degree, withaut specification; on the state's request, the court entered a

nolle prosequi on the remaining counts. The triat court sentenced defendant to one and

one-half years of incarceration, granting 112 days of aedit. A judgment entry

memorializing the trial court's proceedings was filed January 8, 1996; a corrected entry

was filed on April 23, 1996.

{4V3} On March 8, 2008, defendant filed a"Petition to Contest Reclass"fication

and Application of R.C. 2950.01, et seq." in case No. 09AP-956. According to the petition,

defendant became aware that, pursuant to Ohio`s Adam Walsh Child Protecfion and

Safety Act of 2006, as enacted in R C. 2950.01 et seq. ("AWA"), the Ohio Attorney

General reclassified defendant as a Ts;r III Sex Offender based on his 1995 convidion.

The petition notes that, as a result of his redassification, defendant was required to

register with the local sheriffs office every 90 days for life and was subject to the

canmunify notification provisions of R.C. 2950.11. Defendarrt's petdion contested his

reelassiFication and challenged the constitut+onaltiy of the AWA.
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(14) On the same day, defendant filed a motion to stay enforcement of the

community notification provisions in R.C. 2950.11 pending a deterrnination of his petition

contesting his reclassification. ARhough the state opposed both defendanYs motion for

stay and his petition contesting his reclassification, the trial court in March 2008 granted

defendanYs motion to stay enforcement.

(15) On May 28, 2009, defendant was indided in case No. 09AP-957 on one

count each of failure to provide notice of change of address in violation of R.C. 2950.05

and failure to verify current address in vwlation of R.C. 2950.06, both felonies of the third

degree. Defendant responded with a motion to dismiss, filed Juy 15, 2009. Due to

defendant's indictment in case No. 09AP-957 for violations of R.C. 2950.05 and 2950.06,

defendant filed on June 23, 2009 a motion for immediate disposifron of his petition

challenging his reclassiFcation in case No. 09AP-956.

{16} The state on July 28, 2009 responded in case No. 09AP-957 to defendanfs

motion to dismiss. The state initiially asserted defendants motion in effect asked the aoutt

to grant summary judgment, a mechanism not pennilted in criminal cases. It further

contended the AWA, by its clear terms, applied to defendant and made him subject to the

not'dication and registration sections of the AWA, an argument that spiled over into the

issues contested in case No. 09AP-958.

N7} On September 16, 2009, the trial court held a hearing on defendant's

petifion in case No. 09AP-958 in which it considered primarily the arguments the state

raised in its memorandum opposing defendant's motion to dismiss in case No. 09AP-957.

The trial court flied an entry the same day, granted the relief defendant requested in

paragraph 20 of the petidon and declared "that Defendant-Petitioner cannot properly be
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ciassified under the Adam Walsh Act, and thus shall be free from all registration and

notfication n+quin:ments pursuant thereto " Accordingiy, the court held "defendant is not

under any statutory duty to verify his current address or to register as required by R.C.

2950.04 through 2950.06." Lastly, the triai court ordered defendants name removed from

ali lists of sexually oriented offenders that the local, state, or federal govemments

maintain.

{¶8} By entry filed the same day in case No. 09AP-957, the trial court granted

defendant's motion to dismiss, conciuding defendant "is not under any statutory duty to

verify his current address or to register as required by Revised Code Chapter 2950." The

court ordered both that defendant's name be removed from all sexually oriented lists that

the local, state, or federal govemments maintain and that defendant be "released

forthwith on this case."

8. Assignments of Error

{11[9} The state appeals both judgments, assigning three errors:

FIRST ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR

THE COMMON PLEAS COURT ERRED IN DISMISSING
THE INDICTMENT BY GOING BEYOND THE FACE OF
THE INDICTMENT AND CONCLUDING THAT DEFEN-
DANT HAD NO DUTY TO REGISTER.

SECOND ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR

THE COMMON PLEAS COURT ERRED IN DETERMINING
THAT R.C. CHAPTER 2950, AS EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1,
2008, HAS NO APPLICATION TO DEFENDANT.

THIRD ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR

THE COMMON PLEAS COURT ERRED IN ORDERING
THAT DEFENDANT'S "NAME BE REMOVED FROM ALL
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SEXUALLY ORIENTED LISTS MAINTAINED BY THE
LOCAL, STATE OR FEDERAL GOVERNMENT," AS THE
COURT LACKED JURISDICTION TO AFFORD SUCH
BROAD INJUNCTIVE RELIEF.

111. First Assignment of Error--Motion to Dismiss

(y10) The state's first assignment of error asserts the triai court erred in granting

defendant's motion to dismiss the indictrnent The state contends Crim.R. 12(C) "only

allows a pretrial motion to dismiss if it raises a defense or objection 'capable of

determination without the triai of the generai issue,' the 'general issue' meaning the

defendanYs guilt or innocence for the offense charged." (AppeiianYs brief, 7.) The state

contends defendanYs motion was impermissible under Com.R. 12(C) because it

prematurely raised the issue to be determined at trial: "whether the State could prove

[defendaM] had a duty to register, to provide change of address, and to verify ourrent

address" under R.C. 2950.05 and 2950.06 as a result of his prior conviction. (Appellants

brief, 7.)

{¶i l}"A motion to dismiss tests the sufficiency of the indiahnent, wittwut regard to

the quantity or quality of evidence that may be produced at triai." State v. Preztak, 181

Ohio App.3d 106, 2009-Ohio-621, ¶12, citing State v. Palterson (1989), 63 Ohio App.3d

91. "The issue as to the legal sufficiency of the evklence is not properiy raised by a

pmtiai mot+on[.]" State v. McNamee (1984), 17 Ohio App.3d 175, 176; State v. Hood

(Sept. 27, 2001), 10th Dist. No. 01AP-90 (stating that "when a trial court decides on the

vaiidity of a charging instrument, if is preduded from considering whether the prosecution

could prove the elements of the charged offenses").
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M12} As a resuit, "[aj pretrial motion must not invoive a determination of the

sufficiency of the evidence to support the indictment. If the indictment is valid on its face,

a motion to dismiss should not be granted." Prezfak, citing State v. Eppfnger, 162 Ohio

App.3d 795, 2005-Oh'w-4155, ating State v. Vamer (1991), 81 Ohio App.3d 85, 86

(stating "[tjhe Ohio Rules of Criminal Procedure * * * do not allow for'summary judgment'

on an indictrnent prior to triai"); Columbus v. Storey,l0th Dist. No. 03AP-743, 2004-Ohio-

3377, Jr/; State v. Tipton (1999), 135 Ohio App.3d 227, 228 (noting that "[wjhen a

defendant in a criminal action files a motion to disrriiss that goes beyond the faoe of the

indictment, he is, essentially, moving for summary judgment")

{q13} The Supreme Court of Ohio carved out an exception to the general rule,

noting that a court may connsider material outside the face of the indictment if the "motion

did not embrace what would be the generai issue at trial." State v. Brady, 119 Ohio St.3d

375, 2008-Oh9o-4493, ¶18. Crim.R. 12(C), however, does not permit a court to determine

a pretria[ motion to dismiss if it requires the trial court also to detennine the general issue

for trial. Id

(114) Defendant's motion to dismiss contended "his continuing prosecutionn [under

the noted statutesj is directly contrary to the Ohio Supreme Coud's mandate in State v.

Champion, 106 Ohio St.3d 120, 2005-Ohio-4098 " Defendant pointed to the holding in

Champion, which stated only offenders who were sentenced on or after July 1, 1997,

reieased after that date, or declared a habitual sexual offender immed+ately prior to that

date were subject to the registration and verification requirements of R.C. Chapter 2950.

Id. at ¶3-8 Defendant compared the chronology of his own 1996 oonviction to Champion,

observing he completed his obligations under that eonvicdon on March 15,1997.
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M15} 13efendanti's motion to dismiss does not challenge the face of the ind'totiment

or contend that it faiis to assert violations of R.C. 2950.05 and 2950.06. Instead,

defendant asserts the state is unable to prove the allegafions of the indictment due to the

dates of defendant's past convidion. Because defendants arguments not only draw upon

evidence outside the face of the indictrnent but address the very issue to be determined

at trial, the trial court erred in granting defendant's motion to dismiss the indictnent.

ffl6} Indeed, the state's first assignment of error presents an issue remarkably

similar to State v. Caldwell, 8th Dist. No 92219, 2009-0hio14881, where the indictrnent

charged Caldmll with failing to notifjl the sheriff of a change of address, a duty arising out

of his conviction on February 18, 2003 for gross sexual imposition. Caldwell moved to

dismiss the ind'u:tment, contending the sentencing court specifically determined he had no

legal duty to register and therefore could not have been reclassified as a Tier I sex

offender under the Adam Walsh Act. In determining the trial court erred when tt granted

CaldweA's motion, the appellate court obsenred that the "motion neeessarily questions the

state's ab0ity to prove the indictrnent, which implicitty alleged that appellee did have a

duty to register." Id. at¶4. Noting Caldwell did not contend the indictrnent facially failed to

charge an offense, "but rather that the state cannot prove that he canmitted the offense

charged," the Eighth District determined the common pleas court erred in dismissing the

indictment "at this early stage of the proceedings." id.

(117) Because d®fendanYs motion to dismiss did not challenge the face of the

indictrnent, but rather contended the state would not be able to prove defendant violated

R.C. 2950.05 or 2950.06 due to the date of defendant's release from imprisonment,

defendanfs motion exceeded the permissible bounds of a pretrial motion under Crim.R.

A-14



20690 - B16

Nos. 09AP-956 and OQAP-957 8

12(C). The trial court erred in granting defendant's motion to dismiss. The state's first

assignment of error is sustained.

IV. Second and Third Assignments of Error - Duty under S.B.10

{j18} The state's second assignment of en'or contends the trial court erred in

conduding the provisions of the AWA do not apply to defendant. The state's third

assignment of error, a corollary to the second, contends the trial court erred in ordering

defendant's name removed from the lists of sexually oriented offenders the local, state,

and federal govemments maintain. The pacries' arguments do not involve a constitutional

dhallenge to S.B. 10; they instead dispute whether the provisions of the AWA, by their

very language, apply to defendant.

