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Statement of the Case and the Law

Robert Smith has no memory of his father living in his home.

Competency Report of Kristen Haskins, Clinical Psychologist, Filed Mar. 16,

2011, at 4 ("Report"). He had a half-brother from his father's side, and a half-

sister on his mother's side. Id. at 5. The older brother shot and killed himself

while this case was pending. Id. He said that while growing up, he traveled a

few times to visit his mother's boyfriends, including a trip to Wisconsin. Id.

Although his intelligence was "average," Robert struggled in school from

the start-missing 60 days of kindergarten, 23'/2 days of first grade, 18 days of

second grade, and 24 days of fourth grade. Id. at 7-8. By age 6, he was taking

Adderall for ADHD. Id. at 9. He had a two-week psychiatric hospitalization

when he was 11 or 12 years old, and he received outpatient mental health

treatment at Children's Hospital in Columbus. Id. His diagnoses included

generalized anxiety disorder, posttraumatic stress disorder, major depression,

eating disturbance, suicide ideation, problems with self-concept, interpersonal

problems, and bipolar disorder. Id. He dropped out in the 10th grade after

years of special education classes, including stints at YouthBuild, a drop out

recovery school. Id. at 6. His drug use started at least by age 13, and shortly

after he turned 14 years old he began a 45-day stint at Maryhaven for

marijuana use. Id. at 8. He has been prescribed anti-psychotic medication,

antidepressants, as well as medication for ADHD. Id. at 12. Children's

Services placed him in an Ohio Youth Advocacy Program group home at age 15.

Id. at 5.
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When he was 17 years-old, he met Shasta Pickens, the 31-year-old

mother of his then-girlfriend.l They started with a "friendship," but it quickly

evolved into a "dating" relationship. T.p. Vol. I, 54.2 Ms. Pickens explained

that Robert had "stayed a couple nights" but that it "wasn't like a move in (sic)

thing." Id: at 72. She acknowledged that she had a history of convictions for

theft, forgery, receiving stolen property, and identity theft for which she had

received prison, probation, and drug treatment. Id. at 56, 72-74. She testified

that this relationship between a 17-18 year old boy and a 30-31 year old

woman was "rocky," included shared marijuana use, and that they had had

many "altercations." Id. at 57, 73-4.

Ms. Pickens obtained a restraining order on April 12, 2010. State's

Exhibit D. She testified that on April 16, 2010, she "show[edj him a copy" of

the restraining order and told "him he's not allowed to be around" her. T.p.

Vol. I, 58. She did not say that she let Robert read any portion of the order,

that she read him any portion of the order to him, or that she told him

anything else about the order. She also did not testify that she gave him a

1 The ages in this statement were calculated as follows: Robert Smith was born
on June 8, 1991. Department of Rehabilitation and Correction, Offender
Search, http://www.dre.state.oh.us/OffenderSearch/Search.aspx (accessed
July 27, 2012). The violation in this case allegedly happened on April 17,
2010. On April 5, 2011, at trial, Shasta Pickens testified that she would be 33
years old later that year. She testified that she had been dating Robert for "six
months to a year" before April 17, 2010. T.p. Vol. I, 54. She also testified that
as of April 5, 2011, she had known Robert for "about two years." Id. at 53.
2 The transcript in this case was printed in all capital letters. For the
convenience of the reader, capitalization has been supplied to all quotations
from the transcript in this brief.



copy. She said Robert was "angry" about what she had told him, id. at 59, but

there is no evidence he was violent.

Ms. Pickens testified that the next day she heard a bang in her

basement, which was Robert coming through her basement window, followed

by profanity, including, "Yeah, bitch, you thought it was over." Id. at 59-60.

She said that when he reached the top of the stairs, Robert put her in a

chokehold to the point she thought she would pass out. Id. at 60. She said

that the two "tussled around" for about ten minutes. Id. Ms. Pickens said she

could not fight back she was "winded" as a result of smoking and being

"overweight[.]" Id. at 61. She said she could not remember if Robert punched

her more than once. Id. She also said that the "tussle" left bruises and a bite

mark. There is no evidence that she sought medical treatment. In fact, she

testified that she suffered no "serious injury" or "physical harm[.]" Id. at 69.

Ms. Pickens said the "tussle" stopped when her 14 year-old son came

home with a friend. Id. at 62. She then "snuck" and called 911. Id. at 62.

When the police came, Robert was in the basement, and he struggled and

wrestled with police officers before being tased. Id. at 65, 89-93.

Robert was charged with aggravated burglary, violating a restraining

order, and resisting arrest. Indictment, Apr. 27, 2010. At his jury trial, the

defense argued that he should be acquitted because the restraining order was

not properly served. The trial court rejected the argument, and in its closing

argument, the State emphasized that merely being aware of the existence of a

protection order is sufficient to create criminal liability for violating that order:
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The law sets a completely lower bar for count two, violation of a
protection order. In respect to what the defendant knew or should
have known when he committed the offense of violating a
protection order. I want you to pay attention to the instructions the
judge gives you. There is not going to be a requirement that Mr.
Smith was served by a deputy sheriff or by a process server. There
is no requirement. If he was reckless as to the existence of it and
he violated it anyway, he is guilty. She made him aware the night
before showed him a copy. He acted recklessly and he recklessly
violated that protection order when he returned the next day to
commit the aggravated burglary.

T.p. Vol. II, 14-15.

The jury convicted Robert on all three counts. The trial court sentenced

him to five years in prison for the aggravated burglary (Fl) consecutive to two

years for violating the restraining order (F3). The thirty-day sentence for

resisting arrest (M2) was run concurrently to the other sentences. Id. at 81.

Robert appealed the convictions, again arguing that his conviction for

violating the restraining order should be vacated due to lack of service. The

State did not raise any procedural defenses in the court of appeals, which ruled

on the merits of his claim. The Tenth District Court of appeals affirmed the

conviction, but noted in the opinion that the First and Fifth Districts would

have come to a different conclusion. Opinion at ¶ 17. This Court then

accepted Robert's timely discretionary appeal.

4



Argument

Proposition of Law:

A defendant can only be convicted of violating a protection
order under R.C. 2919.27 if that order has been lawfully
served.

By the terms of R.C. 2919.27, a civil protection order is not criminally

enforceable unless it is "issued ... pursuant to section 2919.26[.]" That

section requires service upon the defendant. R.C. 2919.26(G)(1) ("[t]he court

shall direct that a copy of the order be delivered to the defendant on the same

day that the order is entered"). Accordingly, when an order is not served, it has

not yet been "issued ... pursuant to section 2919.26[.]"

The Fifth District explains the correct position because it relies on a

doctrine that this Court has repeatedly reaffirmed-criminal statutes must be

strictly construed against the State. State v. Malone, 121 Ohio St. 3d 244

2009-Ohio-310, ¶ 13 (quoting R.C. 2901.04(A)). As the Fifth District noted,

"The protection order statute makes criminal conduct that would otherwise be

legal; therefore, the statute's requirements must be strictly construed in favor

of the defendant and against the state." State v. Mohabir, 5th Dist. No.

04CA17, 2005-Ohio-78, ¶ 34.

The consequences of the violation of a restraining order are so severe

that the State must comply with the service of process requirement. As Judge

Richard Rogers has explained:

The first offense is a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable
by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $ 1,000. Such
penalties would seriously impact anyone's life, including his or her
ability to remain employed. Furthermore, the second offense

5



becomes a felony. While misdemeanor offenses are sometimes
trivialized, because maximum penalties are rarely imposed for first
offenses, the potential long-term impact demands that we require
due diligence by the State; first to determine whether the
protection order has actually been served on a respondent ... and
then, to be prepared to prove such service beyond a reasonable
doubt.

State v. Bombardiere, 3d Dist. No. 14-06-27, 2007-Ohio-1537 (Rogers, P.J.,

dissenting), ¶ 25.

Judge Rogers is correct. Proper service should also be required because

the orders themselves place significant limits on personal liberty with no pre-

deprivation due process for the defendant. Protection orders can prevent

defendants from coming near their own homes, driving their own cars, or

taking care of their own children. R.C. 3113.31(E)(1)(b), (c), (d), (g), and (h).

The orders can include a ban on any consumption of alcohol-even having a

beer with dinner can be a misdemeanor the first time, and a felony the second.

Supreme Court of Ohio, Form 10.01-(H), Domestic Violence Civil Protection Order

(CPO) Ex Parte, (July 1, 2010), http://www.sconet.state.oh.us/JCS/

domesticViolence/protection_forms/DVForms/default.asp (zccessed February

7, 2012).

Relying on the reckless mens rea does not alleviate the problems that

result from failing to require the State to show that the order was issued

"pursuant to R.C. 2919.26[.]" For example, the First District considered an

alleged violation of an order that the defendant was not given his statutory

right to contest. In State v. Franklin, lst Dist. App. No. C-000544, 2001 Ohio

App. LEXIS 2727 (June 22, 2001). Under the State's theory, a defendant would
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be criminally liable for violating a restraining order issued based on easily-

refuted perjury, because that defendant was never given a his right to contest

the claims.

Further, proper service by law enforcement or a neutral party matters,

because service by a law enforcement officer demonstrates to the defendant the

legality of the order. Here, a 31 year-old woman showed her emotionally and

psychologically disturbed 18-year-old ex-boyfriend three pieces of paper and

then told the ex-boyfriend that he has to stay away. Given the status of their

relationship, Robert Smith had no reason to believe Ms. Pickens' assertions-

especially because there is no evidence that she allowed him to read the order.

