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STATEMENT OF FACTS

The State agrees with the Statement of Facts given in appellant Lucious Taylor's merit

brief.

PROPOSITION OF LAW I

A DEFENDANT IS ENTITLED TO A DECREASE IN THE PENALTY OF AN
OFFENSE, BUT NOT THE CLASSIFICATION OF THE OFFENSE, WHEN A
GENERAL ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT TO THE CLASSIFICATION AND PENALTY
FOR THE OFFENSE BECOMES EFFECTIVE BETWEEN THE DATE THE
DEFENDANT COMMITTED THE OFFENSE AND SENTENCING.

LAW AND ARGUMENT

On July 23, 2011, Taylor stole $550 worth of cologne frozn a departinent store. The

Summit County Crrand Jury indicted Taylor for a felony theft offense, in violation of R.C.

2913.02(A). Taylor pled no contest. The trial court convicted Taylor of a misdemeanor, rather

than a felony, on December 27, 2011 and, on the same date, the court imposed a misdemeanor

sentence.

The State appealed the ruling that led to the misdemeanor conviction, arguing that the old

version of the Theft statute applied to Taylor's conviction. The State did not dispute that'I'aylor

was entitled to receive the benefit of the reduction in penalty, which became effective after

Taylor committed the offense, but before he was sentenced. On appeal, the Ninth District

sustained the State's argument and reversed the trial court's decision as to the ruling that led to

the misdemeanor conviction. State v. Taylor, 9ti' Dist. No. 26279, 2012-Ohio-5403, Ti 9. The

State acknowledges that, pursuant to R.C. 2945.67(A), the reversal does not affect Taylor's

misdemeanor conviction. State v. Taylor, 9`h Dist. No. 26279, 2012-Ohio-5403, T,1 9.

At the time Taylor committed the Theft, the offense was a felony because, at that time,

the Ohio Revised Code stated that the minimum property value for a felony theft offense was
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$500. See, fonner R.C. 2913.02(A). If Taylor had committed the offense on. or after the

effective date of H.B. 86, September 30, 2011, when the General Assembly increased the

minimum value of property stolen to constitute a theft offense from $500 to $1,000, the offense

would have been a misdemeanor. R.C. 2913.02(A).

R.C. 1.58(B) provides that, "[i]f the penalty, forfeiture, or punishment for any offense is

reduced by a reenactment or amendment of a statute, the penalty, forfeiture, or punishnient, if not

already imposed, shall be imposed according to the statute as amended."

Taylor was sentenced after the effective date of H.B. 86. Since he was sentenced after

the effective date of H.B. 86, pursuant to R.C. 1.58(B), made applicable by uncodified Section 4

of H.B. 86, Taylor was entitled to a decrease in the "penalty, forfeiture, and punishment" for the

offense and was properly sentenced to a sentence applicable to a misdemeanor of the first degree,

rather than a felony. The State contends that he was not, however, entitled to a reduction in the

classification or degree of the offense. Thus, the issue before this Court is whether R.C. 1.58(B)

applies to the degree or classification of the offense, thereby entitling a defendant to a decrease

in the degree of the offense. The State contends that it does not.

"A statute is presumed to be prospective in its operation unless expressly made

retrospective.", R.C. 1.48, "Thus, a statute may not be applied retroactively unless the court finds

a`clearly expressed legislative intent' that the statute so apply." State v. T>Tri.llialns, 103 Ohio

St.3d 112, 2004-Ohio-4747, 1 8, quoting State v. Cook-, 83 Ohio St.3d 404, 410 (1998).

"Legislation violates the Ex Post Facto Clause if it makes a previously innocent act criminal,

increases the punishment for a cr-ime after its commission, or deprives the accused of a defense

available at the time the crime was committed." State v. Rush, 83 Ohio St.3d 53, 59 (1998).
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The State contends that, in light of this, a, defendant who commits a crime prior to the

effective date of a statute, but has not yet been sentenced, will generally receive the benefit of

any decrease in penalty, unless the General Assembly avoids the application of Section 1.58(B)

by expressly stating that intent. Tavlor-, supra, at ¶ 5.