{4119} "The polestar of construction and interpretation of statutory language is

legislative intention." State ex na. Francis v. Sours (1944), 143 Ohio St. 120, 124. "In

determining the legislative intent of a statute'it is the duty of this court to give effect to

the words used [in a statute], not to delete words used or to insert words not used.' "

(Emphasis sic.) Wheeling Steel Corp. v. Porterfield (1970), 24 Ohio St.2d 24, 28,

quoting Cotumbus-Suburban Coach Lines v. Pub. Util. Comm. (1969), 20 Ohio St2d

125,127.

{120} "[C]ourts do not have authority to ignore the plain and unambiguous

language under the guise of judicial interpretation, but rather in such situations the

courts must give effect to the words used." In re Burrshfi'eld (1988), 51 Ohio App.3d 148,

152, citing Dougherty v. Tomence (1982), 2 Ohio St.3d 69, 70; Ohio Dental Hyg'renists

Assn. v. Ohio State Dental Bd. (1986), 21 Ohio St.3d 21, 23, State v. Knitz (1986), 28

Ohio SL3d 36, 38, certiorari denied (1987), 481 U.S. 1028, 107 S.Ct.1953. "VVhere the
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language of a statute is plain and unambiguous and conveys a clear and definde

meaning there is no occasion for resorting to rules of statutory interpretation. An

unambiguous statute is to be applied, not interpreted." Sears v. Weimer (1944), 143

Ohio St 312, paragraph five of the syllabus.

{¶21) To support its assignment of error, the state points to the language of R.C.

2950.04(A)(2) of the AWA, which states that "[clegardless of when the sexually oriented

offense was committed, each offender who is convicted of, pleads guilty to, has been

convicted of, or has pleaded guilty to a sexually oriented offense shall comply" with the

registration requirements described in R.C. 2950.04(A)(2)(a), (b), (c), (d), and (e).

Focusing on the initial clause of R.C. 2950.04(A)(2), the state contends that the date of

defendanYs conv+ction or release from imprisonment is immatenal to his statutory

duties.

{¶22) The trial court relied on the Supreme Court's decision in Champion to

grant defendant's motion. Applying the law then in effect, Champion determined that "a

person whose prison term for a sexually oriented offense was compWW before July 1,

1997, is not required to register under R.C. 2950.04(A)(1)(a) or periodically verify a

current address under R.C. 2950.08(A)[.)" Id. at ¶13. The state, however, notes

Champion was premised on statutory language that the AWA substantially changed.

(123) Former R C. 2950 04(A)(1)(a), (b), and (c) based the statutory duties of

registration and address verification on whether, as perGnent here, the defendant was

released from incarceration on or after July 1, 1997. The AWA is much broader and

specifically deletes the time frame references found in the fomier version of the statute.

As a result, an offender, "regardless of when the sexually oriented offense was
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committed." must comply with the requirements set forth in R.C. 2950.04(A)(2)(a), (b),

(c), (d), and (e) if the offender was oonvic,ted of, pleaded guilty to or is convicted of or

pleads guilty to a sexually oriented offense. State v. HoNis, 8th Dist. No. 91467, 2009-

Ohio-2368, ¶22, 24 (noting S.B. 10 "cleariy states that it applies to offenders whose

crimes were committed before the act took effect," ieaving the trial court with "no option

but to apply the AWA, in spde of the date of [defendant's] offense"); State v. Bundy, 2d

Dist. No. 23063, 2009-Ohio-5395, ¶54, 55, appeal allowed, 124 Ohio St.3d 1473

(stating that even if defendant "did not have an obiigation to register his address at the

time of his inifiai conviction in 2003, he was required to register when the new law

became effective in January 2008" because "the law that became effective In January

2008, applies to all offenders who have been convicted of a sexually oriented offense,

regardless of when the offense was committed").

{y24} Based on the statutory language, we can conciude only that defendant's

duties under the AWA are not prernised on the time frame referenced in the law cited in

Champion but on the language of the AWA which requires compliance, regardless of

when defendant pleaded guilty to the offense. Acoordingly, the provisions of the AWA

apply to defendant. The statte's second assignment of error is sustained.

(4125) The staUe's third assignment of error asserts the trial court erred in removing

defendants name from the various lists that local, state, and federai govemments

maintain. Because the basis for the trial oourt order was its conclusion that defendant had

no duty under the notification and regbration provision of the AWA, the triai courYs order

to remove defendant's name from the stated lists likewise must be n3versed. The state's

third assignment of error is sustained.
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{4p6} Having sustained the state's three assignments of error, we reverse the

jud^ments of the trial court and remand for further proceedings consistent with this

decision.

Judgmerrts reversed
and aases remanded.

SADLER and CONNOR. JJ., conair.
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IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF FRANKLIN COUNTY, OHIO

CRIMINAL DIVISION

STATE OF OHIO,

Plaintiff-Respondent,

V.

PAUI. E. PALMER,

Defendant-Petitioner.

Case No.: 09 CR 3152

Judge: BESSEY

ENTRY

For good cause shown, the Court hereby grants Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. The

defendant is not under any statutory duty to verify his current address or to register as required

by Revised Code Chapter 2950. It is hereby ordered that Defendant-Petitioner's name be

removed from all sexually oriented lists maintained by the local, state or federal government.

Defendant is to be released forthwith on this case.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

APPROVED BY:

Counsel for Defendant-Petitioner
HAYCA L. WERNER 0083998

' r*DOE
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CRIMINAL DIVISION

FII..ED

C Ff^At11tL1 ^! C0.0 IO r

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF FRANKLIN COUN Zmd 0 PI } 5 PN 3: 4 0

STATE OF OHIO,

Plaintiff-Respondent,

V.

PAUL E. PALMRR,

Defendant-Petitioner.

ENTRY

CLERK OF COURTS

Case No.: 95 CR 5474

For good cause shown, the Court hereby GRANTS Defendant-Petitioner's relief

requested in Paragraph 20 of his
PETITION TO CONTEST RECLASSIFICATION and declares

that Defendant-Petitioner is not subject to Revised Code Chapter 2950 based on his 1995

conviction. Furthermore, the defendant is not under any statutory duty to verify his current

address or to register as required by R.C. 2950.04 through 2950.06. It is hereby ordered that

Defendant-Petitioner's name be removed from all sexually oriented lists maintained by the local,

state or federal govemment.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

APPROVED BY:

Counsel for Defendant-Petitioner
AYLA L. WERNER 0083998
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,N THE COt,fstT, 0F tF;gi^t^?r,'^kEAS OF FRANKLIN ( E)UNTY, OHIO

CKI:4l}3vi1[rJ>IVISION

STATE OF OHIO. .; TEI04INATId)N iNCs 13 B's':_ iVM

Plaintiff, January Term, 1996

Case No 95C13-09-54' 1

JUDGE 3ESSEY

f,'.NTHV

Revised Code,
a Felony of the Third degree and was found guilty of said charge by the

Sexual Battery without Specification, aviolation of Section 2807.04 of the Ohio

The Court finds that on December il, 1995, the Defendant entered a plea of guilty

to stipulated lesser included offense of Count One
of the Indictment, to wit:

Michael Oser.

On .Janteary Ci; 1996, came the Prosecuting Attornevr,n behalf of the State of Ohio,

the Defendant being in Court in custodyof the Sheriff and the Court beingfully advised

in the premises that the Defendant µas in C'ourtand being represented by counseh

n th,^_> C;ourt ofComm,on I'ieas I'or the Couxi:ty of Franklin, State of Ohio, during

the term begun on January 2, 1996.

Court.

Indictment.

Upon application of the Prosecuting Attornev and for good cause shown, itis

hereby ORDERED. that nolle prosegtu be entered for Counts 2, 3, 4 and 5 of the

and addressed the Defendant perso.ially affording him an opportunity to make a

The Court afforded Counsel an opportunity to speak on behalf of the Defendant

ent or, his own behalf and present information in mitigation of punishment.



The Cnurt has corisideredall matte

of the Ohio Ret^ae,^ code, and it is the s

the costs of this pr „c,cution

Determinate Senttlnce at the

AIyD CORRECTIONS

. . . „. ' ^^^%j D J

r=equired by sections 2929.12 and 2951.02

nce of the Court that the Defendant pay

The Court has faict4iallv found that DeCendant has 112 days of lail credit up to

and inciudzngthis sentfncing date aaid hereby cert.i6es the same to the Ohio

Department of ('orrF ctrons '1"he Defenciant isto receive jail time credit for all

additional jail trmeserved v,liile awaiting transportation to the ir.istatn.tibn 1`rwn the

Costs: $

Case No. 95CR-09•5474

f101jN 1. t3FsSSFY, Jl"JDGF.
Common Pleas t",pp#`t
Franklin Countv. Ohio



2950.03 Notice of duty to register and
periodically verify information.
(A) Each person who has been convicted of, is convicted of, has pleaded guilty to, or pleads
guilty to a sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented offense and who has a duty to
register pursuant to section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code and each person who is
adjudicated a delinquent child for committing a sexually oriented offense or a child-victim
oriented offense and who is classified a juvenile offender registrant based on that adjudication
shall be provided notice in accordance with this section of the offender's or delinquent child's
duties imposed under sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code
and of the offender's duties to similarly register, provide notice of a change, and verify addresses
in another state if the offender resides, is temporarily domiciled, attends a school or institution of
higher education, or is employed in a state other than this state. The following official shall
provide the notice required under this division to the specified person at the following time:

(1) Regardless of when the person committed the sexually oriented offense or child-victim
oriented offense, if the person is an offender who is sentenced to a prison term, a term of
imprisonment, or any other type of confinement for any offense, and if on or after January 1,
2008, the offender is serving that term or is under that confinement, subject to division (A)(5) of
this section, the official in charge of the jail, workhouse, state correctional institution, or other
institution in which the offender serves the prison term, term of imprisonment, or confinement,
or a designee of that official, shall provide the notice to the offender before the offender is
released pursuant to any type of supervised release or before the offender otherwise is released
from the prison term, term of imprisonment, or confinement.

