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INTRODUCTION

Ohio’s public policy recognizes that sometimes people make mistakes but that
they can earn second chances. See State v. Boddie, 170 Ohio App.3d 590, 2007-Ohio-626,
868 N.E2d 699, q 8 (referring to Ohio’s expungement statutes). Sometimes those
mistakes may result in a criminal conviction. And even minor criminal convictions
have substantial collateral consequences, which may profoundly limit job, educational,
and housing opportunities. See Ohio Justice & Policy Center, Civil Impacts of Criminal
Convictions Linder Ohio Law, http://civiccohio.org/ (accessed on Dec. 19, 2013); Lisa
Riordan Seville and Hanna Rapleye, NBC News, Sentenced to debt: Some tossed in prison
over urpaid fines, available at http://inplainsight.nbcnews.com
/’ﬂnews/2013/05/27/18380470~sentenced-to—debt-some-tossed—in—prison—over - unpaid -
tines?lite (accessed Dec. 19, 2013).

The legislature created a statutory method for courts to grant a person. relief from
a conviction, so long as the offender can demonstrate that an offense was an isolated
incident and that he or she has been rehabilitated. Accordingly, when the legislature
enacted R.C. 2953.31 et seq., those statutes were designed to give trial courts discretion
to give second chances to people so long as sealing an offender’s conviction is consistent
with the public’s interest. R.C. 2953.32(C). This case is about an indigent woman who

has earned a second chance.



In 2001, Appellee Sharlene Aguirre was arrested for making a serious
mistake: she stole approximately $34,000. This occurred during a time of enormous
stress in Ms. Aguirre’s life: her son had just been diagnosed with HIV. State v. Aguirre,
Case No. 12EP01-26, Apr. 5, 2012 Transcript of Expungement Hearing Proceedings, 2
(Franklin C.P.). To cope, she started gambling, and to feed that behavior, she stole. Id.
When she was caught, she took responsibility for her actions. fFirs’c; by pleading guilty
to theft and then by agreeing to repay the victim and the victim’s third-party insurance
companies for the economic impact of her actions. She was placed on community
control for five years, and as part of her supervision, she was directed to pay $34,000 in
restitution. State v. Aguirre, Case No. 2001CR-12-7203, July 9, 2002 Judgment Entry 1
(Franklin C.P.). Ms. Aguirre continued paying the restitution award, and over the
course of roughly ten years, she has managed to pay down approximately
$16,000. Apr.5, 2012 Tr. 5.

In 2007, she was discharged from community control, and in 2012, she applied to
have her record sealed. There is no indication that Ms. Aguirre asked to be relieved of
her responsibility to continue paying restitution to the third-party insurance companies.
The triai court granted her motion. Case No. 12EP01-26, Apr. 12, 2012 Entry Sealing
Record of Conviction Pursuant to R.C. 2953.32. But the State continues to challenge the
trial court’s decision. It claims that so long as Ms. Aguirre has an outstanding

restitution balance, she has not been “finally discharged” from her conviction and is not



leligible to have her record sealed under R.C. 2953.32(A)(1). The State’s argument
should be rejected.

The State advocates for a position that defeats the remedial purpose of the
expungement statutes by asking for a statutory interpretation that would treat indigent
and affluent offenders differently from one another. Because the State’s position
appears to be contrary to the fundamental purpose of the expungement statutes, this
Court should rule that a trial court may seal an offender’s criminal conviction, even if

the restitution amount is not fully paid.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS

On May 22, 2002, Ms. Aéuirre pleaded guilty to theft, a fourth-degree felony and
a violation of R.C. 2913.02. State v. Aguirre, 2001CR-12-7203, July 9, 2002 Judgment
Entry 1 (Franklin C.P.). At sentencing, the parties recommended five years of
community control with the “[e]xpress condition * * * that defendant pay $2,000.00 in
restitution to Economy Enterprises Inc. Further restitution owed to Westfield Insurance
Company and Harleysville Insurance to be determined by probation.” Id. At her July
2012 sentencing hearing, the court imposed five years of community control and “the
following Community Control Sanctions * * * The Defendant shall pay the balance of
the $32,562.47 restitution amount to probation and $2,000.00 to Economy Enterprises as
soon as possible.” Id. at 2. The Judgment Entry also stated that “{t]he total fine and

financial sanction judgment is Court costs.” Id.
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On June 19, 2007, the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas terminated Ms.
Aguirre’s community control. Case No. 2001 CR-12-7203, June 19, 2007 Entry. It noted
that Ms. Aguirre “has complied with the terms of her probation, except that the
restitution are not paid.” Id. There is no indication that the State objected.

On January 12, 2012 - four and a half years after her community control was
terminated — Ms. Aguirre filed a pro se application to seal her conviction. Case No.
12EP-26, Jan. 12, 2012 App. for Order Sealing Record of Conviction or Bail Forfeiture.
At that time, Ms. Aguirre had paid all but $14,152 of the restitution award. Apr. 5, 2012
Tr. 5. The State objected, arguing that Ms. Aguirre had not been “finally discharged”
from her conviction because she had “failed to pay the court-ordered restitution.” Feb.
17, 2012 State’s Objections to Applicant’s Request for Expungement Due to Applicant’s
Failure to Pay Restitution, 1. On April 5, 2013, a hearing was held. After finding that
there were no criminal proceedings pending against Ms. Aguirre, that she had paid
more than $16,000 in restitution, and that it was consistent with the public interest to do
so, the trial court sealed Ms. Aguirre’s conviction. Id. at 6; Apr. 12, 2012 Entry Sealing
Record of Conviction Pursuant to R.C. 2953.32. And that entry directs that all records
pertaining to Ms. Aguirre’s conviction be sealed “except as provided in R.C. 2953.32(F),!
all index references be deleted. This order does not exempt from use records and work

product in this case in any civil litigation arising out of, or related to, the facts in this

! Revised Code 2953.32(F) allows a governmental agency, office, or department to maintain an
index of convictions that have been sealed.



case, and such records and work product will be available for inspection and use for
such purposes if necessary.” Id.

In May 2011, the State appealed, arguing that Ms. Aguirre was not eligible to
have her record sealed under R.C. 2953.32(A) because the restitution had not been fully
paid to the third-party insurance compar\ies. On March 7, 2013, the Tenth District
Court of Appeals overruled the State’s assignment of error, reasoning that the
expungement statutes should be liberally construed to effect their remedial purpose
and that if Ms. Aguirre’s conviction was unsealed it would act as a continuing
punishment, which has no benefit to the insurance companies or Ms. Aguirre. State v.
Aguirre, 10th Dist. No. 12AP-415, 2013-Ohio-768, | 17. Moreover, even if Ms. Aguirre’s
conviction was sealed, the third-party insurance companies had civil collection
remedies available to them; and thus, they were not without an avenue to obtain relief.
Id. at ] 16.

On March 8, 2013, the State filed a motion for en banc consideration and motion
to certity a conflict. The motion for en banc consideration was denied, but the Tenth
District Court of Appeals certified the following question to this Court:

Whether an offender’s record of conviction may be sealed when the

offender still owes court-ordered restitution to a third-party insurance

company.

May 7, 2013 Journal Entry. It was assigned Case Number 2013-0870.



On May 31, 2013, the State filed a discretionary appeal, which was assigned Case
Number 2013-0876. It included the following Proposition of Law:

A defendant/applicant who still owes restitution has not been finally

discharged and is not eligible to seal her conviction, under R.C.

2953.32(A)(1).

On September 4, 2013, this Court consolidated both cases, determined that a
conflict existed and accepted jurisdiction to resolve the certified question and accepted
jurisdiction over the State’s Proposition of Law. As explained below, the State’s
interpretation of R.C. 2953.32(A)(1) conflicts with the legislature’s intent. Ms. Aguirre
asks that this Court rule that a trial court has discretion to seal an offender’s conviction

even if restitution has not been fully paid.

ARGUMENT

First Proposition of Law:

Under 2953.32(A)(1), a felony offender with a qualifying offense
becomes eligible to have his or her record sealed three years after the
offender has been finally discharged from supervision and/or
incarceration.

A. In the criminal context, discharged means released from jail, prison, or
supervision.

1. A person is discharged when he or she is finally released from
supervision and there is no threat that the offender may be
returned to jail or prison for that offense.

As used in the criminal statutes, a person is “discharged” when he or she is

released from jail, prison, or supervision. And a person is “finally discharged” when he



or she completes any term of supervision associated with a sentence, and the court no
longer has jurisdiction to extend the offender’s period of supervision or return the
offender to jail or prison. Ms. Aguirre completed her term of community control in
June 2007, and the court no longer had jurisdiction to extend her period of supervision
or impose a prison term for a violation of her supervision. Thus, Ms. Aguirre was
finally discharged on June 19, 2007.

Revised Code 2953.32(A) states:

Except as provided in section 2953.61 of the Revised Code, an eligible

otfender may apply to the sentencing court if convicted in this state, or to

a court of common pleas if convicted in another state or in a federal court,

for the sealing of the conviction record. Application may be made at the

expiration of three years after the offender’s final discharge if convicted of a

felony, or at the expiration of one year after the offender’s final discharge

it convicted of a misdemeanor.

(Emphasis added.)

The dispute in this case turns on whether Ms. Aguirre was eligible to have her
record sealed. For a felony conviction to be eligible for expungement, the person must
show that (1) he or she was a first offender; (2) that the offense qualifies for sealing and
is not excluded by R.C. 2953.36 or another applicable exception; and (3) that three years
have passed since the offender’s “final discharge” from the offense. Id.

“Final discharge” is not defined in those sections of the Revised Code addressing

the sealing of criminal records. See R.C. 2953.31 ~ 2953.36. But the State argues that an

offender is not finally discharged until he or she completes any term of incarceration



and/or supervision and has fully paid all restitution. That interpretation expands well
beyond how the legislature has used “discharged” in the criminal context and conflicts
with R.C. 2953.32(A)’s remedial purpose. See State ex rel. Gains v. Ross, 86 Ohio St.3d
620, 622, 716 N.E.2d 204 (1999) (stating that R.C. 2953.32 should be liberally construed to
effectuate its remedial purpose); State v. Boddie, 170 Ohio App.3d 590, 2007-Ohio-626,
868 N.E.2d 699, { 8 (noting that the purpose of R.C. 2953.32 is to grant second chances
to those people who demonstrate that they have been rehabilitated). See generally
Schussheint v. Schussheim, ___ Ohio 5t.3d ___, 2013-Ohio-4529, { 17 (giving a liberal
interpretation to the expungement statutes so that courts could seal the records of a
CPO complaint, even though not statutorily authorized to do so). In criminal statutes,
“discharge” refers to a defendant’s release from jail, prison, or supervision. And
because R.C. 2953.31 et seq. address the sealing of a criminal conviction, “final
discharge” should be construed consistent with its use in the criminal statutes.

In construing statutes, a court’s primary purpose is to discern and give effect to
the legislature’s intent. State v. Anthony, ‘96 Ohio 5t.3d 173, 2002-Ohio-4008, 772 N.E.2d
1167  10. Courts begin by examining the plain language of the statute. Id. And
“[w]here the meaning of the statute is clear and definite, it must be applied as written.”
Id. But, where the words are ambiguous and subject to varying interpretations, further
- interpretation is necessary. Id.; D.A.B.E., Inc. v. Toledo-Lucas County Bd. of Health, 96

Ohio 5t.3d 250, 2002-Ohio-4172, 773 N.E.2d 536, T 20 (stating that if the language is



ambiguous, courts should consider laws on the same subject matter to determine the
legislative intent); Stale ex rel. Nw. Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Tomlinson, 90 Ohio St. 233, 124
N.E. 220 (1919), paragraph one of the syllabus (ruling that when a word or phrase is
ambiguous, courts should give that word the meaning that it was given in statutes
referring to the same subject matter).

