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{¶ 1} Defendant-appellant, Dustin Grigsby, appeals from his conviction and 

sentence in the Miamisburg Municipal Court after pleading guilty to one count of unlawful 

sexual conduct with a minor.  In support of his appeal, Grigsby contends that the trial 

court erred in ordering him to register as a sex offender because his offense was charged 

as a first-degree misdemeanor and the parties stipulated that the sexual conduct at issue 

was consensual.  Under these circumstances, Grigsby claims that he is not required to 

register as a sex offender under any tier of Ohio’s sex offender registration and notification 

laws.  For the reasons outlined below, that part of the judgment of the trial court ordering 

Grigsby to register as a sex offender will be reversed and the matter will be remanded for 

further proceedings consistent with this opinion.  The judgment is otherwise affirmed.   

 

Facts and Course of Proceedings 

{¶ 2} On October 6, 2011, a complaint was filed in the Miamisburg Municipal Court 

charging Grigsby with one first-degree-misdemeanor count of unlawful sexual conduct 

with a minor in violation of R.C. 2907.04(A).  The complaint alleged that Grigsby engaged 

in sexual conduct with 15-year-old J.H. on several occasions in 2011, which resulted in 

J.H. giving birth at the age of 16.  At the time of the sexual conduct in question, Grigsby 

was 22 years old, six years older than J.H. 

{¶ 3} The day after the complaint against Grigsby was filed, the trial court issued 

a warrant for Grigsby’s arrest.  Four and a half years later, Grigsby was taken into 

custody and released on bond.  On May 16, 2016, Grigsby appeared in court and pled 

guilty to unlawful sexual conduct with a minor as charged in the complaint. 
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{¶ 4} Prior to entering his guilty plea, the trial court advised Grigsby that, 

depending on whether the sexual conduct with J.H. was consensual, he would be 

required to register as either a Tier I or Tier II sex offender.  The trial court also advised 

that the issue of consent and Grigsby’s sex offender designation would be determined at 

sentencing.  Grigsby, however, moved the trial court to determine the issue of consent 

prior to sentencing.  In response, the trial court scheduled the matter for an evidentiary 

hearing on July 25, 2016.   

{¶ 5} At the evidentiary hearing, the parties stipulated that the sexual conduct 

between Grigsby and J.H. was consensual.  Hearing Trans. (July 25, 2016), p. 3.  

Following the stipulation, Grigsby objected to being required to register as a sex offender.  

Grigsby contended that because he pled guilty to unlawful sexual conduct as a first-

degree misdemeanor, which requires the offender to be less than four years older than 

the victim, that he should be treated as being less than four years older than J.H. despite 

the actual six-year age difference.  Because he believed that he should be treated as 

being less than four years older than J.H. and because the sexual conduct with J.H. was 

consensual, Grigsby contended that Ohio law does not require him to register as a sex 

offender. 

{¶ 6} Specifically, Grigsby’s defense counsel argued that: 

[I]f you accept the facts as they originally are with regards to the age 

difference, [Grigsby] should have been charged with a felony, and he was 

not, so we [pled] to the misdemeanor, so that’s what we have, uh, it wasn’t 

[the prosecutor’s] decision but the police officers actually chose the wrong 

section to charge him with.  So we have a conviction now under a 
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misdemeanor and my argument is that because he [pled] to a 

misdemeanor, it presupposes the age range found in the misdemeanor 

statute, which means that he would be a tier one sex offender if the State 

could prove lack of consent.  Since they can’t prove lack of consent, this 

case I gave you says he is not to be registered, period.  So my whole 

argument, I’m basing my argument on the fact that he [pled] to a 

misdemeanor and not a felony and everything flows from that. 

Hearing Trans. (July 25, 2016), p. 4.  

{¶ 7} After the evidentiary hearing, the trial court issued a written decision on 

August 1, 2016, concluding that Grigsby was required to register as a Tier I sex offender.  

In reaching this decision, the trial court found that since Grigsby had pled guilty to a first-

degree-misdemeanor violation of R.C. 2907.04(A) as if he had been less than four years 

older than the victim, that he should be sentenced as though he was less than four years 

older than the victim.  The trial court then determined that pursuant to R.C. 2950.04, an 

offender less than four years older than the victim is required to register as a Tier I sex 

offender.  The trial court’s decision did not address the fact that the parties had stipulated 

to the sexual conduct being consensual. 

