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STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS

In September, 2000, Donny A. Howard was convicted of rape, a first degree felony, and

sentenced to four years in prison. At the time of sentencing in 2000, Mr. Howard was designated

a habitual sex offender pursuant to Ohio's version of the federal Megan's Law, which had been

adopted in Ohio in 1996, and community notification was ordered for a period of 20 years.

Under Megan's Law, Mr. Howard was required to verify his address on an annual basis, and to

notify the Sheriff of any change of address. At the time of Mr. Howard's conviction in

September, 2000, a failure to comply with the registration requirement of Megan's Law was a

felony of the fifth degree. Former R.C. 2950.99.

In 2006, Congress passed the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act, which

divided sex offenders into three separate tiers based upon the offense committed. In 2007, the

Ohio General Assembly, in S.B. 10, enacted the Adam Walsh Act (AWA), which repladed

Megan's Law when it became law on January 1, 2008. S.B. 10 required the Ohio Attorney

General to reclassify existing offenders classified under Megan's Law based on the tier system of

AWA. As a result of this classification, Mr. Howard was reclassified as a Tier III sex offender,

subjecting Mr. Howard to AWA's Tier III community notification requirements for life. At the

time of the passage of S.B. 10, the Ohio General Assembly also enacted S.B. 97, a law that

amended R.C. 2950.99 to make a violation of the reporting requirements of AWA a felony of the

first degree. R.C. 2950.99(A)(1)(a)(i).

On June 3, 2010, Mr. Howard was indicted on one count of failure to notify, a felony of

the first degree, arising out of Mr. Howard's failure notify of his change of residence address to

the Sheriff at least 20 days prior to the change. Mr. Howard entered a no contest plea to the

failure to notify charge as a felony of the first degree. (Tr. 2). In exchange, the State indicated

that it would not be opposed to a minimum sentence. (Tr. 2). Howard was advised that a prison
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term was mandatory since he was pleading no contest to a first-degree felony and he had

previously been convicted of a first-degree felony. (Tr. 4) On October 28, 2010, the trial court

sentenced Mr. Howard to a mandatory minimum prison term of three years. (Tr. 14-15).

Also on June 3, 2010, this Court, in State v. Bodyke,,126 Ohio St.3d 266, 2010-Ohio-

2424, 933 N.E.2d 753, struck down as unconstitutional the reclassification provisions of AWA.

This Court severed those reclassification provisions from AWA, meaning that Mr. Howard's

reclassification as a Tier III sex offender could not be applied, and his original classification as a

habitual sex offender and the registration requirements of that classification were reinstated.

On appeal, the Second District Court of Appeals reversed Mr. Howard's conviction for a

felony of the first degree, following a line of decision of that Court beginning with State v.

Milby, 2"a Dist. No. 23798, 2010-Ohio-6344, and remanded the case back to the trial court for

resentencing based on a conviction for a fifth degree felony, applying the version of Former R.C.

2950.99 in effect at the time of Mr. Howard's initial rape conviction in September, 2000.



LAW AND ARGUMENT

RESPONSE TO APPELLANT'S PROPOSITION OF LAW:

The application of the amended sentencing statute in R.C. 2950.99 to
individuals whose sex offense and community notification requirements
predate the amendment is a retroactive application that violates the Ex Post
Facto and Due Process Clauses of the United States Constitution and the
Retroactivity Clause of Section 28, ArticleTl of the Ohio Constitution.

At issue is whether the increased penalties of the amended R.C. 2950.99 for a registration

offense can be retroactively applied to an offender who was previously classified under Megan's

law. The State argues that the penalty for a registration offense is not part of an offender's

classification and registration requirements that were reinstated by Bodyke, but rather is a new

criminal offense, meaning that the increased penalties in the amended R.C. 2950.99 are not being

retroactively applied to offenders classified under Megan's Law. The State's argument,

however, is not supported by well-established Ohio retroactivity jurisprudence, nor is it

supported by this Court's recent rulings scaling back the applicability of AWA to offender's

classified under Megan's Law.

This Court has repeatedly held that "the retroactivity clause nullifies those new laws that

`reach back and create new burdens, new duties, new obligations, or new liabilities not existing

at the time [the statute becomes effective].' " Bielat v. Bielat, 87 Ohio St.3d 350, 352-353, 721

N.E.2d 28 (2000), quoting Miller v. Hixson, 64 Ohio St. 39, 51, 59 N.E. 749 (1901). The

threshold question is whether the amended sentencing statute reaches back and creates a new

liability not existing when Mr. Howard's duty arose.

Under the former R.C. 2950.99 that was in effect when Mr. Howard's duty to notify of a

change in residence address first arose in September, 2000, a failure to comply with this duty

would result in a fifth degree felony. R.C. 2950.99, as amended in 2007, increased the penalty

for a failure to notify from a fifth degree felony to a first degree felony, creating a new liability
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not existing at the time Mr. Howard's notification duty was imposed. On its face, a retroactive

application of the amended R.C. 2950.99 reaches back and creates a new liability on the

preexisting duty to notify. In its decision, the Second District Court of Appeals noted that

because the prohibited conduct in failing to give the required prior notification of a change in

residence address did not change when R.C. 2950.05 was amended with AWA, Mr. Howard had

an ongoing duty that neither the amendment of that section nor the holding in Bodyke had

changed. Therefore, the Second District Court of Appeals correctly concluded that the amended

sentencing statute that only created a new liability for violations of the offense should not be

applied retroactively where there was a preexisting duty to notify that was in no way changed by

the amendment.

Under R.C. 1.48, "[a] statute is presumed to be prospective in its operation unless

expressly made retrospective." "If the statute is silent on the question of its retroactive

application, we must apply it prospectively only. In order to overcome the presumption that a

statute applies prospectively, a statute must clearly proclaim its retroactive application." Hyle v.

Porter, 117 Ohio.St.3d 165, 2008-Ohio-542, 882 N.E.2d 899, at ¶ 10 (internal citation omitted).

As this Court explained in Hyle, statutes apply prospectively unless the General Assembly

"expressly made the statute retroactive." Id. at ¶ 8. "In order to overcome the presumption that a

statute applies prospectively, a statute must clearly proclaim its retroactive application. Text that

sunports a mere inference of retroactivity is not sufficient to satisfy this standard; we cannot infer

retroactivity from suggestive language." Id. at ¶ 10; (emphasis in original).

Thc General Assembly amended R.C. 2950.99 in 2007 under S.B. 97, companion

legislation to S.B. 10's implementation of AWA's tiered classification system. The statute now

states that whoever violates the duty to register shall be punished as follows: "If the most serious

sexually oriented offense *** that was the basis of the *** change of address notification *** is
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a felony of the first, second, third, or fourth degree *** the offender is guilty of a felony of the

same degree as the most serious sexually oriented offense *** that was the basis of the ***

change of address [duty]." R.C. 2950.99. But, the legislature failed to include any language to

apply the statute retroactively to individuals like Mr. Howard, whose registration duties and

criminal penalty for a failure to comply arose prior to the amendment.

The best indication of the legislative intent is the use of the present tense in the phrase:

"If the most serious sexually oriented offense *** that was the basis of the * * * change of address

notification *** is a felony of the first, second, third, or fourth degree." R.C.

2950.99(A)(1)(a)(ii) (emphasis added). The use of the present tense incorporates present and

future felony convictions. R.C. 1.43(C) (stating that: "Words in the present tense include the

future"). But it does not incorporate past convictions indicating that the statute applies

prospectively only. Although the same sentence uses the past tense to describe the "offense ***

that was the basis of the [duty to register]" that language "presents at best a suggestion of

retroactivity, which is not sufficient to establish that a statute applies retroactively." Hyle at ¶ 13

(emphasis in original). "[T]he drafters of legislation know the words to use in order to comply

with the Ohio Constitution and the requirement created by the General Assembly" and could

have included phrases such as: "notwithstanding any provisions of any prior statute or rule of

law of this state" or "was convicted of or pleaded guilty to a sexually oriented offense prior to

the effective date of this section." Id at ¶¶ 18, 15, 16.

Moreover, R.C. 2901.04 requires that statutes defming offenses or penalties must be

strictly construed against the state. As this Court recognized in State v. Williams, 114 Ohio St.3d

103, 2007-Ohio-3268, 868 N.E.2d 969, the failure to register is a criminal offense and "is subject

to strict interpretation against the state, and must be liberally interpreted in favor of the accused."

Id. at ¶ 10. Thus, any doubt that the statute applies retroactively must be resolved against the
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state. Id. Since R.C. 2950.99 does not proclaim its applicability to individuals like Mr. Howard

whose community notification duties arose prior to the amended sentencing statute, the penalty

statute in effect when the duty arose should apply to him.

Further, a retroactive application of R.C. 2950.99 would violate Art. II, Sec. 28 of the

Ohio Constitution and R.C. 1.58. Under R.C. 1.58, a statutory amendment or repeal does not

affect any "obligation or liability previously acquired" or "penalty, forfeiture, or punishment

incurred in respect thereto." It further states that in any proceeding with respect to that

obligation,, liability, or punishment, the punishment should be imposed as if the statute had not

been amended or repealed. R.C. 1.58(A)(4).

Under Ohio law, the amended statutes cannot be applied to Mr. Howard. See State, v.

Brooks, 163 Ohio App.3d 241, 2005-Ohio-4728, 837 N.E.2d 796, at ¶ 16 (holding that the

amended community control statute did not apply to the defendant because it would permit the

modification of the sentence contrary to R.C. 1.58). In Brooks, the defendant was convicted and

incarcerated for a subsequent offense while on community control. In accordance with the

amended statute in effect on the date of the subsequent conviction, the trial court tolled Brooks'

community control during his incarceration. Brooks appealed, claiming that the tolling under the

statute unconstitutionally modified his sentence. The Fourth District Court of Appeals held that

the court erred as a matter of law in applying the amended statute because the "version of [the]

sentencing statute in effect at [the] time of [the] underlying offense that led to community control

sentence was applicable." Id. at ¶ 1. The court concluded that "under Ohio law, it cannot be

applied retroactively to permit the modification of Brooks' community-control sentence.

Accordingly, we must apply the version of R.C. 2929.15 in effect at the time Brooks committed

the underlying offense that caused him to receive his community-control sentence." Id at ¶16.

Mr. Howard's community notification duties and the erimiinai penalty for failing to comply with
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those duties arose prior to the 2007 amendment to R.C. 2950.99. Accordingly, the version of the

statute in effect when Mr. Howard's duty arose should apply to his subsequent failure to notify

of a change in his residence address.

Any other interpretation would be unconstitutional for three reasons: 1) Mr. Howard's

community notification order would be modified; 2) the increased punishment violates the

retroactivity clause and 3) the increased punishment violates the ex post facto clause. As this

Court concluded in Bodyke, a statutory amendment cannot modify a final court order. Bodyke, at

¶ 56 (concluding: "There is no exception to the rule that final judgments may not be legislatively

annulled in situations where the Legislature has enacted new legislation.") (internal citation

omitted). A retroactive application of R.C. 2950.99 would increase the punishment for Mr.