"[T]he General Assembly is lodged with tl-ie power to define, classify and prescribe

punishment for crimes committed within the state." State v. Rush, 83 Ohio St.3d 53, 57 (1998),

quoting State >>. Young, 62 Ohio St.2d 370, 392 (1980). The General Assembly did not,

fiowever, make the amendments to R.C. 2913.02 retroactive in H.B. 86. Instead, the General

Assembly emphasized its legislative intent to apply R.C. 1.58 to give defendants who had

committed crimes, but had not yet been sentenced at the time of the enactment, the benefit of the

decreased penalties.

The General Assembly stated that, "[t]he amendments to section[ ] *** 2913.02 *** that

are made in this act apply to a person who commits an offense specified or penalized under

[Section 2913.02] on or after the effective date of this section and to a person to whom division

(B) of section 1.58 of the Revised Code makes the amendments applicable." Am. Sub. H.B. No.

86, Section 4, 2011 Ohio Laws 29. Thus, it is clear that the amendments to R.C. 2913.02 apply

under two circumstances: to a person who committed the offense after September 30, 2011; and,

to a person to whom R.C. 1.58(B) is applicable.

Applying the aforementioned statement of the General Assembly's intent as to the

applicability of the amendments, it is clear that Taylor is not "a person who commit[ted] an

offense *** on or after the eifective date" of House Bill 86, since House Bill 86 went into effect

after Taylor committed the theft, but before hc was convicted and sentenced. As such, the

applicability of the new version of R.C. 2913.02 to Taylor is limited to the benefits set forth in



R.C. 1.58, which provides that "[i]f the penalty, forfeiture, or punishment for any offense is

reduced by *** amendment of a statute, the penalty, forfeiture, or punishinent, if not already

imposed, shall be imposed according to the statute as amended." R.C. 1.58(B). The State,

therefore, contends that the benefit conferred upon Taylor is a reduction in his sentence, not a

reduction in the classification or degree of the offense.

Section 1.58 of the Ohio Revised Code clearly states that, when a statutory am.endn2ent

decreases the penalty, forfeiture, or punishment, a defendant is entitled to receive the reduced

penalty, forfeiture, or punishment. R.C. 1.58(B) makes no mention of a criminal defendant

receiving the benefit of a lesser or reduced offense such as the benefit of having a felony

conviction amended to a first-degree misdemeanor.

As noted supra, the General Assembly did not make the amendments to Section 2913.02

retroactive; instead, it emphasized its intent to apply Section 1.58(B) to give defendants who had

committed crimes, but had not yet been sentetlced at the time of the enactment, the benefit of the

decreased penalties. Pursuant to R.C. 1.58(B), a defendant is entitled to the benefit of a

reduction in the "penalty, forfeiture and punishnleilt for the offense." The State contends that

"penalty, forfeiture and punishment for the offense" differ from the "degree of the offense" and,

therefore, R.C. 1.58(B) does not confer upon a defendant the benefit of having a felony morphed

into a inisdeYneanor.

Furthermore, the Ohio Revised Code section governirig the classification of offenses

provides additional support for the State's contention that a"peiialty" differs from a

"classification" of an offense. R.C. 2901.02(D), which addresses the classification of felonies,

provides that, "[r]egardless of the penalty that may be imposed, any offense specifically

classified as a felony is a felony, and any offense specifically classified as a misdemeanor is a
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misdemeanor." R.C. 2901.02(D). Similarly, the Ohio Rules of Criminal Procedtire state that a

"`[f]elony' means an offense defined by law as a felony" and a"`[m]isdemeanor' means an

offense defined by law as a misdemeanor." Crim.R. 2(A) & (B).

Additionally, the Ohio Revised Code separates the aforementioned classifications into

degree levels, with pcnalties that vary depending on the degree of the offense. 'I'he "degree of

crime" has been defined as "[t]he grade of a crime according to the gravity of the offense and the

culpability of the guilty person, considered *** in determining the punislnent," Balientine's

Law Dictionary (3a Ed. 1969) 325.

Section 2919.14(A) of the Ohio Revised Code, for example, separates felonies into

degrees and denotes different penalties that vary depending on the degree. R.C. 2929.14(A).

