IN THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

In the Matter of the Application of : Case No. 2023-1011

BIRCH SOLAR 1, LLC for a Certificate

of Environmental Compatibility and :

Public Need for a Solar-Powered Electric : Appeal from the Ohio Power Siting Facility Located in Allen and Auglaize : Board, Case No. 20-1605-EL-BGN

Counties, Ohio

:

APPLICATION FOR DISMISSAL OF APPEAL SUBMITTED ON BEHALF OF APPELLANT BIRCH SOLAR 1, LLC

NOW COMES Appellant Birch Solar 1, LLC, by and through counsel, and pursuant to the provisions of Rule 4.05 of the Rules of Practice of the Supreme Court of Ohio, hereby respectfully requests that the Court dismiss its above-captioned appeal. The reason in support of the Appellant's application for dismissal is that Appellant has elected to suspend further development of the solar facility at issue in the appeal.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Kara Herrnstein

Kara Herrnstein (0088520)

Dylan F. Borchers (0090690)

Bricker Graydon, LLP

100 South Third Street

Columbus, OH 43215-4291

(614) 227-2300

(614227-2390 (Facsimile)

kherrnstein@brickergraydon.com

dborchers@brickergraydon.com

Counsel for Appellant Birch Solar 1, LLC

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true copy of the foregoing **Application for Dismiss of Appeal** submitted on behalf of Appellant Birch Solar 1, LLC was served upon the following parties of record this 9th day of January, 2025 via electronic transmission.

Stephen W. Funk (0058506)
Emily Anglewicz (0083129)
Roetzel & Andress, LPA
222 S. Main Street, Suite 400
Akron, OH 44308
(330) 849-6602
(330) 376-4577 (Facsimile)
sfunk@ralaw.com
eanglewicz@ralaw.com

Counsel for Appellee Ohio Power Siting Board

James B. Hadden (0059315) Murray Murphy Moul + Basil LLP 1114 Dublin Road Columbus, OH 43215 hadden@mmmb.com

Counsel for Amici Curiae American Clean Power Association, MAREC Action, and Utility Scale Solar Energy Coalition of Ohio

Karin Nordstrom (0096713)
Chris Tavenor (0096642)
Ohio Environmental Council
1145 Chesapeake Ave., Suite I
Columbus, OH 43212
knordstrom@theoec.org
ctavenor@theoec.org
Counsel for Amicus Curiae
Ohio Environmental Council

Terrence O'Donnell (0074213)
Manuel D. Cardona (0098079)
Dickinson Wright PLLC
180 East Broad Street, Suite 3400
Columbus, OH 43215
todonnell@dickinson-wright.com
mcardona@dickinson-wright.com

Counsel for Amicus Curiae, Ohio Chamber of Commerce

Robert Dove (0092019) 65 East State Street, Suite 1800 Columbus, OH 43215 rdove@keglerbrown.com

Counsel for Amicus Curiae International Brotherhood of Electric Workers Local Union 32

Selena Kyle (008101) 20 North Wacker Drive, Suite 1600 Chicago, IL 60606 skyle@nrdc.org

Counsel for Amicus Curiae Natural Resources Defense Council

Devan K. Flahive (0097457) Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough 1100 Superior Avenue, Suite 2000 Cleveland, OH 44114 Devan.flahive@nelsonmullins.com Eric L. Christensen
Beveridge & Diamond PC
600 University Street, Suite 1601
Seattle, WA 98101
echristensen@bdlaw.com
jreagan@bdlaw.com
athompson@bdlaw.com

Counsel for Amicus Curiae, Allen Auglaize Coalition for Reasonable Energy Counsel for Amicus Curiae, Ohio Independent Power Producers
Kimberly W. Bojko (0069502)
Emma Y. Easley (0102144)
Carpenter Lipps LLP
280 North High Street, Suite 1300
Columbus, OH 43215
bojko@carpenterlipps.com
easley@carpenterlipps.com

Counsel for Amicus Curiae, Ohio Manufacturers' Association Energy Group

/s/ Kara Herrnstein
Kara Herrnstein (0088520)