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STATEMENT OF FACTS

This case began in the Trumbull County Court of Common Pleas when Appellee Aaron
Von (“Von™), a convicted sex offender from the State of Colorado, sought to terminate his
obligation to register as a sex offender in the State of Ohio. According to documents submitted
in the trial court, Von pled guilty January 29, 1997, to the offense of sexual assault of a child, a
fourth degree felony in Colorado, and one count of sexual assault, a first-degree misdemeanor.
He was sentenced to a jail term of one year, followed by nine years on probation (T.d. 1). Von
moved to Trumbull County, Ohio, in August of 2011 from Taos, New Mexico. (T.d. 1,
Attachment C). Von apparently lived briefly in Mahoning County, Ohio, because his Motion
for Preliminary Injunction states that he registered with the Mahoning County Sheriff’s
Department as a “Sexually Oriented Offender” with an obligation to register with the sheriff’s
department “for a period of 10 years with verification on each anniversary of the initial
registration. ” (T.d. 4, Ex. 5).

This was apparently in error. At the time of Von’s conviction in Colorado anyone
convicted of sexual assault on a child was subject to registration “for the remainder of their
natural life.” C.R.S. Sec. 16-22-113. According to Von’s own documents, his pre-Adam Walsh
Act, 1997 Colorado conviction designates him as a “sexually oriented offender” and not a Tier I
offender as the trial court wrote in its entry granting the preliminary injunction and in the entry
denying his motion to terminate his classification. (T.d. 6, 7). When he moved to Trumbull
County in 2011, he registered with the Trumbull County Sheriff’s Department where he was
again designated a “Sexually Oriented Offender” with a duty to register “for a period of 10 years
with verification on each anniversary of the initial registration.” (T.d. 4, Ex. 2, 3, 4). However
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on November 14, 2012, when Von registered, he signed notification that he was a Pre Adam
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Walsh Act (AWA) “Sexual Predator ” with an obligation to register “for a period of a Lifetime
with verification every 90 days.” (T.d. 4, Ex. 1). Inresponse to this classification, Von filed
the motion for preliminary injunction on Nov. 15, 2012. (T.d. 4). He specifically cited R.C.
2950.15 which is entitled “Motion Requesting Court to Terminate Duty to Comply with
Registration.” On that same day, the trial court granted the preliminary injunction “until this
Court issues a determination of the merits of Petitioner’s challenge under R.C. 2950.031(E) or
until further order of the Court. Petitioner to remain tier I.” (T.d. 6) When Von initiated this
action in Trumbull County, he appeared on the Trumbull County Sheriff’s Department’s website
as a “(Pre AWA) Sexually Oriented Offender.”

On July 15, 2013, a successor judge to the judge who granted the preliminary injunction
denied Von’s application to terminate. The trial court determined that Von, a Megan’s Law sex
offender, was seeking an impermissible retroactive application of R.C. 2950.15, a provision of
the AWA. “The Court finds at the time of Von’s conviction, there was no provision to terminate
one’s status as a registered sex offender post-conviction. R.C. 2950, as amended is not
retroactive. Therefore, the Court finds the application filed by Von is not well taken and the
same is hereby denied in its entirety.” (T.d. 7).

Von followed with a timely notice of appeal in the Eleventh District Court of Appeals.
On March 16, 2015, the court below released its opinion. In a two-to-one decision, the court
held that the provisions of R.C. 2950.15 are not punitive, therefore this Court’s decision State v.
Williams, 129 Ohio St. 3d 344, 2011-Ohio-3374, 952 N.E. 2d 1108, is not controlling as to the
question of whether that statute applies retroactively to a sexual offender, such as Von, who
committed his sexual offense prior to January 1, 2008. In Re Von, 11" Dist. No. 2013-T-0085,

2015-Ohio-943, 2015 WL 1138343. “[R]egardless of whether the new right created in the



statute is ‘substantive’ in nature, that right is clearly not accompanied by the reciprocal
imposition of a new burden or obligation. Under such circumstances, the [State v.] White [132
Ohio St. 3d 344, 2012-Ohio-2538] analysis dictates that the retroactive application of R.C.
2950.15 is permissible under Section 28, Article II of the Ohio Constitution.” /d. at 125.

The court ordered that Von’s case be remanded to the trial court for a full hearing on the re-
classification issue, as raised in the motion for a preliminary injunction, followed by a final
ruling on Von’s status as a sexual offender for purposes of deciding his eligibility for relief under
R.C. 2950.15. Id. at §37.

The State takes no issue with the court’s order to remand the case to determine Von’s
classification. It is clear from the opinion that confusion exists as to Von’s exact status as a
sexual offender in the State of Ohio. However, the State appealed the decision of the Eleventh
District to this Court because it throws open the door for Megan’s Law offenders to reap a
retroactive benefit of R.C. 2950.15 when this Court has clearly stated in Williams that the AWA
may not be applied retroactively to Megan’s Law offenders. This Court has accepted
jurisdiction in this matter and stayed the opinion of the lower court. The State files this initial

brief. Additional facts will be supplied as necessary in the Argument portion of the State’s brief.



ARGUMENT

STATE’S PROPOSITION OF LAW NO. I: The registration termination
procedure delineated in R.C. 2950.15 may not be retroactively applied to sex
offenders who commit their crimes before January 1, 2008 and who were
convicted and sentenced before that date.

The Eleventh District Court erred as a matter of law in holding that Megan’s Law sex
offender registrants are free to avail themselves of an AWA privilege to terminate their
previously imposed duty to register their whereabouts.

Ohio’s Eleventh Appellate District has held that Megan’s Law sex offenders - those who
committed their offenses prior to January 1, 2008 — may now avail themselves of a benefit
afforded post-2008 sex offenders- and have their registration obligations terminated under R.C.
2950.15, which was enacted as part of the AWA and codified under R.C. 2950 et seq. It is the
State’s position that this decision is completely at odds with this Court’s holding in State v.
Williams, 129 Ohio St.3d 344, 2011-Ohio-3374, 952 N.E. 2d 1108, which held that the AWA
is only applicable to sexual offenders who are sentenced affer January 1, 2008.

The two-judge majority of the Eleventh District concluded that the provisions of R.C.
2950.15 are not punitive, therefore Williams is not controlling as to the question of whether that
statute applies retroactively to a sexual offender, such as Von, who committed his sexual offense
prior to January 1, 2008. Von, at  15. The court below cites absolutely no authority for this
interpretation. As a result, Megan’s Law offenders in five Ohio counties are now free to apply
under R.C. 2950.15 to have their registration obligation terminated. The State submits this
decision is in error, contrary to the plain intent of the non-retroactivity holding in Williams, and
constitutes a clear and present danger to public safety if allowed to stand.

The decision by the Eleventh District completely disregards the straightforward language

of R.C. 2950.15(A) which defines the adult sex offender eligible for registration termination as
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follows: “*** ¢[E]ligible offender’ means a person who is convicted of, pleads guilty to, was
convicted of, or pleaded guilty to a sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense,
regardless of when the offense was committed, and is a tier I sex offender/child-victim offender
or a child who is or was adjudicated a delinquent child for committing a sexually oriented
offense or child-victim oriented offense, regardless of when the offense was committed, and is a
public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant.” (Emphasis added).

No Megan’s Law sex offender qualifies as a “tier I sex offender.” In order to avail
oneself of the termination privilege articulated in R.C. 2950.15 one must be a “tier I sex
offender, ” which Von was not, nor is any other Megan’s law offender. The Tier I, Tier II, and
Tier III classifications are unique to the AWA and are a creation of the AWA. As Judge Grendell
in her dissent writes, “[t]he trial court's judgment is wholly consistent with the position of the
Ohio Supreme Court, that ‘S.B. 10 [the Adam Walsh Act], as applied to defendants who
committed sex offenses prior to its enactment, violates Section 28, Article II of the Ohio
Constitution, which prohibits the General Assembly from passing retroactive laws’.” Von, at 143
citing Williams, at §20. R.C. 2950.15 as written does not “grandfather in” Megan’s Law
offenders. Nevertheless, the Eleventh District majority now holds that this Court’s decision in
Williams “is not controlling as to the question of whether that statute applies retroactively to a
sexual offender, such as appellant, who committed his sexual offense prior to January 1, 2008.”
(Emphasis added) Von, at §15.

The majority opinion quotes Williams saying that “R.C. 2950.03, for example, imposes
registration requirements for offenders sentenced on or after January 1, 2008, regardless of when
the offense was committed.” (Emphasis added). Von, at 920, quoting  Williams at 8. The State

submits this language appears because it is possible to have committed an offense under Megan’s



Law, but not be sentenced until after the January 1, 2008, effective date of Adam Walsh. This is
particularly true with sex crimes against children who may have been abused prior to the
effective date of the AWA, but do not disclose until sometime afterward. With due respect, the
court below has erroneously opened the door for Megan’s Law offenders to avail themselves of
an Adam Walsh “perk” of registration termination. This misinterpretation then leads to the
completely unsupportable conclusion that “[g]iven that the cited phrase infers that the date of the
commission of the sexual crime is irrelevant to determining an offender’s eligibility for
termination relief, there is no dispute that the General Assembly intended for R.C. 2950.15 to be
applied retroactively.” Von, at §21.

The Ohio General Assembly never had any such intent. The “regardless-of-when-the-
offense-was-committed” language was not intended to apply to all registered sex offenders but
only to those sentenced affer 2008 even if they committed their sex offenses before 2008. If the
General Assembly had intended to afford the AWA termination option to Megan’s Law
offenders, the statute would have read “and is a tier I sex offender or sexually oriented offender,”
or just plain “sex offender.” The inclusion of the “Tier I” language shows that the General
Assembly sought to apply the termination option only to AWA offenders.

It is well-settled law that neither the Ohio, nor the federal constitution, forbids statutes
from having a beginning and an end, even when the enactment of the new statute
“discriminate[s] between the rights of an earlier and a later time.” State ex rel. Lemmon v. Ohio
Adult Parole Authority, 78 Ohio St. 3d 186, 188, 1997-Ohio-223, 677 N.E. 2d 347. R.C.
2950.15 has a “beginning,” and that beginning was January 1, 2008, when Ohio’s version of the

AWA became law. Granted, the ability to terminate one’s registration duties constitutes a benefit



not available to Megan’s Law offenders; but such distinctions are by law both permissible and
inevitable.