Moreover, there is no evidence that the State complied with the service

requirements of R.C. 2919.26 before the incident in question. To properly

serve a defendant, the State must personally serve the defendant, and the

process server cannot be a party to the action. Civ.R. 4.1(B) (process may be

served by "any person not less than eighteen years of age, who is not a party

and who has been designated by order of the court to make service of process.")

Because there is no non-hearsay evidence that the complaint and order were

ever served, and no evidence that the order was served before the alleged

conduct in this case, the State did not show that the order was issued

"pursuant to section 2919.26[.]" R.C. 2929.27(A)(1).

The protection order was directly relevant not only to the charge of

violating a protective order, but also to the aggravated burglary conviction. The

parties disputed whether Mr. Smith resided at the home where he met Ms.
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Pickens, and the State used the protection order as a reason why Mr. Smith

was not privileged to be in that house. T.p. Vol. II, 11 ("He had no right to be in

her house. He was in violation of a protection order she had given him in doing

so.")

Applying the service requirement does not leave domestic violence

victims or prosecutors defenseless. Defendants who commit assault, felonious

assault, domestic violence, burglary or other crimes may still be prosecuted for

those offenses. But because the State did not prove that the protection order

was enforceable, the evidence was insufficient to convict Mr. Smith beyond a

reasonable doubt of violating a protection order. In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358

(1970). And even though the evidence is sufficient to prove aggravated

burglary, that charge should be reversed and remanded for a new trial because

the jury based its conviction, in part, on an unenforceable order.

Conclusion

The State did not take the steps needed to make the protection order in

this case enforceable. As a result, this Court should vacate Robert Smith's

convictions for violating a protection order and aggravated burglary, discharge

Mr. Smith as to the protection order charge, and remand the case for a new

trial on the charge of aggravated burglary.
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APPEAL from the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas.

DORRIAN, J.

{ll} Defendant-appellant, Robert L. Smith, Jr. ("appellant"), appeals from jury

verdicts convicting him on charges of aggravated burglary, violating a protection order,

and n;sisting arrest For the reasons that follow, we affirm.

(12} Appellant was involved in a relationship with the victim, Shasta Pickens

("Pickens"). For a time, they lived together in Pickens' house at 879 Camden Avenue

("the house"). However, in early 2010, there was an altercation, and Pickens kicked

appellant out of the house. On April 12, 2010, Pickens applied for and was granted an ex

parte protection order providing that, among other restrictions, appellant was required to

^+ I*j-



57917 - B92
No. 11AP-512 2

stay 500 feet away from Pickens, was not to enter her rgsidence; and was not to initiate

or have any contact with her. It appears that this order was not served on appellant until

Aprfl 17, but Pickens stated that she showed appeltant a copy of the order on April 16 and

explained that he was not permitted to have contact with her.

{13} During the rnoming of April 17, 2010, Pickens was preparing food in her

k'itchen when she heard a loud noise in her basement. She opened the door to the

basement stairs and saw appellant coming up the stairs toward her. Appellant grabbed

Pickens by the neck and put her in a chokehold. Pickens struggled against him, but he

pushed her into a wal! and punched her. At some point during this altercxtion, appellant

also bit Pickens on the back. The altercation ended when Pickens' son and his friend

arrived at the house. Pickens was able to sneak away and call 911. Pickens called 911

twice; on the first call, she did not say anything and hung up, and on the second call, she

just asked them to come tn 879 Camden Avenue.

(14} Columbus Police Officers Benjamin Rohaley ("Officer Rohaley") and Jayson

Bear ("Officer Bear") responded within a few minutes of the calls. When the officers

knocked on the door, appellant went to the basement and tried to flee through the same

window he had used to enter the house. Oft'icer Rohaley secured the outside of the

house while Officer Bear pursued appellant into the basement. Appellant struggled with

Officer Bear, and Officer Rohaley went to the basement to assist in subduing him.

Ulfimatety, two additional police officers arrived. Appellant continued to struggle, and one

of the offioers used a taser to subdue appellant and place him in custody.

(15) Appellant was indicted on charges of aggravated burglary, violating a

protection order, domestic violence, and resisting arrest. The case was tried to a jury. At
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the close of the state's case, the trial court granted the state's motion to amend the

resisting arrest count from a felony to a misdemeanor offense. Appellant moved for

acquittal on all counts under Crim.R. 29. The trial count granted appellant's motion for

acquittal as to the domestic violence charge and denied it as to all other counts. The jury

found appellant guilty of aggravated burglary, violating a protection order, and resisting

arrest. The trial court sentenced appellant to five years of imprisonment on the

aggravated burglary conviction and two years of imprisonment on the violating a

protection order conviction, with the sentences to be served consecutively for a total of

seven years of imprisonment. The trial court also sentenced appellant to 30 days of

imprisonment on the resisting arrest conviction, to be served concurrently with his

sentences on the other two convictions.

{16} Appellant appeals his convictions,1 setting forth the following three

assignments of error for this court's review:

1. THE TRIAL COURT ERRED WHEN IT ENTERED
JUDGMENT AGAINST THE APPELLANT WHEN THE
EVIDENCE WAS INSUFFICIENT TO SUSTAIN A
CONVICTION[.]

II. THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN OVERRULING
APPELLANTS MOTION FOR ACQUITTAL PURSUANT TO
CRIMINAL RULE 29[.]

111. THE TRIAL COURT ERRED WHEN IT ENTERED
JUDGMENT AGAINST THE APPELLANT WHEN THE
CONVICTION AND [sic] WAS NOT SUPPORTED BY THE
MANIFEST WEIGHT OF THE EVIDENCE[]

1 Nthough the assignments of error do not diiferentiate between the three convicgons, appeilanYs
arguments focus exclusively on the aggravated burglary and vioiating protection order convicUons. Thus,
we condude that eppelant does not challenge his corniogon on the resisting arrest charge and do not
address it herein.
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(17) AppellanYs first assignment of error asserts that the evidence was

insufficient to sustain guilty verdicts on the charges of aggravated burglary and violating a

protective order. His second assignment of error contends that the tr+at court erred in

denying his motion under Crim.R. 29 for acquittal on those charges. "Because a Crim.R.

29 motion questions the sufficiency of the evidence, '[w]e apply the same standard of

review to Crim.R. 29 motions as we use in reviewing the sufficiency of the evidence."'

State v. Walburg, 10th Dist. No. 10AP-1087, 2011-Ohio-4762, ¶11, quoting State v.

Hemandez, 10th Dist. No. 09AP-125, 2009-Ohio-5128, ¶6. Accordingly, we will consider

appellants first and second assignments of error together.

{1S} "Sufficiency of the evidence is a legal standard that tests whether the

evidence introduced at trial is legally sufficient to support a verdict." State v. Cassell, 10th

Dist. No. O8AP-1093, 2010-Ohio-1881, ¶36, citing State v. Thompkins, 78 Ohio St.3d

380. 386, 1997-Ohio-52. In reviewing a challenge to the sufficiency of the evidence, an

appellate court must determine "whether, after viewing the evidence in a light most

favorable to the prosecution, any rational t(er of fact could have found the essential

elements of the crime proven beyond a reasonable doubt." State v. Jenks (1991), 61

Ohio St.3d 259, paragraph two of the syllabus, superseded by constitutional amendment

on other grounds as recognized in State v. Smitb, 80 Ohio St.3d 89, 102, 1997-Ohlo-355.

(19} Appellant generally argues that the evidence was insufficient to sustain the

convictions because Pickens was the only witness who testified that appellant broke into

the house and that appellant had seen the protection order before April 17, 2010.

However, "the testimony of one witness, if believed by the jury, is enough to support a

conviction." State v. Strong, 10th Dist. No. 09AP-874, 2011-Ohio-1024, ¶42. Appellant
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also challenges Pickens' credibility, based on her prior felony convictions, admitted drug

use, and alleged variations between her statement to the prosecutor and her trial

testimany. However, credibility challenges are more direc8y addressed to the weight

rather than the sufficiency of the evidence. See Columbus v. Miller, 10th Dist. No. 09AP-

770, 2010-Ohio-1384, ¶26, citing Thompkins at 387 ("Unlike a challenge to the sufficiency

ofthe evidence, which attacks the adequacy of the evidence presented, a challenge to

the manifest weight of the evidence attacks the credibility of the evidence presented.")

Accordingly, we w(ill address appellants credibility arguments in our analysis of his

challenge to the weight of the evidence.