{¶ 8} On August 12, 2016, the trial court issued an amended decision that 

indicated the parties had stipulated to the sexual conduct being consensual.  The trial 

court also reiterated its conclusion that Grigsby was required to register as a Tier I sex 

offender.  In reaching that conclusion, the trial court once again explained that although 

Grigsby was more than four years older than J.H., he was charged as if he had been less 

than four years older and his sentencing should reflect the same. 
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{¶ 9} After the trial court resolved the sex offender registration issue, Grigsby failed 

to appear at his sentencing hearing scheduled for August 22, 2016.  Although Grigsby 

later appeared in court for sentencing on October 24, 2016, instead of sentencing 

Grigsby, the trial court ordered a presentence investigation report and rescheduled his 

sentencing for December 19, 2016. 

{¶ 10} At the rescheduled sentencing hearing, the trial court ordered Grigsby to 

serve 180 days in jail with 171 days suspended.  In addition, the trial court sentenced 

Grigsby to a one-year, non-reporting probationary period and ordered him to have no 

contact with J.H.  The trial court also ordered Grigsby to pay a $280 fine and to register 

as a Tier I sex offender.  However, the corresponding sentencing entry issued by the trial 

court on January 9, 2017, ordered Grigsby to register as a Tier II sex offender.    

{¶ 11} Grigsby now appeals from his conviction and sentence raising one 

assignment of error for review. 

 

Assignment of Error 

{¶ 12} Grigsby’s sole assignment of error is as follows: 

THE TRIAL COURT ERRED BY IMPOSING ADAM WALSH ACT SEX 

OFFENDER REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS OVER OBJECTION 

EVEN THOUGH MR. GRIGSBY DID NOT ADMIT AS PART OF HIS 

GUILTY PLEA THAT HE WAS AT LEAST FOUR YEARS OLDER THAN 

THE VICTIM OR THAT ANY SEXUAL CONTACT WAS NON-

CONSENSUAL.   

{¶ 13} Under his sole assignment of error, Grigsby contends that because he pled 
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guilty to unlawful sexual conduct with a minor as a first degree misdemeanor under R.C. 

2907.04, and because the sexual conduct at issue was stipulated as being consensual 

with the victim, he cannot be required to register as a sexual offender under Ohio’s version 

of the Adam Walsh Act.  

{¶ 14} “[I]n 2007, the General Assembly enacted the Adam Walsh Act, which 

‘repealed Megan’s Law, effective January 1, 2008, and replaced it with new standards for 

sex-offender classification and registration pursuant to the federal Adam Walsh Child 

Protection and Safety Act, Section 16901 et seq., Title 42, U.S. Code.’ ”  In re Von, 146 

Ohio St.3d 448, 2016-Ohio-3020, 57 N.E.3d 1158, ¶ 15, quoting Bundy v. State, 143 Ohio 

St.3d 237, 2015-Ohio-2138, 36 N.E.3d 158, ¶ 5.  “This scheme, which the General 

Assembly codified in R.C. Chapter 2950, divides sex offenders into Tier I, Tier II, and Tier 

III sex or child-victim offenders.”  Id., citing R.C. 2950.01(E) through (G).   

{¶ 15} Offenders classified under the Adam Walsh Act for a “sexually oriented 

offense” are obligated to register with the sheriff in the county where the offender was 

convicted or pled guilty.  R.C. 2950.04(A)(1)(a).  The offense of unlawful sexual conduct 

with a minor in violation of R.C. 2907.04 qualifies as a “sexually oriented offense” under 

the following circumstances set forth in R.C. 2950.01(A):  

(2)  * * * when the offender is less than four years older than the other 

person with whom the offender engaged in sexual conduct, the other person 

did not consent to the sexual conduct, and the offender previously has not 

been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a violation of section 2907.02, 

2907.03, or 2907.04 of the Revised Code or a violation of former section 

2907.12 of the Revised Code; 
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(3) * * * when the offender is at least four years older than the other person 

with whom the offender engaged in sexual conduct or when the offender is 

less than four years older than the other person with whom the offender 

engaged in sexual conduct and the offender previously has been convicted 

of or pleaded guilty to a violation of section 2907.02, 2907.03, or 2907.04 

of the Revised Code or a violation of former section 2907.12 of the Revised 

Code[.] 

R.C. 2950.01(A)(2), (A)(3). 

{¶ 16} R.C. 2950.01(F)(1)(b) provides that a person who commits unlawful sexual 

conduct with a minor in violation of R.C. 2907.04 is a Tier II sex offender when: 

the offender is at least four years older than the other person with whom the 

offender engaged in sexual conduct, or when the offender is less than four 

years older than the other person with whom the offender engaged in sexual 

conduct and the offender previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty 

to a violation of section 2907.02, 2907.03, or 2907.04 of the Revised Code 

or former section 2907.12 of the Revised Code[.] 