Moreover, there is a pléthora of authority from this Court stating that if a new law is
meant to be applied retroactively, said retroactivity must be apparent from the four corners of the
statute: “A statute must clearly proclaim its own retroactivity to overcome the presumption of
prospective application. Retroactivity is not to be inferred. Kelley v. State (1916), 94 Ohio St.
331, 338-339, 114 N.E. 255. If the retroactivity of a statute is not expressly stated in plain terms,
the presumption in favor of prospective application controls. Bernier v. Becker (1881), 37 Ohio
St. 72, 74. Moreover, the General Assembly is presumed to know that it must include expressly
retroactive language to create that effect, and it has done so in the past.” State v. Consilio, 114
Ohio St.3d 295, 2007-Ohio-4163, 871 N.E.2d 1167, § 15. No such proclamation was made in
R.C. 2950.15, and the Eleventh District majority incorrectly inferred that it was.

The enactment of Am. Sub.S.B. No. 2 in 1996 provides a good analogy to the issue at
bar. S.B. 2 completely revamped Ohio’s sentencing guidelines. Perhaps the most striking
difference between pre- and post- S.B. 2 sentencing statutes was the almost complete elimination
of indefinite prison sentences. Pre-S.B. 2 offenders filed multiple mandamus actions against
Ohio’s Adult Parole Authority arguing for their release because certain prisoners would be
incarcerated longer than post-S.B.2 offenders convicted of the same crimes. This Court found no
error in this outcome:

“[T]he refusal of the General Assembly to retroactively apply the differing provisions of
Am.Sub.S.B. No. 2 to persons convicted and sentenced before July 1, 1996 did not violate their
rights to equal protection and due process under the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution. ‘[TThe 14th Amendment does not forbid statutes and statutory changes to have a



beginning, and thus to discriminate between the rights of an earlier and later time.’ Sperry &
Hutchinson Co. v. Rhodes (1911), 220 U.S. 502, 505, 31 S.Ct. 490, 491, 55 L.Ed. 561, 563; State
v. Rush (1991), 305 S.C. 113, 115, 406 S.E.2d 355, 356 (‘[E]qual protection is not offended by
treating those who committed DUI offenses prior to the effective date of the amendment
differently from those who committed offenses after that date.”). This holding comports with the
conclusions of appellate courts that have addressed the constitutionality of this aspect of
Am.Sub.S.B. No. 2. State v. Fannin (Feb. 11, 1997), Franklin App. No. 96APA07-935,
unreported, 1997 WL 65529; State v. Jefferson (May 24, 1996), Richland App. No. 95-CA-7,
unreported, 1996 WL 3636547.” State ex rel. Lemmon v. Ohio Adult Parole Auth., supra, at 188.

It should be most troubling to this Court that the majority opinion references decisions in
Williams and State v. Bodyke, 126 Ohio St. 3d 266, 2010-Ohio-2424, 933 N.E. 2d 753, but
ignores the core holding in each: It is unconstitutional to retroactively apply the AWA to
Megan’s Law offenders. This Court will recall that when the AWA became law and the Ohio
Attorney General’s Office began notifying Megan’s Law offenders of their new duties to register
pursuant to the AWA, sex offenders lined up in droves to challenge the constitutionality of the
AWA. They wanted no part of the more onerous registration requirements which, in many cases,
caused them to register more often and for longer periods of time.

This Court stated in Bodyke, “[w]e are persuaded that the AWA is substantially different
from Megan's Law.” Id. at §33. This Court described those differences as follows: “Offenders
who had registered before December 1, 2007, were to be reclassified as Tier I, I, or III sex
offenders according to the new statutes. Id. Tiers are assigned solely by reference to the offense.

See R.C. 2950.01(E), (F), and (G). The entire reclassification process is administered by the

attorney general, with no involvement by any court. There is no individualized assessment. No



consideration is given to any of the other factors employed previously in classification hearings
held pursuant to Megan's Law. Id. As a result, the trial court is stripped of any power to engage
in independent fact-finding to determine an offender's likelihood of recidivism. Expert testimony
is no longer presented; the offender's criminal and social history are no longer relevant.” Id. at
22. This Court found that the AWA provision articulated in R.C. 2950.31 and R.C. 2950.32
violated the separation-of-powers doctrine because it permitted the Ohio Attorney General’s
Office to reclassify judicially classified Megan’s Law offenders as Tier I, Tier IL, or Tier III
offenders and cause their registration requirements to change with the reclassifications. Id. at
1960-62,67.

In yet another post-Bodyke case this Court explained: “The General Assembly replaced
Megan's Law with a statutory scheme in the AWA that was in many ways more onerous than its
predecessor, signaling its intent to increase public protection, not decrease it. It is unimaginable
that the General Assembly would have intended offenders originally classified under Megan's
Law to be free from any reporting requirements if the AWA were to be struck down. Thus, rhe
repeal of Megan's Law is invalid as it affects offenders originally classified under Megan's Law.
Offenders like [the appellant] had a continuing duty to comply with Megan's Law requirements.”
(Emphasis added). State v. Brunning, 134 Ohio St.3d 438, 2012-Ohio-5752, 983 N.E.2d 316,
321-22,922. Von does not reap any benefit from the repeal of Megan’s Law nor is he placed
under any additional burdens.

In its opinion, the two-judge majority erroneously states, “[s]ince the provisions of
2950.15 are not punitive in nature, Williams is not controlling as to the question of whether the
statute applies retroactively to a sexual offender, such as appellant, who committed his sexual

offense prior to January 1, 2008.” Von, at 15. This Court did not jettison R.C. 2950.15 when it



held: “R.C. Chapter 2950 is punitive. The statutory scheme has changed dramatically since this
court described the registration process imposed on sex offenders as an inconvenience
‘comparable to renewing a driver's license.” Cook, 83 Ohio St.3d at 418, 700 N.E.2d 570. And it
has changed markedly since this court concluded in Ferguson [120 Ohio St. 3d 7 (2008)] that
R.C. Chapter 2950 was remedial.” Williams, at § 16. A glaring distinction between Megan’s
Law and AWA is that Megan’s Law is remedial, and the AWA is punitive. This distinction may
very well explain why the General Assembly never crafted an escape hatch from Megan’s Law,
but did provide this option to certain limited AWA offenders.

In terms of statutory interpretation, this Court has provided the following guidance:
“The use of ‘title,” ‘chapter,” ‘section,” ‘division, and ‘subdivision’ is uniform throughout the
Revised Code. As used in the Ohio Revised Code, the word ‘section’ unambiguously refers to a
decimal-numbered statute only.” State v. Porterfield, 106 Ohio St.3d 5, 2005-Ohio-3095, 829
N.E.2d 690, § 16 (2005). By stating that “Chapter 2950” is punitive, this Court included R.C.
2950.15, a decimal-numbered statute contained therein. Therefore, though the section may
appear beneficial to selected sex offenders, this Court still found the entire chapter punitive.

As aresult, R.C. 2950.15 cannot be retroactively applied to pre-2008 sex offenders.
“When we consider all the changes enacted by S.B. 10 in aggregate, we conclude that imposing
the current registration requirements on a sex offender whose crime was committed prior to the
enactment of S.B. 10 is punitive. Accordingly, we conclude that S.B. 10, as applied to defendants
who committed sex offenses prior to its enactment, violates Section 28, Article II of the Ohio
Constitution, which prohibits the General Assembly from passing retroactive laws.” (Emphasis
added). Williams at 21. Hence, R.C. 2950.15 cannot be applied retroactively to any Megan’s

Law offenders, including Von, as it was enacted as part of S.B. 10.
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It is most troubling that the Eleventh District’s opinion, as written, does not specify
which Megan’s Law offenders may benefit from this retroactive application. The statute, R.C.
2950.15(A), references only “tier I offender/child victims,” and that leaves wide open the
question as to whether this new privilege extends just to those previously labeled sexually
oriented offenders, habitual sexual offenders or sexual predators, or some undesignated hybrid of
offenders under Megan’s Law, despite the fact that Megan’s Law does not have a Tier
classification. As discussed earlier in this argument, the two-judge majority parsed out the
phrase “regardless of when the offense was committed” and construed that as an open invitation
to an unspecified category or categories of Megan’s Law offenders to terminate their registration
obligations. This was error and makes the new holding by the Eleventh District wholly
unworkable because there is no AWA equivalent labeled sexually oriented offenders, habitual
sexual offenders or sexual predators.

To apply AWA’s termination proceedings to Megan’s Law offenders, trial judges will
now be forced to decide who qualifies as a “tier I offender” and re-label them accordingly. This
is exactly what the AWA was designed to prohibit. “The former categories of sexually oriented
offender, habitual sex offender, and sexual predator no longer exist, nor is the court required to
hold classification hearings as before. Instead, offenders are classified as Tier I, Tier II, or Tier
I1I sex offenders (or child-victim offenders) based solely on the offender's offense. R.C. 2950.01.
Specified officials are required to notify existing offenders of their duties and new tier
classification. R.C. 2950.03, 2950.031, and 2950.032. Significantly for our purposes here, under
the AWA judges no longer have discretion to determine which classification best fits the
offender.” Bodyke, at Y 21-22. Therefore, to comply with Von, trial judges in Eleventh

District must violate Bodyke, a scenario which this Court should find untenable.
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As the court below correctly notes, Von was ordered by the State of Colorado to register
as a sexual offender for the “remainder of his natural life.” C.R.S.Sec. 16-22-113, Von at §31.
Under R.C. 2950.09(A), an out-of-state sexual offender convicted of a nonexempt sex offense,
and who is required to register for life as a sex offender in the state where he was convicted, “is
automatically classified as a sexual predator in Ohio.” (Emphasis added). Logue v. Leis, 169
Ohio App.3d 356, 2006-Ohio-5597, 862 N.E.2d 900, § 4 (1* Dist. 2006), jurisdiction declined
113 Ohio St. 3d 1441. The Mahoning County Sheriff’s Department erroneously notified Von he
was a to register “for a period of 10 years,” erroneously giving a sexual predator the less
stringent registration duties of a sexually oriented offender. (T.d. 4, Ex. 5). The Trumbull
County Sheriff’s Department caught and corrected this error November 14, 2012 and notified
Von of his status as a sexual predator subject to lifetime registration. (T.d. 4, Ex. 1). Again,
there is no judicial discretion permitted here. The now-repealed R.C. 2950.09 permitted a court
to determine that an out-of-state offender is not a sexual predator if he proves that the registration
requirement of the foreign jurisdiction is not “substantially similar” to Ohio's sexual-predator
classification, /d. But that argument was not advanced by Von in the trial court nor in the court
below.

