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STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS

In Cuyahoga County Case Nos. CR-525878 and CR-521078, Robert Moore

was indicted for drug trafficking offenses for his role in trafficking over one-and-one

half tons of marijuana into the Cleveland area.' Ultimately, Moore was convicted

by a jury in Cuyahoga County Case No. CR-521078 as follows:

DRUG POSSESSION 2925.11 A F3 WITH FIREARM
SPECIFICATION - 1 YEAR (2941.141), FORFEITURE
SPECIFICATION (2941.1417) AS CHARGED IN COUNT(S) 1 OF
THE INDICTMENT.

TRAFFICKING OFFENSES 2925.03 A(2) F3 WITH FIREARM
SPECIFICATION - 1 YEAR (2941.141), FORFEITURE
SPECIFICATION (2941.1417) AS CHARGED IN COUNT(S) 2 OF
THE INDICTMENT.

CARRYING CONCEALED WEAPONS 2923.12 A(2) F4 WITH
FORFEITURE SPECIFICATION (2941.1417) AS CHARGED IN
COUNT(S) 3 OF THE INDICTMENT.
DRUG POSSESSION 2925.11 A F2 WITH FIREARM
SPECIFICATION - 1 YEAR (2941.141), FORFEITURE
SPECIFICATION (2941.1417) AS CHARGED IN COUNT(S) 4 OF
THE INDICTMENT.

TRAFFICKING OFFENSES 2925.03 A(2) F2 WITH FIREARM
SPECIFICATION - 1 YEAR (2941.141), FORFEITURE
SPECIFICATION (2941.1417) AS CHARGED IN COUNT(S) 5 OF
THE INDICTMENT.

POSSESSING CRIMINAL TOOLS 2923.24 A F5 WITH FORFEITURE
SPECIFICATION (2941.1417) AS CHARGED IN COUNT(S) 7 OF
THE INDICTMENT.

In imposing sentence in both cases, the trial court used the following language to

waive the mandatory fine:

i Co-defendant's filed direct appeals, and there convictions were affirmed ir. State v.

Parker, 8th Dist. No. 93835, 2011-Ohio-1059 and State v. Higuera, 8th Dist. No.

93633, 2010-Ohio-4113.
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***BASED ON DEFENDANT'S AFFIDAVIT OF INDIGENCY BEING
FILED; FINE AND COSTS ARE WAIVED INCLUDING
MANDATORY FINES***

Journal Entry, filed August 17, 2009, in CR-521078.

In Cuyahoga County Case No. CR-525878, Moore pled guilty to:

TRAFFICKING OFFENSES 2925.03 A(1) F2 WITH FIREARM
SPECIFICATION - 1 YEAR (2941.141) AS CHARGED IN COUNT(S) 1 OF
THE INDICTMENT. (EXCEEDING 20,000 GRAMS).

In waiving the mandatory fine the trial court utilized the following language in its

journal entry:

***AFFIDAVIT OF INDIGENCY BEING FILED; FINE AND COSTS ARE
WAIVED INCLUDING MANDATORY FINE OF $10,000.00 AND $20,000.00
FINE.***

Journal Entry, filed August 17, 2009 in CR-09-525878.

On September 3, 2010, Robert Moore filed a motion to vacate and void

sentence. Moore argued that his sentence was void because the trial court failed to

impose the statutorily mandated fine without first receiving a proper waiver.

Moore argued that his sentence was a nullity, was void and had to be vacated.

On October 26, 2010, the State filed a brief in opposition citing to the Ninth

District's decision in State v. DeLoach, 9th Dist. No. 05CA008858, 2006-Ohio-4409.

In the brief in opposition the State noted the fact that the trial court, "was told by

defense counsel that he was filing an affidavit of indigence and requested the fines

be waived. This court was not attempting to disregard a statutory requirement and

relied on defense counsel to follow through with what he promised to do."
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On November 2, 2010, the trial court denied Moore's motion to vacate and

void sentence, indicating as follows:

DEFENDANT'S MOTION TO VACATE AND VOID SENTENCE IS
DENIED. THIS COURT WAS NOT ATTEMPTING TO DISREGARD
A STATUTORY REQUIREMENT AND RELIED ON DEFENSE

COUNSEL TO FOLLOW THROUGH WITH WHAT HE PROMISED
TO DO ON THE RECORD.

Moore appealed to the Eighth District Court of Appeals arguing that his

entire sentence was void. The Eighth District reversed the trial court's decision and

held that Moore's entire sentence was not void and that the only portion of the

sentence that was void was the portion waiving the mandatory fine. State v. Moore,

8th Dist. No. 96111, 96112, 2011-Ohio-4246, ¶17. The Eighth District subsequently

certified its decision in conflict with the Ninth District's decision in DeLoach.

This Court granted review on the certified conflict question. Since the time

this case has been pending before this Honorable Court, Robert Moore has filed an

affidavit of indigence with the trial court.

LAW AND ARGUMENT

CERTIFIED CONFLICT QUESTION: WHETHER A TRIAL
COURT'S FAILURE TO IMPOSE THE STATUTORILY
MANDATED FINE REQUIRED BY R.C. 2925.11(E) and
2929.18(B)(1) WHEN NO AFFIDAVIT OF INDIGENCY IS FILED

WITH THE CLERK OF COURT PRIOR TO THE FILING OF

THE TRIAL COURT'S JOURNAL ENTRY OF SENTENCING

RENDERS THAT PART OF THE SENTENCE WAIVING THE

FINE VOID.

The certified conflict question has one of three potential answers: (1) That

portion of the sentence waiving the fine is not void; (2) Only the portion of the
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sentence waiving the fine is void, but not other portions of the sentence; or (3)

Defendant's entire sentence in void. The State submits while the trial court did not

strictly follow R.C. 2929.18(B)(1), its actions does not render Moore's sentence void

or even the waiver portion void.

Although, the accepted certified question is phrased in terms of "failure to

impose the statutorily mandated fine" the State draws a distinction between the

"failure to impose the statutorily mandated fine" and a "affirmative waiver of the

statutorily mandated fine". The answer to the certified question should be limited

to the instances in which a trial court affirmatively waives the mandatory fine,

without the affidavit of indigency being first filed with the court clerk. This is

warranted because the two cases in conflict State u. Deloach, 9th Dist. No.

05CA008858, 2006-Ohio-4409 and the Eighth District's decision in State v. Moore,

8th Dist. No. 96111, 96112, 2011-Ohio-4246 involved situations where the trial court

waived or suspended the mandatory fine without the affidavit being filed.

I. Statutory Provision

R.C. 2925.11 and R.C. 2925.03 contain provisions requiring the imposition of

mandatory fines. R.C. 2929.18(B)(1) provides the mechanism in which a trial court

can waive the mandatory fine for a first, second, or third degree felony violation of

Chapter 2925. The statutory provision states:

(B)(1) For a first, second, or third degree felony violation of any
provision of Chapter 2925., 3719., or 4729. of the Revised Code, the
sentencing court shall impose upon the offender a mandatory fine of at
least one-half of, but not more than, the maximum statutory fine
amount authorized for the level of the offense pursuant to division
(A)(3) of this section. If an offender alleges in an affidavit filed with the
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court prior to sentencing that the offender is indigent and unable to
pay the mandatory fine and if the court determines the offender is an
indigent person and is unable to pay the mandatory fine described in
this division, the court shall not impose the mandatory fine upon the

offender.

Clearly in this case, the affidavit of indigency was not filed with the court prior to

sentencing. Based on the certified conflict, the question is what is the effect of the

trial court's affirmative waiver based upon the trial court relying on the affidavit

being filed.

II. Whether State v. Gipson, 80 Ohio St.3d 626, 1998-Ohio-659, 687
N.E.2d 750 controls?

This Court in State v. Gipson, 80 Ohio St.3d 626, 1998-Ohio-659, 687 N.E.2d

750 held:

The requirement of former R.C. 2925.11(E)(5) (and the current
analogous provisions of R.C. 2929.18[B][1] ) that an affidavit of
indigency must be "filed" with the court prior to sentencing means that
the affidavit must be delivered to the clerk of court for purposes of
filing and must be indorsed by the clerk of court, i.e., time-stamped,
prior to the filing of the journal entry reflecting the trial court's

sentencing decision.

Gipson, syllabus of the court.

Prior to May 1, 2002, under the "syllabus" rule, the syllabus of a Supreme

Court opinion stated the controlling points of law. As of May 1, 2002 the Supreme

Court Rules for Reporting Opinions were amended to eliminate the "syllabus" rule

"in favor of recognition that a syllabus or the text of the opinion may both state the

law.

The line of appellate cases holding that failure to impose the mandatory fine

renders the sentence void has developed based on the text of this Court's opinion in
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Gipson. In Gipson, the trial court imposed a mandatory fine. The defendant had

yet to file his affidavit of indigence but asked the trial court to waive the mandatory

fine at the sentencing hearing. The trial court refused. The Eighth District held

that the trial court abused its discretion in finding that the defendant could pay the

fine. This Court accepted Gipson to review whether the trial court abused its

discretion in imposing a mandatory fine:

The sole issue in this appeal may be phrased in terms of the following
question: Did the trial court abuse its discretion and/or commit an
error of law by imposing the mandatory fine and by requiring Gipson
to satisfy that fine over the course of his probation?

Gipson, at 633.

It was only in text of the opinion that this Court remarked that the filing of

the affidavit was an issue of jurisdiction but went on to hold that the failure to file

the affidavit of indigence prior to sentencing was a sufficient reason to find that the

trial court did not commit error by imposing the mandatory fine. Id. This Court's

decision in Gipson is that a trial court can require the affidavit of indigence prior to

waiving the mandatory fine and does not abuse its discretion when it imposes the

mandatory fine if the affidavit is not filed. Many facts can be developed during the

course of a trial or presentence investigation that would show that a defendant does

not and will not have the ability to pay the mandatory fine. The filing of the

affidavit of indigence under R.C. 2925.11(E) and R.C. 2929.18(B)(1) should not be

considered error that renders the sentence void.
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III. Trial court's actions were not an attempt to disregard statutory

requirements.

The actions taken by the trial court in this case is similar to the actions taken

by the trial court in State v. Deloach, 9th Dist. No. 05CA008858, 2006-Ohio-4409. In

Deloach, the trial court suspended the mandatory fine in Deloach's case upon filing

of an affidavit of poverty. No affidavit of poverty was filed. The Ninth District

disagreed that actions, such as the trial court's in this case, was an attempt to

"disregard statutory requirements." DeLoach, at ¶6.

"Void sentencing orders occur when there is an attempt by the court `to

disregard statutory requirements when imposing a sentence"' State v. Beasley, 14

Ohio St.3d 74, 75(1984). Alternatively, "a voidable sentence is one that a court has

jurisdiction to impose, but was imposed irregularly or erroneously." State v. Payne,

114 Ohio St.3d 502, 2007-Ohio-4642, 873 N.E.2d 306.

In these cases, Moore filed a motion to vacate and void sentence citing the

fact that he had never filed an affidavit of indigence. Moore argued that his

sentence in each case should have been vacated in its entirety. The trial court

denied the motions finding that when it waived the mandatory fine it was not

attempting to disregard any statutory requirements.

R.C. 2925.03 and R.C. 2925.11 directs a trial court to impose a mandatory

fine for specified offenses. R.C. 2929.18(B)(1) provides the mechanism to waive the

mandatory fine. Unlike, post-release control, which the trial court must impose, the

trial court is not obliged to impose a mandatory fine if certain conditions are met.

While the prerequisites of R.C. 2929.18(B)(1) were not met, the trial court had the
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ability to waive the mandatory fine. In this case the waiver of mandatory fine was

done irregularly or erroneously but it was not void.

In State v. Joseph, 125 Ohio St.3d 76, 2010-Ohio-954, 926 N.E.2d 278, this

Court considered the following conflict question: "May a trial court impose court

costs pursuant to R.C. 2947.23 in its sentencing entry, when it did not impose those

costs in open court at the sentencing hearing?" Joseph citing to State v. Simpkins,

117 Ohio St.3d 420, 2008-Ohio-1197, 884 N.E.2d 568, argued that because the trial

court imposed court costs, without mentioning it at a sentencing hearing, then the

sentence was void. This Court distinguished court costs from postrelease control

citing the following:

There is a significant difference between postrelease control and court
costs in regard to the duty of the trial court. Simply, the trial court has
the power to waive the payment of court costs; the court does not have
the power to waive the imposition of postrelease control. While the
imposition of court costs is mandatory, the court's waiver of payment
remains discretionary. The trial court does not act outside of its
jurisdiction when it fails to require payment of court costs.

Further, there are no implications or effects upon the powers of other

branches of government when a trial court fails to impose court costs.

No other entity derives its jurisdiction from the court's imposition of

costs.

Joseph, 125 Ohio St.3d 76, 2010-Ohio-954, ¶¶18.

The Ninth District has likened the "mandatory fine" to "court costs" in

determining that the failure to properly impose the mandatory fine is void. The

Ninth District has held:

[while] the mandatory fine for a violation of [R.C. 2925.11(A) ] is a
punishment, * * * it does share the other attributes that distinguish
court costs from post-release control. As with the court costs in Joseph,
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the trial court is required by statute to impose the fine, but there exists
a mechanism by which the fine may be waived. See R.C. 2929.18(B)(1).
Further, failure to impose a mandatory fine does not affect the powers
of other branches of government. Accordingly, while the trial court
erred in not imposing a mandatory fine, or making a finding of
indigency, this error does not render Mr. Jones's sentences void.

State v. Lewis, 9th Dist. No. 25661, 2011-Ohio-4069 citing State v. Joseph, 125 Ohio

St.3d 76, 2010-Ohio-954. See also State v. Jones, 9th Dist. No. 10CA0022, 2011-

Ohio-1450.

A trial court does not have the ability to waive the imposition of postrelease

control. A trial court can waive the mandatory imposition of court costs and

likewise can waive the mandatory imposition of fines. The principle set forth in

Joseph compels a conclusion that even though there is an irregularity in the waiver

of the mandatory fine, that irregularity does not render the waiver void.

While the State relies upon Lewis, the certified issue should be limited to the

scenario of the irregular waiver. The situation of completely failing to impose the

mandatory fine without the waiver is not implicated in this case. Here the trial

court waived Moore's mandatory fine, something it had the discretion to do.

Nothing in Lewis would preclude a party from challenging the trial court's waiver of

the mandatory fine without the affidavit in a direct appeal. Accordingly, the trial

court's waiver of Moore's fine did not render that part of the sentence void.

IV. Error with respect to the failure to properly waive the mandatory
fine does not render the entire sentence void.

Even if a defendant had timely raised a challenge to a trial court's waiver of

the mandatory fine, the appropriate remedy should not be to declare error with

regard to the entire sentence. This argument equally applies if this Court
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determines that the waiver of the mandatory fine without the affidavit of indigency

void. Under both scenarios, the only portion of the sentence in error is the portion

pertaining to the mandatory fine.

Prior to State v. Fischer, 128 Ohio St.3d 92, 2010-Ohio-6238, 942 N.E.2d 332,

this Court held that for sentences imposed prior to July 11, 2006 in which a court

failed to impose postrelease control, the sentence was void and the defendant was

entitled to a de novo hearing. State v. Singleton, 124 Ohio St.3d 173, 2009-Ohio-

6434, 920 N.E.2d 958. Imposition of post-release control because a court failed to

impose post-release control, the entire sentence was void. As in State v. Bezak, 114

Ohio St.3d 94, 2007-Ohio-3250, 868 N.E.2d 961, situations arose where post-release

control could not be imposed due to the competition of a prison sentence. Under

prior law, situations arose where defendants argued because post-release control

was not properly imposed (and they had completed their prison sentence, therefore

post release control could never be corrected), they had not in fact been convicted.

This argument was raised by the defendant in State v. Huber, 8th Dist. No.

94382, 2010-Ohio-5598. Huber had argued because his prior completed sentence

omitted post-release control, that the entire conviction was "void" and as a result he

could not be convicted of a repeat violent offender specification. The Eighth District

rejected Huber's argument relying upon the Eleventh District's decision in State v.

Biondo, 11th Dist. No. 2009-P-0009, 2009-Ohio-7005. The Eleventh District

recognized that, "[a]s a court of law, we must be careful to avoid obtaining results

that are absurd or unreasonable whenever possible." The defendant in Biondo
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attempted to avoid paying a properly imposed mandatory fine and court costs

because postrelease control was not properly imposed. See Binodo, ¶5. The position

that the entire sentence is void due to one portion of a sentence being void would

lead to absurd results. Defendants who did not receive the mandatory driver's

license suspension due to certain conviction should not be able to argue they do not

have a prior conviction. Those who were not given proper post-release control

should not be able to argue they are not liable for a mandatory fine and likewise

those who did not receive the mandatory fine should not be able to argue they

cannot have post-release control imposed on them. Huber and Biondo shows that

appellate courts recognized before Fischer absurd arguments that could arise when

an entire sentence is declared void due to error in only one portion of the sentence.

Instead of declaring the entire sentence void, the sentence should be broken

down into the sanctions or combinations of sanctions. Error with respect to one

sanction should not be deemed to invalidate other sanctions properly imposed. So

too if one sanction is void, that should not render every other sanction void as well.

This Court in Fischer held that the "new sentencing hearing to which an

offender is entitled under State v. Bezak is limited to the imposition of postrelease

control." The logic of Fischer can be expanded to other portions of a sentence. A

sentence is the sanction or combination of sanctions that can be imposed by a court.

R.C. 2929.01(EE) reads:

(EE) "Sentence" means the sanction or combination of sanctions
imposed by the sentencing court on an offender who is convicted of or
pleads guilty to an offense.
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A sanction is defined in R.C. 2929.01(DD) as:

(DD) "Sanction" means any penalty imposed upon an offender who is
convicted of or pleads guilty to an offense, as punishment for the
offense. "Sanction" includes any sanction imposed pursuant to any
provision of sections 2929.14 to 2929.18 or 2929.24 to 2929.28 of the
Revised Code.

Therefore, a "sentence" can consist of a prison sentence and a financial

sanction such as the fine. When a defendant raises sentencing errors on appeal,

such as arguing certain counts are allied, and prevails, the remedy is not to vacate

the entire sentence, but to vacate only that portion of the sentence that was in

error. See for example State v. Saxon, 109 Ohio St.3d 176, 2006-Ohio-1245, 846

N.E.2d 824 and State v. Wilson, 129 Ohio St.3d 214, 2011-Ohio-2669, 951 N.E.2d

381. In Saxon, this Court rejected the "sentencing package" doctrine" and held that

the court of appeals erred when it vacated the entire multiple-offense sentence

based upon an appealed error in the sentence for a single offense. Similarly, a

defendant who prevails on an allied offense claim is entitled to a de novo sentencing

hearing for only the offense found to be allied, not for the entire sentence

Wilson, at ¶15, 33.

This Court accounted for Saxon in Fischer:

As the first dissenting opinion in Bezak observed, "b]ust as **339
Saxon held that a complete resentencing is not required when a
defendant on appeal prevails on a challenge only as to one offense in a
multiple-offense case, a complete de novo resentencing is not required
when a defendant prevails only as to the postrelease-control aspect of a
particular sentence. In this situation, the postrelease-control
component of the sentence is fully capable of being separated from the
rest of the sentence as an independent component, and the limited
resentencing must cover only the postrelease control. It is only the
postrelease-control aspect of the sentence that is void and that must be
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rectified. The remainder of the sentence, which the defendant did not
successfully challenge, remains valid under the principles of res
judicata. See Saxon [109 Ohio St.3d 176, 2006-Ohio-1245, 846 N.E.2d
824], at ¶ 17-19." Bezak, 114 Ohio St.3d 94, 2007-Ohio-3250, 868
N.E.2d 961, at ¶ 21-22 (O'Connor, J., dissenting, joined by Lundberg
Stratton, J.). See also id. at ¶ 31 (Lanzinger, J., dissenting) ("I believe
this holding [in Bezak] undermines the principles of res judicata that
we discussed in [ Saxon]").

Fischer, at ¶17.

This Court ultimately held that, "when a judge fails to impose statutorily mandated

postrelease control as part of a defendant's sentence, that part of the sentence is

void and must be set aside." Fischer, at ¶26.

The reasoning for only vacating sentences in error rather than the entire

sentence as in Saxon, the reasoning for vacating only the offenses deemed allied as

in Wilson, and the reasoning for vacating the portion of the sentence failing to

impose the statutorily mandated postrelease control as in Fischer has compelling

application in this case. Where a reviewing court determines that a sanction or lack

of a sanction is void, then only that portion of the sentence should be deemed void.

Such an application avoids absurd interpretations of the law.

If the trial court's waiver of the mandatory fine is deemed error or void then

that should not affect any other valid sanction.

CONCLUSION

The certified issue should be answered as followed, if a trial court

affirmatively waives the mandatory fine without the affidavit being filed although

in error, is not void. If it is deemed void, then this Court should hold that if one
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sanction is void it does not render other sanctions void; therefore, when the waiver

of the mandatory fine is void, that does not affect other portions of the sentence.

Respectfully Submitted,
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Notice of Certified Conflict

Appellant, the State of Ohio, gives notice of a certified conflict to the Ohio

Supieme Court from the Eighth District Court of Appeals, Case No. CA-96111, 96112

decided and journalized on August 25, 2011. On September 26, 2o11, the Eighth District

has certified the following question to this Court:

Whether a trial court's failure to impose the statutorily mandated fine
required by R.C. 2925.11(E) and 2929.18(B)(1) when no affidavit of
indigency is filed with the clerk of court prior to the filing of the trial
court's journal entry of sentencing renders that part of the sentence

waiving the fine void.

The Eighth District has declared that its decision in State v. Moore is in conflict with the

Ninth District's decision in State v. DeLoach, Lorain App. No. 05CDoo8858, 20o6-

Ohio-4409•

Under Sup.Ct. R. 4.i, a copy of the Eighth District's order certifying the conflict

and copies of all decisions determined to be in conflict are attached in the accompanying

appendix.

Respectfully Submitted,

WILLIAM D. MASON
CUYAHOGA COUNTY PROSECUTOR

By:_
DANIEL T. VAN ( #oo84614)
Assistant Prosecuting Attorney
lhe7ustice enter, 8Tb-r'l^.
120o Ontario Street
Cleveland, Ohio 44113
(216) 443-78oo
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

A copy of foregoing Notice of Certified Conflict and Appendix has been mailed

this 29th day of September, 2011 to ROBERT MOORE III, Inmate No. 572-298, Richland

Correctional Institution, P.O. Box 8107, Mansfield, Ohio 44901.
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Appendix

Order of the Eighth District Court of Appeals certifying a conflict in State v.

Moore, Cuyahoga App. No. 96111, 96112, issued September 26, 2011.

Decision of the. Eighth District Court of Appeals in State v. Moore,

Cuyahoga App. No. 96111, 96112, 2oi1-Ohio-4246.

Decision of Ninth District Court of Appeals in State v. Deloach, Lorain App.

No. 05CAoo8858, 20o6-Ohio-4409.
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Court of Appeals of Ohio, Eighth District

Courity of Cuyahoga
Gerald E. Fuerst, Clerk of Courts

STATE OF OHIO

Appellee COA NO. LOWER COURT NO.
9611.1 CP CR-525878
96112 CP CR-521078

COMMON PLEAS COURT

-vs-

ROBERT MOORE III

Appellant MOTION NO. 447474

Date 09/26/11

Journal Entry

Plaintiff-appellee's motion to certify a conflict is granted. This court's decision in State v_ Moore, tll,
Cuyahoga App. Nos. 96111 and 96112, 201 1-Ohio-4246, is in conflict with State v. DeLoach, Lorain App.
No. 05CA008858, 2006-Ohio-4409. In Moore, tll, this court declined to follaw the reasoning in DeLoach,
which held that the trial courts failure to impose statutbrily mandated fines, even where no affidavit of
indigency was filed prior to sentencing, did not render the defendant`s sentence void.