As used in Ohio’s criminal statutes, “discharge” is a term with a specialized
meaning that refers to a person’s release from jail, prison, or supervision. See D.A.B.E.,
Inc. at 21 (“words that have acquired technical or particular meaning * * * shall be
construed accordingly.”). An offender is discharged when he or she is released from
jail, prison, or a term of supervision. See, e.g., R.C. 2935.31 (stating that if an arrest is
unlawful the magistrate shall order the arrestee to be “discharged”); R.C. 2947.16 (a
person may be “discharged” on his or her own recognizance if convicted of a
misdemeanor); R.C. 2949.08(A) (when a person is convicted and sentenced, the person
shall remain in the jailer’s, administrator’s, or keeper’s custody until “discharged”).
Final means “not to be altered or undone,” “coming at the end,” “being the last in a
series, process, or progress,” or “of or relating to the ultimate purpose or result of a
process.”  Merriam-Webster Online, Final, available at http:///www.merriam-
webster.com/dictionary/final (accessed Dec. 18, 2013). Thus, when read together, a final

discharge occurs when an offender is released from a period of incarceratiori and/or



supervision and may no longer be sent back to jail or prison, and is not subject to any
turther period of supervision.

Ms. Aguirre’s community control was terminated on June 19, 2007, and that is
when she was finally discharged from supervision. June 19, 2007 Entry. Once
discharged, the trial court no longer had authority or jurisdiction to send Ms. Aguirre to
jail or prison for the 2002 conviction, and her period of community control could not be
extended. Consequently, she was eligible to have her record sealed in June 2010.

2. The legislature would not have intended to impose greater
punishment on indigent defendants.

The State argues that an offender may only have his or her record sealed if
restitution has been fully paid. If the State’s position is accepted, this Court would be
perpetuating the cycle of poverty by forcing indigent persons to overcome greater
burdens in having their records sealed than the burdens that fall on more affluent
offenders. This cannot be what the legislature intended when it enacted R.C. 2953.32.

There are significant collateral consequences associated with having a criminal
conviction, which limit an offender’'s access to job, education, and housing
opportunities. See Ohio Justice & Policy Center, Civil Impacts of Criminal Convictions
Under Ohio Law, http://civiccohio.org/ (accessed on Dec. 19, 2013); Lisa Riordan Seville
and Hanna Rapleye, NBC News, Sentenced to debt: Some tossed in prison over unpaid fines,
available at ﬁttp://:inplainsigh-t.nbcnews.com /_news/2013/05/27/18380470-sentenced-to-

debt-some-tossed-in-prison-over ~ wunpaid - fines?lite (accessed Dec. 19, 2013)

10



(discussing an offender’s inability to get a job in her field with a criminal conviction).
Indigent people do not have the same resources as affluent people. Indeed, indigent
persons generally have less education, fewer job opportunities, fewer financial
resources, and greater debt than more affluent persons. See The Stanford Center on
Poverty and Inequality, Imeguality in the United States, available at
http://www stanford.edu/group/scspi/slides.html (accessed Dec. 19, 2013). Thus, an
indigent offender is far less likely to have the ability to pay restitution, and may even be
wholly unable to make restitution payments if, for example, he or she has become
homeless. And unlike the more affluent offender, who may be able to immediately
write a check for a restitution order, the indigent person will have to make restitution
payments, which may take the offender months or even years to pay off.

According to the State, an indigent offender who has consistently made
payments on a restitution order is not eligible to have his or her record sealed until the
restitution has been paid in its entirety. As a result, comparable affluent offenders’
convictions are eligible for expungement before indigent offenders’ convictions. Thus,
the criminal conviction will remain on the indigent offender’s criminal record for a
longer period of time. And during that period, the indigent offender will remain
ineligible for job, scholarship, housing, and educational opportunities, while the more
affluent offender ‘;;vi.ll have successfully erased his or her criminal record. This could

not be what the Ohio legislature intended nor should this be the public policy of Ohio.

i1



Importantly, allowing a court to seal an offender’s record before restitution is
tully paid, but only when the offender establishes a good faith effort to pay the financial
sanctions, acts as an incentive that encourages the offender to make payments and “stay
out of trouble.” An indigent offender who is ordered to repay a substantial sum of
restitution may believe that it is impossible to repay that amount in his or her lifetime
and, under the State’s position, would have a greatly reduced incentive to make
payments or avoid criminal activity, Ruling that trial courts have discretion to seal an
offender’s record when restitution has not been fully paid levels the playing field
between the rich and the poor. See Schussheim, 2013-Ohio-4529, 4 14 (when deciding
whether to seal a person’s record, a court should examine whether the state has a
compelling interest in retaining the records).

Moreover, if an offender’s record is sealed when restitution has not been fully
paid, the offender is still subject to a civil judgment, which can harm a person’s credit
and limit the offender’s job opportunities. Lisa Riordan Seville and Hanna Rapleye,
NBC News, Sentenced to debt: Some tossed in prison over unpaid fines, supra. Thus, once a
conviction is sealed, there are still incentives for repaying any outstanding financial
sanctions.

Ms. Aguirre was ordered to pay $2,000 in restitution to her victim, Economy
Enterprises, Inc., and an aggregate amount of $32,562.47 to two, third-party insurance

companies. July 9. 2002 judgment Entry. By the time of her expungement hearing, Ms.

12



Aguirre had repaid all but $14,152, which evidences Ms. Aguirre’s continued, good-
faith effort to pay restitution. See Apr. 5, 2012 Tr. 5. But it has taken Ms. Aguirre
approximately ten years to pay that amount, and it could take her an additional ten
years to pay the remainder. Thus, according to the State, she would not be “eligible” to
have her record sealed until 2025, when she is sixty-eight years old. This result would
be absurd and could not be what the Ohio legislature intended.

B. The State’s appeal should be dismissed as improvidently accepted.

The trial court ordered Ms. Aguirre to pay restitution as a condition of her
supervision. See July 9, 2002 Judgment Entry (stating that “[t}he Court imposes the
following Community Control Sanctions * * * [Ms. Aguirre] shall pay the balance of the
¥ %% restitution amount [and} * * * [tjhe total fine and financial sanction judgment is
Court costs.”); June 19, 2007 Entry (discharging Ms. Aguirre from community control
and stating that she “has complied with the terms of her probation, except that the
restitution [is] not paid.”). Based on the plain language of the trial court’s July 2002 and
June 2007 entries, the payment of restitution was a condition of Ms. Aguirre’s
supervision that expired at the same time that her community control was terminated.
See R.C. 2929.15(A)(1) (stating that “[t]he duration of all community control sanctions
imposed upon an offender under this division shall not exceed five years.”). And
when her supervision was terminated without objection, the State forfeited its argument

that Ms. Aguirre was not “finally discharged.” Because the State’s current appeal arises

13



from an argument that has been forfeited, this Court should dismiss this appeal as
having been improvidently accepted.

Second Proposition of Law:

An offender’s record of conviction may be sealed when the offender has
not fully paid court-ordered restitution to a third-party insurance
company.

Revised Code 2929.18 did not — and does not ~ authorize third-party insurance
companies to recover monies paid to a crime victim pursuant to an insurance contract.
State v. Kreischer, 109 Ohio 5t.3d 391, 2006-Ohio-2706, 848 N.E.2d 496, I 15 (Pfieffer, J.
concurring in part and dissenting in part). This is because the insurance company is not
a crime victim that has suffered an economic loss as contemplated by the statute.

The version of R.C. 2929.18(A)(1) in effect at the time of Ms. Aguirre’s conviction
provided:

the court imposing a sentence upon an offender for a felony may sentence
the offender to any financial sanction or combination of financial sanctions
authorized under this section * * * . Financial sanctions that may be
imposed pursuant to this section include, but are not limited to, the
following;:

(1) Restitution by the offender to the victim of the offender's crime or any
survivor of the victim, in an amount based on the victim's economic loss.
The court shall order that the restitution be made to the adult probation
department that serves the county on behalf of the victim, to the clerk of
courts, or to another agency designated by the court, except that it may
include a requirement that reimbursement be made to third parties for
amounts paid to or on behalf of the victim * * * for economic loss resulting
from the offense. * * * At sentencing, the court shall determine the amount
of restitution to be made by the offender. All restitution payments shall be

14



credited against any recovery of economic loss in a civil action brought by
the victim or any survivor of the victim against the offender.

Former 2929.18(A)(1).

In 2006, this Court construed that statute and ruled that a defendant may be
ordered to pay restitution to a third-party insurer for medical costs it paid for a crime
victim’s care under former 2929.18(A)(1). But Justice Pfeiffer recognized:

[flormer R.C. 2929.18(A) * * * provided for restitution, including restitution
to third parties, “based on the victim’s economic loss.” R.C. 2929.01(M)
defines economic loss as “any economic detriment suffered by a victim as
a direct and proximate result of the commission of an offense,” including
medical costs. The majority opinion conflates money that an insurance
company paid pursuant to a contract of insurance on behalf of an insured
with “economic detriment suffered by a victim.” Whatever amount the
insurance company paid is unambiguously and by definition not a
“detriment suffered by a victim.” It is more in the nature of detriment
suffered by the insurance company. Apparently, a majority of this court
believes that the insurance company was the victim of felonious assault.
Fortunately, the General Assembly, perhaps foreseeing such a decision by
this court, has already amended R.C. 2929.18(A) to make it clear that
restitution is not intended to be a windfall for insurance companies. See
2003 Sub.H.B. No. 52.

Kreischer at I 15 (Ptieffer, J. concurring in part and dissenting in part). Indeed, R.C.
2929.18(A) was amended in 2004 and now clearly provides that a third-party insurance
company may not recover for monies it paid pursuant to a contract of insurance.
Kreischer at I 1, citing 2003 Sub.H.B. No. 52. See State v. Wickline, 3d Dist. No. 8-10-20,
2011-Ohio-3004, q 10, 11 (stating that restitution payments to an insurance company

violate the revised statute).

15



An insurance company is in the business of insuring victims against crime; they
are not the victim of a crime when they must pay out for an insured’s loss. Moreover,
insurance companies knowingly take the risk that one of its insureds may be a crime
victim. These third-party insurance companies are not entitled to a windfall for
participating in its regular business activities, which would occur if the insurance
companies are permitted to collect premiums from the victim as well as restitution from
the offender. See Kreischer at § 15.

In this case, the trial court sealed Ms. Aguirre’s record and stated:

[t]he reason I'm not relying on the insurance company is because that's

why the insurance company is there in the event that you do something

wrong, they’re supposed to step in and do what they’re supposed to do.

Their recourse is to go against you and to try and obtain a judgment or

what have you to recover, but that’s what they're there for.