The Ohio Revised Code also contains some unclassified felonies, such as aggravated murder and

murder. State v. Honaker, 9tl` Dist. No. 08CA009458, 2009-Ohio-4424, T12. The Ohio Revised

Code additionally separates misdemeanors into degrees, with. the penalty varying according to

the degree of the offense. R.C. 2929.24.

The State contends that the reason that the Ohio Revised Code differentiates between the

degrees of an offense and the penalty associated with an offense is because, although the terms

c.punlslnnent", "penalty" and "forfeiture" are synonymous with each other, they are not

synonymous with the tenn degree. United States v. Reisinger, 128 U.S. 398, 402 (1888). "These

words have been used by the great masters of crown law and the elementary writers ***

Blackstone speaks of criminal law as that `branch ofjur.isprudence' which teaches of the ***

degrees of every crime *** and its adequate and necessary punishment." Id. "[A] sentence is a

penalty or combination of penalties imposed on a defendant as punisliment for the offense***."
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State v. Harris, 132 Ohio St.3d 318, 2012-Ohio-1908, ^,28, citing R.C. 2929.01(EE) and R.C.

2929.01(DD).

The State's position that the General Assembly's amendment raising the threshold

amount for a felony relates only to the penalty, not the degree of the offense, is supported by the

Third District Court of Appeals' decision in Collier, wherein the Court examined a case where

the defendant committed a felony theft prior to the 1983 amendment of R.C. 2913.02, that

increased the dollar amount necessary to constitute a felony, but the defeiidant was convicted and

sentenced after the date of the amendment, and held that the 1983 amendment "relates only to

penalty." State v. Collier•, 22 Ohio App.3d 25, 27 (1984); citing State v. Burton, 11 Ohio App.3d

261 (1983). The Collier court further stated that the value under the theft statute was not a

means to describe different offenses but was merely "to enable the court to administer the

appropriate penalty." Id., citing Stute v. Whitten, 82 Ohio St. 174, 182 (1910).

Based on the foregoing, the State contends that the effect of R.C. 1.58(B) is to reduce the

penalty, punishment, or forfeiture applicable to an offense, but it does not act to reduce the

degree or classification of the offense. Therefore, R.C. 1.58 entitles a defendant, such as Taylor,

to benefit from the decreased penalty enacted by the General Assembly while the case was

pending against him, but nothing in that section entitles such a defendant to benefit from any

decrease in classification of the crime. See, State v. Saplak, 8th Dist. No. 97825, 2012-Ohio-

4281, T 13; State v. Steinfurth, 8ti' Dist. No. 97459, 2012-Ohio-3257. As such, a defendant, such

as Taylor, should be convicted of Theft, a fifth-degree felony, as set forth in the version of R.C.

2913.02 in effect at the time of the offense; however; pursuant to R.C. 1.58(B), a defendant, such

as Taylor, is entitled to having the benefit of the court imposing a sentencing for a first-degree
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misdemeanor, as set forth in the version of Section 2913.02 in effect at the time of the sentencing

hearing.

A review of Ohio case law shows, since H.B. 86 went into effect, many trial and

appellate courts have addressed the issue that is now facing this Court. 'I'he Eighth and Ninth

Districts have held that H.B. 86 does not require a reduction in tlze classification of a crime for

defendants awaiting sentences for crimes committed before the effective date of H.B. 86. State

v. Steinfurth, 8th Dist. No. 97549, 2012-Ohio-3257, ^15-16; State v; Saplak, 8th Dist. No. 97825,

2012-Ohio-4281 fi12-14; State v. Taylos°, 9th Dist. No. 26279, 2012-Ohio-5403, ¶8. On the other

hand, the First, Second, Fifth, Tenth, and Eleventh Appellate Courts have reached the opposite

conclusion, holding that the a defendant who commits an offense prior to the effective date of

H.B. 86, but who is sentenced after that date, is entitled to a reduction in penalty and a reduction

in the classification of their offense. State v. Solomon, 1st. Dist. No. C-120044, 2012-Ohio-

5755; State v. Arnold, 2nd Dist. *.N-o. 25044, 2012-Ohio-5786; State v. Gillespie, 5th Dist. No.

