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DONOVAN, Judge. 

{¶ 1} This matter is before the court on the notice of appeal of 

Donny A. Howard.  Howard appeals from his conviction and sentence for 

failure to notify, in violation of R.C. 2950.05(A) and (F)(1).   

{¶ 2} In September 2000, Howard was convicted of rape, a felony 
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of the first degree, and he received a four-year sentence.  The trial court 

designated Howard a habitual sex offender,1 pursuant to Ohio’s version 

of the federal Megan’s Law, which was adopted by Ohio in 1996, and 

codified by Am.Sub.H.B. No 180, 146 Ohio Laws, Part II, 2560, 2601.  

See State v. Bodyke, 126 Ohio St.3d 266, 2010-Ohio-2424, ¶ 6.  The 

trial court also ordered community notification for a period of 20 years.   

{¶ 3} In 2006, the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act was 

passed by Congress, which divided sex offenders into three tiers based 

solely upon the offense committed.  Bodyke, ¶ 18.  In 2007, the Ohio 

General Assembly enacted 2007 Am.Sub.S.B. No. 10, which replaced 

Megan’s Law with the Adam Walsh Act (“AWA”).  Bodyke, ¶ 20.  The 

law required the Ohio Attorney General to reclassify existing offenders 

based on the tier system and to notify them of the reclassification.  

Bodyke, ¶ 22.  Pursuant to the AWA, Howard was reclassified a Tier III 

sex offender. 

{¶ 4} On June 3, 2010, Howard was charged by indictment with 

failure to notify, a felony of the first degree, for failing to provide notice 

of his change of residence address to the sheriff at least 20 days prior to 

that change, a requirement imposed upon Howard as a Tier III sex 

offender.  Howard pleaded no contest, and at the time, the trial court 

                                                 
1We note that Howard and the state erroneously assert that Howard was originally 

classified as a sexually oriented offender. 
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advised him that it must impose a mandatory sentence, since Howard 

had a previous conviction for a felony of the first degree (rape).   The 

state noted that it did not oppose the minimum sentence for Howard.  

The trial court sentenced Howard to a mandatory minimum three-year 

term on October 28, 2010. 

{¶ 5} Along with his notice of appeal, Howard filed a motion for 

leave to file a delayed appeal, based upon this court’s recent decision in 

State v. Milby, Montgomery App. No. 23798, 2010-Ohio-6344, and we 

granted leave for his untimely appeal over the state’s objection. 

{¶ 6} Howard asserts one assignment of error as follows: 

{¶ 7} “The trial court erred in convicting appellant of a first-degree 

felony and sentencing him accordingly.” 

{¶ 8} In Bodyke, 126 Ohio St.3d 266, 2010-Ohio-2424, the Ohio 

Supreme Court struck down as unconstitutional the reclassification 

provisions in the AWA, namely R.C. 2950.031 and 2950.032, which 

required the attorney general to reclassify sex offenders pursuant to the 

tiered scheme.  Id., ¶ 60-61.  The court severed those provisions from 

the AWA, and the provisions “may not be applied to offenders previously 

adjudicated by judges under Megan’s Law, and the classifications and 

community-notification and registration orders imposed previously by 

judges are reinstated.”  Id. at ¶ 66.  

{¶ 9} Pursuant to Bodyke, as the state concedes, Howard’s 
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reclassification as a Tier III sex offender and the community-notification 

and registration orders attending that reclassification may not be applied, 

and his original classification as a habitual sex offender and the 

community-notification and registration orders attending that 

classification are reinstated. 

{¶ 10} Under the former R.C. 2950.05(A), Howard was required to 

provide written notice to the sheriff of a change of address at least 20 

days prior to changing his address.  Under the former R.C. 2950.99, the 

penalty for failure to notify was a felony of the fifth degree.  R.C. 

2950.05 was amended by S.B. 10, which became effective on January 1, 

2008, and the new version at issue also required Howard to provide 

written notification to the sheriff at least 20 days prior to changing his 

address of residence.  After the related amendment of R.C. 2950.99 

(2007 Am.Sub.S.B. 97), the penalty for failure to notify was a felony of 

the first degree. R.C. 2950.99(A)(1)(a)(i). 

{¶ 11} In State v. Milby, which the state asks us to reconsider, this 

court on similar facts held that because the prohibited conduct in failing 

to give the required prior notification did not change when R.C. 2950.05 

was amended, the defendant had an ongoing duty that neither the 

amendment of that section nor the holding in Bodyke had changed.  

Accordingly, Milby could be found guilty for failure to notify, based upon 

the original classification to which he was reinstated.  However, since the 
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related amendment of R.C. 2950.99(A)(1)(a) changed the violation from 

a felony of the third degree to a first-degree felony, of which Milby was 

convicted, this court reversed Milby’s conviction and remanded the case 

for resentencing. 

{¶ 12} As in Milby, when Howard’s original classification and 

registration requirements are applied, his conviction for failure to notify is 

not offended.  There is no dispute that under former law, Howard was 

required to provide written notice of a change of address at least 20 days 

prior to changing his address of residence.  See former R.C. 2950.05(A). 

 However, the amendment of R.C. 2950.99 changed the penalty for 

failure to notify from a felony of the fifth degree to a felony of the first 

degree, based upon the penalty for the underlying offense of rape, and 

Howard was subject to a mandatory term of incarceration.  As in Milby, 

the fact that Howard had committed his offense of failure to notify after 

the effective date of S.B. 97 does not affect the outcome herein as the 

state asserts.  Pursuant to Milby, we find that the trial court erred when 

it convicted Howard of a first-degree felony and sentenced him 

accordingly, instead of finding him guilty of a fifth-degree felony.  See 

also State v. Johnson, Montgomery App. No. 24029, 2011-Ohio-2069; 

State v. Alexander, Montgomery App. No. 24119, 2011-Ohio-4015. 