{q10} We begin by considering whether there was sufficient evidence to sustain

the conviction for aggravated burglary. R.G. 2911.11(A) defines aggravated burglary and

provides as follows:

No person, by force, stealth, or deception, shall trespass in an
occupied stnicture or in a separately secured or separately
occupied portion of an occupied structure, when another
person other than an accomplice of the offender is preseM,
wvdh purpose to commit in the structure or in the separately
secured or separately occupied portion of the structure any
criminal offense, if any of the following apply:

(1) The offender inflicts, or attempts or threatens to inflict
physical harm on another;

(2) The offender has a deadly weapon or dangerous
ordnance on or about the offender's person or under the
offender•s control.
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{yl i} Appellant argues there was insufficient evidence that he trespassed on the

residence or that he inflicted, attempted, or threatened to inflict physical harm.2 For

purposes of aggravated burglary, "trespass" is defined as a+dolation of the statute

defining criminal trespassing. R.C. 2911.10. That statute, in relevant part, provides that

"[n]o person, without privilege to do so, shall '`[k]nowingly enter or remain on the land

or premises of another." R.C. 2911.21 (A)(1). "A person acts knowfngly, regardless of his

purpose, when he is aware that his conduct will probably cause a certain result or will

probably be of a certain nature." R.C. 2901.22(B). "Physical harm" includes "any injury,

illness, or other physiological impairment, regardless of its duration." R.C. 2901.01 (A)(3).

a121 Pickens testified that she previously had a romantic relationship wffh

appellant and that they lived together at the house. However, she stated that she kicked

appellant out of the house in early 2010. Pickens stated that, after she kicked appellant

out, he was not allowed back in the house. She confirmed that appellant was not living in

or staying in the house in April 2D10. Pickens tesGfied that on the moming of April 17,

she heard a"big bang" from the basement and that it was the sound of appellant entering

the residence through a basement window. (Tr. 59.) She identified photos of the open

basement window that appellant used to enter the house. Pickens and Officer Rohaley

testified that, after the police arrived, appellant sought to flee ihrough the basement

window. The jury could reasonably infer that appellant attempted to flee through the same

known point of access that he used to enter the residence. If beGeved, this testimony,

2 Appellant also argues that there was insufficient evidence that he had a deadly weapon on or about his
person or under his control to support a conviction under R.C. 2911.11(A)(2). However, In order to conv(ct
on a charge of aggravated burgtary, a jury need find only ihat the state proved beyond a reasonable doubt
either the element of physical harm per R.C. 2911.11(A)(1) or e deadly weapon per R.C. 2911.11(A)(2). It is
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taken as a whole, would be sufficient to permit a jury to find that appellant knowingly

entered the house without the privilege to be there, thus establishing the criminai trespass

element of aggravated burglary.

(113) Pickens testified that, after she heard the bang, she opened the door and

saw appellant coming up the basement stairs. Appellant grabbed Pickens by the neck

and put her in a chokehold. Pickens testified that they struggled as she tried to get out of

the chokehold and that appellant hit her with his fist. She stated that appellant also bit her

during the struggle. Pickens testified that she suffered bruises on her arms and a bite

mark on her back. Officer Rohaley testffied that, when he arrived, Pickens told him a

similar story, stating that appellant choked her nearly to the point of losing consciousness

and that appeAant pulled her hair and struck her against the wall. This evidence would be

sufficient to establish that appellant Inflicted physical hann on Pickens. See State v. West.

10th Dist No. O6AP-114, 2006-Ohio-5095, ¶17 (victim's testimony that defendant htt her

in the head, knocked her to the ground, kicked her, and repeatedly choked her, if

believed, was sufficient evidence to find that defendant caused or attempted to cause

physical harm).

{914} Appellant also asserts that the evidence was insufficient to sustain his

conviction for violating a protection order. The law provides that "[n}o person shall

recklessly violate the terms of ..« [a] protectlon order issued pursuant to secUon

2151.34. 2903.213, or 2903.214 of the Revised Code." R.C. 2919.27(A)(2). "A person

acts recklessly when, with heedless indifference to the consequences, he perversely

not neccessary to find both. Therefare, we address onty fhe physical harm element and not the deadly
weapon argument herein.
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disregards a known risk that his conduct is likely to cause a certain result or is likely to be

of a certain nature." R.C. 2901.22(C). Appellant argues that there was insufficient

evidence to establish that he knew there was a protection order in place and, thus, he

could not have recklessly violated the order by disregarding a known risk that his conduct

would violate the order.

(915) The record indicates that, on April 12, 2010, following an ex parte hearing,

the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas issued a protedion order under R.C.

2903.214 to Pickens. The order induded a provision directing the clerk of courts to cause

a copy of the order to be delivered to appellant. The retum of service for the order

indicates that it was served on appellant on April 17, 2010. However, Pickens testified

that, on the day before the incident, April 16, she showed appellant a copy of the

protection order and told him that he was not allowed to be around her. Pickens stated

that appellant was angry about this development. Pickens' testimony was the only

evidence introduced to establish that appellant was aware of the existence of the

protection order.

1116) The Ninth District Court of Appeals considered a similar scenario in State v.

Bunch (Jan. 17, 2001), 9th Dist. No. 20059. In that case, the defendant's former

gidfriend, Deborah Majka ("Majka"), obtained a civil protection order pursuant to R.C.

3113.31. The defendant did not appear at the hearing on the order, and the courts

attempt to serve the order by certified mail went unclaimed. The foliowing year the

defendant was charged with violating the order by going to Majka's apartment At trial,

Majka testified that a few months after the order was issued she had been at a Christmas

event when the defendant arrived. Majka immediately began to leave, but the defendant
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asked her to stay. Majka told the defendant she had a protection order against him and

testified that he responded "I know." The defendant argued that he could not have

recklessly violated the protection order by going to Majka's apartment because he was

never served with a copy of the order and, therefore, could not be said to have

disregarded a known risk that his conduct would violate the order. The appellate court

rejected this argument, noting that service of a protection order was not an element of the

crime of violating a protection order. The court found that Majka's testimony was sufficient

evidence to establish that the defendant recklessly violated the order. See also State v.

Rutherford, 2d Dist. No. U8CA11, 2009-Ohio-2071, citing Bunch ("R.C. 2919.27(A) does

not make senrice of a civil protection order an element of the offense of violation of a civil

protection order.°); State v. Bombardiere, 3d Dist. No. 14-06-27, 2007-Ohio-1537, ¶16

("[fihere was no direct evidence in the record that specifically stated that [defendant] was

served, [but] he did readily admit in his testimony that he knew the terms of the civil

protection order[.] '`` We conclude that this evidence was suff'iaent to establish that he

did have adequate notice of the terms of the civil protection order.") We agree with the

reasoning of the Bunch decision and reach the same conclusion here.

{917} We do note, however, that the Fifth District Court of Appeals has held that

the due process requirements of R.C. 2919.26 require a defendant be served with a

temporary protection order before he can be found to have violated that order. State v.

Nlohabir, 5th Dist. No. 04CA17, 2005-Ohio-78, ¶34-35. See also Bombardiere at ¶22-26

(Rogers, P.J., dissenting) (arguing that convicUon for violating a protecuon order should

be reversed based on Mohabir because state failed to prove that order had been served

on the defendant). R.C. 2919.26(G)(1) requires that a copy of an ex parte protection order
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"be issued by the court to "' defendant' ''[and] [tihe court shall direct that a copy of

the order be delivered to defendant on the same day that the order is entered."

Nevertheless, after reviewing the statute, we reach a different conclusion. Service of the

protection order on the defendant is not an element of the crime of violating a protection

onier, as defined in R.C. 2919.27(A). The General Assembly could have required the

prosecution to establish service of the order as an element of proving a violation of a

protect9ve order, or could have mirrored the language in R.C. 2919.26(G), but it did not.

Therefore, we decline to expand the statute to require prior service of the order on a

defendant before a violation can be established.

(91$) Pickens testified that she showed appellant a copy of the order and

explained that he could not be around her. This testimony, if believed, would permit a

reasonable jury to conclude that appellant knew about the order when he broke into

Pickens' house on April 17, 2010. A jury could further conclude that appeliant knew that

there was a risk that his conduct would violate the order and that he aated recklessly by

disregarding such risk. Therefore, the evidence was sufficient to permit the jury to

conclude that appellant was guilty of violating the protection order.

{119} For aN these reasons, we concfude that appellanYs convicUons for

aggravated burgtary and violating a protection order were supported by sufflcient

evidence. Accordingly, appeltanCs first and second assignments of error are without merit

and are overruled.

{120} In his third assignment of error, appellant argues that his convictions for

aggravated burglary and violating a protection order are against the manifest weight of

the evidenoe.
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{121} "VVhile sufficiency of the evidence is a test of adequacy'regarding whether

the evidence is legally sufficient to support the verdict as a matter of law, the criminal

manifest weight of the evidence standard addresses the evidence's effect of inducing

belief." Cassell at ¶38, citing State v. Wilson, 113 Ohio SL3d 382, 2007-Ohio-2202, citing

Thompkins at 386. "When a court of appeals reverses a judgment of a trial court on the

basis that the verdict is against the weight of the evidence, the appellate court sits as a

'thirteenth juror and disagrees with the factfinders resolution of the conflicting testimony."

Thompkins at 387, citing Tibbs v. Florida (1982), 457 U.S. 31, 42, 102 S.Ct. 2211, 2220.

" The court, reviewing the entire record, weighs the evidence and all reasonable

inferences, considers the credibility of witnesses and determines whether in resolving

conflicts in the evidence, the jury Geady lost its way and created such a manifest

miscarriage of justice that the convic6on must be reversed and a new trial ordered"'

Thompkins, quoting State v. Martin (1983), 20 Ohio App.3d 172, 175. This discretionary

authority "'should be exercised only in the exceptlonal case In which the evidence weighs

heavily against the conviction '" Id.

(922) Appellant argues that his convictions were against the manifest weight of

the evidence because Pickens provided the only testimony to establish her injuries and

appellants knowledge of the protection order. At trial, Pickens admitted that she had

previously been convicted of multiple felony charges, including receiving stolen property

and forgery. Pickens also admitted that she had twice violated her probation and that she

had been sent to prison after the second probation violation. Further, Pickens admitted

that she had used drugs, including marijuana and cocaine, with appellant. Appellant

argues that Pickens' prior convictions of crimes involving decepdon and history of dnig
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use make her an unreliable witness and that her testimony was not credible.

{123} "[Apthough an appellate court must act as a'thirteenth juror' when

considering whether the manifest weight of the evidence requires reversal, it must give

great deference to the fact finders determination of the witnesses' credibiiity." State v.

Spiros, 10th Dist No. 10AP-861, 2011-Ohio-3312, ¶18. In this case, the jury was made

aware of Pickens' prior convictions, probation violations, and drug use through her direct

testimony and through cross-examination. Thus, the jury couid properly weigh this

information in determining whether Pickens' testimony was credible. After reviewing the

evidence presented at tfiai, we find no reason to overtum the jury's determination as to

her credibNity.