A final point as to the unworkable nature of the Eleventh District’s majority opinion:
R.C. 2950.15 (C)(1) provides that to trigger the registration termination, the tier I sex
offender/child-victim offender must wait until “the expiration of ten years” before seeking
removal from the registry. Since AWA did not become law until 2008, no sex offender would
become eligible for registration termination until 2018. Even if Megan’s Law offenders were
eligible for R.C. 2950.15 termination, and the State continues to argue they are not, it was the

obvious legislative intent that no sex offender in this state should be applying for this privilege
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before 2018. Von was premature in filing is complaint for removal, and the Eleventh District
prematurely applied this “privilege” to him.

To conclude, the court below erred by extracting the “regardless-of-when-the-offense-
was-committed” language from R.C. 2950.15, and improperly holding that Megan’s Law
offenders were entitled to an AWA option to terminate registration requirements. Given that the
plain language of the statute requires the registrants to be “tier I’ offenders before application to
terminate can be made, this decision runs contrary to legislative intent and this Court’s holdings
in Bodyke, Williams and Brunning. The Eleventh District has crafted a loophole through which
dangerous sex offenders may slip simply because this Court did not specifically address whether
R.C. 2950.15 applied to all convicted sex offenders residing in Ohio, or just those who are

convicted after 2008. The State calls upon this Court to close this loophole at this time.
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STATE’S PROPOSITION OF LAW NO. II: A statute which has not been
found unconstitutional is not subject to the judicial remedy of severance.

A rather bizarre component to the Eleventh District’s opinion is that it “severed” R.C.
2950.15. Von, at 1§26-30. Though the court’s analysis of this procedure as it relates to R.C.
2950.15 is extensive, said analysis is — as described by the dissent — “fundamentally flawed.”
Von, at 948.

“When this court holds that a statute is unconstitutional, severance may be appropriate.
R.C. 1.50.” State v. Foster, 109 Ohio St.3d 1, 2006-Ohio-856, 845 N.E.2d 470, § 94. Under R.C.
1.50, the statute in question must be held “invalid” before severance is required. The two-judge
majority never held that R.C. 2950.15 is unconstitutional or invalid. To the contrary, the opinion
broadens the scope of the statute to cover even more sex offenders than the General Assembly
intended.

This Court set forth a tripartite test in 1927 —which is still good law — for determining
whether a statute can be severed:  “(1) Are the constitutional and the unconstitutional parts
capable of separation so that each may be read and may stand by itself? (2) Is the
unconstitutional part so connected with the general scope of the whole as to make it impossible
to give effect to the apparent intention of the Legislature if the clause or part is stricken out? (3)
[s the insertion of words or terms necessary in order to separate the constitutional part from the
unconstitutional part, and to give effect to the former only?” Geiger v. Geiger, 117 Ohio St. 451,
466 (1927). The decision by the Eleventh District fails this test because in order to sever, it is
necessary to expand the eligible offenders from “tier I”” offenders to include Megan’s Law
offenders, the apparent intended beneficiaries of the severance crafted by the Eleventh District.

The adding of such terms is impermissible under Geiger.
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This Court should also be aware that in the briefing in the court below, neither party
raised a “severance” argument; the Eleventh District crafted that theory sua sponte. With
respect, it appears the lower court was fully aware that this Court would find that any application
of the AWA to Megan’s Law offenders would be deemed, at minimum, beyond the intent of the
Ohio General Assembly, and possibly unconstitutional. This is just another example as to why
“severing” R.C. 2950.15 is indeed fundamentally flawed.

The Eleventh District majority committed constitutional error in severing R.C. 2950.15
without finding it unconstitutional or invalid. The application of the doctrine of severance is so

flawed it must be corrected by this Court.

CONCLUSION

The State submits that the Eleventh District’s holding that Megan’s Law offenders may
avail themselves of R.C. 2950.15 is in error and should be corrected lest other Megan’s Law
offenders seek removal from the sexual offender registry. As this Court has previously stated,
Ohio’s General Assembly replaced Megan's Law with a statutory scheme promulgated through
the AWA which was in many ways more onerous than Megan’s Law, signaling a legislative
intent to increase public protection, not decrease it. Removing additional sex offenders from the
state’s sexual offender’s registry erodes public protection. This Court repeatedly has held that the
AWA may not be applied retroactively to Megan’s Law offenders The State urges this Court to
reverse and remand the portions of the Eleventh District’s opinion which sever R.C. 2950.15 and

offer Megan’s Law offenders an unintended benefit of registration termination.
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THOMAS R. WRIGHT, J.

{f1}  This accelerated-calendar appeal is from a final judgment of the Trumbuill
County Court of Common Pleas, overruling appellant, Aaron K. Von's, application to
terminate his registration requirements under Ohio’s sexually-oriented offender law.
Appellant claims that, as a "Tier |" offender, he is eligible for the requested relief as R.C.
2950.15 retroactively applies to him. For the following reasons, the trial court's
conclusion that R.C. 2950.15 does not apply retroactively to appellant regardiess of his
“tier” classification is reversed.

{12} On January 29. 1997. appellant was convicted in Colorado of one count of

sexual assault of a child, a fourth-degree felony, and one count of sexual assault, a first-

degree misdemeanor. The Colorado trial court sentenced him to a prison term of one

%A/aﬁ Tesued: Lommm Ppes ORIG NAL
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year, and also placed him on probation for nine years. During the majority of the
probation period, appellant continued to reside in Colorado and attended a sexual
offender treatment program.

{93} In February 2005, appellant moved to Taos, New Mexico, where he lived
and worked for approximately six years. In August 2011, he moved to his present home
in Trumbull County, Ohio. At each place appellant resided, he continued to periodically
register as a sexual offender with the county sheriff,

{f4} After living in Trumbull County for 14 months, appellant filed an application
to terminate his ongoing registration requirements. This application was submitted
pursuant to R,C, 2950.15, which was enacted as part of the 2007 Adam Walsh Act and
took effect on January 1, 2008. Prior to that date, Ohio’s sexual offender statutory
schemes did not contain provisions allowing a sexual offender to move for termination
of registration requirements.

{5} Although not stated in his application to terminate, appellant maintained in
subsequent submissions to the trial court that he qualifies as a Tier | sexual offender
under the current Ohio statutory scheme. While his application was pending, he also
moved the trial court for a preliminary injunction to stop the state from taking any steps
to change his sexual offender classification from Tier | to Tier lll. The trial court granted
this motion, expressly holding that appellant would suffer irreparable harm if his
classification were modified prior to the issuance of a final ruling on his application to
terminate.

{Y6} In answering the application to terminate, the state asserted that R.C.

2950.15 does not apply because appellant’s convictions for the sexual assaults oredate

the original enactment of the statute. The state further asserted that R.C. 2950.15 could
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not be applied retroactively to appellant because, in State v. Williams, 129 Ohio St.3d
344, 2011-Ohio-3374, the Supreme Court of Ohio expressly held that the Adam Walsh
Act is only applicable to sexual offenses committed after January 1, 2008.

{7}  After appellant submitted a reply brief on the “retroactivity” issue, the trial
court issued its decision denying his application to terminate his registration obligations.
As the basis for its judgment, the court held that, since no procedure for the termination
of a registration order had existed prior to 2008, appellant was not eligible for any relief
under R.C. 2950.186.

{48} Appellant raises a single assignment of error for review:

{19} “The trial court erred when it found that R.C. 2950.15 does not apply to
convictions prior to the date of the underlying conviction, and dismissed Appellant's
conviction [s/c), without considering the merlts_ of the application.”

{§10} Pursuant to R.C. 2950.15(B), a sexual offender has been granted the right
to move a common pleas court to terminate his obligation to comply with registration
requirements. However, under division (A) of the statute, the offender is only eligible for
this relief if, inter alia, he is a Tier | sexual offender. In this case, no final determination
was ever made regarding whether appellant is a Tier | sexual offender for purposes of
R.C. 2950.15. Instead, the trial court based .its decision to deny appellant's motion
solely upon the conclusion that the statute could not be applied retroactively. Therefore,
the scope of this opinion will be limited to the specific ruling issued by the trial court.

{11} As noted above, in contending that R.C. 2950.15 could only be applied to

sexual offenses committed subsequent to January 1, 2008, the state relied heavily upon

the Ohic Suprome Court's helding in Williamo, cupra. Evon though the trial sourt did mot

expressly cite Williams in its analysis, the judgment contained a categorical statement
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that R.C. Chapter 2950, as amended in the Adam Walsh Act, “is not retroactive.” Under
his sole assignment, appellant argues that the state's reliance upon Williams is
misplaced. According to appellant, the application of the Supreme Court's standard for
retroactivity to R.C. 2950.15 actually'supports the conclusion that all Tier | offenders can
move to terminate regiétration requirements regardless of when the sexual offense was
committed.

{112} In Williams, the primary question before the Ohio Supreme Court was the
general effect of the Adam Walsh Act upon the application of sexual offender laws: ie.,
did the new Act change the nature of the statutory scheme from purely remedial to
punitive? In answering this query in the affirmative, the Supreme Court did not focus on
any particular statute. Furthermore, the Court's ultimate decision was set forth in broad
terms: "2007 Am.Sub.8.B. No 10 [the Adam Walsh Act], as applied to defendants who
. committed sex offenses prior to its enactment, violates Section 28, Article Il of the Ohio

Constitution, which prohibits the General Assembly from passing retroactive laws.”
Williams, 129 Ohio St.3d at the syllabus.
(Y13} Nevertheless, in reaching this conclusion, the Supreme Court specifically
limited its analysis to four alterations in the statutory scheme: (1) the new classification
“system for sexual offenders, including Tier I, Tier II, and Tier IIl; (2) the new procedure
for determining an offender's classification; (3) the additional reporting and registration
requirements; and (4) the increased duration of those requirements. /d. at 7, 16-19.
- Asto the latter two changes, the Supreme Court emphasized that retroactive application

was impermissible because the Adam Walsh Act had the effect of placing new burdens

ar nhligatione upen dofandants in rogard to coxual offoncoe committed in the paot, /d.

at {19.



{f14) The Williams opinion does not refer to R.C. 2950.15. Unlike the statutes
governing a sexual offender’s classification and the imposition of reporting/registration
requirements, R.C. 2850.15 does not impose any new burdens or obligations upon an
offender for his prior sexual crimes. Rather, the statute essentially provides a means for
. a sexual offender to rid himself of prior burdens or obligations; i.e., a Tier | offender can
have his registration requirements terminated.

{15} Notwithstanding the broad language of the Williams syllabus, the
‘relroacltivity” analysls In the Williams opinion only addressed those parts of the Adam
Walsh Act that were punitive in nature. Since the provisions of R.C. 2950.15 are not
punitive in nature, Williams is not controlling as to the question of whether that statute
applies retroactively to a sexual offender, such as appellant, who committed his sexual
offense prior lo January 1, 2008.