And I'm not excusing your conduct by doing this, this is a principle

matter here that saying that the insurance — I shouldn’t be ordering

restitution to the insurance company, that’s the only thing I'm saying.
Apr. 5, 2012 Tr. 6. In other words, the third-party insurance companies did not suffer
the type of “economic loss” required for a restitution award. Consequently, the trial
court did not have the authority to order Ms. Aguirre to pay restitution to two, third-
party insurance companies. See Agee v. Russell, 92 Ohio St.3d 540, 751 N.E.2d 1043
(2001) (recognizing that this Court may revisit a prior interpretation of a statute to

clarify the statute’s meaning and overrule a prior decision that misinterpreted that

statute).
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Because the trial court did not have statutory authority to order restitution to a
third-party insurance company, unusual and extraordinary circumstances exist for
sealing Ms. Aguirre’s conviction. This Court recently held that courts have the inherent
authority to expunge and seal records when the case involves unusual and exceptional
circumstances, and the interest in the party seeking expungement outweighs the
government’s interest in maintaining the records. Schussheim, 2013-Ohio-4529. Ms.
Aguirre was finally discharged from the valid portion of her sentence on June 19, 2007.
Because the trial court was not authorized to order restitution to the third-party
insurance companies, the restitution payments are not valid. Ms. Aguirre was finally
discharged from the valid portion of the court’s 2002 judgment on June 19, 2007.
Consequently, she was eligible to have her record sealed in June 2010. Unusual and
extraordinary circumstances exist for sealing Ms. Aguirre’s recotd.

Finally, to the extent that any economic losses suffered by a third-party insurance
company can be attributed to an offender, nothing prevents a third-party insurance
company from seeking a civil judgment against an offender. In fact, the entry that seals
Ms. Aguirre’s conviction provides: “[t]his order does not exempt from use records and
work product in this case in any civil litigation arising out of, or related to, the facts in
this case, and such records and work product will be available for inspection and use

for such purposes if necessary.” Apr. 12, 2012 Entry Sealing Record of Conviction

17



Pursuant to R.C. 2953.32. Thus, sealing Ms. Aguirre’s record may not relieve her from

her obligation to repay the third-party insurance companies.

CONCLUSION

Ms. Aguirre asks that this Court rule that a trial court has discretion to seal an
offender’s criminal conviction, even if the restitution amount is not fully paid.
Alternatively, Ms. Aguirre asks that this Court dismiss the State’s appeal as
improvidently accepted because the State did not object to Ms. Aguirre’s final discharge
from community control, and, thus, forfeited its argument that Ms. Aguirre was not

eligible to have her record sealed.

Respecttully submitted,
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TITLE XXIX [29] CRIMES -- PROCEDURE
CHAPTER 2929: PENALTIES AND SENTENCING
[PENALTIES FOR FELONY]

ORC 4nn. 2929.18 (Anderson 2001)
§ 2929.18 Financial sanctions; restitution.

(A) Except as otherwise provided in this division and in addition to imposing court
costs pursuant to section 2947.23 of the Revised Code, the court imposing a sentence
upon an offender for a felony may sentence the offender to any financial sanction or
combination of financial sanctions authorized under this section or, in the circum-
stances specified in section 2929.25 of the Revised Code, may impose upon the of-
fender a fine in accordance with that section. If the offender is sentenced to a sanction
of confinement pursuant to section 2929.14 or 2929.16 of the Revised Code that is to
be served in a facility operated by a board of county commissioners, a legislative au-
thority of a municipal corporation, or another governmental entity, the court imposing
sentence upon an offender for a felony shall comply with division (A)(4)(b) of this
section in determining whether to sentence the offender to a financial sanction de-
scribed in division (A)(4)(a) of this section. Financial sanctions that may be imposed
pursuant to this section include, but are not limited to, the following:

(1) Restitution by the offender to the victim of the offender's crime or any survivor
of the victim, in an amount based on the victim's economic loss. The court shall order
that the restitution be made to the adult probation department that serves the county
on behalf of the victim, to the clerk of courts, or to another agency designated by the
court, except that it may include a requirement that reimbursement be made to third
parties for amounts paid to or on behalf of the victim or any survivor of the victim for
economic loss resulting from the offense. If reimbursement to third parties is re-
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quired, the reimbursement shall be made to any governmental agency to repay any
amounts paid by the agency to or on behalf of the victim or any survivor of the victim
for economic loss resulting from the offense before any reimbursement is made to
any person other than a governmental agency. If no governmental agency incurred
expenses for economic loss of the victim or any survivor of the victim resulting from
the offense, the reimbursement shall be made to any person other than a governmen-
tal agency to repay amounts paid by that person to or on behalf of the victim or any
survivor of the victim for economic loss of the victim resulting from the offense. The
court shall not require an offender to repay an insurance company for any amounts
the company paid on behalf of the offender pursuant to a policy of insurance. At sen-
tencing, the court shall determine the amount of restitution to be made by the offend-
er. All restitution payments shall be credited against any recovery of economic loss in
a civil action brought by the victim or any survivor of the victim against the offender.

(2) Except as provided in division (B)(1), (3), or (4) of this section, a fine payable
by the offender to the state, to a political subdivision, or as described in division
(B)(2) of this section to one or more law enforcement agencies, with the amount of
the fine based on a standard percentage of the offender's daily income over a period
of time determined by the court and based upon the seriousness of the offense. A fine
ordered under this division shall not exceed the statutory fine amount authorized for
the level of the offense under division {A)(3) of this section.

(3) Except as provided in division (B)(1), (3), or (4) of this section, a fine payable
by the offender to the state, to a political subdivision when appropriate for a felony,
or as described in division (B)(2) of this section to one or more law enforcement
agencies, in the following amount:

(a) For a felony of the first degree, not more than twenty thousand dollars;
(b) For a felony of the second degree, not more than fifteen thousand dollars;
(c) For a felony of the third degree, not more than ten thousand dollars;

(d) For a felony of the fourth degree, not more than five thousand dollars;

(e) For a felony of the fifth degree, not more than two thousand five hundred dol-
lars.

(4)(a) Subject to division (A)(4)(b) of this section, reimbursement by the offender
of any or all of the costs of sanctions incurred by the government, including the fol-
lowing: :

(i) All or part of the costs of implementing any community control sanction;

(ii) All or part of the costs of confinement under a sanction imposed pursuant to
section 2929.14 or 2929.16 of the Revised Code, provided that the amount of reim-
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bursement ordered under this division shall not exceed the total amount of reim-
bursement the offender is able to pay as determined at a hearing and shall not exceed
the actual cost of the confinement;

(b) If the offender is sentenced to a sanction of confinement pursuant to section
2929.14 or 2929.16 of the Revised Code that is to be served in a facility operated by a
board of county commissioners, a legislative authority of a municipal corporation, or
another local governmental entity, one of the following applies:

(1) If, pursuant to section 307.93, 341.14, 341.19, 341.23, 753.02, 753.04, 753.16,
2301.56, or 2947.19 of the Revised Code, the board, legislative authority, or other
local governmental entity requires prisoners convicted of an offense other than a mi-
nor misdemeanor to reimburse the county, municipal corporation, or other entity for
its expenses incurred by reason of the prisoner's confinement, the court shall impose a
financial sanction under division (A)(4)(a) of this section that requires the offender to
reimburse the county, municipal corporation, or other local governmenta] entity for
the cost of the confinement. In addition, the court may impose any other financial
sanction under this section.

(ii) If, pursuant to any section identified in division (A)(4)(b)(i) of this section, the
board, legislative authority, or other local governmental entity has adopted a resolu-
tion or ordinance specifying that prisoners convicted of felonies are not required to
reimburse the county, municipal corporation, or other local governmental entity for
its expenses incurred by reason of the prisoner's confinement, the court shall not im-
pose a financial sanction under division (A)(4)(a) of this section that requires the of-
fender to reimburse the county, municipal corporation, or other local governmental
entity for the cost of the confinement, but the court may impose any other financial
sanction under this section.

(iii) If neither division (A)(4)(b)(Q) nor (A)(4)(b)(ii) of this section applies, the
court may impose, but is not required to impose, any financial sanction under this
section.

(c) Reimbursement by the offender for costs pursuant to section 2929.28 of the
Revised Code.

(B)(1) For a first, second, or third degree felony violation of any provision of
Chapter 2925., 3719., or 4729. of the Revised Code, the sentencing court shall im-
pose upon the offender a mandatory fine of at least one-half of, but not more than, the
maximum statutory fine amount authorized for the level of the offense pursuant to di-
vision (A)(3) of this section. If an offender alleges in an affidavit filed with the court
prior to sentencing that the offender is indigent and unable to pay the mandatory fine
and if the court determines the offender is an indigent person and is unable to pay the
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mandatory fine described in this division, the court shall not impose the mandatory
fine upon the offender.

(2) Any mandatory fine imposed upon an offender under division (B)(1) of this
section and any fine imposed upon an offender under division {(A)(2) or (3) of this
section for any fourth or fifth degree felony violation of any provision of Chapter
2925.,3719., or 4729. of the Revised Code shall be paid to law enforcement agencies
pursuant to division (F) of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code.

(3) For a fourth degree felony OMVI offense and for a third degree felony OMVI
offense, the sentencing court shall impose upon the offender a mandatory fine in the
amount specified in division (A)(4) of section 4511.99 of the Revised Code. The
mandatory fine so imposed shall be disbursed as provided in division (A)(4) of sec-
tion 4511.99 of the Revised Code.

(4) Notwithstanding any fine otherwise authorized or required to be imposed un-
der division (A)(2) or (3) or (B)(1) of this section or section 2929.31 of the Revised
Code for a violation of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code, in addition to any pen-
alty or sanction imposed for that offense under section 2925.03 or sections 2929.11 to
2929.18 of the Revised Code and in addition to the forfeiture of property in connec-
tion with the offense as prescribed in sections 2925.42 to 2925.45 of the Revised
Code, the court that sentences an offender for a violation of section 2925.03 of the
Revised Code may impose upon the offender a fine in addition to any fine imposed
under division (A)(2) or (3) of this section and in addition to any mandatory fine im-
posed under division (B)(1) of this section. The fine imposed under division (B)(4) of
this section shall be used as provided in division (H) of section 2925.03 of the Re-
vised Code. A fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this section shall not exceed
whichever of the following is applicable:

(a) The total value of any personal or real property in which the offender has an
interest and that was used in the course of, intended for use in the course of, derived
from, or realized through conduct in violation of section 2925.03 of the Revised
Code, including any property that constitutes proceeds derived from that offense;

(b) If the offender has no interest in any property of the type described in division
(B)(4)(a) of this section or if it is not possible to ascertain whether the offender has an
interest in any property of that type in which the offender may have an interest, the
amount of the mandatory fine for the offense imposed under division (B)(1) of this
section or, 1f no mandatory fine is imposed under division (B)(1) of this section, the
amount of the fine authorized for the level of the offense imposed under division
(A)(3) of this section.
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(5) Prior to imposing a fine under division (B)(4) of this section, the court shall
determine whether the offender has an interest in any property of the type described
in division (B)(4)(a) of this section. Except as provided in division (B)(6) or (7) of
this section, a fine that is authorized and imposed under division (B)(4) of this section
does not limit or affect the imposition of the penalties and sanctions for a violation of
section 2925.03 of the Revised Code prescribed under those sections or sections
2929.11 to 2929.18 of the Revised Code and does not limit or affect a forfeiture of
property in connection with the offense as prescribed in sections 2925.42 to 2925.45
of the Revised Code.