(124) With respect to the aggravated burglary charge, Pickens testified that

appellant broke into tha house through a basement window. Both Pickens and Officer

Rohaiey testified that appellant attempted to fiee through the same basement window.

As noted above, the attempt to flee through an open basement window is circumstantiai

evidence that the same window had been appeiianfs point of entry into the house.

Further, this suggests that appellant knew he was not allowed to be there because he did

not attempt to enter the house through the door. Pickens also testified to the bruises on

her arms and the bite mark on her back. On cross-examination, she conoeded that there

were no photographs of her injuries and no way to verify them other than her testimony.

Pickens also conceded that she did not tell the prosecutor that appellant struck her with

his fist during an interview several months before triai. However, during her testimony,

Pickens also reviewed the statement she made to the police on the day of the incident.

That statement did not indicate that appellant punched her, but it was othenNise
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consistent with her triai testimony. Despite a lack of physical evidence to corroborate

Pickens' injuries and some inconsistency in her statements as to whether appellant struck

her with his fist, we cannot conclude that the jury clearly lost its way in finding that

appellant was guilty of aggravated burglary.

{125} Pickens' testimony constituted the only evidence to establish that appellant

violated the protection order. She testified that she showed appellant a copy of the order

on the day before the incident and told him he was not allowed to be around her.

Additionaiiy, she testified that, as appellant was coming up the basement stairs after

breaking in the basement, he said "yeah, bitch, you thought it was over." (Tr. 60.) The

jury could reasonably Infer that this statement indicated that appellant was aware of the

protection onier-mi.e., appellant believed that Pickens 'Yhought it was over" because she

had obtained a protection order, which was intended to keep appellant away from her.

Again, we cannot conclude that the jury cieariy lost its way in believing Pickens' testimony

and finding appellant guiity of vioiating the protection order.

{126} For all these reasons, we conclude that appeiianYs convictions for

aggravated burglary and viotating a protection orderwen: not against the manifest weight

of the evidence. Accordingly, appeiiant's third assignment of error is without merit and is

overruled.

1127j For the foregoing reasons, appellants three assignments of error are

overruled, and the judgment of the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas is hereby

affirmed.

KLATT and TYACK, JJ., concur.
Judgment alfiiimed.

_. ^
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TITLE 29. CRIMES -- PROCEDURE
CHAPTER 2901. GENERAL PROVISIONS

IN GENERAL

ORC Ann. 2901.04 (2012)

§ 2901.04. Rules of construction; references to previous conviction; interpretation of statutory ref-
erences that define or specify a criminal offense

(A) Except as otherwise provided in division (C) or (D) of this section, sections of the Revised
Code defming offenses or penalties shall be strictly construed against the state, and liberally con-
strued in favor of the accused.

(B) Rules of criminal procedure and sections of the Revised Code providing for criminal proce-
dure shall be construed so as to effect the fair, impartial, speedy, and sure administration ofjustice.

(C) Any provision of a section of the Revised Code that refers to a previous conviction of or
plea of guilty to a violation of a section of the Revised Code or of a division of a section of the Re-
vised Code shall be construed to also refer to a previous conviction of or plea of guilty to a substan-
tially equivalent offense under an existing or former law of this state, another state, or the United
States or under an existing or former municipal ordinance.

(D) Any provision of the Revised Code that refers to a section, or to a division of a section, of
the Revised Code that defines or specifies a criminal offense shall be construed to also refer to an
existing or former law of this state, another state, or the United States, to an existing or former mu-
nicipal ordinance, or to an existing or former division of any such existing or fonner law or ordi-
nance that defines or specifies, or that defined or specified, a substantially equivalent offense.
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TITLE 29. CRIMES -- PROCEDURE
CHAPTER 2919. OFFENSES AGAINST THE FAMILY

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

ORC Ann. 2919.26 (2012)

§ 2919.26. Motion for temporary protection order; form

(A) (1) Upon the filing of a complaint that alleges a violation of section 2909. 06, 2909.07,

2911.12, or.2911.211 [2911.21.1] of the Revised Code if the alleged victim of the violation was a
family or household member at the time of the violation, a violation of a municipal ordinance that is
substantially similar to any of those sections if the alleged victim of the violation was a family or
household member at the time of the violation, any offense of violence if the alleged victim of the
offense was a family or household member at the time of the commission of the offense, or any
sexually oriented offense if the alleged victim of the offense was a family or household member at
the time of the commission of the offense, the complainant, the alleged victim, or a family or
household member of an alleged victim may file, or, if in an emergency the alleged victim is unable
to file, a person who made an arrest for the alleged violation or offense under section 2935.03 of the

Revised Code may file on behalf of the alleged victim, a motion that requests the issuance of a
temporary protection order as a pretrial condition of release of the alleged offender, in addition to
any bail set under Criminal Rule 46. The motion shall be filed with the clerk of the court that has
jurisdiction of the case at any time after the filing of the complaint.

(2) For purposes of section 2930.09 of the Revised Code, all stages of a proceeding arising
out of a complaint alleging the commission of a violation, offense of violence, or sexually oriented
offense described in division (A)(1) of this section, including all proceedings on a motion for a
temporary protection order, are critical stages of the case, and a victim may be accompanied by a
victim advocate or another person to provide support to the victim as provided in that section.

(B) The motion shall be prepared on a form that is provided by the clerk of the court, which
form shall be substantially as follows:

"MOTION FOR TEMPORARY PROTECTION ORDER
........................ Court
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Name and address of court
State of Ohio
V. No. ......

Name of Defendant

(name of person), moves the court to issue a temporary protection order
containing terms designed to ensure the safety and protection of the
complainant, alleged victim, and other family or household members, in
relation to the named defendant, pursuant to its authority to issue such an
order under section 2919.26 of the Revised Code.

A complaint, a copy of which has been attached to this motion, has been
filed in this court charging the named defendant with
......................... (name of the specified violation, the offense of
violence, or sexually oriented offense charged) in circumstances in which the
victim was a family or household member in violation of (section of the
Revised Code designating the specified violation, offense of violence, or
sexually oriented offense charged), or charging the named defendant with a
violation of a municipal ordinance that is substantially similar to
....................... (section of the Revised Code designating the
specified violation, offense of violence, or sexually oriented offense
charged) involving a family or household member.

I understand that I must appear before the court, at a time set by the
court within twenty-four hours after the filing of this motion, for a hearing
on the motion or that, if I am unable to appear because of hospitalization or
a medical condition resulting from the offense alleged in the complaint, a
person who can provide information about my need for a temporary protection
order must appear before the court in lieu of my appearing in court. I
understand that any temporary protection order granted pursuant to this motion
is a pretrial condition of release and is effective only until the disposition
of the criminal proceeding arising out of the attached complaint, or the
issuance of a civil protection order or the approval of a consent agreement,
arising out of the same activities as those that were the basis of the
complaint, under section 3113.31 of the Revised Code.

Signature of person

Page 2

(or signature of the arresting officer who filed the motion on behalf of
the alleged victim)
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Address of person (or office address of the arresting officer who filed the
motion on behalf of the alleged victim)"

(C) (1) As soon as possible after the filing of a motion that requests the issuance of a temporary
protection order, but not later than twenty-four hours after the filing of the motion, the court shall
conduct a hearing to determine whether to issue the order. The person who requested the order shall
appear before the court and provide the court with the information that it requests concerning the
basis of the motion. If the person who requested the order is unable to appear and if the court finds
that the failure to appear is because of the person's hospitalization or medical condition resulting
from the offense alleged in the complaint, another person who is able to provide the court with the
information it requests may appear in lieu of the person who requested the order. If the court finds
that the safety and protection of the complainant, alleged victim, or any other family or household
member of the alleged victim may be impaired by the continued presence of the alleged offender,
the court may issue a temporary protection order, as a pretrial condition of release, that contains
terms designed to ensure the safety and protection of the complainant, alleged victim, or the family
or household member, including a requirement that the alleged offender refrain from entering the
residence, school, business, or place of employment of the complainant, alleged victim, or the fam-

ily or household member.

(2) (a) If the court issues a temporary protection order that includes a requirement that the al-
leged offender refrain from entering the residence, school, business, or place of employment of the
complainant, the alleged victim, or the family or household member, the order shall state clearly
that the order cannot be waived or nullified by an invitation to the alleged offender from the com-
plainant, alleged victim, or family or household member to enter the residence, school, business, or
place of employment or by the alleged offender's entry into one of those places otherwise upon the
consent of the complainant, alleged victim, or family or household member.

(b) Division (C)(2)(a) of this section does not limit any discretion of a court to determine

that an alleged offender charged with a violation of section 2919.27 of the Revised Code, with a vi-

olation of a municipal ordinance substantially equivalent to that section, or with contempt of court,
which charge is based on an alleged violation of a temporary protection order issued under this sec-
tion, did not commit the violation or was not in contempt of court.

(D) (1) Upon the filing of a complaint that alleges a violation of section 2909.06, 2909.07,

2911.12, or 2911.211 [2911.21.1] of the Revised Code if the alleged victim of the violation was a
family or household member at the time of the violation, a violation of a municipal ordinance that is
substantially similar to any of those sections if the alleged victim of the violation was a family or
household member at the time of the violation, any offense of violence if the alleged victim of the
offense was a family or household member at the time of the commission of the offense, or any
sexually oriented offense if the alleged victim of the offense was a family or household member at
the time of the commission of the offense, the court, upon its own motion, may issue a temporary
protection order as a pretrial condition of release if it finds that the safety and protection of the
complainant, alleged victim, or other family or household member of the alleged offender may be
impaired by the continued presence of the alleged offender.