2012-CA-6, 2012-Ohio-3485; State v, Boltz, 6th Dist. App. No. V1jD-12-0121, 2013-Ohio-1830;

State i; Linaoli, 11th Dist. No. l IAP-924, 2012-Ohio-4502; State v. Cefalo, l Ith Dist. No. 201-

L-163, 2012-Ohio-5594.

The First District Court of Appeals, in a case involving possession of drugs, determined

that the statutory aniendments reducing level of drug possession offense from fourth-degree

felony to fifth-degree felony applied retroactively to defendant who was indicted before effective

date of amendments, but who had not yet been sentenced at effective date. State v. Solomon, 1 st.

Dist. No. C-120044, 2012-Ohio-5755. The Court concluded that the legislative history indicated

an intent to eliminate sentencing disparities due to divergent classification of offenses. Id., 52.

The Court, in reaching its conclusion, noted that the "General Assembly stated in Section 3 of
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H.B. 86 that the "provisions" of the former act and not the "amendments" apply to those

sentenced before the effective date of the act, but that the "amendments" to [the statute] apply to

a person "to whom division (B) of section 1.58 of the Revised Code makes the amendments

applicable." (Emphasis added.) The General Assembly used the words `provisions' and

`amendments' as opposed to `penalty;' ' sanction,' or `punislunent.' " Id., at ^49. The Court

further concluded that, since the amended version of the statute includes the reduction in the

degree of the offense, a defendant is entitled to the reduction in the degree and a reduction in the

penalty. Id.

The Sixth District Court of Appeals, in reaching its conclusion that a defendant is entitled

to the benefit of a reduced classification of an offense, noted that R.C. 2913.02 contains specific

references to the classification of an offense being tied to the penalty associated therewith. State

i'. Boltz, 6th Dist. App. No. WD-12-012, 2013-Ohio-1830, ^,115-16. The Court also stated that it

would be illogical to sentence a defendant for ami.sdemeanor while simultaneously classifying

his crime as a felony. Id.

Additionally, in a case involving a conviction for possession of cocaine, the Tenth

District Court of Appeals reversed, in part, because the trial did not impose a penalty according

to the statute, as ameilded by H.B. 86. State v. Limoli, i lth Dist. No. l 1AP-924, 2012-Ohio-

4502, T 62.

Finally, the Eleventh District Court of Appeals held that, for purposes of R.C. 2913.02,

the penalty includes the level of the offense and therefore, under R.C. 1.58, a defendant is

entitled to reduction in the offense level. State v. Cefalo, 11th Dist. No. 201-L-163, 2012-Ohio-

5594, ¶ 19. In reaching its conclusion, the Cefalo Court examined the comments of the Ohio

Legislative Services Commission's Bill Analysis for H.B. 86, wherein it stated that "[g]enerally,
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for the offenses, a default penalty, (generally a misdemeanor), is provided and that penalty

applies unless the value of the property or loss involved in the offense reaches of exceeds a

specific threshold" which results in an "increased penalty, (generally a felony) ***." Id., citing

Ohio Legislative Service Bill Commission's Analysis, page 19. The State respectfully disagrees

with the Cefalo Court's analysis and contends that the statem.ei.its set forth in in the Legislative

Service Commission's Bill Analysis for H.B. 86 cannot be used to determine the intent of the

legislature that enacted R.C. 1.58.

The State disagrees with the appellate courts that have concluded that, because H.B. 86

reduces the classification of the offense due to the increase in the threshold value of the stolen

property, a defendant who committed the offense prior to the effective state, is therefore entitled

to have his offense reclassified as a misdemeanor. State v. Cefalo, 11"' Dist. No. 2011-L-163,

2012-Ohio-5594, T, 15. Sttzte v. Solomon, lst. Dist. No, C-120044, 2012-Ohio-5755; State v.

Arnold, 2nd Dist. No. 25044, 2012-Ohio-5786; State v. Gillespie, 5th Dist. No. 2012-CA-6,

2012-Ohio-3485; State v, Boltr, 6th Dist. App. :No. WD-12-012, 2013-Ohio-1.830; State v.

Limoli, llth Dist. No. 11AP-924, 2012-Ohio-4502. I'he State disagrees because, with regard to

theft offenses, H.B. 86 reduces the classification of future theft offenses committed after the

effective date of H.B. 86; and, allows for a corresponding reduction in penalties for thefts

committed prior to the statute's effective date, through the application of R.C. 1.58. R.C. 1.58

does not reduce the classification of an offense that occurred prior to the effective date of

H.B. 86.