{116} “It is well-settled that statutes are presumed to apply prospectively unless
expressly declared to be retroactive. R.C. 1.48: Van Fossen v. Babcock & Wilcox Co.
(1988), 36 Ohio St.3d 100, 105, * * *. It is also settled that the General Assembly does
not possess an absolute right to adopt retroactive statutes. Section 28, Article 1l of the
Ohio Constitution prohibits the retroactive impairment of vested substantive rights. See
State v. LaSalle, 96 Ohio St.3d 178, 2002 Ohio 4009, * * *,1113. However, the General
Assembly may make retroactive any legislation that is merely remedial in nature. See
State ex rel. Slaughter v. Indus. Comm. (1937), 132 Ohio St. 537, 542, * * *,

{117} "As noted in Van Fossen and LaSalle, we have distilled these principles

into a two-part test for evaluating whether statutes may be applied retroactively. First,

tho roviewing ocourt muot doteormine as a threohold matler whelhic the stalule s

expressly made retroactive. LaSalle, 96 Ohio St.3d at 181, * * * citing Van Fossen, 36
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Ohio St.3d 100, * * * at paragraphs one and two of the syllabus. The General
Assembly’s failure to clearly enunciate retroactivity ends the analysis, and the relevant
statute may be applied only prospectively. Id. If a statute is clearly retroactive, though,
the reviewing court must then determine whether it is substantive or remedial in nature,
LaSalle at 181, ***." State v. Consilio, 114 Ohio St.3d 295, 2007-Ohio-4163, 9-10.

{918} In determining the General Assembly's intent under the first prong of the
retroactivity test, the Ohio Supreme Court has focused upon the precise language used
in the disputed statute. See /d. at 1111-13; Bielat v. Bielal, 87 Ohio St.3d 350, 353-354
(2000). In relation to R.C. 2950.15, division (A) of the statute contains the dispositive
wording;

{119} “(A) As used in this section and 2950.16 of the Revised Code, ‘eligible
offender’ means a person who is convicted of, pleads guilly lu, was convicted of, or
pleaded guilty to a sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense, regardless
of when the offense was committed: and is a Tier | sex offender/child-victim offender or
a child who is or was adjudicated a delinquent child for committing a sexually oriented
offense or child-victim oriented offense, regardiess of when the offense was committed,
and is a public registry-qualified juvenile offender registrant.” (Emphasis added.)

{120} In Williams, 2011-Ohio-3374, at 118, the Supreme Court concluded that the
General Assembly intended for the new registration requirements in the Adam Walsh
Act to be applied retroactively, In support of the point, the opinion noted: “R.C. 2950.03,
for example, imposes registration requirements for offenders sentenced on or after
January 1, 2008, regardless of when the offense was committed.” (Emphasis added.)

ld.

{921} In stating which Tier | offenders are eligible to move for the termination of
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their registration requirements. R.C. 2950.15(A) employs the same language which the
Williams court referenced from R.C. 2050.03: e, “regardless of when the offense was
committed.” Given that the cited phrase readily infers that the date of the commission of
the sexual crime is irrelevant to detenmining an offender's eligibility for termination relief,
there is no dispute that the General Assembly intended for R.C. 2950.15 to be applied
retroactively. Therefore, since the statutory language is sufficient to satisfy the first part

of the retroactivity test, we must now address the issue of whether the provisions of the

statute are substantive or remcdial.

{1122} “In Pratte v. Stewart, 125 Ohio St.3d 473, 2010-0hi0-1860, *rr 137, we
stated that '(i)t is well established that a statute is substantive if itimpairs or takes away
vested rights, affects an accrued substantive right, imposes new or additional burdens,
duties, obligations, or liabilities as to a past transaction, or creates a new right. Van
Fossen, 36 Ohio St.3d at 107, * * *, Remedial laws, however, are those affecting only
the remedy provided, and include laws that merely substitute a new or more appropriate
remedy for the enforcement of an existing right.” See [Biefat, 87 Ohio St.3d at 352-353),
quoting Miller v, Hixson (1901), 64 Ohio St. 39, 51, * * * (‘The retroactivity clause
nullifies those new laws that “reach back and create new burdens, new duties, new
obligations, or new liabilities not existing at the time (the statute becomes effective)™
** )" Williams, at y]9.

{923} As stated above, R.C. 2950.15 grants a Tier | sexual offender a remedy
which never existed in the prior versions of this statutory scheme; i.e., the statute allows
for the submission of a written request to terminate the offender’s registration duties in

Ilght of his behaVior over the orecedina tan ar mnare Veare Althaugh the trial court san

ultimately deny the requested relief if it concludes that the offender has not carried his
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burden of proof, the mere ability to file such a motion constitutes a new benefit. Based
upon the general statement in Williams as to the distinction between substantive and
remedial, the fact that R.C. 2950.15 bestows a new benefit could lead to a preliminary
conclusion that the statute must be deemed substantive for purposes of the retroactivity
analysis. However, in elaborating upon Williams' general statement, the Supreme Court
has indicated that there can be instances in which the creation of a new statutory right
will be considered remedial in nature:

{124} “But the creation of a new right — even a new subslantive right — is not, by
itself, enough to support a claim of unconstitutional retroactivity. We have held that a
claim that a statute is substantive and hence unconstitutionally retroactive, ‘cannot be
based solely upon evidence that a statute retrospectively created a new right, but must
also include a showing of some impairment, burden, deprivation, or new obligation
accompanying that new right.' Bielat, 87 Ohio St.3d 350, * * *, paragraph two of the
syllabus. The court must inquire ‘whether the creation of rights in one party reciprocally
impaired a right of the party challenging the retroactive law. In other words, substantive,
retroactive legislation that unconstitutionally creates a new rigﬁt also impairs a vested
right or creates some new obligation or burden as well.' /d. at 359.” State v. White, 132
Ohio St.3d 344, 2012-Chio-2583, 1|46.

{925} In this case, the state is the party contesting the retroactive application of
R.C. 2850.15. Yet, in delineating the entire procedure for considering and disposing of
a motion/application to terminate, the statute does not place a new burden or obligation

upon the state. Although the state is permitted to respond to the motion, the offender

hae hnth tha hiirdan af gaing fanuard with tha suidenra and the final hurdan of prasf.

R.C. 2950.15(H)(3). Thus, regardless of whether the new right created in the statute is
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“substantive” in nature, that right is clearly not accompanied by the reciprocal imposition
of a new burden or obligation. Under such circumstances, the White analysis dictates
that the retroactive application of R.C. 2950.15 is permissible under Section 28, Article Il
of the Ohio Conatitution, |

{426} Furthermore, even though many provisions of the Adam Walsh Act were
declared unconstitutional as applied to offenders convicted of sex crimes that occurred
prior to January 1, 2008, R.C. 2950.15 can be severed from those other provigions. As
a general proposition, a three-prong test is employed to determine if a single stalute in
an otherwise unconstitutional statutory scheme can be severed and still enforced:

{127} (1) Are the constitutional and the unconstitutional parts capable of
separation so that each may be read and may stand by itself? (2).Is the unconstitutional
part so connected with the general scope of the whole as to make it impossible to give
effect to the apparent intention of the Legislature if the clause or part is stricken out? (3)
Is the insertion of words or terms necessary in order to separate the constitutional part
from the unconstitutional part, and to give effect to the former only?” State ex rel.
Whitehead v. Sandusky Cty. Bd. of Commissioners, 133 Ohio St.3d 561, 2012-Ohio-
4873, 1128, quoting Geiger v. Geiger, 117 Ohio St. 451, 466 (1927).

{128} As to the first two prongs of the “severance” test, this court reiterates that
R.C. 2950.15 grants a Tier | sexual offender the ability to seek affirmative relief from the
registration requirements. In this respect, the statute is clearly distinct from those parts
of the Adam Walsh statutory scheme that impose greater registration requirements over
longer time periods. Therefore, not only can R.C. 2950.15 stand separately from the

other Adam Walsh provisions. but it is readilv nossible ta aive filll effert tn tha atatite.

as intended by the General Assembly, even if the other disputed provisions cannot be
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applied retroactively to pre-January 1, 2008 offenders. Finally, there would be no need
to insert any new words into the statute in order for it to be applied properly.

{129} Inenacting R.C. 2950.15 as part of the Adam Walsh statutory scheme, the
General Assembly determined that there can be instances in which, after ten years of
legal behavior, the risk posed by a Tier | sexual offender is so slight that the benefit of
continued monitoring through the registration requirements is significantly outweighed
by the state's financial burden. Given that the termination of registration requirements
does not result in any new dutics or burdens for the state, but only creates a possible
benefit for eligible offenders, the constitutional prohibition against retroactive laws does
not bar the enforcement of the legislature's intent that all Tier | sex offenders be
afforded an opportunity to move for such relief, regardless of when the underlying
offense took place. Accordingly, the trial court erred in denying appellant's application
to terminate on the grounds that R.C. 2950.15 could not be applied retroactively.

{130} In claiming that the foregoing conclusion has the effect of overturning the
Williams decision, the dissenting opinion does not address the fact that R.C. 2950.15
only creates a new right and does not impose any new burden or duty. Rather, the
dissent(ng opinion simply restates the basic Williams holding that the Adam Walsh Act
cannot be applied retroactively to a defendant who committed his sex offense prior to
the act's enactment. By taking this approach to the “retroactivity” issue, the dissenting
opinion fails to acknowledge that the focus of the Williams analysis was the punitive
nature of many aspects of the Adam Walsh statutory scheme. Given that R.C. 2950.15
has no punitive effect upon the sexual offender or the state, it is not Williams, but rather

White that controls. Thus. while there mav be other reasons why annellant is nnt

eligible for relief under R.C. 2050.15, retroactivity is not among them.
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{f31}) The dissenting opinion also fails to acknowledge that, although the state
asserted a “retroactivity” argument in its response to appellant's application at the trial
level, it has essentially abandoned that argument before this court. In its answer brief,
the state now maintains that the trial court should have dismissed the "termination”
application on the grounds that appellant cannot qualify for the requested relief as a Tier
| sexual offender, In support of this point, the state raises two arguments for review.
First, citing State v. Bodyke, 126 Ohio St.3d 266, 2010-Ohio-2424, the state submits
that, since the Ohio Supreme Court has held that sexual offenders who were originally
classified under the pre-2008 classification system cannot be re-classified under the
Adam Walsh system, appellant will always be designated in the future as either a
sexually oriented offender, a habitual sexual offender, or a sexual predator. Second,
the state contends that. even if appellant could be re-classified under the new Tier I/Tier
W/Tier Il system, he could not be designated a Tier | offender because, under Colorado
law, he is required to comply with the “registration” requirement for the remainder of his
life.