(6) If the sum total of a mandatory fine amount imposed for a first, second, or
third degree felony violation of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code under division
(B)(1) of this section plus the amount of any fine imposed under division (B)(4) of
this section does not exceed the maximum statutory fine amount authorized for the

‘level of the offense under division (A)(3) of this section or section 2929.31 of the
Revised Code, the court may impose a fine for the offense in addition to the manda-
tory fine and the fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this section. The sum total of
the amounts of the mandatory fine, the fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this sec-
tion, and the additional fine imposed under division (B)(6) of this section shall not

- exceed the maximum statutory fine amount authorized for the level of the offense

under division (A)(3) of this section or section 2929.31 of the Revised Code. The
clerk of the court shall pay any fine that is imposed under division (B)(6) of this sec-
tion to the county, township, municipal corporation, park district as created pursuant
to section 511.18 or 1545.04 of the Revised Code, or state law enforcement agencies
in this state that primarily were responsible for or involved in making the arrest of,
and in prosecuting, the offender pursuant to division (F) of section 2925.03 of the

Revised Code. ‘

(7) If the sum total of the amount of a mandatory fine imposed for a first, second,
or third degree felony violation of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code plus the
amount of any fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this section exceeds the maxi-
mum statutory fine amount authorized for the level of the offense under division
(A)(3) of this section or section 2929.31 of the Revised Code, the court shall not im-
pose a fine under division (B)(6) of this section.

(C)(1) The offender shall pay reimbursements imposed upon the offender pursuant
to division (A)(4)(a) of this section to pay the costs incurred by the department of re-
habilitation and correction in operating a prison or other facility used to confine of-
fenders pursuant to sanctions imposed under section 2929.14 or 2929.16 of the Re-
vised Code to the treasurer of state. The treasurer of state shall deposit the reim-
bursements in the confinement cost reimbursement fund that is hereby created in the
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state treasury. The department of rehabilitation and correction shall use the amounts
deposited in the fund to fund the operation of facilities used to confine offenders
pursuant to sections 2929.14 and 2929.16 of the Revised Code.

(2) Except as provided in section 2951.021 [2951.02.1] of the Revised Code, the
offender shall pay reimbursements imposed upon the offender pursuant to division
(A)(4)(a) of this section to pay the costs incurred by a county pursuant to any sanc-
tion imposed under this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code or
in operating a facility used to confine offenders pursuant to a sanction imposed under
section 2929.16 of the Revised Code to the county treasurer. The county treasurer
shall deposit the reimbursements in the sanction cost reimbursement fund that each
board of county commissioners shall create in its county treasury. The county shall
use the amounts deposited in the fund to pay the costs incurred by the county pursu-
ant to any sanction imposed under this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the
Revised Code or in operating a facility used to confine offenders pursuant to a sanc-
tion imposed under section 2929.16 of the Revised Code.

(3) Except as provided in section 2951.021 [2951.02.1] of the Revised Code, the
offender shall pay reimbursements imposed upon the offender pursuant to division
(A)(4)(a) of this section to pay the costs incurred by a municipal corporation pursuant
to any sanction imposed under this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Re-
vised Code or in operating a facility used to confine offenders pursuant to a sanction
imposed under section 2929.16 of the Revised Code to the treasurer of the municipal
corporation. The treasurer shall deposit the reimbursements in a special fund that |
shall be established in the treasury of each municipal corporation. The municipal
corporation shall use the amounts deposited in the fund to pay the costs incurred by
the municipal corporation pursuant to any sanction imposed under this section or sec-
tion 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code or in operating a facility used to confine
offenders pursuant to a sanction imposed under section 2929.16 of the Revised Code.

(4) Except as provided in section 2951.021 [2951.02.1] of the Revised Code, the
offender shall pay reimbursements imposed pursuant to division (A)(4)(a) of this sec-
tion for the costs incurred by a private provider pursuant to a sanction imposed under
this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code to the provider.

(D) A financial sanction imposed pursuant to division (A) or (B) of this section is
a judgment in favor of the state or a political subdivision in which the court that im-
posed the financial sanction is located, except that a financial sanction of reimburse-
ment imposed pursuant to division (A)(4)(a)(ii) of this section upon an offender who
is incarcerated in a state facility or a municipal jail is a judgment in favor of the state
or the municipal corporation, a financial sanction of reimbursement imposed upon an
offender pursuant to this section for costs incurred by a private provider of sanctions
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is a judgment in favor of the private provider, and a financial sanction of restitution
imposed pursuant to this section is a judgment in favor of the victim of the offender's
criminal act. The offender subject to the sanction is the judgment debtor. Imposition
of a financial sanction and execution on the judgment does not preclude any other
power of the court to impose or enforce sanctions on the offender. Once the financial
sanction is imposed as a judgment, the victim, private provider, state, or political
subdivision may bring an action to do any of the following:

(1) Obtain execution of the judgment through any available procedure, including:

(a) An execution against the property of the judgment debtor under Chapter 2329.
of the Revised Code;

(b) An execution against the person of the judgment debtor under Chapter 2331. of
the Revised Code;

(c) A proceeding in aid of execution under Chapter 2333. of the Revised Code, in-
cluding:

(1) A proceeding for the examination of the judgment debtor under sections
2333.09 to 2333.12 and sections 2333.15 to 2333.27 of the Revised Code;

(i1) A proceeding for attachment of the person of the judgment debtor under sec-
tion 2333.28 of the Revised Code;

(1ii) A creditor's suit under section 2333.01 of the Revised Code.

(d) The attachment of the property of the judgment debtor under Chapter 2715. of
the Revised Code;

(¢) The garnishment of the property of the judgment debtor under Chapter 2716.
of the Revised Code. |

(2) Obtain an order for the assignment of wages of the judgment debtor under sec-
tion 1321.33 of the Revised Code.

(E) A court that imposes a financial sanction upon an offender may hold a hearing
if necessary to determine whether the offender is able to pay the sanction or is likely
in the future to be able to pay it.

(F) Each court imposing a financial sanction upon an offender under this section
or under section 2929.25 of the Revised Code may designate a court employee to
collect, or may enter into contracts with one or more public agencies or private ven-
dors for the collection of, amounts due under the financial sanction imposed pursuant
to this section or section 2929.25 of the Revised Code. Before entering into a contract
for the collection of amounts due from an offender pursuant to any financial sanction
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imposed pursuant to this section or section 2929.25 of the Revised Code, a court shall
comply with sections 307.86 to 307.92 of the Revised Code.

(G) If a court that imposes a financial sanction under division (A) or (B) of this
section finds that an offender satisfactorily has completed all other sanctions imposed
upon the offender and that all restitution that has been ordered has been paid as or-
dered, the court may suspend any financial sanctions imposed pursuant to this section
or section 2929.25 of the Revised Code that have not been paid.

(H) No financial sanction imposed under this section or section 2929.25 of the
Revised CQde shall preclude a victim from bringing a civil action against the offend-
er.

HISTORY:

146 v S 2 (Eff 7-1-96); 146 v S 269 (Eff 7-1-96); 146 v H 480 (Eff 10-16-96);
146 v S 166 (Eff 10-17-96); 147 v H 122 (Bff 7-29-98); 148 v S 107 (£ 3-23-2000);
148 v S 22 (Eff 5-17-2000); 148 v H 528. Bff 2-13-2001.

The provisions of § 3 of HB 528 (148 v --) read as follows:

SECTION 3. Section 2929.18 of the Revised Code is presented in this actas a
composite of the section as amended by both Am. Sub. 8.B. 22 and Am. Sub. S.B.
107 of the 123rd General Assembly, with the new language of neither of the acts
shown in capital letters. This is in recognition of the principle stated in division (B) of
section 1.52 of the Revised Code that such amendments are to be harmonized where
not substantively irreconcilable and constitutes a legislative finding that such is the
resulting version in effect prior to the effective date of this act.
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§ 2929.15. Comnunity control sanctions

(A) (1) If in sentencing an offender for a felony the court is not required fo impose a prison term, a mandatory prison
term, or a term of life imprisonment upon the offender, the court may directly impose a sentence that consists of one or
more community control sanctions authorized pursuant to section 2929.16, 2929.17, or 2929.18 of the Revised Code. If
the court is sentencing an offender for a fourth degree felony OVI offense under division (G)(1) of section 2929.13 of
the Revised Code, in addition to the mandatory term of local incarceration imposed undey that division and the manda-
tory fine required by division (B)(3) of section 2929.18 of the Revised Code, the court may impose upon the offender a
community contro} sanction or combination of community control sanctions in accordance with sections 2929.16 and
2929.17 of the Revised Code. If the court is sentencing an offender for a third or fourth degree felony OVI offense under
division (G}(2) of section 2929.13 of the Revised Code, in addition to the mandatory prison term or mandatory prison
term and additional prison term imposed under that division, the court also may impose upon the offender a community
control sanction or combination of community control sanctions under section 2929.]6 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code,
but the offender shall serve all of the prison terms so imposed prior to serving the community control sanction.

The duration of all community control sanctions imposed upon an offender under this division shall not exceed
five years. If the offender absconds or otherwise leaves the jurisdiction of the court in which the offender resides with-
out obtaining permission from the court or the offender's probation officer to leave the jurisdiction of the court, or if the
offender is confined in any institution for the commission of any offense while under a community control sanction, the
period of the community control $anction ceases to run until the offender is brought before the court for its further ac-
tion. If the court sentences the offender to one or more nonresidential sanctions under section 2929.17 of the Revised
Code, the court shall impose as a condition of the nonresidential sanctions that, during the period of the sanctions, the
offender must abide by the law and must not leave the state without the permission of the court or the offender's proba-
tion officer. The court may impose any other conditions of release under a community control sanction that the court
considers appropriate, including, but not limited to, requiring that the offender not ingest or be injected with a drug of
abuse and submit to random drug testing as provided in division (D} of this section to determine whether the offender
ingested or was imjected with a drug of abuse and requiring that the results of the drug test indicate that the offender did
not ingest or was not injected with a drug of abuse.

(2) (a) If a court sentences an offender to any community control sanction or combination of community control
sanctions authorized pursuant to section 2929.16, 2929.17, or 2929.18 of the Revised Code, the court shall place the
offender under the general control and supervision of a department of probation in the county that serves the court for
purposes of reporting to the court a violation of any condition of the sanctions, any condition of reiease under a com-
munity control sanction imposed by the court, a violation of law, or the departure of the offender from this state without
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the permission of the court or the offender's probation officer. Alternatively, if the offender resides in another county
and a county department of probation has been established in that county or that county is served by a multicounty pro-
bation department established under section 2301.27 of the Revised Code, the court may request the court of common
pleas of that county to receive the offender into the general control and supervision of that county or multicounty de-
partment of probation for purposes of reporting to the cowrt a violation of any condition of the sanctions, any cendition
of release under a community control sanction imposed by the court, a violation of law, or the departure of the offender
from this state without the permission of the court or the offender's probation officer, subject to the jurisdiction of the
trial judge over and with respect to the person of the offender, and to the miles governing that department of probation.

If there is no department of probation in the county that serves the court, the court shall place the offender,
regardless of the offender's county of residence, under the general control and supervision of the adult parole authority
for purposes of reporting to the court a violation of any of the sanctions, any condition of release under a community
control sanction imposed by the court, a violation of law, or the departure of the offender from this state without the
permission of the court or the offender's probation officer.