R.C. 1.58 applies to sentences, not the levels or classifications of an offense. There is no

language in R.C. 1.58 regarding offense levels. "R.C. 1.58 clearly states that a criminal

defendant receives the benefit of a reduced penalty, forfeiture, or punishment. * * * R.C. 1.58
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makes no mention of a criminal defendant receiving the benefit of a lesser or reduced offense

itself," which would entitle a defendant to receive "the benefit of amending [his] fifth-degree

felony conviction to that of a first-degree misdemeanor." (Emphasis deleted.) St^rxte v.

Steinfurth, supra, at !^ 15; State v. Saplak, supYa, atT 11. As such, a defendant such as Taylor is

entitled to a reduced sentence but not a reduction in the level of the charged offense.

For the foregoing reasons, Taylor was entitled to have the benefit of a misdemeanor

penalty, but he was not entitled to have the degree of the offense reduced to a misdemeanor.

Therefore, the Ninth District Court of Appeals correctly determined that the trial court erred in

reducing the degree of Taylor's offense. The State acknowledges, however, that the trial court's

error cannot be remedied in Taylor's case.

The State respectfully asks this Court to hold that a defendant who has committed an

offense prior to the effective date of H.B. 86, but was sentenced after the effective date of H.B.

86, is entitled to reduction in sentence but not a reduction in the level or degree of the offense.
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CONCLUSION

Pursuant to the argument offered, the Staterespectfully contends that the judgment of the

Ninth District Court of Appeals should be affirn.led.

Respectfully submitted,

SHERRI BEVAN WALSH
Prosecuting Attorney

HEAVEN DIMARTINO
Assistant Prosecuting Attorney
Appellate Division
Summit County Safety Building
53 University Avenue, 6th Floor
Akron, Ohio 44308
(330) 643-8539
Reg. No. 0073423

PROOF OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy of this Merit Brief was sent by regular U.S. Mail to Attorney

Neil P. Agarwal, 3766 Fishcreek Road, #289, Stow, Ohio 44224-4379, on the 24t11 day of June,

2013.

HEAVEN DIMARTINO
Assistant Prosecuting Attorney
Appellate Division
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1.48 Presumption that statute is prospective.

A statute is presumed to be prospective in its operation unless expressly made retrospective.

Effective Date: 01-03-1972

2901.02 Classification of crimes.

As used in the Revised Code:

(A) Offenses inclLtde aggravated murder, murder, felonies of the first, second, third, fourth, and
fifth degree, misdemeanors of the first, second, third, and fourth degree, minor misdemeanors,
and offenses not specifically classified.

(B) Aggravated murder when the indictment or the count in the indictment charging aggravated
murder contains one or more specifications of aggravating circumstances listed in division (A) of
section 2929.04 of Revised Code, and any other offense for which death may be imposed as a
penalty, is a capital offense.

(C) Aggravated murder and murder are felonies.

(D) Regardless of the penalty that may be imposed, any offense specifically classified as a felony
is a felony, and any offense specifically classified as a misdemeanor is a misdemeanor.

(E) Any offense not specifically classified is a felony if imprisonment for more than one year
may be imposed as a penalty.

(F) Any offense not specifically classified is a misdemeanor if imprisonment for not more than
one year may be imposed as a penalty.

(G) Any offense not specifically classified is a minor misdemeanor if the only penalty that may
be imposed is one of the following:

(1) For an offense committed prior to January 1, 2004, a fine not exceeding one hundred dollars;

(2) For an offense committed on or after January 1, 2004, a fine not exceeding one hundred ifty
dollars, community service under division (D) of section 2929.27 of the Revised Code, or a
financial sanction other than a fine under section 2929.28 of the Revised Code.

Amended by 129th General Assembly File No.25,HB 5, § 1, eff. 9/23/2011.

Effective Date: 01-01-2004
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2929.14 Definite prison terms.