We hereby certify the following issue to the Ohio Supreme Court pursuant to Article IV, Section 3(B)(40) of
the Ohio Constitution and App.R. 25:

Whether a trial court's failure to impose the statutorily mandated fine required by R.C. 2925.11(E) and
2929.1 8(B)(1) when no affidavit of indigency is filed with the clerk of court prior to the filing of the trial
court's journal entry of sentencing renders that part of the sentence waiving the fine void.

RECEIVED FOR FILING

aEP 2 8 2011

Adm. Judge, MARY EILEEN KILBANE, Concurs

Judge LARRY A. JONES Concurs

DANIEL T. VAN
ASST. COUNTY PROSECUTOR
8TH FLOOR JUSTICE CENTER
1200 ONTARIO STREET
CLEVELAND, OH 44113

CA 96111

Judge KATHLEEN ANN KEOUGH

DANIEL T. VAN
ASST. COUNTY PROSECUTOR
BTH FLOOR JUSTICE CENTER
1200 ONTARIO STREET
CLEVELAND, OH 44113

CA 96112

,/
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[Cite as State v. Moore, 2011-Ohio-4246.]

Court of Appeals of Ohio
EIGHTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

COUNTY OF CUYAHOGA

JOURNAL ENTRY AND OPINION
Nos. 96111 and 96112

STATE OF OHIO

PLAINTIFF-APPELLEE
vs.

ROBERT MOORE, III

DEFENDANT-APPELI.ANT

JUDGMENT:
SENTENCE VACATED IN PART;

REMANDED FOR RESENTENCING

Criminal Appeal from the
Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas

Case Nos. CR-525878 an&C -521078

BEFORE: Keough, J., Kilbane, A.J., and Jones, J.

RELEASED AND JOURNALIZED: August 25, 2011
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FOR APPELLANT

Robert Moore, III, pro se
Inmate No. 572-298
Richland Correctional Institution
P.O. Box 8107
Mansfield, OH 44901

ATTORNEYS FOR APPELLEE

William D. Mason
Cuyahoga County Prosecutor
Thorin O. Freeman
Assistant Prosecuting Attorney
The Justice Center, 8th Floor
1200 Ontario Street
Cleveland, OH 44113

KATHLEEN ANN KEOUGH, J.:

{¶ 1} In these consolidated appeals, defendant-appellant, Robert

Moore, III, pro se, appeals from the trial court's judgments denying his

motions to vacate his sentences. For the reasons that follow, we vacate

Moore's sentences in part and remand with instructions to the trial court to

resentence Moore in accord with R.C. 2929.18(B)(1).

{¶ 2} In August 2009, Moore pled guilty in Case No. CR-525878 to drug

trafficking in violation of R.C. 2925.03(A)(1), a second degree felony, with a



one-year firearm specification. The trial court sentenced him to an

agreed-upon sentence of nine years incarceration. In its sentencing entry,

the trial court noted "affidavit of indigency being filed" and, hence, the court

waived the mandatory fine required under R.C. 2929.18(B)(1).

{¶ 3} Likewise, in Case No. CR-521078, Moore was convicted in

August 2009 after a jury trial of drug possession in violation of R.C. 2925.11

with firearm and forfeiture specifications; drug trafficking in violation of R.C.

2925.03 with firearm and forfeiture specifications; and carrying concealed

weapons in violation of R.C. 2923.12. The trial court sentenced Moore to an

agreed sentence of 13 years incarceration. The trial court's journal entry

stated that Moore had waived his appellate rights; it further stated that

"based on defendant's affidavit of indigency being filed, fine and costs are

waived including mandatory fines:"

{¶ 41 In September 2009, Moore filed timely notices of appeal in both

cases; this court subsequently dismissed the appeals because the trial court's

sentencing entry indicated that as part of the agreed-upon sentences, Moore

had waived his appellate rights.

11[5) Nearly a year later, on September 3, 2010, Moore filed a°motion

to vacate and void sentence"_in both cases.. In his motionsMoore argued that_

his sentence in each case was void because the trial court had not imposed the

mandatory fine required by R.C. 2925.11(E) and 2929.18(B), and counsel had

8



never filed the affidavit of indigency that would have allowed Moore to avoid

the fine. Thus, Moore contended that his sentence in each case should be

vacated in its entirety and the trial court should resentence him de novo and

restore his appellate rights. The trial court denied Moore's motions.

1116) Moore filed separate notices of appeal and merit briefs in both

cases. This court sua sponte consolidated the appeals foi purposes of hearing

and disposition because the merits briefs are identical and raise the same

assignment of error and issues of law.

II

{¶7} R.C. 2925.11 directs a trial court to impose all mandatory fines

specified for a particular crime, unless the court determines that the

defendant is indigent. R.C. 2929.18(B)(1) provides, in relevant part:

118) "For a first, second, or third degree felony violation of any

provision of Chapter 2925, **'` the sentencing court shall impose upon the

offender a mandatory fine ***. If an offender alleges in an affidavit filed

with the court prior to sentencing that the offender is indigent and unable to

pay the mandatory fine and if the court determines the offender is an

indigent person and is unable to pay the mandatory fine described in this

division,_the court shallnot impose the mandatory fine_^on the offender." .

{¶9} In State v. Gipson, 80 Ohio St.3d 626, 1998-Ohio-659, 687 N.E.2d

750, the Supreme Court found that "R.C. 2929.18(B)(1) clearly requires that a

9



sentencing court shall impose a mandatory fine upon an offender unless (1)

the offender alleges in an affidavit filed with the court prior to sentencing

that the offender is indigent and unable to pay the mandatory fine, and (2)

the court determines that the offender is in fact an indigent person and is

unable to pay the mandatory fine." Id. at 631; see, also, State v. Mock,

Mahoning App. No. 08 MA 94, 2010-Ohio-2747, ¶60.

{¶ 10} The Gipson Court further found that although the phrase "prior

to sentencing" suggests that a defendant must file his affidavit prior to the

sentencing hearing to invoke the statutory procedure for avoiding the

mandatory fine, an affidavit of indigency may be properly filed with the clerk

of court and time stamped at any time prior to the filing of the trial court's

journal entry reflecting the sentencing decision. Id., paragraph one of the

syllabus; see, also, State v. Shepard, Cuyahoga App. No. 95433,

2011-Ohio-2525, ¶8, citing Gipson.

{¶ 11) In his single assignment of error, Moore argues that although

defense counsel asserted at sentencing that Moore had signed an affidavit of

indigency and counsel would file a motion to waive the mandatory fine, he

never signed such an affidavit and no affidavit of indigency was ever filed

al urt was re^uired.._withxkie csturt.. . The-re_f^e,lVloo^e co_nteatd^ 4_iakA_h_e... t i co

to impose the mandatory fine under R.C. 2925.11(E) and 2929.18(B)(1), and

10



the trial court's failure to follow the statutory requirements renders his entire

sentence void.

{¶ 12} Moore asks us to follow the reasoning adopted by the First

District in State v. Fields, 183 Ohio App.3d 647, 2009-Ohio-4187, 918 N.E.2d

204. Fields was convicted upon guilty pleas to cocaine possession and having

a weapon under a disability and sentenced to five years incarceration. On

appeal, the court held that his sentence for cocaine possession was void

because the trial court did not include the statutorily mandated fine in the

sentence. The appellate court fourid that Fields had not filed an affidavit of

indigency and the trial court had made no finding concerning Fields's

indigency or his ability to pay. Thus, the court held that "R.C. 2925.11(E)

and 2929.18(B)(1) required the trial court to impose the fine." Id., ¶7, citing

Gipson, supra.

{¶ 13} The First District found that "[a]ny attempt by a court to

disregard statutory requirements when imposing a sentence renders the

attempted sentence a nullity or void," Id., ¶8, citing State v. Beasley (1984),

14 Ohio St.3d 74, 75, 471 N.E.2d 774, and that Fields's sentence was

therefore void because it did not contain the statutorily mandated fine. The

court vacated_Fields's sentence.and remanded the case for,a new sentencing_.

hearing. Moore suggests that this court do the same here.

11



{¶ 14} The State, on the other hand, concedes that an affidavit of

indigency was never filed in either case, despite counsel's assurances that he

would do so, but argues that Moore's sentences are not void. The State asks

us to adopt the reasoning of the Ninth District in State u. DeLoach, Lorain

App. No. 05CA008858, 2006-Ohio-4409. In DeLoach, the defendant entered

a guilty plea to various drug charges. The trial court imposed and then

suspended the mandatory drug fines. Nearly eight years later, after it

learned that the sheriffs office was holding approximately $3000 that

belonged to the defendant, the State filed a motion to reinstate the mandatory

fines. The trial court denied the motion, finding that it lacked jurisdiction to

address the issue. Id., ¶2-3.

(1115) On appeal, the State argued that the trial court erred in denying

the motion because DeLoach's sentence was void because the trial court failed

to impose the mandatory fines where an affidavit of indigency had not been

filed, and a trial court has jurisdiction to correct a void sentence. The Ninth

District rejected this argument. It agreed that the trial court had erred in

suspending the mandatory fine because DeLoach had not filed an affidavit of

indigency, but held that such error did not render the sentence void. Id., ¶5.

It further held that a niyerror in therocedure utilized by__the_trialcourt for

imposing the fine was a matter for direct appeal, and to hold otherwise would

allow the State to exploit the trial court's error nearly eight years after it was

12



committed. Id., ¶6. This court believes the reasoning set forth in Fields is

the better approach. In light of Gipson, it is clear that an affidavit of

indigency must be filed prior to the filing of the trial court's journal entry of

sentencing. Here, no such affidavit was ever filed in either case.

Accordingly, under R.C. 2925.11(E) and 2929.18(B)(1), the trial court was

required to impose the mandatory fine and its failure to do so rendered that

part of Moore's sentence waiving the fine void.

{¶ 16} As this court stated in State v. Lisboa, Cuyahoga App. No. 89283,

2008-Ohio-571, "'Crimes are statutory, as are the penalties therefor, and the

only sentence which a trial judge may impose is that provided for by statute *

**. A court has no power to substitute a different sentence for that provided

for by law.' State v. Beasley (1984), 14 Ohio St.3d 74, 75, 471 N.E.2d 774,

citing Colegrove v. Burns (1964), 175 Ohio St. 437, 195 N.E.2d 811. `Any

attempt by a court to disregard statutory requirements when imposing a

sentence renders the attempted sentence a nullity or void.' Id." See, also,

State v. Bezak, 114 Ohio St.3d 94, 2007-Ohio-3250, 868 N.E.2d 961, at ¶10

(sentence is void when it does not contain a statutorily mandated term). "A

trial court's judgment over a criminal case is limited after it renders

-judgmPnt,. hut- it, r-etains_j.urisslictitzn to_cDxrer-t_-a.... vod_-.a-entence.. -.-.rid. i_s

authorized to do so." State v. Simpkins, 117 Ohio St.3d 420, 2008-Ohio-1197,
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884 N.E.2d 568, ¶10, superceded by statute on other grounds as stated in

State v. Singleton, 124 Ohio St.3d 173, 2009-Ohio-6434, 920 N.E.2d 958.

{¶ 17} In State v. Fischer, 128 Ohio St.3d 92, 2010-Ohio-6238, 942

N.E.2d 332, the Ohio Supreme Court clarified that when an appellate court

concludes that a sentence imposed by a trial court is void in part, only the

portion that is void may be vacated or otherwise amended. Id., ¶28. Moore

challenges only that part of his sentence in each case waiving the mandatory

fine and we find error only with respect to that part of his sentence. Thus,

Moore's assertion that his sentence in each case should be vacated in toto due

to the trial court's sentencing error regarding the mandatory fine is without

merit. Likewise, any assertion that his appellate rights should be restored

upon resentencing is without merit.

{¶ 18} The trial court denied Moore's motions to vacate his sentence

because, it stated, "[t]his court was not attempting to disregard a statutory

requirement and relied on defense counsel to follow through with what he

promised to do on the record." Hence, it apparently concluded that despite

its failure. to impose the statutorily required fine, that part of Moore's

sentence waiving the fine was not void. We agree that in waiving the

mandatory f_.ne the_trial eourt relied on defense counsePs assurance, that he

would file an affidavit of indigency. Nevertheless, no such affidavit was filed

prior to entry of the trial court's sentencing dec3siora, and therefore, under

14



R.C. 2929.18(B)(1), the trial court was required to impose the statutorily

mandated fine. Because it did not do so, that part of Moore's sentence

waiving the mandatory fine is void. Accordingly, we vacate the part of

Moore's sentence waiving the mandatory fine and remand for resentencing in

both cases consistent with R.C. 2929.18(B)(1).

{¶ 19} Moore's assignment of error is sustained in part; sentence vacated

in part; remanded for resentencing in part.

It is ordered that appellant recover from appellee costs herein taxed.

The court finds there were reasonable grounds for this appeal.

It is ordered that a special mandate issue out of this court directing the

common pleas court to carry this judgment into execution.

A certified copy of this entry shall constitute the mandate pursuant to

Rule 27 of the Rules of Appellate Procedure.

KATHLEEN ANN KEOUGH, JUDGE

MARY EILEEN KILBANE, A.J., and
LARRY A. JONES, J., CONCUR
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STATE OF OHIO

COUNTY OF LORAIN

STATE OF OHIO

Appellant

V.

MARCUS DELOACH

Appellee

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS
)ss: NINTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

)

C. A. No. 05CA008858

APPEAL FROM JUDGMENT
ENTERED IN "I BE
COURT OF COMMON PLEAS
COUNTY OF LORAIN, OHIO
CASE No. 96CR048601

DECISION AND JOURNAL ENTRY

Dated: August 28, 2006

This cause was heard upon the record in the trial court. Each error assigned

has been reviewed and the following disposition is made:

CARR, Judge.

{¶1} Appellant, the State of Ohio, appeals the decision of the Lorain

County Court of Common Pleas, which denied its motion to reinstate mandatory

fines and for writ of execution for costs. This Court affirms.

1.

{1[2} On April 10, 1996, appellee was indicted by the Lorain County

Grand Jury on two counts of drug abuse, one count of falsification, and two counts

^' possessron o^ drug a^ e para ea. Gn ^uly 8; 199G, appellee en ered a

plea of guilty to the charges in the indictment. The trial court accepted appellee's

guilty plea and sentenced him accordingly. Mandatory drug firies were imposed

16



2

on counts one through four. These mandatory fines were suspended by the trial

court on February 27, 1997, and again on March 28, 1997.

{¶3} On October 19, 2005, after learning that the Lorain County Sheriff s

Office was holding approximately $3,300 belonging to appellee, the State filed a

motion to reinstate the mandatory fines and for a writ of execution of costs. The

trial court denied the State's motion, fmding that it lacked jurisdiction to address

the issue. Appellant sought and was granted leave to appeal the trial court's

decision. On appeal, the State presents one assignment of error for review.

II.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR

"THE TRIAI. COURT ABUSED ITS DISCRETION WHEN IT
DENIED APPELLANT'S MOTION TO REINSTATE
MANDATORY FINES AND FOR WRIT OF EXECUTION FOR
COSTS BECAUSE THE TRIAL COURT HAD THE
JURISDICTION TO CORRECT A VOID SENTENCE AND WAS
REQUIRED AS A MATTER OF LAW TO CORRECT SUCH
VOID SENTENCE."

{1[4} In its sole assignment of error, the State argues that the trial court

erred in denying its motion to reinstate mandatory fines and for writ of execution

for costs. Specifically, the State argues that appellee's sentence was void and that

the trial court had jurisdiction to correct such a void sentence. This Court

disagrees.

11 -{$5} Appellant was senteneed on February 27, 1997. T-he sentencing

entry stated: "Mandatory fines are HELD IN ABEYANCE pending hearing

Court of Appeals of Ohio, Ninth Judicial District
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3

or/SUSPENDED pursuant to the affidavit of indigency." On March 28, 1997, an

entry was journalized stating that the mandatory fines in appellant's case were

suspended upon the filing of an "affidavit of poverty." There is no record of an

affidavit of indigency being filed on appellant's behalf in the trial court's docket.

The State argues that the trial court erred in suspending the mandatory fines

because appellant failed to file an affidavit of indigency prior to sentencing. As

they existed in 1996, R.C. 2925.11 and 2925.14 provided that a trial court could

suspend a mandatory drug fine upon the filing of an affidavit of poverty prior to

sentencing. See State v. Gipson (1998), 80 Ohio St.3d 626. While it appears from

the record that the State is correct in its assertion that the trial court erred in

suspending the mandatory fines because appellant failed to file an affidavit of

indigency prior to sentencing, this Court does not agree with the State that such an

error renders appellant's sentence void. Moreover, the State did not cite any

specific rule or precedent to support its argument that the failure of a trial court to

require the filing of an affidavit of indigency prior to suspending fines renders a

sentence void. "Void sentencing orders occur when there is an attempt by the

court `to disregard statutory requirements when imposing a sentence."' State v.

Neville, 9th Dist. No. 02CA0001, 2002-Ohio-5422, at ¶7, quoting State v. Beasley

(1984), 14 Ohio St.3d 74, 75.

}¶6} In the present case, this Court is not persuaded that the trial court's

procedural error was an attempt to "disregard statutory requirements." Rather, on

Court of Appeals of Ohio, Ninth Judicial District
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appeal, the State candidly admits that its attempt to remedy the error in appellant's

sentence was motivated by the fact that it appears that appellant, eight years after

his sentencing, is no longer indigent. In its brief, the State does not allege that

appellant was not indigent when the fines were suspended, i.e., the State does not

allege that any of the elements of appellant's sentence were improper.

Accordingly, we are not confronted with a case in which a statute requires a

particular element be imposed during sentencing and the trial court failed to do so.

See State v. Jordan, 104 Ohio St.3d 21, 2004-Ohio-6085, at ¶26. Rather, the State

alleges that the procedure utilized in arriving at those elements was improper.'

This Court finds that any error in the procedure utilized by the trial court to

suspend the fmes was properly a matter for direct appeal. To permit a contrary

result would allow the State to exploit the trial court's error nearly eight years after

it was committed.

{1%7} Pursuant to App.R. 4(A), a notice of appeal must be filed within

thirty days of the journalization of the judgment of conviction and sentence in a

criminal case. The State did not file a direct appeal to challenge the trial court's

ruling. Instead, the State waited more than eight years to challenge the ruling.

Because the State failed to file a timely notice of appeal, the trial court lacked

' It appears that the trial court erroneously relied upon an earlier finding of
indigency to support the suspension of appellant's fines, while the statute in effect
at the time required the execution of a new affidavit of indigency to support

suspending the fines.

CouR of Appeals of Ohio, Ninth Judicial District
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jurisdiction to rule on the State's motion to reinstate mandatory fines and for writ

of execution for costs. App.R. 4. The State's assignment of error is overruled.

III.

{1[8} The State's assignment of error is overruled. The decision of the

Lorain County Court of Common Pleas is affirmed.

Judgment affirmed.

The Court fmds that there were reasonable grounds for this appeal.

We order that a special mandate issue out of this Court, directing the Court

of Common Pleas, County of Lorain, State of Ohio, to carry this judgment into

execution. A certified copy of this journal entry shall constitute the mandate,

pursuant to App.R. 27.

Immediately upon the filing hereof, this document shall constitute the

journal entry of judgment, and it shall be file stamped by the Clerk of the Court of

Appeals at which time the period for review shall begin to run. App.R. 22(E).

The Clerk of the Court of Appeals is instructed to mail a notice of entry of this

judgment to the parties and to make a notation of the mailing in the docket,

pursuant to App.R. 30.

Costs taxed to appellant.

Court of Appeals of Ohio, Ninth Judicial District
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DONNAJ.CARR
FOR THE COURT

WHITMORE, P. J.
BOYLE, J.
CONCUR

APPEARANCES:

DENNIS WILL, Prosecuting Attomey, and BILLIE JO BELCHER, Assistant
Prosecuting Attorney, 225 Court Street, Elyria, Ohio 44035, for appellant.

KENNETH M. LIEUX, Attorney at Law, 110 Middle Avenue, 2°d Floor, Elyria,
Ohio 44035, for appellee.
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WestLaw,
R.C. § 2929.01

Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated Currentness

Title XXIX. Crimes--Procedure (Refs & Annos)

ryM Chapter 2929. Penalties and Sentencing (Refs & Annos)

Fp Definitions
.r..t 2929.01 Deflnitions

As used in this chapter:

Page 1

(A)(1) "Alternative residential facility" means, subject to division (A)(2) of this section, any facility other than

an offender's home or residence in which an offender is assigned to live and that satisfies all of the following

criteria:

(a) It provides programs through which the offender may seek or maintain employment or may receive educa-

tion, training, treatment, or habilitation.

(b) It has received the appropriate license or certificate for any specialized education, training, treatment, habilit-
ation, or other service that it provides from the govemment agency that is responsible for licensing or certifying

that type of education, training, treatment, habilitation, or service.

(2) "Altemative residential facility" does not include a community-based correctional facility, jail, halfway

house, or prison.

(B) "Basic probation supervision" means a requirement that the offender maintain contact with a person appoin-

ted to supervise the offender in accordance with sanctions imposed by the court or imposed by the parole board

pursuant to section 2967.28 of the Revised Code. "Basic probation supervision" includes basic parole supervi-

sion and basic post-release control supervision.

(C) "Cocaine," "hashish," "L.S.D.," and "unit dose" have the same meanings as in section 2925.01 of the Re-

vised Code.

(D) "Community-based correctional facility" means a community-based correctional facility and program or dis-

trict community-based correctional facility and program developed pursuant to sections 2301.51 to 2301.58 of

the Revised Code.

(E) "Community control sanction" means a sanction that is not a prison term and that is described in section

2929.15, 2929.16, 2929.17, or 2929.18 of the Revised Code or a sanction that is not a jail term and that is de-

scribed in section 2929.26, 2929.27, or 2929.28 of the Revised Code. "Community control sanction" includes

© 2012 Thomson Reuters. No Claim to Orig. US Gov. Works.
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R.C. § 2929.01 Page 2

probation if the sentence involved was imposed for a felony that was committed prior to July 1, 1996, or if the

sentence involved was imposed for a misdemeanor that was committed prior to January 1, 2004.

(F) "Controlled substance," "marihuana," "schedule I," and "schedule II" have the same meanings as in section

3719.01 of the Revised Code.

(G)'Curfew" means a requirement that an offender during a specified period of time be at a designated place.

(H) "Day reporting" means a sanction pursuant to which an offender is required each day to report to and leave a

center or other approved reporting location at specified times in order to participate in work, education or train-

ing, treatment, and other approved programs at the center or outside the center.

(I) "Deadly weapon" has the same meaning as in section 2923.11 of the Revised Code.

(J) "Drug and alcohol use monitoring" means a program under which an offender agrees to submit to random

chemical analysis of the offender's blood, breath, or urine to determine whether the offender has ingested any al-

cohol or other drugs.

(K) "Drug treatment program" means any program under which a person undergoes assessment and treatment

designed to reduce or completely eliminate the person's physical or emotional reliance upon alcohol, another

drug, or alcohol and another drug and under which the person may be required to receive assessment and treat-

ment on an outpatient basis or may be required to reside at a facility other than the person's home or residence

while undergoing assessment and treatment.