Howard's failure to comply with his preexisting, continuous community notification duties. As

this Court has held: "Ohio retroactivity analysis *** prohibits *** increased punishment." State

v. Ferguson, 20 Ohio St.3d 7, 2008-Ohio-4824, 896 N.E.2d 110, at ¶ 39. Moreover, Art. I, Sec.

10 of the United States Constitution, the Ex Post Facto Clause, prohibits "[e]very law that

changes the punishment and inflicts a greater punishment, then the law annexed to the crime

when committed." Calder v. Bull (1798), 3 U.S. 386, 390. To apply the amended sentencing

statute retroactively would unconstitutionally modify Mr. Howard's community notification

order and increase the punishment onhis preexisting registration obligations.

In addition to the principles of retroactivity that preclude the State from applying the

2007 amendment that increased the penalty under R.C. 2950.99 to Mr. Howard, this Court's

recent decisions invalidating application of AWA's reclassification provisions to individuals

classified under Megan's Law also preclude Mr. Howard from being penalized under a version of

R.C. 2950.99 that was not in effect when Mr. Howard was first classified under Megan's Law.

As stated above, this Court in Bodyke held that AWA's reclassification provisions, R.C.
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2950.031 and 2950.032, were unconstitutional and that these provisions must be severed from

the remainder of AWA. Id. at paragraphs two and three of the syllabus. Bodyke also clearly

stated what this meant for offenders who had originally been classified under Megan's Law and

were then reclassified under the AWA:

"R.C. 2950.031 and 2950.032 may not be applied to offenders previously
adjudicated by judges under Megan's Law, and the classifications and
community-notification and registration orders imposed previously by judges are

reinstated." Id. at ¶ 66.

This Court recently elaborated on what is to happen to these offenders in State v. Gingell,

128 Ohio St.3d 444, 2011-Ohio-1481, 946 N.E.2d 192. Gingell was convicted of rape in 1981

and was classified as a sexually oriented offender under Megan's Law in 2003. To comply with

Megan's Law, Gingell was required to report once a year for ten years. A failure to register under

this requirement was a fifth-degree felony. After AWA, Gingell was reclassified as a Tier III

offender and was required to report every 90 days for the rest of his life. Because the failure to

register was now the same degree as the underlying offense, Gingell's failure to register was a

first-degree felony, and Gingell, having pled guilty to the charge, was convicted and sentenced to

a prison term of eight years.

Gingell appealed, arguing that the court had erred in retroactively applying R.C. 2950.99

making his violation of R.C. 2950.06 a first-degree felony. He further contended that if the court

had applied the version of R.C. 2950.99 in place at the time of his original classification, it

would have made his failure to verify his address a fifth-degree felony. The First District Court

of Appeals held there was no retroactive application because' Gingell's failure to verify occurred

after the enactment of AWA. In reversing Gingell's conviction, this Court held:

"[P]ursuant to Bodyke, Gingell's original classification under Megan's Law
and the associated community-notification and registration order were reinstated.
Therefore, the current version of R.C. 2950.06, which requires Tier III sexual
offenders to register every 90 days, does not apply to Gingell. Since Gingell was
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charged after his reclassification and before Bodyke, there is no doubt that he was
indicted for a first-degree felony for a violation of the reporting requirements
under the AWA. Since the application of the AWA was based upon an unlawfixl
reclassification, we reverse the judgment of the court of appeals and vacate
Gingell's conviction for a violation of the 90-day address-verification requirement
of R.C. 2509.06. Gingell remained accountable for the yearly reporting
requirement under Megan's Law; whether he met that requirement is not a part of
this case." Id at ¶ 8.

Even more recently, this Court, in State v. Williams, 129 Ohio St.3d 344, 2011-Ohio-

3374, 952 N.E.2d 1108, held that AWA, as applied to any sex offender who committed an

offense prior to its enactment violates Section 28, Article II of the Ohio Constitution, which

prohibits the General Assembly from enacting retroactive laws. This Court made it very clear

that "[fJollowing the enactment of S.B. 10, all doubt has been removed: R.C. Chapter 2950. is

punitive." Id at ¶ 16. Based on this holding, this Court remanded the case for resentencing

under the law in effect at the time Williams conunitted the offense.

Following this line of recent Ohio Supreme Court cases, the Second District Court of

Appeals has held that because the prohibited conduct in failing to give the required prior

notification did not change when R.C. 2950.05 was amended, Mr. Howard had an ongoing duty

that neither tbe amendment of that section nor the holding in Bodyke had changed. Therefore,

Mr. Howard could be found criminally liable for his conduct in failing to notify of a change in

residence address, based on his prior sexual offender classification to which Mr: Howard was

reinstated pursuant to Bodyke. However, because the related amendment of R.C. 2950.99

changed the violation from a lesser degree felony to a first degree felony, the Second District

Court of Appeals correctly reversed the defendant's conviction and remanded the case for

resentencing based on a conviction for a fifth degree felony, not a first degree felony. See State

v. Milby, 2 nd Dist. No. 23798, 2010-Ohio-6344; State v. Johnson, 2"a Dist. No. 24029, 2011-

Ohio-2069; State v. Alexander, 2a Dist. No. 24119, 201 1-Ohio-4015.
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CONCLUSION

This Court should affirm the decision below because the Second District Court of

Appeals correctly held that the trial court erred as a matter of law in applying the amended R.C.

2950.99 to Mr. Howard and ordered the trial court to resentence Mr. Howard's failure to notify as

a`fifth degree felony based on the version of R.C. 2950.99 in effect at the time of Mr. Howard's

classification under Megan's Law.

Respectfully submitted,

Marshall G. Lachman, Esq. (#0076791)
Attorney for Defendant-Appellee
75 North Pioneer Boulevard
Springboro, Ohio 45066
Phone: (937) 743-9443
Fax: (937) 743-6008
Email:lachman@mglachman.com
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Marshall G. Lachman
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APPENDIX



Ohio Statutes

GENERAL PROVISIONS

Chapter 1. DEFINITIONS; RULES OF

CONSTRUCTION

lncludes all legislation filed with the Secretary ofState's

O)fice through 3/9/2012

§ 1.43. Singular - plural - gender - teuse

(A) The singular includes the plural, and the plural

includes the singular.

(B) Words of one gender include the other genders

(C) Words in the present tense include the future.

History. Effective Date: 01-03-1972



Ohio Statutes

GENERAL PROVISIONS

Chapter 1. DEFINITIONS; RULES OF

CONSTRUCTION

Includes all legislation filed with the Secretary ofState's

Ojfice through 3/9/2012

§ 1.48. Presumption that statute is prospective

A statute is presumed to be prospective in its operation
uuless expressly made retrospective.

History. Effective Date: 01-03-1972



Ohio Statutes

GENERAL PROVISIONS

Chapter 1. DEFINITIONS; RULES OF
CONSTRUCTION

Includes all legislation filed with the Secrelaty ofState's

Off,ce through 3/9/2012

§ 1.58. Reenactment, amendment, or repeal of statute

(A) The reenactment, amendment, or repeal of a statute

does not, except as provided in division (B) of this

section:

(1) Affect the prior opermion of the statute or any prior
action taken thereunder;

(2) Affect any validation, cure, right, privilege,

obligation, or liability previously acquired, accrued,

accorded, or incurred thereunder;

(3) Affect any violation thereof or penalty, forfeiture, or
punishment incurred in respect thereto, prior to the
amendment or repeal;

(4) Affect any investigation, proceeding, or remedy in
respect of any such privilege, obligation, liability,
penalty, forfeiture, or punishment; and the investigation,
proceeding, or remedy may be instituted, continued, or
enforced, and the penalty, forfeiture, or punishment
imposed, as if the statute had not been repealed or
amended.

ioI iC\.,j ,. ...,, pe......^, o..... , ' pn...o .......... .... ...y
offense is reduced by a reenactment or amendment of a
statute, the penalty, forfeitme, or punishment, if not
already imposed, shall be imposed according to the
statute as amended.

History. Effective Date: 01-03-1972



Ohio Statutes

Title 29. CRIMES - PROCEDURE

Chapter 2901. GENERAL PROVISIONS

Incfudes alllegislation filed with the Secretary ofState's

Office through 3/9/2012

§ 2901.04. Rules of construction for statutes and rules
of procedure

(A) Except as otherwise provided in division (C) or (D)
of this section, sections of the Revised Code defining
offenses or penalties shall be strictly construed against
the state, and liberally construed in favor of the accused.

(B) Rules of criminal procedure and sections of the
Revised Code providing for criminal procedure shall be
constmed so as to effect the fair, impartial, speedy, and

sure administration ofjustice.

(C) Any provision of a section of the Revised Code that

refers to a previous conviction of or plea of guilty to a

violation of a section of the Revised Code or of a division

of a section of the Revised Code shall be construed to

also refer to a previous conviction of or plea of guilty to a

substantially equivalent offense under an existing or

former law of this state, another state, or the United

States or under an existing or former municipal

ordinance.

(D) Any provision of the Revised Code that refers to a
section, or to a division of a section, of the Revised Code
that defines or specifies a criminal offense shall be
construed to also refer to an existing or former law of this
state, another state, or the United States, to an existing or
former municipal ordinance, or to an existing or former
division of any such existing or former law or ordinance
that defines or specifies, or that defined or specified, a
substantially equivalent offense.

History. Effective Date: 03-23-2000; 09-23-2004
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Ohio Statutes

Title 29. CRIMES - PROCEDURE

Chapter 2929. PENALTIES AND SENTENCING

lncludes alllegislation filed with the Secretary ofState's

OJ)ice through 3/9/2012

§ 2929.15. Community control sanctions - felony

(A)(1) If in sentencing an offender for a felony the court

is not required to impose a prison tenn, a mandatory

prison term, or a term of life imprisonment upon the

offender, the court may directly impose a sentence that

consists of one or more community control sanctions

authorized pursuant to section 2929.16, 2929.17, or

2929.18 of the Revised Code. If the courtis sentencing an

offender for a fourtb degree felony OVI offense under

division (G)(1) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code,

in addition to the mandatory term of1ocal incarceration

imposed under that division and the mandatory fine

required by division (B)(3) of section 2929.18 of the

Revised Code, the court may impose upon the offender a

community control sanction or combination of

community control sanctions in accordance with sections

2929.16 and 2929.17 of the Revised Code. If the court is

sentencing an offender for a third or fourth degree felony

OVI offense under division (G)(2) of section 2929.13 of

the Revised Code, in addition to the mandatory prison

tenn or mandatory prison term and additional prison tenn

hnposed under that division, the court also may impose

upon the offender a community control sanction or

combination of community control sanctions under

o0e,rv1:2929.76 cr 2929.17 ef the Re:sed Cc,aP hnr the

offender shall serve all of the prison terms so imposed

prior to serving the community control sanction.