(2) If the court issues a temporary protection order under this section as an ex parte order, it
shall conduct, as soon as possible after the issuance of the order, a hearing in the presence of the
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alleged offender not later than the next day on which the court is scheduled to conduct business af-
ter the day on which the alleged offender was arrested or at the time of the appearance of the alleged
offender pursuant to summons to determine whether the order should remain in effect, be modified,
or be revoked. The hearing shall be conducted under the standards set forth in division (C) of this
section.

(3) An order issued under this section shall contain only those terms authorized in orders is-
sued under division (C) of this section.

(4) If a municipal court or a county court issues a temporary protection order under this sec-
tion and if, subsequent to the issuance of the order, the alleged offender who is the subject of the
order is bound over to the court of common pleas for prosecution of a felony arising out of the same
activities as those that were the basis of the complaint upon which the order is based, notwithstand-
ing the fact that the order was issued by a municipal court or county court, the order shall remain in
effect, as though it were an order of the court of common pleas, while the charges against the al-
leged offender are pending in the court of common pleas, for the period of time described in divi-
sion (E)(2) of this section, and the court of common pleas has exclusive jurisdiction to modify the
order issued by the municipal court or county court. This.division applies when the alleged offender
is bound over to the court of common pleas as a result of the person waiving a preliminary hearing
on the felony charge, as a result of the municipal court or county court having determined at a pre-
liminary hearing that there is probable cause to believe that the felony has been committed and that
the alleged offender committed it, as a result of the alleged offender having been indicted for the
felony, or in any other manner.

(E) A temporary protection order that is issued as a pretrial condition of release under this sec-
tion:

(1) Is in addition to, but shall not be construed as a part of, any bail set under Criminal Rule

46;

(2) Is effective only until the occurrence of either of the following:

(a) The disposition, by the court that issued the order or, in the circumstances described in
division (D)(4) of this section, by the court of common pleas to which the alleged offender is bound
over for prosecution, of the criminal proceeding arising out of the complaint upon which the order is
based;

(b) The issuance of a protection order or the approval of a consent agreement, arising out
of the same activities as those that were the basis of the complaint upon which the order is based,
under section 3113.31 ofthe Revised Code;

(3) Shall not be construed as a finding that the alleged offender committed the alleged of
fense, and shall not be introduced as evidence of the commission of the offense at the trial of the
alleged offender on the complaint upon which the order is based.

(F) A person who meets the criteria for bail under Criminal Rule 46 and who, if required to do
so pursuant to that rule, executes or posts bond or deposits cash or securities as bail, shall not be
held in custody pending a hearing before the court on a motion requesting a temporary protection
order.

(G) (1) A copy of any temporary protection order that is issued under this section shall be issued
by the court to the complainant, to the alleged victim, to the person who requested the order, to the
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defendant, and to all law enforcement agencies that have jurisdiction to enforce the order. The court
shall direct that a copy of the order be delivered to the defendant on the same day that the order is
entered. If a municipal court or a county court issues a temporary protection order under this section
and if, subsequent to the issuance of the order, the defendant who is the subject of the order is
bound over to the court of common pleas for prosecution as described in division (D)(4) of this sec-
tion, the municipal court or county court shall direct that a copy of the order be delivered to the
court of common pleas to which the defendant is bound over.

(2) Upon the issuance of a protection order under this section, the court shall provide the par-
ties to the order with the following notice orally or by form:

"NOTICE

As a result of this protection order, it may be unlawful for you to possess or purchase a fire-
arm, including a rifle, pistol, or revolver, or anununition pursuant to federal law under 18 U. S. C.
922(g)(8). If you have any questions whether this law makes it illegal for you to possess or purchase
a firearm or ammunition, you should consult an attorney."

(3) All law enforcement agencies shall establish and maintain an index for the temporary
protection orders delivered to the agencies pursuant to division (G)(1) of this section. With respect
to each order delivered, each agency shall note on the index, the date and time of the receipt of the
order by the agency.

(4) A complainant, alleged victim, or other person who obtains a temporary protection order
under this section may provide notice of the issuance of the temporary protection order to the judi-
cial and law enforcement officials in any county other than the county in which the order is issued
by registering that order in the other county in accordance with division (N) of section 3113.31 of

the Revised Code and filing a copy of the registered protection order with a law enforcement agency
in the other county in accordance with that division.

(5) Any officer of a law enforcement agency shall enforce a temporary protection order is-
sued by any court in this state in accordance with the provisions of the order, including removing
the defendant from the premises, regardless of whether the order is registered in the county in which
the officer's agency has jurisdiction as authorized by division (G)(4) of this section.

(H) Upon a violation of a temporary protection order, the court may issue another temporary
protection order, as a pretrial condition of release, that modifies the terms of the order that was vio-
lated.

(I) (1) As used in divisions (I)(1) and (2) of this section, "defendant" means a person who is al-
leged in a complaint to have committed a violation, offense of violence, or sexually oriented offense
of the type described in division (A) of this section.

(2) If a complaint is filed that alleges that a person committed a violation, offense of vio-
lence, or sexually oriented offense of the type described in division (A) of this section, the court
may not issue a temporary protection order under this section that requires the complainant, the al-
leged victim, or another family or household member of the defendant to do or refrain from doing
an act that the court may require the defendant to do or refrain from doing under a temporary pro-
tection order unless both of the following apply:

(a) The defendant has filed a separate complaint that alleges that the complainant, alleged
victim, or other family or household member in question who would be required under the order to
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do or refrain from doing the act committed a violation or offense of violence of the type described
in division (A) of this section.

(b) The court determines that both the complainant, alleged victim, or other family or
household member in question who would be required under the order to do or refrain from doing
the act and the defendant acted primarily as aggressors, that neither the complainant, alleged victim,
or other family or household member in question who would be required under the order to do or
refrain from doing the act nor the defendant acted primarily in self-defense, and, in accordance with
the standards and criteria of this section as applied in relation to the separate complaint filed by the
defendant, that it should issue the order to require the complainant, alleged victim, or other family
or household member in question to do or refrain from doing the act.

(J) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary and regardless of whether a protection
order is issued or a consent agreement is approved by a court of another county or a court of another
state, no court or unit of state or local government shall charge any fee, cost, deposit, or money in
connection with the filing of a motion pursuant to this section, in connection with the filing, issu-
ance, registration, or service of a protection order or consent agreement, or for obtaining a certified
copy of a protection order or consent agreement.

(K) As used in this section:

(1) "Sexually oriented offense" has the same meaning as in section 2950.01 of the Revised
Code.

(2) "Victim advocate" means a person who provides support and assistance for a victim of an
offense during court proceedings.

HISTORY:
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TITLE 29. CRIMES -- PROCEDURE
CHAPTER 2919. OFFENSES AGAINST THE FAMILY

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

ORCAnn. 2919.27 (2012)

§ 2919.27. Violating protection order

(A) No person shall recklessly violate the terms of any of the following:

(1) A protection order issued or consent agreement approved pursuant to section 2919.26 or

3113.31 ofthe Revised Code;

(2) A protection order issued pursuant to section 2151.34, 2903.213 [2903.21.3], or 2903.214

[2903.21.4] of the Revised Code;

(3) A protection order issued by a court of another state.

(B) (1) Whoever violates this section is guilty of violating a protection order.

(2) Except as otherwise provided in division (B)(3) or (4) of this section, violating a protec-

tion order is a misdemeanor of the first degree.

(3) If the offender previously has been convicted: of, pleaded guilty to, or been adjudicated a
delinquent child for a violation of a protection order issued pursuant to section 2151.34, 2903.213

[2903.21.3], or 2903.214 [2903.21.4] of the Revised Code, two or more violations of section

2903.21, 2903.211 [2903.21.1], 2903.22, or 2911.211 [2911.21.1] of the Revised Code that in-

volved the same person who is the subject of the protection order or consent agreement, or one or
more violations of this section, violating a protection order is a felony of the fifth degree.

(4) If the offender violates a protection order or consent agreement while conunitting a felo-

ny offense, violating a protection order is a felony of the third degree.

(5) If the protection order violated by the offender was an order issued pursuant to section

2151.34 or 2903.214 [2903.21.4] of the Revised Code that required electronic monitoring of the of-
fender pursuant to that section, the court may require in addition to any other sentence imposed up-
on the offender that the offender be electronically monitored for a period not exceeding five years
by a law enforcement agency designated by the court. If the court requires under this division that
the offender be electronically monitored, unless the court determines that the offender is indigent,
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the court shall order that the offender pay the costs of the installation of the electronic monitoring
device and the cost of monitoring the electronic monitoring device. If the court determines that the
offender is indigent and subject to the maximum amount allowable and the rules promulgated by the
attorney general under section 2903.214 [2903.21.4] of the Revised Code, the costs of the installa-
tion of the electronic monitoring device and the cost of monitoring the electronic monitoring device
may be paid out of funds from the reparations fund created pursuant to section 2743.191
[2743.19.1] of the Revised Code. The total amount paid from the reparations fund created pursuant

to section 2743.191 [2743.19.1] of the Revised Code for electronic monitoring under this section

and sections 2151.34 and 2903.214 [2903.21.4] of the Revised Code shall not exceed three hundred

thousand dollars per year.

(C) It is an affirmative defense to a charge under division (A)(3) of this section that the protec-

tion order issued by a court of another state does not comply with the requirements specified in 18
U.S. C. 2265(b) for a protection order that must be accorded full faith and credit by a court of this
state or that it is not entitled to full faith and credit under 18 U.S.C. 2265(c).