(L) "Economic loss" means any economic detriment suffered by a victim as a direct and proximate result of the

commission of an offense and includes any loss of income due to lost time at work because of any injury caused

to the victim, and any property loss, medical cost, or funeral expense incurred as a result of the commission of

the offense. "Economic loss" does not include non-economic loss or any punitive or exemplary damages.

(M) "Education or training" includes study at, or in conjunction with a program offered by, a university, college,

or technical college or vocational study and also includes the completion of primary school, secondary school,

and literacy curricula or their equivalent.

(N) "Firearm" has the same meaning as in section 2923.11 of the Revised Code.

(0) "Halfway house" means a facility licensed by the division of parole and community services of the depart-

ment of rehabilitation and correction pursuant to section 2967.14 of the Revised Code as a suitable facility for

the care and treatment of adult offenders.

© 2012 Thomson Reuters. No Claim to Orig. US Gov. Works.
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R.C. § 2929.01 Page 3

(P) "House arrest" means a period of confinement of an offender that is in the offender's home or in other

premises specified by the sentencing court or by the parole board pursuant to section 2967.28 of the Revised

Code and during which all of the following apply:

(1) The offender is required to remain in the offender's home or other specified premises for the specified period

of confinement, except for periods of time during which the offender is at the offender's place of employment or

at other premises as authorized by the sentencing court or by the parole board.

(2) The offender is required to report periodically to a person designated by the court or parole board.

(3) The offender is subject to any other restrictions and requirements that may be imposed by the sentencing

court or by the parole board.

(Q) "Intensive probation supervision" means a requirement that an offender maintain frequent contact with a

person appointed by the court, or by the parole board pursuant to section 2967.28 of the Revised Code, to super-

vise the offender while the offender is seeking or maintaining necessary employment and participating in train-

ing, education, and treatment programs as required in the court's or parole board's order. "Intensive probation su-

pervision" includes intensive parole supervision and intensive post-release control supervision.

(R) "Jail" means a jail, workhouse, minimum security jail, or other residential facility used for the confinement

of alleged or convicted offenders that is operated by a political subdivision or a combination of political subdivi-

sions of this state.

(S) "Jail term" means the term in a jail that a sentencing court imposes or is authorized to impose pursuant to

section 2929.24 or 2929.25 of the Revised Code or pursuant to any other provision of the Revised Code that au-

thorizes a term in a jail for a misdemeanor conviction.

(T) "Mandatory jail term" means the term in a jail that a sentencing court is required to impose pursuant to divi-

sion (G) of section 1547.99 of the Revised Code, division (E) of section 2903.06 or division (D) of section

2903.08 of the Revised Code, division (E) or (G) of section 2929.24 of the Revised Code, division (B) of section

4510.14 of the Revised Code, or division (G) of section 4511.19 of the Revised Code or pursuant to any other

provision of the Revised Code that requires a term in a jail for a misdemeanor conviction.

(U) "Delinquent child" has the same meaning as in section 2152.02 of the Revised Code.

(V) "License violation report" means a report that is made by a sentencing court, or by the parole board pursuant

to section 2967.28 of the Revised Code, to the regulatory or licensing board or agency that issued an offender a

professional license or a license or permit to do business in this state and that specifies that the offender has
been convicted of or pleaded guilty to an offense that may violate the conditions under which the offender's pro-

fessional license or license or permit to do business in this state was granted or ar, offense for which the offend-
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er's professional license or license or permit to do business in this state may be revoked or suspended.

(W) "Major drug offender" means an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to the possession of, sale of,

or offer to sell any drug, compound, mixture, preparation, or substance that consists of or contains at least one

thousand grams of hashish; at least one hundred grams of cocaine; at least two thousand five hundred unit doses

or two hundred fifty grams of heroin; at least five thousand unit doses of L.S.D. or five hundred grams of L.S.D.

in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form; or at least one hundred times the amount of any

other schedule I or II controlled substance other than marihuana that is necessary to commit a felony of the third

degree pursuant to section 2925.03, 2925.04, 2925.05, or 2925.11 of the Revised Code that is based on the pos-

session of, sale of, or offer to sell the controlled substance.

(X) "Mandatory prison term" means any of the following:

(1) Subject to division (X)(2) of this section, the term in prison that must be imposed for the offenses or circum-

stances set forth in divisions (F)(1) to (8) or (F)(12) to (18) of section 2929.13 and division (B) of section

2929.14 of the Revised Code. Except as provided in sections 2925.02, 2925.03, 2925.04, 2925.05, and 2925.11

of the Revised Code, unless the maximum or another specific term is required under section 2929.14 or

2929.142 of the Revised Code, a mandatory prison term described in this division may be any prisonYerm au-

thorized for the level of offense.

(2) The term of sixty or one hundred twenty days in prison that a sentencing court is required to impose for a

third or fourth degree felony OVI offense pursuant to division (G)(2) of section 2929.13 and division (G)(1)(d)

or (e) of section 4511.19 of the Revised Code or the term of one, two, three, four, or five years in prison that a

sentencing court is required to impose pursuant to division (G)(2) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code.

(3) The term in prison imposed pursuant to division (A) of section 2971.03 of the Revised Code for the offenses

and in the circumstances described in division (F)(I 1) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code or pursuant to di-

vision (B)(1)(a), (b), or (c), (B)(2)(a), (b), or (c), or (B)(3)(a), (b), (c), or (d) of section 2971.03 of the Revised

Code and that term as modified or terminated pursuant to section 2971.05 of the Revised Code.

(Y) "Monitored time" means a period of time during which an offender continues to be under the control of the

sentencing court or parole board, subject to no conditions other than leading a law-abiding life.

(Z) "Offender" means a person who, in this state, is convicted of or pleads guilty to a felony or a misdemeanor.

(AA) "Prison" means a residential facility used for the confinement of convicted felony offenders that is under

the control of the department of rehabilitation and correction but does not include a violation sanction center op-

erated under authority of section 2967.141 of the Revised Code.

(BB) "Prison term" includes either of the following sanctions for an offender:
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(1) A stated prison term;

(2) A term in a prison shortened by, or with the approval of, the sentencing court pursuant to section 2929.143,

2929.20, 2967.26, 5120.031, 5120.032, or 5120.073 of the Revised Code.

(CC) "Repeat violent offender" means a person about whom both of the following apply:

(1) The person is being sentenced for committing or for complicity in committing any of the following:

(a) Aggravated murder, murder, any felony of the first or second degree that is an offense of violence, or an at-

tempt to commit any of these offenses if the attempt is a felony of the first or second degree;

(b) An offense under an existing or former law of this state, another state, or the United States that is or was sub-

stantially equivalent to an offense described in division (CC)(1)(a) of this section.

(2) The person previously was convicted of or pleaded guilty to an offense described in division (CC)(1)(a) or

(b) of this section.

(DD) "Sanction" means any penalty imposed upon an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to an of-

fense, as punishment for the offense. "Sanction" includes any sanction imposed pursuant to any provision of sec-

tions 2929.14 to 2929.18 or 2929.24 to 2929.28 of the Revised Code.

(EE) "Sentence" means the sanction or combination of sanctions imposed by the sentencing court on an offender

who is convicted of or pleads guilty to an offense.

(FF) "Stated prison term" means the prison term, mandatory prison term, or combination of all prison terms and

mandatory prison terms imposed by the sentencing court pursuant to section 2929.14, 2929.142, or 2971.03 of

the Revised Code or under section 2919.25 of the Revised Code. "Stated prison term" includes any credit re-

ceived by the offender for time spent in jail awaiting trial, sentencing, or transfer to prison for the offense and

any time spent under house arrest or house arrest with electronic monitoring imposed after eaming credits pursu-

ant to section 2967,193 of the Revised Code.

(GG) "Victim-offender mediation" means a reconciliation or mediation program that involves an offender and

the victim of the offense committed by the offender and that includes a meeting in which the offender and the

victim may discuss the offense, discuss restitution, and consider other sanctions for the offense.

(HH) "Fourth degree felony OVI offense" means a violation of division (A) of section 4511.19 of the Revised

Code that, under division (G) of that section, is a felony of the fourth degree.
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(II) "Mandatory term of local incarceration" means the term of sixty or one hundred twenty days in a jail, a com-

munity-based correctional facility, a halfway house, or an altemative residential facility that a sentencing court

may impose upon a person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a fourth degree felony OVI offense pursuant

to division (G)(1) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code and division (G)(1)(d) or (e) of section 4511.19 of the

Revised Code.

(JJ) "Designated homicide, assault, or kidnapping offense," "violent sex offense," "sexual motivation specifica-

tion," "sexually violent offense," "sexually violent predator," and "sexually violent predator specification" have

the same meanings as in section 2971.01 of the Revised Code.

(KK) "Sexually oriented offense," "child-victim oriented offense," and "tier III sex offender/child-victim of-

fender," have the same meanings as in section 2950.01 of the Revised Code.

(LL) An offense is "committed in the vicinity of a child" if the offender commits the offense within thirty feet of

or within the same residential unit as a child who is under eighteen years of age, regardless of whether the of-

fender knows the age of the child or whether the offender knows the offense is being committed within thirty

feet of or within the same residential unit as the child and regardless of whether the child actually views the

commission of the offense.

(MM) "Family or household member" has the same meaning as in section 2919.25 of the Revised Code.

(NN) "Motor vehicle" and "manufactured home" have the same meanings as in section 4501.01 of the Revised

Code.

(00) "Detention" and "detention facility" have the same meanings as in section 2921.01 of the Revised Code.

(PP) "Third degree felony OVI offense" means a violation of division (A) of section 4511.19 of the Revised

Code that, under division (G) of that section, is a felony of the third degree.

(QQ) "Random drug testing" has the same meaning as in section 5120.63 of the Revised Code.

(RR) "Felony sex offense" has the same meaning as in section 2967.28 of the Revised Code.

(SS) "Body armor" has the same meaning as in section 2941.1411 of the Revised Code.

(TT) "Electronic monitoring" means monitoring through the use of an electronic monitoring device.

(UU) "Electronic monitoring device" means any of the following:
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(1) Any device that can be operated by electrical or battery power and that conforms with all of the following:

(a) The device has a transmitter that can be attached to a person, that will transmit a specified signal to a receiv-

er of the type described in division (UU)(1)(b) of this section if the transmitter is removed from the person,

turned off, or altered in any manner without prior court approval in relation to electronic monitoring or without

prior approval of the department of rehabilitation and correction in relation to the use of an electronic monitor-

ing device for an inmate on transitional control or otherwise is tampered with, that can transmit continuously

and periodically a signal to that receiver when the person is within a specified distance from the receiver, and

that can transmit an appropriate signal to that receiver if the person to whom it is attached travels a specified dis-

tance from that receiver.

(b) The device bas a receiver that can receive continuously the signals transmitted by a transmitter of the type

described in division (UU)(1)(a) of this section, can transmit continuously those signals by a wireless or landline

telephone connection to a central monitoring computer of the type described in division (UU)(I)(c) of this sec-

tion, and can transmit continuously an appropriate signal to that central monitoring computer if the device has

been turned off or altered without prior court approval or otherwise tampered with. The device is designed spe-

cifically for use in electronic monitoring, is not a converted wireless phone or another tracking device that is

clearly not designed for electronic monitoring, and provides a means of text-based or voice communication with

the person.

(c) The device has a central monitoring computer that can receive continuously the signals transmitted by a

wireless or landline telephone connection by a receiver of the type described in division (UU)(1)(b) of this sec-

tion and can monitor continuously the person to whom an electronic monitoring device of the type described in

division (UU)(1)(a) of this section is attached.

(2) Any device that is not a device of the type described in division (UU)(1) of this section and that conforms

with all of the following:

(a) The device includes a transmitter and receiver that can monitor and determine the location of a subject per-

son at any time, or at a designated point in time, through the use of a central monitoring computer or through

other electronic means.

(b) The device includes a transmitter and receiver that can determine at any time, or at a designated point in
time, through the use of a central monitoring computer or other electronic means the fact that the transmitter is

tumed off or altered in any manner without prior approval of the court in relation to the electronic monitoring or

without prior approval of the department of rehabilitation and correction in relation to the use of an electronic

monitoring device for an inmate on transitional control or otherwise is tampered with.

(3) Any type of technology that can adequately track or detennine the location of a subject person at any time

and that is approved by the director of rehabilitation and correction, including, but not limited to, any satellite

technology, voice tracking system, or retinal scanning system that is so approved.
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(VV) "Non-economic loss" means nonpecuniary harm suffered by a victim of an offense as a result of or related

to the commission of the offense, including, but not limited to, pain and suffering; loss of society, consortium,

companionship, care, assistance, attention, protection, advice, guidance, counsel, instruction, training, or educa-

tion; mental anguish; and any other intangible loss.

(WW) "Prosecutor" has the same meaning as in section 2935.01 of the Revised Code.

(XX) "Continuous alcohol monitoring" means the ability to automatically test and periodically transmit alcohol

consumption levels and tamper attempts at least every hour, regardless of the location of the person who is being

monitored.

(YY) A person is "adjudicated a sexually violent predator" if the person is convicted of or pleads guilty to a vi-
olent sex offense and also is convicted of or pleads guilty to a sexually violent predator specification that was in-
cluded in the indictment, count in the indictment, or information charging that violent sex offense or if the per-
son is convicted of or pleads guilty to a designated homicide, assault, or kidnapping offense and also is con-
victed of or pleads guilty to both a sexual motivation specification and a sexually violent predator specification

that were included in the indictment, count in the indictment, or information charging that designated homicide,

assault, or kidnapping offense.

(ZZ) An offense is "committed in proximity to a school" if the offender commits the offense in a school safety

zone or within five hundred feet of any school building or the boundaries of any school premises, regardless of

whether the offender knows the offense is being committed in a school safety zone or within five hundred feet of

any school building or the boundaries of any school premises.

(AAA) "Human trafficking" means a scheme or plan to which all of the following apply:

(1) Its object is to subject a victim or victims to involuntary servitude, as defined in section 2905.31 of the Re-

vised Code, to compel a victim or victims to engage in sexual activity for hire, to engage in a performance that

is obscene, sexually oriented, or nudity oriented, or to be a model or participant in the production of material

that is obscene, sexually oriented, or nudity oriented.

(2) It involves at least two felony offenses, whether or not there has been a prior conviction for any of the felony

offenses, to which all of the following apply:

(a) Each of the felony offenses is a violation of section 2905.01, 2905.02, 2905.32, 2907.21, 2907.22, or

2923.32, division (A)(1) or (2) of section 2907.323, or division (B)(1), (2), (3), (4), or (5) of section 2919.22 of

the Revised Code or is a violation of a law of any state other than this state that is substantially similar to any of

the sections or divisions of the Revised Code identified in this division.

(b) At least one of the felony offenses was committed in this state.
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(c) The felony offenses are related to the same scheme or plan and are not isolated instances.

(BBB) "Material," "nudity," "obscene," "performance," and "sexual activity" have the same meanings as in sec-

tion 2907.01 of the Revised Code.

(CCC) "Material that is obscQne, sexually oriented, or nudity oriented" means any material that is obscene, that

shows a person participating or engaging in sexual activity, masturbation, or bestiality, or that shows a person in

a state of nudity.

(DDD) "Performance that is obscene, sexually oriented, or nudity oriented" means any performance that is ob-

scene, that shows a person participating or engaging in sexual activity, masturbation, or bestiality, or that shows

a person in a state of nudity.
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R.C. § 2925.03

Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated Currentness

Title XXIX. Crimes--Procedure (Refs & Annos)

's® Chapter 2925. Drug Offenses (Refs & Annos)

^p Drug Offenses
.+-+ 2925.03 Trafficking offenses

(A) No person shall knowingly do any of the following:

(1) Sell or offer to sell a controlled substance;

Page 1

(2) Prepare for shipment, ship, transport, deliver, prepare for distribution, or distribute a controlled substance,
when the offender knows or has reasonable cause to believe that the controlled substance is intended for sale or

resale by the offender or another person.

(B) This section does not apply to any of the following:

(1) Manufacturers, licensed health professionals authorized to prescribe drugs, pharmacists, owners of pharrna-

cies, and other persons whose conduct is in accordance with Chapters 3719., 4715., 4723., 4729., 4730., 4731.,

and 4741. of the Revised Code;

(2) If the offense involves an anabolic steroid, any person who is conducting or participating in a research

project involving the use of an anabolic steroid if the project has been approved by the United States food and

drug administration;

(3) Any person who sells, offers for sale, prescribes, dispenses, or administers for livestock or other nonhuman
species an anabolic steroid that is expressly intended for administration through implants to livestock or other
nonhuman species and approved for that purpose under the "Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act," 52 Stat.

1040 (1938), 21 U.S.C.A. 301, as amended, and is sold, offered for sale, prescribed, dispensed, or administered

for that purpose in accordance with that act.

(C) Whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of one of the following:

(1) If the drug involved in the violation is any compound, mixture, preparation, or substance included in sched-

ule I or schedule II, with the exception of marihuana, 1-Pentyl-3-(I-naphthoyl)indole,

1-Butyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole, 1-[2- (4-morpholinyl)ethyl]-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole,

5-(1,1-dimethylheptyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol,
5-(1,1-dimethyloctyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol, cocaine, L.S.D., heroin, and hashish, whoever
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violates division (A) of this section is guilty of aggravated trafficking in drugs. The penalty for the offense shall

be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(1)(b), (c), (d), (e), or (f) of this section, aggravated trafficking

in drugs is a felony of the fourth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in de-

termining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(1)(c), (d), (e), or (f) of this section, if the offense was commit-

ted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, aggravated trafficking in drugs is a felony of the

third degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose

-a prison term on the offender.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds the bulk

amount but is less than five times the bulk amount, aggravated trafficking in drugs is a felony of the third de-

gree, and, except as otherwise provided in this division, there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense.

If aggravated trafficking in drugs is a felony of the third degree under this division and if the offender two or

more times previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a felony drug abuse offense, the court shall im-

pose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the third degree. If the

amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or

in the vicinity of a juvenile, aggravated trafficking in drugs is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall

impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree.

(d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five times

the bulk amount but is less than fifty times the bulk amount, aggravated trafficking in drugs is a felony of the

second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a

felony of the second degree. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was com-

mitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, aggravated trafficking in drugs is a felony of the

first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a

felony of the first degree.

(e) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty times the bulk amount but is less than one hundred

times the bulk amount and regardless of whether the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the

vicinity of a juvenile, aggravated trafficking in drugs is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as

a mandatory prison term one of the prison tenns prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(f) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one hundred times the bulk amount and regardless of
whether the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, aggravated traf-

ficking in drugs is a felony of the first degree, the offender is a major drag offender, and the court shall impose

as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(2) If the drug involved in the violation is any compound, mixture, preparation, or substance inch,:ded in sched-
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ule III, IV, or V, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of trafficking in drugs. The penalty for

the offense shall be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(2)(b), (c), (d), or (e) of this section, trafficking in drugs is a

felony of the fifth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining

whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(2)(c), (d), or (e) of this section, if the offense was committed in

the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in drugs is a felony of the fourth degree, and

division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on

the offender.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds the bulk

amount but is less than five times the bulk amount, trafficking in drogs is a felony of the fourth degree, and divi-

sion (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term for the

offense. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity

of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in drugs is a felony of the third degree, and there is a pre-

sumption for a prison term for the offense.

(d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five times

the bulk amount but is less than fifty times the bulk amount, trafficking in drugs is a felony of the third degree,

and there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense. If the amount of the drug involved is within that

range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in

drugs is a felony of the second degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense.

(e) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty

times the bulk amount, trafficking in drugs is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a man-

datory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree. If the amount of the

drug involved equals or exceeds fifty times the bulk amount and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a

school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in dmgsis a felony of the first degree, and the court shall im-

pose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(3) If the drog involved in the violation is marihuana or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance contain-

ing marihuana other than hashish, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of trafficking in mari-

huana. The penalty for the offense shall be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(3)(b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), or (h) of this section, trafficking in

marihuana is a felony of the fifth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in de-

termining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(3)(c), (d), (e), (f), (g), or (h) of this section, if the offense was
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committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the

fourth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to im-

pose a prison term on the offender.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two hun-

dred grams but is less than one thousand grams, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the fourth degree, and di-
vision (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the

offender. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity

of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the third degree, and division

(C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the of-

fender.

(d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one thou-

sand grams but is less than five thousand grams, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the third degree, and di-

vision (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the

offender. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity

of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the second degree, and there is

a presumption that a prison term shall be imposed for the offense.

(e) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five thou-

sand grams but is less than twenty thousand grams, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the third degree, and

there is a presumption that a prison term shall be imposed for the offense. If the amount of the drug involved is

within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, traf-

ficking in marihuana is a felony of the second degree, and there is a presumption that a prison term shall be im-

posed for the offense.

(f) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds twenty

thousand grams but is less than forty thousand grams, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the second degree,

and the court shall impose a mandatory prison term of five, six, seven, or eight years. If the amount of the drug

involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a

juvenile, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory pris-

on term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(g) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds forty

thousand grams, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a man-

datory prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the second degree. If the amount of the

drug involved equals or exceeds forty thousand grams and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a
school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall

impose as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(h) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the offense involves a gift of twenty grams or less of mari-

huana, trafficking in marihuana is a minor misdemeanor upor, a first offense and a misdemeanor of the third de-
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gree upon a subsequent offense. If the offense involves a gift of twenty grams or less of marihuana and if the of-

fense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in marihuana is a mis-

demeanor of the third degree.

(4) If the drug involved in the violation is cocaine or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing

cocaine, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of trafficking in cocaine. The penalty for the of-

fense shall be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(4)(b), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, trafficking in co-

caine is a felony of the fifth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determ-

ining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(4)(c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, if the offense was com-

mitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the foureh

degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a

prison term on the offender.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five

grams but is less than ten grams of cocaine, trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the fourth degree, and division

(B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term for the of-

fense. If the amount of the drog involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of

a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the third degree, and there is a pre-

sumption for a prison term for the offense.

(d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds ten grams

but is less than twenty grams of cocaine, trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the third degree, and, except as oth-

erwise provided in this division, there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense. If trafficking in cocaine

is a felony of the third degree under this division and if the offender two or more times previously has been con-

victed of or pleaded guilty to a felony drug abuse offense, the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one

of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the third degree. If the amount of the drug involved is within that

range and if the offense was conunitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in

cocaine is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison

terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree.

(e) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drag involved equals or exceeds twenty
grams but is less than twenty-seven grams of cocaine, trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the second degree, and

the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second

degree. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity

of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the first degree, and the court

shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.
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(f) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds twenty-seven grams but is less than one hundred grams

of cocaine and regardless of whether the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a

juvenile, trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison

term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(g) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one hundred grams of cocaine and regardless of wheth-

er the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in cocaine is a

felony of the first degree, the offender is a major drug offender, and the court shall impose as a mandatory pris-

on term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(5) If the drug involved in the violation is L.S.D. or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing

L.S.D., whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of trafficking in L.S.D. The penalty for the offense

shall be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(5)(b), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, trafficking in
L.S.D. is a felony of the fifth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determ-

ining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(5)(c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, if the offense was com-

mitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony of the fourth de-

gree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison

term on the offender,

(c) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds ten unit

doses but is less than fifty unit doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals or exceeds one gram but is less than five

grams of L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony

of the fourth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to

impose a prison term for the offense. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense

was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of ajuvenile, trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony of the

third degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense.