(2) Regardless of when the person committed the sexually oriented offense or child-victim
oriented offense, if the person is an offender who is sentenced on or after January 1, 2008 for any
offense, and if division (A)(1) of this section does not apply, the judge shall provide the notice to

the offender at the time of sentencing.

(3) If the person is a delinquent child who is classified a juvenile offender registrant on or after
January 1, 2008, the judge shall provide the notice to the delinquent child at the time specified in
division (B) of section 2152.82, division (C) of section 2152.83, division (C) of section 2152.84,
or division (E) of section 2152.85 of the Revised Code, whichever is applicable.

(4) If the person is a delinquent child who is classified as both a juvenile offender registrant and
a public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant on or after January 1, 2008, the judge shall
provide the notice to the delinquent child at the time specified in division (B) of section 2152.86

of the Revised Code.

(5) If the person is an offender or delinquent child in any of the following categories, the attorney
general, department of rehabilitation and correction, or department of youth services shall
provide the notice to the offender or delinquent child at the time and in the manner specified in
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section 2950.031 or division (A) or (B) of section 2950.032 of the Revised Code, whichever is

applicable:

(a) An offender or delinquent child who prior to December 1, 2007, has registered a residence,
school, institution of higher education, or place of employment address pursuant to section

2950.04, 2950.041, or 2950.05 of the Revised Code;

(b) An offender or delinquent child who registers with a sheriff pursuant to section 2950.04 or
2950.041 of the Revised Code on or after December 1, 2007, previously had not registered under
either section with that sheriff or any other sheriff, and was convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or
was classified a juvenile offender registrant relative to the sexually oriented offense or child-
victim oriented offense upon which the registration was based prior to December 1, 2007;

(c) An offender who on December 1, 2007, is serving a prison term in a state correctional
institution for a sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense or each delinquent
child who has been classified a juvenile offender registrant relative to a sexually oriented offense
or child-victim oriented offense and who on that date is confined in an institution of the
department of youth services for the sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense;

(d) An offender or delinquent child who on or after December 2, 2007, commences a prison term
in a state correctional institution or confinement in an institution of the department of youth
services for a sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense and who was convicted
of, pleaded guilty to, or was classified a juvenile offender registrant relative to the sexually

oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense prior to that date.

(6) If the person is an offender or delinquent child who on or after July 1, 2007, and prior to
January 1, 2008, is convicted of or pleads guilty to a sexually oriented offense or a child-victim
oriented offense and is not sentenced to a prison term for that offense or is classified a juvenile
offender registrant relative to a sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense and is
not committed to the custody of the department of youth services for that offense, the sentencing
court or juvenile court shall provide the notice to the offender or delinquent child at the time and

in the manner specified in division (C) of section 2950.032 of the Revised Code.

(7) If the person is an offender or delinquent child who has a duty to register in this state

pursuant to division (A)(4) of
section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code, the offender or

delinquent child is presumed to have knowledge of the law and of the offender's or delinquent
child's duties imposed under sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised

Code.

(B)(1) The notice provided under division (A) of this section shall inform the offender or

delinquent child of the offender's or delinquent child's duty to register, to provide notice of a
change in the offender's or delinquent child's residence address or in the offender's school,
institution of higher education, or place of employment address, as applicable, and register the
new address, to periodically verify the offender's or delinquent child's residence address or the
offender's school, institution of higher education, or place of employment address, as applicable,
and, if applicable, to provide notice of the offender's or delinquent child's intent to reside,
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pursuant to sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code. The notice
shall specify that, for an offender, it applies regarding residence addresses or school, institution
of higher education, and place of employment addresses and that, for a delinquent child, it
applies regarding residence addresses. Additionally, it shall inform the offender of the offender's
duties to similarly register, provide notice of a change in, and verify those addresses in states
other than this state as described in division (A) of this section. A notice provided under division
(A)(1), (2), (3), or (4) of this section shall comport with the following:

(a) If the notice is provided to an offender under division (A)(l ) or (2) of this section, the
official, official's designee, or judge shall require the offender to read and sign a form stating
that the offender's duties to register, to file a notice of intent to reside, if applicable, to register a
new residence address or new school, institution of higher education, or place of employment
address, and to periodically verify those addresses, and the offender's duties in other states as
described in division (A) of this section have been explained to the offender. If the offender is
unable to read, the official, official's designee, or judge shall certify on the form that the official,
designee, or judge specifically informed the offender of those duties and that the offender

indicated an understanding of those duties.

(b) If the notice is provided to a delinquent child under division (A)(3) or (4) of this section, the
judge shall require the delinquent child and the delinquent child's parent, guardian, or custodian
to read and sign a form stating that the delinquent child's duties to register, to file a notice of
intent to reside, if applicable, to register a new residence address, and to periodically verify that
address have been explained to the delinquent child and to the delinquent child's parent,
guardian, or custodian. If the delinquent child or the delinquent child's parent, guardian, or
custodian is unable to read, the judge shall certify on the form that the judge specifically
informed the delinquent child or the delinquent child's parent, guardian, or custodian of those
duties and that the delinquent child or the delinquent child's parent, guardian, or custodian

indicated an understanding of those duties.

(2) The notice provided under divisions (A)(1) to (4) of this section shall be on a form prescribed
by the bureau of criminal identification and investigation and shall contain all of the information
specified in division (A) of this section and all of the information required by the bureau. The
notice provided under divisions (A)(1) to (4) of this section shall include, but is not limited to, all

of the following:

(a) For any notice provided under divisions (A)(1) to (4) of this section, an explanation of the
offender's periodic residence address or periodic school, institution of higher education, or place
of employment address verification process or of the delinquent child's periodic residence
address verification process, an explanation of the frequency with which the offender or
delinquent child will be required to verify those addresses under that process, a statement that the
offender or delinquent child must verify those addresses at the times specified under that process
or face criminal prosecution or a delinquent child proceeding, and an explanation of the
offender's duty to similarly register, verify, and reregister those addresses in another state if the
offender resides in another state, attends a school or institution of higher education in another

state, or is employed in another state.
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(b) If the notice is provided under division (A)(3) or (4) of this section, a statement that the
delinquent child has been classified by the adjudicating juvenile court judge or the judge's
successor in office a juvenile offender registrant and, if applicable, a public-registry qualified
juvenile offender registrant and has a duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05,

and 2950.06 of the Revised Code;

(c) If the notice is provided under division (A)(3) or (4) of this section, a statement that, if the
delinquent child fails to comply with the requirements of sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05,

and 2950.06 of the Revised Code, both of the following apply:

(i) If the delinquent child's failure occurs while the child is under eighteen years of age, the child
is subject to proceedings under Chapter 2152. of the Revised Code based on the failure, but if the
failure occurs while the child is eighteen years of age or older, the child is subject to criminal

prosecution based on the failure.

(ii) If the delinquent child's failure occurs while the child is under eighteen years of age, unless
the child is emancipated, as defined in section 2919.121 of the Revised Code, the failure of the
parent, guardian, or custodian to ensure that the child complies with those requirements is a
violation of section 2919.24 of the Revised Code and may result in the prosecution of the parent,

guardian, or custodian for that violation.

(3)(a) After an offender described in division (A)(1) or (2) of this section has signed the form
described in divisions (B)(1) and (2) of this section or the official, official's designee, or judge
has certified on the form that the form has been explained to the offender and that the offender
indicated an understanding of the duties indicated on it, the official, official's designee, or judge
shall give one copy of the form to the offender, within three days shall send one copy of the form
to the bureau of criminal identification and investigation in accordance with the procedures
adopted pursuant to section 2950.13 of the Revised Code, shall send one copy of the form to the
sheriff of the county in which the offender expects to reside, and shall send one copy of the form
to the sheriff of the county in which the offender was convicted or pleaded guilty if the offender
has a duty to register pursuant to division (A)(1) of section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised

Code.

(b) After a delinquent child described in division (A)(3) or (4) of this section and the delinquent
child's parent, guardian, or custodian have signed the form described in divisions (B)(1) and (2)
of this section or the judge has certified on the form that the form has been explained to the
delinquent child or the delinquent child's parent, guardian, or custodian and that the delinquent
child or the delinquent child's parent, guardian, or custodian indicated an understanding of the
duties and information indicated on the form, the judge shall give a copy of the form to both the
delinquent child and to the delinquent child's parent, guardian, or custodian, within three days
shall send one copy of the form to the bureau of criminal identification and investigation in
accordance with the procedures adopted pursuant to section 2950.13 of the Revised Code, shall
send one copy of the form to the sheriff of the county in which the delinquent child expects to
reside, and shall send one copy of the form to the sheriff of the county in which the child was
adjudicated a delinquent child if the delinquent child has a duty to register pursuant to division

(A)(1) of section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code.
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(C) The official, official's designee, judge, chief of police, or sheriff who is required to provide
notice to an offender or delinquent child under divisions (A)(1) to (4) of this section shall
determine the offender's or delinquent child's name, identifying factors, and expected future
residence address in this state or any other state, shall obtain the offender's or delinquent child's
criminal and delinquency history, and shall obtain a photograph and the fingerprints of the
offender or delinquent child. Regarding an offender, the official, designee, or judge also shall
obtain from the offender the offender's current or expected future school, institution of higher
education, or place of employment address in this state, if any. If the notice is provided by a
judge under division (A)(2), (3), or (4) of this section, the sheriff shall provide the offender's or
delinquent child's criminal and delinquency history to the judge. The official, official's designee,
or judge shall obtain this information and these items prior to giving the notice, except that a
judge may give the notice prior to obtaining the offender's or delinquent child's criminal and
delinquency history. Within three days after receiving this information and these items, the
official, official's designee, or judge shall forward the information and items to the bureau of
criminal identification and investigation in accordance with the forwarding procedures adopted
pursuant to section 2950.13 of the Revised Code, to the sheriff of the county in which the
offender or delinquent child expects to reside and to the sheriff of the county in which the
offender or delinquent child was convicted, pleaded guilty, or adjudicated a delinquent child if
the offender or delinquent child has a duty to register pursuant to division (A)(1) of section
2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code, and, regarding an offender, to the sheriff of the
county, if any, in which the offender attends or will attend a school or institution of higher
education or is or will be employed. If the notice is provided under division (A)(3) or (4) of this
section and if the delinquent child has been committed to the department of youth services or to a
secure facility, the judge, in addition to the other information and items described in this
division, also shall forward to the bureau and to the sheriff notification that the child has been so
committed. If it has not already done so, the bureau of criminal identification and investigation
shall forward a copy of the fingerprints and conviction data received under this division to the

federal bureau of investigation.