The duration of all community control sanctions imposed

upon an offender under this division shall not exceed five

years. If the offender absconds or otherwise leaves the

jurisdiction of the court in which the offender resides

without obtaining permission from the court or the

offender's nrobation officer to leave the jurisdiction of the

court, or if the offender is confined in any institution for

the commission of any offense while under a community

control sanction, the period of the community control

sanction ceases to run until the offender is brought before

the court for its further action. If the court sentences the

offender to one or more nonresidential sanctions under

section 2929.17 of the Revised Code, the court shall

impose as a eondition of the nonresidential sanetions that,

during the period of the sanctions, the offender must

abide by the law and must not leave the state without the

peanission of the court or the offender's probation

officer. The court may impose any other conditions of

release under a community control sanction that the court
considers appropriate, including, but not limited to,
requiring that the offender not ingest or be injected with a
drug of abuse and submit to random drug testing as
provided in division (D) of this section to determine
whether the offender ingested or was injected with a drug
of abuse and requiring that the results of the drug test
indicate that the offender did not ingest or was not

injected with a drug of abuse.

(2)(a) If a court sentences an offender to any community

oontrol sanction or combfnation of community control

sanctions authorized pursuant to section 2929.16,

2929.17, or 2929.18 of the Revised Code, the court shall

place the offender under the general control and

supervision of a department of probation in the county

that serves the court for purposes of reporting to the court

a violation of any condition of the sanctions, any

condition of release under a community control sanction

imposed by the eourt, a violation of laiv, or the departure

of the offender from this state without the pennission of

the court or the offender's probation officer.

Alternatively, if the offender resides in another county

and a county department of probation has been

established in that county or that county is served by a

multicountyprobation department established under

section 2301.27 of the Revised Code, the court may

request the court of common pleas of that county to

receive the offender into the general control and

supervision of that county ormulticounty department of

probation for' purposes of reporting to the court a

violation of any condition of the sanctions, any condition

of releaseunder a community control sanction imposed

by the court, a violation of law, or the departure of the

offender from this state without the penhission of the

court or the offender's probation officer, subject to the

jurisdiction of the trial judge over and with respect to the

person of the offender, and to the rules govetning that

department of probation.

If there is no department of probation in the county that

serves the court, the court shall place the offender,

regardless of the offendei s county of residence, under the

general control and supervision of the adult parole

authority for purposes of reporting to the court a violation

of any of the sanetions, any condition of release under a

community control sanetion imposed by the court, a

violation of law, or the departure of the offender from

this state without the permission of the court or the

offender's probation officer.

(b) If the court imposing sentence upon an offender
sentences the offender to any community control sanction
or combination of community control sanctions
authorized, pursuant to section 2929.16, 2929.17, or
2929.18 of the Revised Code, and if the offender violates
any condition of the sanctions, any condition of release
under a community control sanction imposed by the



court, violates any law, or departs the state without the

pennission of the court or the offender's probation

officer, the public or private person or entity that operates

or administers the sanotion or the program or activity that

comprises the sanction shall report the violation or

departure directly to the sentencing court, or shall report

the violation or departure to the county or multicounty

depar[ment of probation with general control and

supervision over the offender under division (A)(2)(a) of

this section or the officer of that departrnent who

supervises the offender, or, if there is no such department

with general control and supervision over the offender

under that division, to the adult parole authority. If the

public or private person or entity that operates or

administers the sanction or the program or activity that

comprises the sanction reports the violation or departure

to the county or multicounty department of probation or

the adult parole authority, the department's or authority's

officers may treat the offender as if the offender were on

probation and in violation of the probation, and shall

report the violation of the condition of the sanetion, any

condition of release under a community control sanction

imposed by the court, the violation of law, or the

departure from the state without the required pennission

to the sentencing court.

(3) If an offender who is eligible for community control
sanctions under this section admits to being drug addicted
or the court has reason to believe that the offender is drug
addicted, and if the offense for which the offender is
being sentenced was related to the addiction, the court
may require that the offender be assessed by a properly
credentialed professional within a specified period of
time and shall require the professional to file a written
assessment of the offender with the court. If a court
imposes treatment and recovery support services as a
community control sanction, the court shall direct the
level and type of treatment and recovery support services
after consideration of the wrinen aSsessmeni, if availabie

at the time of sentencing, andrecommendations of the
professional and other treatment and recovery support

servicesproviders.

(4) If an assessment completed pursuant to division

(A)(3) of this section indicates that the offender is

addicted to drugs or alcohol, the court may include in any

community control sanotion imposed for a violation of
1mc na oooc nn oooc nc amc nc

2925.11, 292513, 2925.22, 2925.23, 2925.36, or 2925.37

of the Revised Code a requirement that the offender

participate in a treatment and recovery support services

program cenified under section 3793.06 of the Revised

Code or offered by another properly credentialed

program provider.

(B)(1) If the conditions of a community control smetion
are violated or if the offender violates a law or leaves the
state without the permission of the cotut or the offender's
probation officer, the sentencing court may impose upon

the violator one or more of the following penalties:

(a) A longer time under the same sanction if the total time
under the sanctions does not exceed the five-year limit
specified in division (A) of this section;

(b) A more restrictive sanction under section 2929.16,
2929.17, or 2929.18 of the Revised Code;

(c) A prison temt on the offender pursuant to section
2929.14 of the Revised Code.

(2) The prison temt, if any, imposed upon a violator

pursuant tothis division shall be within the range of
prison tetms available for the offense for which the
sanction that was violated was imposed and shall not
exceed the prison term specified in the notice provided to
the offender at the sentencing hearing pmsuant to
division (B) (2) of section 2929.19 of the Revised Code.
The court may reduce the longer period of time that the
offender is required to spend under the longef sanction,
the more restrictive sanetion, or a prison term imposed
pursuant to this division by the time the offender

successfully spent under the sanction that was initially

imposed.

(C) If an offender, for a significant period of time, fulfills

the conditions of asanction imposedpmsuant to section

2929.16, 2929.17, or 2929.18 of the Revised Code in an

exemplary manner, the court may reduce the period of

time under the sanction or impose a less restrictive

sanction, but the court shall not perrnit the offender to

violate any law or permit the offender to leave the state

without the petmission of the court or the offender's

probation officer.

(D)(1) If a court under division (A)(1) of this section
imposes a condition of release under a community control
smetion that requires the offender to submit to random
drug testing, the departrnent of probation or the aduit
parole authority that has general control and supervision
of the offender under division (A)(2)(a) of this section
may cause the offender to submit to random drug testing
performed by a laboratory or entity that has entered into a
contract with any of the govemmental entities or offrcers
authorized to enter into a contract with that laboratory or
entity under section 341.26, 753.33, or 5120.63 of the

Revised Code.

(2) If no labomtory or entity described in division (D)(1)
of this section has entered into a contract as specified in
that division, the department of probation or the adult
parole authority that has general control and supervision
of the offender under division (A)(2)(a) of this section
shall cause the offender to submit to random drug testing
performed by a reputable public laboratory to detennine
whether the individual who is the subject of the drug test
ingested or was injected with a drug of abuse.

(3) A laboratory or entity that has entered into a contract
pursuant to section 341.26, 753.33, or 5120.63 of the

A-6



Revised Code shall perform the random drug tests under

division (D)(l) of this section in accordance with the

applicable standards that are included in the terms of that

contract. A public laboratory shall perform the random

drug tests under division (D)(2) of this section in

accordance with the standards set forth in the policies and

procedures established by the department ofrehabilitation

and correction pursuant to section 5120.63 of the Revised

Code. An offender who is required under division (A)(1)

of this section to submit to random drug testing as a

condition of release under a community control sanction

and whose test results indicate that the offender ingested

or was injected with a drug of abuse shall pay the fee for

the drug test if the department of probation or the adult

pamle authority that has general control and supervision

of the offender requires payment of a fee. A laboratory or

entity that performs the random drug testing on an

offender under division (D)(1) or (2) of this section shall

transmit the results of the drug test to the appropriate

department of probation or the adult parole authority that

has generat control and supervision of the offender under

division (A)(2)(a) of this section.

History. Amended by 129th General Assembly File No.
29, HB 86, §l, eff. 9/30/2011.

Amended by 128th General Assembly File No. 52, HB
338, §1, eff. 9/17/2010.

Effective Date: 01-01-2004; 09-23-2004; 2008 HB130
04-07-2009



Ohio Statutes

Title 29. CRIMES - PROCEDURE

Chapter2950. SEXUAL PREDATORS, HABITUAL

SEX OFFENDERS, SEXUALLY ORIENTED

OFFENDERS

Includes all legislation filed with the Secretary ofState's

Office through 3/9/2012

§ 2950.031. Tier-classification of registered sex

offenders

(A)(1) At any time on or after July 1, 2007, and not later

than December 1, 2007, the attomey general shall

determine for each offender or delinquent child who prlor

to December 1, 2007, has registered a residence, school,

institution of higher education, or place of employment

address pursuant to section 2950.04, 2950.041, or

2950.05 of the Revised Code the offender's or delinquent

child's new classification as a tier I sex

offender/child-victim offender, a tier II sex

offender/child-victim offender, or a tier III sex

offender/child-victim offender under Chapter 2950. of the

Revised Code as it will exist under the changes that will

be implemented on January 1, 2008, the offender's or

delinquent child's duties under Chapter 2950. of the

Revised Code as so changed, and, regarding a delinquent

child, whether the child is a public registry-qualified

juvenile offender registrant.

(2) At any time on or after July 1, 2007, and not later than
December 1, 2007, the attomey general shall send to each
offender or delinquent child who nrior to December 1,
2007, has registered a residence, school, institution of
higher education, or place of employment address
pursuant to section 2950.04, 2950.041, or 2950.05 of the
Revised Code a registered letter that contains the
information described in this division. The registered
letter shall be sent retutn receipt requested to the last
reported address of the person and, if the person is a
delinquent child, the last reported address of the parents
of the delinquent child. The letter sent to an offender or to
a delinquent child and the delinquent child's parents
pursuant to this division shall notify the offender or the
delinquent child and the delinquent child's parents of all
of the following:

(a) The changes in Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code
that will be implemented on January 1, 2008;

(b) Subject to division (A)(2)(c) of this section, the
offender's or delinquent child's new classification as a tier
I sex offender/child-victim offender, a tier 11 sex
offender/child-victim offender, or a tier III sex
offender/child-victim offender under Chaptef 2950. of the

Revised Code as it will exist under the changes that will

be implemented on January 1, 2008, the offender's or

delinquent chfld's duties under Chapter 2950. of the

Revised Code as so changed and the dmation of those

duties, whether the delinquent child is classified a public

registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant, and the

informatiodspecified in division (B) of section 2950.03

of the Revised Code to the extent it is relevant to the

offendef or delinquent child;

(c) The fact that the offender or delinquent child has a
right to a hearing as described in division (E) of this
section, the procedures for requesting the hearing, and the
period of time within which the request for the hearing
must be made.

(d) If the offender's or delinquent child's duty to comply

with sections2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and2950.06

of the Revised Code is scheduled to terminate on or after

July 1, 2007, and prior to January 1, 2008, under the

version ofsecfion 2950.07 ofthe Revised Code that is in

effect prior to January 1, 2008, a summary of the

provisions of section 2950.033 of the Revised Code and

the application of those provisions to the offender or

delinquent child, provided that this division applies to a

delinquent child only if the child is in a category

specified in division (C) of section 2950.033 of the

Revised Code.