(b) If the court imposing sentence upon an offender sentences the offender to any community control sanction
or combination of community control sanctions authorized pursuant to section 2929.16, 292917, or 2929.18 of the Re-
vised Code, and if the offender violates any condition of the sanctions, any condition of release under a community con-
trol sanction imposed by the court, violates any Jaw, or departs the state without the permission of the court or the of-
fender's probation officer, the public or private person or entity that operates or administers the sanction or the program
or activity that comprises the sanction shall report the violation or departure directly to the sentencing court, or shail
report the violation or departure to the county or multicounty department of probation with general control and supervi-
siont over the offender under division (A}2)(a) of this section or the officer of that departrnent who supervises the of-
fender, or, if there is no such department with general control and supervision over the offender under that division, to
the adult parole authority. If the public or private person or entity that operates or administers the sanction or the pro-
gram or activity that comprises the sanction reports the violation or departure to the county or multicounty department
of probation or the adult parole authority, the department's or authority's officers may treat the offender as if the offend-
er were on probation and in violation of the probation, and shall report the violation of the condition of the sanction, any
condition of release under a community control sanction imposed by the court, the violation of law, or the departure
from the state without the required permission to the sentencing court.

(3) If an offender who is eligible for community control sanctions under this section admits to being drug ad-
dicted or the court has reason to believe that the offender is drug addicted, and if the offense for which the offender is
being sentenced was related to the addiction, the court may require that the offender be assessed by a properly creden-
tialed professional within a specified period of time and shall require the professional to file a written assessment of the
offender with the court. If a court imposes treatment and recovery support services as-a community control sanction, the
court shall direct the level and type of treatment and recovery support services after consideration of the written assess-
ment, if available at the time of sentencing, and recommendations of the professional and other treatment and recovery
support services providers.

{4) If an assessment corapleted pursuant to division (A)(3) of this section indicates that the offender is addicted
to drugs or alcohel, the court may include in any community control sanction imposed for a violation of section
2925.02,2925.03, 2925.04, 2925.05, 2925.06,2925.11, 2925.13, 2925.22, 2925.23, 2925.36, or 2925.37 of the Revised
Code a requirement that the offender participate in a treatment and recovery suppert services program certified under
section 5119.36 of the Revised Code or offered by another properly credentialed community addiction services provider.

(B) (1) If the conditions of a community control sanction are violated or if the offender violates a law or leaves the
state without the permission of the court or the offender's probation officer, the sentencing court may impose upon the
violator one or more of the following penalties:

(a) A longer time under the same sanction if the total time under the sanctions does not exceed the five-year
limit specified in division (A) of this section;

{b) A more restrictive sanction under section 2929.16, 2929.17, or 2929.18 of the Revised Code;
{c) A prison term on the offender pursuant to section 2929 .14 of the Revised Code.

(2) The prison term, if any, imposed upon a violator pursuant to this division shall be within the range of prison
terms available for the offense for which the sanction that was violated was imposed and shall not exceed the prison
term specified in the notice provided to the offender at the sentencing hearing pursuant to division (BY2) of section
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2929.19 of the Revised Code. The court may reduce the longer period of time that the offender is required to spend un-
der the Jonger sanction, the more restrictive sanction, or a prison term imposed pursuant to this division by the time the
offender successfully spent under the sanction that was initially imposed.

(C) If an offender, for a significant pericd of time, fulfills the conditions of a sanction imposed pursuant to section
2929.16,2929.17, or 2929.18 of the Revised Code in an exemplary manner, the court may reduce the peried of time
under the sanction or impose a less restrictive sanction, but the court shall not permit the offender to violate any law or
permit the offender to leave the state without the permission of the court or the offender’s probation officer.

(D) (1) If a court under division (AX(1) of this section imposes a condition of release under a community control
sanction that requires the offender to submit to random drug testing, the department of probation orthe adult parole au-
thority that has general control and supervision of the offender under division (AX2)(a) of this section may cause the
offender 1o submit to random drug testing performed by a laboratory or entity that has entered into a contract with any
of the governmental entities or officers authorized to enter into a contract with that laboratory or entity under section
341.26,753.33, or 5120.63 of the Revised Code.

{2) If no laboratory or entity described in division (D)(1) of this section has entered into a contract as specified
in that division, the department of probation or the adult parole authority that has general control and supervision of the
offender under division (A)(2)(a) of this section shall cause the offender to submit to random drug testing performed by
a reputable public laboratory to determine whether the individual who is the subject of the drug test ingested or was
injected with a drug of abuse.

(3) A laboratory or entity that has entered into a contract pursuant to section 341.26, 753.33, or 5120.63 of the
Revised Code shall perform the random drug tests under division (D)(1) of this section in accordance with the applica-
ble standards that are included in the terms of that contract. A public laboratory shall perform the random drug tests
under division (D)(2) of this section in accordance with the standards set forth in the policies and procedures established
by the department of rehabilitation and correction pursuant to section 5120.63 of the Revised Code. An offender who is
required under division (A} 1) of this section to submit te random drug testing as a condition of release under a commu-
nity confrol sanction and whose test results indicate that the offender ingested or was injected with a drug of abuse shall
pay the fec for the drug test if the department of probation or the adult parole authority that has general control and su-
pervision of the offender requires payment of a fee. A laboratory or entity that performs the random drug testing on an
offender under division (D)(1) or (2) of this section shall transmit the results of the drug test to the appropriate depart-
ment of probation or the aduit parole authority that has general control and supervision of the offender under division
{A)(2)(a) of this section.
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§ 2929.18. Financial sanctions; restitution; reimbursements

(A) Except as otherwise provided in this division and in addition to imposing court costs pursuant to section 2947.23
of the Revised Code, the court imposing a sentence upon an offender for a felony may sentence the offender tc any fi-
nancial sanction or combination of financial sanctions authorized under this section or, in the circumstances specified in
section 2829.32 of the Revised Code, may impose upon the offender a fine in accordance with that section. Financial
sanctions that may be imposed pursuant to this section include, but are not limited to, the following;

(1) Restitution by the offender to the victim of the offender’s crime or any survivor of the victim, in an amount
based on the victim's economic loss. If the court imposes restitution, the court shall order that the restitution be made to
the victim in open court, to the adult probation department that serves the county on behalf of the victim, to the clerk of
courts, or to another agency designated by the court. If the court imposes restitution, at sentencing, the court shall de-
termine the amount of restitution to be made by the offender. If the court imposes restitution, the court may base the
- amount of restitution it orders on an amount recommended by the victim, the offender, a presentence investigation re-
port, estinates or receipts indicating the cost of repairing or replacing property, and other information, provided that the
amount the court orders as restitution shall not exceed the amount of the economic loss suffered by the victim as a direct
and proximate result of the commission of the offense. If the court decides to impose restitution, the court shall hold a
hearing on restitution if the offender, victim, or survivor disputes the amount, All restitution payments shall be credited
against any recovery of economic loss in a civil action brought by the victim or any survivor of the victim against the

offender.

If the court imposes restitution, the court may order that the offender pay a surcharge of not more than five per
cent of the amount of the restitution otherwise ordered to the entity responsible for collecting and processing restitution
payments.

The victim or survivor may request that the prosecutor in the case file a motion, or the offender may file a mo-
tion, for modification of the payment terms of any restitution ordered. If the coust grants the motion, it may modify the
payment terms as it determines appropriate.

{2) Except as provided in division (B)(1), (3), or {4) of this section, a fine payable by the offender to the state, to
a political subdivision, or as described in division (B)(2) of this section to one or more law enforcement agencies, with
the amount of the fine based on a standard percentage of the offender's daily income over a period of time determined
by the court and based upon the seriousness of the offense. A fine ordered under this division shall not exceed the
maximum conventional fine amount authorized for the level of the offense under division (A)3) of this section.
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{3) Except as provided in division (B)(1), (3), or {4) of this section, a fine payable by the offender to the state, to
a political subdivision when appropriate for a felony, or as described in division (B)(2) of this section to one or more
Jaw enforcement agencies, in the following amount:

(a) For a felony of the first degree, not more than twenty thousand dollars;

{b) For a felony of the second degree, not more than fifteen thousand dollars;

(c} For a felony of the third degree, not more than ten thousand dollars;

(d) For a felony of the fourth degree, not more than five thousand dollars;

(e) For a felony of the fifth degree, not more than two thousand five hundred dollars.
(4) A state fine or costs as defined in section 2949.111 of the Revised Code.

(5) (a) Reimbursement by the offender of any or all of the costs of sanctions incured by the government, in-
cluding the following:

(i) All or part of the costs of implementing any community control sanction, including a supervision fee
under section 2951.021 of the Revised Code,

(ii} Al or part of the costs of confinement under a sanction imposed pursuant to section 2929.14, _
2929142, or 2029.16 of the Revised Code, provided that the amount of reimbursement ordered under this division shall
not exceed the total amount of reimbursement the offender is able to pay as determined at a hearing and shall not exceed
the actual cost of the confinement;

(iliy All or part of the cost of purchasing and using an immobilizing or disabling device, including a certi-
fied ignition interlock device, or a remote alcohol monitoring device that a court orders an offender to use under section
43510.13 of the Revised Code.

(b) I the offender is sentenced fo a sanction of confinement pursuant to section 2929.14 or 2929.16 of the
Revised Code that is to be served in a facility operated by a board of county commissioners, a legislative authority of a
municipal corporation, or another local governmental entity, if, pursuant to section 307.93, 341.14, 341.19, 341.23,
753.02,753.04,753.16, 2301.56, or 2947.19 of the Revised Code and section 2929.37 of the Revised Code, the board,
legislative authority, or other local governmental entity requires prisoners to reimburse the county, municipal corpora-
tion, or other entity for its expenses incurred by reason of the prisoner's confinement, and if the court does not impose a
financial sanction under division (A)(5)(a)(ii) of this section, confinement costs may be assessed pursuant to section
2929.37 of the Revised Code. In addition, the offender may be required to pay the fees specified in section 2929.38 of
the Revised Code in accordance with that section.

(c) Reimbursement by the offender for costs pursuant to section 2929.71 of the Revised Code.

(B) (1) For a first, second, or third degree felony violation of any provision of Chapter 2925., 3719., or 4729. of the
Revised Code, the sentencing court shall impose upon the offender a mandatory fine of at least one-half of, but not more
than, the maximum statutory fine amount authorized for the level of the offense pursuant to division (A)(3) of this sec-
tion. If an offender alleges in an affidavit filed with the court prior to sentencing that the offender is indigent and unable
to pay the mandatory fine and if the court determines the offender is an indigent person and is unable to pay the manda-
tory fine described in this division, the court shall not impose the mandatory fine upon the offender.

(2) Any mandatory fine imposed upon an offender under division (B)1) of this section and any fine imposed
upon an offender under division (A)(2) or (3) of this section for any fourth or fifth degree felony violation of any provi-
sion of Chapter 2925., 3719., or 4729, of the Revised Code shall be paid to law enforcement agencies pursuant to divi-
sion (F) of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code.