Effective Date: 07-31-2003; 04-29-2005; 2007 SB10 01-01-2008



2950.031 Tier-classification of registered sex
offenders.
(A)(1) At any time on or after July 1, 2007, and not later than December 1, 2007, the attorney
general shall determine for each offender or delinquent child who prior to December 1, 2007, has
registered a residence, school, institution of higher education, or place of employment address
pursuant to section 2950.04, 2950.041, or 2950.05 of the Revised Code the offender's or
delinquent child's new classification as a tier I sex offender/child-victim offender, a tier II sex
offender/child-victim offender, or a tier III sex offender/child-victim offender under Chapter
2950. of the Revised Code as it will exist under the changes that will be implemented on January
1, 2008, the offender's or delinquent child's duties under Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as
so changed, and, regarding a delinquent child, whether the child is a public registry-qualified

juvenile offender registrant.

(2) At any time on or after July 1, 2007, and not later than December 1, 2007, the attorney
general shall send to each offender or delinquent child who prior to December 1, 2007, has
registered a residence, school, institution of higher education, or place of employment address

pursuant to section 2950.04, 2950.041, or 2950.05 of the Revised Code a registered letter that

contains the information described in this division. The registered letter shall be sent return
receipt requested to the last reported address of the person and, if the person is a delinquent
child, the last reported address of the parents of the delinquent child. The letter sent to an
offender or to a delinquent child and the delinquent child's parents pursuant to this division shall
notify the offender or the delinquent child and the delinquent child's parents of all of the

following:

(a) The changes in Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code that will be implemented on January 1,

2008;

(b) Subject to division (A)(2)(c) of this section, the offender's or delinquent child's new

classification as a tier I sex offender/child-victim offender, a tier 11 sex offender/child-victim

offender, or a tier III sex offender/child-victim offender under Chapter 2950. of the Revised
Code as it will exist under the changes that will be implemented on January 1, 2008, the
offender's or delinquent child's duties under Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as so changed
and the duration of those duties, whether the delinquent child is classified a public registry-
qualified juvenile offender registrant, and the information specified in division (B) of section
2950.03 of the Revised Code to the extent it is relevant to the offender or delinquent child;

(c) The fact that the offender or delinquent child has a right to a hearing as described in division
(E) of this section, the procedures for requesting the hearing, and the period of time within which

the request for the hearing must be made.

(d) If the offender's or delinquent child's duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041,
2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code is scheduled to terminate on or after July 1, 2007, and
prior to January 1, 2008, under the version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in
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effect prior to January 1, 2008, a summary of the provisions of section 2950.033 of the Revised
Code and the application of those provisions to the offender or delinquent child, provided that
this division applies to a delinquent child only if the child is in a category specified in division

(C) of section 2950.033 of the Revised Code.

(3) The attorney general shall make the determinations described in division (A)(1) of this
section for each offender or delinquent child who has registered an address as described in that
division, even if the offender's duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and
2950.06 of the Revised Code is scheduled to terminate prior to January 1, 2008, under the
version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in effect prior to that date or the
delinquent child is in a category specified in division (C) of section 2950.033 of the Revised
Code and the child's duty to comply with those sections is scheduled to terminate prior to
January 1, 2008, under the version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in effect prior
to that date. The attomey general shall send the registered letter described in division (A)(2) of
this section to each offender or delinquent child who has registered an address as described in
that division even if the offender's duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05,
and 2950.06 of the Revised Code is scheduled to terminate prior to January 1, 2008, under the
version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in effect prior to that date, or the
delinquent child is in a category specified in division (C) of section 2950.033 of the Revised
Code, and the child's duty to comply with those sections is scheduled to terminate prior to
January 1, 2008, under the version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in effect prior
to that date. Section 2950.033 of the Revised Code applies to any offender who has registered an
address as described in division (A)(1) or (2) of this section and whose duty to comply with
sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code is scheduled to terminate
prior to January 1, 2008, under the version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in
effect prior to that date, or the delinquent child is in a category specified in division (C) of
section 2950.033 of the Revised Code, and the child's duty to comply with those sections is
scheduled to terminate prior to January 1, 2008, under the version of section 2950.07 of the

Revised Code that is in effect prior to that date.

(B) If a sheriff informs the attorney general pursuant to section 2950.043 of the Revised Code
that an offender or delinquent child registered with the sheriff pursuant to section 2950.04 or
2950.041 of the Revised Code on or after December 1, 2007, that the offender or delinquent
child previously had not registered under either section with that sheriff or any other sheriff, and
that the offender or delinquent child was convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or was classified a
juvenile offender registrant relative to the sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented
offense upon which the registration was based prior to December 1, 2007, within fourteen days
after being so informed of the registration and receiving the information and material specified in
division (D) of that section, the attorney general shall determine for the offender or delinquent
child all of the matters specified in division (A)(1) of this section. Upon making the
determinations, the attorney general immediately shall send to the offender or to the delinquent
child and the delinquent child's parents a registered letter pursuant to division (A)(2) of this

section that contains the information specified in that division.

(C) The attorney general shall maintain the return receipts for all offenders, delinquent children,
and parents of delinquent children who are sent a registered letter under division (A) or (B) of
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this section. For each offender, delinquent child, and parents of a delinquent child, the attorney
general shall send a copy of the return receipt for the offender, delinquent child, or parents to the
sheriff with whom the offender or delinquent child most recently registered a residence address
and, if applicable, a school, institution of higher education, or place of employment address and
to the prosecutor who handled the case in which the offender or delinquent child was convicted
of, pleaded guilty to, or was adjudicated a delinquent child for committing the sexually oriented
offense or child-victim oriented offense that resulted in the offender's or child's registration duty
under section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code. If a return receipt indicates that the
offender, delinquent child, or parents of a delinquent child to whom the registered letter was sent
does not reside or have temporary domicile at the listed address, the attorney general
immediately shall provide notice of that fact to the sheriff with whom the offender or delinquent

child registered that residence address.

(D) The attorney general shall mail to each sheriff a list of all offenders and delinquent children
who have registered a residence address or a school, institution of higher education, or place of
employment address with that sheriff and to whom a registered letter is sent under division (A)
or (B) of this section. The list shall specify the offender's or delinquent child's new classification
as a tier I sex offender/child-victim offender, a tier II sex offender/child-victim offender, or a tier
III sex offender/child-victim offender under Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as it will exist
under the changes that will be implemented on January 1, 2008, the offender's or delinquent

child's duties under Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code changed, offenderdregistrant.
delinquent child, whether the child is a public registry-qualified juvenile

(E) An offender or delinquent child who is in a category described in division (A)(2) or (B) of
this section may request as a matter of right a court hearing to contest the application to the
offender or delinquent child of the new registration requirements under Chapter 2950. of the
Revised Code as it will exist under the changes that will be implemented on January 1, 2008.
The offender or delinquent child may contest the manner in which the letter sent to the offender
or delinquent child pursuant to division (A) or (B) of this section specifies that the new
registration requirements apply to the offender or delinquent child or may contest whether those
new registration requirements apply at all to the offender or delinquent child. To request the
hearing, the offender or delinquent child not later than the date that is sixty days after the
offender or delinquent child received the registered letter sent by the attorney general pursuant to
division (A)(2) of this section shall file a petition with the court specified in this division. If the
offender or delinquent child resides in or is temporarily domiciled in this state and requests a
hearing, the offender or delinquent child shall file the petition with, and the hearing shall be held
in, the court of common pleas or, for a delinquent child, the juvenile court of the county in which
the offender or delinquent child resides or temporarily is domiciled. If the offender does not
reside in and is not temporarily domiciled in this state, the offender or delinquent child shall file
the petition with, and the hearing shall be held in, the court of common pleas of the county in
which the offender registered a school, institution of higher education, or place of employment
address, but if the offender has registered addresses of that nature in more than one county, the
offender may file such a petition in the court of only one of those counties.

If the offender or delinquent child requests a hearing by timely filing a petition with the
appropriate court, the offender or delinquent child shall serve a copy of the petition on the
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prosecutor of the county in which the petition is filed. The prosecutor shall represent the interests
of the state in the hearing. In any hearing under this division, the Rules of Civil Procedure or, if
the hearing is in a juvenile court, the Rules of Juvenile Procedure apply, except to the extent that
those Rules would by their nature be clearly inapplicable. The court shall schedule a hearing, and
shall provide notice to the offender or delinquent child and prosecutor of the date, time, and

place of the hearing.

If an offender or delinquent child requests a hearing in accordance with this division, until the
court issues its decision at or subsequent to the hearing, the offender or delinquent child shall
comply prior to January 1, 2008, with Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as it exists prior to that
date and shall comply on and after January 1, 2008, with Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as it
will exist under the changes that will be implemented on that date. If an offender or delinquent
child requests a hearing in accordance with this division, at the hearing, all parties are entitled to
be heard, and the court shall consider all relevant information and testimony presented relative to
the application to the offender or delinquent child of the new registration requirements under
Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as it will exist under the changes that will be implemented on
January 1, 2008. If, at the conclusion of the hearing, the court finds that the offender or
delinquent child has proven by clear and convincing evidence that the new registration
requirements do not apply to the offender or delinquent child in the manner specified in the letter
sent to the offender or delinquent child pursuant to division (A) or (B) of this section, the court
shall issue an order that specifies the manner in which the court has determined that the new
registration requirements do apply to the offender or delinquent child. If at the conclusion of the
hearing the court finds that the offender or delinquent child has proven by clear and convincing
evidence that the new registration requirements do not apply to the offender or delinquent child,
the court shall issue an order that specifies that the new registration requirements do not apply to
the offender or delinquent child. The court promptly shall serve a copy of an order issued under
this division upon the sheriff with whom the offender or delinquent child most recently
registered under section 2950.04, 2950.041, or 2950.05 of the Revised Code and upon the bureau
of criminal identification and investigation. The offender or delinquent child and the prosecutor
have the right to appeal the decision of the court issued under this division.