(3) The attomey general shall make the determinations

described in division (A)(1) of this section for each

offender or delinquent child who has registered an

address as described in that division, even if the

offender's duty to comply with sections 2950.04,

2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code is

scheduled to terminate prior to January 1, 2008, under the

version of section 2950.07 of ihe Revised Code that is in

effect prior to that date or the delinquent child is in a .

category specified in division (C) of section 2950.033 of

the Revised Code and the child's duty to comply with
those sections is scheduled to terminate prior to January
1, 2008, under the version of section 2950.07 of the

Revised Code that is in effect prior to that date. The
attomey general shall send the registered letter described
in division (A)(2) of this section to each offender or
aeiinquent chiid who iras registered ar, a„ --^.,
described in that division even if the offender'sduty to
comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and
2950.06 of the Revised Code is scheduled to terminate
prior to January 1, 2008, under the version of section
2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in effect prior to that
date, or the delinquent child is in a category specified in
tJivision (C) of section 2950.033 of the Revised Code,
and the child's duty to comply with those sections is
scheduled to terminate prior to January 1, 2008, under the
version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in
effect prior to that date. Section 2950.033 of the Revised
Code applies to any offender who has registered an



address as descrlbed in division (A)(1) or (2) of this

section and whose duty to comply with sections 2950.04,

2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code is

scheduled to terminate prior to January 1, 2008, under the

version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in

effect prior to that date, or the delinquent child is in a

category specified in division (C) of section 2950.033 of

the Revised Code, and the child's duty to comply with

those sections is scheduled to temrinate prior to January

1, 2008, under the version of section 2950.07 of the

Revised Code thaf is in effect prior to that date.

(B) If a sheriff informs the attomey general pursuant to

section 2950.043 of the Revised Code that an offender or

delinquent child registered with the sheriff pursuant to

section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code on or

after December 1, 2007, that the offender or delinquent

child previously had not registered under either section

with that sheriff or any other sheriff, and that the offender

or delinquent child was convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or

was classified ajuvenile offender registrant relative to the

sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense

upon which the registration was based prior to December

1, 2007, within fourteen days after being so informed of

the registration and receiving the information and

material specified in division (D) of that section, the

attomey general shall determine for the oftender or

delinquent child all of the matters specified in division

(A)(l) of this section. Upon making the detemrinations,

the attorney general immediately shall send to the

offender or to the delinquent child and the delinquent

child's parents a registered letter pursuant to division

(A)(2) of this section that contains the information

specified in that division.

(C) The attotney general shall maintain the return receipts

for all offenders, delinquent children, and parents of

delinquent children who are sent a registered lettzr under

division (A) or (B) of this section. For each otiender,

delinquent child, and parents of a delinquent child, the

attomey general shall send a copy of the retum receipt for

the offender, delinquent child, or pzrents to the sheriff

with whom the offender or delinquent child most recently

registered a residence address and, if applicable, a school,

institution of higher education, or place of employment

address and to the prosecutor who handled the case in

which the offender or delinquent child was convicted of,

pleaded guilty to, or was adjudicated a delinquerit child

for committing the sexually oriented offense or

child-victim oriented offense that resulted in the

offender's or child's registration duty under section

2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code. If a return

receipt indicates that the offender, delinquent child, or

parents of a delinquent child to whom the registered letter

was sent does not reside or have temporary domicile at

the listed address, the attomey general immediately shall

provide notice of that fact to the sheriff with whom the

offender or delinquent child registered that residence

address.

(D) The attomey general shall mail to each sheriff a list

of all offenders and delinquent children who have

registered a residence address or a school, institution of

higher education, or place of employment address with

that sheriff and to whom a registered letter is sent under

division (A) or (B) of this section. The list shall specify

the offender's or delinquent child's new classification as a

tier I sex offender/child-victim offender, a tier 11 sex

offender/child-victim offender, or a tier III sex

offender/child-victim offender under Chapter 2950. of the

Revised Code as it will exist under the changes that will

be implemented on January 1, 2008, the offender's or

delinquent ebild's duties under Chapter 2950. of the

Revised Code as so changed, and, regarding a delinquent

child, whether the child is a public registry-qualified

juvenile offender registrant.

(E) An offender or delinquent child who is in a category

described in division (A)(2) or (B) of this section may

request as a matter of right a court hearing to contest the

application to the offender or delinquent child of the new

registration requirements under Chapter 2950, of the

Revised Code as it will exist under the changes that will

be implemented on January 1, 2008. The offender or

delinquent child may eontest the manner in which the

letter sent to the offender or delinquent child pursuant to

division (A) or (B) of this section specifies that the new

n:gistration requirements apply to the offender or

delinquent child or may contest whether those new

registration requirements apply at all to the offender or

delinquent child. To request the hearing, the offender or

delinquent child not later than the date that is sixty days

after the offender or delinquent child received the

registered letter senfby the attorney general pursuant to

division (A)(2) of this section shall file a petition with the

court specified in this division. If the offender or

delinquent child resides in or is temporarily domiciled in

this state and requests a hearing, the offender or

delinquent child shaii file me petition with, ai;d the

hearing shall be held in, the court of common pleas or,

for adelinquent child, the juvenile court of the county in

which the offender or delinquent child resides or

temporarily is domiciled. If the offender does not reside

in and is not temporarily domiciled in this state, the

offender or delinquent child shall file the petition with,

and the hearing shall be held in, the court of common

pleas of the county in which the offender registered a

school, inatltution of highES ed"ueatiGri, Gi pla:2 vf

employment address, but if the offender has registered

addresses of that nature in more than one county, the

offender may file such a petition in the court of only one

of those counties.

]f the offender or delinquent child requests a hearing by
timely filing a petition with the appropriate court, the
offender or delinquent child shall serve a copy of the
petition on the prosecutor of the county in which the

petition is filed. The prosecutor shall represent the
interests of the state in the hearing. [n any hearing under
this division, the Rules of Civil Procedure or, if the



hearing is in a juvenile court, the Rules of Juvenile

Procedure apply, except to the extent that those Rules

would by their nature be clearly inapplicable. The court

shall schedule a hearing, and shall provide notice to the

offender or delinquent child and prosecutor of the date,

time, and place of the hearing.

If an offender or delinquent child requests a hearing in

accordance with this division, until the court issues its

decision at or subsequent to the hearing, the offender or

delinquent child shall comply prior to January 1, 2008,

with Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as it exists prior

to that date and shall comply on and after January 1,

2008, with Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as it will

exist under the changes that will be implemented on that

date. If an offender or delinquent child requests a hearing

in accordance with this division, at the hearing, all parties

are entitled to be heard, and the court shall consider all

relevant inforrnation and testimony presented relative to

the application to the offender or delinquent child of the

new registration requirements under Chapter 2950. of the

Revised Code as it will exist under the changes that will

be implemented on January 1, 2008. If, at the conclusion

of the hearing, the court finds that the offender or

delinquent child has proven by clear and convincing

evidence that the new registration requirements do not

apply to the offender or delinquent child in the manner

specified in the letter sent to the offender or delinquent

child pursuant to division (A) or (B) of this section, the

court shall issue an order that specifies the manner in

which the court has determined that the new registration

requirements do apply to the offender or delinquent child.

If at the conclusion of the hearing the court finds that the

offender or delinquent child has proven by clear and

convincing evidence that the new registration

requirements do not apply to the offender or delinquent

child, the court shall issue an order that specifies that the

new registration requirements do not apply to the

offender or delinquent child. The court promptly shall

serve a copy of an order issued under this division upon

the sheriff with whom the offender or delinquent child

most recently registered under section 2950.04, 2950.041,

or 2950.05 of the Revised Code and upon the bureau of

criminal identification and investigation. The offender or

delinquent child and the prosecutor have the right to

appeal the decision of the court issued under this division.

if an offender or delinquent child fails to request a

hearing in accordance with this division within the
applicable sixty-day period specified in this division, the
failure constitutes a waiver by the offender or delinquent
child of the offender's or delinquent child's right to a
hearing under this division, and the offender or
delinquent child is bound by the determinations of the
attomey general contained in the registefed letter sent to

the offender or child.

If ajuvenile court issues an order under division (A)(2) or

(3) of section 2152.86 of the Revised Code that classifies
a delinquent child a public-registry qualified juvenile

offender registrant and if the child's delinquent act was
committed prior to January 1, 2008, a challenge to the

classification contained in the order shall be made
pursuant to division (D) of section 2152.86 of the
Revised Code. -



Ohio Statutes

Title 29. CRIMES - PROCEDURE

Chapter 2950. SEXUAL PREDATORS, HABITUAL

SEX OFFENDERS, SEXUALLY ORIENTED

OFFENDERS

Includes all legislation frled with the Secretary ofState's

Office through 3/9/2012

§ 2950.032. Tier-classification of incarcerated sex

offenders

(A)(1) At any time on or after July 1, 2007, and not later

than December 1, 2007, the attorney general shall do all

of the following:

(a) For each offender who on December 1, 2007, will be

serving a prison tenn in a state correctional institution for

a sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented

offense, determine the offender's classification relative to

that offense as a tier I sex offender/child-victim offender,

a tier II sex offender/child-victim offender, or a tier III

sex offender/child-victim offender under Chapter 2950.

of the Revised Code as it will exist under the changes in

that chapter that will be implemented on January 1, 2008,

and the offender's duties under Chapter 2950. of the

Revised Code as so changed and provide to the

depar[ment of rehabilitation and correetion a document

that describes that classification and those duties;

(b) For each delinquent child who has been classified a

juvenile offender registrant relative to a sexually oriented

offense or child-victim oriented offense and who on

December 1, 2007, will be confined in an institution of

the department of youth services forthe sexually oriented

offense or child-victim oriented offense, determine the

delinquent child's classification relative to that offense as

a tier I sex offender/child-victim offender, a tier II sex

offender/child-victim offender, or a tier III sex

offender/child-victim offender ander Chapter 2950. of the

Revised Code as it will exist under the changes in that

chanter that will be imolemented on January 1, 2008, the

delinquent child's duties under Chapter 2950. of the

Revised Code as so changed, and whether the delinquent

child is a public registry-qualified juvenile offender

registrant and provide to the department a document that

describes that classification, those duties, and whether the

delinquent child is a public registry-qualified juvenile

offender registrant.

(c) For each offender and delinquent child described in
division (A)(1)(a) or (b) of this section, determine
whether the attomey general is required to send a
registered letter to that offender or that delinquent child
and delinquent child's parents pursuant to section

2950.031 of the Revised Code relative to the sexually

oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense for

which the offender or delinquent child is serving the

prison term or is confined and, if the attomey general is

required to send such a letter to that offender or that

delinquent child and delinquent child's parents relative to

that offense, include in the document provided to the

department of rehabilitation and correction or the

department of youth services under division (A)(1)(a) or

(b) of this section a conspicuous notice that the attomey

general will be sending the offender or delinquent child

and delinquent_child's parent the registered letter and that

the department is not required to provide to the offender

or delinquent child the written notiee described in

division (A)(2) of this section.