(D) As used in this section, "protection order issued by a court of another state" means an in-
junction or another order issued by a criminal court of another state for the purpose of preventing
violent or threatening acts or harassment against, contact or communication with, or physical

proximity to another person, including a temporary order, and means an injunction or order of that

nature issued by a civil court of another state, including a temporary order and a final order issued
in an independent action or as a pendente lite order in a proceeding for other relief, if the court is-
sued it in response to a complaint, petition, or motion filed by or on behalf of a person seeking pro-

tection. "Protection order issued by a court of another state" does not include an order for support or
for custody of a child issued pursuant to the divorce and child custody laws of another state, except
to the extent that the order for support or for custody of a child is entitled to full faith and credit un-

der the laws of the United States.

HISTORY:
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TITLE 31. DOMESTIC RELATIONS -- CHILDREN
CHAPTER 3113. NEGLECT, ABANDONMENT, OR DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

ORC Ann. 3113.31 (2012)

§ 3113.31. Definitions; jurisdiction; petition; hearing; protection orders; consent agreements

(A) As used in this section:

(1) "Domestic violence" means the occurrence of one or more of the following acts against a

family or household member:

(a) Attempting to cause or recklessly causing bodily injury;

(b) Placing another person by the threat of force in fear of imminent serious physical harm
or committing, a violation of section 2903.211 [2903.21.1] or 2911.211 [2911.21.1] of the Revised

Code;

(c) Committing any act with respect to a child that would result in the child being an

abused child, as defined in section 2151.031 [2151.03.1] of the Revised Code;

(d) Committing a sexually oriented offense.

(2) "Court" means the domestic relations division of the court of common pleas in counties
that have a domestic relations division and the court of common pleas in counties that do not have a
domestic relations division, or the juvenile division of the court of common pleas of the county in
which the person to be protected by a protection order issued or a consent agreement approved un-
der this section resides if the respondent is less than eighteen years of age.

(3) "Family or household member" means any of the following:

(a) Any of the following who is residing with or has resided with the respondent:

(i) A spouse, a person living as a spouse, or a former spouse of the respondent;

(ii) A parent, a foster parent, or a child of the respondent, or another person related by
consanguinity or affinity to the respondent;
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(iii) A parent or a child of a spouse, person living as a spouse, or former spouse of the
respondent, or another person related by consanguinity or affinity to a spouse, person living as a
spouse, or former spouse of the respondent.

(b) The natural parent of any child of whom the respondent is the other natural parent or is

the putative other natural parent.

(4) "Person living as a spouse" means a person who is living or has lived with the respondent
in a common law marital relationship, who otherwise is cohabiting with the respondent, or who
otherwise has cohabited with the respondent within five years prior to the date of the alleged occur-

rence of the act in question.

(5) "Victim advocate" means a person who provides support and assistance for a person who

files a petition under this section.

(6) "Sexually oriented offense" has the same meaning as in section 2950. 01 of the Revised

Code.

(B) The court has jurisdiction over all proceedings under this section. The petitioner's right to
relief under this section is not affected by the petitioner's leaving the residence or household to
avoid further domestic violence.

(C) A person may seek relief under this section on the person's own behalf, or any parent or
adult household member may seek relief under this section on behalf of any other family or house-
hold member, by filing a petition with the court. The petition shall contain or state:

(1) An allegation that the respondent engaged in domestic violence against a family or
household member of the respondent, including a description of the nature and extent of the domes-

tic violence;

(2) The relationship of the respondent to the petitioner, and to the victim if other than the pe-

titioner;

(3) A request for relief under this section.

(D) (1) If a person who files a petition pursuant to this section requests an ex parte order, the
court shall hold an ex parte hearing on the same day that the petition is filed. The court, for good
cause shown at the ex parte hearing, may enter any temporary orders, with or without bond, includ-
ing, but not limited to, an order described in division (E)(1)(a), (b), or (c) of this section, that the
court finds necessary to protect the family or household member from domestic violence. Immedi-
ate and present danger of domestic violence to the family or household member constitutes good
cause for purposes of this section. Immediate and present danger includes, but is not limited to, sit-
uations in which the respondent has threatened the family or household member with bodily harm,
in which the respondent has threatened the family or household member with a sexually oriented
offense, or in which the respondent previously has been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or been ad-
judicated a delinquent child for an offense that constitutes domestic violence against the family or

household member.

(2) (a) If the court, after an ex parte hearing, issues an order described in division (E)(1)(b) or
(c) of this section, the court shall schedule a full hearing for a date that is within seven court days
after the ex parte hearing. If any other type of protection order that is authorized under division (E)
of this section is issued by the court after an ex parte hearing, the court shall schedule a full hearing
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for a date that is within ten court days after the ex parte hearing. The court shall give the respondent
notice of, and an opportunity to be heard at, the full hearing. The court shall hold the full hearing on
the date scheduled under this division unless the court grants a continuance of the hearing in ac-
cordance with this division. Under any of the following circumstances or for any of the following
reasons, the court may grant a continuance of the full hearing to a reasonable time determined by

the court:

(i) Prior to the date scheduled for the full hearing under this division, the respondent
has not been served with the petition filed pursuant to this section and notice of the full hearing.

(ii) The parties consent to the continuance.

(iii) The continuance is needed to allow a party to obtain counsel.

(iv) The continuance is needed for other good cause.

(b) An ex parte order issued under this section does not expire because of a failure to serve
notice of the full hearing upon the respondent before the date set for the full hearing under division
(D)(2)(a) of this section or because the court grants a continuance under that division.

(3) If a person who files a petition pursuant to this section does not request an ex parte order,

or if a person requests an ex parte order but the court does not issue an ex parte order after an ex

parte hearing, the court shall proceed as in a normal civil action and grant a full hearing on the mat-

ter.

(E) (1) After an ex parte or full hearing, the court may grant any protection order, with or with-
out bond, or approve any consent agreement to bring about a cessation of domestic violence against
the family or household members. The order or agreement may:

(a) Direct the respondent to refrain from abusing or from conunitting sexually oriented

offenses against the family or household members;

(b) Grant possession of the residence or household to the petitioner or other family or
household member, to the exclusion of the respondent, by evicting the respondent, when the resi-
dence or household is owned or leased solely by the petitioner or other family or household mem-
ber, or by ordering the respondent to vacate the premises, when the residence or household is jointly
owned or leased by the respondent, and the petitioner or other family or household member;

(c) When the respondent has a duty to support the petitioner or other family or household
member living in the residence or household and the respondent is the sole owner or lessee of the
residence or household, grant possession of the residence or household to the petitioner or other
family or household member, to the exclusion of the respondent, by ordering the respondent to va-
cate the premises, or, in the case of a consent agreement, allow the respondent to provide suitable,

altemative housing;

(d) Temporarily allocate parental rights and responsibilities for the care of, or establish
temporary parenting time rights with regard to, minor children, if no other court has detennined, or
is determining, the allocation of parental rights and responsibilities for the minor children or par-

enting time rights;

(e) Require the respondent to maintain support, if the respondent customarily provides for
or contributes to the support of the family or household member, or if the respondent has a duty to

support the petitioner or family or household member;
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(f) Require the respondent, petitioner, victim of domestic violence, or any combination of

those persons, to seek counseling;

(g) Require the respondent to refrain from entering the residence, school, business, or
place of employment of the petitioner or family or household member;

(h) Grant other relief that the court considers equitable and fair, including, but not limited
to, ordering the respondent to permit the use of a motor vehicle by the petitioner or other family or
household member and the apportionment of household and family personal property.

(2) If a protection order has been issued pursuant to this section in a prior action involving
the respondent and the petitioner or one or more of the family or household members or victims, the
court may include in a protection order that it issues a prohibition against the respondent retuming
to the residence or household. If it includes a prohibition against the respondent returning to the
residence or household in the order, it also shall include in the order provisions of the type de-
scribed in division (E)(7) of this section. This division does not preclude the court from including in
a protection order or consent agreement, in circumstances other than those described in this divi-
sion, a requirement that the respondent be evicted from or vacate the residence or household or re-
frain from entering the residence, school, business, or place of employment of the petitioner or a
family or household member, and, if the court includes any requirement of that type in an order or
agreement, the court also shall include in the order provisions of the type described in division

(E)(7) of this section.

(3) (a) Any protection order issued or consent agreement approved under this section shall be
valid until a date certain, but not later than five years from the date of its issuance or approval, or
not later than the date a respondent who is less than eighteen years of age attains nineteen years of
age, unless modified or terminated as provided in division (E)(8) of this section.

(b) Subject to the limitation on the duration of an order or agreement set forth in division
(E)(3)(a) of this section, any order under division (E)(1)(d) of this section shall terminate on the
date that a court in an action for divorce, dissolution of marriage, or legal separation brought by the
petitioner or respondent issues an order allocating parental rights and responsibilities for the care of
children or on the date that a juvenile court in an action brought by the petitioner or respondent is-
sues an order awarding legal custody of minor children. Subject to the limitation on the duration of
an order or agreement set forth in division (E)(3)(a) of this section, any order under division
(E)(1)(e) of this section shall terminate on the date that a court in an action for divorce, dissolution
of marriage, or legal separation brought by the petitioner or respondent issues a support order or on
the date that a juvenile court in an action brought by the petitioner or respondent issues a support

order.

(c) Any protection order issued or consent agreement approved pursuant to this section
may be renewed in the same manner as the original order or agreement was issued or approved.

