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GRADY, P.J.: 
 

{¶ 1} This appeal is brought by the State pursuant to R.C. 2945.67(A) and 

2953.08(B).  The State asks us to reconsider our holding in State v. Milby, 2d Dist. 

Montgomery No. 23798, 2010-Ohio-6344.  We decline to reconsider Milby, and will affirm 

the judgment of the trial court. 

{¶ 2} The facts of the present case relevant to the error the State assigns are 

essentially the same as those in Milby and subsequent decisions in which we followed Milby.  
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See, e.g., State v. Pritchett, 2d Dist. Montgomery No. 24183, 2011-Ohio-5978, State v. 

Kimbrough, 2d Dist. Montgomery No. 24746, 2012-Ohio-1773, State v. Muldrew, 2d Dist. 

Montgomery No. 24721, 2012-Ohio-1573. 

{¶ 3} On January 8, 2002, Defendant was convicted of unlawful sexual conduct with 

a minor, a felony of the fourth degree, in Montgomery County Common Pleas Court Case 

Number 2001-CR-3285, for an offense that occurred on September 18, 2001.  Defendant was 

sentenced to fourteen months in prison and classified by the trial court as a habitual sex 

offender, requiring sex offender registration every 180 days for 20 years upon his release from 

prison, pursuant to Megan’s Law. 

{¶ 4} On January 1, 2008, Ohio’s version of the Adam Walsh Act (S.B. 10 and S.B. 

97) went into effect.  S.B. 10 implemented a Tier structure, whereby an offender is classified 

into a Tier based solely upon his conviction for a sex offense.  S.B. 97 increased the penalties 

for which offenders would be subject if they failed to comply with their registration 

requirements. 

{¶ 5} Shortly after the passage of the Adam Walsh Act, Defendant was reclassified 

as a Tier II sex offender.  Tier II offenders must register for twenty-five years and periodically 

verify their registration every 180 days.  R.C. 2950.05(B)(2); 2950.06(B)(2). 

{¶ 6} Between the dates of July 6, 2011 and August 8, 2011, Defendant failed to 

notify the sheriff of a change of address.  Defendant was charged by indictment with failure 

to notify, a felony of the third degree, in violation of R.C. 2950.05 (A) and (F).  On October 

20, 2011, Defendant pled guilty to the offense as charged in the indictment.  At the time 

Defendant committed his offense, the current version of R.C. 2950.99 provided that his 
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offense required a mandatory three-year prison sentence due to his prior conviction.  The trial 

court, however, did not apply the current version of R.C. 2950.99, but instead applied the 

version of the statute that existed under Megan’s Law before the Adam Walsh Act was 

enacted.  Therefore, instead of a mandatory three-year prison sentence, Defendant was 

sentenced to community control sanctions not to exceed five years.  The State appealed from 

the judgment of conviction and sentence. 

{¶ 7} Assignment of Error: 

{¶ 8} “THE TRIAL COURT ERRED AS A MATTER OF LAW WHEN IT 

SENTENCED PHILBECK TO COMMUNITY CONTROL SANCTIONS BECAUSE THE 

SENTENCING STATUTE IN EFFECT AT THE TIME HE COMMITTED HIS OFFENSE 

REQUIRED A MANDATORY 3-YEAR PRISON SENTENCE.” 

{¶ 9}  The State concedes that, per State v. Bodyke, 126 Ohio St.3d 266, 

2010-Ohio-2424, 933 N.E.2d 753, Defendant’s classification under Megan’s Law as a sexual 

predator has been restored, and that as a result he is subject only to those registration and 

verification requirements that Megan’s Law imposes on him. The State argues that, 

nevertheless, the penalties imposed for an Adam Walsh Act violation by R.C. 2950.99 yet 

apply, because Defendant’s offense occurred after the Adam Walsh Act became effective. 

{¶ 10} We addressed and rejected the basis of the State’s argument in Pritchett, one of 

the cases that applied and followed Milby.  In Pritchett, we wrote at ¶ 26 and 28: 

Very recently, in State v. Williams, 129 Ohio St.3d 344, 952 N.E.2d 

1108, 2011–Ohio–3374, the Supreme Court of Ohio held that the provision of 

2007 Am.Sub. S.B. 10, which imposes greater penalties on sexual offenders, 
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such as Pritchett, for violations of notification and registration requirements 

than applied when they were convicted of their underlying sexual offense,  

violates the prohibition against retroactive laws in Section 28, Article II of the 

Ohio Constitution. 

* * * 

Under  Megan's law (which had been applied to Pritchett in 2005), 

Pritchett with the 2005 prior failure to notify conviction was subject to 

sentencing for a felony of the third degree. As a result of a subsequent 

amendment of the law, Pritchett was instead sentenced for a second degree 

felony offense. That amendment of the law is void, per Williams. The sentence 

the court imposed pursuant to that law is likewise void. It would be a manifest 

injustice to continue Pritchett's incarceration on a void sentence.  

{¶ 11} What we said in Pritchett likewise applies in this case.  Moreover, we note 

that the State appealed our decision in Milby to the Ohio Supreme Court, and by Entry filed on 

October 5, 2011, in Case No. 2011-0292, the Supreme Court declined to accept that decision 

for review. 

{¶ 12} The trial court properly applied our holding in Milby, and correctly sentenced 

Defendant for a third degree felony offense based upon the penalty for a violation of R.C. 

2950.06, failure to verify residence address, in effect under Megan’s Law.  See former R.C. 

2950.99(A)(1)(a)(i).  

{¶ 13} The assignment of error is overruled.  The judgment of the trial court will be 

affirmed. 



 
 

5

DONOVAN, J.,concurs. 

Hall, J., concurring: 

I concur with the result here, even though I have said that Milby was incorrectly 

decided, see State v. Howard, 195 Ohio App.3d 802, 2011-Ohio-5693, 961 N.E.2d 1196, ¶ 

14-21 (2d Dist.) (Hall, J., concurring in part and dissenting in part). “Milby is part of the 

jurisprudence of this court, and stare decisis precludes simply ignoring it.” Id. at ¶ 18.  

The districts are currently divided on this issue. The First, Fifth, and Twelfth 

Districts have held that the enhanced penalties in the current version of R.C. 2950.99 

may be imposed for new offenses committed after the statute went into effect on January 

1, 2008. See State v. Freeman, 1st Dist. Hamilton No. C-100389, 2011-Ohio-4357; State v. 

Poling, 5th Dist. Stark No. 2009-CA-00264, 2011-Ohio-3201; State v. Topping, 

2012-Ohio-2259, 970 N.E.2d 1193 (12th Dist.). But this court and the Seventh and Eighth 

Districts have held that the penalties in the current version of R.C. 2950.99 may not be 

imposed on offenders who committed their underlying sexual-offender-classification 

offense before the statute’s effective date. See State v. Milby, 2d Dist. Montgomery No. 

23798, 2010-Ohio-6344; State v. Savors, 197 Ohio App.3d 61, 2012-Ohio-1297, 965 

N.E.2d 1086 (7th Dist.); State v. Grunden, 8th Dist. Cuyahoga No. 95909, 

2011-Ohio-3687. This split of authority can be resolved only by the Ohio Supreme 

Court.  
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Johnna M. Shia, Esq. 
Tima M. McFall, Esq. 
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