(2) At any time on or after July 1, 2007, and not later than

December 1, 2007, except as otherwise described in this

division, the department of rehabilitation and correction

shall provide to each offender described in division

(A)(1)(a) of this section and the deparnnent of youth

serviees shall provide to each delinquent child described

in division (A)(1)(b) of this section and to the delinquent

child's parents a written notice that contains the

information described in this division. The department of

rehabilitation and correction and the department of youth

services are not required to provide the written notice to

an offender or a delinquent child and the delinquent

child's parents if the attorney general included in the

document provided to the particular department under

division (A)(1)(a) or (b) of this section notice that the

attomey general will be sending that offender or that

delinquent child and the delinquent child's parents a

registered letter and that the department is not required to

provide to that offender or that delinquent child and

parents the written notice. The written notice provided to

an offender or a delinquent child and the delinquent

child's parents pursuant to this division shall notify the

offender or delinquent child of all of the following:

(a) The changes in Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code
that will be implemented on January 1, 2008;

(b) Subject to division (A)(2)(c) of this section, the

offender's or delinquent child'sclassification as a tier I

sex offender/chiid-victim offender, a iicr li sex

offender/child-victim offender, or a tier III sex

offender/child-victim offender under Chapter 2950, of the

Revised Code as it will exist under the changes that will

be implemented on January 1, 2008, the offender's or

delinquent child's duties under Chapter 2950. of the

Revised Code as so changed and the dumtion of those

duties, whether the delinquent child is.classified a public

registry-qualified juvenite offender registrant, and the

information specified in division (B) of section 2950.03

of the Revised Code to the extent it is relevant to the

offender or delinquent child;



(c) The fact that the offender or delinquent child has a
right to a hearing as described in division (E) of this
section, the procedures for requesting the hearing, and the

period of time within which the request for the hearing

must be made;

(d) If the offender's or delinquent child's duty to comply
with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06
of the Revised Code is scheduled to terminate on or after
July 1, 2007, and prior to January 1, 2008, under the
version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in
effect prior to January 1, 2008, a summary of the
provisions of section 2950.033 of the Revised Code and
the application of those provisions to the offender or
delinquent child, provided that this division applies
regarding a delinquent child only if the child is in a
category specified in division (A) of section 2950.033 of
the Revised Code.

(3) The attorney general shall make the detenninations

described in divisions (A)(1)(a) and (b) of this section for

each offender or delinquent child who is described in

either of those divisions even if the offender's duty to

comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and

2950.06 of the Revised Code is scheduled to terminate

prior to January 1, 2008, under the version of section

2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in effect prior to that

date, or the delinquent child is in a category specified in

division (C) of section 2950.033 of the Revised Code,

and the child's duty to comply with those sections is

scheduled to terrninate prior to January 1, 2008, under the

version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in

effect prior to that date. The department of rehabilitation

and correction shall provide to each offender described in

division (A)(1)(a) of this section and the department of

youth services shall provide to each delinquent child

described in division (A)(1)(b) of this section the notice

described in division (A)(2) of this section, even if the

ottender's duty to comply with sections 2950.04,

2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code is

scheduled to tenninate prior to January 1, 2008, under the

version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in

effect prior to that date, or the delinquent child is in a

category specified in division (C) of section 2950.033 of

the Revised Code, and the child's duty to comply with

those sections is scheduled to terminate prior to January

1, 2008, under the version of section 2950.07 of the

Revised Code that is in effect prior to 'u`,at da'w. 8cct..,o

2950.033 of the Revised Code applies regarding any

offender described in division (A)(1)(a) or (b) of this

section whose duty to comply with sections 2950.04,

2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code is

scheduled to terminate prior to January 1, 2008, under the

version of section 2950.07 of the Revised Code that is in

effect prior to that date and any delinquent child who is in

a category specified in division (A) of section 2950.033

of the Revised Code and whose duty to comply with

those sections is scheduled to terminate prior to January

1, 2008, under the version of section 2950.07 of the

Revised Code that is in effect prior to that date.

(B) If on or after December 2, 2007, an offender

commences a prison term in a state correctional

institution or a delinquent child commences confinement

in an institution of the department of youth services for a

sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented

offense and if the offender or delinquent child was

convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or was classified a

juvenile offender registrant relative to the sexually

oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense on or

before that date, as soon as practicable, the department of

rehabilitation and correction or the department of youth

services, as applicable, shall contact the attomey general,

inform the attomey general of the commencement of the

prison tem or institutionalization, arid forward to the

attomey general information and material that identifies

the offender or delinquent child and that describes the

sexually oriented offense resulting in the prison term or

instimtionalization, the facts and circumstances of it, and

the offender's or delinquent child's criminal or

delinquency history. Within fourteen days after being so

informed of the commencement of the prison tem or

institutionalization and receiving the infonnation and

material specifred in this division, the attomey general

shall determine for the offender or delinquent child all of

the matters specified in division (A)(1)(a), (b), or (c) of

this section and immediately ptovide to the appropriate

department a document that describes the offender's or

delinquent child's classification and duties as so

determined.

Upon receipt from the attomey general of a document

described in this division that pertains to an offender or

delinquent child the department of rehabilitation and

correction shall provide to the offender or the department

of youth services shall provide to the delinquent child, as

applicable, a written notice that contains the information

aFleli11IR1 til dl V IJiGi/ (A)\c^ v wo orvrvn.

(C) If, on or after July I, 2007, and prior to January 1,

2008, an offender is convicted of or pleads guilty to a

sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented

offense and the court does not sentence the offender to a

prison term for that offense or if, on or after July 1, 2007,

and prior to January 1, 2008, a delinquent child is

classified a juvenile offender registrant relative to a

sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented

offense and the juvenile court does not commit the child

to the custody of the department of youth services for that

offense, the court at the time of sentencing or the juvenile

court at the time specified in division (B) of section

2152.82, division (C) of section 2152.83, division (C) of

section 2152.84, division (E) of section 2152.85, or

division (A) of section 2152.86 of the Revised Code,

whichever is applicable, shall do all of the following:

(1) Provide the offender or the delinquent child and the
delinquent child's parents with the notices required under
section 2950.03 of the Revised Code, as it exists prior to



January 1, 2008, regarding the offender's or delinquent
child's duties under this chapter as it exists prior to that

date;

(2) Provide the offender or the delinquent child and the

delinquent child's parents with a written notice that

contains the infomation specified in divisions (A)(2)(a)

and (b) of this section;

(3) Provide the offender or the delinquent child and the
delinquent child's parents a written notice that clearly
indicates that the offender or delinquent child is required

to comply with the duties described in the notice
provided under division (C)(1) of this section until
January 1, 2008, and will be required to comply with the
duties described in the notice provided under division
(C)(2) of this section on and after that date.

(D)(1) Except as otherwise provided in this division, the

officer oremployee of the department of rehabilitation

and correction or the department of youth services who

provides an offender or a delinquent child and the

delinquent child's parents with the notices described in

division (A)(2) or (B) of this section shall require the

offender or delinquent child to read and sign a form

stating that the changes in Chapter 2950. of the Revised

Code that will be implemented on January 1, 2008, the

offender's or delinquent child's classification as a tier I

sex offender, a tier Il sex offender, or a tier III sex

offender, the offender's or delinquent child's duties under

Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code as so changed and the

dwation of those duties, the delinquent child's

classification as a public registry-qualified juvenile

offender registrant if applicable, the information specified

in division (B) of section 2950.03 of the Revised Code to

the extent it is relevant to the offender or delinquent

child, and the right to a hezring, procedures for

requesting the hearing, and period of time within which

utc rcqucei for u c hearmig iT "i u" "" uarc been

explained to the offender or delinquent child.

Exoept as otherwise provided in this division, the judge
who provides an offender or delinquent child with the
notices described in division (C) of this section shall
require the offender or delinquent child to read and sign a
form stating that all of the information described in
divisions (C)(1) to (3) of this section has been explained
to the otr:_ner or dPlITql,Pnt cl,lld.

If the offender or delinquent child is unable to read, the
official, employee, orjudge shall certify on the form that
the official, employee, or judge specifically informed the
offender or delinquent child of all of that information and
that the offender or delinquent child indicated an
understanding of it.

(2) After an offender or delinquent child has signed the
form described in division (D)(1) of this section or the
official, employee, orjudge has certified on the form that
the form has been explained to the offender or delinquent

child and that the offender or delinquent child indicated

an understanding of the specified information, the

official, employee, or judge shall give one copy of the

fonn to the offender or delinquent child, within tlrree

days shall send one copy of the fonn to the bureau of

criminal identification and investigation in accordance

with the procedures adopted pursuant to section 2950.13

of the Revised Code, and shall send one copy of the form

to the sheriff of the county in which the offender or

delinquent child expects to reside and one copy to the

prosecutor who handled the case in which the offender or

delinquent child was convictedof, pleaded guilty to, or

was adjudicated a delinquent child for committing the

sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense

that resulted in the offender's or child's registration duty

under section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code.

(E) An offender or delinquent child who is provided a

notice under division (A)(2) or (B) of this section may

request as a matter of right a court hearing to contest the

application to the offender or delinquent child of the new

registration requirements under Chapter 2950. of the

Revised Code as it will exist under the changes that will

be implemented on January 1, 2008. The offender or

delinquent child may contest the matters that are

identified in division (E) of section 2950.031 of the

Revised Code. To request the hearing, an offender or

delinquent child who is provided a notice under division

(A)(2) of this sectionshall file a petition with the

appropriate court not later tban the date that is sixty days

afterthe offender or delinquent child is provided the

notice under that division, and an offender or delinquent

child who is provided a notice under division (B) of this

section shall file a petition with the appropriate court not

later than the date that is sixty days after the offender or

delinquent child is provided the notice under that

division. The request for the hearing shall be made in the

manner and with the court specified in division (E) of

section 2950.031 of the Revised Code, and, except as

otherwise provided in this division, the provisions of that

division regarding the service of process and notice

regarding the hearing, the conduct of the hearing, the

determinations to be made at the hearing, and appeals of

those detenninations also apply to a hearing requested

under this division. If a hearing is requested as described

in this division, the offender or delinquent child shall

appear at the hearing by video conferencing equipment if

available and compatible, except that, upon the court's

own motion or the motion of the offender or delinquent

child or the prosecutor representing the interests of the

state and a detemination by the court that the interests of

justice require that the offender or delinquent child be

present, the court may permit the offender or delinquent

child to be physically present at the hearing. An

appearance by video conferencing equipment pursuant to

this division has the same force and effect as if the

offender or delinquent child were physically present at

the hearing. The provisions of division (E) of section

2950.031 of the Revised Code regarding the effect of a

failwe to timely request a hearing also apply to a failwe



to timely request a hearing under this division.