(d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty unit

doses but is less than two hundred fifty unit doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals or exceeds five grams but

is less than twenty-five grams of L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, traffick-

ing in L.S.D. is a felony of the third degree, and, except as otherwise provided in this division, there is a pre-

sumption for a prison term for the offense. If trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony of the third degree under this divi-

sion and if the offender two or more times previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a felony drug

abuse offense, the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony
of the third degree. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in
the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony of the second degree, and
the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second

degree.
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(e) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two hun-

dred fifty unit doses but is less than one thousand unit doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals or exceeds

twenty-five grams but is less than one hundred grams of L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid

distillate form, trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory

prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree. If the amount of the drug in-

volved is within that range and if the offense was connnitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a ju-

venile, trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term

one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(f) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one thousand unit doses but is less than five thousand

unit doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals or exceeds one hundred grams but is less than five hundred grams

of L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form and regardless of whether the offense

was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony of the

first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a

felony of the first degree.

(g) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five thousand unit doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or
equals or exceeds five hundred grams of L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form

and regardless of whether the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile,

trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony of the first degree, the offender is a major drug offender, and the court shall im-

pose as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(6) If the drug involved in the violation is heroin or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing

heroin, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of trafficking in heroin. The penalty for the offense

shall be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(6)(b), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, trafficking in

heroin is a felony of the fifth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determ-

ining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(6)(c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, if the offense was com-
mitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in heroin is a felony of the fourth de-

gree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison

term on the offender.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds ten unit

doses but is less than fifty unit doses or equals or exceeds one gram but is less than five grams, trafficking in

heroin is a felony of the fourth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in de-

termining whether to impose a prison term for the offense. If the amount of the dmg involved is within that
range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in

heroin is a felony of the third degree, and there is a presumption for a prison termfor the offense.
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(d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty unit

doses but is less than one hundred unit doses or equals or exceeds five grams but is less than ten grams, traffick-

ing in heroin is a felony of the third degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense. If the

amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or

in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in heroin is a felony of the second degree, and there is a presumption for

a prison term for the offense.

(e) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one hun-

dred unit doses but is less than five hundred unit doses or equals or exceeds ten grams but is less than fifty
grams, trafficking in heroin is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison

term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree. If the amount of the drug involved is

within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, traf-

ficking in heroin is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the

prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(f) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five hundred unit doses but is less than two thousand

five hundred unit doses or equals or exceeds fifty grams but is less than two hundred fifty grams and regardless

of whether the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in

heroin is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison

terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(g) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two thousand five hundred unit doses or equals or ex-

ceeds two hundred fifty grams and regardless of whether the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school

or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in heroin is a felony of the first degree, the offender is a major drag

offender, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a

felony of the first degree.

(7) If the drug involved in the violation is hashish or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing

hashish, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of trafficking in hashish. The penalty for the of-

fense shall be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(7)(b), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, trafficking in

hashish is a felony of the fifth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in de-

terrnining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(7)(c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, if the offense was com-

mitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in hashish is a felony of the fourth

degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a

prison term on the offender.

(c) Except as otherwise provided ia t.his division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds ten grams
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but is less than fifty grams of hashish in a solid form or equals or exceeds two grams but is less than ten grams

of hashish in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, trafficking in hashish is a felony of the

fourth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to im-

pose a prison term on the offender. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was

committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in hashish is a felony of the third

degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a

prison term on the offender.

(d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty
grams but is less than two hundred fifty grams of hashish in a solid form or equals or exceeds ten grams but is

less than fifty grams of hashish in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, trafficking in

hashish is a felony of the third degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in de-

termining whether to impose a prison term on the offender. If the amount of the drug involved is within that

range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in

hashish is a felony of the second degree, and there is a presumption that a prison term shall be imposed for the

offense.

(e) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two hun-

dred fifty grams but is less than one thousand grams of hashish in a solid form or equals or exceeds fifty grams

but is less than two hundred grams of hashish in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form,

trafficking in hashish is a felony of the third degree, and there is a presumption that a prison term shall be im-

posed for the offense. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed

in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in hashish is a felony of the second degree,

and there is a presumption that a prison term shall be imposed for the offense.

(f) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drng involved equals or exceeds one thou-

sand grams but is less than two thousand grams of hashish in a solid form or equals or exceeds two hundred
grams but is less than four hundred grams of hashish in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate

form trafficking in hashish is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose a mandatory prison term

of five, six, seven, or eight years. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was

committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in hashish is a felony of the first

degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony

of the first degree.

(g) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two thou-
sand grams of hashish in a solid form or equals or exceeds four hundred grams of hashish in a liquid concen-

trate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, trafficking in hashish is a felony of the second degree, and the court
shall impose as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison tenn prescribed for a felony of the second degree.

If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two thousand grams of hashish in a solid form or equals or
exceeds four hundred grams of hashish in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form and if the

offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in hashish is a

felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison termpre-

scribed for a felony of the first degree.
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(8)Ifthe drug involved in the violation is 1-Pentyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole, 1-Butyl-3-(I-naphthoyl)indole,

1-[2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl]-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole,
5-(1,1-dimethylheptyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol, or
5-(1,1-dimethyloctyl)-2-[(IR,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol or a compound, mixture, preparation, or sub-

stance containing 1-Pentyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole, 1-Butyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole,

1-[2-(4-morpholinyl) ethyl]-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole,
5-(1,1-dimethylheptyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol, or
5-(1,1-dimethyloctyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-bydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol, whoever violates division (A) of this section is

guilty of trafficking in spice. The penalty for the offense shall be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(8)(b) of this section, trafficking in spice is a felony of the fifth

degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a

prison term on the offender.

(b) If the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in spice is

a felony of the fourth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining

whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(D) In addition to any prison term authorized or required by division (C) of this section and sections 2929.13

and 2929.14 of the Revised Code, and in addition to any other sanction imposed for the offense under this sec-

tion or sections 2929.11 to 2929.18 of the Revised Code, the court that sentences an offender who is convicted

of or pleads guilty to a violation of division (A) of this section shall do all of the following that are applicable

regarding the offender:

(1) If the violation of division (A) of this section is a felony of the first, second, or third degree, the court shall

impose upon the offender the mandatory fine specified for the offense under division (B)(1) of section 2929.18

of the Revised Code unless, as specified in that division, the court determines that the offender is indigent. Ex-

cept as otherwise provided in division (H)(1) of this section, a mandatory fine or any other fine imposed for a vi-

olation of this section is subject to division (F) of this section. If a person is charged with a violation of this sec-

tion that is a felony of the first, second, or third degree, posts bail, and forfeits the bail, the clerk of the court

shall pay the forfeited bail pursuant to divisions (D)(1) and (F) of this section, as if the forfeited bail was a fine

imposed for a violation of this section. If any amount of the forfeited bail remains after that payment and if a

fine is imposed under division (H)(1) of this section, the clerk of the court shall pay the remaining amount of the

forfeited bail pursuant to divisions (H)(2) and (3) of this section, as if that remaining amount was a fine imposed

under division (H)(1) of this section.

(2) The court shall suspend the driver's or commercial driver's license or permit of the offender in accordance

with division (G) of this section.

(3) If the offender is a professionally licensed person, the court inunediately shall comply with section 2925.38

of the Revised Code.
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(E) When a person is charged with the sale of or offer to sell a bulk amount or a multiple of a bulk amount of a

controlled substance, the jury, or the court trying the accused, shall determine the amount of the controlled sub-

stance involved at the time of the offense and, if a guilty verdict is returned, shall return the findings as part of

the verdict. In any such case, it is unnecessary to find and return the exact amount of the controlled substance in-

volved, and it is sufficient if the finding and return is to the effect that the amount of the controlled substance in-

volved is the requisite amount, or that the amount of the controlled substance involved is less than the requisite

amount.

(F)(1) Notwithstanding any contrary provision of section 3719.21 of the Revised Code and except as provided in

division (H) of this section, the clerk of the court shall pay any mandatory fine imposed pursuant to division

(D)(1) of this section and any fine other than a mandatory fine that is imposed for a violation of this section pur-

suant to division (A) or (B)(5) of section 2929.18 of the Revised Code to the county, township, municipal cor-

poration, park district, as created pursuant to section 511.18 or 1545.04 of the Revised Code, or state law en-

forcement agencies in this state that primarily were responsible for or involved in making the arrest of, and in

prosecuting, the offender. However, the clerk shall not pay a mandatory fine so imposed to a law enforcement
agency unless the agency has adopted a written internal control policy under division (F)(2) of this section that

addresses the use of the fine moneys that it receives. Each agency shall use the mandatory fines so paid to sub-

sidize the agency's law enforcement efforts that pertain to drug offenses, in accordance with the written intemal

control policy adopted by the recipient agency under division (F)(2) of this section.

(2)(a) Prior to receiving any fine moneys under division (F)(1) of this section or division (B) of section 2925.42
of the Revised Code, a law enforcement agency shall adopt a written internal control policy that addresses the

agency's use and disposition of all fine moneys so received and that provides for the keeping of detailed finan-

cial records of the receipts of those fine moneys, the general types of expenditures made out of those fine

moneys, and the specific amount of each general type of expenditure. The policy shall not provide for or permit

the identification of any specific expenditure that is made in an ongoing investigation. All financial records of

the receipts of those fine moneys, the general types of expenditures made out of those fine moneys, and the spe-

cific amount of each general type of expenditure by an agency are public records open for inspection under sec-

tion 149.43 of the Revised Code. Additionally, a written intemal control policy adopted under this division is

such a public record, and the agency that adopted it shall comply with it.

(b) Each law enforcement agency that receives in any calendar year any fine moneys under division (F)(1) of

this section or division (B) of section 2925.42 of the Revised Code shall prepare a report covering the calendar

year that cumulates all of the information contained in all of the public financial records kept by the agency pur-

suant to division (F)(2)(a) of this section for that calendar year, and shall send a copy of the cumulative report,

no later than the first day of March in the calendar year following the calendar year covered by the report, to the

attorney general. Each report received by the attorney general is a public record open for inspection under sec-
tion 149.43 of the Revised Code. Not later than the fifteenth day of April in the calendar year in which the re-

ports are received, the attorney general shall send to the president of the senate and the speaker of the house of

representatives a written notification that does all of the following:

(i) Indicates that the attorney general has received from law enforcement agencies reports of the type described

in this division that cover the previous calendar year and indicates that the reports were received under this divi-
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sion;

(ii) Indicates that the reports are open for inspection under section 149.43 of the Revised Code;

(iii) Indicates that the attorney general will provide a copy of any or all of the reports to the president of the sen-

ate or the speaker of the house of representatives upon request.

(3) As used in division (F) of this section:

(a) "Law enforcement agencies" includes, but is not limited to, the state board of pharmacy and the office of a

prosecutor.

(b) "Prosecutor" has the same meaning as in section 2935.01 of the Revised Code.

(G) When required under division (D)(2) of this section or any other provision of this chapter, the court shall

suspend for not less than six months or more than five years the driver's or commercial driver's license or permit

of any person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to any violation of this section or any other specified provi-

sion of this chapter. If an offender's driver's or commercial driver's license or permit is suspended pursuant to

this division, the offender, at any time after the expiration of two years from the day on which the offender's
sentence was imposed or from the day on which the offender finally was released from a prison term under the

sentence, whichever is later, may file a motion with the sentencing court requesting termination of the suspen-

sion; upon the filing of such a motion and the court's finding of good cause for the termination, the court may

terrninate the suspension.

(H)(1) In addition to any prison term authorized or required by division (C) of this section and sections 2929.13

and 2929.14 of the Revised Code, in addition to any other penalty or sanction imposed for the offense under this

section or sections 2929.11 to 2929.18 of the Revised Code, and in addition to the forfeiture of property in con-

nection with the offense as prescribed in Chapter 2981. of the Revised Code, the court that sentences an offender

who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a violation of division (A) of this section may impose upon the offender

an additional fine specified for the offense in division (B)(4) of section 2929.18 of the Revised Code. A fine im-
posed under division (H)(1) of this section is not subject to division (F) of this section and shall be used solely

for the support of one or more eligible alcohol and drug addiction programs in accordance with divisions (H)(2)

and (3) of this section.

(2) The court that imposes a fine under division (H)(1) of this section shall specify in the judgment that imposes

the fine one or more eligible alcohol and drug addiction programs for the support of which the fine money is to

be used. No alcohol and drug addiction program shall receive or use money paid or collected in satisfaction of a

fine imposed under division (H)(1) of this section unless the program is specified in the judgment that imposes

the fine. No alcohol and drug addiction program shall be specified in the judgment unless the program is an eli-
gible alcohol and drug addiction program and, except as otherwise provided in division (H)(2) of this section,

unless the program is located in the county in which the court that imposes the fine is iocated or in a county that
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is immediately contiguous to the county in which that court is located. If no eligible alcohol and drug addiction

program is located in any of those counties, the judgment may specify an eligible alcohol and drug addiction

program that is located anywhere within this state.

(3) Notwithstanding any contrary provision of section 3719.21 of the Revised Code, the clerk of the court shall

pay any fine imposed under division (H)(1) of this section to the eligible alcohol and drug addiction program

specified pursuant to division (H)(2) of this section in the judgment. The eligible alcohol and drug addiction pro-

gram that receives the fine moneys shall use the moneys only for the alcohol and drug addiction services identi-

fied in the application for certification under section 3793.06 of the Revised Code or in the application for a li-

cense under section 3793.11 of the Revised Code filed with the department of alcohol and drug addiction ser-

vices by the alcohol and drug addiction program specified in the judgment.

(4) Each alcohol and drug addiction program that receives in a calendar year any fine moneys under division

(H)(3) of this section shall file an annual report covering that calendar year with the court of common pleas and

the board of county commissioners of the county in which the program is located, with the court of common

pleas and the board of county commissioners of each county from which the program received the moneys if

that county is different from the county in which the program is located, and with the attorney general. The alco-

hol and drug addiction program shall file the report no later than the first day of March in the calendar year fol-

lowing the calendar year in which the program, received the fine moneys. The report shall include statistics on

the number of persons served by the alcohol and drug addiction program, identify the types of alcohol and drug

addiction services provided to those persons, and include a specific accounting of the purposes for which the
fine moneys received were used. No information contained in the report shall identify, or enable a person to de-

termine the identity of, any person served by the alcohol and drug addiction program. Each report received by a

court of common pleas, a board of county commissioners, or the attorney general is a public record open for in-

spection under section 149.43 of the Revised Code.

(5) As used in divisions (H)(1) to (5) of this section:

(a) "Alcohol and drug addiction program" and "alcohol and drag addiction services" have the same meanings as

in section 3793.01 of the Revised Code.

(b) "Eligible alcohol and drug addiction program" means an alcohol and drug addiction program that is certified

under section 3793.06 of the Revised Code or licensed under section 3793.11 of the Revised Code by the depart-

ment of alcohol and drug addiction services.

(I) As used in this section, "drug" includes any substance that is represented to be a drug.
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Title XXIX. Crimes--Procedure (Refs & Annos)

^W Chapter 2925, Drug Offenses (Refs & Annos)

R® Drug Offenses

y_.^ 2925.11 Drug possession offenses

(A) No person shall knowingly obtain, possess, or use a controlled substance.

(B) This section does not apply to any of the following:

(1) Manufacturers, licensed health professionals authorized to prescribe drugs, pharmacists, owners of pharma-

cies, and other persons whose conduct was in accordance with Chapters 3719., 4715., 4723., 4729., 4730.,

4731., and 4741. of the Revised Code;

(2) If the offense involves an anabolic steroid, any person who is conducting or participating in a research

project involving the use of an anabolic steroid if the project has been approved by the United States food and

drug administration;

(3) Any person who sells, offers for sale, prescribes, dispenses, or administers for livestock or other nonhuman
species an anabolic steroid that is expressly intended for administration through implants to livestock or other

nonhuman species and approved for that purpose under the "Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act," 52 Stat.

1040 (1938), 21 U.S.C.A. 301, as amended, and is sold, offered for sale, prescribed, dispensed, or administered

for that purpose in accordance with that act;

(4) Any person who obtained the controlled substance pursuant to a lawful prescription issued by a licensed

health professional authorized to prescribe drugs.

(C) Whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of one of the following:

(1) If the drug involved in the violation is a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance included in schedule I

or II, with the exception of marihuana, 1-Pentyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole, 1-Butyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole, 1-[2-

(4-morpholinyl)ethyl]-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole, 5-(1,1-dimethylheptyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol,

5-(1,1-dimethyloctyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol, cocaine, L.S.D., heroin, and hashish, whoever

violates division (A) of this section is guilty of aggravated possession of drugs. The penalty for the offense shall

be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(1)(b), (c), (d), or (e) of this section, aggravated possession of
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drugs is a felony of the fifth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determ-

ining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(b) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds the bulk amount but is less than five times the bulk

amount, aggravated possession of drugs is a felony of the third degree, and there is a presumption for a prison

term for the offense.

(c) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five times the bulk amount but is less than fifty times

the bulk amount, aggravated possession of drugs is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a

mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree.

(d) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty times the bulk amount but is less than one hundred

times the bulk amount, aggravated possession of drogs is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose

as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(e) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one hundred times the bulk amount, aggravated posses-

sion of drugs is a felony of the first degree, the offender is a major drug offender, and the court shall impose as a

mandatory prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(2) If the drug involved in the violation is a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance included in schedule

III, IV, or V, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of possession of drugs. The penalty for the

offense shall be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(2)(b), (c), or (d) of this section, possession of drugs is a misde-

meanor of the first degree or, if the offender previously has been convicted of a drug abuse offense, a felony of

the fifth degree.

(b) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds the bulk amount but is less than five times the bulk

amount, possession of drugs is a felony of the fourth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised

Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(c) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five times the bulk amount but is less than fifty times

the bulk amount, possession of drugs is a felony of the third degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term

for the offense.

(d) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty times the bulk amount, possession of drugs is a

felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose upon the offender as a mandatory prison term one of the

prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree.
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ing marihuana other than hashish, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of possession of mari-

huana. The penalty for the offense shall be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(3)(b), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, possession of mari-

huana is a minor misdemeanor.

(b) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one hundred grams but is less than two hundred grams,

possession of marihuana is a misdemeanor of the fourth degree.

(c) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two hundred grams but is less than one thousand grams,

possession of marihuana is a felony of the fifth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code

applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(d) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one thousand grams but is less than five thousand

grarns, possession of marihuana is a felony of the third degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Re-

vised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(e) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five thousand grams but is less than twenty thousand

grams, possession of marihuana is a felony of the third degree, and there is a presumption that a prison term

sball be imposed for the offense.

(f) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds twenty thousand grams but is less than forty thousand

grams, possession of marihuana is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose a mandatory prison

term of five, six, seven, or eight years.

(g) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds forty thousand grams, possession of marihuana is a

felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison term

prescribed for a felony of the second degree.

(4) If the drug involved in the violation is cocaine or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing

cocaine, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of possession of cocaine. The penalty for the of-

fense shall be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(4)(b), (c), (d), (e), or (f) of this section, possession of cocaine is

a felony of the fifth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining

whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(b) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five grams but is less than ten grams of cocaine, posses-

sion of cocaine is a felony of the fourth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies

in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

© 2012 Thomson Reuters. No Claim to Orig. US Gov. Works.

47



R.C. § 2925.11
Page 4

(c) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds ten grams but is less than twenty grams of cocaine, pos-

session of cocaine is a felony of the third degree, and, except as otherwise provided in this division, there is a

presumption for a prison term for the offense. If possession of cocaine is a felony of the third degree under this

division and if the offender two or more times previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a felony

drag abuse offense, the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a

felony of the third degree.

(d) If the amount of the drog involved equals or exceeds twenty grams but is less than twenty-seven grams of co-

caine, possession of cocaine is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison

term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree.

(e) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds twenty-seven grams but is less than one hundred grams

of cocaine, possession of cocaine is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison

term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(f) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one hundred grams of cocaine, possession of cocaine is

a felony of the first degree, the offender is a major drug offender, and the court shall impose as a mandatory

prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(5) If the drug involved in the violation is L.S.D., whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of pos-

session of L.S.D. The penalty for the offense shall be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(5)(b), (c), (d), (e), or (f) of this section, possession of L.S.D. is

a felony of the fifth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining

whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(b) If the amount of L.S.D. involved equals or exceeds ten unit doses but is less than fifty unit doses of L.S.D. in

a solid form or equals or exceeds one gram but is less than five grams of L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid

extract, or liquid distillate form, possession of L.S.D. is a felony of the fourth degree, and division (C) of section

2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(c) If the amount of L.S.D. involved equals or exceeds fifty unit doses, but is less than two hundred fifty unit

doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals or exceeds five grams but is less than twenty-five grams of L.S.D. in a

liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, possession of L.S.D. is a felony of the third degree,

and there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense.

(d) If the amount of L.S.D. involved equals or exceeds two hundred fifty unit doses but isless than one thousand

unit doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals or exceeds twenty-five grams but is less than one hundred grams

of L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, possession of L.S.D. is a felony of the

second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a

felony of the second degree.
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(e) If the amount of L.S.D. involved equals or exceeds one thousand unit doses but is less than five thousand

unit doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals or exceeds one hundred grams but is less than five hundred grams

of L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, possession of L.S.D. is a felony of the

first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a

felony of the first degree.

(f) If the amount of L.S.D. involved equals or exceeds five thousand unit doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or
equals or exceeds five hundred grams of L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form,

possessionof L.S.D. is a felony of the first degree, the offender is a major drug offender, and the court shall im-

pose as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(6) If the drug involved in the violation is heroin or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing

heroin, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of possession of heroin. The penalty for the offense

shall be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(6)(b), (c), (d), (e), or (f) of this section, possession of heroin is

a felony of the fifth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining

whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(b) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds ten unit doses but is less than fifty unit doses or equals

or exceeds one gram but is less than five grams, possession of heroin is a felony of the fourth degree, and divi-

sion (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the

offender.

(c) If the amount of thedrug involved equals or exceeds fifty unit doses but is less than one hundred unit doses

or equals or exceeds five grams but is less than ten grams, possession of heroin is a felony of the third degree,

and there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense.

(d) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one hundred unit doses but is less than five hundred

unit doses or equals or exceeds ten grams but is less than fifty grams, possession of heroin is a felony of the

second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a

felony of the second degree.

(e) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five hundred unit doses but is less than two thousand

five hundred unit doses or equals or exceeds fifty grams but is less than two hundred fifty grams, possession of

heroin is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison

terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(f) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two thousand five hundred unit doses or equals or ex-
ceeds two hundred fifty grams, possession of heroin is a felony of the first degree, the offender is a major drug

offender, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a
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felony of the first degree.

(7) If the drug involved in the violation is hashish or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing

hashish, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of possession of hashish.The penalty for the of-

fense shall be determined as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(7)(b), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, possession of

hashish is a minor misdemeanor.

(b) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five grams but is less than ten grams of hashish in a sol-

id form or equals or exceeds one gram but is less than two grams of hashish in a liquid concentrate, liquid ex-

tract, or liquid distillate fonn, possession of hashish is a misdemeanor of the fourth degree.

(c) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds ten grams but is less than fifty grams of hashish in a

solid form or equals or exceeds two grams but is less than ten grams of hashish in a liquid concentrate, liquid ex-

tract, or liquid distillate form, possession of hashish is a felony of the fifth degree, and division (B) of section

2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(d) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty grams but is less than two hundred fifty grams of

hashish in a solid form or equals or exceeds ten grams but is less than fifty grams of hashish in a liquid concen-

trate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, possession of hashish is a felony of the third degree, and division
(C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the of-

fender.