{132} As previously noted, appellant initially raised the “re-classification” issue in
his motion for a preliminary injunction, which was filed approximately forty days after the
submission of his application to terminate. In the motion, appellant moved the trial court
to enjoin the State of Ohio from re-classifying him from a Tier | offender to a Tier Ii|
offender. On the same date the motion was submitted, the trial court issued a judgment
granting a preliminary injunction. Concerning appellant's status, the judgment ordered
that he was to remain a "Tier I" offender until further order of thq court. The bottom of

the judgment also contained a notation that the state did not oppose appellant staving a

“Tier |" offender while the case remained pending.

"
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{133} No other proceedings regarding appellant's classification were held prior
to the issuance of the trial court's dismissal judgment. In that judgment, the court
referenced the fact that a preliminary injunction was granted: however, no final decision
was made as to appellant’s status under sither the “old” classification system or the new
Adam Walsh system. Instead, the trial court based its decision to dismiss entirely upon
its conclusion that R.C. 2950.15 could not be applied retroactively regardless of
appellant's classification.

{134} Notwithstanding the fact that the trial court has not rendered a final ruling
concerning appellant's status, the dissenting opinion addresses the merits of the point
and concludes that appellant cannot invoke R.C. 2950.15 because he is not a Tier |
sexual offender. In reaching this conclusion, the dissenting opinion relies in part upon
information from the Ohio Attorney General's website that was not hefore the trial court
when it granted the preliminary injunction. Moreover, the dissent does not expressly
address the issue of whether, even though appellant cannot be re-classified under the
Adam Walsh system for purposes of increasing his registration obligation, he can be re-
classified by the trial court for purposes of determining his eligibility for relief under R.C.
2950.15.

{135} In Bodyke, 2010-Ohio-2424, the Supreme Court concluded that if a sexual
offender has previously been classified under the classification system that was in effect
prior to January 1, 2008, he could not be re-classified under the new “three-tier" system
of the Adam Walsh Act. In reaching this conclusion, the Bodyke court did not make any
reference to the procedure for terminating a Tier | offender’s registration requirements

under R.C. 2950.15. Instead, the court primarily focused upon the fact that, in allowing

for the re-classification of prior sexual offenders for purposes of imposing longer and
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more stringent registration requirements, the General Assembly granted the authority to
re-classify to the state attorney general. This grant of authority violated the separation-
of-powers doctrine because: (1) it essentially permitted the executive branch of the state
government to review previous "classification” orders of the judicial branch; and (2) it
mandated the re-opening of final judgments. /d. at the second and third paragraphs of
the syllabus.

{136} Neither of the foregoing two concerns exists if, as part of the procedure for
deciding a motion/application to terminate under R.C. 2950.15, a trial court re-classifies
a pre-January 1, 2008 sexual offender under the new “three-tier” system. In regard to
the “re-opening” concern, this court would emphasize that the re-classification of the
offender for purposes of R.C. 2950.15 would have no effect upon his classification for all
other purposes under R.C. Chapter 2950. In other words, the duration and nature of the
offender’s registration requirements would not be altered as a result of the limited re-
classification. Thus, re-classification under R.C. 2950.15 would not affect the finality of
the original “classification” determination. To the extent, neither Bodyke nor Williams
prohibits a trial court from re-classifying a pre-January 1, 2008 sexual offender under
the new “three-tier" classification system solely for the purposes of deciding the merits
of a motion to terminate registration requirements.

{137} In reviewing the materials accompanying appellant's motion for a
preliminary injunction, the trial court found the materials sufficient to warrant an interim
order that appellant would be considered a Tier | sexual offender. Furthermore, the trial
court never overruled the interim order. Thus, in light of our holding on the retroactivity

issue, this case must be remanded so that the trial court can conduct a full hearing on

the re-classification issue, as raised in the motion for a preliminary injunction, and then
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issue a final ruling on appellant's status as a sexual offender for purposes of deciding
his eligibility for relief under R.C. 2950.15. As part of this proceeding, the trial court may
consider the state's new argument concerning appellant's proper classification under
the “three-tier” system. In turn, if the trial court finde that appellant is a Tier | sexual
offender, it can proceed to the final merits of the motion to terminate.

{938} Pursuant to the foregoing, the judgment of the Trumbull County Court of
Common Pleas is reversed, and the case is hereby remanded for further proceedings

consistent with this opinion.

TIMOTHY P. CANNON, P.J., concurs in judgment only with a Concurring Opinion,
DIANE V. GRENDELL, J., dissents with a Dissenting Opinion.

TIMOTHY P. CANNON, P.J., concurring in judgment only.

{439} | concur this matter should be remanded to the trial court for clarification of
appellant’s classification status. Appellant, by virtue of his incarceration in 1997, is
subject to the requirements of Ohio’s Megan's Law. Pursuant fo Megan's Law, his
status as an offender, for which he was required to register for life due to his Colorado
conviction, automatically classified him as a sexual predator. There is, however,
significant confusion between the parties, as well as between the lead opinion and
dissent, as to the status of this case at the trial court level. This confusion, in my view,

may stem from the preliminary injunction issued by the trial court; it is probable the trial

court only intended to adopt a Tier | classification for appellant until it issued a
determination on the merits of appellant’'s application. In the preliminary injunction order
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there is a handwritten sentence which stands alone, stating: “Petitioner to remain tier 1.”
There is an additional handwritten notation at the bottom of the order, stating: “No
opposition by state of Ohio to defendant remaining tier | until determination of merits.”

{9140} In the trial court entry that disposed of appellant's motion, it does not
mention whether appellant’s Tier | classification had been terminated. | agree with the
dissent that appellant’s Tier | classification should be terminated; appellant was subject
to Megan's Law, as noted by the trial court, and R.C. 2950, as amended, does not
retroactively apply to appellant. This would effectively defeat appellant's application
because, as observed by the dissent, appellant should not be classified as a Tier |
offender.

{Y41) To further complicate matters, there is some confusion regarding whether
appellant has been classified as a "sexually oriented offender” or as a “sexual predator”
under Megan's law. While the trié[ court resolved that appellant was subject to Megan’s
L.aw, it did not establish what the classification under that law should be.

{142} | concur with the decision to remand this case to allow the trial court to
clarify the termination of appellant's Tier | status and, hopefully, to resolve what

appellant's status is and should be under Megan's law.

DIANE V. GRENDELL, J., dissents with a Dissenting Opinion.
{143} In the present case, Aaron K. Von filed an Application for Termination of

Duty to Comply with Sex Registration Laws, pursuant to R.C. 2950.15, in the Trumbull

County Court of Common Pleas. In January 1997, Von was convicted of Sexual
Assault on a Child, a class 4 felony in violation of C.R.S. 18-3-405(1), and Sexual
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Assault in the Third Degree, a class 1 misdemeanor in violation C.R.S. 18-3-404(1)(A),
in the District Court of Arapahoe County, Colorado. OChio Revised Code 2950.15 was
enacted in 2007 as part of the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act. The trial
court denied the Application on the grounds that “at the time of Von’s conviction, there
was no provision to terminate one's status as a registered sex offender post-conviction.”
The trial court's judgment is wholly consistent with the position of the Ohio Supreme
Court, that “S.B. 10 [the Adam Walsh Act], as applied to defendants who committed sex
offenses prior to its enactment, violates Section 28, Article 1l of the Ohio Constitution,
which prohibits the General Assembly from passing retroactive laws.” State v. Williams,
129 Ohio St.3d 344, 2011-Ohio-3374, 952 N.E.2d 1108, '1] 20. The majority reverses
that judgment on the grounds that “the retroactive application of R.C. 2950.15 is
permissible under Section 28, Article Il of the Ohio Constitution.” Supra at ] 25.

{144} Revised Code 2950.15 applies to offenders who have been classified as
tier | sex offenders. Von has never been classified as a tier | sex offender. Under
Williams, it would be unconstitutional to apply the Adam Walsh Act to him, as he
committed his sex offenses prior to its enactment. As the State correctly points out, the
statute is inapplicable to Von on its face. Accordingly, | respectfully dissent.

{1145} Under the statute, “an eligible offender may make a motion to the court of
common pleas * * * of the county in which the eligible offender resides requesting that
the court terminate the eligible offender's duty” to register as a sexual offender. R.C.
2950.15(B). An “eligible offender' means a person who is convicted of, pleads guilty to,
was convicted of, or pleaded guilty to a sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented

offense, regardless of when the offense was committed, and is a tier I sex

offender/child-victim offender * * *, regardless of when the offense was committed,
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and is a public registry-qualified juvénile offender registrant.” (Emphasis added.) R.C,
2950.15(A).

{946} In order to be an eligible offender, Von must be classified a tier | sex
offender/child-victim offender. The tier | classification was created in 2007 by the
above-mentioned Adam Walsh Act. The passage of the Adam Walsh Act abolished
‘[tlhe former categories of sexually oriented offender, habitual sex offender, and sexual
predator.” Stafe v. Bodyke, 126 Ohio St.3d 266, 2010-Ohio-2424, 933 N.E.2d 753,
21. As noted above, the Ohio Supreme Court has held that the provisions of the Adam
Walsh Act cannot be applied to offenders who committed their offenses prior to its
enactment. Williams, 129 Ohio St.3d 344, 2011-Ohio-3374, 952 N.E.2d 1108, at § 20.

{147} In the present case, Von was convicted of sex offenses in 1897, long
before the enactment of the Adam Walsh Act. Not only would it be unconstitutional to
classify Von under the Adam Walsh Act, there is no evidence that Von has ever been
classified as a tier | sex offender. The evidence before this court, consisting of Notices
of Registration Duties of Sexually Oriented Offender Or Child-Victim Offender issued
between August 2011 and November 2012, variously classifies Von as "(Pre AWA)
Sexually Oriented Offender” or “(Pre AWA) Sexual Predator.”! Currently, Von is
identified on the Ohio Attorney General's online registry of sex offenders as “(Pre AWA)
Sexually Oriented Offender.”
http:/ficrimewatch.net/offenderdetails php?OfndriD=1550971&AgencylD=55149
(accessed March 4, 2015).

{48} The majority's analysis as to whether R.C. 2950.15 is severable from the

Adam Walsh Act and. so. may be applied retroactivelv despite the holdina of Williams is

1. The propriety of either classification is not properly before this courd,
17
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fundamentally flawed. An “eligible offender” for the purposes of R.C. 2950.15 must be a
tier | offender, i.e., an offender classified under the Adam Walsh Act. Von has not been
classified as a tier | offender and is constitutionally prohibited from being classified as
such.