If ajuvenile court issues an order under division (A)(2) or

(3) of section 2152.86 of the Revised Code that classifies

a delinquent child a public-registry qualified juvenile

offender registrant and if the child's delinquent act was

committed prior to January 1, 2008, a challenge to the

classification contained in the order shall be made

pursuant to division (D) of section 2152.86 of the

Revised Code.

History. Effective Date: 2007 SB10 07-01-2007



the person provides the written notice of a fixed residence
address as described in this division.
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§ 2950.05. Notice of residence address change

(A) If an offender or delinquent child is required to

register pursuant to division (A)(2), (3), or (4) of section

2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code, the delinquent

child if not a public registry-qualified juvenile offender

registrant shall provide written notice of any change of

residence address, and the offender and public

registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant shall

provide notice of any change of residence, school,

institution of higher education, or place of employment

address, to the sheriff with whom the offender or

delinquent child most recently registered the address

under division (A)(2), (3), or (4) of section 2950.04 or

2950.041 of the Revised Code or under division (B) of

this section. A written notice of a change of school,

instimtion of higher education, or place of employment

address also shall include the name of the new school,

institution of higher education, or place of employment.

The delinquent child if not a public registry-qualified

juvenile offender registrant shall provide the written

notice at least twenty days prior to changing the residence

address, and the offender and public registry-qualified

3c „a^de cfvnder -eg:s W^i sha11 provide Ytie ..rittPn

notice at least twenty days prior to changing the address

of the residence, school, or institution of higher education

and not later than three days after changing the address of

the place of employment. They shall provide the written

notices during the period they are required to register. If a

residence address change is not to a fixed address, the

offender or delinquent child shall include in that notice a

detailed description of the place or places at which the
off : der or.tglynqnrnt rhild intends fn ctay and, not later

than the end of the first business day immediately

following the day on which the person obtains a fixed

residence address, shall provide that sheriff written notice

of that fixed residence address. If a person whose

residence address change is not to a fixed address

deseribes in a notice under this division the place or

places at which the person intends to stay, for purposes of

divisions (C) to (I) of this section, sections 2950.06 to

2950.13 of the Revised Code, and sections 311.171 and

2919.24 of the Revised Code, the place or places so

desoribed in the notice shall be considered the person's

residence address and registered residence address until

(B) If an offender or public registry-qualified juvenile

offender registrant is required to provide notice of a

residence, school, institution of higher education, or place

ofemployment address change under division (A) of this

section, or a delinquent child who is not a public

registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant is required

to provide notice of a residence address change under that

division, the offender or delinquent child, at least twenty

days prior to changing the residence, school, or institution

of higher education address and not later than tlvee days

after changing the place of employment address, as

applicable, also shall register the new address in the

manner, and using the form, described in divisions (B)

and (C) of section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised

Code, whichever is applicable, with the sheriff of the

county in which the offendet's or delinquent child's new

address is located, subject to division (C) of this section.

If a residence address change is not to a fixed address, the

offender or delinquent child shall include in the

registration a detailed desoription of the place or places at

which the offender or delinquent child intends to stay

and, not later than the end of the first business day

immediately following the day on which the person

obtains a fixed residence address, shall register with that

sheriff that fixad residence address. If a person whose

residence address change is not to a fixed address

describes in a registration under this division the place or

places at which the person intends to stay, for purposes of

divisions (C) to (I) of this section, sections 2950.06 to

2950.13 of the Revised Code, and sections 311.171 and

2919.24 of the Revised Code, the place or places so

described in the registration shall be considered the

person's residence address and registered residence

address, until the person registers a fixed residence

address as described in this division.

(C) Divisions (A) and (B) of this section apply to a
person who is required to register pursuant to division
(A)(2), (3), or (4) of section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the
Revised Code regardless ofwhether the new residence,
school, institution of higher education, or place of
employment address is in this state or in another state. If
the new address is in another state, the person shall
register with the appropriate law enforcement officials in
that state in the manner required under the law of that
state and within the earlier of the period of time required
under the law of that state or at least seven days prior to

changing the address.

(D) If an offender or delinquent child who is a public
registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant is required
to register pursuant to division (A)(2), (3), or (4) of
section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code, the
offender or public registry-qualified juvenile offender
registrant shall provide written notice, within three days



of the change, of any change in vehicle information,

email addresses, intemet identifiers, or telephone

numbers registered to or used by the offender or

registrant to the sheriff with whom the offender or

registrant has most recently registered under division

(A)(2), (3), or (4) of section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the

Revised Code.

(E)(1) Upon receiving from an offender or delinquent

child pursuant to division (A) of this section notice of a

change of the offendef's or public registry-qualified

juvenile offender registrant's residence, school, institution

of higher education, or place of employment address or

the residence address of a delinquent child who is not a

public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant, a

sheriff promptly shall forward the new address to the

bureau of criminal identification and investigation in

accordance with the forwarding procedures adopted

pursuant to section 2950.13 of the Revised Code if the

new address is in another state or, if the new address is

located in another county in this state, to the sheriff of

that county. Upon receiving from an offender or public

registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant notice of

vehicle and identifier changes pursuant to division (D) of

this section, a sheriff promptly shall forward the new

information to the bmeau of criminal identification and

investigation in accordance with the forwarding

procedures adopted pursuant to section 2950.13 of the

Revised Code. The bureau shall include all information

forwarded to it under this division in the state registry of

sex offenders and child-victim offenders established`and

maintained under section 2950.13 of the Revised Code

and shall forward notice of the offender's or delinquent

child's new residence, school, institution of higher

education, or place of employment address, as applicable,

to the appropriate officials in the other state.

(2) When an offender or public registry-qualified juvenile

o.icnder regisuant registcrs a riew rRsidonca,'sohool,

institution of higher education, or place of employment

address or a delinquent child who is not a public

registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant registers a

new residence address pursuant to division (B) of this

section, the sheriff with whom the offender or delinquent

child ragisters and the bureau of criminal identification

and investigation shall comply with division (D) of

section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code,

wuichevc, : ap-pca^.e.

(F)(1) No person who is required to notify a sheriff of a
change of address pursuant to division (A) of this section
or a change in vehicle information or identifiers pursuant
to division (D) of this section shall fail to notify the
appropriatesheriffin accordance with that division.

(2) No person who is required to register a new residerYce,

school, institution of higher education, or place of

employment address with a sheriff or with an official of

another state pursuant to divisions (B) and (C) of this

section shall fail to register with the appropriate sheriff or

official of the other state in accordance with those
divisions.

(G)(1) It is an affirmative defense to a charge of a

violation of division (F)(1) of this section that it was

impossible for the person to provide the written notice to

the sheriff as required under division (A) of this section

because of a lack of knowledge, on the date specified for

the provision of the written notice, of a residence, school,

institution of higher eduoation, or place of employment

address change, and that the person provided notice of the

residence, school, institution of higher education, or place

of employment address change to the sheriff specified in

division (A) of this section as soon as possible, but not

later than the end of the first business day, after learning

of the address change by doing either of the following:

(a) The person provided notice of the address change to

the sheriff specified in division (A) of this section by

telephone immediately upon learrting of the address

change or, if the person did not have reasonable access to

a telephone at that time, as soon as possible, but not later

than the end of the first business day, after learning of the

address change and having reasonable access to a

telephone, and the person, as soon as possible, but not

later than the end of the fffst business day, after providing

notice of the address change to the sheriff by telephone,

provided written notice of the address change to that

sheriff.

(b) The person, as soon as possible, but not later than the

end of the first business day, after learning of the address

change, provided written notice of the address change to

the sheriff specified in division (A) of this section.

(2) It is an affirmative defense to a charge of a violation

of division (F)(2) of this section that it was impossible for

the person to register the new address with the sheriff or

the official of the other state as reouired under division

(B) or (C) of this section because of a lack of knowledge,

on the date specified for the registration of the new

address, of a residence, school, institution of higher

education, or place of employment address change, and

that the person registered the new residence, school,

institution of higher education, or place of employment

address with the sheriff or the official of the other state

specified in division (B) or (C) of this section as soon as

nossible, but not later than the end of the fnst business

day, after learning of the address change by doing either

of the following:

(a) The person provided notice of the new address to the

sheriff or official specified in division (B) or (C) of this

section by telephone immediately upon leaming of the

new address or, if the person did not have reasonable

access to a telephone at that time, as soon as possible, but

not later than the end of the fffst business day, after

learning of the new address and having reasonable access

to a telephone, and the person, as soon as possible, but

not later than the end of the first business day, after



providing notice of the new address to the sheriff or
official by telephone, registered the new address with that
sheriff or official in accordance with division (B) or (C)
of this section.

(b) The person, as soon as possible, but not later than the
end of the first business day, after leaming of the new

address, registered the new address with the sheriff or
official specified in division (B) or (C) of this section, in
accordance with that division.

(H) An offender or delinquent child who is required to
comply with divisions (A),(B), and (C) of this section
shall do so for the period of time specified in section
2950.07 of the Revised Code.

(I) As used in this section, and in all other sections of the
Revised Code that refer to the duties imposed on an
offender or delinquent child under this section relative to
a change in the offender's or delinquent child's residence,
school, institution of higher education, or place of
employment address, "change in address" includes any
circumstance in which the old address for the person in
question no longer is accurate, regzrdless of whether the
person in question has a new address.

History. Effective Date: 07-31-2003; 04-29-2005; 2007
SB 10 01-01-2008
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§ 2950.06. Periodic verification of current residence

address

(A) An offender or delinquent child who is required to

register a residence address pursuant to division (A)(2),

(3), or (4) of section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised

Code shall periodically verify the offender's or delinquent

child's current residence address, and an offender or

public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant who

is required to register a school, institution of higher

education, or place of employment address pursuant to

any of those divisions shall periodically verify the

address of the offender's or public registry-qualified

juvenile offender registrant's current school, institution of

higher education, or place of employment, in accordance

with this section. The frequency of verification shall be

detennined in accordance with division (B) of this

section, and the manner of verification shall be

determined in accordance with division (C) of this

section.

(B) The frequency with which an offender or delinquent
child must verify the offender's or delinquent child's
surrent residenre, schnol, institution of higher education,
or place of employment address pursuant to division (A)
of this section shall be detemined as follows:

(1) Regardless ofwhen the sexually oriented offense or

child-victim oriented offense for which the offender or

delinquent child is required to register was committed, if

the offender or delinquent child is a tier I sex

offender/child-victim offender, the offender shall verify

the offender's curzent residence address or current school,

institution of higher education, or place of employment

address, and the delinquent child shall verify the

delinquent child's current residence address, in

accordance with division (C) of this section on each

anniversary of the offender's or delinquent child's initial

registration date during the period the offender or

delinquent child is required to register.

(2) Regardless ofwhen the sexually oriented offense or
child-victim oriented offense for which the offender or
delinquent child is required to register was committed, if
the offendef or delinquent child is a tier II sex
offender/child-victim offender, the offender shall verify

the offender's current residence address or current school,

institution of higher education, or place of employment

address, and the delinquent child shall verify the

delinquent child's current residence address, in

accordance with division (C) of this section every one

hundred eighty days after the offender's or delinquent

child's initial registration date during the period the

offender or delinquent child is required to register.