(A) Except as provided in division (B)(1), (B)(2),(B)(3), (B)(4), (B)(5), (B)(6), (B)(7), (I3)(8),
(E), (G), (H), or (J) of this section or in division (D)(6) of section 2919.25 of the Revised Code
and except in relation to an offense for which a sentence of death or life imprisonment is to be
imposed, if the court imposing a sentence upon an offender for a felony elects or is required to
impose a prison term on the offender pursuant to this chapter, the court shall impose a definite
prison term that shall be one of the following:

(1) For a felony of the first degree, the prison term shall be three, four, five, six, seven, eight,
nine, ten, or eleven years.

(2) For a felony of the second degree, the prison term shall be two, three, four, five, six, seven, or
eight years.

(3)

(a) For a felony of the third degree that is a violation of section 2903.06, 2903.08, 2907.03,
2907.04, or 2907.05 of the Revised Code or that is a violation of section 2911.02 or 2911_12 of
the Revised Code if the offender previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty in two or
more separate proceedings to two or more violations of section 2911.01, 2911.02, 2911.11, or
2911.12 of the Revised Code, the prison term shall be twelve, eighteen, twenty-four, thirty,
thirty-six, forty-two, forty-eight, fifty-four, or sixty months.

(b) For a felony of the third degree that is not azi offense for which division (A)(3)(a) of this
section applies, the prison term shall be nine, twelve, eighteen, twenty-four, thirty, or thirty-six
nlonths.

(4) For a felony of the fourth degree, the prison term shall be six, seven, eight, nine, ten, eleven,
twelve, thirteen, fourteen, fifteen, sixteen, seventeen, or eighteen months.

(5) For a felony of the fifth degree, the prison term shall be six, seven, eight, nine, ten, eleven, or
twelve months.

Amended by 129th General Assembly F'ileNo.131, SB 337, § 1, eff. 9I28/2012.

Amended by 129th General Assembly File No.29, HB 86, §1, eff. 9r'30/2011.

Effective Date: 04-08-2004; 06-01-2004; 09-23-2004; 04-29-2005; 07-11-2006; 08-03-2006; 01-
02-2007; 01-04-2007; 04-04-2007; 2007 S1310 01-01-2008; 2008 SB 184 09-09-2008; 2008
SB22() 09-30-2008; 2008 HB280 04-07-2009; 2008 1-1131 30 04-07-2009

Related Legislative Provision: See 129th General Assembly File No,29, HB 86, §11
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2929.24 Definite jail terms for misdemeanors.

(A) Except as provided in section 2929.22 or 2929.23 of the Revised Code or division (E) or (F)
of this section and unless another term is required or authorized pursuant to law, if the sentencing
court imposing a sentence upon an offender for a misdemeanor elects or is required to impose a
jail term on the offender pursuant to this chapter, the court shall impose a definite jail term that
shall be one of the following:

(1) For a misdemeanor of the first degree, not more than one hundred eighty days;

(2) For a misdemeanor of the second degree, not more than ninety days;

(3) For a misdemeanor of the third degree, not more than sixty days;

(4) :For a misdemeanor of the fourth degree, not more than thirty days.

(B)

(1) A court that sentences an offender to a jail terni under this section may permit the offender to
serve the sentence in intermittent confinement or may authorize a limited release of the offender
as provided in division (B) of section 2929.26 of the Revised Code. I'he cotu`t retains jurisdiction
over every offender sentenced to jail to modify the jail sentence imposed at any time, but the
court shall not reduce any mandatory jail term.

(2)

(a) lf a prosecutor, as defined in section 2935.01 of the Revised Code, has filed a notice with the
court that the prosecutor wants to be notified about a particular case and if the court is
considering modifying the jail sentence of the offender in that case, the court shall notify the
prosecutor that the coiiz-t is considering modifying the jail sentence of the offender in that case.
The prosecutor may request a hearing regarding the court's consideration of modifying the jail
sentence of the offender in that case, and, if the prosecutor requests a hearing, the court sliall
notify the eligible offender of the hearing.

(b) If the prosecutor requests a hearing regarding the court's cons.ideration of modifying the jail
sentence of the offender in that case, the court shall hold the hearing before considering whether
or not to release the offender from the offender's jail sentence.