If an offender or delinquent child fails to request a hearing in accordance with this division
within the applicable sixty-day period specified in this division, the failure constitutes a waiver
by the offender or delinquent child of the offender's or delinquent child's right to a hearing under
this division, and the offender or delinquent child is bound by the determinations of the attorney

general contained in the registered letter sent to the offender or child.

If a juvenile court issues an order under division (A)(2) or section offender registrant and
Code that classifies a delinquent child a public-registry qualified juvenile
if the child's delinquent act was committed prior to January 1, 2008, a challenge to the
classification contained in the order shall be made pursuant to division (D) of section 2152.86 of

the Revised Code.

Effective Date: 2007 SB10 07-01-2007
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2950.032 Tier-classification of incarcerated

sex offenders.
(A)(1) At any time on or after July 1, 2007, and not later than December 1, 2007, the attorney

general shall do all of the following:

(a) For each offender who on December 1, 2007, will be serving a prison term in a state
correctional institution for a sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense, determine
the offender's classification relative to that offense as a tier I sex offender/child-victim offender,
a tier II sex offender/child-victim offender, or a tier III sex offender/child-victim offender under
Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as it will exist under the changes in that chapter that will be
implemented on January 1, 2008, and the offender's duties under Chapter 2950. of the Revised
Code as so changed and provide to the department of rehabilitation and correction a document

that describes that classification and those duties;

(b) For each delinquent child who has been classified a juvenile offender registrant relative to a
sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense and who on December 1, 2007, will be
confined in an institution of the department of youth services for the sexually oriented offense or
child-victim oriented offense, determine the delinquent child's classification relative to that
offense as a tier I sex offender/child-victim offender, a tier II sex offender/child-victim offender,
or a tier III sex offender/child-victim offender under Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as it will
exist under the changes in that chapter that will be implemented on January 1, 2008, the
delinquent child's duties under Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as so changed, and whether
the delinquent child is a public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant and provide to the
department a document that describes that classification, those duties, and whether the delinquent

child is a public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant.

(c) For each offender and delinquent child described in division (A)(1)(a) or (b) of this section,
determine whether the attorney general is required to send a registered letter to that offender or
that delinquent child and delinquent child's parents pursuant to section 2950.031 of the Revised
Code relative to the sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense for which the
offender or delinquent child is serving the prison term or is confined and, if the attorney general
is required to send such a letter to that offender or that delinquent child and delinquent child's
parents relative to that offense, include in the document provided to the department of
rehabilitation and correction or the department of youth services under division (A)(1)(a) or (b)
of this section a conspicuous notice that the attomey general will be sending the offender or
delinquent child and delinquent child's parent the registered letter and that the department is not
required to provide to the offender or delinquent child the written notice described in division

(A)(2) of this section.

(2) At any time on or after July 1, 2007, and not later than December 1, 2007, except as
otherwise described in this division, the department of rehabilitation and correction shall provide
to each offender described in division (A)(1)(a) of this section and the department of youth
services shall provide to each delinquent child described in division (A)(1)(b) of this section and
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to the delinquent child's parents a written notice that contains the information described in this
division. The department of rehabilitation and correction and the department of youth services
are not required to provide the written notice to an offender or a delinquent child and the
delinquent child's parents if the attorney general included in the document provided to the
particular department under division (A)(1)(a) or (b) of this section notice that the attorney
general will be sending that offender or that delinquent child and the delinquent child's parents a
registered letter and that the department is not required to provide to that offender or that
delinquent child and parents the written notice. The written notice provided to an offender or a
delinquent child and the delinquent child's parents pursuant to this division shall notify the

offender or delinquent child of all of the following:

(a) The changes in Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code that will be implemented on January 1,

2008;

(b) Subject to division (A)(2)(c) of this section, the offender's or delinquent child's classification
as a tier I sex offender/child-victim offender, a tier II sex offender/child-victim offender, or a tier
III sex offender/child-victim offender under Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as it will exist
under the changes that will be implemented on January 1, 2008, the offender's or delinquent

child's duties under Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as so changed the n let offenderose
duties, whether the delinquent child is classified a public registry-qualified Juve
registrant, and the information specified in division (B) of section 2950.03 of the Revised Code

to the extent it is relevant to the offender or delinquent child;

(c) The fact that the offender or delinquent child has a right to a hearing as described in division
(E) of this section, the procedures for requesting the hearing, and the period of time within which

the request for the hearing must be made;

(d) If the offender's or delinquent child's duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041,
2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code is scheduled to terminate on or after July 1, 2007, and
prior to January 1, 2008, under the version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in
effect prior to January 1, 2008, a summary of the provisions of section 2950.033 of the Revised
Code and the application of those provisions to the offender or delinquent child, provided that
this division applies regarding a delinquent child only if the child is in a category specified in

division (A) of section 2950.033 of the Revised Code.

(3) The attomey general shall make the determinations described in divisions (A)(1)(a) and (b) of
this section for each offender or delinquent child who is described in either of those divisions
even if the offender's duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of
the Revised Code is scheduled to terminate prior to January 1, 2008, under the version of section
2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in effect prior to that date, or the delinquent child is in a
category specified in division (C) of section 2950.033 of the Revised Code, and the child's duty
to comply with those sections is scheduled to terminate prior to January 1, 2008, under the
version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in effect prior to that date. The department
of rehabilitation and correction shall provide to each offender described in division (A)(1)(a) of
this section and the department of youth services shall provide to each delinquent section

child

enifin division (A)(1)(b) of this section the notice described in division (A)(2) of this
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the offender's duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the
Revised Code is scheduled to terminate prior to January 1, 2008, under the version of section
2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in effect prior to that date, or the delinquent child is in a

category specified in division (C) of section 2950.033 of the Revised Code, and the child's duty

to comply with those sections is scheduled to terminate prior to January 1, 2008, under the
version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in effect prior to that date. Section

2950.033 of the Revised Code applies regarding any offender described in division (A)( 1 )(a) or

(b) of this section whose duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06
of the Revised Code is scheduled to terminate prior to January 1, 2008, under the version of
section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in effect prior to that date and any delinquent child

who is in a category specified in division (A) of section 2950.033 of the Revised Code and
whose duty to comply with those sections is scheduled to terminate prior to January 1, 2008,
under the version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in effect prior to that date.

(B) If on or after December 2, 2007, an offender commences a prison term in a state correctional
institution or a delinquent child commences confinement in an institution of the department of
youth services for a sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented offense and if the
offender or delinquent child was convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or was classified a juvenile
offender registrant relative to the sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense on or
before that date, as soon as practicable, the department of rehabilitation and correction or the
department of youth services, as applicable, shall contact the attorney general, inform the
attorney general of the commencement of the prison term or institutionalization, and forward to
the attorney general information and material that identifies the offender or delinquent child and
that describes the sexually oriented offense resulting in the prison term or institutionalization, the
facts and circumstances of it, and the offender's or delinquent child's criminal or delinquency
history. Within fourteen days after being so informed of the commencement of the prison term or
institutionalization and receiving the information and material specified in this division, the
attorney general shall determine for the offender or delinquent child all of the matters specified

in division (A)(1)(a), (b), or (c) of this section and immediately provide to the appropriate
department a document that describes the offender's or delinquent child's classification and

duties as so determined.

Upon receipt from the attorney general of a document described in this division that pertains to
an offender or delinquent child, the department of rehabilitation and correction shall provide to
the offender or the department of youth services shall provide to the delinquent child, as
applicable, a written notice that contains the information specified in division (A)(2) of this

section.

(C) If, on or after July 1, 2007, and prior to January 1, 2008, an offender is convicted of or pleads
guilty to a sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented offense and the court does not
sentence the offender to a prison term for that offense or if, on or after July 1, 2007, and prior to
January 1, 2008, a delinquent child is classified a juvenile offender registrant relative to a
sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented offense and the juvenile court does not
commit the child to the custody of the department of youth services for that offense, the court at
the time of sentencing or the juvenile court at the time specified in division (B) of section

2152.82, division (C) of section 2152.83, division (C) of section 2152.84, division (E) of section
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2152.85, or division (A) of section 2152.86 of the Revised Code, whichever is applicable, shall

do all of the following:

(1) Provide the offender or the delinquent child and the delinquent child's parents with the
notices required under section 2950.03 of the Revised Code, as it exists prior to January 1, 2008,
regarding the offender's or delinquent child's duties under this chapter as it exists prior to that

date;

(2) Provide the offender or the delinquent child and the delinquent child's parents with a written
notice that contains the information specified in divisions (A)(2)(a) and (b) of this section;

(3) Provide the offender or the delinquent child and the delinquent child's parents a written
notice that clearly indicates that the offender or delinquent child is required to comply with the
duties described in the notice provided under division (C)(1) of this section until January 1,
2008, and will be required to comply with the duties described in the notice provided under

division (C)(2) of this section on and after that date.

(D)(1) Except as otherwise provided in this division, the officer or employee of the department
of rehabilitation and correction or the department of youth services who provides an offender or
a delinquent child and the delinquent child's parents with the notices described in division (A)(2)
or (B) of this section shall require the offender or delinquent child to read and sign a form stating
that the changes in Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code that will be implemented on January 1,
2008, the offender's or delinquent child's classification as a tier I sex offender, a tier II sex
offender, or a tier III sex offender, the offender's or delinquent child's duties under Chapter
2950. of the Revised Code as so changed and the duration of those duties, the delinquent child's
classification as a public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant if applicable, the

information specified in division (B) of section 2950.03 of the Revised Code the for requesting
relevant to the offender or delinquent child, and the right to a hearing, procedures qustg
the hearing, and period of time within which the request for the hearing must be made have been

explained to the offender or delinquent child.

Except as otherwise provided in this division, the judge who provides an offender or delinquent
child with the notices described in division (C) of this section shall require the offender or
delinquent child to read and sign a form stating that all of the information described in divisions
(C)(1) to (3) of this section has been explained to the offender or delinquent child.