(3) Regardless of when the sexually oriented offense or

child-victim oriented offense for which the offender or

delinquent child is required to register was committed, if

the offender or delinquent child is a tier III sex

offender/child-victim offender, the offender shall verify

the offender's current residence address or current school,

institution of higher education, or place of employment

address, and the delinquent child shall verify the

delinquent child's current residence address and, if the

delinquent child is a public registry-qualified juvenile

offender registrant, the current school, institution of

higher education, or place of employment address, in

accordance with division (C) of this section every ninety

days after the offender's or delinquent child's initial

registration date during the period the offender or

delinquent child is required to register.

(4) If, prior to January 1, 2008, an offender or delinquent
child 'registered with a sheriff under a duty imposed under
section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code as a
result of a conviction of, plea of guilty to, or adjudication
as a delinquent child for committing a sexually oriented
offense or a child-victim oriented offense as those terms
were defined in section 2950.01 of the Revised Code
prior to January 1, 2008, the duty to register that is
imposed on the offender or delinquent child pursuant to
section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code on and
afterJanuary 1, 2008, is a continuation of the duty
imposed upon the offender prior to January 1, 2008,
under section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code
and, for purposes of divisions (B)(1), (2), and (3) of this
section, the offender's initial registration date related to
that offense is the date on which the offender initially
registered under section 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the
Revised Code.

(C)(1) An offender or delinquent child who is required to

verify the offender's or delinquent child's current

residence, school, institution of higher education, or place

of employment address pursuant to division (A) of this

section shall verify the address with the sheriff with

whom the offender or delinquent child most recently

registered the address by personally appearing before the

sheriff or a designee of the sheriff, no earlier than ten

days before the date on which the verification is required

pursuant to division (B) of this section and no later than

the date so required for verification, and completing and

signing a copy of the verification fomt prescribed by the

bureau of criminal identification and investigation. The



sheriff or designee shall sign the completed form and

indicate on the form the date on which it is so completed.
The verification required under this division is complete
when the offender or delinquent child personally appears
before the sheriff or designee and completes and signs the
fom as described in this division.

(2) To facilitate the verification of an offender's or

delinquent child's current residence, school, institution of

higher education, or place of employment address, as

applicable, under division (C)(1) of this section, the

sheriff with whom the offender or delinquent child most

recently registered the address may mail a

nonforwardable verification form prescribed by the

bureau of criminal identification and investigation to the

offender's or delinquent child's last reported address and

to the last reported address of the parents of the

delinquent child, with a notice that conspicuously states

that the offender or delinquent child must personally

appear before the sheriff or a designee of the sheriff to

complete the fom and the date by which the form must

be so completed. Regardless of whether a sheriff mails a

fom to an offender or delinquent child and that child's

parents, each offender or delinquent child who is required

to verify the offender's or delinquent child's current

residence, school, institution of higher education, or place

of employment address, as applicable, pursuant to

division (A) of this section shall personally appearbefore

the sheriff or a designee of the sheriff to verify the

address in accordance with division (C)(1) of this section.

(D) The verification form to be used under division (C) of

this section shall contain all of the following:

(1) Except as provided in division (D)(2) of this section,

the cun'ent residence address of the offender or

delinquent child, the name and address of the offender's

or delinquent child's employer if the offender or
delinqnent r_hild ic emplnyed ai?he time nfverificatinn nr

if the offender or delinquent child knows at the time of

verification that the offender or delinquent child will be

commencing employment with that employer subsequent

to verification, the name and address of the offender's or

public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant's

school or institution of higher education if the offender or

public registryqualified juvenile offender registrant

attends one at the time of verification or if the offender or

oublic registry-qualified iuvenile offender registrant

Imows at the time of verification that the offender will be

commencing attendance at that school or institution

subsequent to verlfication, and any other information

required by the bureau of criminal identification and

investigation.

(2) Regarding an offender or public registry-qualified

juvenile offender registrant who is verifying a current

school, institution of higher education, or place of

employment address, the name and current address of the

school, institution of higher education, or place of

employment of the offender or public registry-qualified

juvenile offender registrant and any other information
required by the bureau of criminal identification and
investigation.

(E) Upon an offender's or delinquent child's personal

appearance and completion of a verification form under

division (C) of this section, a sheriff promptly shall

forward a copy of the verification form to the bureau of

criminal identification and investigation in accordance

with the forwarding procedures adopted by the attomey

general pursuant m section 2950.13 of the Revised Code.

If an offender or public registry-qualified juvenile

offender registrant verifies a school, institution of higher

education, or place of employment address, or provides a

school or institution of higher education address under

division (D)(1) of this section, the sheriff also shall

provide notice to the law enforcement agency with

jurisdiction over the premises of the school, institution of

higher education, or place of employment of the

offender's or public registry-qualified juvenile offender

registrant's name and that the offender or public

registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant has verified

or provided that address as a place at which the offender

or public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant

attends school or an institution of higher education or at

which the offender or public registry-qualified juvenile

offender registrant is employed. The bureau shall include

all informa[ion forwarded to it ander this division in the

state registry of sex offenders and child-victim offenders

established and maintained under section 2950.13 of the

Revised Code.

(F) No person who is required to verify a current

residence, school, institution of higher education, or place

of employment address, as applicable, pursuant to

divisions (A) to (C) of this section shall fail to verify a

currentresidence, school, institution of higher education,

or place of employment address, as applicable, in

a.,.,;,rdar.ce ..ith thcse di:_..,.s by ,he date requ ^ed for

the verification as set forth in division (B) of this section,

provided that no person shall be prosecuted or subjected

to a delinquent child proceeding for a violation of this

division, and that no parent, guardian, or custodian of a

delinquent child shall be prosecuted for a violation of

section 2919.24 of the Revised Code based on the

delinquent child's violation of this division, prior to the

expiration of the period of time specified in division (G)
nfthie ceqt-i,nn_

(0)(1) If an offender or delinquent child fails to verify a
cun-entresidence, school, institution of higher education,
or place of employment address, as applicable, as
required by divisions (A) to (C) of this section by the date
required for the verification as set forth in division (B) of
this section, the sheriff with whom the offender or
delinquent child is required to verify the current address,
on the day following that date required for the
verification, shall send a written warning to the offender
or to the delinquent child and that child's parents, at the
offender's or delinquent child's and that child's parents'

c



last known residenoe, school, institution of higher
education, or place of employment address, as applicable,

regarding the offender's or delinquent child's duty to
verify the offender's or delinquent child's current

residence, school, institution of higher education, or place
ofemployment address, as applicable.

The written waming shall do all of the following:

(a) Identify the sheriff who sends it and the date on which
it is sent;

(b) State conspicuously that the offender or delinquent

child has failed to verify the offender's or public

registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant's current

residence, school, institution of higher education, or place

of employment address or the current residence address

of a delinquent child who is not a public

registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant by the date

required for the verification; .

(c) Conspicuously state that the offender or delinquent

child has seven days from the date on which the waming

is sent to verify the current residence, school, institution

of higher education, or place ofemployment address, as

applicable, with the sheriff who sent the waming;

(d) Conspicuously state that a failure to timely verify the
specified current address or addresses is a felony offense;

(e) Conspicuously state that, if the offender or public

registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant verifies the

currentresidence, school, institution ofhigher education,

or place of employment address or the delinquent child

who is not a public registry-qualified juvenile offender

registrant verifies the current residence address with that

sheriff within that seven-day period, the offender or

delinquent child will not be prosecuted or subjected to a

delinquent child proceeding for a failure to timely verify

a current address and the delinquent child's parent,

guardian, or custodian will not be prosecuted based on a

failure of the delinquent child to t'nnely verify an address;

(f) Conspicuously state that, if the offender or public

registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant does not

verify the cuaent residence, school, institution of higher

education, or pla¢e of employment address or the

delinquent child who is not a public registry-qualified

juvenile offender registrant does not verify the current

residence address with that sheriff within that seven-day

period, the offender or delinquent child will be arrested or

taken into custody, as appropriate, and prosecuted or

subjected to a delinquem child proceeding for a failure to

timely verify a current address and the delinquent child's

parent, guardian, or custodian may be prosecuted for a

violation of section 2919.24 of the Revised Code based

on the delinquent child's failure to timely verify a current

residence address.

(2) If an offender or delinquent child fails to verify a

current residence, school, institution of higher education,

or place of employment address, as applicable, as

required by divisions (A) to (C) of this section by the date

required for the verification as set forth in division (B) of

this section, the offender or delinquent child shall not be

prosecuted or subjected to a delinquent child proceeding

for a violation of division (F) of this section, and the

delinquent child's parent, guardian, or custodian shall not

be prosecuted for a violation of section 2919.24 of the

Revised Code based on the delinquent child's failure to

timely verify a current residence address and, if the

delinquent child is a public registry-qualified juvenile

offender registrant, the current school, institution of

higher education, or place of employment address, as

applicable, unless the seven-day period subsequent to that

date that the offender or delinquent child is provided

under division (G)(1) of this section to verify the current

address has expired and the offender or delinquent child,

prior to the expiration of that seven-day period, has not

verified the current address. Upon the expiration of the

seven-day period that the offender or delinquent child is

provided under division (G)(1) of this section to verify

the current address, if the offender or delinquent child has

not verified the current address, all of the following

apply:

(a) The sheriff with whom the offender or delinquent

child is required to verify the current residence, school,

institution of higher education, or place of employment

address, as applicable, promptly shall notify the bureau of

criminal identification and investigation of the failure.

(b) The sheriff with whom the offender or delinquent

child is required to verify the current residence, school,

institution of higher education, or place of employment

address, as applicable, the sheriff of the county in which

the offender or delinquent child resides, the sheriff of the

county in which is located the offender's or public

registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant's school,
..C L:.d.n. nA.,..nF.... ..ta..n nC an,el,.arm>nt

address that was to be verified, or a deputy of the

appropriate sheriff, shall locate the offender or delinquent

child, promptly shall seek a warrant for the arrest or

taking into custody, as appropriate, of the offender or

delinquent child for the violation of division (F) of this

section and shall arrest the offender or take the child into

custody, as appropriate.

(c) The offender or delinquent child is subiect to

prosecution or a delinquent child proceeding for the

violation of division (F) of this section, and the

delinquent child's parent, guardian, or custodian may be

subject to prosecution for a violation of section29t9.24

of the Revised Code based on the delinquent child's

violation of that division.

(H) An offender or public registry-qualified juvenile

offender registrant who is required to verify the
offender's or public registry-qualified juvenile offender
registrant's cmrent residence, school, institution of higher
education, or place of employment address pursuant to



divisions (A) to (C) of this section and a delinquent child
who is nota public registry-qualified juvenile offender
registrant who is required to verify the delinquent child's
current residence address pursuant to those divisions shall
do so for the period of time specified in section 2950.07
of the Revised Code.

History. Effective Date: 07-31-2003; 2007 SBIO

01-01-2008



fourth degree.