(e) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two hundred fifty grams but is less than one thousand

grams of hashish in a solid form or equals or exceeds fifty grams but is less than two hundred grams of hashish

in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, possession of hashish is a felony of the third de-

gree, and there is a presumption that a prison term shall be imposed for the offense.

(f) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one thousand grams but is less than two thousand grams
of hashish in a solid form or equals or exceeds two hundred grams but is less than four hundred grams of hashish

in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, possession of hashish is a felony of the second

degree, and the court shall impose a mandatory prison term of five, six, seven, or eight years.

(g) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two thousand grams of hashish in a solid form or equals
or exceeds four hundred grams of hashish in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, posses-

sion of hashish is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term the max-

imum prison term prescribed for a felony of the second degree.

(8) If the drug involved is i-Pentyi-3-(1-naphthoyl)indo.e, 1-Buty1-3-(I-naphthoy l)indole, 1-[2-
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(4-morpholinyl)ethyl]-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole, 5-(1,1-dimethylheptyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol,

or 5-(1,1-dimethyloctyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol or a compound, mixture, preparation, or sub-

stance containing 1-Pentyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole, 1-Butyl-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole,

1-[2-(4-morpholinyl)ethyl]-3-(1-naphthoyl)indole,
5-(1,1-dimethylheptyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol, or
5-(l,l-dimethyloctyl)-2-[(1R,3S)-3-hydroxycyclohexyl]-phenol; whoever violates division (A) of this section is

guilty of possession of spice, a minor misdemeanor.

(D) Arrest or conviction for a minor misdemeanor violation of this section does not constitute a criminal record

and need not be reported by the person so arrested or convicted in response to any inquiries about the person's

criminal record, including any inquiries contained in any application for employment, license, or other right or

privilege, or made in connection with the person's appearance as a witness.

(E) In addition to any prison term or jail term authorized or required by division (C) of this section and sections

2929.13, 2929.14, 2929.22, 2929.24, and 2929.25 of the Revised Code and in addition to any other sanction that

is imposed for the offense under this section, sections 2929.11 to 2929.18, or sections 2929.21 to 2929.28 of the

Revised Code, the court that sentences an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a violation of division

(A) of this section shall do all of the following that are applicable regarding the offender:

(1)(a) If the violation is a felony of the 5rst, second, or third degree, the court shall impose upon the offender the

mandatory fine specified for the offense under division (B)(1) of section 2929.18 of the Revised Code unless, as

specified in that division, the court determines that the offender is indigent.

(b) Notwithstanding any contrary provision of section 3719.21 of the Revised Code, the clerk of the court shall

pay a mandatory fine or other fine imposed for a violation of this section pursuant to division (A) of section

2929.18 of the Revised Code in accordance with and subject to the requirements of division (F) of section

2925.03 of the Revised Code. The agency that receives the fine shall use the fine as specified in division (F) of

section 2925.03 of the Revised Code.

(c) If a person is charged with a violation of this section that is a felony of the first, second, or third degree,

posts bail, and forfeits the bail, the clerk shall pay the forfeited bail pursuant to division (E)(1)(b) of this section

as if it were a mandatory fine imposed under division (E)(1)(a) of this section.

(2) The court shall suspend for not less than six months or more than five years the offender's driver's or com-

mercial driver's license or permit.

(3) If the offender is a professionally licensed person, in addition to any other sanction imposed for a violation

of this section, the court immediately shall comply with section 2925.38 of the Revised Code.

(F) It is an affirmative defense, as provided in section 2901.05 of the Revised Code, to a charge of a fourth de-
gree felony violation under this section that the controlled substance that gave rise to the charge is in an amount,
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is in a form, is prepared, compounded, or mixed with substances that are not controlled substances in a manner,

or is possessed under any other circumstances, that indicate that the substance was possessed solely for personal

use. Notwithstanding any contrary provision of this section, if, in accordance with section 2901.05 of the Re-
vised Code, an accused who is charged with a fourth degree felony violation of division (C)(2), (4), (5), or (6) of

this section sustains the burden of going forward with evidence of and establishes by a preponderance of the

evidence the affirmative defense described in this division, the accused may be prosecuted for and may plead

guilty to or be convicted of a misdemeanor violation of division (C)(2) of this section or a fifth degree felony vi-

olation of division (C)(4), (5), or (6) of this section respectively.

(G) When a person is charged with possessing a bulk amount or multiple of a bulk amount, division (E) of sec-

tion 2925.03 of the Revised Code applies regarding the determination of the amount of the controlled substance

involved at the time of the offense.
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Title XXIX. Crimes--Procedure (Refs & Annos)
Ko Chapter 2929. Penalties and Sentencing (Refs & Annos)

Fp Felony Sentencing
^y 2929.18 Financial sanctions

(A) Except as otherwise provided in this division and in addition to imposing court costs pursuant to section

2947.23 of the Revised Code, the court imposing a sentence upon an offender for a felony may sentence the of-
fender to any financial sanction or combination of financial sanctions authorized under this section or, in the cir-

cumstances specified in section 2929.32 of the Revised Code, may impose upon the offender a fine in accord-

ance with that section. Financial sanctions that may be imposed pursuant to this section include, but are not lim-

ited to, the following:

(1) Restitution by the offender to the victim of the offender's crime or any survivor of the victim, in an amount

based on the victim's economic loss. If the court imposes restitution, the court shall order that the restitution be

made to the victim in open court, to the adult probation department that serves the county on behalf of the vic-

tim, to the clerk of courts, or to another agency designated by the court. If the court imposes restitution, at sen-

tencing, the court shall determine the amount of restitution to be made by the offender. If the court imposes

restitution, the court may base the amount of restitution it orders on an amount recommended by the victim, the

offender, a presentence investigation report, estimates or receipts indicating the cost of repairing or replacing

property, and other information, provided that the amount the court orders as restitution shall not exceed the

amount of the economic loss suffered by the victim as a direct and proximate result of the commission of the of-

fense. If the court decides to impose restitution, the court shall hold a hearing on restitution if the offender, vic-

tim, or survivor disputes the amount. All restitution payments shall be credited against any recovery of econom-

ic loss in a civil action brought by the victim or any survivor of the victim against the offender.

If the court imposes restitution, the court may order that the offender pay a surcharge of not more than five per

cent of the amount of the restitution otherwise ordered to the entity responsible for collecting and processing

restitution payments.

The victim or survivor may request that the prosecutor in the case file a motion, or the offender may file a mo-

tion, for modification of the payment terms of any restitution ordered. If the court grants the motion, it may

modify the payment terms as it determines appropriate.

(2) Except as provided in division (B)(1), (3), or (4) of this section, a fine payable by the offender to the state, to

a political subdivision, or as described in division (B)(2) of this section to one or more law enforcement agen-

cies, with the amount of the fine based on a standard percentage of the offender's daily income over a period of

time determined by the court and based upon the seriousness of the offense. A fine ordered under this division

shall not exceed ttie maximum conventional fine amount authorized for the level of the offense under division

© 2012 Thomson Reuters. No Claim to Orig. US Gov. Works.

53



R.C. § 2929.18

(A)(3) of this section.

Page 2

(3) Except as provided in division (B)(1), (3), or (4) of this section, a fine payable by the offender to the state, to

a political subdivision when appropriate for a felony, or as described in division (B)(2) of this section to one or

more law enforcement agencies, in the following amount:

(a) For a felony of the first degree, not more than twenty thousand dollars;

(b) For a felony of the second degree, not more than fifteen thousand dollars;

(c) For a felony of the third degree, not more than ten thousand dollars;

(d) For a felony of the fourth degree, not more than five thousand dollars;

(e) For a felony of the fifth degree, not more than two thousand five hundred dollars.

(4) A state fine or costs as defined in section 2949.111 of the Revised Code.

(5)(a) Reimbursement by the offender of any or all of the costs of sanctions incurred by the govemment, includ-

ing the following:

(i) All or part of the costs of implementing any community control sanction, including a supervision fee under

section 2951.021 of the Revised Code;

(ii) All or part of the costs of confinement under a sanction imposed pursuant to section 2929.14, 2929.142, or

2929.16 of the Revised Code, provided that the amount of reimbursement ordered under this division shall not

exceed the total amount of reimbursement the offender is able to pay as determined at a hearing and shall not ex-

ceed the actual cost of the confinement;

(iii) All or part of the cost of purchasing and using an immobilizing or disabling device, including a certified ig-

nition interlock device, or a remote alcohol monitoring device that a court orders an offender to use under sec-

tion 4510.13 of the Revised Code.

(b) If the offender is sentenced to a sanction of confinement pursuant to section 2929.14 or 2929.16 of the Re-

vised Code that is to be served in a facility operated by a board of county commissioners, a legislative authority

of a municipal corporation, or another local governmental entity, if, pursuant to section 307.93, 341.14, 341.19,

341.23, 753.02, 753.04, 753.16, 2301.56, or 2947.19 of the Revised Code and section 2929.37 of the Revised

Code, the board, legislative authority, or other local governmental entity requires prisoners to reimburse the
county, municipal corporation, or other entity for its expenses incurred by reason of the prisoner's confinement,
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and if the court does not impose a financial sanction under division (A)(5)(a)(ii) of this section, confinement

costs may be assessed pursuant to section 2929.37 of the Revised Code. In addition, the offender may be re-

quired to pay the fees specified in section 2929.38 of the Revised Code in accordance with that section.

(c) Reimbursement by the offender for costs pursuant to section 2929.71 of the Revised Code.

(B)(1) For a first, second, or third degree felony violation of any provision of Chapter 2925., 3719., or 4729. of

the Revised Code, the sentencing court shall impose upon the offender a mandatory fine of at least one-half of,

but not more than, the maximum statutory fine amount authorized for the level of the offense pursuant to divi-

sion (A)(3) of this section. If an offender alleges in an affidavit filed with the court prior to sentencing that the

offender is indigent and unable to pay the mandatory fine and if the court determines the offender is an indigent

person and is unable to pay the mandatory fine described in this division, the court shall not impose the mandat-

ory fine upon the offender.

(2) Any mandatory fine imposed upon an offender under division (B)(1) of this section and any fine imposed

upon an offender under division (A)(2) or (3) of this section for any fourth or fifth degree felony violation of any

provision of Chapter 2925., 3719., or 4729. of the Revised Code shall be paid to law enforcement agencies pur-

suant to division (F) of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code.

(3) For a fourth degree felony OVI offense and for a third degree felony OVI offense, the sentencing court shall

impose upon the offender a mandatory fine in the amount specified in division (G)(1)(d) or (e) of section

4511.19 of the Revised Code, whichever is applicable. The mandatory fine so imposed shall be disbursed as

provided in the division pursuant to which it is imposed.

(4) Notwithstanding any fine otherwise authorized or required to be imposed under division (A)(2) or (3) or

(B)(1) of this section or section 2929.31 of the Revised Code for a violation of section 2925.03 of the Revised

Code, in addition to any penalty or sanction imposed for that offense under section 2925.03 or sections 2929.11
to 2929.18 of the Revised Code and in addition to the forfeiture of property in connection with the offense as

prescribed in Chapter 2981. of the Revised Code, the court that sentences an offender for a violation of section

2925.03 of the Revised Code may impose upon the offender a fine in addition to any fine imposed under divi-

sion (A)(2) or (3) of this section and in addition to any maindatory fine imposed under division (B)(1) of this sec-

tion. The fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this section shall be used as provided in division (H) of section

2925.03 of the Revised Code. A fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this section shall not exceed whichever of

the following is applicable:

(a) The total value of any personal or real property in which the offender has an interest and that was used in the

course of, intended for use in the course of, derived from, or realized through conduct in violation of section

2925.03 of the Revised Code, including any property that constitutes proceeds derived from that offense;

(b) If the offender has no interest in any property of the type described in division (B)(4)(a) of this section or if

it is not possible to ascertain whether the offender has an interest in any property of that nipe in which the o_f-
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fender may have an interest, the amount of the mandatory fine for the offense imposed under division (B)(1) of

this section or, if no mandatory fine is imposed under division (B)(1) of this section, the amount of the fine au-

thorized for the level of the offense imposed under division (A)(3) of this section.

(5) Prior to imposing a fine under division (B)(4) of this section, the court shall determine whether the offender

has an interest in any property of the type described in division (B)(4)(a) of this section. Except as provided in

division (B)(6) or (7) of this section, a fine that is authorized and imposed under division (B)(4) of this section

does not limit or affect the imposition of the penalties and sanctions for a violation of section 2925.03 of the Re-

vised Code prescribed under those sections or sections 2929.11 to 2929.18 of the Revised Code and does not
limit or affect a forfeiture of property in connection with the offense as prescribed in Chapter 2981 . of the Re-

vised Code.

(6) If the sum total of a mandatory fine amount imposed for a first, second, or third degree felony violation of

section 2925.03 of the Revised Code under division (B)(1) of this section plus the amount of any fine imposed
under division (B)(4) of this section does not exceed the maximum statutory fine amount authorized for the level

of the offense under division (A)(3) of this section or section 2929.31 of the Revised Code, the court may im-

pose a fine for the offense in addition to the mandatory fine and the fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this
section. The sum total of the amounts of the mandatory fine, the fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this sec-

tion, and the additional fine imposed under division (B)(6) of this section shall not exceed the maximum stat-

utory fine amount authorized for the level of the offense under division (A)(3) of this section or section 2929.31

of the Revised Code. The clerk of the court shall pay any fine that is imposed under division (B)(6) of this sec-

tion to the county, township, municipal corporation, park district as created pursuant to section 511.18 or
1545.04 of the Revised Code, or state law enforcement agencies in this state that primarily were responsible for

or involved in making the arrest of, and in prosecuting, the offender pursuant to division (F) of section 2925.03

of the Revised Code.

(7) If the sum total of the amount of a mandatory fine imposed for a first, second, or third degree felony viola-

tion of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code plus the amount of any fine imposed under division (13)(4) of this

section exceeds the maximum statutory fine amount authorized for the level of the offense under division (A)(3)

of this section or section 2929.31 of the Revised Code, the court shall not impose a fine under division (B)(6) of

this section.

(8)(a) If an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a violation of section 2905.01, 2905.02, 2907.21,

2907.22, or 2923.32, division (A)(1) or (2) of section 2907.323, or division (B)(1), (2), (3), (4), or (5) of section

2919.22 of the Revised Code also is convicted of or pleads guilty to a specification of the type described in sec-

tion 2941.1422 of the Revised Code that charges that the offender knowingly committed the offense in further-

ance of human trafficking, the sentencing court shall sentence the offender to a financial sanction of restitution

by the offender to the victim or any survivor of the victim, with the restitution including the costs of housing,

counseling, and medical and legal assistance incurred by the victim as a direct result of the offense and the

greater of the following:

(i) The gross income or value to the offender of the victim's labor or services;
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(ii) The value of the victim's labor as guaranteed under the minimum wage and overtime provisions of the

"Federal Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938," 52 Stat. 1060, 20 U.S.C. 207, and state labor laws.

(b) If a court imposing sentence upon an offender for a felony is required to impose upon the offender a finan-

cial sanction of restitution under division (B)(8)(a) of this section, in addition to that financial sanction of resti-

tution, the court may sentence the offender to any other financial sanction or combination of financial sanctions

authorized under this section, including a restitution sanction under division (A)(1) of this section.

(C)(1) The offender shall pay reimbursements imposed upon the offender pursuant to division (A)(5)(a) of this

secfion to pay the costs incurred by the department of rehabilitation and correction in operating a prison or other

facility used to confine offenders pursuant to sanctions imposed under section 2929.14, 2929.142, or 2929.16 of

the Revised Code to the treasurer of state. The treasurer of state shall deposit the reimbursements in the confine-

ment cost reimbursement fund that is hereby created in the state treasury. The department of rehabilitation and

correction shall use the amounts deposited in the fund to fund the operation of facilities used to confine offend-

ers pursuant to sections 2929.14, 2929.142, and 2929.16 of the Revised Code.

(2) Except as provided in section 2951.021 of the Revised Code, the offender shall pay reimbursements imposed

upon the offender pursuant to division (A)(5)(a) of this section to pay the costs incurred by a county pursuant to

any sanction imposed under this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code or in operating a fa-

cility used to confine offenders pursuant to a sanction imposed under section 2929.16 of the Revised Code to the

county treasurer. The county treasurer shall deposit the reimbursements in the sanction cost reimbursement fund

that each board of county commissioners shall create in its county treasury. The county shall use the amounts

deposited in the fund to pay the costs incurred by the county pursuant to any sanction imposed under this section

or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code or in operating a facility used to confine offenders pursuant

to a sanction imposed under section 2929.16 of the Revised Code.

(3) Except as provided in section 2951.021 of the Revised Code, the offender shall pay reimbursements imposed

upon the offender pursuant to division (A)(5)(a) of this section to pay the costs incurred by a municipal corpora-

tion pursuant to any sanction imposed under this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code or

in operating a facility used to confine offenders pursuant to a sanction imposed under section 2929.16 of the Re-

vised Code to the treasurer of the municipal corporation. The treasurer shall deposit the reimbursements in a

special fund that shall be established in the treasury of each municipal corporation. The municipal corporation

shall use the amounts deposited in the fund to pay the costs incurred by the municipal corporation pursuant to

any sanction imposed under this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code or in operating a fa-

cility used to confine offenders pursuant to a sanction imposed under section 2929.16 of the Revised Code.

(4) Except as provided in section 2951.021 of the Revised Code, the offender shall pay reimbursements imposed

pursuant to division (A)(5)(a) of this section for the costs incurred by a private provider pursuant to a sanction

imposed under this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code to the provider.

(D) Except as otherwise provided in this division, a financial sanction imposed pursuant to division (A) or (B) of

this section is a judgment in favor of the state or a politicai subdivision in which the court that imposed the fin-
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ancial sanction is located, and the offender subject to the financial sanction is the judgment debtor. A financial

sanction of reimbursement imposed pursuant to division (A)(5)(a)(ii) of this section upon an offender who is in-

carcerated in a state facility or a municipal jail is a judgment in favor of the state or the municipal corporation,

and the offender subject to the financial sanction is the judgment debtor. A financial sanction of reimbursement

imposed upon an offender pursuant to this section for costs incurred by a private provider of sanctions is ajudg-

ment in favor of the private provider, and the offender subject to the financial sanction is the judgment debtor. A

financial sanction of restitution imposed pursuant to division (A)(1) or (B)(8) of this section is an order in favor

of the victim of the offender's criminal act that can be collected through a certificate of judgment as described in

division (D)(1) of this section, through execution as described in division (D)(2) of this section, or through an

order as described in division (D)(3) of this section, and the offender shall be considered for purposes of the col-

lection as the judgment debtor. Imposition of a financial sanction and execution on the judgment does not pre-

clude any other power of the court to impose or enforce sanctions on the offender. Once the financial sanction is

imposed as ajudgment or order under this division, the victim, private provider, state, or political subdivision

may do any of the following:

(1) Obtain from the clerk of the court in which the judgment was entered a certificate of judgment that shall be

in the same manner and form as a certificate of judgment issued in a civil action;

(2) Obtain execution of the judgment or order through any available procedure, including:

(a) An execution against the property of the judgment debtor under Chapter 2329. of the Revised Code;

(b) An execution against the person of the judgment debtor under Chapter 2331. of the Revised Code;

(c) A proceeding in aid of execution under Chapter 2333. of the Revised Code, including:

(i) A proceeding for the examination of thejudgment debtor under sections 2333.09 to 2333.12 and sections

2333.15 to 2333.27 of the Revised Code;

(ii) A proceeding for attachment of the person of the judgment debtor under section 2333.28 of the Revised

Code;

(iii) A creditor's suit under section 2333.01 of the Revised Code.

(d) The attachment of the property of the judgment debtor under Chapter 2715, of the Revised Code;

(e) The gamishment of the property of the judgment debtor under Chapter 2716. of the Revised Code.

(3) Obtain ar, order for the assignment of wages of the judgment debtor under section 1321.33 of the Revised
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Code.

(E) A court that imposes a financial sanction upon an offender may hold a hearing if necessary to determine

whether the offender is able to pay the sanction or is likely in the future to be able to pay it.

(F) Each court imposing a financial sanction upon an offender under this section or under section 2929.32 of the

Revised Code may designate the clerk of the court or another person to collect the financial sanction. The clerk
or other person authorized by law or the court to collect the financial sanction may enter into contracts with one

or more public agencies or private vendors for the collection of, amounts due under the financial sanction im-

posed pursuant to this section or section 2929.32 of the Revised Code. Before entering into a contract for the

collection of amounts due from an offender pursuant to any financial sanction imposed pursuant to this section

or section 2929.32 of the Revised Code, a court shall comply with sections 307.86 to 307.92 of the Revised

Code.

(G) If a court that imposes a financial sanction under division (A) or (B) of this section fmds that an offender

satisfactorily has completed all other sanctions imposed upon the offender and that all restitution that has been

ordered has been paid as ordered, the court may suspend any financial sanctions imposed pursuant to this section

or section 2929.32 of the Revised Code that have not been paid.

(H) No financial sanction imposed under this section or section 2929.32 of the Revised Code shall preclude a

victim from bringing a civil action against the offender.
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Westtaw.

R.C. § 2925.03

Effective:

Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated Cunentness
Title XXIX. Crimes-Procedure (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 2925. Drug Offenses (Refs & Annos)
Drug Offenses

2925. 03 Trafficking offenses

(A)

(A) No person shall knowingly do any of the following:

(1)

(1) Sell or offer to sell a controlled substance;

Page 1

(2)

(2) Prepare for shipment, ship, transport, deliver, prepare for distribution, or distribute a controlled substance, when
the offender knows or has reasonable cause to believe that the controlled substance is intended for sale or resale by the

offender or another person.

(B)

(B) This section does not apply to any of the following:

(1)

(1) Manufacturers, licensed health professionals authorized to prescribe drugs, pharmacists, owners of pharmacies,
and other persons whose conduct is in accordance with Chapters 3719., 4715., 4723., 4729., 4730., 4731., and 4741. of

the Revised Code;

(2)

(2) If the
offense involves an anabolic steroid, any person who is conducting or participating in a research project

involving the use of an anabolic steroid if the project has been approved by the United States food and drug admin-

istration;

(3)

(3) Any person who sells, offers for sale, prescribes, dispenses, or ad-m'vnisters for livestock or other nonhuman
species an anabolic steroid that is expressly intended for administration through implants to livestock or other non-
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human species and approved for that purpose under the "Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act," 52 Stat. 1040
(1938), 21 U.S.C.A. 301, as amended, and is sold, offered for sale, prescribed, dispensed, or administered for that

purpose in accordance with that act.

(C)

(C) Whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of one of the following:

(1)

(1) If the drug involved in the violation is any compound, mixture, preparation, or substance included in schedule I
or schedule II, with the exception of marihuana, cocaine, L.S.D., heroin, and hashish, whoever violates division (A) of
this section is guilty of aggravated trafficking in drugs. The penalty for the offense shall be deternrined as follows:

(a)

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(1)(b), (c), (d), (e), or (f) of this section, aggravated trafficking in
drugs is a felony of the fourth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining
whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(b)

(b) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(1)(c), (d), (e), or (f) of this section, if the offense was committed in
the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, aggravated trafficking in drugs is a felony of the third degree,
and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the

offender.

(c)

(c) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds the bulk
amount but is less than five times the bulk amount, aggravated trafficking in drugs is a felony of the third degree, and
the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the third degree. If
the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in
the vicinity of a juvenile, aggravated trafficking in drugs is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as
a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree.