(3) For a fourth degree felony OVI offense and for a third degree felony OVI offense, the sentencing court shall
impose upon the offender a mandatory fine in the amount specified in division (GY(1)(d) or (e) of section 4511.19 of the
Revised Code, whichever is applicable. The mandatory fine so imposed shall be disbursed as provided in the division
pursuant to which it is imposed,

{4) Notwithstanding any fine otherwise authorized or required to be imaposed under division (A)(2) or (3) or
(BX(1) of this section or section 2929.31 of the Revised Code for a violation of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code, in
addition to any penalty or sanction imposed for that offense under section 2925.03 or sections 2929.11 10 2929.18 of the
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Revised Code and in addition to the forfeiture of property in connection with the offense as prescribed in Chapter 2981.
of the Revised Code, the court that sentences an offender for a violation of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code may
impose upon the offender a fine in addition to any fine imposed under division (AX2) or (3) of this section and in addi-
tion to any mandatory fine imposed under division (B)(1) of this section. The fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this
section shall be used as provided in division (H) of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code. A fine imposed under division
(B)(4) of this section shall not exceed whichever of the following is applicable:

{a) The total value of any personal or real property in which the offender has an interest and that was used in
the course of, intended for use in the course of, derived from, or realized through conduct in violation of section
2925.03 of the Revised Code, including any property that constitutes proceeds deérived from that offense;

(b) If the offender has no interest in any property of the type described in division (B)(4)(a) of this section or
if it is not possible to ascertain whether the offender has an interest in any property of that type in which the offender
may have an interest, the amount of the mandatory fine for the offense imposed under division (B)(1) of this section or, .
if no mandatory fine is imposed under division (B)(1) of this section, the amount of the fine authorized for the level of
the offense imposed under division (A)(3) of this section. . ,

(5) Prior to imposing a fine under division (B)Y(4) of this section, the court shall determine whether the offender
has an interest in any property of the type described in division (B)(4)(a) of this section. Except as provided in division
(B)(6} or (7) of this section, a fine that is authorized and imposed under division {B)(4) of this section does not limit or
affect the imposition of the penalties and sanctions for a violation of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code prescribed
under those sections or sections 2929.11 to 2929.18 of the Revised Code and does not Jimit or affect a forfeiture of

~ property in comnection with the offense as prescribed in Chapter 2981. of the Revised Code.

(6) If the sum total of a mandatory fine amount imposed for a first, second, or third degree felony violation of
section 2925.03 of the Revised Code under division (B)(1) of this section plus the amount of any fine imposed under
division (B)(4) of this section does not exceed the maximum statutory fine amount authorized for the level of the of-
fense under division (A)(3) of this section or section 2929.31 of the Revised Code, the court may impose a fine for the
offense in addition fo the mandatory fine and the fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this section. The sum {otal of the
amounts of the mandatory fine, the fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this section, and the additional fine imposed
under division (B)(6) of this section shall not exceed the maximum statutory fine amount authorized for the level of the
offense under division (A)(3) of this section or section 2929.31 of the Revised Code. The clerk of the court shall pay any
fine that is imposed under division (B)(6) of this section to the county, township, municipal corporation, park district as
created pursuant to section 511.18 or 1545.04 of the Revised Code, or state law enforcement agencies in this state that
primarily were respensible for or involved in making the arrest of, and in prosecuting, the offender pursuant to division
(F) of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code.

(7) If the sum total of the amount of a mandatory fine imposed for a first, second, or third degree felony viola-
tion of section 2925.03 of the Revised Code plus the amount of any fine imposed under division (B)(4) of this section
exceeds the maximum statutory fine amount authorized for the level of the offense under division {A)(3) of this section
or section 2929.31 of the Revised Code, the court shall not impose a fine under division (B)(6) of this section.

(8) (a) If an offender who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a violation of section 2905.01, 2905.02, 2907.21,
2907.22, or 2923.32, division (A)(1) or (2) of section 2907.323, or division (B)(1), (2), (3), (4), or (5) of section
2919.22 of the Revised Code also is convicted of or pleads guilty to a specification of the type described in section
2941.1422 of the Revised Code that charges that the offender knowingly committed the offense in furtherance of human
trafficking, the sentencing court shall sentence the offender to a financial sanction of restitution by the offender to the
vietim or any survivor of the victim, with the restitution including the costs of housing, counseling, and medical and
legal assistance incurred by the victim as a direct result of the offense and the greater of the following:

(i) The gross income or value to the offender of the victim's labor or services;

(ii) The value of the victim's labor as guaranteed under the minimum wage and overtime provisions of the
"Federal Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938," 52 Star. 1060, 20 U.S.C. 207, and state labor laws.

(b} If a court imposing sentence upon an offender for a felony is required to impose upon the offender a fi-
nancial sanction of restitution under division (B)(8)(a) of this section, in addition to that financial sanction of restitution,
the court may sentence the offender to any other financial sanction or combination of financial sanctions authorized
under this section, including a restitution sanction under division (A)(1) of this section.
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(9) In addition to any other fine that is or may be imposed under this section, the court imposing sentence upon
an offender for a felony that is a sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented offense, as those terms are defined
in section 2950.0] of the Revised Code, may impose a fine of not less than fifty nor more than five hundred doilars.

{C) (1) The offender shall pay reimbursements imposed upon the offender pursnant to division (A)S)(z) of this
section to pay the costs incurred by the department of rebabilitation and correction in operating a prison or other facility
used to confine offenders pursuant to sanctions imposed under section 2929.14, 2929.142, or 2929.16 of the Revised
Code 1o the treasurer of state. The treasurer of state shall deposit the reimbursements in the confinement cost reim-
bursement fund that is hereby created in the state treasury. The department of rehabilitation and correction shall use the
amounts deposited in the fund to fund the operation of facilities used to confine offenders pursuant to sections 2929.14,
2929.142, and 2929.16 of the Revised Code.

(2) Except as provided in section 2951.021 of the Revised Code, the offender shall pay reimbursements imposed
upon the offender pursuant to division (A)(5)(a) of this section to pay the costs incurred by a county pursuant to any
sanction imposed under this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code or in operating a facility used to
confine offenders pursuant to a sanction imposed under section 2929.16 of the Revised Code to the county treasurer.
The county treasurer shall deposit the reimbursementts in the sanction cost reimbursement fund that each board of coun-
ty commissioners shall create in its county treasury. The county shall use the amounts deposited in the fund to pay the
costs incurred by the county pursuant to any sanction imposed under this section ot section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the
Revised Code or in operating a facility used to confine offenders pursuant to a sanction imposed under section 2929.16
of the Revised Code.

(3) Except as provided in section 295].021 of the Revised Code, the offender shall pay reimbursements imposed
upon the offender pursuant to division (A)(5)(a} of this section to pay the costs incurred by a municipal corporation
pursuant to any sanction imposed under this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code or in operating a
facility used to confine offenders pursuant to a sanction imposed under section 2929.16 of the Revised Code to the
treasurer of the municipal corporation. The treasurer shall deposit the reimbursements in a special fund that shall be
established in the treasury of each municipal corporation. The municipal corporation shall use the amounts deposited in
the fund to pay the costs incurred by the municipal corporation pursuant to any sanction imposed under this section or
section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code or in operating a facility used to confine offenders pursuant to a sanc-
tion imposed under section 2929.16 of the Revised Code.

(4) Except as provided in section 2951.021 of the Revised Code, the offender shall pay reimbursements imposed
pursuant to division (A)(5)(a) of this section for the costs incurred by a private provider pursuant to a sanction imposed
under this section or section 2929.16 or 2929.17 of the Revised Code to the provider.

(D) Except as otherwise provided in this division, a financial sanction imposed pursuant to division (A) or (B) of
this section is a judgment in favor of the state or a political subdivision in which the court that imposed the financial
sanction is located, and the offender subject to the financial sanction is the judgment debtor. A financial sanction of
reimbursement imposed pursuant to division (A)(5)(a)(ii) of this section upon an offender who is incarcerated in a state
facility or a municipal jail is a judgment in favor of the state or the municipal corporation, and the offender subject to
the financial sanction is the judgment debtor. A financial sanction of reimbursement imposed upon an offender pursuant
to this section for costs incurred by a private provider of sanctions is a judgment in favor of the private provider, and the
offender subject to the financial sanction is the judgment debtor. A financial sanction of restitution imposed pursuant to
division (A)(1) or (B)(8) of this section is an order in favor of the victim of the offender's criminal act that can be col-
lected through a certificate of judgment as described in division (D)(1) of this section, through execution as described in
division {D)2) of this section, or through an order as described in division {D)(3) of this section, and the offender shall
be considered for purposes of the collection as the judgment debtor. Imposition of a financial sanction and execution on
the judgment does not preclude any other power of the court to impose or enforce sanctions on the offender. Once the
financial sanction is imposed as a judgment or order under this division, the victim, private provider, state, or political
subdivision may do any of the following:

(1) Obtain from the clerk of the court in which the judgment was entered a certificate of judgment that shall be
in the same manner and form as a certificate of judgment issued in a civil action;

(2) Obtain execution of the judgment or order through any available procedure, including:
(a) An execution against the property of the judgment debtor under Chapter 2329. of the Revised Code;
{b) An execution against the person of the judgment debtor under Chapter 2331. of the Revised Code;
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(c) A proceeding in aid of execution under Chapter 2333. of the Revised Code, including:

(1) A proceeding for the examination of the judgment debtor under sections 2333.09 to 2333.12 and see-
tions 2333.75 10 2333.27 of the Revised Code;

(iiy A proceeding for attachment of the person of the judgment debtor under section 2333.28 of the Revised
Code;

(ii1) A creditor's suit under section 2333.01 of the Revised Code.
(d) The attachment of the property of the judgment debtor under Chapter 27135. of the Revised Code;
(e) The garnishment of the property of the judgment debtor under Chaptér 2716. of the Revised Code,

(3) Obtain an order for the assignment of wages of the judgment debtor under section 1321.33 of the Revised
Code.

(E} A court that imposes a financial sanction upon an offender may hold a hearing if necessary to determine wheth-
er the offender is able to pay the sanction or is likely in the future to be able to pay it.

(F) Each court imposing a financial sanction upon an offender under this section or under section 2929.32 of the
Revised Code may designate the clerk of the court or another person to collect the financial sanction. The clerk or other
person authorized by law or the court to collect the financial sanction may enter into contracts with one or more public
agencies or private vendors for the collection of, amounts due under the financial sanction imposed pursuant to this sec-
tion or section 2929.32 of the Revised Code. Before entering into a contract for the collection of amounts due from an
offender pursuant to any financial sanction imposed pursuant to this section or section 2929.32 of the Revised Code, a
court shall comply with sections 307.86 to 307.92 of the Revised Code. :

(G) If a court that imposes a financial sanction under division (A) or (B) of this section finds that an offender satis-
factorily has comptleted all other sanctions imposed upon the offender and that all restitution that has been ordered has
been paid as ordered, the court may suspend any financial sanctions imposed pursuant to this section or secfion 2929.32
of the Revised Code that have not been paid.

(H) No financial sanction impesed under this section or section 2929.32 of the Revised Code shall preclude a victim
from bringing a civil action against the offender.
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§ 2935.31. Hearing before magistrate in county of arrest
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If an arrest is made in this state by an officer of another state under section 2935.30 of the Revised Code, he shall
without unnecessary delay take the person arrested before a magistrate of the county in which the arrest was made, who
shall conduct a hearing for the purpose of determining the lawfulness of the arrest. If the magistrate determines that the
arrest was lawful he shall commit the person arrested to await for a reasonable time the issuance of an extradition war-
rant by the governor of this state, or admit him to bail for such purposes. If the magistrate determines that the arrest was
unlawful he shall discharge the person arrested.
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§ 2947.16. Recognizance

A person convicted of a misdemeanor may be required by the judge or magistrate to enter into a recognizance, with
sufficient surety, in such sum as the judge or magistrate finds proper, to keep the peace and be of good behavior for
such time, not exceeding two years, as the court directs. The court may order such person to stand committed until such
order is complied with or he is discharged by law, but the court may discharge such person at any time on his own re-

cognizance, or cancel such recognizance.