Ohio Statutes

Title 29. CRIMES - PROCEDURE

Chapter 2950. SEXUAL PREDATORS, HABITUAL

SEX OFFENDERS, SEXUALLY ORIENTED

OFFENDERS

Includes all legislation filed with the Secretary ofState's

Ofji'ce through 3/9/2012

§ 2950.99. Penalty

(A)(I)(a) Except as otherwise provided in division

(A)(1)(b) of this section, whoever violates a prohibition

in section 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, or 2950.06 of the

Revised Code shall be punished as follows:

(b) If the offender previously has been convicted of or

pleaded guilty to, or previously has been adjudicated a

delinquent child for committing, a violation of a

prohibition in section 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, or

2950.06 of the Revised Code, whoever violates a

prohibition in section 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, or

2950.06 of the Revised Code shall be punished as

follows:

(i) If the most serious sexually oriented offense that was

the basis of the registration, notice of intent to reside,

change of address notification, or address verification

requirement that was violated under the prohibiUon is

aggravated murder or murder if committed by an adult or

a comparable category of offense committed in another

jurisdiction, the offender is guilty of a felony of the first

degree.

(i) If the most serious sexually oriented offense that was
the basis of the registration, notice of intent to reside,
change of address notification, or address verification
requirement that was violated under the prohibition is
aggravated murder or murder if committed by an adult or
a comparable category of offense committed in another
jurisdiction, the offender is guilty of a felony of the first
degree.

(ii) If the most serious sexually oriented offense or

child-victim oriented offense that was the basis of the

registration, notice of intent to reside, change of address

notification, or address verification requirement that was

violated under the prohibition is a felony of the first,

second, th"ud, or fourth degree if committed by an adult

or a comparable category of offense committed in another

jurisdiction, the offender is guilty of a felony of the same

degree as the most serious sexually oriented offense or

child-victim oriented offense that was the basis of the

registration, notice of intent to reside, change of address,

or address verification requirement that was violated

under the prohibition, or, if the most serious sexually

oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense that was

the basis of the registration, notice of intent to reside,

change of address, or address verification requirement

that was violated under the prohibition is a comparable

category of offense committed in anotherjurisdiction, the

offender is guilty of a felony of the same degree as that

offense committed in the other jurisdiction would

constitute if committed in this state.

(iii) If the most serious sexually oriented offense or
child-victim oriented offense that was the basis of the
registration, notice of intent to reside, change of address
notification, or address verification requirement that was
violated under the prohibition is a felony of the fifth
degree or a misdemeanor ifcommitted by an adult or a
comparable category of offense eommitted in another
jurisdiction, the offender is guilty of a felony of the

(ii) If the most serious sexually oriented offense or

child-victim oriented offense that was the basis of the

registration, notice of intent to reside, change of address

notification, or address verification requirement that was

violated under the prohibition is a felony of the first,

second, or third degree if committed by an adult or a

comparable category of offense committed in another

jurisdiction, the offender is guilty of a felony of the same

degree as the most serious sexually oriented offense or

child-victim oriented offense that was the basis of the

registration, notice of intent to reside, change of address,

or address verification requirement that was violated

under the prohibition, or, if the most serious sexually

oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense that was

the basis of the registration, notice of intent to reside,

change of address, or address verification requirement

that was violated under the prohibition is a comparable

category of offense committed in anotherjurisdiction, the

offender is guilty of a felony of the same degree as that

offense committed in the other jurisdiction would

constitute if committed in this state.

(iii) If the most serious sexually oriented offense or
child-victim oriented offense that was the basis of the
registration, notice of intent to reside, change of address
°•:6ca^ °_ ° a.".d,^ss . 5c 4 .h •,,,... . , , ...,^, a• inn: yur.emem 'a.was

violated under the prohibition is a felony of the fourth or
fifth degree if committed by an adult or a, comparable
category of offense committed in another jurisdicfion, the
offender is guilty of a felony of the third degree.

(iv) If the most serious sexually oriented offense or
child-victim oriented offense that was the basis of the
registration, notice of intent to reside, change of address
noUfication, or address verification requirement that was
violated under the prohibition is a misdemeanor if
conunitted by an adult or a comparable category of
offense committed in another jurisdiction, the offender is

A-22



guilty of a felony of the fourth degree.

(2)(a) In addition to any penalty or sanction imposed

under division (A)(1) of this section or any other

provision of law for a violation of a prohibition in section

2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, or 2950.06 of the Revised

Code, if the offender or delinquent child is subject to a

community control sanctioh, is on parole, is subject to

one or more post-release control sanctions, or is subject

to any other type of supervised release at the time of the

violation, the violation shall constitute a violation of the

tetms and conditions of the community control sanction,

parole, post-release control sanction, or other type of

supervised release.

(b) In addition to any penalty or sanction imposed under

division (A)(1)(b)(i), (ii), or (iii) of this section or any

other provision of law for a violation of a prohibition in

section 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, or 2950.06 of the

Revised Code, if the offender previously has been

convicted of or pleaded guilty to, or previously has been

adjudicated a delinquent child for committing, a violation

of a prohibition in section 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, or

2950.06 of the Revised Code when the most serious

sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense

that was the basis of the requirement that was violated

under the prohibition is a felony if committed by an adult

or a comparable category of offense committed in another

jurisdiction, the court imposing a sentence upon the

offender shall impose a definite prison term of no less

than three years. The defmite prison term imposed under

this section , subject to divisions (C) to (I) of section

2967.19 of the Revised Code, shall not be reduced to less

than three years pursuant to any provision of Chapter

2967. or any other provision of the Revised Code.

(3) As used in division (A)(1) of this section,
"comparable category of offense committed in another
.:A:..^:....i, ....1.an ..fC ....e

)w^ava^^.vu uaeaa^ w an ,.^'1. vae.awv.i .ra....- va

child-victim oriented offense that was the basis of the

registration, notice of intent to reside, change of address

notification, or address verification requirement thatwas

violated, that is a violation of an existing or former law of

another state or the United States, an existing or former

law applicable in a military court or in an Indian tribal

court, or an existing or former law of any nation other

than the United States, and that, if it had been committed

...th.is.,. r•om^dc ...................ouldha:,,..,....,t$uted

aggravated v

,
murder or murder for purposes of division

(A)(1)(a)(i) of this section, a felony of the first, second,

third, or fourth degree for purposes of division

(A)(1)(a)(ii) of this section, a felony of the fifth degree or

a misdemeanor for purposes of division (A)(1)(a)(iii) of

this section, aggravated mwder or murder for purposes of

division (A)(I)(b)(i) of this section, a felony of the first,

second, or third degree for purposes of division

(A)(l)(b)(ii) of this section, a felony of the fourth or fifth

degree for putposes of division (A)(1)(b)(iii) of this

section, or a misdemeanor for purposes of division

(A)(1)(b)(iv) of this section.

(B) If a person violates a prohibition in section 2950.04,
2950.041, 2950.05, or 2950.06 of the Revised Code that
applies to the person as a result of the person being
adjudicated a delinquent child and being classified a
juvenile offender registrant or an out-of-state juvenile
offender registrant, both of the following apply:

(I) If the violation occurs while the person is under
eighteen years of age, the person is subject to proceedings
under Chapter 2152. of the Revised Code based on the

violation.

(2) If the violation occurs while the person is eighteen

years of age or older, the person is subject to criminal

prosecution based on the violation.

(C) Whoever violates division (C) of section 2950.13 of

the Revised Code is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first
degree.

History. Amended by 129th General Assembly File No.
29, HB 86, §1, eff. 9130/2011.

Effective Date: 07-31-2003; 04-29-2005; 2007 SB97
01-01-2008



Page 1

LexisNexis^
5 of 6 DOCUMENTS

PAGE'S OHIO REVISED CODE ANNOTATED
Copyright (c) 2001 Anderson Publishing Company

*** ARCHIVE MATERIAL ***

*** THIS DOCUMENT REFLECTS CHANGES RECEIVED THROUGH NOVEMBER I, 2000 ***

TITLE XXIX [29] CRIMES -- PROCEDURE
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ORC Ann. 2950.99 (Anderson 2000)

§ 2950.99 Penalties.

Whoever violates a prohibition in section 2950.04, 2950.05, or 2950.06 of the Revised Code is guilty of a felony of
the fifth degree if the most serious sexually oriented offense that was the basis of the registration, change of address
notification, or address verification requirement that was violated under the prohibition is a felony, and a misdemeanor
of the first degree if the most serious sexually oriented offense that was the basis of the registration, change of address
notification, or address verification requirement that was violated under the prohibition is a misdemeanor. In addition to
any penalty or sanction imposed for the violation, if the offender is on probation or parole, is subject to one or more
post-release control sanctions, or is subject to any other type of supervised release at the time of the violation, the
violation shall constitute a violation of the tenns and conditions of the probation, parole, post-release control sanction,
or nther thme of gnnerviged releage

HISTORY: HISTORY

: 130 v 671 (Eff 10-4-63); 134 v H 511 (Eff 1-1-74); 146 v S 2(Eff 7-1-96); 146 v H 180. Eff 7-1-97.

The effective date is set by section 5 of HB 180.

See provisions, § 5 of HB 180 (146 v --) following RC § 2935.36.

NOTES: CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED SECTIONS
Penalties for felony, RC § 2929.11 et seq.; misdemeanor, RC § 2929.21.

RESEARCH AIDS
Penalties:
O-Jur3d: Crim L § 2288
Am-Juf2d: Crim L § 1031
C.J.S.: Crim L § 1639



CONSTITUTION OF UNITED STATES

Article I. LEGISLATIVE DEPARTMENT

Current through 2010

§ 10. Powers Denied to the States

No State shall enter into any Treaty, Alliance, or
Confederation; grant Letters of Marque and Reprisal;
coin Money; emit Bills of Credit; make any Thing but
gold and silver Coin a Tender in Payment of Debts; pass
any Bill of Attainder, ex post facto Law, or Law
impairing the Obligation of Contracts, or grant any Title
of Nobility.

No State shall, without the Consent of the Congress, lay
any Imposts or Duties on Imports or Exports, except what
may be absolutely necessary for executing it's inspection
Laws: and the net Produce of all Duties and Imposts, laid
by any State on Imports or Exports, shall be for the Use
of the Treasury of the United States; and all such Laws
shall be subject to the Revision and Controul of the
Congress.

No State shall, without the Consent of Congress, lay any

Duty of Tonnage, keep Troops, or Ships of War in time

of Peace, enter into any Agreement or Compact with

another State, or with a foreign Power, or engage in War,

unless actually invaded, or in such imminent Danger as

will not admit of delay.



ohio Constitution

Article 11. Legislative

Current through the November, 2011 General Election

§ 28. Retroactive laws

The general assembly shall have no power to pass

retroactive laws, or laws impairing the obligation of

contracts; but may, by general laws, authorize courts to

carzy into effect, upon such terms as shall be just and

equitable, the manifest intention of parties, and officers,

by curing omissions, defects, and errors, in instmments

and proceedings, arising out of the'a want of confonnity

with the laws of this state.
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