{¶ 17} R.C. 2950.01(E)(1)(b) provides that a person who commits unlawful sexual 

conduct with a minor in violation of R.C. 2907.04 is a Tier I sex offender when: 

the offender is less than four years older than the other person with whom 

the offender engaged in sexual conduct, the other person did not consent 

to the sexual conduct, and the offender previously has not been convicted 

of or pleaded guilty to a violation of section 2907.02, 2907.03, or 2907.04 

of the Revised Code or a violation of former section 2907.12 of the Revised 
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Code[.] 

{¶ 18} Therefore, “[a] person convicted of violating R.C. 2907.04 is a Tier I sex 

offender if the offender was less than four years older than the victim, there was no 

consent, and the offender has not been convicted of or pled guilty to certain sex offenses.”  

State v. Blankenship, 145 Ohio St.3d 221, 2015-Ohio-4624, 48 N.E.3d 516, ¶ 14, citing 

R.C. 2950.01(E)(1)(b).  “But if the offender is at least four years older than the victim, or 

if the offender is less than four years older but has been convicted of or pled guilty to 

certain sex offenses, the classification is raised to that of Tier II sex offender.”  Id., citing 

R.C. 2950.01(F)(1)(b). 

{¶ 19} “Generally, a violation of R.C. 2907.04 is a fourth-degree felony[.]”  Id. at 

¶ 12, citing R.C. 2907.04(A) and (B)(1).  However, the offense is reduced to a 

misdemeanor of the first degree if the age span between the victim and the offender is 

less than four years.  Id., citing R.C. 2907.04(B)(2). 

{¶ 20} Not all first-degree-misdemeanor violations of R.C. 2907.04, in which the 

offender is less than four years older than the victim, requires an offender to register as 

a sex offender.  “[A]lthough some defendants who violate R.C. 2907.04 are classified as 

‘Tier I sex offenders’ under Section 2950.01(E)(1)(b) of the Ohio Revised Code, 

defendants who are less than four years older than the person with whom they engaged 

in sexual conduct are excluded from classification if that other person consented to the 

sexual conduct.”  State v. Battistelli, 9th Dist. Lorain No. 09CA009536, 2009-Ohio-4796, 

¶ 11.  Accord State v. Metzger, 11th Dist. Portage No. 2010-P-0077, 2011-Ohio-3749, ¶ 

24; State v. Meade, 12th Dist. Brown No. CA2009-07-024, 2010-Ohio-2435, ¶ 24; State 

v. Clair, 5th Dist. Stark No. 2012-CA-00132, 2013-Ohio-1630, ¶ 20. 
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{¶ 21} More specifically, we have held that a defendant without any prior 

convictions for the sex offenses listed in R.C. 2950.01(E)(1)(b) “would not be properly 

classified as a sex offender at all if he was less than four years older than his victim and 

the sexual conduct was consensual.”  State v. Moore, 2d Dist. Darke No. 2013-CA-9, 

2014-Ohio-1123, ¶ 14.   

{¶ 22} In this case, there is no dispute that Grigsby pled guilty to unlawful sexual 

conduct with a minor as a first-degree misdemeanor, which again, requires the offender 

to be less than four years older than the victim.  Additionally, the record establishes that 

the parties stipulated to the sexual conduct at issue being consensual.  There is also 

nothing in the record indicating that Grigsby has been previously convicted of any of the 

sexual offenses listed in R.C. 2950.01(E)(1)(b).  Under these circumstances, R.C. 

2950.01(E)(1)(b) appears to exclude Grigsby from having to register as a sexual offender. 

{¶ 23} The point of contention, however, concerns Grigsby’s actual age.  

According to the State, Grigsby’s guilty plea to a first-degree misdemeanor charge of 

unlawful sexual conduct does not change the fact that he is actually more than four years 

older than the victim.  Because of this age difference, the State maintains that Grigsby 

committed a sexually oriented offense under R.C. 2950.01(A)(3) and is subject to a Tier 

II sexual offender classification under R.C. 2950.01(F)(1)(b).  The State also maintains 

that in sentencing Grigsby, the trial court was free to make a finding that Grigsby was six 

years older than J.H. because his age was an undisputed fact in the record.  