(C) If a court sentences an offender to a jaiI term under this section and the cotirt assigns the
offender to a county jail that has established a county jail industry program pursuant to section
5147.30 of the Revised Code, the court shall specify, as part of the sentence, whether the
offender may be considered for participation in the program. During the offender's term in the
county jail, the court retains jurisdiction to modify its specification regarding the offender's
participation in the county jail industry program.
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(D) If a person is sentenced to a jail term pursuant to this section, the court may impose as part of
the sentence pursuant to section 2929.28_ of the Revised Code a reimbursement sanction, and, if
the local detention facility in which the term is to be served is covered by a policy adopted
pursuant to section 307,93, 341.14, 341.19, 341.21, 341.23, 753.02, 753.04, 753.16, 2301.56, or
2947.19 of the Revised Code and section 2929.37 of the Revised Code, both of the following
apply:

(1) The court shall specify both of the followi.ng as part of the sentence:

(a) If the person is presented with an itemized bill pursuant to section 2929.37 of the Revised
Code for payment of the costs of confinement, the person is required to pay the bill in
accordance with that section.

(b) If the person does not dispute the bill described in division (D)(1)(a) of this section and does
not pay the bill by the times specified in section 2929.37 of the Revised Code, the clerk of the
court may issue a certificate of judgment against the person as described in that section.

(2) 'I'he sentence automatically includes any cer-tificate of judgment issued as described in
division (D)(1)(b) of this section.

(E) If an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a violation of division (B) of section
4511.19 of the Revised Code also is convicted of or also pleads guilty to a specification of the
type described in section 2941.1416 of the Revised Code and if the court imposes a jail term on
the offender for the underlying offense, the court shall impose upon the offender an additional
definite jail term of not more than six months. The additional jail term shall not be reduced
pursuant to any provision of the Revised Code. The offender shall serve the additional jail term
consecutively to and prior to the jail term imposed for the underlying offense and consecutively
to any other mandatory term imposed in relation to the offense.

(F)

(1) If an offender is convicted of or pleads guilty to a misdemeanor violation of section 2907.23,
2907.24, 2907.24I, or 2907.25 of the Revised Code and to a specification of the type described
in section 2941.1421 of the Revised Code and if the court imposes ajail term on the offender for
the misdemeanor violation, the court may impose upon the offender an additional definite jail
term as follows:

(a) Subject to division (F)(l)(b) of this section, an additional definite jail ternl of not more than
sixty days;

(b) If the offender previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to one or more
misdemeanor or felony violations of section 2907.22, 2907.23, 2907.24, 2907.241, or 2907.25 of
the Revised Code and also was convicted of or pleaded guilty to a specification of the type
described in section 2941.1421 of the Revised Code regarding one or more of those violations,
an additional definite jail term of not more than one hundred twenty days.
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(2) In lieu of imposing an additional definite jail term. under division (F)(1) of this section, the
court may directly impose on the offender a sanction that requires the offender to wear a real-
time processing, continual tracking electronic monitoring device during the period of time
specified by the court. The period of time specified by the court shall equal the duration of an
additional jail term that the court could have imposed upon the offender under division (F)(1) of
this section. A sanction irnposed under this division shall commence on the date specified by the
court, provided that the sanction shall not commence until after the offender has served the jail
term imposed for the misdemeanor violation of section 2907.23, 2907.24, 2907.241, or 2907.25
of the Revised Code and any residential sanction imposed for the violation under section 2929.26
of the Revised Code. A sanction imposed under this division shall be considered to be a
community control sanction for purposes of section 2929.25 of the Revised Code, and all
provisions of the Revised Code that pertain to community control sanctions shall apply to a
sanetion imposed under this division, except to the extent that they would by their nature be
clearly inapplicable. The offender shall pay all costs associated with a sanction imposed under
this division, including the cost of the use of the monitoring device.

(G) If an offender is convicted of or pleads guilty to a misdemeanor violation of section 290^a.13
of the Revised Code and also is convicted of or pleads guilty to a specification of the type
described in section 2941.1423 of the Revised Code that charges that the victim of the violation
was a woman whom the offender k.new was pregnant at the time of the violation, the eourt shall
impose on the offender a mandatory jail term that is a definite term of at least thirty days.