{149} The majority’s position that Von could be reclassified as a tier | sex
offender "solely for the purposes of deciding the merits of a motion to terminate
registration requirements” is simply incredible. Supra at ] 36. The Ohio Supreme Court
has stated unequivocally: “2007 Am.Sub.S.B. No. 10, as applied to defendants who
committed sex offenses prior to its enactment, violates Section 28, Article Il of the Ohio
Constitution, which prohibits the General Assembly from passing retroactive laws.”
Williams, 129 Ohio St.3d 344, 2011-Chio-3374, 952 N.E.2d 1108, at the syllabus. R.C,
2950.15 was enacted as part of 2007 Am.Sub.S.B. 10. Von committed a sex offense
prior to its enactment. R.C. 2950.15 does not apply to Von.

{450} Alternatively, to be an “eligible offender" under R.C. 2950.15, one must be
a "tier | sex offender.” R.C. 2950.15(A). Von is not and has never been a tier | sex
offender. The statutory provisions for the reclassification of sex offenders who
committed their offenses prior to the enactment of 2007 Am.Sub.S.B. No. 10 have been
declared unconstitutional. Bodyke, 126 Ohio St.3d 266, 2010-Ohio-2424, 933 N.E.2d
753, at paragraphs two and three of the syllabus. R.C. 2950.15 cannot apply to Von.

{951} Neither the Williams decision nor the Bodyke decision countenances the
retroactive application of the Adam Walsh Act on an “as applied” basis. Nothing in the
Adam Walsh Act provides for the reclassification of sex offenders by trial court judges.

Accordingly, the trial court's judgment must be affirmed and | respectfully dissent.
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STATE OF OHIO C) IN THE COURT OF APPEALS
) SS.
COUNTY OF TRUMBULL ) ELEVENTH DISTRICT

IN RE: AARON K. VON JUDGMENT ENTRY

CASE NO. 2013-T-0085

For the reasons stated in the opinion of this court, it is the judgment and
order of this court that the judgment of the Trumbull County Court of Common
Pleas is reversed, and this matter is remanded to the trial court for further
proceedings consistent with the opinion.

Costs are taxed against appellee.

JUDGE THOMAS IyWRIGHT

TIMOTHY P. CANNON, P.J., concurs in judgment only with a Concurring
Opinion,

DIANE V. GRENDELL, J,, dissents with a Dissenting Opinion.

FILED
COURT OF APPEALS

MAR 16 2015

TRUMBULL COUNTY, OH
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IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS
- GENERAL DIVISION -
TRUMBULL COUNTY, OHIO

CASE NUMBER: 2012 CV 02284

AARON K VON
PLAINTIFF

VS. JUDGE RONALD J RICE

TRUMBULL COUNTY PROSECUTOR
DEFENDANT JUDGMENT ENTRY

Plaintiff, Aaron K. Von, filed an Application for Termination of Duty to Comply
with Sex Registration Laws on October 5, 2012. A Preliminary Injunction was granted
on November 15, 2012 and the Plaintiff was to remain a Tier I sex offender in the
interim.

Von plead guilty to Sexual Assault of a Child (F4) and Sexual Assault in the
Third Degree (M1) in the District Court of Arapahoe County, Colorado on January 29,
1997. At this time, Megan’s Law was in effect in Ohio and codified in R.C. 2950 et seq.
until its subsequent amendment as the Adam Walsh Act in 2008.

The Court finds at the time of Von’s conviction, there was no provision to
terminate one's status as a registered sex offer_1d_er post-conviction. R.C. 2950, as
amended, is not retroactive. Therefore, the Court finds the application filed by Von is
not well taken and the same is hereby denied in its entirety.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

This is a final and appealable order and there is no just cause for delay.

Date: 7- 5-)73

Copies to:
GABRIEL WILDMAN
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IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS
TRUMBULL COUNTY, OHIO

IN RE: AARON K. VON
Case No. 12 CV 2284
ORDER GRANTING
PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION

This Court finds that Petitioner will suffer irreparable injury unless the requested
injunction is issued, that granting injunctive relief is necessary for the Petitioner to receive a just
determination on the merits of his challenge to reclassification, and that the public interest favors
the injunctive relief sought.

In view of these findings, Petitioner is entitled to a preliminary injunction until this Court
issues a determination of the merits of Petitioner’s challenge under R.C. 2950.031(E) or until
further order of the Court. PC Yitioner Yo remoin tier L ;

Accordingly, for good cause shown, Petitioner’s motion is GRANTED. Further, the
Court finds that no bond is necessary because the State of Ohio will suffer no monetary damages

should it be decided that the injunction should not have been granted.

()2 bW OW

Date Judge
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§ 16-22-113. Petition for removal from registry
West's Colorado Revised Statules Annolated  Tille 16. Criminal Proceedings  Effeclive: July 1, 2013  (Approx. 4 pages)

West's Colorado Revised Statutes Annotated
Title 16. Criminal Proceedings
Offenders--Registration
Article 22. Colorado Sex Offender Registration Act (Refs & Annos)

Effective: July 1, 2013

C.R.S.A. §16-22-113

§ 16-22-113. Petition for removal from registry

Currentness

(1) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (3) of this section, any person required to
register pursuant to section 16-22-103 or whose information is required to be posted on the
internet pursuant to section 16-22-111 may file a petition with the court that issued the order
of judgment for the conviclion that requires the person to register for an order to discontinue
the requirement for such registration or internet posting, or both, as follows:

(a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraphs (d), (e), and (f) of this subsection (1), if the
offense that required such person to register constituted or would conslitute a class 1, 2, or 3
felony, after a period of twenly years from the date of such person's discharge from the
department of corrections, if such person was sentenced to incarceration, or discharge from
the department of human services, if such person was committed, or final release from the
jurisdiction of the court for such offense, if such person has not subsequently been convicted
of unlawful sexual behavior or of any other offense, the underlying factual basis of which
involved unlawful sexual behavior,;

(b) Except as otherwise provided in paragraphs (d), (e), and (f) of this subsection (1), if the
offense that required such person to register constituted or would constitute a class 4, 5, or 6
felony or the class 1 misdemeanor of unlawful sexual contact, as described in section 18-3-
404, C.R.S., or sexual assault in the third degree as described in section 18-3-404, C.R.S,,
as it existed prior to July 1, 2000, after a period of ten years from the date of such person's
discharge from the deparlment of corrections, if such person was sentenced to
incarceration, or discharge from the department of human services, if such person was
commilted, or final release from the jurisdiction of the court for such offense, if such person
has not subsequently been convicted of unlawful sexual behavior or of any other offense,
the underlying factual basis of which involved unlawful sexual behavior;

(c) Except as otherwise provided in paragraphs (d), (e), and (f) of this subsection (1), if the
offense that required such person to register constituted or would constitute a misdemeanor

other than the class 1 misdemeanor of unlawful sexual contact, as described in section 18-3-

404, C.R.S., or sexual assault in the third degree as described in section 18-3-404, C.R.S.,
as it existed prior to July 1, 2000, after a period of five years from the date of such person's
final release from the jurisdiction of the court for such offense, if such person has not
subsequently been convicted of unlawful sexual behavior or of any other offense, the
underlying factual basis of which involved unlawful sexual behavior;

(d) If the person was required to register due to being placed on a deferred judgment and
sentence or a deferred adjudication for an offense involving unlawful sexual behavior, after
the successful completion of the deferred judgment and sentence or deferred adjudication
and dismissal of the case, if the person prior to such time has not been subsequently
convicted of unlawful sexual behavior or of any other offense, the underlying factual basis of
which involved unlawful sexual behavior and the court did not issue an order either
continuing the duty to register or discontinuing the duty to register pursuant to paragraph (a)
of subsection (1.3) of this section;

(e) Except as otherwise provided in subparagraph (ll) of paragraph (b) of subsection (1.3) of
this section, if the person was younger than eighteen years of age at the time of commission
of the offense, after the successful completion of and discharge from a juvenile sentence or

disposition, and if the person prior to such time has not been subsequently convicted or has

Page 1 of 4

NOTES OF DECISIONS (12)

In general

Conviction

Prabalion

Discrelion of court
Conslruction and application
Conslruction wilh other laws
Habeas relief
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§ 16-22-113. Petition for removal from registry - WestlawNext Page 2 of 4

a pending prosecution for unlawful sexual behavior or for any other offense, the underlying
factual basis of which involved unlawful sexual behavior and the court did not issue an order
either continuing the duty 1o register or discontinuing the duty to register pursuant to
paragraph (b) of subsection (1.3) of this section. Any person petitioning pursuant to this
paragraph {e) may also petition for an order removing his or her name from the sex offender
registry. In determining whether to grant the order, the court shall consider whether the
person is likely to commit a subsequent offense of or involving unlawful sexual behavior. The
court shall base its determination on recommendations from the person's probation or
community parole officer, the person's treatment provider, and the prosecuting attorney for
the jurisdiction in which the person was tried and on the recommendations included in the
person's presentence investigation report. In addition, the court shall consider any written or
oral testimony submitted by the victim of the offense for which the petitioner was required to
register. Notwithstanding the provisions of this subsection (1), a juvenile who files a petition
pursuant to this section may file the petition with the court to which venue is transferred
pursuant to section 19-2-105, C.R.S., if any.

(f) If the information about the person was required to be posted on the internet pursuant to
section 16-22-111(1)(d) only for failure to register, if the person has fully complied with all
registration requirements for a period of not less than one year and if the person, prior to
such time, has not been subsequently convicted of unlawful sexual behavior or of any other
offense, the underlying factual basis of which involved unlawful sexual behavior; except that
the provisions of this paragraph (f) shall apply only to a petition to discontinue the
requirement for internet posting.

(1.3)(a) If a person is eligible to petition to discontinue his or her duty to register pursuant to
paragraph (d) of subsection (1) of this section, the court, at least sixty-three days before
dismissing the case, shall nolify each of the parties described in paragraph (a) of subsection
(2) of this section, the person, and the victim of the offense for which the person was
required to register, if the viclim has requested notice and has provided current contact
information, that the court will consider whether to order that the person may discontinue his
or her duty to register when the court dismisses the case as a result of the person's
successful completion of the deferred judgment and sentence or deferred adjudication. The
court shall set the matter for hearing if any of the parties described in paragraph (a) of
subsection (2) of this section or the viclim of the offense objecls or if the person requests a
hearing. If the court enters an order discontinuing the person's duty to register, the person
shall send a copy of the order to each local law enforcement agency with which the person
is registered and to the CBI. If the victim of the offense has requested notice, the court shall
notify the victim of its decision either to continue or discontinue the person's duty to register.