(4) A court may not issue a protection order that requires a petitioner to do or to refrain from
doing an act that the court may require a respondent to do or to refrain from doing under division

(E)(1)(a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (g), or (h) of this section unless all of the following apply:

(a) The respondent files a separate petition for a protection order in accordance with this

section.
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(b) The petitioner is served notice of the respondent's petition at least forty-eight hours
before the court holds a hearing with respect to the respondent's petition, or the petitioner waives the

right to receive this notice.

(c) If the petitioner has requested an ex parte order pursuant to division (D) of this section,
the court does not delay any hearing required by that division beyond the time specified in that divi-
sion in order to consolidate the hearing with a hearing on the petition filed by the respondent.

(d) After a full hearing at which the respondent presents evidence in support of the request
for a protection order and the petitioner is afforded an opportunity to defend against that evidence,
the court determines that the petitioner has committed an act of domestic violence or has violated a

temporary protection order issued pursuant to section 2919.26 of the Revised Code, that both the

petitioner and the respondent acted primarily as aggressors, and that neither the petitioner nor the

respondent acted primarily in self-defense.

(5) No protection order issued or consent agreement approved under this section shall in any

manner affect title to any real property.

(6) (a) If a petitioner, or the child of a petitioner, who obtains a protection order or consent
agreement pursuant to division (E)(1) of this section or a temporary protection order pursuant to

section 2919.26 of the Revised Code and is the subject of a parenting time order issued pursuant to

section 3109.051 [3109.05.11 or 3109.12 of the Revised Code or a visitation or companionship or-

der issued pursuant to section 3109. 051 [3109.05.1], 3109.11, or 3109.12 of the Revised Code or

division (E)(1)(d) of this section granting parenting time rights to the respondent, the court may re-
quire the public children services agency of the county in which the court is located to provide su-
pervision of the respondent's exercise of parenting time or visitation or companionship rights with
respect to the child for a period not to exceed nine months, if the court makes the following findings

of fact:

(i) The child is in danger from the respondent;

(ii) No other person or agency is available to provide the supervision.

(b) A court that requires an agency to provide supervision pursuant to division (E)(6)(a) of
this section shall order the respondent to reimburse the agency for the cost of providing the supervi-
sion, if it determines that the respondent has sufficient income or resources to pay that cost.

(7) (a) If a protection order issued or consent agreement approved under this section includes
a requirement that the respondent be evicted from or vacate the residence or household or refrain
from entering the residence, school, business, or place of employment of the petitioner or a family
or household member, the order or agreement shall state clearly that the order or agreement cannot
be waived or nullified by an invitation to the respondent from the petitioner or other family or
household member to enter the residence, school, business, or place of employment or by the re-
spondent's entry into one of those places otherwise upon the consent of the petitioner or other fami-

ly or household member.

(b) Division (E)(7)(a) of this section does not limit any discretion of a court to determine

that a respondent charged with a violation of section 2919.27 ofthe Revised Code, with a violation

of a municipal ordinance substantially equivalent to that section, or with contempt of court, which
charge is based on an alleged violation of a protection order issued or consent agreement approved
under this section, did not commit the violation or was not in contempt of court.
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(8) (a) The court may modify or terminate as provided in division (E)(8) of this section a
protection order or consent agreement that was issued after a full hearing under this section. The
court that issued the protection order or approved the consent agreement shall hear a motion for
modification or termination of the protection order or consent agreement pursuant to division (E)(8)

of this section.

(b) Either the petitioner or the respondent of the original protection order or consent
agreement may bring a motion for modification or termination of a protection order or consent
agreement that was issued or approved after a full hearing. The court shall require notice of the mo-
tion to be made as provided by the Rules of Civil Procedure. If the petitioner for the original protec-
tion order or consent agreement has requested that the petitioner's address be kept confidential, the
court shall not disclose the address to the respondent of the original protection order or consent
agreement or any other person, except as otherwise required by law. The moving party has the bur-
den of proof to show, by a preponderance of the evidence, that modification or termination of the
protection order or consent agreement is appropriate because either the protection order or consent
agreement is no longer needed or because the terms of the original protection order or consent

agreement are no longer appropriate.

(c) In considering whether to modify or terminate a protection order or consent agreement
issued or approved under this section, the court shall consider all relevant factors, including, but not

limited to, the following:

(i) Whether the petitioner consents to modification or termination of the protection or-

der or consent agreement;

(ii) Whether the petitioner fears the respondent;

(iii) The current nature of the relationship between the petitioner and the respondent;

(iv) The circumstances of the petitioner and respondent, including the relative proxim-
ity of the petitioner's and respondent's workplaces and residences and whether the petitioner and

respondent have minor children together;

(v) Whether the respondent has complied with the terms and conditions of the original

protection order or consent agreement;

(vi) Whether the respondent has a continuing involvement with illegal drugs or alco-

hol;

(vii) Whether the respondent has been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or been adjudi-
cated a delinquent child for an offense of violence since the issuance of the protection order or ap-

proval of the consent agreement;

(viii) Whether any other protection orders, consent agreements, restraining orders, or
no contact orders have been issued against the respondent pursuant to this section, section 2919.26

of the Revised Code, any other provision of state law, or the law of any other state;

(ix) Whether the respondent has participated in any domestic violence treatment, inter-
vention program, or other counseling addressing domestic violence and whether the respondent has
completed the treatment, program, or counseling;

(x) The time that has elapsed since the protection order was issued or since the consent

agreement was approved;
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(xi) The age and health of the respondent;

(xii) When the last incident of abuse, threat of harm, or commission of a sexually ori-
ented offense occurred or other relevant information concerning the safety and protection of the pe-
titioner or other protected parties.

(d) If a protection order or consent agreement is modified or terminated as provided in di-
vision (E)(8) of this section, the court shall issue copies o€the modified or terminated order or
agreement as provided in division (F) of this section. A petitioner may also provide notice of the
modification or termination to the judicial and law enforcement officials in any county other than
the county in which the order or agreement is modified or terminated as provided in division (N) of
this section.

(e) If the respondent moves for modification or termination of a protection order or con-
sent agreement pursuant to this section, the court may assess costs against the respondent for the
filing of the motion.

(9) Any protection order issued or any consent agreement approved pursuant to this section
shall include a provision that the court will automatically seal all of the records of the proceeding in
which the order is issued or agreement approved on the date the respondent attains the age of nine-
teen years unless the petitioner provides the court with evidence that the respondent has not com-
plied with all of the terms of the protection order or consent agreement. The protection order or
consent agreement shall specify the date when the respondent attains the age of nineteen years.

(F) (1) A copy of any protection order, or consent agreement, that is issued, approved, modified,
or terminated under this section shall be issued by the court to the petitioner, to the respondent, and
to all law enforcement agencies that have jurisdiction to enforce the order or agreement. The court
shall direct that a copy of an order be delivered to the respondent on the same day that the order is
entered.

(2) Upon the issuance of a protection order or the approval of a consent agreement under this
section, the court shall provide the parties to the order or agreement with the following notice orally
or by form:

"NOTICE

As a result of this order or consent agreement, it may be unlawful for you to possess or pur-
chase a firearm, including a rifle, pistol, or revolver, or ammunition pursuant to federal law under
18 U.S.C. 922(g)(8). If you have any questions whether this law makes it illegal for you to possess
or purchase a firearm or ammunition, you should consult an attorney."

(3) All law enforcement agencies shall establish and maintain an index for the protection or-
ders and the approved consent agreements delivered to the agencies pursuant to division (F)(1) of
this section. With respect to each order and consent agreement delivered, each agency shall note on
the index the date and time that it received the order or consent agreement.

(4) Regardless of whether the petitioner has registered the order or agreement in the county
in which the officer's agency has jurisdiction pursuant to division (N) of this section, any officer of
a law enforcement agency shall enforce a protection order issued or consent agreement approved by
any court in this state in accordance with the provisions of the order or agreement, including re-
moving the respondent from the premises, if appropriate.
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(G) Any proceeding under this section shall be conducted in accordance with the Rules of Civil

Procedure, except that an order under this section may be obtained with or without bond. An order

issued under this section, other than an ex parte order, that grants a protection order or approves a
consent agreement that modifies or terminates a protection order or consent agreement, or that re-

fuses to modify or terminate a protection order or consent agreement, that refuses to grant a protec-
tion order or approve a consent agreement, is a final, appealable order. The remedies and proce-

dures provided in this section are in addition to, and not in lieu of, any other available civil or crim-

inal remedies.

(H) The filing of proceedings under this section does not excuse a person from filing any report

or giving any notice required by section 2151.421 [2151.42.1] of the Revised Code or by any other

law. When a petition under this section alleges domestic violence against minor children, the court
shall report the fact, or cause reports to be made, to a county, township, or municipal peace officer

under section 2151.421 [2151.42.1] of the Revised Code.

(I) Any law enforcement agency that investigates a domestic dispute shall provide information
to the family or household members involved regarding the relief available under this section and

section 2919.26 of the Revised Code.

(7) Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary and regardless of whether a protection

order is issued or a consent agreement is approved by a court of another county or a court of another
state, no court or unit of state or local government shall charge any fee, cost, deposit, or money in

connection with the filing of a petition pursuant to this section or in connection with the filing, is-
suance, registration, or service of a protection order or consent agreement, or for obtaining a certi-
fied copy of a protection order or consent agreement.

(K) (1) The court shall comply with Chapters 3119., 3121., 3123., and 3125. ofthe Revised

Code when it makes or modifies an order for child support under this section.

(2) If any person required to pay child support under an order made under this section on or
after April 15, 1985, or modified under this section on or after December 31, 1986, is found in con-
tempt of court for failure to make support payments under the order, the court that makes the find-
ing, in addition to any other penalty or remedy imposed, shall assess all court costs arising out of
the contempt proceeding against the person and require the person to pay any reasonable attorney's
fees of any adverse party, as determined by the court, that arose in relation to the act of contempt.