(d)

(d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five times the
bulk amount but is less than fifty times the bulk amount, aggravated trafficking in drugs is a felony of the second
degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the
second degree. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity
of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, aggravated trafficking in drugs is a felony of the first degree, and the court
shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(e)

(e) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty times the bulk amount but is iess than one hundred
times the bulk amount and regardless of whether the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity
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of ajuvenile, aggravated trafficking in drugs is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory
prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(f)

(f) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one hundred times the bulk amount and regardless of

whether the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, aggravated trafficking in
dmgs is a felony of the first degree, the offender is a major drug offender, and the court shall impose as a mandatory
prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree and may impose an additional prison

term prescribed for a major drug offender under division (D)(3)(b) of section 2929.14 of the Revised Code.

(2)

(2) If the drug involved in the violation is any compound, mixture, preparation, or substance included in schedule
III, IV, or V, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of trafficking in drugs. The penalty for the offense

shall be determined as follows:

(a)

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(2)(b), (c), (d), or (e) of this section, trafficking in drugs is a felony
of the fifth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose

a prison term on the offender.

(b)

(b) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(2)(c), (d), or (e) of this section, if the offense was committed in the
vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in drugs is a felony of the fourth degree, and division (C)
of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(c)

(c) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drng involved equals or exceeds the bulk
amount but is less than five times the bulk amount, trafficking in drugs is a felony of the fourth degree, and there is a
presumption for a prison term for the offense. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense
was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in drugs is a felony of the third
degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense.

(d)

(d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five times the
bulk amount but is less than fifty times the bulk amount, trafficking in drugs is a felony of the third degree, and there is
a presumption for a prison term for the offense. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the
offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in drugs is a felony of the
second degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense.

(e)

(e) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty times the
bulk amount, trafficking in drugs is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison
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term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree. If the amount of the drug involved equals or
exceeds fifty times the bulk amount and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a
juvenile, trafficking in drags is a felony of the first degree, and thecourt shall impose as a mandatory prison term one
of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(3) (3) If the drug involved in the violation is marihuana or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing
marihuana other than hashish, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of trafficking in marihuana. The
penalty for the offense shall be determined as follows:

(a)

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(3)(b), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, trafficking in marihuana
is a felony of the fifth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether
to impose a prison term on the offender.

(b)

(b) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(3)(c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, if the offense was com-
mitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the fourth
degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison

term on the offender.

(c)

(c) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two hundred
grams but is less than one thousand grams, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the fourth degree, and division (C) of
section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender. If the
amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the
vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the third degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the
Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(d)

(d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one thousand
grams but is less than five thousand grams, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the third degree, and division (C) of
section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender. If the
amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the
vicinity of ajuvenile, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the second degree, and there is a presumption that a prison
term shall be imposed for the offense.

(e)

(e) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five thousand
grams but is less than twenty thousand grams, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the third degree, and there is a
presumption that a prison term shall be imposed for the offense. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range
and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking m marihuana is
a felony of the second degree, and there is a presumption that a prison term shall be imposed for the offense.
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(f) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds twenty
thousand grams, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory

prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the second degree. If the amount of the drug involved
equals or exceeds twenty thousand grams and if the offense was conunitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity
of a juvenile, trafficking in marihuana is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison
term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(g)

(g) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the offense involves a gift of twenty grams or less of marihuana,
trafficking in marihuana is a minor misdemeanor upon a first offense and a misdemeanor of the third degree upon a
subsequent offense. If the offense involves a gift of twenty grams or less of marihuana and if the offense was com-
mitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of ajuvenile, trafficking in marihuana is a misdemeanor of the third

degree.

(4)

(4) If the drug involved in the violation is cocaine or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing
cocaine, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of trafficking in cocaine. The penalty for the offense

shall be determined as follows:

(a)

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(4)(b), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, trafficking in cocaine is
a felony of the fifth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to

impose a prison term on the offender.

(b)
(b) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(4)(c), (d), (e), (f) or (g) of this section, if the offense was com-

mitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the fourth degree,

and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the

offender.

(c)

(c) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five grams
but is less than ten grams of cocaine that is not crack cocaine or equals or exceeds one gram but is less than five grams
of crack cocaine, trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the fourth degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for
the offense. If the amount of the drug involved is within one of those ranges and if the offense was committed in the
vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the third degree, and there is a

presumption for a prison term for the offense.

(d)

(d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds ten grams but
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is less than one hundred grams of cocaine that is not crack cocaine or equals or exceeds five grains but is less than ten
grams of crack cocaine, trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the third degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory
prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the third degree. If the amount of the drug involved is
within one of those ranges and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile,
trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the
prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree.

(e)

(e) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one hundred
grams but is less than five hundred grams of cocaine that is not crack cocaine or equals or exceeds ten g'ams but is less
than twenty-five grams of crack cocaine, trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall
impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree. If the amount
of the drug involved is within one of those ranges and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the
vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the first degree, and the court shal] impose as a mandatory
prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(f)

(f) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five hundred grams but is less than one thousand grams of
cocaine that is not crack cocaine or equals or exceeds twenty-five grams but is less than one hundred grams of crack
cocaine and regardless of whether the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of ajuvenile,
trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the
prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(g)

(g) If the amount of the drng involved equals or exceeds one thousand grams of cocaine that is not crack cocaine or
equals or exceeds one hundred grams of crack cocaine and regardless of whether the offense was committed in the
vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in cocaine is a felony of the first degree, the offender is
a major drug offender, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for
a felony of the first degree and may impose an additional mandatory prison term prescribed for a major drug offender
under division (D)(3)(b) of section 2929.14 of the Revised Code.

(5)

(5) If the drug involved in the violation is L.S.D. or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing
L.S.D., whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of trafficking in L.S.D. The penalty for the offense shall

be determined as follows:

(a)

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(5)(b), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, trafficking in L.S.D. is
a felony of the fifth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to

impose a prison term on the offender.

(b)

(b) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(5)(c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, if the offense was com-
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mitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony of the fourth degree,
and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the

offender.

(c) (c) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drng involved equals or exceeds ten unit doses
but is less than fifty unit doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals or exceeds one gram but is less than five grams of
L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony of the fourth
degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense. If the amount of the drug involved is within that
range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of ajuvenile, trafficking in L.S.D.
is a felony of the third degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense.

(d)

(d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty unit
doses but is less than two hundred fifty unit doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals or exceeds five grams but is less
than twenty-five grams of L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, trafficking in L.S.D. is
a felony of the third degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed
for a felony of the third degree. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was com-
mitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of ajuvenile, trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony of the second degree,
and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second

degree.

(e)

(e) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the dmg involved equals or exceeds two hundred
fifty unit doses but is less than one thousand unit doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals or exceeds twenty-five

grams but is less than one hundred grams of L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form,
trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the
prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if
the offense was conunitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony of
the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony

of the first degree.

(f)

(f) If the amount of the drog involved equals or exceeds one thousand unit doses but is less than five thousand unit
doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals or exceeds one hundred grams but is less than five hundred grams of L.S.D. in
a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form and regardless of whether the offense was committed in the
vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in L.S.D. is a felony of the first degree, and the court
shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(g)

(g) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five thousand unit doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals
or exceeds five hundred grams of L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form and regardless
of whether the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in L.S.D. is
a felony of the first degree, the offender is a major drug offender, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison
term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree and may impose an additional mandatory
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prison term prescribed for a major drug offender under division (D)(3)(b) of section 2929.14 of the Revised Code.

(6)

(6) If the drug involved in the violation is heroin or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing
heroin, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of trafficking in heroin. The penalty for the offense shall

be determined as follows:

(a)

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(6)(b), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, trafficking in heroin is
a felony of the fifth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to

impose a prison term on the offender.

(b)
(b) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(6)(c), (d), (e), (f), or (g) of this section, if the offense was com-

mitted in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in heroin is a felony of the fourth degree,

and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the

offender.

(c)

(c) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds ten unit doses
but is less than fifty unit doses or equals or exceeds one gram but is less than five grams, trafficking in heroin is a
felony of the fourth degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense. If the amount of the drug

involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile,
trafficking in heroin is a felony of the third degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense.

(d) (d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty unit
doses but is less than one hundred unit doses or equals or exceeds five grams but is less than ten grams, trafficking in
heroin is a felony of the third degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense. If the amount of the
drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a
juvenile, trafficking in heroin is a felony of the second degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for the

offense.

(e)

(e) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one hundred
unit doses but is less than five hundred unit doses or equals or exceeds ten grams but is less than fifty grams, traf-
ficking in heroin is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the
prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if
the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in heroin is a felony of
the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony

of the first degree.

(f)
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(f) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five hundred unit doses but is less than two thousand five
hundred unit doses or equals or exceeds fifty grams but is less than two hundred fifty grams and regardless of whether
the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in heroin is a felony of
the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony

of the first degree.

(g)

(g) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two thousand five hundred unit doses or equals or exceeds
two hundred fifty grams and regardless of whether the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the
vicinity of ajuvenile, trafficking in heroin is a felony of the first degree, the offender is a major drug offender, and the
court shall impose as a mandatory prison term the maximwn prisop term prescribed for a felony of the first degree and
may impose an additional mandatory prison term prescribed for a major drug offender under division (D)(3)(b) of

section 2929.14 of the Revised Code.

(7)

(7) If the drug involved in the violation is hashish or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing

hashish, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of trafficking in hashish. The penalty for the offense

shall be determined as follows:

(a)

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(7)(b), (c), (d), (e), or (f) of this section, trafficking in hashish is a

felony of the fifth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to

impose a prison term on the offender.

(b)

(b) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(7)(c), (d), (e), or (f) of this section, if the offense was committed in
the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in hashish is a felony of the fourth degree, and

division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in detennining whether to impose a prison tenn on the

offender.

(c)

(c) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds ten grams but
is less than fifty grams of hashish in a solid form or equals or exceeds two grams but is less than ten grams of hashish
in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, trafficking in hashish is a felony of the fourth degree,
and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the
offender. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a
school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in hashish is a felony of the third degree, and division (C) of section
2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(d)

(d) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount ofthe d.ug involved equals or exceeds fitty grams
but is less than two hundred fifty grams of hashish in a solid form or equals or exceeds ten grams but is less than fifty
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grams of hashish in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, trafficking in hashish is a felony of the
third degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a
prison term on the offender. If the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in
the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in hashish is a felony of the second degree, and there
is a presumption that a prison term shall be imposed for the offense.

(e)

(e) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two hundred
fifty grams but is less than one thousand grams of hashish in a solid form or equals or exceeds fifty grams but is less
than two hundred grams of hashish in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, trafficking in
hashish is a felony of the third degree, and there is a presumption that a prison term shall be imposed for the offense. If
the amount of the drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in
the vicinity of a juvenile, trafficking in hashish is a felony of the second degree, and there is a presumption that a

prison term shall be imposed for the offense.

(f)

(t) Except as otherwise provided in this division, if the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one thousand
grams of hashish in a solid form or equals or exceeds two hundred grams of hashish in a liquid concentrate, liquid
extract, or liquid distillate form, trafficking in hashish is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a
mandatory prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the second degree. If the amount of the
drug involved is within that range and if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or in the vicinity of a
juvenile, trafficking in hashish is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term the
maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(D)

(D) In addition to any prison term authorized or required by division (C) of this section and sections 2929.13 and
2929.14 of the Revised Code, and in addition to any other sanction imposed for the offense under this section or
sections 2929.11 to 2929.18 of the Revised Code, the court that sentences an offender who is convicted of or pleads
guilty to a violation of division (A) of this section shall do all of the following that are applicable regarding the of-

fender:

(1)

(1) If the violation of division (A) of this section is a felony of the first, second, or third degree, the court shall
impose upon the offender the mandatory fine specified for the offense under division (B)(1) of section 2929.18 of the
Revised Code unless, as specified in that division, the court determines that the offender is indigent. Except as oth-
erwise provided in division (H)(1) of this section, a mandatory fine or any other fine imposed for a violation of this
section is subject to division (F) of this section. If a person is charged with a violation of this section that is a felony of
the first, second, or third degree, posts bail, and forfeits the bail, the clerk of the court shall pay the forfeited bail
pursuant to divisions (D)(1) and (F) of this section, as if the forfeited bail was a fine imposed for a violation of this
section. If any amount of the forfeited bail remains after that payment and if a fme is imposed under division (H)(1)
this section, the clerk of the court shall pay the remaining amount of the forfeited bail pursuant to divisions (H)(2) and
(3) of this section, as if that remaining amount was a fine imposed under division (H)(1) of this section.

(2)

(2) The court shall suspend the driver's or commercial driver's license or permit of the offender in accordance with
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division (G) of this section.

(3)

(3) If the offender is a professionally licensed person, the court immediately shall comply with section 2925.38 of

the Revised Code.

(E)

(E) When a person is charged with the sale of or offer to sell a bulk amount or a multiple of a bulk amount of a
controlled substance, the jury, or the court trying the accused, shall determine the amount of the controlled substance
involved at the time of the offense and, if a guilty verdict is retmned, shall return the findings as part of the verdict. In
any such case, it is unnecessary to find and return the exact amount of the controlled substance involved, and it is
sufficient if the fmding and return is to the effect that the amount of the controlled substance involved is the requisite
amount, or that the amount of the controlled substance involved is less than the requisite amount.

(F)

(1)

(F)(1) Notwithstanding any contrary provision of section 3719.21 of the Revised Code and except as provided in
division (H) of this sec6on, the clerk of the court shall pay any mandatory fine imposed pursuant to division (D)(1) of
this section and any fine other than a mandatory fme that is imposed for a violation of this section pursuant to division
(A) or (B)(5) of section 2929.18 of the Revised Code to the county, township, municipal corporation, park district, as
created pursuant to section 511.18 or 1545.04 of the Revised Code, or state law enforcement agencies in this state that
primarily were responsible for or involved in making the arrest of, and in prosecuting, the offender. However, the clerk
shall not pay a mandatory fine so imposed to a law enforcement agency unless the agency has adopted a written in-
ternal control policy under division (F)(2) of this section that addresses the use of the fine moneys that it receives.
Each agency shall use the mandatory fines so paid to subsidize the agency's law enforcement efforts that pertain to
drug offenses, in accordance with the written intetnal control policy adopted by the recipient agency under division

(F)(2) of this section.

(2)

(a)

(2)(a) Prior to receiving any fine moneys under division (F)(1) of this section or division (B) of section 2925.42 of
the Revised Code, a law enforcement agency shall adopt a written internal control policy that addresses the agency's
use and disposition of all fine moneys so received and that provides for the keeping of detailed financial records of the
receipts of those fine moneys, the general types of expenditures made out of those fine moneys, and the specific
amount of each general type of expenditure. The policy shall not provide for or permit the identification of any specific
expenditure that is made in an ongoing investigation. All financial records of the receipts of those fine moneys, the
general types of expenditures made out of those fine moneys, and the specific amount of each general type of ex-
penditure by an agency are public records open for inspection under section 149.43 of the Revised Code. Additionally,
a written internal control policy adopted under this division is such a public record, and the agency that adopted it shall

comply with it.

(b)
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(b) Each law enforcement agency that receives in any calendar year any fine moneys under division (F)(1) of this
section or division (B) of section 2925.42 of the Revised Code shall prepare a report covering the calendar year that
cumulates all of the information contained in all of the public financial records kept by the agency pursuant to division
(F)(2)(a) of this section for that calendar year, and shall send a copy of the cumulative report, no later than the first day
of March in the calendar year following the calendar year covered by the report, to the attorney general. Each report
received by the attorney general is a public record open for inspection under section 149.43 of the Revised Code. Not
later than the fifteenth day of April in the calendar year in which the reports are received, the attorney general shall
send to the president of the senate and the speaker of the house of representatives a written notification that does all of

the following:

(i)

(i) Indicates that the attomey general has received from law enforcement agencies reports of the type described in
this division that cover the previous calendar year and indicates that the reports were received under this division;

(ii)

(ii) Indicates that the reports are open for inspection under section 149.43 of the Revised Code;

(iii)

(iii) Indicates that the attorney general will provide a copy of any or all of the reports to the president of the senate or

the speaker of the house of representatives upon request.

(3)

(3) As used in division (F) of this section:

(a)

(a) "Law enforcement agencies" includes, but is not limited to, the state board of pharmacy and the office of a

prosecutor.

(b)

(b) "Prosecutor" has the same meaning as in section 2935.01 of the Revised Code.

(G)

(G) When required under division (D)(2) of this section or any other provision of this chapter, the court shall sus-
pend for not less than six months or more than five years the driver's or commercial driver's license or permit of any
person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to any violation of this section or any other specified provision of this
chapter. If an offender's driver's or commercial driver's license or permit is suspended pursuant to this division, the
offender, at any time after the expiration of two years from the day on which the offender's sentence was imposed or
from the day on which the offender fmally was released from a prison term under the sentence, whichever is later, may
file a motion with the sentencing court requesting termination of the suspension; upon the filing of such a motion and
the court's finding of good cause for the termination, the court may terminate the suspension.

(H)
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(1)

(H)(1) In addition to any prison term authorized or required by division (C) of this section and sections 2929.13 and

2929.14 of the Revised Code, in addition to any other penalty or sanction imposed for the offense under this section or
sections 2929.11 to 2929.18 of the Revised Code, and in addition to the forfeiture of property in connection. with the
offense as prescribed in Chapter 2981. of the Revised Code, the court that sentences an offender who is convicted of or
pleads guilty to a violation of division (A) of this section may impose upon the offender an additional fine specified for

the offense in division (13)(4) of section 2929.18 of the Revised Code. A fine imposed under division (H)(1) of this

section is not subject to division (F) of this section and shall be used solely for the support of one or more eligible
alcohol and drug addiction programs in accordance with divisions (H)(2) and (3) of this section.

(2)

(2) The court that imposes a fine under division (13)(1) of this section shall specify in the judgment that imposes the
fine one or more eligible alcohol and drug addiction programs for the support of which the fine money is to be used.
No alcohol and drug addiction program shall receive or use money paid or collected in satisfaction of a fine imposed
under division (11)(1) of this section unless the program is specified in the judgment that imposes the fine. No alcohol
and drug addiction program shall be specified in the judgment unless the program is an eligible alcohol and drug
addiction program and, except as otherwise provided in division (H)(2) of this section, unless the program is located in
the county in which the court that imposes the fine is located or in a county that is immediately contiguous to the
county in which that court is located. If no eligible alcohol and drug addiction program is located in any of those
counties, the judgment may specify an eligible alcohol and drug addiction program that is located anywhere within

this state.

(3)

(3) Notwithstanding any contrary provision of section 3719.21 of the Revised Code, the clerk of the court shall pay
any fine imposed under division (H)(1) of this section to the eligible alcohol and drug addiction program specified
pursuant to division (H)(2) of this section in the judgment. The eligible alcohol and drug addiction program that
receives the fine moneys shall use the moneys only for the alcohol and drug addiction services identified in the ap-
plication for certification under section 3793.06 of the Revised Code or in the application for a license under section
3793.11 of the Revised Code filed with the department of alcohol and drug addiction services by the alcohol and dmg

addiction program specified in the judgment.

(4)

(4) Each alcohol and drug addiction program that receives in a calendar year any fme moneys under division (H)(3)

of this section shall file an annual report covering that calendar year with the court of common pleas and the board of
county commissioners of the county in which the program is located, with the court of common pleas and the board of
county commissioners of each county from which the program received the moneys if that county is different from the
county in which the program is located, and with the attotney general. The alcohol and drug addiction program shall
file the report no later than the first day of March in the calendar year following the calendar year in which the program
received the fine moneys. The report shall include statistics on the number of persons served by the alcohol and drug
addiction program, identify the types of alcohol and drug addiction services provided to those persons, and include a
specific accounting of the purposes for which the fine moneys received were used. No information contained in the
report shall identify, or enable a person to detennine the identity of, any person served by the alcohol and drug ad-
diction program. Each report received by a court of common pleas, a board of county commissioners, or the attorney

general is a pub:ic record open for inspection under sertion 149.43 of the Revised Code.
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(5)

(5) As used in divisions (H)(1) to (5) of this section:

(a)

(a) "Alcohol and drng addiction program" and "alcohol and drug addiction services" have the same meanings as in
section 3793.01 of the Revised Code.

(b)

(b) "Eligible alcohol and drug addiction program" means an alcohol and drug addiction program that is certified
under section 3793.06 of the Revised Code or licensed under section 3793.11 of the Revised Code by the department
of alcohol and drug addiction services.

(I)

(I) As used in this section, "drug" includes any substance that is represented to be a drug.

CREDIT(S)

(2008 H 195, eff. 9-30-08; 2006 H 241, eff. 7-1-07; 2006 S 154, eff. 5-17-06; 2002 S 123, eff. 1-1-04; 2000 H 528, eff.
2-13-01; 2000 H 241, eff. 5-17-00; 1999 S 107, eff. 3-23-00; 1998 S 66, eff. 7-22-98; 1998 S 164, eff. 1-15-98; 1996 S
166, eff. 10-17-96; 1996 S 269, eff. 7-1-96; 1995 S 2, eff. 7-1-96; 1994 H 391, eff. 7-21-94; 1993 H 377, eff. 9-30-93;
1992 H 591, S 174; 1991 H 62; 1990 S 258, H 266, H 261, H 215; 1986 S 67; 1975 H 300)
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R.C. § 2925.11

Effective:

Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated Currentness
Title XXIX. Crimes-Procedure (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 2925. Drug Offenses (Refs & Annos)
Drug Offenses

2925. 11 Drug possession offenses

(A)

(A) No person shall knowingly obtain, possess, or use a controlled substance.

(B)

(B) This section does not apply to any of the following:

Page I

(1)

(1) Manufacturers, licensed health professionals authorized to prescribe drugs, pharmacists, owners of pharmacies,

and other persons whose conduct was in accordance with Chapters 3719., 4715., 4723., 4729., 4730., 4731., and 4741.

of the Revised Code;

(2)

(2) If the offense involves an anabolic steroid, any person who is conducting or participating in a research project
involving the use of an anabolic steroid if the project has been approved by the United States food and drug admin-

istration;

(3)

(3) Any person who sells, offers for sale, prescribes, dispenses, or administers for livestock or other nonhuman
species an anabolic steroid that is expressly intended for administration through implants to livestock or other non-
human species and approved for that purpose under the "Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act," 52 Stat. 1040
(1938), 21 U.S.C.A. 301, as amended, and is sold, offered for sale, prescribed, dispensed, or administered for that

purpose in accordance with that act;

(4)

(4) Any person who obtained the controlled substance pursuant to a lawful prescription issued by a licensed health

professional authorized to prescribe drugs.

(C)
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(C) Whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of one of the following:

Page 2

(1)

(1) If the drug involved in the violation is a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance included in schedule I or
II, with the exception of marihuana, cocaine, L.S.D., heroin, and hashish, whoever violates division (A) of this section
is guilty of aggravated possession of drugs. The penalty for the offense shall be determined as follows:

(a) (a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(1)(b), (c), (d), or (e) of this section, aggravated possession of drugs
is a felony of the fifth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether

to impose a prison tenn on the offender.

(b)
(b) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds the bulk amount but is less than five times the bulk amount,

aggavated possession of drugs is a felony of the third degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for the

offense.

(c)

(c) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five times the bulk amount but is less than fifty times the
bulk amount, aggravated possession of drugs is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a man-
datory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree.

(d)

(d) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty times the bulk amount but is less than one hundred
times the bulk amount, aggravated possession of drugs is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a
mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(e)

(e) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one hundred times the bulk amount, aggravated possession
of drugs is a felony of the first degree, the offender is a major drug offender, and the court shall impose as a mandatory
prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree and may impose an additional man-
datory prison term prescribed for a major drug offender under division (D)(3)(b) of section 2929.14 of the Revised

Code.