{¶ 24} Grigsby, on the other hand, claims that his guilty plea to first-degree 

misdemeanor unlawful sexual conduct requires him to be sentenced as if he were less 

than four years older than the victim despite the actual six year age difference.  He claims 
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that because he pled guilty to an offense that required him to be less than four years older 

than the victim and the sexual conduct was consensual, his offense was not a “sexually 

oriented offense” under R.C. 2950.01(A)(2) and he does not qualify as a Tier I sexual 

offender under R.C. 2950.01(E)(1)(b). 

{¶ 25} The Tenth District Court of Appeals reviewed a similar set of circumstances 

in State v. Adams, 10th Dist. Franklin No. 09AP-141, 2010-Ohio-171.  In Adams, the 

defendant, who was more than four years older than the victim, pled guilty to a first-degree 

misdemeanor charge of unlawful sexual conduct with a minor as part of a plea agreement.  

Id. at ¶ 2, 24.  Although there was no evidence submitted with respect to consent, the 

State argued that even if the victim had consented to the sexual conduct, the offense still 

qualified as a sexually oriented offense under R.C. 2950.01(A)(3) and subjected the 

defendant to classification as a Tier II sex offender under R.C. 2950.01(F)(1)(b), because 

the defendant was actually more than four years older than the minor victim.  Id. at ¶ 23, 

24. 

{¶ 26} The court in Adams disagreed with the State and found that the plea 

agreement was binding regarding the elements of the offense and that the parties 

essentially stipulated that the defendant was not four years older than the victim.  Id. at 

¶ 25-27.  After finding the trial court had no basis to presume lack of consent, the Adams 

court held that: “Because defendant’s underlying conviction offense does not constitute a 

‘sexually oriented offense’ under Ohio’s sex offender registration and notification scheme 

* * *, the trial court properly concluded defendant is not subject to classification or a duty 

to register as a ‘sex offender’ under Ohio’s existing law.”  Id. at ¶ 1. 

{¶ 27} Although there was no plea agreement in the present case, like Adams, 
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Grigsby pled guilty to first-degree misdemeanor unlawful sexual conduct with a minor 

even though he was more than four years older than the victim.  We note that a “ ‘guilty 

plea is an admission of all the elements of a formal criminal charge * * *.’ ”  State v. Bibler, 

2014-Ohio-3375, 17 N.E.3d 1154, ¶ 12 (3d Dist.), quoting McCarthy v. United States, 394 

U.S. 459, 466, 89 S.Ct. 1166, 22 L.Ed.2d 418 (1969).  Because Grigsby’s convicted 

offense includes the element of being less than four years older than the victim, the State 

is bound by that element and cannot attempt to have Grigsby punished for a greater 

version of the offense regardless of his actual age, as sex offender registration 

requirements are based solely on the fact of conviction.  See State v. Williams, 129 Ohio 

St.3d 344, 2011-Ohio-3374, 952 N.E.2d 1108, ¶ 20.  Courts have no discretion in 

classifying adult sex offenders under the Adam Walsh Act; rather, the classification is 

automatically determined by the offense.  State v. Golson, 2017-Ohio-4438, ___ N.E.3d 

___, ¶ 14 (8th Dist.).   

{¶ 28} While the trial court in this case correctly found that Grigsby should be 

sentenced as if he were less than four years older than the victim, it nevertheless erred 

in ordering Grigsby to register as a Tier I sex offender at the sentencing hearing and, in 

what we presume to be a clerical error, a Tier II sex offender in the sentencing entry.  

The trial court erred because Grigsby’s underlying offense required him to be less than 

four years older than the victim, the parties stipulated to consensual sexual conduct, and 

Grigsby had no prior convictions for sexually oriented offenses.  Under these 

circumstances, Grigsby is excluded from having to register as a sexual offender, as his 

offense does not qualify as a “sexually oriented offense” under R.C. 2950.01(A)(2) or 

(A)(3), and does not warrant a Tier I or Tier II sex offender classification under R.C. 



 
-12-

2950.01(E)(1)(b) and R.C. 2950.01(F)(1)(b). 

{¶ 29} Grigsby’s sole assignment of error is sustained. 

 

Conclusion 

{¶ 30} Having sustained Grigsby’s sole assignment of error, that part of the 

judgment of the trial court ordering Grigsby to register as a sex offender is reversed and 

the matter is remanded to the trial court.  Upon remand, the trial court is ordered to 

vacate the designation of Grigsby as a sex offender under Chapter 2950 of the Revised 

Code.  The judgment is otherwise affirmed.    

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . 

 

HALL, P.J. and TUCKER, J., concur. 
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