If the offender or delinquent child is unable to read, the official, employee, or judge shall certify
on the form that the official, employee, or judge specifically informed the offender or delinquent
child of all of that information and that the offender or delinquent child indicated an

understanding of it.

(2) After an offender or delinquent child has signed the form described in division (D)(1) of this
section or the official, employee, or judge has certified on the form that the form has been
explained to the offender or delinquent child and that the offender or delinquent child indicated
an understanding of the specified information, the official, employee, or judge shall give one
copy of the form to the offender or delinquent child, within three days shall send one copy of the
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form to the bureau of criminal identification and investigation in accordance with the procedures
adopted pursuant to section 2950.13 of the Revised Code, and shall send one copy of the form to
the sheriff of the county in which the offender or delinquent child expects to reside and one copy
to the prosecutor who handled the case in which the offender or delinquent child was convicted
of, pleaded guilty to, or was adjudicated a delinquent child for committing the sexually oriented
offense or child-victim oriented offense that resulted in the offender's or child's registration duty

under section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code.

(E) An offender or delinquent child who is provided a notice under division (A)(2) or (B) of this
section may request as a matter of right a court hearing to contest the application to the offender
or delinquent child of the new registration requirements under Chapter 2950. of the Revised
Code as it will exist under the changes that will be implemented on January 1, 2008. The
offender or delinquent child may contest the matters that are identified in division (E) of section
2950.031 of the Revised Code. To request the hearing, an offender or delinquent child who is
provided a notice under division (A)(2) of this section shall file a petition with the appropriate
court not later than the date that is sixty days after the offender or delinquent child is provided
the notice under that division, and an offender or delinquent child who is provided a notice under
division (B) of this section shall file a petition with the appropriate court not later than the date
that is sixty days after the offender or delinquent child is provided the notice under that division.
The request for the hearing shall be made in the manner and with the court specified in division
(E) of section 2950.031 of the Revised Code, and, except as otherwise provided in this division,
the provisions of that division regarding the service of process and notice regarding the hearing,
the conduct of the hearing, the determinations to be made at the hearing, and appeals of those
determinations also apply to a hearing requested under this division. If a hearing is requested as
described in this division, the offender or delinquent child shall appear at the hearing by video
conferencing equipment if available and compatible, except that, upon the court's own motion or
the motion of the offender or delinquent child or the prosecutor representing the interests of the
state and a determination by the court that the interests of justice require that the offender or
delinquent child be present, the court may permit the offender or delinquent child to be
physically present at the hearing. An appearance by video conferencing equipment pursuant to
this division has the same force and effect as if the offender or delinquent child were physically
present at the hearing. The provisions of division (E) of section 2950.031 of the Revised Code
regarding the effect of a failure to timely request a hearing also apply to a failure to timely

request a hearing under this division.

If a juvenile court issues an order under division (A)(2) or (3) of section 2152.86 of the Revised
Code that classifies a delinquent child a public-registry qualified juvenile offender registrant and
if the child's delinquent act was committed prior to January 1, 2008, a challenge to the
classification contained in the order shall be made pursuant to division (D) of section 2152.86 of

the Revised Code.
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2950.033 Continuing duty to comply with
terminated provisions.
(A) If, on or before July 1, 2007, an offender who has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a
sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented offense or a delinquent child in a category
specified in division (C) of this section has a duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041,
2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code based on that offense and if the offender's or
delinquent child's duty to comply with those sections based on that offense is scheduled to
terminate on or after July 1, 2007, and prior to January 1, 2008, under the version of section
2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in effect prior to January 1, 2008, notwithstanding that
scheduled termination of those duties, the offender's or delinquent child's duties under those
sections shall not terminate as scheduled and shall remain in effect for the following period of

time:

(1) If the offender or delinquent child is in a category described in division (A)(1) of section
2950.031 of the Revised Code, receives a registered letter from the attorney general pursuant to
division (A)(2) of that section, and timely requests a hearing in accordance with division (E) of
that section to contest the application to the offender or delinquent child of the new registration
requirements under Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as it will exist under the changes that will
be implemented on January 1, 2008, or the tier classification of the offender or delinquent child
specified by the attorney general, the offender's or delinquent child's duty to comply with
sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code shall continue at least
until the court issues its decision at or subsequent to the hearing. The offender's or delinquent
child's duty to comply with those sections shall continue in accordance with, and for the duration
specified in, the determinations of the attorney general that are specified in the registered letter
the offender or delinquent child received from the attorney general, unless the court's decision
terminates the offender's or delinquent child's duty to comply with those sections or provides a
different duration for which the offender or delinquent child has a duty to comply with them.

(2) If the offender or delinquent child is in a category described in division (A)(1) of section
2950.031 of the Revised Code, receives a registered letter from the attorney general pursuant to
division (A)(2) of that section, and does not timely request a hearing in accordance with division
(E) of that section to contest the application to the offender or delinquent child of the new
registration requirements under Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as it will exist under the
changes that will be implemented on January 1, 2008, or the tier classification of the offender or
delinquent child specified by the attorney general, the offender's or delinquent child's duty to
comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code shall
continue in accordance with, and for the duration specified in, the determinations of the attomey
general that are specified in the registered letter the offender or delinquent child received from

the attomey general.

(3) If the offender or delinquent child is in a category described in division (A)(1)(a) or (b) of
section 2950.032 of the Revised Code, receives a notice from the department of rehabilitation
and correction or department of youth services pursuant to division (A)(2) of that section, and
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timely requests a hearing in accordance with division (E) of that section to contest the
application to the offender or delinquent child of the new registration requirements under
Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as it will exist under the changes that will be implemented on
January 1, 2008, or the tier classification of the delinquent child specified by the attorney general
the offender's or delinquent child's duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05,
and 2950.06 of the Revised Code shall continue in the same manner and for the same duration as
is described in division (A)(1) of this section regarding offenders and delinquent children in a
category described in division (A)(1) of section 2950.031 of the Revised Code, who receive a
registered letter from the attorney general pursuant to division (A)(2) of that section, and who
timely request a hearing in accordance with division (E) of that section.

(4) If the offender or delinquent child is in a category described in division (A)(1)(a) or (b) of
section 2950.032 of the Revised Code, receives a notice from the department of rehabilitation
and correction or department of youth services pursuant to division (A)(2) of that section, and
does not timely request a hearing in accordance with division (E) of that section to contest the
application to the offender or delinquent child of the new registration requirements under
Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as it will exist under the changes that will be implemented on
January 1, 2008, or the tier classification of the delinquent child specified by the attorney general
the offender's or delinquent child's duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05,
and 2950.06 of the Revised Code shall continue in the same manner and for the same duration as
is described in division (A)(2) of this section regarding offenders and delinquent children in a
category described in division (A)(1) of section 2950.031 of the Revised Code, who receive a
registered letter from the attorney general pursuant to division (A)(2) of that section, and who do
not timely request a hearing in accordance with division (E) of that section.

(5) If the offender or delinquent child is in a category described in division (A)(1) of section
2950.031 of the Revised Code but does not receive a registered letter from the attorney general
pursuant to division (A)(2) of that section, or if the offender or delinquent child is in a category
described in division (A)(1)(a) or (b) of section 2950.032 of the Revised Code but does not
receive a notice from the department of rehabilitation and correction or department of youth
services pursuant to division (A)(2) of that section, notwithstanding the failure of the offender or
delinquent child to receive the registered letter or the notice, the offender's or delinquent child's
duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code
shall continue in accordance with, and for the duration specified in, the provisions of Chapter
2950. of the Revised Code as they will exist under the changes to the provisions that will be

implemented on January 1, 2008.

(B) An offender or a delinquent child in a category specified in division (C) of this section who,
on or before July 1, 2007, has a duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and
2950.06 of the Revised Code based on a conviction of, plea of guilty to, or adjudication as a
delinquent child for committing a sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented offense
and whose duty to comply with those sections is scheduled to terminate on or after July 1, 2007,
and prior to January 1, 2008, under the version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in
effect prior to January 1, 2008, is presumed to have knowledge of the law, the content of division
(A) of this section and its application to the offender or delinquent child, and the offender's or
delinquent child's duties under Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as it will exist under the

A-38



changes that will be implemented on January 1, 2008. Any failure of any such offender or
delinquent child to receive a registered letter from the attorney general pursuant to division
(A)(2) of section 2950.031 of the Revised Code or to receive a written notice from the
department of rehabilitation and correction or department of youth services pursuant to division
(A)(2) of section 2950.032 of the Revised Code does not negate, limit, or modify the

presumption specified in this division.

(C) Divisions (A) and (B) of this section apply to a person who is adjudicated a delinquent child
for committing a sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense only if the person is
so adjudicated prior to January 1, 2008, and, under the version of section 2950.01 of the Revised
Code that is to take effect on January 1, 2008, will be a public registry-qualified juvenile

offender registrant relative to that offense.
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2950.04 Duty to register - form.
(A)(l)(a) Immediately after a sentencing hearing is held on or after January 1, 2008, for an
offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a sexually oriented offense and is sentenced to a
prison term, a term of imprisonment, or any other type of confinement and before the offender is
transferred to the custody of the department of rehabilitation and correction or to the official in
charge of the jail, workhouse, state correctional institution, or other institution where the
offender will be confined, the offender shall register personally with the sheriff, or the sheriff's
designee, of the county in which the offender was convicted of or pleaded guilty to the sexually

oriented offense.

(b) Immediately after a dispositional hearing is held on or after January 1, 2008, for a child who
is adjudicated a delinquent child for committing a sexually oriented offense, is classified a
juvenile offender registrant based on that adjudication, and is committed to the custody of the
department of youth services or to a secure facility that is not operated by the department and
before the child is transferred to the custody of the departrnent of youth services or the secure
facility to which the delinquent child is conunitted, the delinquent child shall register personally
with the sheriff, or the sheriff s designee, of the county in which the delinquent child was
classified a juvenile offender registrant based on that sexually oriented offense.

(c) A law enforcement officer shall be present at the sentencing hearing or dispositional hearing
described in division (A)(1)(a) or (b) of this section to immediately transport the offender or
delinquent child who is the subject of the hearing to the sheriff, or the sheriff's designee, of the
county in which the offender or delinquent child is convicted, pleads guilty, or is adjudicated a

delinquent child.