(2)

(2) If the drug involved in the violation is a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance included in schedule III,
IV, or V. whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of possession of drugs. The penalty for the offense shall

be determined as follows:

(a)
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(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(2)(b), (c), or (d) of this section, possession of drugs is a misde-
meanor of the first degree or, if the offender previously has been convicted of a drug abuse offense, a felony of the fifth

degree.

(b)

(b) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds the bulk amount but is less than five times the bulk amount,
possession of drugs is a felony of the fourth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in
determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(c)

(c) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five times the bulk amount but is less than fifty times the
bulk amount, possession of drugs is a felony of the third degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for the

offense.

(d)

(d) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty times the bulk amount, possession of drugs is a felony
of the second degree, and the court shall impose upon the offender as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms

prescribed for a felony of the second degree.

(3)

(3) If the drug involved in the violation is marihuana or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing
marihuana other than hashish, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of possession of marihuana. The
penalty for the offense shall be determined as follows:

(a)

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(3)(b), (c), (d), (e), or (f) of this section, possession of marihuana is

a minor misdemeanor.

(b)

(b) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one hundred grams but is less than two hundred grams,
possession of marihuana is a misdemeanor of the fourth degree.

(c)

(c) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two hundred grams but is less than one thousand grams,
possession of marihuana is a felony of the fifth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code ap-
plies in determining whether to impose a prison term dn the offender.

(d)
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(d) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one thousand grams but is less than five thousand grams,
possession of marihuana is a felony of the third degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code
applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(e)

(e) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five thousand grams but is less than twenty thousand grams,
possession of marihuana is a felony of the third degree, and there is a presumption that a prison term shall be imposed

for the offense.

(f)

(f) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds twenty thousand grams, possession of marihuana is a felony
of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for

a felony of the second degree.

(4)

(4) If the drug involved in the violation is cocaine or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing

cocaine, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of possession of cocaine. The penalty for the offense

shall be determined as follows:

(a)

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(4)(b), (c), (d), (e), or (f) of this section, possession of cocaine is a
felony of the fifth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to

impose a prison term on the offender.

(b)

(b) If the amount of the drag involved equals or exceeds five grams but is less than twenty-five grams of cocaine that
is not crack cocaine or equals or exceeds one gram but is less than five grams of crack cocaine, possession of cocaine
is a felony of the fourth degree, and there is a presumption for a prison term for the offense.

(c)

(c) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds twenty-five grams but is less than one hundred grams of
cocaine that is not crack cocaine or equals or exceeds five grams but is less than ten grams of crack cocaine, possession
of cocaine is a felony of the third degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms

prescribed for a felony of the third degree.

(d)

(d) If the amornint of the drug involved eq_uals or exceeds one hundred grams but is less than five hundred grams of
cocaine that is not crack cocaine or equals or exceeds ten grams but is less than twenty-five grams of crack cocaine,
possession of cocaine is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of
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(e)

(e) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five hundred grams but is less than one thousand grams of

cocaine that is not crack cocaine or equals or exceeds twenty-five grams but is less than one hundred grams of crack

cocaine, possession of cocaine is a felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one
of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(f)

(f) If the amount of the drog involved equals or exceeds one thousand grams of cocaine that is not crack cocaine or
equals or exceeds one hundred grams of crack cocaine, possession of cocaine is a felony of the first degree, the of-
fender is a major drug offender, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison term
prescribed for a felony of the first degree and may impose an additional mandatory prison term prescribed for a major
drug offender under division (D)(3)(b) of section 2929.14 of the Revised Code.

(5)

(5) Ifthe drug involved in the violation is L.S.D., whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of possession
of L.S.D. The penalty for the offense shall be determined as follows:

(a)

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(5)(b), (c), (d), (e), or (f) of this section, possession of L.S.D. is a

felony of the fifth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to

impose a prison term on the offender.

(b)

(b) If the amount of L.S.D. involved equals or exceeds ten unit doses but is less than fifty unit doses of L.S.D. in a
solid form or equals or exceeds one gram but is less than five grams of L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or
liquid distillate form, possession of L.S.D. is a felony of the fourth degree, and division (C) of section 2929.13 of the
Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(c)

(c) If the amount of L.S.D. involved equals or exceeds fifty unit doses, but is less than two hundred fifty unit doses
of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals or exceeds five grams but is less than twenty-five grams of L.S.D. in a liquid
concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, possession of L.S.D. is a felony of the third degree, and there is a

presumption for a prison term for the offense.

(d)

(d) If the amount of L.S.D. involved equals or exceeds two hundred fifty unit doses but is less than one thousand unit
doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equais or exceeds twenty-five g'ams but is less than one hundred grams of L.S.D. in
a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, possession of L.S.D. is a felony of the second degree, and
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the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second degree.

(e) (e) If the amount of L.S.D. involved equals or exceeds one thousand unit doses but is less than five thousand unit
doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals or exceeds one hundred grams but is less than five hundred grams of L. S.D.
in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, possession of L.S.D. is a felony of the first degree, and
the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the first degree.

(f)

(f) If the amount of L.S.D. involved equals or exceeds five thousand unit doses of L.S.D. in a solid form or equals or
exceeds five hundred g'ams of L. S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, possession of
L.S.D. is a felony of the first degree, the offender is a major drug offender, and the court shall impose as a mandatory
prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree and may impose an additional man-
datory prison term prescribed for a major drug offender under division (D)(3)(b) of section 2929.14 of the Revised

Code.

(6)

(6) If the drag involved in the violation is heroin or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing
heroin, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of possession of heroin. The penalty for the offense shall

be determined as follows:

(a)

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(6)(b), (c), (d), (e), or (f) of this section, possession of heroin is a
felony of the fifth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to

impose a prison term on the offender.

(b)
(b) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds ten unit doses but is less than fifty unit doses or equals or

exceeds one gram but is less than five grams, possession of heroin is a felony of the fourth degree, and division (C) of
section 2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(c)

(c) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty unit doses but is less than one hundred unit doses or
equals or exceeds five grams but is less than ten grams, possession of heroin is a felony of the third degree, and there is
a presumption for a prison term for the offense.

(d)

(d) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one hundred unit doses but is less than five hundred unit
doses or equals or exceeds ten grams but is less than nfty grams, possession of herom is a felony of the second degree,
and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for a felony of the second
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degree.

(e) (e) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five hundred unit doses but is less than two thousand five
hundred unit doses or equals or exceeds fifty grams but is less than two hundred fifty grams, possession of heroin is a
felony of the first degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term one of the prison terms prescribed for

a felony of the first degree.

(fl

(f) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two thousand five hundred unit doses or equals or exceeds
two hundred fifty grams, possession of heroin is a felony of the fast degree, the offender is a major drug offender, and
the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison term prescribed for a felony of the first degree
and may impose an additional mandatory prison term prescribed for a major drug offender under division (D)(3)(b) of

section 2929.14 of the Revised Code.

(7)

(7) If the drug involved in the violation is hashish or a compound, mixture, preparation, or substance containing

hashish, whoever violates division (A) of this section is guilty of possession of hashish. The penalty for the offense

shall be determined as follows:

(a)

(a) Except as otherwise provided in division (C)(7)(b), (c), (d), (e), or (f) of this section, possession of hashish is a

minor misdemeanor.

(b)
(b) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds five grams but is less than ten grams of hashish in a solid

form or equals or exceeds one gram but is less than two grams of hashish in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or
liquid distillate form, possession of hashish is a misdemeanor of the fourth degree.

(c)

(c) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds ten grams but is less than fifty grams of hashish in a solid
form or equals or exceeds two grams but is less than ten grams of hashish in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or
liquid distillate form, possession of hashish is a felony of the fifth degree, and division (B) of section 2929.13 of the
Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.

(d)

(d) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds fifty grams but is less than two hundred fifty grams of
hashish in a solid form or equals or exceeds ten grams but is less than fifty grams of hashish in a liquid concentrate,
liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, possessiori of hashish is a f°,lony of the third degree, and division (C) of section
2929.13 of the Revised Code applies in determining whether to impose a prison term on the offender.
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(e)

(e) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds two hundred fifty grams but is less than one thousand grams
of hashish in a solid form or equals or exceeds fifty grams but is less than two hundred grams of hashish in a liquid
concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, possession of hashish is a felony of the third degree, and there is a
presumption that a prison term shall be imposed for the offense.

(f)

(f) If the amount of the drug involved equals or exceeds one thousand grams of hashish in a solid form or equals or
exceeds two hundred grams of hashish in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form, possession of

hashish is a felony of the second degree, and the court shall impose as a mandatory prison term the maximum prison

term prescribed for a felony of the second degree.

(D)

(D) Arrest or conviction for a minor misdemeanor violation of this section does not consfitute a criminal record and
need not be reported by the person so arrested or convicted in response to any inquiries about the person's criminal
record, including any inquiries contained in any application for employment, license, or other right or privilege, or
made in connection with the person's appearance as a witness.

(E)

(E) In addition to any prison term or jail term authorized or required by division (C) of this section and sections
2929.13, 2929.14, 2929.22, 2929.24, and 2929.25 of the Revised Code and in addition to any other sanction that is
imposed for the offense under this section, sections 2929.11 to 2929.18, or sections 2929.21 to 2929.28 of the Revised
Code, the court that sentences an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a violation of division (A) of this
section shall do all of the following that are applicable regarding the offender:

(1)

(a)

(1)(a) If the violation is a felony of the first, second, or third degree, the court shall impose upon the offender the
mandatory fine specified for the offense under division (B)(1) of section 2929.18 of the Revised Code unless, as
specified in that division, the court determines that the offender is indigent.

(b)
(b) Notwithstanding any contrary provision of section 3719.21 of the Revised Code, the clerk of the court shall pay

a mandatory fine or other fine imposed for a violation of this section pursuant to division (A) of section 2929.18 of the

Revised Code in accordance with and subject to the requirements of division (F) of section 2925.03 of the Revised

Code. The agency that receives the fine shall use the fme as specified in division (F) of section 2925.03 of the Revised

Code.

(c)
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(c) If a person is charged with a violation of this section that is a felony of the first, second, or third degree, posts
bail, and forfeits the bail, the clerk shall pay the forfeited bail pursuant to division (E)(1)(b) of this section as if it were
a mandatory fine imposed under division (E)(1)(a) of this, section.

(2)

(2) The court shall suspend for not less than six months or more than five years the offender's driver's or commercial
driver's license or permit.

(3)

(3) If the offender is a professionally licensed person, in addition to any other sanction imposed for a violation of
this section, the court immediately shall comply with section 2925.38 of the Revised Code.

(F)

(F) It is an affirmative defense, as provided in section 2901.05 of the Revised Code, to a charge of a fourth degree
felony violation under this section that the controlled substance that gave rise to the charge is in an amount, is in a
form, is prepared, compounded, or mixed with substances that are not controlled substances in a manner, or is pos-
sessed under any other circumstances, that indicate that the substance was possessed solely for personal use. Not-
withstanding any contrary provision of this section, if, in accordance with section 2901.05 of the Revised Code, an
accused who is charged with a fourth degree felony violation of division (C)(2), (4), (5), or (6) of this section sustains
the burden of going forward with evidence of and establishes by a preponderance of the evidence the affirmative
defense described in this division, the accused may be prosecuted for and may plead guilty to or be convicted of a
misdemeanor violation of division (C)(2) of this section or a fifth degree felony violation of division (C)(4), (5), or (6)
of this section respectively.

(G)

(G) When a person is charged with possessing a bulk amount or multiple of a bulk amount, division (E) of section
2925.03 of the Revised Code applies regarding the determination of the amount of the controlled substance involved at
the time of the offense.

CREDIT(S)

(2008 H 195, eff. 9-30-08; 2006 S 154, eff. 5-17-06; 2002 H 490, eff. 1-1-04; 2002 S 123, eff. 1-1-04; 2000 H 241, eff.
5-17-00; 1999 S 107, eff. 3-23-00; 1998 S 66, eff. 7-22-98; 1997 S 2, eff. 6-20-97; 1996 S 269, eff. 7-1-96; 1995 S 2,
eff. 7-1-96; 1995 H 249, eff. 7-17-95; 1994 H 391, eff. 7-21-94; 1993 H 377, eff. 9-30-93; 1991 H 298, H 62; 1990 S

258; 1980 S 184, § 5)
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Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated Currentness
Title RXIX. Crimes-Procedure (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 2929. Penalties and Sentencing (Refs & Annos)
Definitions

2929. 01 Definitions

< Note: See also version(s) of this section with later effective date(s). >

As used in this chapter:

(A)

Page 1

(1)

(A)(1) "Alternative residential facility" means, subject to division (A)(2) of this section, any facility other than an
offender's home or residence in which an offender is assigned to live and that satisfies all of the following criteria:

(a)

(a) It provides programs through which the offender may seek or maintain employment or may receive education,

training, treatment, or habilitation.

(b)
(b) It has received the appropriate license or certificate for any specialized education, training, treatment, habilita-

tion, or other service that it provides from the government agency that is responsible for licensing or certifying that
type of education, training, treatment, habilitation, or service.

(2)

(2) "Alternative residential facility" does not include a community-based correctional facility, jail, halfway house,

or prison.

(B)

(B) "Bad time" means the time by which the parole board administratively extends an offender's stated prison term

or terms pursuant to section 2967.11 of the Revised Code because the parole board finds by clear and convincing

evidence that the offender, while serving the prison term or terms, committed an act that is a criminal offense under the
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law of this state or the United States, whether or not the offender is prosecuted for the commission of that act.

(C)

(C) "Basic probation supervision" means a requirement that the offender maintain contact with a person appointed
to supervise the offender in accordance with sanctions imposed by the court or imposed by the parole board pursuant

to section 2967.28 of the Revised Code. "Basic probation supervision" includes basic parole supervision and basic

post-release control supervision.

(D)

(D) "Cocaine," "crack cocaine," "hashish," "L.S.D.," and "unit dose" have the same meanings as in section 2925.01

of the Revised Code.

(E)

(E) "Community-based correctional facility" means a conununity-based correctional facility and program or district
community-based correctional facility and program developed pursuant to sections 2301.51 to 2301.58 of the Revised

Code.

(F)

(F) "Community control sanction" means a sanction that is not a prison term and that is described in section
2929.15, 2929.16, 2929. 17, or 2929.18 of the Revised Code or a sanction that is not ajail term and that is described in
section 2929.26, 2929.27, or 2929.28 of the Revised Code. "Community control sanction" includes probation if the
sentence involved was imposed for a felony that was committed prior to July 1, 1996, or if the sentence involved was
imposed for a misdemeanor that was committed prior to January 1, 2004.

(G)

(G) "Controlled substance," "marihuana," "schedule I," and "schedule II" have the same meanings as in section

3719.01 of the Revised Code.

(H)

(H) "Curfew" means a requirement that an offender during a specified period of time be at a designated place.

(1)

(I) "Day reporting" means a sanction pursuant to which an offender is required each day to report to and leave a
center or other approved reporting location at specified times in order to participate in work, education or training,
treatment, and other approved programs at the center or outside the center.

(J)

(J) "Deadly weapon" has the same meaning as in section 2923.11 of the Revised Code.

(K)
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(K) "Drug and alcohol use monitoring" means a program under which an offender agrees to submit to random
chemical analysis of the offender's blood, breath, or urine to determine whether the offender has ingested any alcohol

or other drugs.

(L)

(L) "Drug treatment program" means any program under which a person undergoes assessment and treatment de-
signed to reduce or completely eliminate the person's physical or emotional reliance upon alcohol, another drug, or
alcohol and another drug and under which the person may be required to receive assessment and treatment on an
outpatient basis or may be required to reside at a facility other than the person's home or residence while undergoing

assessment and treatment.

(M)

(M) "Economic loss" means any economic detriment suffered by a victim as a direct and proximate result of the
commission of an offense and includes any loss of income due to lost time at work because of any injury caused to the
victim, and any property loss, medical cost, or funeral expense incurred as a result of the commission of the offense.
"Economic loss" does not include non-economic loss or any punitive or exemplary damages.

(N)

(N) "Education or training" includes study at, or in conjunction with a program offered by, a university, college, or
technical college or vocational study and also includes the completion of primary school, secondary school, and lit-

eracy curricula or their equivalent.

(0)

(0) "Firearm" has the same meaning as in section 2923.11 of the Revised Code.

(P)

(P) "Halfway house" means a facility licensed by the division of parole and community services of the department
of rehabilitation and correction pursuant to section 2967.14 of the Revised Code as a suitable facility for the care and

treatment of adult offenders.

(Q)

(Q) "House arrest" means a period of confinement of an offender that is in the offender's home or in other premises
specified by the sentencing court or by the parole board pursuant to section 2967.28 of the Revised Code and during

which all of the following apply:

(1)

(1) The offender is required to remain in the offender's home or other specified premises for the specified period of
confinement, except for periods of time during which the offender is at the offender's place of employment or at other
premises as authorized by the sentencing court or by the parole board.

(2)
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(2) The offender is required to report periodically to a person designated by the court or parole board.

(3)

(3) The offender is subject to any other restrictions and requirements that may be imposed by the sentencing court or

by the parole board.

(R)

(R) "Intensive probation supervision" means a requirement that an offender maintain frequent contact with a person
appointed by the court, or by the parole board pursuant to section 2967.28 of the Revised Code, to supervise the
offender while the offender is seeking or maintaining necessary employment and participating in training, education,
and treatment programs as required in the court's or parole board's order. "Intensive probation supervision" includes
intensive parole supervision and intensive post-release control supervision.

(S)

(S) "Jail" means a jail, workhouse, minimum security jail, or other residential facility used for the confinement of
alleged or convicted offenders that is operated by a political subdivision or a combination of political subdivisions of

this state.

(T)

(T) "Jail term" means the term in ajail that a sentencing court imposes or is authorized to impose pursuant to section
2929. 24 or 2929.25 of the Revised Code or pursuant to any other provision of the Revised Code that authorizes a term

in a jail for a misdemeanor conviction.

(U)

(U) "Mandatory jail term" means the term in ajail that a sentencing court is required to impose pursuant to division

(G) of section 1547.99 of the Revised Code, division (E) of section 2903.06 or division (D) of section 2903.08 of the

Revised Code, division (E) of section 2929.24 of the Revised Code, division (B) of section 4510.14 of the Revised

Code, or division (G) of section 4511.19 of the Revised Code or pursuant to any other provision of the Revised Code

that requires a term in a jail for a misdemeanor conviction.

(V)

(V) "Delinquent child" has the same meaning as in section 2152.02 of the Revised Code.

(W)

(W) "License violation report" means a report that is made by a sentencing court, or by the parole board pursuant to
section 2967.28 of the Revised Code, to the regulatory or licensing board or agency that issued an offender a profes-
sional license or a license or permit to do business in this state and that specifies that the offender has been convicted of
or pleaded guilty to an offense that may violate the conditions under which the offender's professional license or
license or permit to do business in this state was granted or an offense for which the offender's professional license or
license or permit to do business in this state may be revoked or suspended.
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(X)

(X) "Major drug offender" means an offender who is convicted of or pleads gailty to the possession of, sale of, or
offer to sell any drug, compound, mixture, preparation, or substance that consists of or contains at least one thousand
grams of hashish; at least one hundred grams of crack cocaine; at least one thousand grams of cocaine that is not crack
cocaine; at least two thousand five hundred unit doses or two hundred fifty grams of heroin; at least five thousand unit

doses of L.S.D. or five hundred grams of L.S.D. in a liquid concentrate, liquid extract, or liquid distillate form; or at
least one hundred times the amount of any other schedule I or II controlled substance other than marihuana that is
necessary to commit a felony of the third degree pursuant to section 2925.03, 2925.04, 2925.05, or 2925.11 of the

Revised Code that is based on the possession of, sale of, or offer to sell the controlled substance.

(Y)

(Y) "Mandatory prison term" means any of the following:

(1)

(1) Subject to division (Y)(2) of this section, the term in prison that must be imposed for the offenses or circum-

stances set forth in divisions (F)(1) to (8) or (F)(12) to (14) of section 2929.13 and division (D) of section 2929.14 of
the Revised Code. Except as provided in sections 2925.02, 2925.03, 2925.04, 2925.05, and 2925.11 of the Revised
Code, unless the maximum or another specific term is required under section 2929.14 or 2929.142 of the Revised
Code, a mandatory prison term described in this division may be any prison term authorized for the level of offense.

(2)

(2) The term of sixty or one hundred twenty days in prison that a sentencing court is required to impose for a third or
fourth degree felony OVI offense pursuant to division (G)(2) of section 2929.13 and division (G)(1)(d) or (e) of sec-
tion 4511.19 of the Revised Code or the term of one, two, three, four, or five years in prison that a sentencing court is
required to impose pursuant to division (G)(2) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code.

(3)

(3) The term in prison imposed pursuant to division (A) of section 2971.03 of the Revised Code for the offenses and
in the circumstances described in division (F)(I 1) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code or pursuant to division
(B)(I)(a), (b), or (c), (B)(2)(a), (b), or (c), or (B)(3)(a), (b), (c), or (d) of section 2971.03 of the Revised Code and that
term as modified or terminated pursuant to section 2971.05 of the Revised Code.

(Z)

(Z) "Monitored time" means a period of fime during which an offender continues to be under the control of the
sentencing court or parole board, subject to no conditions other than leading a law-abiding life.

(AA)

(AA) "Offender" means a person who, in this state, is convicted of or pleads guilty to a felony or a misdemeanor.

(BB)

(BB) "Prison" means a residential facility used for the confinement of convicted felony offenders that is under the
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control of the department of rehabilitation and correction but does not include a violation sanction center operated
under authority of section 2967.141 of the Revised Code.

(CC)

(CC) "Prison term" includes any of the following sanctions for an offender:

(1)

(1) A stated prison term;

(2)

(2) A term in a prison shortened by, or with the approval of, the sentencing court pursuant to section 2929.20,

2967.26, 5120.031, 5120.032, or 5120.073 of the Revised Code;

(3)

(3) A term in prison extended by bad time imposed pursuant to section 2967.11 of the Revised Code or imposed for

a violation of post-release control pursuant to section 2967.28 of the Revised Code.

(DD)

(DD) "Repeat violent offender" means a person about whom both of the following apply:

(1)

(1) The person is being sentenced for conunitting or for complicity in comtnitting any of the following:

(a)

(a) Aggravated murder, murder, any felony of the first or second degree that is an offense of violence, or an attempt
to commit any of these offenses if the attempt is a felony of the first or second degree;

(b)

(b) An offense under an existing or former law of this state, another state, or the United States that is or was sub-

stantially equivalent to an offense described in division (DD)(1)(a) of this section.

(2) (2) The person previously was convicted of or pleaded guilty to an offense described in division (DD)(1)(a) or (b) of

this section.

(EE)

(EE) "Sanction" means any penalty imposed upon an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to an offense, as
punishment for the offense. "Sanction" includes any sanction imposed pursuant to any provision of sections 2929.14
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to 2929.18 or 2929.24 to 2929.28 of the Revised Code.

(FF)

(FF) "Sentence" means the sanction or combination of sanctions imposed by the sentencing court on an offender
who is convicted of or pleads guilty to an offense.

(GG)

(GG) "Stated prison term" means the prison term, mandatory prison term, or combination of all prison terms and
mandatory prison terms imposed by the sentencing court pursuant to section 2929.14, 2929.142, or 2971.03 of the
Revised Code. "Stated prison term" includes any credit received by the offender for time spent in jail awaiting trial,
sentencing, or transfer to prison for the offense and any time spent under house arrest or house arrest with electronic
monitoring imposed after earning credits pursuant to section 2967.193 of the Revised Code.