(H) If a court sentences an offender to a jail term under this section, the sentencing court retains
jurisdiction over the offender and the jail term. Upon motion of either party or upon the court's
own motion, the court, in the court's sole discretion and as the circumstances warrant, may
substitute one or more community control sanctions imder section 2929.26 or 2929.27 of the
Revised Code for any jail days that are not niaiidatory jail days.

Amended by 129th General Assembly File No.25.HB 5, § l, eff. 9/2 3/2011.

Amended by 128th General Assembly File No.52,HB 338, § 1, eff. 9117/2010.

Effective Date: 01-01-2004; 09-23-2004; 2008 SB220 09-30-2008; 2008 HB280 04-07-2009
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2945.67 Appeal by state by leave of court.

(A) A prosecuting attorney, village solicitor, city director of law, or the attorney general may
appeal as a matter of right any decision of a trial court in a criminal case, or any decision of a
juvenile court in a delinquency case, which decision grants a motion to dismiss all or any part of
an indictment, complaint, or information, a motion to suppress evidence, or a motion for the
return of seized property or grants post conviction relief pursuant to sections 295' ).21 to 295 3.24
of the Revised Code, and may appeal by leave of the court to which the appeal is taken arzy other
decision, except the final verdict, of the trial court in a criminal case or of the juvenile cottrt in a
delinquency case. In addition to any other right to appeal under this section or any other
provision of law, a prosecuting attorney, city director of law, village solicitor, or similar chief
legal officer of a municipal corporation, or the attorney general may appeal, in accordance with
section 2953.08 of the Revised Code, a sentence imposed upon a person who is convicted of or
pleads guilty to a felony.

(B) In any proceeding brought pursuant to division (A) of this section, the court, in accordance
with Chapter 120. of the Revised Code, shall appoint the county public defender, joint county
public defender, or other counsel to represent any person who is indigent, is not represented by
counsel, and does not waive the person's right to counsel.

Effective Date: 07-01-1996
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OHIO RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE

RULE 2. Defnitions

As used in these rules:
(A) "Felony" means an offen.sedefined by law as a felony.
(B) "Misdemeanor" means an offense defined by law as a misdemeanor.
(C) "Serious offense" means any felony, and any misdemeanor for which the penalty prescribed
by law includes confinement for more than six months.
(D) "Petty offense" means a misdemeanor other than a serious offense.
(E) "Judge" means judge of the cotu-t of common pleas, juvenile court, municipal court, or
county court, or the mayor or mayor's court magistrate of a municipal corporation having a
mayor's court.
(F) "Magistrate" meazis any person appointed by a court pursuant to Crim. R. 19. "Magistrate"
does not include an official included within the definition of magistrate contained in section
2931.01 of the Revised Code, or a mayor's court magistrate appointed pursuant to section
1905.05 of the Revised Code.
(G) "Prosecuting attorney" means the attorney general of this state, the prosecuting attorney of a
county, the law director, city solicitor, or other officer who prosecutes a criminal case on behalf
of the state or a city, village, township, or other political subdivision, and the assistant or
assistants of any of them. As used in Crim. R. 6, "prosecuting attorney" means the atto.rney
general of this state, the prosecuting attorney of a cottnty, and the assistant or assistants of either
of them.
(1-1) "State" means this state, a county, city, village, township, other political subdivision, or any
other entity of this state that may prosecute a criminal action.
(I) "Clerk of court" means the duly elected or appointed clerk of any court of record, or the
deputy clerk, and the mayor or mayor's court magistrate of a municipal corporation having a
mayor's court.
(J) "Law enforcement officer" means a sheriff, deputy sheriff, constable, municipal police
officer, marshal, deputy marshal, or state highway patrollnan, and also means any officer, agent,
or employee of the state or any of its agencies, instrumentalities, or political subdivisions, upon
wl-zom, by statute, the authority to arrest violators is conferred, when the officer, agent, or
employee is acting within the limits of statutory authority. The definition of "law enforcement
officer" contained in this rule shall not be construed to limit, modify, or expand any statutory
definition, to the extent the statutory definition applies to matters not covered by the Rules of
Criminal Procedure.

[Effective: July 1, 1973; amended effective July 1, 1976; July 1, 1990.]
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