(d) After an offender who has registered pursuant to division (A)(1)(a) of this section is released
from a prison term, a term of imprisonment, or any other type of confinement, the offender shall
register as provided in division (A)(2) of this section. After a delinquent child who has registered
pursuant to division (A)(1)(b) of this section is released from the custody of the department of
youth services or from a secure facility that is not operated by the department, the delinquent
child shall register as provided in division (A)(3) of this section.

(2) Regardless of when the sexually oriented offense was committed, each offender who is
convicted of, pleads guilty to, has been convicted of, or has pleaded guilty to a sexually oriented
offense shall comply with the following registration requirements described in divisions

(A)(2)(a), (b), (c), (d), and (e) of this section:

(a) The offender shall register personally with the sheriff, or the sherifP s designee, of the county
within three days of the offender's coming into a county in which the offender resides or

temporarily is domiciled for more than three days.

(b) The offender shall register personally with the sheriff, or the sheriffl s designee, of the county
immediately upon coming into a county in which the offender attends a school or institution of
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higher education on a full-time or part-time basis regardless of whether the offender resides or

has a temporary domicile in this state or another state.

(c) The offender shall register personally with the sheriff, or the sheriff s designee, of the county
in which the offender is employed if the offender resides or has a temporary domicile in this state
and has been employed in that county for more than three days or for an aggregate period of

fourteen or more days in that calendar year.

(d) The offender shall register personally with the sheriff, or the sheriff's designee, of the county
in which the offender then is employed if the offender does not reside or have a temporary
domicile in this state and has been employed at any location or locations in this state more than
three days or for an aggregate period of fourteen or more days in that calendar year.

(e) The offender shall register with the sheriff, or the sheriffls designee, or other appropriate
person of the other state immediately upon entering into any state other than this state in which
the offender attends a school or institution of higher education on a full-time or part-time basis or
upon being employed in any state other than this state for more than three days or for an
aggregate period of fourteen or more days in that calendar year regardless of whether the
offender resides or has a temporary domicile in this state, the other state, or a different state.

(3)(a) Each child who is adjudicated a delinquent child for committing a sexually oriented
offense and who is classified a juvenile offender registrant based on that adjudication shall
register personally with the sheriff, or the sheriff s designee, of the county within three days of
the delinquent child's coming into a county in which the delinquent child resides or temporarily

is domiciled for more than three days.

(b) In addition to the registration duty imposed under division (A)(3)(a) of this section, each
public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant shall comply with the following additional

registration requirements:

(i) The public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant shall register personally with the
sheriff, or the sheriffls designee, of the county immediately upon coming into a county in which
the registrant attends a school or institution of higher education on a full-time or part-time basis
regardless of whether the registrant resides or has a temporary domicile in this state or another

state.

(ii) The public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant shall register personally with the
sheriff, or the sheriff's designee, of the county in which the registrant is employed if the
registrant resides or has a temporary domicile in this state and has been employed in that county
for more than three days or for an aggregate period of fourteen or more days in that calendar

year.

(iii) The public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant shall register personally with the
sheriff, or the sheriff s designee, of the county in which the registrant then is employed if the
registrant does not reside or have a temporary domicile in this state and has been employed at
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any location or locations in this state more than three days or for an aggregate period of fourteen
or more days in that calendar year.

(iv) The public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant shall register with the sheriff, or the
sheriff s designee, or other appropriate person of the other state immediately upon entering into
any state other than this state in which the registrant attends a school or institution of higher
education on a full-time or part-time basis or upon being employed in any state other than this
state for more than three days or for an aggregate period of fourteen or more days in that
calendar year regardless of whether the registrant resides or has a temporary domicile in this
state, the other state, or a different state.

(c) If the delinquent child is committed for the sexually oriented offense to the department of
youth services or to a secure facility that is not operated by the department, this duty begins
when the delinquent child is discharged or released in any manner from custody in a department
of youth services secure facility or from the secure facility that is not operated by the department
if pursuant to the discharge or release the delinquent child is not comniitted to any other secure
facility of the department or any other secure facility.

(4) Regardless of when the sexually oriented offense was committed, each person who is
convicted, pleads guilty, or is adjudicated a delinquent child in a court in another state, in a
federal court, military court, or Indian tribal court, or in a court in any nation other than the
United States for committing a sexually oriented offense shall comply with the following
registration requirements if, at the time the offender or delinquent child moves to and resides in
this state or temporarily is domiciled in this state for more than three days, the offender or public
registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant enters this state to attend a school or institution of
higher education, or the offender or public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant is
employed in this state for more than the specified period of time, the offender or delinquent child
has a duty to register as a sex offender or child-victim offender under the law of that other
jurisdiction as a result of the conviction, guilty plea, or adjudication:

(a) Each offender and delinquent child shall register personally with the sheriff, or the sheriffl s
designee, of the county within three days of the offender's or delinquent child's coming into the
county in which the offender or delinquent child resides or temporarily is domiciled for more
than three days.

(b) Each offender or public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant shall register
personally with the sheriff, or the sheriffls designee, of the county immediately upon coming into
a county in which the offender or public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant attends a
school or institution of higher education on a full-time or part-time basis regardless of whether
the offender or public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant resides or has a temporary
domicile in this state or another state.

(c) Each offender or public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant shall register personally
with the sheriff, or the sheriff's designee, of the county in which the offender or public registry-
qualified juvenile offender registrant is employed if the offender resides or has a temporary
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§ 2950.04 vuty to register.
(A)(1) Each of the following types of offender who

is convicted of or pleads guilty to, or has been convicted
of or pleaded guilty to,. a sexually oriented offense shall
reglster personally with the sheriff of the county within
seven days of the offenders coming into a county in
which the offender resides or temporarily is domiciled
for more than seven days:

(a) Regardless of when the sexually oriented offense
was committed, an offender who is sentenced for the
sexually oriented offense to a prison term, a term of
imprisonment, or any other type of confinement and,
on or after July 1,1997; is released in any manner from
the prison tenn, term ofimprisonment, or confinement;

(b) Regardless of when the sexually oriented offense
was committed, an offender who is sentenced for a
sexually oriented offense on or after July 1, 1997, and
to whom division (A)(1)(a) of this section does not apply; !

(c) If the sexually oriented offense was committed
prior to July 1, 1997, and neither division (A)(1)(a) nor
division (AX1)(b) of this section applies, an offender
who, immediately prior to July 1, 1997, was a habitual
sex offender who was required to register under Chap-
ter 2950. of the Revised Code.

(2) Each child who is adjudicated a delinquent child
for committing a sexually oriented offense and who is
classified a juvenile sex offender registrant based on that

adjudication shall register personally with the sheriff of
the county within seven days of the delinquent child's
coming into a county in whieh the delinquent child
resides or temporarily is domieiledTor more than seven
days. If the delinquent child is committed for the sexu-
ally oriented offense to the department of youth services '..
gr to a secure facility that is not operated by the depart-
inent, this duty begins when the delinquent child is
[lischarged or released in any manner from custody in I,
a department of youth services seoure facility or from
-the securefacility that is not opemted by the depart- 'i.
ijnent, if pursuant to the discharge or release the delin-
quent child is not committed to any other secure facility
nf the department or any other secare facility.. The
delinquent child does not have a duty to register under
this division wh5le the child is in adepartment of youth
servioes secure facility or in a secure facility that is not
operated by the department.

(3) If divisions (A)(1) and (2) of this section do not
apply, each following type of offender and each follow-
ing type of delinquent ohild shall registerpersonally
with the sheriff of the county within seven days of the
offender'sor delinquent child's coming into a county
in whieh the offender or delinquent child resides or
temporarily is domiciled for more than seven days:

(a) Regardless of when the sexually oriented offense.`
was committed, a person who is convicted of, pleads s
guilty to, or is adjudicated a delinquent child for com-
mitting a sexually oriented offense in another state or
in a federal court, military court, or an Indian tribal
court, if, on or after July 1, 1997, for offenders, or ^I
January 1, 2002, for delinquent children, the offender
or delinquent child moves to and resides in this state
or temporarily is domiciled in this state for more than
seven days,and if, at the time the offender or delinquent
child moves to and resides in this state or temporarily'..
is domiciled in this state for more than seven days, the
offender or delinquent child has a duty to register as
a sex offender under the law of that other jurisdiction
as a result of the eonvictaon g,ailtyplea, or adjudication. ;

(b) Regardless of wlien tho sexually oriented offense
was committed, a person who is convicted of, pleads
guilty to, or is adjudicated a delinquent child for com-
mitting a sexually oriented offense in another state or
in a federal court, military court, or an Indian tribal
court, if, on or after July 1, 1997, for offenders, or
January 1, 2002, for delinquent children, the offender
or delinquent child is released from imprisonment, con-
finement, or detention imposed for that offense, and
if, on or after July 1, 1997, for offenders, or January 1,
2002, for delinquent children, the offender or delin-
quent child moves to and resides in this state or tempo-
rarily is domiciled in this state for mom than seven
days. The duty to register as described in this division
applies to an offender regardless of whether the of-
fender, at the time of moving to and residing in this
state or temporarily being domiciled in this state for
more than seven days, has a duty to register as a sex
offender under the law of the jurisdiction in which the
conviction or guilty plea,occurred The duty to register
as described in this division applies to a delinquent
child only if the delinquent child, at the time of moving

to and residing in this state ar temporarily being domi-
ciled in this state for more than seven days, has a duty
to register as a sex offender underthe lawof the jurisdic-
tion in which the delinquent child adjudication occurred
or if, had the dehnquent child adjudication occurred
in this state, the adjudicating juvenile court judge would
have been requimd to issue an order classifying the
dehnquent child as a juvenile sex offender registrant
pursuant to section 2152.82 or division (A) of section
2152.83 of the Revised Code.

(4) If division (A)(IXa) of this section applies and if,
subsequentto the offender's release, the offender is
adjudicated to be a sexualpredator under division (C)
of sectl6n 2950.09 of the Revised Code, theoffender
shaIl register within seven days of the adjudication. with {
the sheriff of the county in which the offender resides
or temporarily is domiciled for more than seven days
and shall register with the sheriff of any county in which
the offender subsequently resides or temporarily is do-
miciled ,for more than seven days within seven days of
coming into that county.