HISTORY:
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§ 2949.08. Confinement upon conviction; reduction of sentence for prior confinement

(A) When a person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a felony is sentenced to a community residential sanction
in a community-based correctional facility pursuant to secrion 2929.16 of the Revised Code or when a person who is
convicted of or pleads guilty to a felony or a misdemeanor is sentenced to a term of imprisonment in a jail, the judge or
magistrate shall order the person into the custody of the sheriff or constable, and the sheriff or constable shall deliver the
person with the record of the person's conviction to the jailer, administrator, or keeper, in whose custody the person
shall remain until the term of impriscument expires or the person is otherwise legally discharged.

(B) The record of the person's conviction shall specify the total number of days, if any, that the person was con-
fined for any reason arising out of the offense for which the person was convicted and sentenced prior to delivery to the
jailer, administrator, or keeper under this section. The record shall be used to determine any reduction of sentence under

division (C) of this section.

(C) (1} If the person is sentenced to a jail for a felony or a misdemeanor, the jailer in charge of a jail shall reduce
the sentence of a person delivered into the jailer's custody pursuant to division (A) of this section by the total number of
days the person was confined for any reason arising out of the offense for which the person was convicted and sen-
tenced, including confinement in lieu of bail while awaiting trial, confinement for examination to determine the person's
competence to stand trial or to determine sanity, confinement while awaiting transportation to the place where the per-
son is to serve the sentence, and confinement in & juvenile facility.

(2) If the person is sentenced to a community-based correctional facility for a felony, the total amount of time
that a person shall be confined in a community-based correctional facility, in a jail, and for any reason arising out of the
offense for which the person was convicted and sentenced prior to delivery to the jailer, administrator, or keeper shall
not exceed the maximum prison termn available for that offense. Any term in a jail shall be reduced first pursuant to di-
vision {C)(1) of this sectjon by the total number of days the person was confined prior to delivery to the jailer, adminis-
trator, or keeper. Only after the term in a jail has been entirely reduced may the term in a community-based correctional
facility be reduced pursuant to this division. This division does not affect the limitations placed on the duration of a term
in a jail or a community-based correctional facility under divisions (A)(1), (2), and (3) of section 2929.16 of the Revised

Code.

(D) For purposes of divisions (B) and (C) of this section, a person shall be considered to have been confined for a
day if the person was confined for any period or periods of time totaling more than eight hours during that day.

(E) As used in this section, "community-based correctional facility” and "jail™ have the same meanings as in section
2929.01 of the Revised Code.

HISTORY:
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GC § 13454-1; I.}3 v 123(205), ¢h 33; Bureau of Code Revision, 10-1-53; 138 v S 23 (Eff 3-27-80); 148 v S 107.
Eff3-23-2000; 2012 SB 337, § 1, eff. Sept. 28, 2012.
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§ 2953.31. Definitions

As used in sections 2953.3/ t0 2953.36 of the Revised Code:

(A) "Eligible offender" means anyone who has been convicted of an offense in this state or any other jurisdiction
and who has not more than one felony conviction, not more than two misdemeanor convictions if the convictions are
not of the same offense, or not more than one felony conviction and one misdemeanor conviction in this state or any
other jurisdiction. When two or more convictions result from or are connected with the same act or result from offenses
committed at the same time, they shall be counted as one conviction. When two or three convictions result from the
same indictment, information, or complaint, from the same plea of guilty, or from the same official proceeding, and
result from related criminal acts that were committed within a three-month period but do not result from the same act or
from offenses committed at the same time, they shall be counted as one conviction, provided that a court may decide as
provided in division (C)(1)(a) of section 2953.32 of the Revised Code that it is not in the public interest for the two or
three convictions to be counted as one conviction.

For purposes of, and except as otherwise provided in, this division, a conviction for a minor misdemeanor, for a
violation of any section in Chapter 4507., 4510., 4511., 4513, or 4549. of the Revised Code, or for a violation of a mu-
nicipal ordinance that is substantially similar to any section in those chapters is not a conviction. However, a conviction
for a violation of section 4511.19, 45711 251, 4549.02, 4549.021, 4549.03, 4549.042, or 4549.62 or sections 4549.41 1o
4549.46 of the Revised Code, for a violation of section 4510.11 or 4510.14 of the Revised Code that is based upon the
offender’s operation of a vehicle during a suspension imposed under secrion 4511.191 or 4511.196 of the Revised Code,
for a violation of a substantially equivalent municipal ordinance, for a felony violation of Title XLV of the Revised
Code, or for a violation of a substantially equivalent former law of this state or former municipal ordinance shall be
considered a conviction.

(B) "Prosecutor” means the county prosecuting attorney, city director of law, village solicitor, or similar chief
legal officer, who has the authority to prosecute a criminal case in the court in which the case is filed.

(C) "Bail forfeiture” means the forfeiture of bail by a defendant who is arrested for the commission of a misde-
meanor, other than a defendant in a traffic case as defined in Traffic Rule 2, if the forfeiture is pursuant to an agreement
with the court and prosecutor in the case.

(D} "Official records” has the same meaning as in division (D) of section 2953.51 of the Revised Code.
(E) "Official proceeding” has the same meaning as in section 2921.01 of the Revised Code.

(F) "Community control sanction” has the same meaning as in section 2929.01 of the Revised Code.
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(G) "Post-release control” and "post-release control sanction” have the same meanings as in section 2967.07 of
the Revised Code. ‘

(H) "DNA database," "DNA record," and "law enforcement agency" have the same meanings as in section
109.573 of the Revised Code.

(I) "Fingerprints filed for record" means any fingerprints obtained by the superintendent of the bureau of crimi-
nal identification and investigation pursuant to sections 109.57 and 109.571 of the Revised Code.

HISTORY:

135 v S 5 (Eff 1-1-74); 140 v H 227 (Eff 9-26-84); 142 v H 175 (Eff 6-29-88); 143 v S 49 (Eff 11-3-89); 143 v S
382 (Eff 12-31-90); 146 v H 274 (Eff 8-8-96); 148 v S 13. Eff 3-23-2000; 149 v H 490, § 1, eff. 1-1-04; 153 v S 77, § 1,
eff. 7-6-10; 2012 SB 337, § 1, eff. Sept. 28, 2012.
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§ 2953.32. Sealing of record of conviction or bail forfeiture

(A) (1) Except as provided in section 2953.61 of the Revised Code, an eligible offender may apply to the sentencing
court if convicted in this state, or to a court of common pleas if convicted in another state or in a federal court, for the
sealing of the conviction record. Application may be made at the expiration of three years afier the offender’s final dis-
charge if convicted of a felony, or at the expiration of one year after the offender's final discharge if convicted of a mis-
demeanor.

(2) Any person who has been arrested for any misdemeanor offense and who has effected a bail forfeiture may
apply to the court in which the misdemeanor criminal case was pending when bail was forfeited for the sealing of the
record of the case. Except as provided in section 2953.67 of the Revised Code, the application may be filed at any time
after the expiration of one year from the date on which the bail forfeiture was entered upon the minutes of the court or
the journal, whichever entry occurs first.

(B) Upon the filing of an application under this section, the court shall set a date for a hearing and shall notify the
prosecutor for the case of the hearing on the application. The prosecutor may object to the granting of the application by
filing an objection with the court prior to the date set for the hearing. The prosecutor shall specify in the objection the
reasons for believing a denial of the application is justified. The court shall direct its regular probation officer, a state
probation officer, or the department of probation of the county in which the applicant resides to make inquiries and
written reports as the court requires concemning the applicant. If the applicant was convicted of or pleaded guilty to a.
violation of division (A)(2) or (B) of section 2919.21 of the Revised Code, the probation officer or county department of
probation that the court directed to make inquiries concerning the applicant shall contact the child support enforcement
agency enforcing the applicant's obligations under the child support order fo inquire about the offender’s compliance
with the child support order.

(C) (1) The court shall do each of the following:

(a) Determine whether the applicant is an eligible offender or whether the forfeiture of bail was agreed to by
the applicant and the prosecutor in the case. If the applicant applies as an eligible offender pursuant to division (AX(1)of
this section and has two or three convictions that result from the same indictment, information, or complaint, from the
same plea of guilty, or from the same official proceeding, and result from related criminal acts that were committed
withip a three-month period but do not result from the same act or from offenses committed at the same time, in making
its determination under this division, the court initially shall determine whether it is not in the public interest for the two
or three convictions to be counted as one conviction. If the court determines that it is not in the public interest for the
two or three convictions to be counted as one conviction, the court shall determine that the applicant is not an eligible
offender; if the court does not make that determination, the court shall determine that the offender is-an eligible offend-
er.
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(b) Determine whether criminal proceedings are pending against the applicant;

(c) If the applicant is an eligible offender who applies purssant to division (A)(1) of this section, determine
whether the applicant has been rehabilitated to the satisfaction of the court;

(d) If the prosecutor has filed an objection in accordance with division (B) of this section, consider the rea-
sons against granting the application specified by the prosecutor in the objection;

(e) Weigh the interests of the applicant in having the records pertaining te the applicant's conviction sealed
against the legitimate needs, if any, of the government to maintain those records.

(2) If the court determines, after complying with division (C)(1) of this section, that the applicant is an eligible
offender or the subject of a bail forfeiture, that no criminal proceeding is pending against the applicant, and that the in-
terests of the applicant in having the records pertaining to the applicant's conviction or bail forfeiture sealed are not
outweighed by any legitimate governmental needs to maintain those records, and that the rehabilitation of an applicant
who is an eligible offender applying pursuant to division (A)(1) of this section has been attained to the satisfaction of
the court, the court, except as provided in divisions (G) and (H) of this section, shall order all official records pertaining
to the case sealed and, except as provided in division (F) of this section, all index references to the case deleted and, in
the case of bail forfeitures, shall dismiss the charges in the case, The proceedings in the case shall be considered not to
have occurred and the conviction or bail forfeiture of the person who is the subject of the proceedings shall be sealed,
except that upon conviction of a subsequent offense, the sealed record of prior conviction or bail forfeiture may be con-
sidered by the court in determining the sentence or other appropriate disposition, including the relief provided for in
sections 2953.37 10 2953.33 of the Revised Code.

-(3) Upon the filing of an application under this section, the applicant, unless indigent, shall pay a fee of fifty
dollars. The cowrt shall pay thirty dollars of the fee into the state treasury. It shall pay twenty dollars of the fee into the

county general revenue fund if the sealed conviction or bail forfeiture was pursuant to a state statute, or into the general
revenue fund of the municipal corporation involved if the sealed conviction or bail forfeiture was pursuant to a munici-

pal ordinance.