(HH)

(HH) "Vicflm-offender mediation" means a reconciliation or mediation program that involves an offender and the
victim of the offense committed by the offender and that includes a meeting in which the offender and the victim may
discuss the offense, discuss restitution, and consider other sanctions for the offense.

(II) "Fourth degree felony OVI offense" means a violation of division (A) of section 4511.19 of the Revised Code
that, under division (G) of that section, is a felony of the fourth degree.

(JJ)

(JJ) "Mandatory term of local incarceration" means the term of sixty or one hundred twenty days in a jail, a com-
munity-based correctional facility, a halfway house, or an alternative residential facility that a sentencing court may
impose upon a person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a fourth degree felony OVI offense pursuant to division
(G)(1) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code and division (G)(1)(d) or (e) of section 4511.19 of the Revised Code.

(KK)

(KK) "Designated homicide, assault, or kidnapping offense," "violent sex offense," "sexual motivation specifica-
tion," "sexually violent offense," "sexually violent predator," and "sexually violent predator specification" have the
same meanings as in section 2971.01 of the Revised Code.

(LL)

(LL) "Sexually oriented offense," "child-victim oriented offense," and "tier III sex offender/child-victim offender,"
have the same meanings as in section 2950.01 of the Revised Code.

(MM)

(MM) An offense is "committed in the vicinity of a child" if the offender commits the offense within thirty feet of or
within the same residential unit as a child who is under eighteen years of age, regardless of whether the offender knows
the age of the child or whether the offender knows the offense is being conunitted within thirty feet of or within the
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same residential unit as the child and regardless of whether the child actually views the conunission of the offense.

(NN)

(NN) "Family or household member" has the same meaning as in section 2919.25 of the Revised Code.

(00)

(00) "Motor vehicle" and "manufactured home" have the same meanings as in section 4501.01 of the Revised

Code.

(PP)

(PP) "Detention" and "detention facility" have the same meanings as in section 2921.01 of the Revised Code.

(QQ)

(QQ) "Third degree felony OVI offense" means a violation of division (A) of section 4511.19 of the Revised Code
that, under division (G) of that section, is a felony of the third degree.

(RR)

(RR) "Random drug testing" has the same meaning as in section 5120.63 of the Revised Code.

(SS)

(SS) "Felony sex offense" has the same meaning as in section 2967.28 of the Revised Code.

(TT)

(TT) "Body armor" has the same meaning as in section 2941.1411 of the Revised Code.

(W)

(UU) "Electronic monitoring" means monitoring through the use of an electronic monitoring device.

(VV)

(VV) "Electronic monitoring device" means any of the following:

(1)

(1) Any device that can be operated by electrical or battery power and that conforms with all of the following:

(a)

(a) The device has a transmitter that can be attached to a person, that will transmit a specified signal to a receiver of
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the type described in division (V V)(1)(b) of this section if the transmitter is removed from the person, tumed off, or
altered in any manner without prior court approval in relation to electronic monitoring or without prior approval of the
department of rehabilitation and correction in relation to the use of an electronic monitoring device for an inmate on
transitional control or otherwise is tampered with, that can transmit continuously and periodically a signal to that
receiver when the person is within a specified distance from the receiver, and that can transmit an appropriate signal to
that receiver if the person to whom it is attached travels a specified distance from that receiver.

(b)

(b) The device has a receiver that can receive continuously the signals transmitted by a transmitter of the type de-
scribed in division (VV)(1)(a) of this section, can transmit continuously those signals by telephone to a central mon-
itoring computer of the type described in division (VV)(1)(c) of this section, and can transmit continuously an ap-
propriate signal to that central monitoring computer if the receiver is turned off or altered without prior court approval

or otherwise tampered with.

(c)

(c) The device has a central monitoring computer that can receive continuously the signals transmitted by telephone
by a receiver of the type described in division (V V)(1)(b) of this section and can monitor continuously the person to
whom an electronic monitoring device of the type described in division (VV)(1)(a) of this section is attached.

(2)

(2) Any device that is not a device of the type described in division (V V)(1) ofthis section and that conforms with all

of the following:

(a)

(a) The device includes a transmitter and receiver that can monitor and determine the location of a subject person at
any time, or at a designated point in time, through the use of a central monitoring computer or through other electronic

means.

(b)

(b) The device includes a transmitter and receiver that can determine at any time, or at a designated point in time,
through the use of a central monitoring computer or other electronic means the fact that the transmitter is turned off or
altered in any manner without prior approval of the court in relation to the electronic monitoring or without prior
approval of the department of rehabilitation and correction in relation to the use of an electronic monitoring device for
an inmate on transitional control or otherwise is tampered with.

(3)

(3) Any type of technology that can adequately track or determine the location of a subject person at any time and
that is approved by the director of rehabilitation and correction, including, but not limited to, any satellite technology,
voice tracking system, or retinal scanning system that is so approved.

(WW)

(WW) "Non-economic loss" means nonpecuniary harm suffered by a victim of an offense as a result of or related to
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the commission of the offense, including, but not limited to, pain and suffering; loss of society, consortium, com-
panionship, care, assistance, attention, protection, advice, guidance, counsel, instrnction, training, or education;
mental anguish; and any other intangible loss.

(XX)

(XX) "Prosecutor" has the same meaning as in section 2935.01 of the Revised Code.

(YY)

(YY) "Continuous alcohol monitoring" means the ability to automatically test and periodically transmit alcohol
consumption levels and tamper attempts at least every hour, regardless of the location of the person who is being
monitored.

(ZZ)

(ZZ) A person is "adjudicated a sexually violent predator" if the person is convicted of or pleads guilty to a violent
sex offense and also is convicted of or pleads guilty to a sexually violent predator specification that was included in the
indictment, count in the indictment, or information charging that violent sex offense or if the person is convicted of or
pleads guilty to a designated homicide, assault, or kidnapping offense and also is convicted of or pleads guilty to both
a sexual motivation specification and a sexually violent predator specification that were included in the indictment,
count in the indictment, or information charging that designated homicide, assault, or kidnapping offense.

(AAA)

(AAA) An offense is "committed in proximity to a school" if the offender commits the offense in a school safety
zone or within five hundred feet of any school building or the boundaries of any school premises, regardless of
whether the offender knows the offense is being committed in a school safety zone or within five hundred feet of any
school building or the boundaries of any school premises.

CREDIT(S)

(2008 S 220, eff. 9-30-08; 2007 S 10, eff. 1-1-08; 2006 H 461, eff. 4-4-07; 2006 S 260, eff. 1-2-07; 2006 H 162, eff.
10-12-06; 2006 H 95, eff. 8-3-06; 2004 H 473, eff. 4-29-05; 2004 H 163, eff. 9-23-04; 2004 H 52, eff. 6-1-04; 2003 S
57, eff. 1-1-04; 2003 S 5, § 3, eff. 1-1-04; 2003 S 5, § 1, eff. 7-31-03; 2002 H 490, eff. 1-1-04; 2002 S 123, eff. 1-1-04;
2002 H 327, eff. 7-8-02; 2000 S 179, § 3, eff. 1-1-02; 2000 S 222, eff. 3-22-01; 2000 H 349, eff. 9-22-00; 1999 S 22,
eff. 5-17-00; 1999 S 107, eff. 3-23-00; 1999 S 9, eff. 3-8-00; 1997 S 111, eff. 3-17-98; 1997 H 378, eff. 3-10-98; 1996
S 166, eff. 10-17-96; 1996 H 180, eff. 1-1-97; 1996 S 269, eff. 7-1-96; 1996 H 480, eff. 10-16-96; 1996 H 445, eff.

9-3-96; 1995 S 2, eff. 7-1-96)
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R.C. § 2929.18

Effective:

04/06/2009

Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated Currentness
Title XXIX. Crimes-Procedure (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 2929. Penalties and Sentencing (Refs & Annos)
Felony Sentencing

2929.18 Financial sanctions

<Note: See also version(s) of this section with later effective date(s). >

((A) Except as otherwise provided in this division and in addition to imposing court costs pursuant to section 2947.23
of the Revised Code, the court imposing a sentence upon an offender for a felony may sentence the offender to any
financial sanction or combination of financial sanctions authorized under this section or, in the circumstances speci-
fied in section 2929.32 of the Revised Code, may impose upon the offender a fine in accordance with that section.
Financial sanctions that may be imposed pursuant to this section include, but are not limited to, the following:

(1)

(1) Restitution by the offender to the victim of the offender's crime or any survivor of the victim, in an amount based
on the victim's economic loss. If the court imposes restitution, the court shall order that the restitution be made to the
victim in open court, to the adult probation department that serves the county on behalf of the victim, to the clerk of
courts, or to another agency designated by the court. If the court imposes restitution, at sentencing, the court shall
determine the amount of restitution to be made by the offender. If the court imposes restitution, the court may base the
amount of restitution it orders on an amount recommended by the victim, the offender, a presentence investigation
report, estimates or receipts indicating the cost of repairing or replacing property, and other information, provided that
the amount the court orders as restitution shall not exceed the amount of the economic loss suffered by the victim as a
direct and proximate result of the conunission of the offense. If the court decides to impose restitution, the court shall
hold a hearing on restitution if the offender, victim, or survivor disputes the amount. All restitution payments shall be
credited against any recovery of economic loss in a civil action brought by the victim or any survivor of the victim

against the offender.

If the court imposes restitution, the court may order that the offender pay a surcharge of not more than five per cent
of the amount of the restitution otherwise ordered to the entity responsible for collecting and processing restitution

payments.

The victim or survivor may request that the prosecutor in the case file a motion, or the offender may file a motion,
for modification of the payment terms of any restitution ordered. If the court grants the motion; it may modify the
payment terms as it determines appropriate.
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(2) Except as provided in division (B)(1), (3), or (4) of this section, a fine payable by the offender to the state, to a
political subdivision, or as described in division (B)(2) of this section to one or more law enforcement agencies, with
the amount of the fine based on a standard percentage of the offender's daily income over a period of time determined
by the court and based upon the seriousness of the offense. A fine ordered under this division shall not exceed the
maximum conventional fine amount authorized for the level of the offense under division (A)(3) of this section.

(3)

(3) Except as provided in division (B)(1), (3), or (4) of this section, a fine payable by the offender to the state, to a
political subdivision when appropriate for a felony, or as described in division (B)(2) of this section to one or more law
enforcement agencies, in the following amount:

(a)

(a) For a felony of the first degree, not more than twenty thousand dollars;

(b)

(b) For a felony of the second degree, not more than fifteen thousand dollars;

(c)

(c) For a felony of the third degree, not more than ten thousand dollars;

(d)

(d) For a felony of the fourth degree, not more than five thousand dollars;

(e)

(e) For a felony of the fifth degree, not more than two thousand five hundred dollars.

(4)

(4) A state fine or costs as defined in section 2949.111 of the Revised Code.

(5)

(a)

(5)(a) Reimbursement by the offender of any or all of the costs of sanctions incurred by the govemment, including

the following:

(i)

(i) All or part of the costs of implementing any cornmunity control sanction including a supervision fee under

section 2951.021 of the Revised Code;
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(ii)

(ii) All or part of the costs of confinement under a sanction imposed pm'suant to section 2929.14, 2929.142, or
2929.16 of the Revised Code, provided that the amount of reimbursement ordered under this division shall not exceed
the total amount of reimbursement the offender is able to pay as determined at a hearing and shall not exceed the actual

cost of the confinement;

(iii)

(iii) All or part of the cost of purchasing and using an immobilizing or disabling device, including a certified ignition
interlock device, or a remote alcohol monitoring device that a court orders an offender to use under section 4510.13 of

the Revised Code.

(b)
(b) If the offender is sentenced to a sanction of confinement pursuant to section 2929.14 or 2929.16 of the Revised

Code that is to be served in a facility operated by a board of county commissioners, a legislative authority of a mu-
nicipal corporation, or another local governmental entity, if, pursuant to section 307.93, 341.14, 341.19, 341.23,
753.02, 753.04, 753.16, 2301.56, or 2947.19 of the Revised Code and section 2929.37 of the Revised Code, the board,
legislative authority, or other local governmental entity requires prisoners to reimburse the county, municipal cor-
poration, or other entity for its expenses incurred by reason of the prisoner's confmement, and if the court does not
impose a financial sanction under division (A)(5)(a)(ii) of this section, confinement costs may be assessed pursuant to
section 2929.37 of the Revised Code. In addition, the offender may be required to pay the fees specified in section
2929.38 of the Revised Code in accordance with that section.

(c)

(c) Reimbursement by the offender for costs pursuant to section 2929.71 of the Revised Code.

(B)

(1)

(B)(1) For a first, second, or third degree felony violation of any provision of Chapter 2925., 3719., or 4729. of the
Revised Code, the sentencing court shall impose upon the offender a mandatory fine of at least one-half of, but not
more than, the maximum statutory fine amount authorized for the level of the offense pursuant to division (A)(3) of
this section. If an offender alleges in an affidavit filed with the court prior to sentencing that the offender is indigent
and unable to pay the mandatory fine and if the court determines the offender is an indigent person and is unable to pay
the mandatory fine described in this division, the court shall not impose the mandatory fme upon the offender.

(2)

(2) Any mandatory fine imposed upon an offender under division (B)(1) of this section and any fine imposed upon
an offender under division (A)(2) or (3) of this section for any fourth or fifth degree felony violation of any provision
of Chapter 2925., 3719., or 4729. of the Revised Code shall be paid to law enforcement agencies pursuant to division

(F) of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code.

(3)
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(3) For a fourth degree felony OVI offense and for a third degree felony OVI offense, the sentencing court shall
impose upon the offender a mandatory fine in the amount specified in division (G)(1)(d) or (e) of section 4511.19 of
the Revised Code, whichever is applicable. The mandatory fine so imposed shall be disbursed as provided in the
division pursuant to which it is imposed.

(4)

(4) Notwithstanding any fine otherwise authorized or required to be imposed under division (A)(2) or (3) or (B)(1)
of this section or section 2929.31 of the Revised Code for a violation of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code, in
addition to any penalty or sanction imposed for that offense under section 2925.03 or sections 2929.11 to 2929.18 of
the Revised Code and in addition to the forfeiture of property in connection with the offense as prescribed in Chapter
2981. of the Revised Code, the court that sentences an offender for a violation of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code
may impose upon the offender a fine in addition to any fine imposed under division (A)(2) or (3) of this section and in
addition to any mandatory fine imposed under division (B)(1) of this section. The fine imposed under division (B)(4)
of this section shall be used as provided in division (H) of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code. A fine imposed under
division (B)(4) of this section shall not exceed whichever of the following is applicable:

(a)

(a) The total value of any personal or real property in which the offender has an interest and that was used in the
course of, intended for use in the course of, derived from, or realized through conduct in violation of section 2925.03
of the Revised Code, including any property that constitutes proceeds derived from that offense;

(b)
(b) If the offender has no interest in any property of the type described in division (B)(4)(a) of this section or if it is

not possible to ascertain whether the offender has an interest in any property of that type in which the offender may
have an interest, the amount of the mandatory fine for the offense imposed under division (B)(1) of this section or, if

no mandatory fine is imposed under division (B)(1) of this section, the amount of the fine authorized for the level of

the offense imposed under division (A)(3) of this section.

(5)

(5) Prior to imposing a fine under division (B)(4) of this section, the court shall determine whether the offender has
an interest in any property of the type described in division (B)(4)(a) of this section. Except as provided in division
(B)(6) or (7) of this section, a fine that is authorized and imposed under division (B)(4) of this section does not limit or
affect the imposition of the penalties and sanctions for a violation of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code prescribed
under those sections or sections 2929.11 to 2929.18 of the Revised Code and does not limit or affect a forfeiture of
property in connection with the offense as prescribed in Chapter 2981. of the Revised Code.

(6)

(6) If the sum total of a mandatory fine amount imposed for a first, second, or third degree felony violation of section
2925.03 of the Revised Code under division (B)(1) of this section plus the amount of any fme imposed under division
(B)(4) of this section does not exceed the maximum statutory fine amount authorized for the level of the offense under
division (A)(3) of this section or section 2929.31 of the Revised Code, the court may impose a fine for the offense in
addition to the mandatory fme and the fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this section. The sum total of the amounts
of the mandatory fme, the fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this section, and the additional fine imposed under
division (B)(6) of this section shall not exceed the maximum statutory fine amount authorized for the level of the
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offense under division (A)(3) of this section or section 2929.31 of the Revised Code. The clerk of the court shall pay
any fine that is imposed under division (B)(6) of this section to the county, township, municipal corporation, park
district as created pursuant to section 511.18 or 1545.04 of the Revised Code, or state law enforcement agencies in this
state that primarily were responsible for or involved in making the arrest of, and in prosecuting, the offender pursuant

to division (F) of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code.

(7)

(7) If the sum total of the amount of a mandatory fine imposed for a first, second, or third degree felony violation of
section 2925.03 of the Revised Code plus the amount of any fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this section exceeds

the maximum statutory fine amount authorized for the level of the offense under division (A)(3) of this section or

section 2929.31 of the Revised Code, the court shall not impose a fme under division (B)(6) of this section.

(C)

(1)

(C)(1) The offender shall pay reimbursements imposed upon the offender pursuant to division (A)(5)(a) of this
section to pay the costs incurred by the department of rehabilitation and correction in operating a prison or other
facility used to confine offenders pursuant to sanctions imposed under section 2929.14, 2929.142, or 2929.16 of the
Revised Code to the treasurer of state. The treasurer of state shall deposit the reimbursements in the confinement cost
reimbursement fund that is hereby created in the state treasury. The deparlment of rehabilitation and correction shall
use the amounts deposited in the fund to fund the operation of facilities used to confine offenders pursuant to sections
2929.14, 2929.142, and 2929.16 of the Revised Code.

(2)

(2) Except as provided in section 2951.021 of the Revised Code, the offender shall pay reimbursements imposed
upon the offender pursuant to division (A)(5)(a) of this section to pay the costs incurred by a county pursuant to any
sanction imposed under this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code or in operating a facility used
to confine offenders pursuant to a sanction imposed under section 2929.16 of the Revised Code to the county treasurer.
The county treasurer shall deposit the reimbursements in the sanction cost reimbursement fund that each board of
county commissioners shall create in its county treasury. The county shall use the amounts deposited in the fand to pay
the costs incurred by the county pursuant to any sanction imposed under this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of
the Revised Code or in operating a facility used to confine offenders pursuant to a sanction imposed under section

2929.16 of the Revised Code.

(3)

(3) Except as provided in section 2951.021 of the Revised Code, the offender shall pay reimbursements imposed
upon the offender pursuant to division (A)(5)(a) of this section to pay the costs incurred by a municipal corporation
pursuant to any sanction imposed under this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code or in operating
a facility used to confme offenders pursuant to a sanction imposed under section 2929.16 of the Revised Code to the
treasurer of the municipal corporation. The treasurer shall deposit the reimbursements in a special fund that shall be
established in the treasury of each municipal corporation. The municipal corporation shall use the amounts deposited
in the fund to pay the costs incurred by the municipal corporation pursuant to any sanction imposed under this section
or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code or in operating a facility used to confine offenders pursuant to a
sanction imposed under section 2929.16 of the Revised Code.

(4)
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(4) Except as provided in section 2951.021 of the Revised Code, the offender shall pay reimbursements imposed
pursuant to division (A)(5)(a) of this section for the costs incurred by a private provider pursuant to a sanction imposed
under this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code to the provider.

(D)

(D) Except as otherwise provided in this division, a financial sanction imposed pursuant to division (A) or (B) of this
section is a judgment in favor of the state or a political subdivision in which the court that imposed the financial
sanction is located, and the offender subject to the fmancial sanction is the judgment debtor. A financial sanction of
reimbursement imposed pursuant to division (A)(5)(a)(ii) of this section upon an offender who is incarcerated in a
state facility or a municipal jail is a judgment in favor of the state or the municipal corporation, and the offender
subject to the fmancial sanction is the judgment debtor. A financial sanction of re'nnbursement imposed upon an
offender pursuant to this section for costs incurred by a private provider of sanctions is a judgment in favor of the
private provider, and the offender subject to the fmancial sanction is the judgment debtor. A fmancial sanction of
restitution imposed pursuant to this section is an order in favor of the victim of the offender's criminal act that can be
collected through execution as described in division (D)(1) of this section or through an order as described in division
(D)(2) of this section, and the offender shall be considered for purposes of the collection as the judgment debtor.
Imposition of a financial sanction and execution on the judgment does not preclude any other power of the court to
impose or enforce sanctions on the offender. Once the financial sanction is imposed as a judgment or order under this
division, the victim, private provider, state, or political subdivision may bring an action to do any of the following:

(1)

(1) Obtain execution of the judgment or order through any available procedure, including:

(a)

(a) An execution against the property of the judgment debtor under Chapter 2329. of the Revised Code;

(b)

(b) An execution against the person of the judgment debtor under Chapter 2331. of the Revised Code;

(c)

(c) A proceeding in aid of execution under Chapter 2333. of the Revised Code, including:

(i)

(i) A proceeding for the examination of the judgment debtor under sections 2333.09 to 2333.12 and sections

2333.15 to 2333.27 of the Revised Code;

(ii)

(ii) A proceeding for attachment of the person of the judgment debtor under section 2333.28 of the Revised Code;

(iii)
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(iii) A creditor's suit under section 2333.01 of the Revised Code.

(d)

(d) The attachment of the property of the judgment debtor under Chapter 2715. of the Revised Code;

(e)

(e) The garnishment of the property of the judgment debtor under Chapter 2716. of the Revised Code.

(2)

(2) Obtain an order for the assignment of wages of the judgment debtor under section 1321.33 of the Revised Code.

(E)

(E) A court that imposes a fmancial sanction upon an offender may hold a hearing if necessary to determine whether
the offender is able to pay the sanction or is likely in the future to be able to pay it.

(F)

(F) Each court imposing a financial sanction upon an offender under this section or under section 2929.32 of the
Revised Code may designate the clerk of the court or another person to collect the financial sanction. The clerk or
other person authorized by law or the court to collect the financial sanction may enter into contracts with one or more
public agencies or private vendors for the collection of, amounts due under the financial sanction imposed pursuant to
this section or section 2929.32 of the Revised Code. Before entering into a contract for the collection of amounts due
from an offender pursuant to any fmancial sanction imposed pursuant to this section or section 2929.32 of the Revised
Code, a court shall comply with sections 307.86 to 307.92 of the Revised Code.

(G)

(G) If a court that imposes a financial sanction under division (A) or (B) of this section finds that an offender sat-
isfactorily has completed all other sanctions imposed upon the offender and that all restitution that has been ordered
has been paid as ordered, the court may suspend any financial sanctions imposed pursuant to this section or section
2929.32 of the Revised Code that have not been paid.

(H)

(H) No financial sanction imposed under this section or section 2929.32 of the Revised Code shall preclude a victim
from bringing a civil action against the offender.

CREDIT(S)

(2008 S 17, eff. 9-30-08; 2006 H 241, eff. 7-1-07; 2006 H 461, eff. 4-4-07; 2004 H 52, eff. 6-1-04; 2002 H 490, eff.
1-1-04; 2002 S 123, eff. 1-1-04; 2002 H 170, eff. 9-6-02; 2000 H 528, eff. 2-13-01; 1999 S 22, eff. 5-17-00; 1999 S

107, eff. 3-23-00; 1998 H 122, e-ff-, 7-29-98; 1996 S 166, eff. 10-17-96; 1996 H 480. eff. 10-16-96; 1996 S 269, eff.

7-1-96; 1995 S 2, eff. 7-1-96)
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