(5) A person who is adjudicated a delinquent child for
committing a sexually oriented offense is not requiredto
register under division (A)(2) of this section unless the
delinquent child committed the offense on or after
January 1, 2002, is classified a juvenile sex offender
registrant by a juvenile court judge pursuant to an order
issued under section 2152.82, 2152.83, 2152.84, or
2152.85 of the Revised Code based on that adjudication,
and has a duty to register purkuant to division (Ax2)
of this section.

(B) An offender or delinquent child who is required
by division (A) of this section to register personally shall
obtain from the sheriff or from a designee of the sheriff
a registration form that confomrs to division (C) of this
section, shall complete and sign the form, and shall
retum the completed form together with the offende2s
or delinquent child's photograph to the sheriff or the
designee. The sheriff or designee shall sign the form
and indicate on the form the date on which it is so
mturned. The registration required under this division
is complete when the offender or delinquent child re-
turns the form, containing the requisite information,
photograph, signatures, and date, to the sheriff or des-
ignee. , . -



" (C) The registration form to be used under divisions
(A) and (B) of this section shall contain the current
residence address of the offender or delinquent child
who is registering, the name and address of the offend-
er s or delinquent child's employer, if the offender or
delinquent child is employed at the time of registration
or if the offender or delinquent child knows at the time
of registration that the offender or delinquent child
will be commencing employment with that employer
subsequent to registration,and auy other information
required by the bureau of critljdnal identification and
investigation and shall include the offender's or delin-
quent child's photograph. AdditionaBy, if the offender
or delinquent ehild has been adjudicated as being a
sexual predator relative to the sexually oriented offense
in question and the court has not subsequently deter-
mined pursuant to diviston (T)) of section 2950.09, seo-

tion 2152.84, or section 2152.&5 of the Revised Code
that the offender or-delinquent chfldno longer is ai.
sexual predator, or if the judge determined pursuant
to division (C) of section 2950.09 or pursuant to section
2152.82, 2152.83, 2152.84, or 2152.85 of the Revised
Code that the offender or delinquent child is a habitual',.
sex offender and the determination has not been re-!
moved pursuant to section 2152.84 or 2152.85 of the
Revised Code, the offender or delinquent child shall
include on the signed, written registration form aIl of
the following information:

(1) A specific declaration that the person has been
adjudicated as beinga sexual predator or has been deter-
mined to be a habitual sex offender, whichever is appli-
cable;

(2) If the offender or delinquent child has been adju- ^
dicated as being a sexualpredator, the ideniification;
license plate number of eachmotorvehicle the offender
or deIInquent child owns and of each motor vehicle
registered in the offenders or delinquent child's name.^

(D) After an offender or delinquent child registers
with a sheriff pursuant to this section, the sheriff shaIl
forward the signed, written registration form and photo-,
graph to the bureau of criminalidentification and inves-
tigation in accordance with the forwarding prooedures
adopted pursuant to section 2950.13 of the Revised
Code. The bureau shaB include the information and^
materials forwarded to it under this division in the state
registry of sex offenders established and maintained
under section 2950.13 of the Revised Code.

(E) No person who is required to register pursuant
todivisions(A)and(B)ofthissectionshallfailtoregister^
as required in accordance with those divisions or that'
division.

(F) An offender or delinquent child who is required
to register pursuant to divisions (A) and (B) of this
section. shall register pursuant to this section for the
period of time specified in section 2950.07 of the Re- j

vised Code.

(C) Ifanoffeaderordehnquetetchildwhoisrequired
',. by division (A) of this section to register is adjudicated

a sexual predator or a habitual sexual offender subject
to cominunity notifioation under division (C)(2) or (E)
of seotion 2950.09 of the Revised Code, orif an offender
who is required by division (A) of this section to register
has that duty as a result of a conviction of or plea of guilty
toan aggravated sezuaIly oriented offense committed
on or after the effective date of this amendment, the.

'.. offender or delinquent child also shall send the sheriff
of the eounty in which the offender or delinquent child
intends to reside written notice of the offender's or
delinquent child's intent to reside in the county. The
offender or delinquent cbild shall send the notice of''
intent to reside at least twenty days prior to the date
the offender or delinquent child begins to reside in ther
county. The notice of intent to reside shall contain the;

.''. following information:
(1) The offender s or delinquent chil$'s name;
(2) 7Yle address or addresses at whioh the offender

or delinquent child intends to reside;
(3) The sexually oriented offense of which the of 'i

-*Ut}, te tss", Rha offender pleaded:,fender was con

.guilty or for which the ehiltl'was adjudicated a delin-
quent child;

(4) A statement that the offender or delinquent child
has been adjudicated as being a sexual predator and
that, as of the date of the notice, the court has not
entered a determination that the offender or delinquent
child no longer is a sexual predator, a statement that
the sentencing or reviewing judge has determined that
the offender or delinquent child is a habitual sex of-
fender and that, as of the date of the notice, the determi-
nation has not been removed pursuant to section
2152.84 or 2152.85 of the Revised Code, or a statement
that the otfender was convicted of or pleaded guiltyto
an aggravated sexually oriented offense committed on
or after the effectivedate of this amendment.

Ii1.STORY: 146 v H 180 (Eff 7-1-97); 147 v H 565 (E6 3-30-
99);99); 148 v H S50S (Eff 3-15-2001); 149 v S 3 (Eff 1-1-2002); 149

v S 175 (Eff5-7-2002);149 vH 485 (Eff 6-13-2002);.149 v H 393.

Eff 7-5-2002. "

Not analagous to fonner RC § 2956.04 (130 v 670), repeated

146 v H 180, S 2, eff 7-1-97.

See provisions, § 3 of HB 485 (149 v -) following RC §
2929.13.

See provisions, §5 of HB 485 (149 v -) following RC §
2950.01.

See Comment, L.eg(slative Service Commission following
RC § 2950.01.
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UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

Article I, Section 10 - Powers prohibited of States

No State shall enter into any Treaty, Alliance, or Confederation; grant
Letters of Marque and Reprisal; coin Money; emit Bills of Credit; make
any Thing but gold and silver Coin a Tender in Payment of Debts; pass
any Bill of Attainder, ex post facto Law, or Law impairing the Obligation
of Contracts, or grant any Title of Nobility.

Fifth Amendment

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or otherwise infamous
crime, unless on a presentment or indictment of a Grand Jury, except in
cases arising in the land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual
service in time of War or public danger; nor shall any person be subject
for the same offense to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall
be compelled in any criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor be
deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor shall
private property be taken for public use, without just compensation.

Fourteenth Amendment

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and subject
to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the State
wherein they reside. No State shall make or enforce any law which shall
abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor
shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.

Section 2. Representatives shall be apportioned among the several States
according to their respective numbers, counting the whole number of
persons in each State, excluding Indians not taxed. But when the right to
vote at any election for the choice of electors for President and Vice-
President of the United States, Representatives in Congress, the Executive
and Judicial officers of a State, or the members of the Legislature thereof,
is denied to any of the male inhabitants of such State, being twenty-one
years of age, and citizens of the United States, or in any way abridged,
except for participation in rebellion, or other crime, the basis of
representation therein shall be reduced in the proportion which the number
of such male citizens shall bear to the whole number of male citizens
twenty-one years of age in such State.
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Section 3. No person shall be a Senator or Representative in Congress, or
elector of President and Vice-President, or hold any office, civil or
military, under the United States, or under any State, who, having
previously taken an oath, as a member of Congress, or as an officer of the
United States, or as a member of any State legislature, or as an executive
or judicial officer of any State, to support the Constitution of the United
States, shall have engaged in insurrection or rebellion against the same, or
given aid or comfort to the enemies thereof But Congress may by a vote
of two-thirds of each House, remove such disability.

Section 4. The validity of the public debt of the United States, authorized
by law, including debts incurred for payment of pensions and bounties for
services in suppressing insurrection or rebellion, shall not be questioned.
But neither the United States nor any State shall assume or pay any debt or
obligation incurred in aid of insurrection or rebellion against the United
States, or any claim for the loss or emancipation of any slave; but all such
debts, obligations and claims shall be held illegal and void.

Section 5. The Congress shall have power to enforce, by appropriate
legislation, the provisions of this article.



OHIO CONSITUTION

§ 10, Article I Trial for crimes; witness

Except in cases of impeachment, cases arising in the army and
navy, or in the militia when in actual service in time of war or
public danger, and cases involving offenses for which the penalty
provided is less than imprisonment in the penitentiary, no person
shall be held to answer for a capital, or otherwise infamous, crime,
unless on presentment or indictment of a grand jury; and the
number of persons necessary to constitute such grand jury and the
number thereof necessary to concur in finding such indictment
shall be determined by law. In any trial, in any court, the party
accused shall be allowed to appear and defend in person and with
counsel; to demand the nature and cause of the accusation against
him, and to have a copy thereof; to meet the witnesses face to face,
and to have compulsory process to procure the attendance of
witnesses in his behalf, and a speedy public trial by an impartial
jury of the county in which the offense is alleged to have been
committed; but provision may be made by law for the taking of the
deposition by the accused or by the state, to be used for or against
the accused, of any witness whose attendance can not be had at the
trial, always securing to the accused means and the opportunity to
be present in person and with counsel at the taking of such
deposition, and to examine the witness face to face as fully and in
the same manner as if in court. No person shall be compelled, in
any criminal case, to be a witness against himself; but his failure to
testify may be considered by the court and jury and may be made
the subject of comment by counsel. No person shall be twice put in
jeopardy for the same offense.

(As amended September 3, 1912.)

§28, Article II, Retroactive laws

The General Assembly shall have no power to pass retroactive
laws, or laws impairing the obligation of contracts; but may, by
general laws, authorize courts to carry into effect, upon such terms
as shall be just and equitable, the manifest intention of parties, and
officers, by curing omissions, defects, and errors, in instruments
and proceedings, arising out of their want of conformity with the
laws of this state.
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