(D) Inspection of the sealed records included in the order may be made only by the following persons or for the
following purposes:

(1) By a law enforcement officer or prosecutor, or the assistants of either, to determnine whether the nature and
character of the offense with which a person is to be charged would be affected by virtue of the person's previously
having been convicted of a crime;

(2) By the parole or probation officer of the person who is the subject of the records, for the exclusive use of the

officer in supervising the person while on parole or under a community control sanction or a post-release control sanc-
tion, and in making inquiries and written reports as requested by the court or adult parole authority;

(3) Upon application by the person who is the subject of the records, by the persons named in the application;

{(4) By a law enforcement officer who was involved in the case, for use in the officer's defense of a civil action
arising out of the officer's involvement in that case;

(5) By a prosecuting attorney or the prosecuting attorney’'s assistants, to determine a defendant's eligibility to en-
ter a pre-trial diversion program established pursuant to section 2935.36 of the Revised Code;

(6) By any law enforcement agency or any authorized employee of a law enforcement agency or by the depart-
ment of rehabilitation and correction as part of a background investigation of a person who applies for employment with
the agency as a law enforcement officer or with the department as a corrections officer;

(7) By any law enforcement agency or any authorized employee of a law enforcement agency, for the purposes
set forth in, and in the manner provided in, section 2953.321 of the Revised Code;

(8) By the bureau of criminal identification and investigation or any authorized employee of the bureau for the
purpose of providing information to a board or person pursuant to division (F) or (G) of section 109.57 of the Revised
Code;
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(9) By the bureau of criminal identification and investigation or any authorized employee of the bureau for the
purpose of performing a criminal history records check on a person to whom a certificate as prescribed in section
109.77 of the Revised Code is to be awarded;

(10} By the bureau of criminal identification and investigation or any authorized employee of the bureau for the
purpose of conducting a criminal records check of an individual pursuant to division (B) of section 109.572 of the Re-
vised Code that was requested pursuant to any of the sections identified in division (B)(1) of that section;

(11) By the bureau of criminal identification and investigation, an authorized employee of the bureau, a sheriff,
or an authorized employee of a sheriff in connection with a criminal records check described in section 377.41 of the
Revised Code; '

(12) By the attorney general or an authorized employee of the attorney general or a court for purposes of deter-
mining a person's classification pursuant to Chapter 2950. of the Revised Code.

When the nature and character of the offense with which a person is to be charged would be affected by the in-
formation, it may be used for the purpose of charging the person with an offense. ‘

(E) In any criminal proceeding, proof of any otherwise admissible prior conviction may be introduced and proved,
notwithstanding the fact that for any such prior conviction an order of sealing previously was issued pursuant to sections
2953.31 t0 2953.36 of the Revised Code.

(F) The person or governmental agency, office, or department that maintains sealed records pertaining to convic-
tions or bail forfeitures that have been sealed pursuant to this section may maintain a manual or computerized index to
the sealed records. The index shall contain ouly the name of, and alphanumeric identifiers that relate to, the persons who
are the subject of the sealed records, the word "sealed,” and the naine of the person, agency, office, or department that
has custody of the sealed records, and shall not contain the name of the crime committed. The index shall be made
available by the person who has custody of the sealed records only for the purposes set forth in divisions (C), (D), and
(E) of this section.

(G) Notwithstanding any provision of this section or section 2953.33 of the Revised Code that requires otherwise, a
board of education of a city, local, exempted village, or joint vocational school district that maintains records of an indi-
vidual who has been permanently excluded under sections 3301.121 and 3373.662 of the Revised Code is permitted to
maintain records regarding a conviction that was used as the basis for the individual's permanent exclusion, regardless
of a court order to seal the record. An order issued under this section to seal the record of a conviction does not revoke
the adjudication order of the superintendent of public instruction to permanently exclude the individual who is the sub-
Ject of the sealing order. An order issued under this section to seal the record of a conviction of an individual may be
presented to a district superintendent as evidence to support the contention that the superintendent should recommend
that the permanent exclusion of the individual who is the subject of the sealing order be revoked. Except as otherwise
authorized by this division and sections 3301.121 and 3313.662 of the Revised Code, any school employee in possession
of or having access to the sealed conviction records of an individual that were the basis of a permanent exclusion of the
individual is subject to section 2953.35 of the Revised Code.

(H) For purposes of sections 2953.31 to 2953.36 of the Revised Code, DNA records collected in the DNA database
and fingerprints filed for record by the superintendent of the bureau of criminal identification and investigation shall not
be sealed unless the superintendent receives a certified copy of a final court order establishing that the offender's con-
viction has been overturned. For purposes of this section, a court order is not "final” if time remains for an appeal or
application for discretionary review with respect to the order.

HISTORY:

135 v 3 5 (Eff 1-1-74); 137 v H 219 (Eff 11-1-77); 138 v H 105 (Eff 10-25-79); 140 v H 227 (Eff 9-26-84); 142 v
H 8 (Eff 7-31-87); 142 v H 175 (Eff 6-29-88); 143 v S 140 (Eff 10-2-89); 144 v H 154 (Eff 7-31-92); 145 v H 571 (Eff
10-6-94); 146 v H 566 (Eff 10-16-96); 146 v S 160 (Eff 1-27-97); 148 v S 13. Eff 3-23-2000; 149 v H 490, § 1, eff.
1-1-04; 150 v H 12, §§ 1, 3, eff. 4-8-04%; 152 v S 10, § 1, eff. 7-1-07; 152 v H 104, § 1, eff. 3-24-08; 152 vH 195, § 1,
eff. 9-30-08; 153 v 8 77, § 1, eff. 7-6-10; 2012 SB 337, § 1, eff. Sept. 28, 2012.
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2953.33. Rights and privileges restored; answering guestions
& & > o Tk

(A) An order issued under section 2953.37 of the Revised Code to expunge the record of a person's conviction or,
except as provided in division (G) of section 2953.32 of the Revised Code, an order issued under that section to seal the
record of a person's conviction restores the person who is the subject of the order to all rights and privileges not other-
wise restored by termination of the sentence or community control sanction or by final release on parole or post-release

control.

(B) (1) In any application for employment, license, or other right or privilege, any appearance as a witness, or any
other inquiry, except as provided in division (E) of section 2953.32 and in section 3319.292 of the Revised Code and
subject to division (B)(2) of this section, a person may be questioned only with respect to convictions not sealed, bail
forfeitures not expunged under section 29353.42 of the Revised Code as it existed prior to June 29, 1988, and bail forfei-
tures pot sealed, unless the question bears a direct and substantial relationship to the position for which the person is

being considered.

(2) A person may not be questioned in any application, appearance, or inquiry of a type described in division
(B)(1) of this section with respect to any conviction expunged under section 2953.37 of the Revised Code.

HISTORY:

135 v S 5 (Eff 1-1-74); 138 v H 105 (Eff 10-25-79); 142 v H 175 (Eff 6-29-88); 144 v H 154. Eff 7-31-92; 149 v H
490, § 1, eff. 1-1-04; 152 v H 428, § 1, eff. 9-12-08; 2011 SB 17, § 1, eff. Sept. 30, 2011.
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§ 2953.34. First offender may still take appeal or seek rejief

Nothing in sections 2953.31 to 2953.33 of the Revised C'ode precludes an eligible offender from taking an appeal or
seeking any relief from the eligible offender's conviction or from relying on it in lieu of any subsequent prosecution for

the same offense.

HISTORY:

135v S5, § 2. Eff 1-1-74; 2012 SB 337, § 1, off. Sept. 28, 2012,
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§2953.35. Divulging confidential information

(A) Except as authorized by divisions (D), (E), and (F) of section 2953.32 of the Revised Code or by Chapter 2950.
of the Revised Code, any officer or employee of the state, or a political subdivision of the state, who releases or other-
wise disseminates or makes available for any purpose involving employment, bonding, or licensing in connection with
any business, trade, or profession to any person, or to any department, agency, or other instrumentality of the state, or
any political subdivision of the state, any information or other data coneerning any arrest, complaint, indictment, trial,
hearing, adjudication, conviction, or correctional supervision the records with respect to which the officer or employee
had knowledge of were sealed by an existing order issued pursuant to secrions 2953.37 to 2953.36 of the Revised Code,
were expunged by an order issued pursuant to division (E) of section 2151.358, section 2953.37, or section 2953.38 of
the Revised Code, or were expunged by an order issued pursuant to section 2953, 42 of the Revised Code as it existed
prior to June 29, 1988, is guilty of divulging confidential information, a misdemeanor of the fourth degree.

(B) Any person who, in violation of section 2953.32 of the Revised Code, uses, disseminates, or otherwise makes
available any index prepared pursuant to division (F) of section 2953.32 of the Revised Code is guilty of a misdemeanor
of the fourth degree.

(C) It is not a violation of this section for the bureau of criminal identification and investigation or any authorized
employee of the bureau participating in the investigation of criminal activity to release, disseminate, or otherwise make
available to, or discuss with, a person directly employed by a law enforcement agency DNA records collected in the
DNA database or fingerprints filed for record by the superintendent of the bureau of criminal identification and investi-
gation.

HISTORY:

135 v S 5 (Eff 1-1-74); 136 v H 1 (Eff 6-13-75); 138 v H 105 (Eff 10-25-79); 142 v H 175 (Eff 6-29-88); 146 vH
180. Eff 7-1-97; 153 v 8 77, § 1, eff. 7-6-10; 2011 SB 17, § 1, eff. Sept. 30, 2011; 2012 HB 262, § 1, eff. June 27,2012,
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§ 2953.36. Exceptions to preceding sections

Sections 2953.31 1o 2953.35 of the Revised Code do not apply to any of the following:
(A) Convictions when the offender is subject to a mandatory prison term;

(B) Convictions under section 2907.02, 2907.03, 2907.04, 2907.05, 2907.06, 2907.321, 2907.322, or 2907.323,
former section 2907.12, or Chapter 4507., 4510., 4511., or 4549. of the Revised Code, or a conviction for a violation of
a municipal ordinance that is substantially similar to any section contained in any of those chapters;

(C) Convictions of an offense of violence when the offense is a misdemeanor of the first degree or a felony and
when the offense is not a violation of section 2917.03 of the Revised Code and is not a violation of section 2903, 13,
2917.01, 0t 2917.31 of the Revised Code that is a misdemeanor of the first degree;

(D} Convictions on or after October 10, 2007, under section 2907.07 of the Revised Code or a conviction on or
after October 10, 2007, for a violation of a municipal ordinance that is substantially similar to that section;

(E) Convictions on or after October 10, 2007, under section 2907.08, 2907. 09, 2907.21, 2907.22, 2907.23,
2907.31,2907.311, 2907.32, or 2907.33 of the Revised Code when the victim of the offense was under eighteen years of
age;

(F) Convictions of an offense in circumstances in which the victim of the offense was under eighteen years of
age when the offense is a misdemeanor of the first degree or a felony, except for convictions under section 2979.27 of
the Revised Code;

(G) Convictions of a felony of the first or second degree;

(H) Bail forfeitures in a traffic case as defined in Traffic Rule 2.

HISTORY:

135 v § 5 (Eff 1-1-74); 142 v H 175 (Eff 6-29-88); 145 v H 335 (BT 12-9-94); 146 v § 269 (Eff 7-1-96); 146 v H
445 (Eff 9-3-96); 146 v H 353 (Eff 9-17-96); 148 v S 13. Eff 3-23-2000; 149 v $ 123, § 1, eff. 1-1-04; 152 v S 18, § 1,
eff. 10-10-07; 2012 SB 337, § 1, eff. Sept. 28, 2012.
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