(b)(I) If a juvenile is eligible to petition to discontinue his or her duty to register pursuant to
paragraph (e) of subsection (1) of this section, the court, at least sixty-three days before
discharging the juvenile's sentence, shall notify each of the parties described in paragraph
(a) of subsection (2) of this section, the juvenile, and the victim of the offense for which the
juvenile was required to regisler, if the victim has requested notice and has provided current
contact information, that the court shall consider whether to order that the juvenile may
discontinue his or her duty to register when the court discharges the juvenile's sentence.
The court shall set the matter for hearing if any of the parties described in paragraph (a) of
subsection (2) of this section or the victim of the offense objects, or if the juvenile requests a
hearing, and shall consider the criteria in paragraph (e) of subsection (1) of this section in
determining whether to continue or discontinue the duty to register. If the court enters an
order discontinuing the juvenile’s duty to register, the department of human services shall
send a copy of the order to each local law enforcement agency with which the juvenile is
registered, the juvenile parole board, and to the CBI. If the victim of the offense has
requested notice, the court shall notify the victim of its decision either to continue or
discontinue the juvenile's duty to register.

(I1) If a juvenile is eligible to petition to discontinue his or her registration pursuant to
paragraph (e) of subsection (1) of this section and is under the custody of the department of
human services and yet to be released on parole by the juvenile parole board, the
department of human services may petition the court to set a hearing pursuant to paragraph
(e) of subsection (1) of this section at least sixty-three days before the juvenile is scheduled
to appear before the juvenile parole board.

(1) If a juvenile is eligible to petition to discontinue his or her registration pursuant to
paragraph (e) of subsection (1) of this section and is under the custody of the department of
human services and yet to be released on parole by the juvenile parole board, the
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department of human services, prior to setting the matter for hearing, shall modify the
juvenile's parole plan or parole hearing to acknowledge the court order or petilion unless it is
already incorporated in the parole plan.

(1.5) If the conviction that requires a person to register pursuant to the provisions of section
16-22-103 was not obtained from a Colorado court, the person seeking to discontinue
registration or internet posting or both may file a civil case with the district court of the
judicial district in which the person resides and seek a civil order to discontinue the
requirement to register or internet posting or both under the circumstances specified in
subsection (1) of this section.

(2)(a) Prior to filing a petition pursuant to this section, the petitioner shall notify each of the
following parties by certified mail of the petitioner's intent to file a request pursuant to this
seclion:

(1) Each local law enforcement agency with which the petitioner is required to register;

(1) The prosecuting attorney for the jurisdiction in which each such local law enforcement
agency is located; and

(Ill) The prosecuting attorney who obtained the conviction for which the petitioner is required
to register.

(b) When filing the petition, the petitioner shall attach to the petition copies of the return
receipts received from each party notified pursuant to paragraph (a) of this subsection {2).

(c) Upon the filing of the petition, the court shall set a date for a hearing and shall notify the
victim of the offense for which the petilioner was required to register, if the victim of the
offense has requested notice and has provided current contact information. If the court
enters an order discontinuing the petitioner's duty to register, the petitioner shall send a copy
of the order to each local law enforcement agency with which the petitioner is registered and
the CBL. If the viclim of the offense has requested notice, the court shall notify the victim of
the offense of its decision either to continue or disconlinue the petitioner's duty to register.

(d) On receipt of a copy of an order discontinuing a petitioner’s duty to register:

() The CBI shall remove the petitioner's sex offender registration information from the sex
offender registry; and

(1) If the local law enforcement agency maintains a local registry of sex offenders who are
registered with the local law enforcement agency, the local law enforcement agency shall
remove the petitioner’s sex offender registration information from the local sex offender

regisiry.

(3) The following persons shall not be eligible for relief pursuant to this section, but shall be
subject for the remainder of their natural lives to the registration requirements specified in
this article or to the comparable requirements of any other jurisdictions in which they may
reside:

{(a) Any person who is a sexually violent predator;
(b) Any person who is convicted as an adult of:

() Sexual assault, in violation of section 18-3-402, C.R.S., or sexual assault in the first
degree, in violation of section 18-3-402, C.R.S., as it existed prior fo July 1, 2000, or sexual
assault in the second degree, in viclation of section 18-3-403, C.R.S., as it existed prior to
July 1, 2000; or

(I1) Sexual assault on a child, in violation of section 18-3-405, C.R.S_; or

(I1) Sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust, in viclation of section 18-3-405.3,
C.RS,;or

(IV) Sexual assault on a client by a psychotherapist, in violation of section 18-3-405.5,
C.RS, or

(V) Incest, in violation of section 18-6-301, C.R.S.; or

(V1) Aggravated incest, in violation of section 18-6-302, C.R.S;
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(c) Any adult who has more than cne conviction or adjudication for unlawful sexual behavior
in this state or any other jurisdiction.

Credits

Added by Laws 2002, Ch. 297, § 1, eff. July 1, 2002. Amended by Laws 2004, Ch. 297, §§
15, 16 eff. May 27, 2004; Laws 2008, Ch. 187, § 2, eff. April 25, 2008; Laws 2008, Ch. 378,
§ 2, eff. July 1, 2008; Laws 2011, Ch. 224, § 7, eff. May 27, 2011; Laws 2012, Ch. 208, §
100, eff. July 1, 2012; Laws 2013, Ch. 272, § 5, eff. July 1, 2013

Notes of Decisions (12)

C.R.S.A.§16-22-113, CO ST § 16-22-113
Current through the First Regular Session of the 70th General Assembly (2015).
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" 2950.15 Motion to terminate registration requirement; contents; notice to victim; evidence
Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated  Tille XXIX. Crimes--Procedure  Effective: January 1, 2008 (Approx. 4 pages)

Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated
Title XXIX. Crimes--Procedure (Refs & Annos)
Chapter 2950. Sex Offenders (Refs & Annos)

F Unconstitutional or Preempted | Unconslilutional as Applied by Inre Bruce S. - Ohio | Dec. 06, 2012

Effective: January 1, 2008

R.C. § 2950.15

2050.15 Motion to terminate registration requirement; contents; notice to
victim; evidence

Currentness

(A) As used in this section and section 2950.16 of the Revised Code, “eligible offender”
means a person who is convicted of, pleads guilty to, was convicted of, or pleaded guilty to a
sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense, regardless of when the offense
was committed, and is a tier | sex offender/child-victim offender or a child who is or was
adjudicated a delinquent child for committing a sexually oriented offense or child-victim
oriented offense, regardless of when the offense was committed, and is a public registry-
qualified juvenile offender registrant.

(B) Pursuant to this section, an eligible offender may make a motion to the court of common
pleas or, for a delinquent child, the juvenile court of the county in which the eligible offender
resides requesting that the court terminate the eligible offender's duty to comply with
sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code. If the eligible
offender is not a resident of this state, the eligible offender may make a motion to the court
of common pleas of the county in which the eligible offender has registered pursuant to
seclion 2950.04 or 2950.041 of the Revised Code, but if the eligible offender has registered
addresses of that nature in more than one county, the eligible offender may make such a
motion in the court of only one of those counties. Notwithstanding any state or local rule
assigning costs and fees for filing and processing civil and criminal cases, the fee for filing
the motion shall be one hundred fifty dollars. This fee shall be applied to any further
processing of the motion, including, but not limited to, the costs associated with investigating
the motion, notifying relevant parties, scheduling hearings, and recording and reporting the
court's determination.

(C)(1) Except as provided in division (C){2) of this section, an eligible offender who is
classified a tier | sex offender/child-victim offender may make a motion under division (B) of
this section upon the expiration of ten years after the eligible offender's duty to comply with
division (A)(2) or (4) of section 2950.04 or division {A)(2) or (4) of seclion 2950.041 and
seclions 2950.05 and 2950.06 of the Revised Code begins in relation to the offense for
which the eligible offender is subject to those provisions.

(2) An eligible offender who is a delinquent child and is classified a public registry-qualified
juvenile offender registrant may make a motion under division (B) of this section upon the
expiration of twenty-five years after the eligible offender's duty to comply with division (A)(3)
or (4) of section 2950.04 and sections 2950.05 and 2950.086 of the Revised Code begins in
relation to the offense for which the eligible offender is subject to those provisions.

(D) An eligible offender who makes a motion under division (B) of this section shall include
all of the following with the motion:

(1) A certified copy of the judgment entry and any other documentation of the sentence or
disposition given for the offense or offenses for which the eligible offender was convicted,
pleaded guilty, or was adjudicated a delinquent child;

(2) Documentation of the date of discharge from supervision or release, whichever is
applicable;
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(3) Evidence that the eligible offender has completed a sex offender or child-viclim offender
treatment program certified by the department of rehabilitation and correction or the
department of youth services pursuant to section 2850.16 of the Revised Code;

(4) Evidence that the eligible offender has not been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or been
adjudicated a delinquent child for committing any subsequent sexually oriented offense,
child-victim oriented offense, or other criminal offense, except for a minor misdemeanor
fraffic offense;

(5) Evidence that the eligible offender has paid any financial sanclions imposed upon the
offender pursuant to section 2929.18 or 2929.28 of the Revised Code.

(E) Upon the filing of a motion pursuant to division (B} of this section, the offender or
delinquent child shall serve a copy of the motion on the prosecutor who handled the case in
which the eligible offender was convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or was adjudicated a
delinquent child for committing the sexually oriented offense or child-viclim oriented offense.
Upon the filing of the motion, the court shall set a tentative date for a hearing on the motion
that is not later than one hundred eighty days from the date the motion is filed unless good
cause exists to hold the hearing at a later date and shall notify the eligible offender and the
prosecutor of the date, time, and place of the hearing. The court shall then forward a copy of
the motion and its supporting documentation to the court's probation department or another
appropriate agency 1o investigate the merits of the motion. The probation depariment or
agency shall submit a written report detailing ils investigation to the court within sixty days of
receiving the motion and supporting documentation.

Upon receipt of the written report from the probation department or other appropriate
agency, the court shall forward a copy of the motion, supporting documentation, and the
writlen report to the prosecutor.

(F)(1) After the prosecutor is served with a copy of the motion as described in division (E) of
this section, the prosecutor shall notify the victim of any offense for which the eligible
offender is requesting a termination of duties under seclions 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05,
and 2950.06 of the Revised Code. The victim may submit a written statement to the
prosecutor regarding any knowledge the victim has of the eligible offender's conduct while
subject to the duties imposed by sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the
Revised Code.

(2) At least seven days before the hearing date, the prosecutor may file an objection to the
motion with the court and serve a copy of the objection to the motion to the eligible offender
or the eligible offender’s attorney.