{¶ 13} Because Howard’s sole assigned error has merit, his sentence 

will be reversed and the matter remanded to the trial court for 
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resentencing. 

Judgment affirmed. 

. . . . . . . . . . 

FROELICH, J., concurs. 

HALL, J., concurs in part and dissents in part. 

HALL, J., concurring in part and dissenting in part. 

{¶ 14} I agree that this case should be remanded to the trial court 

for resentencing, but conclude that the defendant should be sentenced 

for a felony of the third degree and not a fifth degree as determined by 

the majority.  For clarity, I will refer to the various felony levels as F(5) 

through F(1) 

{¶ 15} Donny Howard’s conviction for rape, F(1), was in September 

2000, and he was classified as a habitual sex offender under Ohio’s 

version of Megan’s Law.  Sometime after Ohio’s version of the Adam 

Walsh Act (“AWA”) went into effect on January 1, 2008, Howard was 

reclassified as a Tier III offender.  The instant case stems from the June 

3, 2010 charge of failure to notify the sheriff of a change of address.  

{¶ 16} Failure to notify was an F(5) when Howard was originally 

convicted of rape in 2000. R.C. 2950.99.  This level had been in effect 

since January 1, 1997, with adoption of Ohio’s Megan’s law.  Before that, 

the first offense of failure to comply with pre-Megan’s Law registration 

requirements was a misdemeanor, and a subsequent offense was an 
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F(4).  Effective January 1, 2004, failure to notify, when the basis for 

registration was for murder or an F(1), (2) or (3) was modified to an 

F(3). R.C. 2950.99 (A)(1)(b)(i). As part of the adoption of Ohio’s AWA, 

R.C. 2950.99 was amended, effective January 1, 2008.  When the 

underlying felony that was the basis for the registration was an F(1) 

through F(4), failure to notify became a felony of the same degree as the 

basis for registration.  Thus, in Howard’s case, the underlying felony was 

an F(1), so the new offense was an F(1).  

{¶ 17} In State v. Bodyke, 126 Ohio St. 3d 266, 2010-Ohio-2424, 

the Ohio Supreme Court struck down the reclassification provisions of the 

AWA, R.C. 2950.031 and 2950.032, and severed them from the 

remainder of the act.  Registration requirements under Megan’s Law 

were reinstated. Nothing in Bodyke had addressed or vacated the 

amended penalty provisions of R.C. 2950.99.  Nevertheless, this court 

has held that the penalty section applicable for violation of reinstated 

Megan’s law registration violations is the penalty that existed prior to 

adoption of the AWA.  This court has held, in three cases, that where 

defendants have been improperly reclassified, a failure-to-notify 

conviction would still be upheld when the reinstated Megan’s Law 

registration requirements were essentially the same as the improperly 

reclassified AWA requirements, but the violation is a pre-AWA F(3). 

{¶ 18} In State v. Milby, Montgomery App. No. 23798, 
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2010–Ohio–6344, the defendant had been convicted of rape in 1983. 

While still incarcerated in 2003, Milby was designated as a sexual 

predator.  He was reclassified as a Tier III offender under the AWA.  

Eventually he was charged and convicted of failing to register at his new 

address during July 2009.  This court said, “AWA did increase the 

penalty for failure to notify to a first-degree felony. That penalty may not 

be applied to Milby.  Under the former law, violation of the reporting 

requirement was a felony of the third degree.” Id, ¶ 31.  The case was 

remanded for resentencing as an F(3).  I believe this conclusion was 

wrong. As stated, nothing in Bodyke had addressed or vacated the 

amended penalty provisions of R.C. 2950.99. But Milby is part of the 

jurisprudence of this court, and stare decisis precludes simply ignoring it.  

{¶ 19} In State v. Johnson, Montgomery App. No. 24029, 

2011–Ohio–2069, Johnson had been designated a sexually oriented 

offender in 1994.  His classification was changed to a Tier III under 

AWA.  In 2009, he was charged with an F(1) failure to provide notice of 

his change-of-residence address.  Johnson’s case was also remanded for 

resentencing.  This court said, “[P]er Milby, we find that the trial court 

erred when it convicted Defendant of a first degree felony and sentenced 

him accordingly, instead of finding Defendant guilty of a third degree 

felony.”  Again, I believe this result is incorrect, but it follows Milby.  

{¶ 20} Finally, on similar facts, in State v. Alexander, Montgomery 
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App. No. 24119, 2011-Ohio-4015, Alexander had been convicted of rape, 

an F(1), and designated a sexually oriented offender in 2004.  He was 

reclassified under AWA in 2008 as a Tier III offender.  He was charged 

with failing to notify the sheriff of his new address in 2010, an F(1).  This 

court’s decision, in which the undersigned concurred, stated, “[L]ike in 

Johnson [and Milby], appellant should have been found guilty of a 

third-degree felony and not a first-degree felony.”   

{¶ 21} Based on Milby, as followed in Johnson and Alexander, this 

court has held that when a failure-to-notify case is reversed after an 

improper AWA reclassification, the penalty for violation of failure to notify 

reverts to that penalty that was in effect before the “offending” AWA 

legislation, which was effective January 1, 2008.  Prior to enactment of 

AWA, the penalty for failure to notify for underlying F(1) through F(3)’s 

was a felony of the third degree.  Consequently, I would remand this 

case for resentencing of the defendant for a conviction of an F(3). 

 . . . . . . . . . . 
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