(L) (1) A person who violates a protection order issued or a consent agreement approved under
this section is subject to the following sanctions:

(a) Criminal prosecution or a delinquent child proceeding for a violation of section

2919.27 ofthe Revised Code, if the violation of the protection order or consent agreement consti-

tutes a violation of that section;

(b) Punishment for contempt of court.

(2) The punishment of a person for contempt of court for violation of a protection order is-
sued or a consent agreement approved under this section does not bar criminal prosecution of the
person or a delinquent child proceeding concerning the person for a violation of section 2919.27 of

the Revised Code. However, a person punished for contempt of court is entitled to credit for the
punishment imposed upon conviction of or adjudication as a delinquent child for a violation of that
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section, and a person convicted of or adjudicated a delinquent child for a violation of that section

shall not subsequently be punished for contempt of court arising out of the same activity.

(M) In all stages of a proceeding under this section, a petitioner may be accompanied by a vic-

tim advocate.

(N) (1) A petitioner who obtains a protection order or consent agreement under this section or a
temporary protection order under section 2919.26 of the Revised Code may provide notice of the
issuance or approval of the order or agreement to the judicial and law enforcement officials in any
county other than the county in which the order is issued or the agreement is approved by register-
ing that order or agreement in the other county pursuant to division (N)(2) of this section and frling

a copy of the registered order or registered agreement with a law enforcement agency in the other
county in accordance with that division. A person who obtains a protection order issued by a court

of another state may provide notice of the issuance of the order to the judicial and law enforcement

officials in any county of this state by registering the order in that county pursuant to section

2919.2 72 [2919.27.2] of the Revised Code and filing a copy of the registered order with a law en-

forcement agency in that county.

(2) A petitioner may register a temporary protection order, protection order, or consent
agreement in a county other than the county in which the court that issued the order or approved the

agreement is located in the following manner:

(a) The petitioner shall obtain a certified copy of the order or agreement from the clerk of
the court that issued the order or approved the agreement and present that certified copy to the clerk

of the court of common pleas or the clerk of a municipal court or county court in the county in

which the order or agreement is to be registered.

(b) Upon accepting the certified copy of the order or agreement for registration, the clerk
of the court of common pleas, municipal court, or county court shall place an endorsement of regis-
tration on the order or agreement and give the petitioner a copy of the order or agreement that bears
that proof of registration.

(3) The clerk of each court of common pleas, the clerk of each municipal court, and the clerk
of each county court shall maintain a registry of certified copies of temporary protection orders,
protection orders, or consent agreements that have been issued or approved by courts in other coun-
ties and that have been registered with the clerk.

(0) Nothing in this section prohibits the domestic relations division of a court of common pleas
in counties that have a domestic relations division or a court of conunon pleas in counties that do
not have a domestic relations division from designating a minor child as a protected party on a pro-
tection order or consent agreement.

HISTORY:

137 v H 835 (Eff 3-27-79); 138 v H 920 (Eff 4-9-81); 140 v H 587 (Eff 9-25-84); 140 v H 614
(Eff 4-10-85); 140 v H 113 (Eff 1-8-85); 141 v H 509 (Eff 12-1-86); 141 v H 428 (Eff 12-23-86);
142 v H 231 (Eff 10-5-87); 142 v H 708 (Eff 4-19-88); 142 v H 172 (Eff 3-17-89); 143 v H 591 (Eff
4-12-90); 143 v S 3 (Eff 4-11-91); 144 v S 10 (Eff 7-15-92); 144 v H 536 (Eff 11-5-92); 145 v H
173 (Eff 12-31-93); 145 v H 335 (Eff 12-9-94); 146 v H 274 (Eff 8-8-96); 146 v H 438 (Eff
7-1-97); 147 v S 1(Eff 10-21-97); 147 v H 352 (Eff 1-1-98); 148 v S 180 (Eff 3-22-2001); 149 v H
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548. Eff 3-31-2003; 151 v S 17, § 1, eff. 8-3-06; 151 v H 95, § 1, eff. 8-3-06; 151 v S 260, § 1, eff.
1-2-07; 152 v H 562, § 101.01, eff. 6-24-08; 153 v H 10, § 1, eff. 6-17-10.
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Ohio Rules Of Civil Procedure
Title II Commencement Of Action And Venue; Service Of Process; Service And Filing Of Plead-

ings And Other Papers Subsequent To The Original Complaint; Time

Ohio Civ. R. 4.1 (2012)

Review Court Orders which may amend this Rule.

Rule 4.1. Process: Methods of service[Effective July 1, 2012.]

All methods of service within this state, except service by publication as provided in Civ. R. 4.4(A)

are described in this rule. Methods of out-of-state service and for service in a foreign country are

described in Civ. R. 4.3 and 4.5.

(A) Service by clerk.

(1) Methods of service.

(a) Service by United States certified or express mail.

Evidenced by return receipt signed by any person, service of any process shall be by Unit-
ed States certified or express mail unless otherwise permitted by these rules. The clerk shall deliver
a copy of the process and complaint or other document to be served to the United States Postal Ser-
vice for mailing at the address set forth in the caption or at the address set forth in written instruc-
tions furnished to the clerk as certified or express mail return receipt requested, with instructions to
the delivering postal employee to show to whom delivered, date of delivery, and address where de-

livered.

(b) Service by commercial carrier service.

As an alternative to service under Civ.R. 4. 1 (A) (1) (a), the clerk may make service of any
process by a commercial carrier service utilizing any form of delivery requiring a signed receipt.
The clerk shall deliver a copy of the process and complaint or other document to be served to a
commercial carrier service for delivery at the address set forth in the caption or at the address set
forth in written instructions furnished to the clerk, with instructions to the carrier to return a signed
receipt showing to who delivered, date of delivery, and address where delivered.

(2) Docket entries; Return.
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The clerk shall forthwith enter on the appearance docket the fact of delivery to the United
States Postal Service for mailing or the fact of delivery to a specified commercial carrier service for
delivery, and make a similar entry when the return receipt is received. If the return shows failure of
delivery, the clerk shall forthwith notify the attorney of record or, if there is no attorney of record,
the party at whose instance process was issued and enter the fact and method of notification on the
appearance docket. The clerk shall file the return receipt or returned envelope in the records of the
action.

(3) Costs.

All postage and commercial carrier service fees shall be charged to costs. If the parties to be
served are numerous and the clerk determines there is insufficient security for costs, the clerk may
require the party requesting service to advance an amount estimated by the clerk to be sufficient to
pay the costs of delivery.

(B) Personal service.

When the plaintiff files a written request with the clerk for personal service, service of process
shall be made by that method.

When process issued from the Supreme Court, a court of appeals, a court of common pleas, or
a county court is to be served personally under this division, the clerk of the court shall deliver the
process and sufficient copies of thepr-ocess and complaint, or other document to be served, to the
sheriff of the county in which the party to be served resides or may be found. When process issues
from the municipal court, delivery shall be to the bailiff of the court for service on all defendants
who reside or may be found within the county or counties in which that court has territorial jurisdic-
tion and to the sheriff of any other county in this state for service upon a defendant who resides in
or may be found in that other county. In the alternative, process issuing from any of these courts
may be delivered by the clerk to any person not less than eighteen years of age, who is not a party
and who has been designated by order of the court to make personal service of process under this
division. The person serving process shall locate the person to be served and shall tender a copy of
the process and accompanying documents to the person to be served. When the copy of the process
has been served, the person serving process shall endorse that fact on the process and return it to the
clerk, who shall make the appropriate entry on the appearance docket.

When the person serving process is unable to serve a copy of the process within twenty-eight
days, the person shall endorse that fact and the reasons therefor on the process and return the pro-
cess and copies to the clerk who shall make the appropriate entry on the appearance docket. In the
event of failure of service, the clerk shall follow the notification procedure set forth in division
(A)(2) of this rule. Failure to make service within the twenty-eight day period and failure to. make
proof of service do not affect the validity of the service.

(C) Residence service.

When the plaintiff files a written request with the clerk for residence service, service of process
shall be made by that method.

When process is to be served under this division, the clerk of the court shall deliver the process
and sufficient copies of the process and complaint, or other document to be served, to the sheriff of
the county in which the party to be served resides or may be found. When process issues from the
municipal court, delivery shall be to the bailiff of the court for service on all defendants who reside
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or may be found within the county or counties in which that court has territorial jurisdiction and to
the sheriff of any other county in this state for service upon a defendant who resides in or may be
found in that county. In the alternative, process may be delivered by the clerk to any person not less
than eighteen years of age, who is not a party and who has been designated by order of the court to
make residence service of process under this division. The person serving process shall effect ser-
vice by leaving a copy of the process and the complaint, or other document to be served, at the usual
place of residence of the person to be served with some person of suitable age and discretion then
residing therein. When the copy of the process has been served, the person serving process shall
endorse that fact on the process and return it to the clerk, who shall make the appropriate entry on
the appearance docket.

When the person serving process is unable to serve a copy of the process within twenty-eight
days, the person shall endorse that fact and the reasons therefor on the process, and return the pro-
cess and copies to the clerk, who shall make the appropriate entry on the appearance docket. In the
event of failure of service, the clerk shall follow the notification procedure set forth in division
(A)(2) of this rule. Failure to make service within the twenty-eight-day period and failure to make
proof of service do not affect the validity of service.

HISTORY: Amended, eff 7-1-71; 7-1-80; 7-1-97; 7-1-12.
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