(G) In addition to the evidence that accompanies the motion described in division (D) of this
seclion and the written report submitted pursuant to division (E) of this section, in
determining whether to grant a mofion made under division (B) of this section, the court may
consider any other evidence the court considers relevant, including, but not limited to,
evidence of the following while the eligible offender has been subject to the duties imposed
under sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code:

(1) Whether the eligible offender's driver's license, commercial driver's license, temporary
instruction permit, probationary license, or nonresident operating privilege has ever been
suspended;

(2) Whether the eligible offender has maintained financial responsibility for a motor vehicle
as required by section 4509.101 of the Revised Code;

(3) Whether the eligible offender has satisfied any child or spousal support obligations, if
applicable;

(4) Whether the eligible offender has paid all local, state, and federal income taxes, and has
timely filed all associated income tax returns, as required by local, state, or federal law;

(5) Whether there is evidence that the eligible offender has adequately addressed sex
offending or child-victim offending behaviors,

(6) Whether the eligible offender has maintained a residence for a substantial period of time;

{7) Whether the eligible offender has maintained employment or, if the eligible offender has
not been employed while under a duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05,
and 2950.06 of the Revised Code, whether the eligible offender has satisfied the offender's
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financial obligations through other manners of support such as disability payments, a
pension, spousal or child support, or scholarships or grants;

(8) Whether the eligible offender has adequately addressed any drug or alcohol abuse or
addiclion;

(9) Letters of reference;

(10) Documentation of the eligible offender's service to the community or to specific
individuals in need.

(H)(1) The court, without a hearing, may issue an order denying the eligible offender's
motion to terminate the eligible offender's duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041,
2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code if the court, based on the evidence submitled
with the motion pursuant to division (D) of this section and the written report submitted
pursuant to division (E) of this seclion and after considering the factors described in division
(G) of this section, finds that those duties should not be terminated.

(2) If the prosecutor does not file an objection to the eligible offender's application as
provided in division (F)(2) of this section, the court, without a hearing, may issue an order
that terminates the eligible offender's duty to comply with sections 2950.04, 2950.041,
2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code if the court, based on the evidence submitted
with the motion pursuant to division (D) of this section and the written report submitted
pursuant to division {E) of this section and after considering the factors described in division
(G) of this section, finds that those duties should be terminated.

(3) If the court does not issue an order under division (H)(1) or (2) of this seclion, the court
shall hold a hearing to determine whether to grant or deny the motion. At the hearing, the
Rules of Civil Procedure or, if the hearing is in a juvenile court, the Rules of Juvenile
Procedure apply, except to the extent that those Rules would by their nature be clearly
inapplicable. At the hearing, the eligible offender has the burden of going forward with the
evidence and the burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence. If, after considering
the evidence submitted with the motion pursuant to division (D) of this section, the written
report submitted pursuant to division (E) of this section, and the factors described in division
(G) of this section, the court finds that the eligible offender has satisfied the burden of proof,
the court shall issue an order that terminates the eligible offender's duty to comply with
sections 2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code. If the court finds
that the eligible offender has not satisfied the burden of proof, the court shall issue an order
denying the motion.

(4)(a) The court shall provide prompt notice of its order issued pursuant to division (H)(1),
(2), or (3) of this section to the eligible offender or the eligible offender's attorney.

(b) If the court issues an order terminating the eligible offender's duty to comply with seclions
2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code, the court shall promptly
forward a copy of the order to the bureau of criminal identification and investigation. Upon
receipt of the order, the bureau shall update all records pertaining to the eligible offender to
reflect the termination order. The bureau also shall notify every sheriff with whom the eligible
offender has most recently registered under section 2950.04, 2950.041, or 2950.05 of the
Revised Code of the termination order.

(c) If the court issues an order terminating the eligible offender's duty to comply with sections
2950.04, 2950.041, 2950.05, and 2950.06 of the Revised Code, the court shall promptly
forward a copy of the order to any court that sentenced the offender or adjudicated the child
a delinquent child for a sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense that is the
basis of the termination order. The court that receives this notice shall retain a copy of the
order in the eligible offender’s original case file.

CREDIT(S)
(2007 S 10, eff. 1-1-08)
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Current through 2015 Files 1 to 31 of the 131st General Assembly (2015-2016) and 2015
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SeExuALLY ORIENTED OFFENDERS

§ 2950.09

e stated in division (B) of section 1.52 of the Revised Code
amendments are to be harmonized if reasonably capable of
taneous operation, finds that the composites are the resulting
ons of the sections in effect prior to the effective date of the
e as presented in Section 1 of this act.

" The effective date is set by section 5 of HB 180.

| Gee provisions, § 5 of HB 180 (146 v —) following RC

[§ 2950.08.1] § 2950.081 Disclosure
lof sex offender registration information in posses-
%liDll of sheriff.

|

(A) Any statements, information, photographs, or fin-
gerprints that are required to be provided, and that are
provided, by an offender or delinquent child pursuant to
section  2950.04, 2050.041 [2950.04.1], 2950.05, or
0950.06 of the Revised Code and that are in the possession
of a county sheriff are public records open to public
inspection under section 149.43 of the Revised Code and
chall be included in the internet sex offender and child-
victim offender database established and maintained un-
der section 2950.13 of the Revised Code to the extent

rovided in that section.

(B) Except when the child is classified a juvenile
offender registrant and the act that is the basis of the
classification is a violation of, or an attempt to commit a
violation of, section 2903.01, 2903.02, or 2905.01 of the
Revised Code that was committed with a purpose to
gratify the sexual needs or desires of the child, a violation
of section 2907.02 of the Revised Code, or an attempt to
commit a violation of that section, the sheriff shall not
cause to be publicly disseminated by means of the internet
any statements, information, photographs, or fingerprints
that are provided by a juvenile offender registrant who
sends a notice of intent to reside, registers, provides notice
of a change of residence address and registers the new
residence address, or provides verification of a current
residence address pursuant to this chapter and that are in
the possession of a county sheriff.

HISTORY: 149 v § 3. Eff 1-1-2002; 150 v § 5, § 1, Eff
7-31-03.

§ 2950.09 Classification as sexual predator;
determination hearing; petition for removal from
classification.

(A) If a person is convicted of or pleads guilty to
committing, on or after January 1, 1997, a sexually ori-
ented offense that is not a registration-exempt sexually
oriented offense, and if the sexually oriented offense is a
violent sex offense or a designated homicide, assault, or
kidnapping offense and the offender is adjudicated a
sexually violent predator in relation to that offense, the
conviction of or plea of guilty to the offense and the
adjudication as a sexually violent predator automatically
classifies the offender as a sexual predator for purposes of
this chapter, If a person is convicted of or pleads guilty to
committing on or after the effective date of this amend-
ment a sexually oriented offense that is a violation of
division (A)(1)(b) of section 2907.02 of the Revised Code
and if either the person is sentenced under section
2971.03 of the Revised Code, or the court imposes upon
the offender a sentence of life without parole under
division (B) of section 2907.02 of the Revised Code, the
conviction of or plea of guilty to the offense automatically
classifies the offender as a sexual predator for purposes of

this chapter. If a person is convicted of or pleads guilty to
committing on or after the effective date of this amend-
ment attempted rape and also is convicted of or pleads
guilty to a specification of the type described in section
2941,1418 [2941.14.18], 2941.1419 [2941.14.18], or
2941.1420 [2941.14.20] of the Revised Code, the convic-
tion of or plea of guilty to the offense and the specification
automatically classify the offender as a sexual predator for
purposes of this chapter. If a person is convicted, pleads
guilty, or is adjudicated a delinquent child, in a court in
another state, in a federal court, military court, or Indian
tribal court, or in a court of any nation other than the
United States for committing a sexually oriented offense
that is not a registration-exempt sexually oriented offense,
and if, as a result of that conviction, plea of guilty, or
adjudication, the person is required, under the law of the
jurisdiction in which the person was convicted, pleaded
guilty, or was adjudicated, to register as a sex offender until
the person’s death, that conviction, plea of guilty, or
adjudication automatically classifies the person as a sexual
predator for the purposes of this chapter, but the person
may challenge that classification pursuant to division (F) of
this section. In all other cases, a person who is convicted of
or pleads guilty to, has been convicted of or pleaded guilty
to, or is adjudicated a delinquent child for committing, a
sexually oriented offense may be classified as a sexual
predator for purposes of this chapter only in accordance
with division (B) or (C) of this section or, regarding
delinquent children, divisions (B) and (C) of section
2152.83 of the Revised Code.

(B)(1)(a) The judge who is to impose sentence on a
person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a sexually
oriented offense that is not a registration-exempt sexually
oriented offense shall conduct a hearing to determine
whether the offender is a sexual predator if any of the
following circumstances apply:

(i) Regardless of when the sexually oriented offense
was committed, the offender is to be sentenced on or after
January 1, 1997, for a sexually oriented offense that is not
a registration-exempt sexually oriented offense and that is
not a sexually violent offense.

(i) Regardless of when the sexually oriented offense
was committed, the offender is to be sentenced on or after
January 1, 1997, for a sexually oriented offense that is not
a registration-exempt sexually oriented offense, and that is
not a violation of division (A)(1)(b) of section 2907.02 of
the Revised Code committed on or after the effective date
of this amendment for which sentence is imposed under
section 2971.03 of the Revised Code or for which a
sentence of life without parole is imposed under division
(B) of section 2907.02 of the Revised Code, and that is not
attempted rape committed on or after the effective date of
this amendment when the offender also is convicted of or
pleads guilty to a specification of the type described in
section 2941.1418 [2941.14.18], 2941.1419 [2941.14.19],
or 2041.1420 [2941.14.20] of the Revised Code, and either
of the following applies: the sexually oriented offense is a
violent sex offense other than a violation of division
(A)(1)(b) of section 2907.02 of the Revised Code commit-
ted on or after the effective date of this amendment and
other than attempted rape committed on or after that date
when the offender also is convicted of or pleads guilty to
a specification of the type described in section 2941.1418
[2941.14.18), 2941.1419 [2941.14.19], or 2941.1420
[2941.14.20] of the Revised Code, and a sexually violent
predator specification was not included in the indictment,
count in the indictment, or information charging the
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General Provisions
Chapter 1. Definitions; Rules of Construction (Refs & Annos)

Statutory Provisions

R.C.§ 1.50
1.50 Severability of statutory provisions

Currentness

If any provision of a section of the Revised Code or the application thereof to any person or
circumstance is held invalid, the invalidity does not affect other provisions or applications of
the section or related sections which can be given effect without the invalid provision or

application, and to this end the provisions are severable.
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